Submitted by Crusoe (as a comment on the Haiti We Are Sorry blog
You list some good ideas for the structural retransformation of Haiti [Responding to Commenter Dictionary on the Haiti We Are Sorry blog]. Each in of themselves they do not depend on improved education but do depend on improved technical training (farming etc). However, for all, the long-term success of those initiatives individually and collectively leading to a successful Haiti will certainly also depend on improved education, if as we have been informed, the literacy level is so low.
This has two implications.
Firstly, immediately after initial search, rescue, medical, temporary (short and medium term) and security issues have been addressed as priority, the early reformation must include an immediate education programme, for adult and youth, such that the transformation of Haiti can begin with the active participation of her people, not as ‘serfs’ but as active individuals and communities with an understanding of the reasoning behind the methods and the aim of the methods.
I must add, that ‘transformation’ in this context is not meant to refer to bringing Haiti to the same philosophical outlook as anyone other specific group. In this context it is meant to refer to bringing Haiti to a level of self-capability and self-determination. Now, to expect say a three or four year ‘crash course’ in education and technical skills may seem either impossible or unrealistic, but unfortunately, if this is not done as one of the foundations of the rebuilding (in the context of not only structural, but as a nation of people), than all else may eventually prove futile.
This is obviously along the lines of the old phrase of teaching a man to fish instead of giving him the fish. Merely putting up structures, farms etc may certainly alleviate some misery, but while in the short term foreign contractors etc may gain much from the aid given for this purpose, the long-term goal should be to have Haitians and not only elite, but the everyday Haitian, benefit from money flows and thus create an independent people and a vibrant economy.
It is my view therefore Caricom leaders, should address the education of Haiti, as a priority, as much a priority as any other redevelopment effort.
To reinforce a point, the initial effort must not only be to set up an improved schooling system, but implement as an interim measure, an ’emergency education programme’, with the help of international authorities and the Haitian authorities. If one wants a long-term Haiti, this is essential.
We must give thanks yet again, that Errol Barrow saw the necessity of education as a developmental tool. And, we must forever resist ANY attempts to take free education from Barbadians. Indeed, those of us who wish for an improved world, must seek the furtherance of a sound even if basic education, for all peoples, as a necessity for development.

1,421 responses to “The Reconstruction And Transformation Of Haiti: A Global-Moral Imperative”
@ David (& other posters on this thread),
I refer you to a comment I made to ROK @ **FEB. 02 @ 3;48 pm **and, low & behold, “Mr.” Zoe started his rabid tirade at me from **Feb. 02 @7:48**(verify for yourself) and hasn’t stopped till now. Not only him but to some extent Dr GP (though I must admit not like the rabid Zoe) and another of the “BU trinity” one Dictionary who some posters refer to here as “Dick” ( I wonder why?).
Now, David I did not start this rabid exchange (I accept I heartily contributed somewhat) but I felt FORCED to make some effort at refuting all the various misrepresentations being offered up. If I had known that I was getting in to an exchange with an obviously “rabid” person I would have continued to hold my peace as I have been doing over the last 1-2 years of seeing “Mr.” Zoe in action here on this blog on lots of other threads.
I have decided that I need to have a “Sabbatical” from the likes of “Mr.” Zoe for my own peace of mind. So cheers to all and hope to see you all at a later date when I should feel so much refreshed & recharged with this invigorating country air near the centre of this beautiful, blessed country. I’ll be on the sidelines as you, David, would know. I would like to apologise to all whom I may inadvertently offended in my small attempts to refute these rabid attacks.
Best wishes to all for now
Take it easy
Babylon Too Rough
@the hood, Another ‘cop-out’ run and hide, as you can’t take the heat of facts, evidence and truth, exposing the LDS, Mormonism, for the disguisting fradulent farce it is!
“…but I felt FORCED to make some effort at *refuting* all the various misrepresentations being offered up.”
Utter nonsense, Hood, you have NOT offered ONE SINGLE ‘refutation’ based on any cogent, coherent, anything, against the FACTS and evidence, showing and proving, directly FROM WITHIN Mormonism, what a dasdardly Cult it IS!
@Zoe,
You are a true terrorist. The man trying to apologise and you there trying to stir up more trouble. To tell the truth, when Tech and Hood accused you of hijacking the thread, I was a bit skeptical, but you just prove it to me. You are simply one belligerent christian that can’t help it; well trained.
