For the past three weeks the world has remained horrified at the news coming out of Haiti. Much has been stated about the untold suffering which has been visited on Haiti throughout the years. The images beamed across the world by a Western press has exposed the destruction of Port au Prince now rubble, over one hundred thousand dead, over one hundred thousand people relegated to amputee status, and over one million people homeless.

As if the horrific scenes unfolding on a nightly basis was not enough to make grown men cry – delivered courtesy of CNN’s Anderson Cooper and Doctor cum journalist Sanjay Gupta – we have had to witness another horrific event although not being reported as such. How many Black children have been adopted, in the process of being adopted, or simply stolen from Haiti during this period of uncertainty and distress in Haiti? The images of Black children being taken legally or otherwise by White people from Haiti has been troubling to BU.

The turbulent history of Haiti which has led to an unstable political and economic environment has seen an exodus of Haitian bodies and minds now dispersed around the globe. The point which needs to be made may offend some. If we go by the many reports, Haitian children including babies labelled as orphans are being snapped up by White families in the USA. BU acknowledge the humanitarian response by those driven to adopt the many children which have been orphaned in Haiti. What must be acknowledged also is the reluctance of the Black Haitian middle class living in Haiti and many others living in the USA who appear to be sitting on the fence as the future of Haiti is being whisked away on planes on a daily basis.

What will happen to those Black Haitian children raised by White families in the USA? What kind of identity will these children develop? Will they be able to identify with the country where they were uprooted in the years to come? So many questions. BU suspects many of the babies removed from Haiti in the last three weeks will grow up knowing Haiti as a distant place. What effect will the removal of so many children have on the aspirations of a country which was struggling in the people resources before the earthquake?

The success of any nation is dependent on its people more importantly its children. The surrender of Haitians at home and abroad to the removal of its children without a whimper is of concern.

132 responses to “What About The Haitian Children?”

1. Haiti is an unusual country. I believe the concerns expressed in this piece are misplaced.

Question: What will happen to those Black Haitian children raised by White families in the USA?
    Answer: They will probably have richer, more meaningful and more comfortable lives than they would have had growing up in earthquake-ravaged Haiti.

Question: What kind of identity will these children develop? Will they be able to identify with the country where they were uprooted in the years to come?
    Answer: Most black children growing up in white families and white communities are forced to confront the racial factors in identity formation at an early age, because they cannot avoid realising that they are “different” from their neighbours and friends. They quickly learn, from inside the lion’s den, the complex manifestations of racism, and usually become more sophisticated (not less) than their stay-at-home Caribbean brothers and sisters in their responses to the problems we all face in dealing effectively with whites. Many of the most loyal West Indians I know left the West Indies at an early age, or are the foreign-born children of West Indians who live abroad.
    Question: What effect will the removal of so many children have on the aspirations of a country which was struggling before the earthquake?
    Answer: None. If anything, it should free up scarce resources and lighten the crushing burden of overpopulation in a country that, before the earthquake, could not afford to provide most of its children with a decent high school education–and therefore wasted their potential. There is no shortage of orphans in Haiti, with or without foreign adoptions. The hundreds being shipped abroad are a small fraction of the hundreds of thousands (and now, millions) that will remain in the country.

2. The children of Haiti have the right to be raised in the country of their birth.
    How is it we have all these UN resolutions and other interest groups who promote and advocate all kinds of causes but no such luck with Haiti’s children. Is it good enough to just peddle Black children not only in Haiti but elsewhere. It has to stop.

The forgiveness of debt for Haiti even at this time is a supporting point. To stop the theft of Black children around the globe the developed world has to help enable the infrastructure of poor Black countries. It is a moral obligation.

3. David, level of your hypocrisy never ceases to amaze me. It is, in fact, nausea inducing. Why don’t you and Bajans and the Barbados Government bring all the Haitian orphans to Barbados? Yes, all you Guyanese-hating Bajans, why don’t you bring all the Haitian orphans to Barbados? Can’t wait to hear your answer/excuse David. This blog only exists to promote your own personal biases and twisted beliefs David. Black Americans/Canadians and even Black Europeans are not being prevented from adopting Haitian orphans. Where are they in the picture? Stop trying to perpetuate the racial divide David.

