Hartley Henry – DLP Political Strategist

At St. Patricks last Sunday evening, there was the optical illusion of Mia Mottley arriving and being introduced to the audience and her bearing forth in the “belly” of her speech. For some strange and unimaginable reason, Mottley is using Taurus Riley’s “She’s Royal” as her theme song when making her way to the platform and as part of her formal introduction. That is an error of enormous proportions!

The song and other semantics set the stage for a Hillary Clilnton or a Portia Simpson-like presentation, but within moments of her starting to speak all that femininity is lost and what emerges is a swashbuckling, bare knuckles performance from “one of the boys”.

Say what you would about Dame Billie Miller or the late Dame Mary Eugenia Charles, they stood out as ladies in a man’s world. They never sought to ‘out-man’ the men. They brought a refreshing, feminine perspective that motivated and inspired their audience to listen. They did not bully the listener. Even Sarah Palin remains ‘a woman in a man’s world’, and she has had to battle the toughest of what America has to offer.

Mottley has developed the tendency of bellowing in a haranguing type of way that makes it necessary for her to land repeated punches in order to animate and sustain the interest of her audience. The flaw in her St. Patricks’ presentation is that she had no punches to land. She really had nothing to say.

The meeting was clearly in reaction to the thought; some may say fear, of Owen Arthur drawing a crowd at his previously announced constituency branch meeting.

At the end of an epic week of “wage freeze” discussion, there would obviously have been interest in what Arthur had to say. But Mottley, it would appear, panicked and went for the jugular. Spurred on by one or two sycophants, she used her powers of “veto” to pull the plug on Arthur’s meeting and summoned the entire Barbados Labour Party family and its well wishers to St. Patricks. The organizers would have been disappointed with the less than 500 persons that showed up, especially when it is recalled that Michael Lashley had close to 1,000 the week before at his Constituency Conference.

So coming after the not very dynamic Dale Marshall, Mottley clearly had to lift the meeting from ground zero. Most persons used the occasion of Marshall speaking to quench their thirst or empty their bladder. It was therefore necessary for Mottley to get into the ‘red meat’ of her presentation early, so as not to have a mass exodus of persons while still at the podium. She therefore began by threatening political prosecution of David Estwick and the Democratic Labour Party for what she termed ‘the great betrayal’.

This Great Betrayal, it turned out, was the number of promises in the Democratic Labour Party’s 2008 manifesto that had to date not been delivered upon. Mia Mottley is not rating the government at the end of its fifth year. Neither is she ticking off its failings at the end of the fourth or even third year in office. This third generation politician has determined that 23 months is the point at which she should pass judgment on the achievements of a party that has been given 60 months to govern. February 7th 2010 was less than 24 months that the new government had been sworn into office, and yet Mottley called out her troops to speak to them on broken promises. This is the sort of stuff that political comedies are made of!

The hush that came over the crowd spoke volumes about the bewilderment of the audience as Mottley enumerated items that they themselves knew would have been impossible to deliver in the current economic circumstances. This is the type of poor judgment that a Leader of the Opposition in 2010 cannot afford to display.

But Mottley did not stop there. She shot herself in the foot by removing the authorship of the “wage freeze” initiative from David Estwick and the DLP Government and placing it squarely in the lap of an internationally recognized group of independent analysts.

All speakers prior to Mottley had sought to lay blame for the wage freeze proposal at the feet of “this cruel and uncaring government”. The suggestion by Estwick, they said, was tantamount to war being declared on the poor people of Barbados. Indeed, the placement of the meeting in St. Patricks, the heart of Estwick’s constituency, and the launch of Roger Smith, as his opponent in the next general elections, were in response to what was touted as Estwick’s grievous bodily harm to the workers of Barbados. Yet, Mottley, in her desperation to land a “coo coo” punch, revealed to the audience that it was actually not Estwick or the DLP that had conceived of the wage freeze initiative, but that it was the International Monetary Fund that came up with the idea and that Estwick was merely verbalizing what he had read. Well immediately thinking persons in the audience began to look at each other. The reason for inviting them there was now even more baffling.

