Submitted by Graeme Nature Hall Sanctuary
Long Beach Swamp

As a public service the Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary has set up a reference page containing copies of Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) documents regarding the proposed Long Beach development in Barbados.The page can be found here.

This page will be updated as more files become available. Sanctuary officials have been interested in the outcome at Long Beach, as both Graeme Hall and Long Beach are traditional wetland conservation areas on the South Coast.

39 responses to “Reference Page Posted for Long Beach”

1. and the plot thickens with another wetland allegedly under threat.

2. The following note was posted to the Facebook group – OPPOSE the Proposed Development at Chancery Lane Wetland:

We had a small meeting at the wetland yesterday to discuss what contribution people were going to make to the cause. Many professionals promise to write correspondence to the PM and to the Minister on their area of expertise. Others have taken petitions to spread the word and get as many signatures as they can. You too can do your part, sign the petition and call or email the PM and the Minister of the environment and let them know how you feel about this development;

PM- 426-3179info@primeminister.gov.bbpspmo@caribsurf.com

Minister Lowe- 467-5711envirobdos@gov.bb

3. When the pursuit and accumulation of money has finally reaped ever last reward from this land, what will we do when the consequences are right up into our faces.
    I wonder how many things in BIM are done with out the interest of money at heart outside of the known charities, is preservation of green pastures and ponds, bird sanctuaries just not important for Barbadians anymore??

4. As you say, David, the plot thickens – or is it sickens.

Long Beach. Guess who lives there and trolls the dunes for the company of young Bajans – and I don’t mean wildlife either?

PETER ALLARD.

Naturally, Mr Allard would like, under the DISguise of protecting green areas, to preserve the young human male migratory population of Long Beach and the dune and sea grape undergrowth activities indulged in by same. A development would militate against this and these activities – and might even make Long Beach safe so that Canadian tourists are not assaulted, threatened or killed there.

Actually, now I recall, there have been two foreigners who have met their deaths there in the last few years. The second was the Canadian tourist, but the first was British and had been the nanny of the children of none other than Allard’s good friend, Jane Goddard nee Knox. So, why is this development, the excellent plans of which I have seen, not welcomed????

Because this development would be a double blow (no pun) to Little Peter. For not only would he have lost his principal local source of study and recreation and be expensed for importing substitutes from the Western seaboard, but he would also (there being no murdered foreigners) have nothing for his blogs to crusade about and run down Barbados and its institutions for. Poor little Peter. Ain’t that so SAD!!!! Ain’t life a total BITCH!!!!!

Naturally, if this area remains as it is, the value of Allard’s property will shoot up. EXCLUSIVITY!!!

But a thought occurs to me. Does anyone know if Allard made an offer to buy the lands now under development planning? And got pipped at the post? And will now do all he can to make trouble for the winning bidder because he is piqued? Does this have a familiar sound? If he doesn’t get his ass disbarred, when, Mr Allard, can we expect your legal stooge K. William McKenzie, to file suit against Barbados and half its population, employing the services of fugitives from justice with a series of false passports and who live in post office or UPS boxes? Watch this space, folks.

Of course, if Mr Allard had acquired this land, I am sure no self-respecting ecologist would have objected for a second to him putting in a truly tasteful development and deriving millions of dollars of profit therefrom in order to prop up the fast fading fortunes of Allarco and the other Allards.

Little Peter doesn’t ask a lot….just that Bajans who might like to raise their children in an area with an easily accessible beach, forego this so that he can continue to troll the beach for “sea shells” and to study Bajan youth as well as the foreign youth provided by neighbouring surf-oriented hotels and guest houses. AND, when the time is right, to put in a development which, due to his devotion to ecology, no one would question as being other than ecologically perfect for Barbados.

This is akin to non-Bajan home owners on the West Coast trying to make our beaches private.