4. Your correct we have an agenda. It is one where we dream of Blacks not being taken for granted and used as the door mats of the developed world. Haiti and many poor Black countries have been caught up in the whirl wind of economic greed and whenever we have to shout out our pain we get the usual response, you know what? Get use to it.

5. Haitian women should be given birth control. What sense does it make to have children when they can’t feed them? much less take care of them? How can they support a child/children living on $2 per day and eating mudcakes?

6. More hypocrisy! You still haven’t answered the two questions posed to you David. Are you, your extended family, Bjans and their government going to take in the Haitian orphans??? Are American/Canadian/European blacks stepping up to the plate and adopting Haitian orphans??? David, if you can’t answer these two very straight forward questions then you need to stop adding fodder to the racial divide. Put up or shut up.

7. Anon(2)

We are not the type of people who will go into other people’s lands and start taking their babies. We would not approach it that way. Except for these white people, everybody wants their own children; their own blood. Adoption is usually a last resort.

This leads us to the motive for these people wanting the children in the first place; and we can be sure that it is not about the child, it is about them. Let me say, they buy pets too.

So you need to examine the situation before you go on with your acrimonious approach. This is not fodder for the racial divide, the act of adopting black babies and warping their minds is about the perpetration of the racial divide. It is about white expansionism rather than humanitarian.

I think you should take your own advice and put up and shut up.

8. The market is the sale of black babies on the black market… and is probably controlled by different coloured syndicates

9. Anon (2) You ass, as soon as we the black MOTHERS AND PEOPLE cry foul. We are labeled as haters and all such like!

Why is it that in the great USA they are papers and procedures to be signed and adhered to but NOOOOOO Not you bastards. You all think that we have to bow to you just because our children are hungry and starving BECAUSE OF YOUUUUUUUUU AND YOUR KIND!

Don’t forget your kind (even if you are black cause ya condning it) circled Haiti and refused to allow ships to enter to feed the same BLACK CHILDREN. So don’t make it seem as if you all are our FU***** saviours!!!! Cause we aint buying that shit!!!!!!!

Spare us your bull shit!

10. Who made Haiti incapable of feeding her children?

Are the Haitians responsible for the poverty and misery that infest their island?

Who do these gringos think they are that they can just run thru Haiti and THIEF humans?

It is very disturbing to see a white man with a little black boy…very disturbing. These children could just disappear and no one has to give an account for them.

Right now America is loaded with children who could be adopted! Why don’t they go and adopt them?

Since they are christians, why don’t they petition and protest against the ungodly, immoral US Government, World Bank, IMF, Businessmen and all the other RAPERS of that land….to STOP the economic, social, immoral and political brutalization of Haiti.

With all the good that whitey is supposedly doing in the world, the world should be a better place today..shouldn’t it?

The rapers, pillagers and molesters of this world will never let that country thrive, because they are afraid of the Haitian Spirit..that PROUD, STRONG, AFRICAN SPIRIT THAT ONCE BANISHED 60,000 BEASTLY FRENCHMEN. THEY ARE AFRAID THAT IT WILL RISE AGAIN.

So they will do everything in their power to keep her subjugated, [just like they have the rest of us, even though we think we’re free]including stealing her human resource. And again this is done in the name of a christian god!

What a farce!What an abomination!

Damnable heresy!

11. Guiltiness, rest on their conscience,, oh yeah!

Take it away Kiki!
    Some good ole Robert Nesta for the soul.

12. The main thrust of this blog is to ask why Haitians, Black Haitians in Haiti and outside are allowing their young children to disappear in an alien culture. This should be part of the discussion. BU stands by our opinion on this matter.