If it was not Estwick and the Dems that wanted to inflict “hurt and pain” on the workers of Barbados, then what was all the fuss about? That was the million dollar question persons were asking as they made their way from the meeting to their respective vehicles.

But that was not all! In her quest to curry favor with public officers, Mottley pointed out that the government’s total wage bill was somewhere in the vicinity of 1.3 billion a year and that the minimum three per cent increase that she felt workers should receive would amount to somewhere in the vicinity of $40 million per annum. Okay! So far so good!

But then Mottley proceeded to itemize “the fat” that should be cut to compensate for that $40 million in additional expenditure and she came up with the princely sum of the $1.6 million spent to date on Constituency Councils and $3 million spent on summer camps. Oh yeah! There was then the $15 000 a month that she claimed is paid to one Hartley Henry as Political Advisor.

So the Einstein recommendation from the Leader of Her Majesty’s Loyal Opposition to the Government of Barbados in respect of salary increases for 2010, is that it should go ahead and permit a $40 million increase in its wage bill and compensate for that additional expenditure by dissolving Constituency Councils, scrapping summer camps and firing Hartley Henry. And then Mia Mottley wonders why Owen Arthur, a patriotic Barbadian, is scared of her leading this country!

So Barbadians are today no better for having heard Mia Mottley and the faction of the Labour Party that she leads. Even though the Hon. Prime Minister has spoken and has calmed many fears in relation to the wage freeze frenzy and other aspects of fiscal policy that had been distorted, there is still a void in the discussion. Barbadians are accustomed to two sided arguments. They like the government and the opposition to put their respective positions on a matter and then use their 98 per cent literacy rate to themselves decipher and decide.

After the events of the past seven days, the government’s position has been clearly put by the Prime Minister and Minister of Finance. Even if you do not agree with David Thompson, you know and understand where he is coming from. He has been dealt a tough hand and he is playing it as best he or anyone else could.

With the bungling of the glorious opportunity presented Mia Mottley to put her case and that of the Barbados Labour Party, Owen Arthur will now have to step in to fill the breach. How Mottley could have gone to St. Patricks to speak on the economy with no Arthur, no Clyde Mascoll and no Tyrone Barker is madness in the extreme. But, that is what power struggles are made of. Now, the same Owen Arthur, who was denied an opportunity to address a small constituency branch one week ago, will have a national stage on which to perform whenever he mounts his soap box again.

Nature abhors a vacuum and the void at the helm of the Barbados Labour Party is becoming bigger and more pronounced for all to see. Stopping Owen Arthur from speaking last Sunday could turn out to be a costly error for Mia Mottley.

This thriller has only just begun!

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

26 responses to “Mia Mottley Bungled A Golden Opportunity (Part II)”

1. My, My, My Hartley at his very best, this article has lot of bite in it and this decription is not used loosely.

I have no love for Mottley either but I would be prepared to tell her to reconsider her mannish style of leadership as the Barbadian people detest a leader with a big whip outlook and to seek help for her agressive and bullying ways and to seek counsel and to seek a way forwrd that allows for the return to Parliament of her only spokesperson on financial matters because as it stands now for the BLP they are a hodge podge of bits and pieces politicians no Attorney General material no Finance person around only a frizzled fowl Forde that opens her mouth and knows not what will fall out of it, I would suggest to her to look for those that she took money from in their expectation of her finding them a job and repay them swiftly if not sooner to avoid a date with the court, that is all I will say to the dancing elephant Forde, or the Missing In INACTION Pain, a lack lustre Dale an ever been seen less Toppin, what is there to excite anyone other than the Parro In A Suit Greenidge who has had to be escorted out of the halls of Parliament never to return once Mr Steven Lashley presides in Parliament.

