Submitted by Crusoe (as a comment on the Haiti We Are Sorry blog
You list some good ideas for the structural retransformation of Haiti [Responding to Commenter Dictionary on the Haiti We Are Sorry blog]. Each in of themselves they do not depend on improved education but do depend on improved technical training (farming etc). However, for all, the long-term success of those initiatives individually and collectively leading to a successful Haiti will certainly also depend on improved education, if as we have been informed, the literacy level is so low.
This has two implications.
Firstly, immediately after initial search, rescue, medical, temporary (short and medium term) and security issues have been addressed as priority, the early reformation must include an immediate education programme, for adult and youth, such that the transformation of Haiti can begin with the active participation of her people, not as ‘serfs’ but as active individuals and communities with an understanding of the reasoning behind the methods and the aim of the methods.
I must add, that ‘transformation’ in this context is not meant to refer to bringing Haiti to the same philosophical outlook as anyone other specific group. In this context it is meant to refer to bringing Haiti to a level of self-capability and self-determination. Now, to expect say a three or four year ‘crash course’ in education and technical skills may seem either impossible or unrealistic, but unfortunately, if this is not done as one of the foundations of the rebuilding (in the context of not only structural, but as a nation of people), than all else may eventually prove futile.
This is obviously along the lines of the old phrase of teaching a man to fish instead of giving him the fish. Merely putting up structures, farms etc may certainly alleviate some misery, but while in the short term foreign contractors etc may gain much from the aid given for this purpose, the long-term goal should be to have Haitians and not only elite, but the everyday Haitian, benefit from money flows and thus create an independent people and a vibrant economy.
It is my view therefore Caricom leaders, should address the education of Haiti, as a priority, as much a priority as any other redevelopment effort.
To reinforce a point, the initial effort must not only be to set up an improved schooling system, but implement as an interim measure, an ’emergency education programme’, with the help of international authorities and the Haitian authorities. If one wants a long-term Haiti, this is essential.
We must give thanks yet again, that Errol Barrow saw the necessity of education as a developmental tool. And, we must forever resist ANY attempts to take free education from Barbadians. Indeed, those of us who wish for an improved world, must seek the furtherance of a sound even if basic education, for all peoples, as a necessity for development.

1,421 responses to “The Reconstruction And Transformation Of Haiti: A Global-Moral Imperative”
@Good morning my fellow Pisceans….God’s favourite people. Did you know that 2 of our best friends are Age and Intuition and 1 of our greatest companions is Empathy. We are not easily swayed by what’s fashionable. We have a knack for seeing beyond the facade. We are the Service to Others on this planet. And we appreciate beauty in all of Nature. We are also loners.
@ac. We were never lost. The spirits always find a way to connect.
@Tech….Please do me a favour and upload “SUNSHINE” by Alexander Oneal …. I dedicate that to US….the Sunshine of the Planet!
Onlookers:
Plainly, still nothing substantial.
Distractive tangents and irrelevancies, distorted caricatures, denigration and dismissal.
A sorry record.
D
PS: Here is the Schools of Hope proposal (PDF fully formatted form) developed live in the course of his thread.
PS: On occultism, divination, sorcery [potions — including “oils” and occultic abuse of herbs, etc]
Deut 18:9 When you enter the land the LORD your God is giving you, do not learn to imitate the detestable ways of the nations there. 10 Let no one be found among you who sacrifices his son or daughter in [a] the fire, who practices divination or sorcery, interprets omens, engages in witchcraft, 11 or casts spells, or who is a medium or spiritist or who consults the dead. 12 Anyone who does these things is detestable to the LORD, and because of these detestable practices the LORD your God will drive out those nations before you. 13 You must be blameless before the LORD your God. 14 The nations you will dispossess listen to those who practice sorcery or divination. But as for you, the LORD your God has not permitted you to do so.
[Astrology is of course divination by observing times and occultic influences of the stars and planets. The sign of the SON trumps any and all sun-signs; teh sun being a mere mechanical creature of the Living God our Saviour and Lord..]