This whole story broke on Allard’s own blog, but that blog is discredited and seldom read these days, so Petite Pierre (and please do not correct my French – it says what I want it to say – I went to Foundation too) has to come to his blog-spurned BU to get readership. Wuhloss!!!! Using the GHNS, itself with tattered and threadbare reputation, but with a few followers who seem to think that Bajans should sacrifice the well-being of themselves and their children for wildlife, he issues a “press release”. I suppose he simply refuses to realize that Bajans now have the full measure of his “philanthropy” and his personal interpretation of the word “Philanthropist”.

Personally, I can think of nothing more perfect than to live on or close to Long Beach in a lovely and ecology-conscious development the existence of which removes the threats of violence from Long Beach, not to mention those other activities of such overwhelming purient interest to Allard.

To watch our fellow home owners relaxing from the stress of a hard days work, walking along the beach with their children and watching the planes flying in to the airport and all the activities that go with beach-front residences is, for some of us, as close to Heaven as we will get on Earth. Are we to deny ourselves this because of the frsutrated desired of the disgraced Peter Allard and his GHNS?

NOT THIS BAJAN!

5. @Amused

Whatever the motive behind Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary (GHNS) piggybacking on the Chancery plight, the government has to address it. While one can say GHNS is drowning in the politics, what can we say about Chancery?

6. David you are correct. My suggestion to Barbadians is to forget about Amused, BWWR, Allard et al. Look out for the interests of your country. Take a look at the documents and decide for yourself if such a massive project in a Natural Heritage Conservation Area, really is sustainable development.

The proposal includes a 200 room hotel, 200 condos with a minimum of 5 storeys, 60 house lots, retail and commercial, breakwaters in the sea to make the sea calm.

Are we going to desecrate the South East Coast just like the West Coast?

7. Good morning all,

Thank you for the overwhelming support. This shows that bajans really do care about conserving open space and protecting ecologically significant places for their inherent worth and value.

We have had at least 200 hundred new people added to the page in the last fews days. This message is for you. If you havent done so already please sign the petition. The link is provided below.

Thanks again

http://www.petitiononline.com/mod_perl/signed.cgi?03182010

Lani

8. Nostradamus answers a lot of questions. A 200 room hotel would provide competition for a Loveridge who, as we know, is an Allard stooge who has hosted the likes of K. William McKenzie and Donald Best. OF COURSE they don’t want the development. COMPETITION!!!!

Barbados is a very small country. There isn’t a lot of land. Barbados has a very large population. Nuff Bajans live here. There is a big need for housing.

Now, while I agree that wetlands ought to be protected, so must the welfare of the people and it seems to me that GHNS has the idea that wetlands, not people, come first. I disagree.

As for Nostradamus, I have noticed that each and every time anyone reveals the subterranean fingers of Allard in any pie, Nostradamus leaps to accuse whoever it is of being BWWR, the nemisis of Allard. I am not a nemisis, merely an observer commenting and asking questions on BU that many others are asking. I am merely pointing out what MANY others have observed.

And how can we take any posting by GHNS seriously? The head of GHNS from whom this post almost certainly emanates is a “vagabond” of no fixed abode named Stewart Heaslet on whom there is no discernable background and whose credentials and job experience have been accepted by us – because Peter Allard told us to accept them. Now, through GHNS which he owns, Peter Allard is telling us to accept his version of what is happening at Chancery Lane where he owns a substantial property.

Given the revelations of shady dealings, false passports and other breaches of international prevention of terrorism measures by Allard associates all of whom have been directly connected with GHNS and the smarmy and self-serving posturing of that other Allard “ecology” expert, Nitin Amersey, Bajans owe it to themselves to carefully examine anything coming from Allard.