There is a certain degree of emptyness that is showing itself from the BLP members and I wish her well but I can tell you she will neither unite the BLP party or the Nation, the Barbadian people detest her, some say the best option is to let her continue her downward sprial unaided but we are Barbadians and we are known to help one another in times of need, her time of need came sooner than she or most like her would have expected, she is a spent force and she never went to war.

Some even claim that she assisted the Prime Minister of Dominica in regaining the Government of Dominica when she was working for the opposition party there he told the voters that she cannot even win an election in her homeland yet she went to Dominica to fight in someone else’s land with no history of success under her belt at home and now abroad as this is her second recent failure in short order, even more funny is both she and Liz Thompson campaigned in St.Kitts two BLP members but the divide is such that Mottley campaigned for one party and Thompson for the other and yet again another massive downright FAILURE another loss while dabbling as an elected poltician seeking to create strive in foreign lands.

She really is a sad example of what people should aspire to in more ways than one.

2. We are really not interested in mia mottley.

We will like to see the DLP prosecute the BLP for the stealing and other acts and stop with the lotta long talk.

3. Excellent, HH. Fine piece of work. It would have been worth buying the Advocate to read it. I withdraw unconditionally my previous statements.

4. Arthur in the last term gave Mascoll alot the responsibility of finance, he was junior minister of finance effectively. It seems logical that Arthur and Mascoll would be given some license to speak more frequently by the BLP about the economic issues which are very topical at the moment. Mascoll appears to be confined to his 600 word column in the nation newspaper and Arthur continues to play boo peep with the party.

The assertion which Henry made in the column, can it be confirmed Mottley did not get the arithmetic right regarding how much the government can save to avoid a freeze, oops moratorium.

5. It is amazing that Mottley in her zeal for control overlooks the fact that there is no one in the BLP that the public respects or has any regard of for matters financial but in her zest for power overlooks the most sensible choice to speak on her behalf and the parties behalf.

Not that for a minute am I suggest Arthur was great at that job by the evidence we all now see of massive cost over runs and mega corrupt actions right down to costing one operator a $ 1 Million dollars paid to a bank account for Arthur to secure a building permission for a block of condos is down right dishonest.

Mottley has no value as leader and both she and the party knows as much, why then persist in pushing her down people’s throats?

6. There is nothing stopping Owen Arthur summoning another press conference similar to the one he did after Ms Mottley announced the vote for leadership of the party.

7. What stops the men in the BLP standing up to their woman leader? If they have something to say, why do they need to be given an audience? If Mascoll has something to say on economics, he can talk as freely as he wants: he’s no longer an MP and under no party whip. The idea that Arthur is somehow being muzzled sounds absurd. He’s more likely waiting for what he wants to be the right moment.

8. @Brooklyn Dodger

You have probably struck the nail firmly on the head!

@Bush Tea

Trust you with your extremism…lol.

To think a Christian is having this problem in England sovereign laws and the home of King James.

9. Down with the damned DLP and the blasted BLP!!

Just check the front page of the Barbados Advocate, 13 February, 2010, and one would see the condescending rotten foolish nonsense that the Prime Minister of Barbados reportedly “deliberately coughed up and spat right into the faces” of esp. hardworking and business oriented people of this country, about how this DLP Government was ensuring that “the people’s money is well spent and pays dividends”.

Well, peoples, do NOT just observe that foolish nonsense, but just check also how an undiluted culture of feigned ignorance has enveloped this brute nonsense and one would see why we and an increasing number of Barbadians have resolved to making sure that the DLP and BLP MUST GO in this country.

For, the Prime Minister of Barbados, as a lawyer, must have known by now that it is grossly wrong and criminal for persons to steal from one another.

Also, he, as Head of Government, must have known by now that it is abominably wrong for the government to steal from others.