Onlookers:
Plainly, still nothing substantial.
Distractive tangents and irrelevancies, distorted caricatures, denigration and dismissal.
A sorry record.
…And yet still, in every instance, you cant help nibbling at the proverbial worm.
If these things are so distractive, why do you find the need to pick at every red herring that is tossed out?
Would it not be ‘big’ of you to just ignore and continue with your posts?
Here we g again….
@Dic…….What does the word ‘occult’ mean? What is the sign of the SON that trumps….?
Tec wah gine on wad dat picture hahahahahahLOL!
Happy belated birthday my blog brother!
@ JC…
Thanks.
@HOPI
All of what you said is true.
@Dic
What sign are you?
@ Technician
Well Techie, I suppose that was the only decision that David could have made with the other thread inasmuch as Zoe & Dic carried it to the extreme.
At present Haiti has been having lots of rain which has caused flooding in the camps,
Hello Haiti
Seems like the blogsphere has forgotten all about you.How quickly we forget. I am hoping the sun gods would soon appear and put some sunshine into your life.
@ ac
So much for Dic(k)’s long drawn out essays here about saving Haiti. Personally I felt he was just using this thread to further his own agenda.
@Hood
Yeah ! but what de HELL. Those guys were made for each other something like triplets. Maybe they are the reincarnation of each other from a past life. Took themselves so seriously.
On the thread about hindu insensivity their is a UTUBE
video very interesting to watch .The three of them “Dickaroos” would be livid if they watch it .It goes against the grain of their mtyhthology.
What sign are you.I guess Leo
You hit the nail on the head! Aug 17 to be exact!
Onlookers:
I said I would check back in a few days.
It is plain from the vitriolic hate and vulgarity spewing out from the keyboards of several anti-Christian agitators thatthey have nothing positive to contribute here or elsewhere.
It is a sad day for our region when such venom substitutes fro seriousness.
Again, I draw attention to the set focus for this thread, the reconstruction and transformation of Haiti. As on the day when I first posted the link to the proposal developed through this thread and freely offered tot he people and governments of the region, I remain of the opinion that an integrated |C21 schools with community upliftment initiative is affordable for Caricom, feasible in Haiti, and would have disproportionate positive impact.
I trust the Haitians with whom I shortly intend to discuss said proposal will see it in a different light from the gratuitous slanders above that only to vividly underscore the utter lack of positive contribution above from those who are so eager to detract, denigrate and dismiss.
I also think that those intellectual leaders of our region who in recent decades have spent much time and effort in decrying the victimisation of the Afro-Caribbean person, without providing balancing context need to realise the fatal flaw in Alinsky’s strategy of so besmirching one side of an issue that many perceive that all and only angels lie on one side, and all and only devils on the other: As Solzhenitsyn put it, the line between good and evil passes, not between classes and nations [which includes races] but right through the individual human heart.
A far better approach would be to understand the force of Solzhenitsyn’s point, and to begin to remedy the situation by addressing our own faults too. Indeed, that is precisely what Jesus of Nazareth counselled in his sermon on the mount. In that context of mutual penitence, reconciliation is possible, and forgiveness, without which real progress will be impossible. Or, have we forgotten from the history of the century just past where unbridled rage and hate lead? Predictably?
Have we not woken up to realise what the call for arson based on slander of the Christian faith that is still unrepented of and unrepudiated implies?
Once we face our own mirror image fault in the matter — which from what he pointed out later on was Zoe’s point [and see how self-blind the rage and hostility make us onlookers! Do we not realise that he attempt to so define race-hate that only whites can be guilty of it is utterly twisted and immorally bankrupt?] — we can then turn and look at something that is within our reach, is very feasible — less than US$ 1/yr for 5 years per non-Haitian Caricom citizen — and would be plainly transformative.
And, thaqt is really the key point: we must now see that we the peoples of our region have never been as educated, never been as wealthy in aggregate, never been as capable and as educated. So, it is time for us to arise and build.