Chancery Lane has always been a place where the rich (read white) go to do a little shooting. It is also the place where nudists go to strip off and get all-over tans. It is a place where some people have built shelters in the bushes to go in the night and smoke a little dope and drink rum. It is also a place where gay men go to meet and “consort”. It has seen its fair share of murder and assault and rape. And, if left and forgotten as it now is, this trend will continue alongside the wetland inhabitants. This may well be desirable to some and to others it may not. What I see is an area of outstanding natural beauty with a great breeze off the sea and a vast area of beach. I, for one, would love to live on an ecology-conscious and intergrated community there. And I do not want to be prevented from doing this so that the desires of Peter Allard masquerading as concern for the environment can rule.

9. @ Amused

I challenge you to find one instance where I have accused you of being BWWR.

It is the PDP 2003 Amended, not GHNS that sets out the protection (Natural Heritage Conservation Area) that should be given to Chancery Lane / Long Beach and Graeme Hall. Did GHNS create that document or Barbadians?

Has GHNS has taken a “position” on the Chancery Lane proposal? Maybe they did but I have not seen it so provide the evidence. The only thing they have done is a public service by posting the EIA documents online so that they are readily and easily available to the citizens of Barbados who can then decide what is best for their country.

According to you, the people who want to preserve the natural beauty and ecology of the area as defined by the PDP 2003 and who have joined the face book page are only:

Rich white people who like to shoot
    Nudists
    Dope smokers and rum drinkers
    Gay men whio meet and “consort”

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=341708641325#!/group.php?v=info&gid=341708641325

10. @Nostradamus.

GHNS has taken a position as a “public service”. So now GHNS’ owner’s “philanthropy” is now re-named “public service”. Amazing.

I agree with Amused. If it looks like a fish, smells like a fish, cannot breath anything but water……chances are it IS a fish. And fish can smell real bad.

Anyway, I have looked at the proposal and plans and they look good and responsible to me, so my vote is that the development should go ahead.

11. @Anonymous

When you say you took a look at the plans and proposals do you mean the EIA and documents posted on the GHNS website?

While I disagree with you that the proposal as set out in the EIA is “responsible” I have no problem with you holding that opinion. At least you and anyone who cared to, were afforded the opportunity of taking a look and making an informed decision.

You can ascribe any ulterior motive you like to GHNS as to why they posted the documents as a public service. Are you denying that the posting of the documents has served the Public Interest?

If you take a look at the face book page, over 700 people disagree with you. Why don’ t you post a comment explaining the advantages of the proposal and why don’t you attend the meeting on Thursday night and make your contribution in support.

I notice Amused has not responded to my post.

12. @Nostradamus. You assume a lot. Fpr example, you assume where I read the plans and the idea that I may want to buy a property on the development and obtained a copy of the plans all on my own, is dismissed by you (if considered at all). Of course, you probably also assume that your monniker of Nostradamus will make all assume that you know all about everybody. Well, you go ahead and assume. As for your Facebook, I don’t use it. As for 700 people, not enough to make it interesting (or relevant) for me. Amused can speak for himself, but I personally believe that you are trying to flog this dead non-issue back to life in the hopes of boosting the pathetic 700 figure on facebook and trying your best to build a political lobby to advance the aims and aspirations of the GHNS’ supremo who is currently suing Barbados in two cases in Canada – and losing.

Well, Nostradamus, I am not trying to be the prophet that you are calling yourself after. I am merely making an educated guess as to what will happen. Here it is. The development will go ahead without any delays. It will attract foreign capital to Barbados. It will make the area safer. It will enhance the value of properties from Oistins up to the airport. Bajan families with children will cavort and enjoy themselves on a magnificent stretch of beach and go and play hide and seek in dunes and bushes that we parents currently keep our children out of with good reason. And the economy of Barbados will flourish to the benefit of all Bajans. And the fish will swim and the migrating birds will fly as they always have.

13. @Nostradamus. I just saw your comments. I thought this thread was exhausted, so I didn’t check it. I just looked at BFP to see if it carried something on Long Beach – of course it did. Just one comment, though. On this, 12 comments before this one, which will explain why you left your BFP lair – at least you are sure to be read here on BU. Still, it is a dead issue maybe? Only 700 on Facebook. Pathetic!!!