13. Mr Technician
    I agree we should listen to some Bob, Peter and Bunny.

We need to go short on Hate & Greed
    And long on Love & Protection as our
    short and long time business objectives
    and future investments.

Bob Marley

Peter Tosh

Bunny Wailer

14. @ Kiki…

Bup Bup!!

15. The main thrust of this blog is to ask why Haitians, Black Haitians in Haiti and outside are allowing their young children to disappear in an alien culture.

Arent they going toTHE ALIEN CUTURE THAT MANY BAJANS ADORE?

arent we not going to celebrate super bowl sunday?

arent we following american blacks to celebrate black month?

Why cant the poor black Haitian children go to the prpmise land and enjoy some materialism? The same materialism that we now blatantly now adopt in Barbados?

are we not being just big hypocrites?

16. @Anon…….Not everyone who reside in the promise land enjoy materialism. There are some who know the dangers of materialism…how it depletes the soul of any substance, leaving it empty …. and are using what little knowledge they have to protect these children. Its this same amerikan materialism that depletes the very culture that gives meaning to one’s being.

So it might be in the best interest of these unsuspecting babes to want to protect them from a vulturistic society.

Or should we throw them to the wolves in the name of humanitarism?

17. “The main thrust of this blog is to ask why Haitians, Black Haitians in Haiti and outside are allowing their young children to disappear in an alien culture”

Poor black Haitians actually are much better than American blacks at informally adopting the destitute black children of relatives and friends–and sometimes even the black children of total strangers. However, in Haiti, there is a high degree of colour-consciousness, and elite, mixed-race Haitians (mulattos or light-skinned Negroes) usually will not touch the children of poor blacks. This is not just a matter of social status. The enmity between blacks and mulattos goes all the way back to the slave era, when the French plantation owners used free mulattos to hunt down fugitive slaves. During the struggle for independence a civil war erupted between recently freed black slaves, under General Toussaint L’Ouverture, and mulattos under General Andre Rigaud. After independence was secured from France, Haiti was partitioned between a northern kingdom, ruled from the city of Cap Haitien by a black, Grenadian-born general (Henri Christophe), and a southern republic, ruled from Port au Prince by a mulatto general (Alexandre Petion). And throughout the 20th century, presidential contests have almost always featured a black candidate running against a mulatto.

I could go on, but you get the point.

18. Ding Ding Licky Licky Licky Bong
    It seems like it only happened yesterday
    now that I think about it
    tears cannot bring you joy
    but joy can bring you tears
    even though I cry today
    I will not hide it
    It is for a different reason – joy
    that is why I’ll shout it out
    for the world to hear
    I say hello, hello happiness
    Oh Jah, thank you
    for another day, I say
    Ding Ding Licky Licky Bong

19. Wow!

I am trying to deal with a problem we have. I know it is in me too but that don’t mean we can’t get rid of it. I have been trying hard not to call people degrading names. It is a whole education in itself.

We don’t have to follow the christians on here who seem to have a natural inclination towards it, and even though we should expect the best example from them, it is obvious that they are incapable of taking this lead.

I long for the day that we can debate, throw in contrary and opposing opinions, etc. without the acrimony. This calls for maturity and discipline. I may be idealistic here, but let me say that we use degrading words because we practice it. If however, we practice a more civil approach, it can happen.

I am the first to admit that I have been guilty so please don’t start up on me. let us try to improve. I endeavour to improve and like David said, readers should feel free to comment without being attacked. Well that lick me up on religion. That is one area which is irresistible because of the bad behaviour of the christians. LOL! Forgive them because they know not what they do.

20. @Mobutu

Man you getting better everyday. Don’t backslide. Keep reporting and researching.

21. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

This type of thing happened in australia. it was termed the “stolen generations” and considered an atrocity. procedures must be followed so that those children LEGALLY adopted have the recourse of tracing their roots and extended families. Anything else is a crime against humanity.
    Interestingly enough the Australian example was perpetrated under the guise of child protection and church missions played a prominent role along with state authorities.