And the path of vitriolic hate as is so evident above from those who imagine they champion the true interests of the Afro-Caribbean person, is not the path that will build a future worth having.
I saw what hate does up close and personal in Jamaica at the turn of the 1980’s and I saw the result of it: my homeland lost two generations of development. in particular, I will never forget the head of the CWP, when, right after she spewed out vitriol on the radio against shop-keepers for hoarding goods that they in fact could not get in tradable quantities, a lady I used to call in effect aunt was gunned down in her shop at the top of Mountain view Avenue [where a police post now is].
The spewer of hate, confronted with the murderous result of her hate, pretended on the radio to have no moral responsibility.
Sick, and sad.
Well, ROK, Hopi et al, I have spoken in warning, and I have given you a specific case of where the sort of vitriol you have been spreading predictably leads.
Is that what you want for Barbados and the rest of the region?
I hope not.
And so, I think you need to do some very serious re-thinking of what you have been doing and saying.
G’day
Dictionary
PS: TH, enough has been said and pointed to to show that you have no case on the merits. Resorting to vituperation and vulgarity simply underscore that. You would be better served to seriously reconsider what you have been advocating, starting with the true source of the foundational books, as pointed out by researchers as early as 1834. Remember, the repudiators include the very professor whose authority was falsely claimed for the occult “translations” by golden spectacles. Add that to peep stones and the like and you have pretty clear warning to see what you are really dealing with.
@Dictionary…
A simple, direct and sincere question:
Have you ever considered that you and yours might possibly be wrong? Or at least, you don’t know everything absolutely?
To give you my answer to this same question, in the hopes you will answer:
I question myself, and what I am told by others, every woken hour. And even, sometimes, while I sleep.
Further, because of my believe system, I already know I can’t know everything absolutely.
This is not meant to be confrontational.
Quite to the contrary.
A serious (and, please, short) response would be appreciated.
@ Dictionary
You Said……………. “PS: TH, enough has been said and pointed to to show that you have no case on the merits.”
I am sorry to see that you are not quite liberated from the “classical theism” understanding as perpetuated by the Greek philosophers. You see you guys would like to tell us what we believe and what our doctrines are without bothering to try to find out what we really believe and what our doctrines really are! Well, my heart is full of pity for people like you, Zoe and GP because of your blatant spiritual blindness no doubt fully entrenched in you by the “craftiness of men”. Please understand that I bear neither of you any ill will or unkind thoughts but I would like to state here I am not interested in what either of you say or think as regards the LDS Church as I know full well that you are thoroughly misled and misinformed as to what we really believe or teach or what our doctrine really is. As a result I have no further interest in responding to or entertaining any discourse either of you may wish to have on the topic. I want you to further understand that I am not interested in and never was trying to proselytize to you or anyone else here on BU. All I was trying to do was to refute the absolute garbage that you three were trying to put forward here in this forum as if it was gospel truth! Let it be clear I have absolutely no problem with you, Zoe or GP inasfar as you are human beings, and very well educated ones at that, my problem is with the tripe that you try to pass off here as absolute!!
Have a good day and may God’s blessings continue to be showered upon you.
@Hood
Pisceans are good at discerning.That is one of their gifts. Most of your writings gave me that hint. What is your favourite sport outside cricket .Do you like baseball?
@ ac
Nah, baseball is too Amurican! I much prefer swimming/soccer.
@Hood
i can’t swim even though i once lived very close to the beach.
@ ac
I forgot to mention in last post that those were the sports of my choice when I was once able to partake in sports! 🙂
@Hood
Guess you and Techie has somethng in common he too likes soccer.My favourite sport is cricket I just sit back and watch and get all emotional when my team is losing,
Same shit, different day from Dictionary.
Everyone else must apologise but Zoe is right.
All the ideas for Haiti are nice and well intended but what are you doing NOW?. The Haitian people need help now with the rains, their problems are soon to be compounded by waterborne diseases and malaria.