I agree with the development, but that is no surprise to anybody. However, if I did NOT agree with the development and wanted it stopped, I would be dismayed that the charge to stop the development is led by the discredited GHNS. It didn’t need to be, you know. GHNS could easily have arranged for someone – a single individual whose reputation is NOT in tatters – to front it. That is, if GHNS, knowing that Bajans and our government have no time for GHNS and its owner and officers, really had the ecological interests of anywhere ( as viewed by them) at heart.

However, for GHNS to spearhead this effort is nothing but ego on Peter Allard’s part. He is going to bludgeon and sue Barbados into accepting his views and his nominees till the bitter end. No way is he going to focus on the issue and put his ego aside to serve the issue. Because the issue is to serve his ego, not the other way round.

Ecology and philanthropy be damned. They are merely the fuel and means to give wings and support to the monumental ego and megalomania that is Peter Andrew Allard, a short, fat, unattractive little red headed Canadian who, were it not for his inherited money, would stand un-noticed in an empty room. The only thing Allard ever had going for him was money. And now I udnerstand he doesn’t even have that any longer. As loosers go, PAA is one of the biggest.

14. @ Amused

Each time you make a statement and I challenge you on it you ignore it. But despite that I will challenge you again. Show us where and in what manner “the charge to stop the development is led by the discredited GHNS”. Simply by posting the EIA online and making it available for all to see? By you repeating it over and over?

Far from GHNS leading any charge it is in fact being led by concerned Barbadians so no amount of name calling, ranting and raving and Allard/GHNS bashing on your part is going to change that fact. But of course you have already labeled anyone against the development as:

Nudists
    Gay men who meet and “consort”

Take a look at the face book page and online petition. People have signed their names and included their addresses and some have added their comments and .02 cents.

Citizens have awoken and they don’t need the likes of Allard/GHNS or Amused/Anonymous to tell them what to do or think. That may stick in your throat but that’s the way it is.

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=341708641325#

15. Pathetic, Nostradamus. What’s the matter? “Sight” not working?

16. Amused, your comment went right over my head. Have no idea what you mean by “Sight” not working.

17. @Nostradamus. Not surprised. The true Nostradamus had the sight. You, it would appear, have neither the wit nor the ability to read about the man whose name you have stolen.

18. @Nostradamus. And since it is clear that your reading skills and reading material are both extremely limited and rudimentary (read pre-kindergarten) maybe you ought to read the Long Beach proposal again VERY, VERY SLOWLY and with some professional assistance. The value of that proposal to the Bajan economy and the care taken with it in respect of protecting the environment MAY eventually penetrate what the paucity of the English language forces me to refer to as your “brain”. Peace.

19. Amused,

You read the part of the Governemnt Department Comments documents where both the Ministry of Financa and CZMU said that the proposal had not adequately made proivision for public access to the beach and had treated it as an afterthought? Is that the masterpiece of a proposal you are talking about?

Did you read where CZMU refused to support the proposal for engineering works in the sea to make a calm area for swimming? The developer is sticking to their guns. We want it, we must have it.

Can anyone believe the idiocy of a proposal to make calm swimming waters for tourists? The CZMU thinks it’s bare fololishness.

What about you amused?

Visit the face book page to see how Barbadians feel about this proposed development:

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=341708641325#

Sign the petition here:

20. Environmental Planner Avatar
    Environmental Planner

I was the one that started the ptition, facebook page and Friends of Chancery Lane. Allard had nothing to do with this….I speak for the trees, open space and ecosystems that do not have a voice.

21. Environmental Planner, you are going to bring down the wrath of Amused on yourself!

Hopefully someone will report on the meeting. Amused, if you were there can we have a report.