And, as a church goer from early childhood, he would have come to be aware of the fact that in the Holy Bible one of the ten commandments says rightly that thou shall not steal, and that, as a legislator for close to 23 years, there are domestic laws that outlaw acts of theft in Barbados.

Therefore, it is on such bases that we in the PDC categorically reject as nonsensical and outrageous, the reported claim of the Prime Minister that this DLP Government is ensuring that the PEOPLE’S MONEY is well spent and that dividends are paid.

For, The Prime Minister must be told in no uncertain terms that he is outright lying. It is NOT the people’s money – as he so falsely claims – that this wicked dotish DLP Government is ensuring is well spent but it is portions of the incomes of the relevant individual people, individual businessess and individual others in this country, that he must correctly refer to in the first place before going onto to state other lies. The Prime Minister must be reprimanded for this behaviour that has long been associated with fascist elitist behaviour.

Surely, Mr. Thompson is also being intellectually dishonest here!!

Also, Mr. Thompson must have known by now that the rights that the people of Barbados have over the so-called people’s money do NOT exist and therefore – IN THE ABSENCE OF SUCH – CAN NEVER be juxtaposed with the nature and scope and significance of those natural and legal rights under which the general incomes and properties of the relevant people, businesses and others subsume and which too on a daily basis in this country are being severely violated and abrogated by this wicked DLP Government.

Hence, it is another bold nasty lie for the Prime Minister to suggest to the public at large that this DLP government, of which he leads, has some duty or responsibility following from some bogus right the government has to TAX, to make sure that the mythical people’s monies are well spent and dividends are paid – when in truth and in fact this whole income and property that the government sickeningly presides over has been derived through the government’s stealing countless portions of the incomes of the relevant people and others in Barbados.

For, these incomes and properties are really stolen loot, and as such the government has no legal or any other kinds of duties owed to the real owners in cases where it has come by this stolen loot through stealing and robbing portions of the incomes of such people and others. That is one of the reasons why some individual citizens and businesses in Barbados are still looking to the government for so-called TAX returns and VAT returns and will continue to look in vain or almost in vain for these returns, unless some citizen or citizens take the government to court over them. But, surely this is the type of banana republic some Barbadians want but NOT the PDC!!! It has long been said that prevention is better than cure!!

Neither is this DLP Government a responsible government in regard of TAXATION, because this DLP like all governments since the 1600s until now in the 2000s in Barbados has continued and will continue this evil immoral practice of TAXING – until a PDC Government or some other government that despises taxation and its very unwholesome effects on the people – comes and abolishes it, with the support of a broad cross-section of the people.

Nor is this DLP Government making sure that this non-existent people’s money is well spent and dividends are paid. That is certainly a cocktail of pure lies and myths. Instead, what we in the PDC have been really seeing, and from our own understanding of the perpectives of TAXATION, realism, and good governance, is a government that has been resolved to making sure – even after it and the former BLP Government have been seen by many citizens to be squandering the imaginary people’s money on many useless projects and engaging in many corrupt activities – that the masses and middle classes are NOT as near as possible to understanding and accepting that TAXATION is theft, and therefore are NOT as near to doing anything substantial about this crime against humanity.

Well, Mr. Thompson would clearly be dead wrong if he is thinking in those ways!! Primarily because more and more citizens are honestly properly believing that what we in the PDC say about TAXATION, that it is criminal theft, is true and that whenever a PDC becomes at the helm of government in this country TAXATION will be absolutely abolished and replaced by systems and strategies that will, et al, realize the government earning its own revenues and paying its own bills. So many persons are already gearing up to VOTE for us on that basis!!!

Finally for now, a future PDC Government will also make sure that a certain big ring around game is done away with for the greater growth and development of the Barbadian society. Thus, where DLP and BLP Governments have been stealing portions of the incomes and properties of the relevant people and others and then – on some very unrighteous, and on some very contrived bases – handing over some of that income and property to persons and others in this country, and for many of them to in turn hand back over – on again very thieving bases – to the government – those kinds of situations will come to an end under a PDC Government.