22. Come we go burn down Babylon one more time
    (Come we go burn down Babylon one more time);
    Come we go chant down Babylon one more time
    (Come we go chant down Babylon);
    For them soft! Yes, them soft! (ah-yoy!)
    Them soft! Yes, them soft! (ah-yoy!)
    So come we go chant down Babylon one more time
    (Come we go chant down Babylon)!

Men see their dreams and aspiration-a
    Crumble in front of their face,
    And all of their wicked intention
    To destroy the human race.

And how I know – and how I know – and that’s how I know:
    Come we go burn down Babylon one more time
    (Come we go burn down Babylon one more time);
    Come we go chant down Babylon one more time
    (Come we go chant down Babylon);
    For them soft! Yes, them soft! (ah-yoy!)
    Them soft! Yes, them soft! (ah-yoy!)
    So come we go chant down Babylon one more time
    (Come we go chant down Babylon)!

Men see their dreams and aspiration-a
    Crumble in front of their face,
    And all of their wicked intention
    To destroy the human race.

And how I know – and how I know – and that’s how I know:
    A Reggae Music, mek we chant down Babylon;
    With music, mek we chant down Babylon;
    This music, mek we chant down Babylon;
    This music, come we chant down Babylon.

Chant Down Babylon

23. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

These are the words of an australian aborigine on her experience:

“I thought I was being taken just for a few days. I can recall seeing my mother standing on the side of the road with her head in her hands, crying, and me in the black FJ Holden wondering why she was so upset. A few hundred words can’t fix this all but it’s an important start and it’s a beginning[…] I see myself as that little girl, crying myself to sleep at night, crying and wishing I could go home to my family. Everything’s gone, the loss of your culture, the loss of your family, all these things have a big impact.”

24. Hopi you are correct in saying that not everyone who reside in the promise land enjoy materialism and that there are some who know the dangers of materialism…how it depletes the soul of any substance, leaving it empty ….

I was pointing out that many in Bim and other places think that “the promised land” with all its materialism is what life is all about.

The same Haitans watch the American tv and long to go to the promise land. They often lose thier lives in perilous journeys to achieve this…………and often when they reach the waters of Florida or its shores they are deported.

so why is adopting some of them a problem, when many of them want just that…………to go to the promise land to enjoy its materialism.

i know that i am making some sense ha ha ha

and are using what little knowledge they have to protect these children. Its this same amerikan materialism that depletes the very culture that gives meaning to one’s being.

So it might be in the best interest of these unsuspecting babes to want to protect them from a vulturistic society.

Or should we throw them to the wolves in the name of humanitarism?

25. …’arent we not going to celebrate super bowl sunday?

Why not? It is a sport played by a higher % of blacks that any other race.
    Do you know what Mark Sanchez’s performance has done to Hispanics in NYC? do you know who is Donovan McNaab, Deshawn Jackson, Brian Westbrook or Demarcus Ware?

Do you know who Pierre Garcon is?…A Haitian playing in the Super Bowl on Sunday raising money through HIS foundation.
    http://www.honoluluadvertiser.com/article/20100203/BREAKING02/100203002?source=rss_breaking
    What does sports have to do with anything? Do you like cricket? Do you know what is the real meaning behind the sentence “Cricket is a gentlemans’ game?”
    Look at what Lewis Hamilton has proven. Do you watch the NBA?
    Leave sports out because that is the one thing on this earth that brings us together, regardless of color, class, or religion.

26. The same Haitans watch the American tv and long to go to the promise land. They often lose thier lives in perilous journeys to achieve this…………and often when they reach the waters of Florida or its shores they are deported.

so why is adopting some of them a problem, when many of them want just that…………to go to the promise land to enjoy its materialism.

Who were the people responsible for deporting the Haitians then and who are the ones trying to adopt them now?

Do you see the hypocrisy that contradicts the two paragraphs above?
    It isn’t just 3 weeks ago the Haitians were in need of help.
    It is just that now, it suits some people’s agendas…that is all!