22. Wow, the looney element is out in force. Facebook and all. But a duologue (which is all it is) between myself and one other party reveals the fact that generally NO ONE IS INTERESTED. It also reveals that whereas a couple of years ago this debate would have resulted in many comments, today, having been discredited totally, Allard/GHNS has been abandoned by the public completely.

Of course Allard didn’t start the Facebook. He doesn’t do things himself. He gets some blasted idiot to do it for him – it is called “deniability”.

23. First Amused labeled anyone against the development as:

Nudists
    Gay men who meet and “consort”

Now, someone starts a face book page, nearly 900 people join within a week or two, over 500 people sign a petition against the development and as always Amused resorts to his favourite practice of callling them a “blasted idiot” and by extension everyone who shares their view.

24. Amused, your arrogance knows no bounds. The fact that there are few people posting to this thread is for the simple reason that they have seen through YOUR agenda and obsessive compulsive position on Peter Allard. It is seen as a personal vendeta and nothing more. The only loony element present is YOURS.

25. Anyone knows if Dr. The Hon. Dennis S. Lowe, Minister of the Environment and Member of The House of Assembly for the said area attended the meeting?

If he attended, did he make any contribution? Do his constituents know his position on the development? Has he made any public statement?

As Minister he would have the professional advice of his staff. As constituency representative he would know the concerns of his constituents.

26. Reminder. If you have not yet done so you can still sign the petition here:

http://www.petitiononline.com/03182010/petition.html

And join the facebook group here:

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?v=info&gid=341708641325

And read the EIA and related documents here:

http://www.graemehall.com/press/papers/LongBeach/

27. The development will go ahead. In Barbados, people with money can afford to buy what they want. There may be some changes to present plans, but I was told today, by someone on the ground, that it is a fait accompli.

28. My point exactly, Pat. But you would expect Nostradamus to have forseen that, but that blowhole doesn’t even know what “the shight” is. He is like a political party doomed to lose an election. Facebook, online petition etc. etc. If he could, he would be driving the punters to the nearest internet cafe to register their “votes” and then holding their hands to make sure they vote the way he wants.

I have studied the plans. I have discussed them with independent experts. In a country of our size, it was inevitable that this area would be developed to the benefit of all Bajans, not just a few “ecology-minded” (read “Allard-brainwashed”/”Allard-bought”) who are well enough off to eschew the finances this development will bring to poor people in terms of upgrading the area, increasing the value of their properties etc.

That it will turn “Seaview” (the Allard residence) into “Developmentview” and its value will be made more equal with others living in that area, is HIS problem. That is life and I completely fail to understand how the revaluation of Allard’s property (which is what this is) is deserving of Bajans voting on Facebook and other internet sites.

It is encouraging and cheering to me to see how responsibly the planning has been done. Nostradamus and other Allard yardfowls, please do not come and ask me a whole lot of questions in an effort to try (desperately) to score points. It will avail you nothing. I respect your right to your opinion (prejudiced and Allard-agenda driven though it is) and I am damned well going to assert my right to my opinion and without entering into any further debate with a whole lot of Bajan and Barbados haters and manipulators.

If Mr Allard does not like what is happening, then he should do as I have invited him to do many time – get the hell out of our country.

29. @ amused

why not tell all those opposed to the project to “get the hell out of our country” ???

30. stranger // March 22, 2010 at 9:38 AM. Because they are Bajans and this is their country – and majority, not a vocal minority, rules. It is not Mr Allard’s country – he is Canadian – so let him deal with the problems of his own country and leave us to deal with ours. Just in case any of the objectors are not Bajan, they should follow Mr Allard to the airport and board the plane of their choice out.

31. @ Amused – You are a f*&^%#* blasted idiot. If you have such strong opinions why don’t you write under your own name? Stupid twit!

32. @ Amused

You said “It is encouraging and cheering to me to see how responsibly the planning has been done.”

At http://www.nationnews.com there are about 50 comments about the Long Beach Development story. Forty three against the development and about 5 to 7 in support of.