So, there you have it peoples.

10. So Owen ain’t get to speak. How sad.
    ————
    Yet, Mottley, in her desperation to land a “coo coo” punch, revealed to the audience that it was actually not Estwick or the DLP that had conceived of the wage freeze initiative, but that it was the International Monetary Fund that came up with the idea and that Estwick was merely verbalizing what he had read.

His face was not straight when he made the suggestion.

http://bimchat.wordpress.com/2010/02/05/this-that-part-four/

11. I was hoping to keep off these blogs since we are only seeing loads of diatribe from writers who are diametrically opposed to the opposition and using such issues as a blind to cover-up the financial mess left by the Bees and not being re-energised by the Dee. Hartley, we need solutions and not the constant mouthing about Mia or Mia/Owen. Do tell me Hartley, why is it everytime that you write, automatically, Wishing in Vain becomes the leading contributor? Maybe, HH and WIV could be the same since you are the region’s leading political strategist. (giggle)

Let’s get strategies in mobilising our people to work with Government in the alleviation of financial hardships being experienced by the three utilities raising bills that will affect the businesses, thus leading to lay-offs.

Peace be unto you.

12. Tell Me Why // February 15, 2010 at 10:29 AM

I was hoping to keep off these blogs since we are only seeing
    ————————————————-

ha ha ha wuh nuhbody din miss your departure nor welcomes your return. Um is the nature of the blogs. We all come and go without de sentimentality.

Yet you are back with the same tired approach to debating. I predict that you will once again leave and no one will notice. ha ha ha ha

13. Trained Economist Avatar

What do you all think of Prof beckles’s nasty attack on prof. howard. I think its the most anti-intellectual act in barbados in the last 100 years.

14. Wishing In Vain wrote

“I have no love for Mottley either but I would be prepared to tell her to reconsider her mannish style of leadership….”

I have no love for Thompson either.

A woman with a strong personality is far more pleasing to my eyes and ears than man with feminine antics and demeanour. Whenever I see Thompson I see and hear that buller fellow Paula. Bajans got a good chance to see his femininity him during that last Press Conference – my God. There were times I had to run back to look at the TV to see who was speaking. He sounded soo womanish and I heard many persons making the same point.

Oh but what the heck I am told that Cameron Tudor had a very strong influence in his life.

15. It is not true that Bajans forget quickly. Some bajans not all. Mia wished to forget……..

Remember the 2004 IMF consultation? Remember the Politicians and other senior civil servant pay increase back in 2005? probably not. What is the difference between a “wage freeze” “wage restaint?”

Page 24 of the IMF 2004 consultation with the GoB.

http://www.imf.org/external/pubs/ft/scr/2004/cr04154.pdf

• The first protocol (1993–95) established an economy-wide wage freeze. The protocol also required companies to abstain from price increases except those warranted by increases in prices of imported inputs or changes in taxation.

• The second protocol (1995–97) provided for a period of wage restraint in line with productivity changes.

• The third protocol (1998–2000) maintained productivity guidelines for wage increases, and also emphasized issues of job security and training.

• The fourth protocol (2001–04), which is currently in force, includes guidelines on workers’ health and safety, in addition to incomes policy issues. A fifth protocol is being negotiated and an agreement is expected in the next few months.

16. @Mr. Hartley Henry…

Just wondering if you might be able to tell us all what the status is on the promised Freedom Of Information Act and the Integrity Legislation?

It is boiler plate language — enacted and functional in many jurisdictions.

Why the delay here in Bim?

17. I don’t comment on what fanatics have to say. Neither David Thompson’s nor Mia Mottley’s affectations trouble me – have nothing to prove. Nor does either to me.

Perhaps if I doubted by own sexuality, I would be inclined to Royalrumble’s view.

What I liked was Thompson’s frankness, openness, comfort level and explanations. Truthfully, we have not seen that for a long time.