No one is disputing the seriousness of the situation but it is the immediate help needed first, the hope that they will live to see tomorrow.
@ac…
I am a sports lover, soccer is just one but there are many others that people find strange coming from Bim. I love NFL, MLB, Formula 1 (even better now Shumacher is back), Moto GP, WRC, Boxing etc, you get the drift.
My favorite hobby though and the most relaxing is Scuba Diving. I am a certified open water diver and I must say, we dont truly appreciate the coral reefs surrounding us in the Caribbean.
You should try it ac, being able to swim is not a necessity in diving (believe it or not).
Mr Halsall:
Shame on you!
You know or should know better than the snide, utterly distorted strawman you set up and knocked over above.
On Haiti, I have developed a proposal, one that I have every reason to believe on empirical track record (of known impact of such education and community upliftment efforts) and economics numbers (less than US$1/yr per person in Caricom, excluding Haiti), is feasible and credibly transformative in impact.
On wider epistemology, you know or should know that I have never claimed absolute knowledge of absolute truth, just credible warrant, starting with the warrant for the core Christian faith and worldview; the same warranting argument that for months now you have been unable to touch on the merits (apart from the blunder of not knowing the horrendous price paid by many of the principal witnesses to the resurrection of Jesus), even as you were unable to effectively respond to the challenge that evolutionary materialism is self-referentially incoherent (thus undermines the credibility of mind) and is utterly, destructively amoral.
But, instead of dealing with issues of credible fact and warrant on inference to best explanation in light of factual adequacy, coherence and explanatory power, you are playing at setting up the strawman that I am claiming in effect to be omniscient.
That, FYI, is actually blasphemous slander.
Were I you, I would stop trying to snipe snidely at others, and would look to the massive cracks in the foundations of my own system of thought seriously.
And, I think you would do well to heed these words from section 5 of Locke’s introduction to his Essay on Human Understanding (which I have drawn to the attention of your ilk several times in recent weeks):
G’day sir.
Dictionary
PS: Onlookers, notice, yet again, how utterly absent are any positive contributions to the actual focus of this thread. In short, we are seeing simply more Internet vandalism, too often vulgarity and just plain irresponsibility.
PPS: Also, TH above obliquely implies that his LDS system is in effect polytheistic, and so cannot stand up to the many points made against any species of polytheism in Isaiah 40 – 45 as, e.g. was excerpted in the Exegesis thread, March 15, 5:49 am (i.e. his system has the core self-contradiction of saying that it is biblical while contradicting one of the most fundamental tenets of the Biblical — note I am not here discussing the theism of the philosophers — worldview: there is but One True Living God, our Creator, our Sustainer, our Lord and our Saviour). And, he has yet to address cogently the basic foundational problem with the system’s core book added to the Biblical texts, the Book of Mormon, as was excerpted March 17, 1:55 pm, on the Exegesis thread. Notice how the very professor Anton cited in Pearl of Great Price as authenticating the Book of Mormon, utterly repudiates the claimed text and translation of the book, as was noted in the very first expose of Mormonism, by Howe, published in 1834. (This is 10 years before the death of Mr Smith.)
PPPS: On further thought, onlookers, I should also remind Mr Halsall of the remarks I made long since on the warranted, credible truths approach to worldview choice; which in turn rests directly on “the reasonable faith” principle [discussed in the immediately preceding section of the often linked note on selective hyperskepticism] — as I noted in the opening remarks on WCT’s. (In short, CH is repeatedly making strongly critical assertions that are at best ill informed and strawmannish, where he has easy and immediate access to corrective information, and the duty of true and fair comment. but then the amorality of evolutionary materialism — as already remarked on — would tend to make one negligent or even dismissive of such duties.)