Seems as though the vast majority of Bajans disagree with you.

http://www.nationnews.com/story/tourism-project-under-fire-FRONT-PAGE-OTHER

33. Duppy Lizard // March 24, 2010 at 4:51 PM. Did your parents actually christen you “Dupply Lizard?” Must say I have never met the Lizard family and I cannot find them in the phone book and no one seemed to know them. Have to start looking under rocks and in drop boxes, I suppose. Must be a fake passport. One fat blowhard who considers himself a journalist, with a passport with the name of “Duppy Lizard”. Clever. But maybe you should demonstrate how it is done by fessing up to your own real name.

@Nostradamus. Not only no “sight”, no brain either. Poor you. Silence, on the part of the majority, denotes CONSENT!!!! I didn’t know that the population of Barbados had reduced itself to 50 people – of course, that could be as a result of an embargo of the Nation, which would mean that its readership is reduced to just 50 people. OR, it could mean that only 50 people give a damn about the issue in the first place. I however subscribe to the theory that out of a population of 260,000, only 50 people object and, like all objectors of the Allard-Adolf genre (formerly known as “Brown Shirts” (now renamed “Brown-Noses”) in an effort to brown-nose Petite Pete (or is it Petty Pete) and preserve the sanctity and VALUE of his Valhalla (called “Seaview”) so he done got to change de name to “Development View”, all these brown-noses/shirts (one letter too many in that last word) have been reduced to writing in to what masquarades as an organ of the Fourth Estate. BIG DEAL, NOSTRADAMUS!!!!

34. Bear in mind the GHNS Facebook petition got thousands of signatures and it didn’t seem to make a dime of difference.

35. @ David
    It may not seem to have made a dime of difference but let’s wait until elections come around and see what happens.

I believe that the last election in Barbados was probably the first where the power of the internet came to the fore. Blogs, including yours, had a major impact. I suspect that next election the internet with all its facets, including Facebook, twitter etc will be even more powerful.

The internet is a wonderful place to catalogue the broken promises, inaction on important issues and lack of leadership of political parties and individual politicians and their failure to act in the interest of their constituents, citizens and Nation.

The public no longer has to rely on the Newspapers and Radio and young people ignore them anyway, and get their information from the web.

One politician that will surely be under the microscope is Dr. The Hon. Dennis Lowe, Minister of Environment and parliamentary representative for Long Beach Chancery Lane residents.

Did he attend the recent Long Beach Public meeting? What’s his position on the application to develop Long Beach? Is he the Minister that has been charged with dealing with GHNS? Has he brought the much touted and dust collecting draft environmental protection legislation to Parliament?

36. @Nostradamus

On your above could not agree more.

37. @ Amused

About 17 speakers were allowed to address the Long Beach Public Meeting. Seventeen were absolutely opposed to the development. Including those that spoke against, were three UWI Professors. The president of The Barbados National Trust also spoke against it.

These are the people you have labeled “Brown-Noses”?

The only person who spoke in support was someone who looked and sounded like a foreigner. And I am not disparaging that individual in any way as all views are an important contribution to the debate, even yours Amused. That is the purpose of the Public Meeting component of the decision making process for this application.

38. Environmental Planner Avatar
    Environmental Planner

‘Get up stand up stand up for your rights, get up stand up don’t give up the fight!’

I speak for the trees, plants and all living things that do not have a voice. Some people do not understand the impact that ecological degradation has on their own existance. I am here to tell them that it is catastrophic.

Despite all social and cultural attacks by status quo to make us believe that money and power matter more than anything else I and here to inform you that this is what they want us to believe. If you really want to find the true beauty and magic in life believe in yourself and the power of community for this is what really makes a difference. You can do it, make a difference that is, you one can do it!

POWER TO THE PEOPLE!

39. Hi there, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam responses? If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or anything you can suggest? I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any help is very much appreciated.