Sorry, fanatics, but that’s the general verdict out there!

I remember well: the more dishonest Owen Arthur got, the less we saw him!

He stayed away from the House, refused to debate the economy on television, avoided press conferences. Was the rumbler really his Press Secretary?

I will judge David Thompson by his accessibility! It tells a story…

18. @Albert: “What I liked was Thompson’s frankness, openness, comfort level and explanations. Truthfully, we have not seen that for a long time.

Please correct me if I’m wrong here Albert, but did not Mr. David Thompson ***promise*** bajans more access to information, and that government officials would be forced to act with greater integrity, if he was elected? (I seem to remember something about 100 days.)

This hasn’t happened.

Why?

19. I don’t know frankly. I don’t go by such fluff and puppetry.

He said at his media event that it was being considered, was coming before the House soon but it included accountability in the private sector to avoid interlocking directorships etc.

Now that’s sure to ruffle some feathers!

Kudos again to David Thompson.

20. @Albert: “He said at his media event that it was being considered…

Was being *considered*??? He **PROMISED** this. It could be argued he was elected because of this promise.

@Albert: “…was coming before the House soon…

“Soon” can mean so very many different things. It can mean infinity, in fact.

@Albert: “…but it included accountability in the private sector to avoid interlocking directorships etc.

Why do you think we want FOI?

Just how long should we give the private sector to disentangle themselves from the public purse?

And how long should we give those holding the public purse to do the same?

My answer: zero days.

No one has anything to fear from any release of information, assuming of course, all their actions are entirely above board.

What says you Albert et al to my above?

21. @Chris

Did you watch the press conference?

Have you listened to Senator Orlando Marville on the subjects of FOI and Integrity Legislation?

If you have should we conclude you don’t accept the challenges/hurdles listed by the Senator who heads the commission overseeing these matters?

22. @David…

Please feel comfortable concluding that I don’t accept the challenges and hurdles listed.

Every citizen is a shareholder in the Government. Ergo, every citizen has a right to have questions answered.

There is nothing to prevent a FOIA (covering the GoB) being enacted immediately.

The fact the proposed scope here has been expanded to cover entities which elsewhere do not fall under FOI just might make one go “hmmm…”.

23. “There is nothing to prevent a FOIA (covering the GoB) being enacted immediately.”

Stupse. Yes there is. That thing is called commonsense. What’s the point of enacting something “immediately” just for the sake of saying “there we have FOIA” if the bloody thing won’t be workable or effective. Better to get proper legislation first rather than rushing to put something on the books that won’t really achieve what it’s supposed to (and then have to bring an amendment bill in a few months too). Tekking time aint laziness! I ain’t gine crucify de Govt in this one (noy yet anyway). Plenty more things to crucify them on at the moment.

24. “I have no love for Mottley either but I would be prepared to tell her to reconsider her mannish style of leadership….”

I have no love for Thompson either.

You see Greenidge the real and ever present news here is that the PRIME MINISTER is the goodly gentleman MR DAVID THOMPSON QC, PM and you r MAN Mottley is not!!!

And from the looks of things HE MOTTLEY will NEVER BE PRIME MINISTER ONCE OWING IS AROUND AND HAS A SAY IN POLITICS IN BARBADOS, he has seen to that, your best bet is to seek Owing’S HELP TO REMOVE HIM MOTTLEY FROM HIS SUFFERING.

25. @Wishing In Vain // February 15, 2010 at 11:54 PM. Lef poor Mia’s private life lone. All she is doing is to ask for the same as men demand. The four Ps. Power, pay, perquisites and……what was that last P?

26. Amused,
    She does tek the last p from women by force some of the time. She needs to tone down in order to get some respect from the general public. She simply has to make peace with Owen and George.
    Power to mek people pay as a perquisite for getting work permits or immigrat ion status. Ask that poor Guyanese girl who had to go by her house several times before she got what she wanted