F/N: For those still wanting to play footsie with the powers behind astrology and other forms of divination, spell-casting, sorcery and consulting with occult powers [including that wretched parlour game, the Ouija board], I draw attention to a few verses from the judgement pronounced against the Neo-Babylonian empire in Isaiah 47:
This historical judgement against Babylon, carried out in 539 BC and recorded in Dan — the famous night of the handwriting against the wall that made the king whose blasphemous disrespect for God made him defile the vessels from the temple in Jerusalem sit with knees knocking against each other — presages the end of days judgement against the occultic Mystery Babylon world system that rises in utter defiance against God. A system that we can already see the outlines of looming through the noxious, polarising and confusing smoke of burning slander-oil soaked strawmen in these threads at BU . . .
And so, the clear, consistent counsel of the scriptures is this:
We have been clearly warned to seek the counsel of God’s Word, and to shun those who consult the occultic spirits, signs in the sky, spells and sorceries.
Ancient Civilizations:
Egypt, et al, were ALL *Pagans* crass polytheism, worship of FALSE *god*.
RESULTS: All came to ruination, EVERY one of them, period!
Astrology: Severly condemned by Almighty God. Rooted in Satanic Occultism. Astrology is bankrupt both Biblically and scientifically.
Christianity: The Gospel of Christ, IS the power of God to Save anyone who Repents, and puts their FAITH in Him.
Historic Results: From Circa 35 A.D. and onward to this present day, literal Multitudes, multiplied hundreds of millions across the face of the earth, Pagans, Muslims, Hindus, Animists, Atheists, Agnostics, et al, ALL COLOURS, classes, have found Salvation, Peace, Joy and the Gift of Eternal Life, in the ONLY ONE, the Lord Jesus Christ, who forgives, restores, and liberates mankind, for SIN, i.e., Paganism, Occultism, etc, etc..
F/N 2: On slanders and legalistic threats
Onlookers and intersted parties:
It seems wise to put a few points on record in view of certain apparent threats made by ROK in the recently closed Exegesis thread (which can be substantiated from BU threads ranging back to December last):
1–> ROK, Hopi et al have repeatedly made allegations that were repeatedly corrected, to the effect that the Judaeo-Christian worldview, and in particular the scriptures and the Christian gospels, are rooted in unacknowledged copying of Egyptian originals that were claimed to be “on the walls of tombs.” (That is, they are asserting or implying that the Christian faith is essentially a copy of pagan polytheism, and especially the Osiris-Horus cycle of legends that is central to Egyptian funerary rituals and praxis. Indeed, Osiris is the Lord of the underworld, is a mummified god, and is seen as having begotten Horus post-mortem through his goddess wife Isis’ magical interventions. Horus in turn was raised to be avenger against his uncle, the god Set, for the murder of Osiris. Through wrenched and exaggerated drawing of parallels, these are held to be the originals for the biblical conception of a virginally conceived Messiah, for his salvific death, burial and resurrection, and for the core of the Christian faith. but, neither the general worldview [Creational and Monotheistic vs pagan-magical-polytheistic], nor the plot-line nor the specifics of the claimed parallels are well warranted. And ever since the Dead Sea Scrolls were discovered some 60 years ago and made the hebraic roots of Christianity abundantly plain, the academic world has moved on by and large form the notions of pagan parallels and antecedents to the Christian faith. As for Judaism, its roots as can be seen from the archaeologically corroborated intersection of the patriarchal narratives with general ANE history in Gen 14 [c. 18 – 1900 BC] lie in the immemorial recall of the One true Most High Creator God, long before the patriarchs went to Egypt and longer yet before Akhenaten’s sun-god only reformation of Egyptian religion of the 1370s or so. All this has been previously detailed and has been insistently ignored.)
2 –> This traces to a vulgarisation of he now outdated history of religions school of thought, and was repeatedly corrected without acknowledgement. (Lawyers who may be called on by ROK: the relevant BU threads will provide copious documentation, the 2nd Coming at Advent thread of December last in particular going to over 500 pp on being printed off.)