27. ’arent we not going to celebrate super bowl sunday?

You see the super bowl as sport

I see the super bowl as AMERICAN and related to the same supremist regime that some of you knock here on BU all the time.

When it suits you folk you flip from its is a sport to something that is American

in my johny come lately mind that is hypocrisy

why is our country americanised with all the fast food outlets

we have even change our school system to a SEMESTER SYSTEM at BCC and UWI …….we no longer have a school year

sport APPEARS to bring people together

after the game….. everyone goes to his own house ha ha

would you like now to teach me what is meant by the term that “Cricket is a gentlemans’ game?”

is cricket an integral part of the bajan culture?

has not barbados produced more top class cricketers per square mile than any where else?

28. Do you see the hypocrisy that contradicts the two paragraphs above?
    It isn’t just 3 weeks ago the Haitians were in need of help.
    It is just that now, it suits some people’s agendas…that is all!

NO I SEE THAT THERE IS HYPOCRISY ALL AROUND! ha ha ha

29. Thank heavens we dont do Fahrenheit…lol

30. It is not just America, it is Canada, Europe, England etc.
    Everyone wants to find greener pastures and I dont blame them.
    As Hopi said, everyone doesn’t have to be materialistic but some do. It is personal choices made by superficial people IMHO. I know of many people and places in NYC where, if it weren’t for the cold (snow today) you would swear you were back in Bim…lol.
    I had bakes and porridge this morning…go figure.
    What McDonald’s what?!?

As long as our leaders and decision makers continue to follow the Capitalist system to the hilt as we march on to find and maintain first world status, we will be any and everything our leaders and “providers’ want us to be.

You see Anon, I agree with much of what you say but I think (again IMHO) you are putting the blame on the led rather than the leaders.

31. Talkin’ blues (talkin’ blues), talkin’ blues (talkin’ blues):
    They say your feet is just too big for your shoes, woe-oh-oh-oh!
    Talkin’ blues (talkin’ blues), keep on talkin’ blues (talkin’ blues);
    They say – you hear what they say –
    Didn’t you hear?

Cold ground was my bed (bed last night),
    Rockstone – rockstone – rockstone was my pillow;
    Cold ground was my bed last night (bed last night),
    And rock was my pillow, too.
    TALKING BLUES The Maroons

I – I’m a gonna take a just-a one step more
    ‘Cause I feel like bombin’ a church –
    Now – now that you know that the preacher is lyin’.
    So who’s gonna stay at home
    When – when the freedom fighters are fighting?

32. @Technician: “You see Anon, I agree with much of what you say but I think (again IMHO) you are putting the blame on the led rather than the leaders.

You et al will have to trust me on this: I’m not “Anon”.

But I have to speak to the statement you’ve made above…

The “Led” *must* take responsibility for their actions. After all, they (nominally) elected their Leaders.

The “Led” are actually in control. If only they would realize it.

To not take responsibility for one’s own actuations is folly. It is fundamental weakness.

It is *easy* to blame.

It is *not* so easy to take responsibility.

33. @All…

Perhaps put a slight different way…

“Yes We Can” does not mean “Yes We Will Be Given”.

IMHO. For what that is worth….

34. what de heck? barbados celebrates halloween? and now superbowl?
    oh sweet jesus!

the land of black-belly SHEEP!

35. Where they are no laws thereis lawless
    and Haiti is that that crossroad.However
    the taking of children from anyone country without the legal paper work is kidnapping. Now here is where i going to differ with much of what been said here
    concerning the children in Haiti.
    Firstly let me say when one sees the suffering of the children and the unliveable conditions under which they are living as a human being and putting
    politics aside the first thing that comes
    to the mind is what can i do for them.
    Now one can debate back and forth at this point and time the politics of the problem .But for goodness sake this is an unusual circumstance and people reaching out to help should not be frowned upon. I meaning all of us who
    can afford to do so should be helping to
    get these children off the street and in our homes.Leave politics aside for a minute. The racial divide right now is not going to accomplish anything
    Question:
    Would you rather have the children in
    homes or on the streets of Por-au-Prince
    living in such horrible conditions.