3 –> Further to all this, ROK and others have not only raised but advocated the racially loaded, false and damaging assertion that Bible-believing Christians worship the image of a blond, blue-eyed god; indeed outright presuming for it veracity and attempting to turn about the burden of proof for such an accusation, saying repeatedly that Christians were the ones facing a burden to disprove it..
4 –> This multiply repeated assertion — which also led Hopi to advocate the burning down of churches — is in context plainly intended to imply that the Christian faith worships a White Man’s god, and so to imply that on racial loyalty, Afro-Caribbean persons should reject the Christian gospel and church out of hand without further consideration. (Indeed, Hopi went on record that all whites are “bloodsuckers.” On any fair view, this is plainly hostility laced racism.)
5 –> I and others have repeatedly corrected this irresponsible and damaging allegation, pointing out again and again over the past three months:
6 –> As already noted, the same racially loaded, credibly irresponsible accusations against the churches [and in particular Evangelical churches] led Hopi to call for burning down churches, an incitement that has never been retracted, nor (within my observation and recall, but of course I would be happy to receive correction on this . .. ) was it plainly and strongly repudiated by ROK et al when it happened, shortly thereafter when attention was called to it as utterly unacceptable and uncivil, nor subsequently.
7 –> Now, I understand that I have been more or less threatened with legal action in the just closed down thread, on the turnabout accusation or at least inference that I have falsely accused ROK [and others of like ilk] of slander. So, it is appropriate, dear prospective Attorney, to call your attention publicly to the definition of slander (as highlighted below) I have been using and citing in these threads, and its authority in a credible dictionary of the English Language:
8 –> In that context, it is evident that I have responded well within the rights of fair and corrective comment, and that I have good reason to believe that as a reasonably informed Christian who has occasionally publicly taught the Christian gospel and faith [including in Barbados], I have had a duty to correct what is credibly a cluster of insistent, public and ill-founded smears rooted in manifest hostility and ill-will that have been calculated to damage the reputation of the Bible-based, Gospel-teaching Christian Churches in Barbados and elsewhere, and to stir up hostility that we already have evidence in hand can easily turn violent. (Indeed, in previous remarks, I have called attention to the fact of published media reports on murderous attacks on churches by people adhering to fairly similar attitudes to the Christian Faith and churches, in recent years, right here in the Caribbean.)
9 –> Therefore I observe, on further fair comment that: [a] the turnabout accusation that the correction of slander in sense 2 above is defamation is ill-founded and obviously so; [b] that the threat of legal action is a matter of irresponsible and credibly mischievous intimidation intended to suppress correction of damaging error; and, [c] that those resorting to it thereby inadvertently imply that they do not have a credible and cogent case on the merits to back up allegations of copycatting and/or worship of blond blue eyed images.
Both Zoe and D are still using this thread to attack people and their beliefs also. Look how the attacks are now on the SIGNS after a simple comment.
So what if someone reads their horoscope? Don’t most Churches have Bingo?….stupse!
Every damn thing is an abomination to you all but what you all fail to understand is that all are not Christians.
So can you please stop picking and scratching at everything?
Zoe is yet to contribute anything positive about Haiti, why don’t D challenge him on this?
@ Technician
May I suggest that I think, as far as the “BU trinity” are concerned, that we are now “flogging a dead horse”. It seems to me that they intend to persist with their condemnations of anyone whose opinion may differ from theirs. I guess this is a classic example of “one-up-man-ship”. They must have the last word regardless! In other words they have to be the ones with the biggest house, best vehicle, the biggest prick whatever! This just shows me that there is a huge level of insecurity(?), immaturity(?) or some other underlying psychological aberration that may be present in these three individuals!
@ Technician
I dare say that if they continue with their present trend that all they will succeed in doing is have David close down yet another thread of so called “Christian” discussion. With the type of christianity that they are expounding here I would be one who would try to get as far away from them as possible! But I guess everyone is entitled to his own choices.
What I find amusing is that D had his own blog but you are yet to see a comment from Zoe there, in fact, you are yet to see a comment from anyone there. Now why is that? How can this be possible?
I will tell you why, it is because if you dont agree, you are moderated and you post deleted. Yet still he comes to BU ad tries to dictate (pun intended) to us, how we should or should not be.
All of these post are just repetitive and only serves to clog the BU arteries as far as I am concerned. Maybe that is a smart way to get BU to conform, I don’t know.
All I know is, D has his own established read only blog, where there is absolutely NO discussion of the issues BUT comes to BU and engages in the very type of discussions that are not permitted on his. Clutter up BU, keep Kairofocus clean.
@Technician…
It’s kinda weird, isn’t it?
Einstein (a Jew) was able to sum up one of his amazing major insights with:
E=mc^2
Newton (an Alchemist) was able to do so with simply:
F=ma
So why, then, can we not get simple, short and direct answers from (it seems) anyone about anything these days?
Are these the “New Dark Ages” (TM)?
▶ Collected Quotes from Albert Einstein
▶ Errol Dunkley A Little Way Different
A + B Side
To kiki’s immediate above:
Einstein: “I, at any rate, am convinced that He (God) does not throw dice.
Bohr (in response): “Einstein, don’t tell God what to do.
Einstein was shown wrong — he died believing in determinism.
@ CH…
If I was ‘highly’ educated and lettered, why should I answer you with short concise points. That would be to show you that I know and believe wholeheartedly in what I told you.
Now, if I spread it around and confound it/you with all sorts of jargon enough to confuse and leave you ”impressed at my ability to say so much and say nothing”, while repeating the same thing over and over again, some gullible mind would say I am brilliant.
I always remember that joke about the poor father and his children…..”Children, if we had ham, we could have some ham and eggs if we had eggs.”
I tell wanna fellows ‘ever since ‘ that the Dick is an idiot…..
…probably not his fault..
…probably quite a nice chap..
……but an idiot!
@Technician
Your love of a variety of sports is very admirable
I once was a fan of wrestling but i have lost some interest , Professional car Racing i love to watch. The Petty Bros. were among some of my favourite drivers.
@Hood
Did you learn in sunday school about the STAR OF BETHLEHEM.I think that was the star that wisemen followed that took them to the manager.
@ ac…
It all about learning and appreciating. This winter I found an interest in the sport called curling..it reminds me of glorified pitching on ice but I find it interesting..lol.
For me scuba diving is the poor man’s version of space, a whole different world down there, whether hunting barracuda, chubs or mackerel or doing clean ups or just enjoying the reef. I find it to be so relaxing, sad that there is a limit on a dive.
@ ac
Don’t recollect exactly when I learned of the star, never really thought of it but it must have been at a young age as I guess I sort of always knew about it. Hope you can follow what I mean.
@Technician: “This winter I found an interest in the sport called curling..it reminds me of glorified pitching on ice but I find it interesting..lol.
LOL…
You know, I didn’t think the human mind could come up with a more boring sport than Curling (other than, of course, competitive paint drying).
But then I watched a game of Cricket live (thank the God(s) that may be that my girlfriend advised me to bring a book — we left before the game was finished, but after I’d finished the book)….
(NB: The above is meant to be funny. It is also a true story. I have witnesses.)
@CH
You must understand Chris that cricket is a “gentleman’s” game! Is that maybe why you did not get into the spirit of the game?? 🙂
@the hood…
Very good sir! [smile]
I tip over my King.
@ CH
I see you are also a Chess aficionado. 🙂
@ CH…
You said..’You know, I didn’t think the human mind could come up with a more boring sport than Curling (other than, of course, competitive paint drying).
ROFLMAO!!..
I know what you mean BUT it was the winter..lol..it was Curling or watching the flakes fall…lol.
Seriously though, I had seen it before and though the same way you do but decided to get an understanding of it. It is very technical and you must have your mechanics and discipline right. Imagine the Chines are up there with the world champions but have only been into Curling for a few years.
@Hood,
IS the STAR Of David A reference to a astrological Sign?
@Techie
Curling sounds like fun to me.