36. Bad Man Saying Nuttin // February 3, 2010 at 1:28 PM

I agree with you. The same thing happened in Canada with the indigenous peoples. They were taken from their families and put in residential schools run by Christians where they were abused. Others were given to white families to raise.

The Canadian government had to apologise and pay reparations for the damage caused to these children. Many thousands had to get counselling

With regard to the Haiti children, the Canadian government has stipulated that there will be no new adoptions. Only those adoptions that were already in progress when the earthquate occurred will be allowed entry to Canada. Quite a few of the ones who arrived here recently were adopted by Haitian emigres. Probably children of relatives who died in the hurricanes and floodings of the recent two years.

37. @ac

A valid comment but this business of Black children in Haiti and elsewhere has been going on long before the earthquake. As Black people whatever pressure we can exert to have Haiti rebuild the infrastructure to care for its future is the way to go.

38. @David
    I do understand where you are coming from and it is a big problem for especially poor black countries.I have a serious problem when i see those well know actress go to such extremes to buy/adopt our children . But in this case
    these are unforseen circumstances which must be dealt with in the best
    interest of the children.Having said that
    i do not see this as aright to having these
    children but the adoptee but as a privilege

39. Remember bloggers.. all white people baring gifts in the name of God for us poor lost black souls are good people..really good people!!!!……..wunna better wake to fuck up before its too late..then again it too late already because a lot of wunna done brainwash by the white saviour.and his minions.

40. Henri Christophe Avatar
    Henri Christophe

So if you’re white then you are automatically evil? H’mm perhaps Martin and Malcolm are glad they never bothered with their retarded cousins in the Caribbean.

41. Henri Christophe Avatar
    Henri Christophe

So much for Democracy, eh?

42. Caricom won’t be much help.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/ja-left-holding-Haiti-bag

“THE Jamaican Government has begun to withdraw aid workers from Haiti, citing its inability to financially sustain relief operations in the earthquake-ravaged Caribbean nation.”

“Vaz stressed that funds earmarked by Caricom immediately after the earthquake hit, were insufficient to sustain the Jamaican relief efforts.

“I know that an initial amount, just when the catastrophe struck, was released… Since then, nothing has been forthcoming,” he said. He was unable to immediately provide a dollar amount of the Caricom donation.”

43. Onlookers:

A FYI, before we jump to too many conclusions on one side of a story (just as there is plainly more than meets the casual eye on the related media jumping-on when Pat Robertson echoed a common enough — through I think on grounds already discussed, mistaken — sentiment among HAITIANS):

American Baptists with ‘Haitian Orphan Rescue Mission’ detained in Haiti for child trafficking

Stephinie Gaskill
    Daily News
    Sun, 31 Jan 2010 22:37 EST

Haiti has jailed 10 Americans from a Baptist ministry and accused them of illegally trying to take 33 kids from the quake-ravaged nation to an orphanage in the Dominican Republic.

“This is an abduction, not an adoption,” Haitian Social Affairs Minister Yves Christallin said Sunday. The group, members of a Baptist church charity in Idaho called the New Life Children’s Refuge, did not have the proper paperwork for the kids, he said.

“We were just trying to do the right thing,” insists Laura Silsby, 40, head of the the church group, which runs an orphanage in Cabarate, a resort in the neighboring Dominican Republic.

They were arrested Friday night in a bus filled with kids ranging in age from 2 months to 12 years old enroute to the border.

“We had permission from the Dominican Republic government to bring the children to an orphanage that we have there,” Silsby said. “They accuse us of children trafficking. This is something I would never do. We were not trying to do something wrong.”

A hearing is set for Monday morning in Port-au-Prince.

The arrests come amid growing reports of child trafficking and missing children. Haiti has long had a problem with child trafficking – with children being sold to rich families to become servants.

The Idaho-based group apparent planned to take 100 kids to the resort orphanage.

A document posted online by the group asks for donations to bring 100 Haitian children to safety iand for volunteers to take care of the children during two-week stints. Under the heading “Purpose,” it reads: “Rescue Haitian orphans abandoned on the streets, makeshift hospitals, or from collapsed orphanages.”

The US embassy said here Sunday that ten US citizens were being held in Haiti for “alleged violations of Haitian laws related to immigration,” following reports they tried to leave the country with 33 Haitian children.

U.S. officials have met with the detained Baptists.

“American diplomats have visited the detained Americans and are in communication with Haitian authorities,” said the embassy in a statement.

“As always, US Embassy officials will take all appropriate steps to ensure the well-being of US citizens detained abroad.”

Meanwhile, hundreds of thousands of Haitians are still scrambling to find food 7and shelter nearly three weeks after a 7.0-magnitude earthquake devastated the country.

The United Nations World Food Program created 16 food distribution centers for “women only,” saying men were jostling their way past women and children to the front of the lines.

The chaos in Haiti continued to worsen over the weekend as the U.S. military halted medical evacuations over a dispute with hospitals in the United States.

“Apparently, some states were unwilling to accept the entry of Haitian patients for follow-on critical care,” said U.S. Transportation Command spokesman Captain Kevin Aandahl. “Without a destination to fly to, we can’t move anybody.”

U.S. officials and aid groups said they were working around the clock to try to reopen hospitals and clinics in Haiti.

While there has indeed been a problem with trafficking in Haitian children to make them into servants and worse, the presence of an approved orphanage next door and reported permission from the Dr govt to transfer Haitian orphans there temporarily, suggests that — on a simple fact check — this is not that sort of situation. (And in fact cross-racial adoptions, if that is the question at stake, quite often work out very well. BTW, US Sen McCain’s family is an example of this.)

We need to look very closely at the tendency of the major media — including BBC — to jump on Evangelical Christians on almost any (and often rather flimsy) excuse, and we need to reckon with the need to treat those with bona fide evidence of good intent [even if they make mistakes] trying to help differently form those who on evidence are prima facie not bona fide.

FYI

D

44. @Dic

Trying to help? Help who? You would like these people to get off from commiting a crime because they say they are baptists?

Wrong is wrong. Removing children from their homeland has to be construed as a very serious crime. DR has no authority over what goes on in Haiti, so no kind of permission from them can excuse it.

These so-called “do-gooders” come to talk about they helping. Helping themselves! I think you would become a very good criminal in the name of your god. As a matter of fact, to seek to defend such criminal activity makes you complicit to the crime. You need some jail time for the thought.

45. @Dic
    “before we jump to too many conclusions on one side of a story…”

There is only one side to this story. Guilty as charged. You are pathetic in your sorry defense of these white people. You white?

46. ROK:

Try to learn some civility.

G’day

D

47. @Dictionary

Do you believe any custodian so naive to suggest permission given by another country is an adequate excuse to mitigate the action of removing children from a sovereign country is plausible?

48. This has given me an entirely new perspective on adoption, though I don’t completely agree with it.

I am an Indo-Canadian who is very interested at the prospect of adoption. Not because it is a last resort, but because I REALLY would like to help a child out there, give them an opportunity to a better life and a better standard of living. Does it matter what colour I am or what colour the child is? Really? As long as there is love. Or am I being too optimistic and blind. Never do I want to act as a ‘saviour’ or impose my culture on the child, while wiping out where they came from and there roots. Obviously the child would know their history, background and people. Don’t you think a hungry orphan would WANT to be adopted by someone who loves them, cares for them like their own child or do you think that hungry orphan would mind, because their new family isn’t the same race as them… open to comments and discussion.

49. @ROK: “There is only one side to this story.

With the deepest of respect ROK (as I hope you know).

There is an old saying: “There are three sides to every story. Your side. Their side. And the Truth.