@the hood
It is unfortunate that you would seek a hiatus from BU. On behalf of the BU household we urge you to consider contributions to the other blogs where you feel you are able to make a contribution. Our comment this morning was to express some frustration that we have a group of intelligent people who refuse to accept there is a point where one has to walk away.
Hopi:
Start with the work in progress project concept paper. (Which I assure you is no mere dismissible cut-paste job!)
Do you have something positive to suggest on a Schools of Hope initiative?
G’day
D
http://www.sott.net/articles/show/203130-More-Pain-for-Devastated-Haiti-Under-the-Pretense-of-Disaster-Relief-U-S-Running-a-Military-Occupation
http://www.haitianalysis.com/politics/godfather-and-the-small-storekeeper-chomsky-on-haiti
Zoe….
The man gone now, leave it at that nuh!!
Whether a copt out or not, Hood apologise to David and has left.
Why do you continue, havent you proven your point by now…stupse!
@Ok Dic…… I conclude that you still haven’t sent as much as a bottle of water to the Haitian people.
I would be more than willing to contribute to your ‘schools of hope initiative’ but before I waste your time let me spell out the ‘Goals & Objectives’ for you and you can let me know if I should continue…
1. GET THE WHITE MAN & ALL OTHER BLOODSUCKERS OFF HER BACK
2. ALLOW HER TO DEVELOP HER PEOPLE ACCORDING TO HER OWN STANDARDS AND NOT YOURS NOR THE WHITE WORLD
3. RETURN ALL MONIES PILLAGED & GAINED THRU HER, BLOOD SWEAT & TEARS
4. ALLOW HER TO WORSHIP/HONOUR HER GOD OF HER CHOOSING & NOT A FOREIGN IMPOSED GOD.
Now is this what you are looking for or should I fluff them along your academic/cerebral vein?
@ Freewilly…
These are the reasons I am concerned about the success of the ideas and programs put forth by Dictionary.
On paper they seem to be the way to go but how can they be properly implemented and by whom?
They were plans for an Industrial estate to be built by one of the elite families, which would have produced jobs BUT what is a job when you are paid less than $2US a day, and this was before the added hardships caused by the quake.
The former President refused to sign the bill for minimum wages due to pressure from these same elites.
Other world institutions and leaders (Clinton as President) wanted and still would like to see Haiti as another China or Taiwan. Where they can boast of creating jobs for hundreds, while making millions on the backs of the Haitian people, who have refused this in the past because it is reminiscent of slavery.
I personally think Dictionary’s intentions and ideas are good but there is a fundamental change needed by the powers that be, in attitude and understanding of the Haitian people, for any to be successful.
Hopi:
You have managed to put your own bigotry and racism on display:
FYI, being white is not a proof that one is a “blood sucker.” And, being black or whatever is not a proof that one is not.
Similarly, your religious bigotry — unsurprisingly, given your previous call for arson against churches — is also on display.
(It is saddenig when one realises that — despite specific correction — you refuse to recognise that, say, the Christian Faith had a home in Africa before it did so in Europe, and that Christians do not worship a blond blue eyed idol, identified specifically with the Caucasian race. Not to mention the fact that a good proportion of Haitians adhere to the most universal, trans-cultural religion on the planet, the historic Christian faith.)
Please, take some time to do some serious reflection.
Then,maybe we can deal with something constructive.
And as for your claimed concern on oppression of Haiti and Haitians, we have to face the fact that these come in all sorts of colours and nationalities, including other Haitians. A long hard path of national reformation, capacity building and creation of a viable sustainable economic base is indicated, and that is why I have prioritised as a long term initiative, schools of hope developed in partnership with Haitians in Haitian communities.
Such initiatives have a longstanding history of liberating and empowering people, from individuals and families to nations. And that I know from the story of my own family and home district in St Elizabeth, Jamaica; where the key liberating educator is now proudly buried in my family burial plot.
G’day
Dictionary
PS: Technician: I appreciate your final note that “On paper they seem to be the way to go.” I ask you in addition to notice the emphasis on personal and community empowerment, on capacity-building, on ICTs (which will inter alia promote transparency), on education and training, and on enterprise, partnership with and in the local community, and the involvement of sister Caricom nations and people, who would be precisely the buffer between Haiti and any disguised oppressive measures. Nor am I inclined to assume that Christians from our region or elsewhere across the world are automatically and uniquely suspect, or that the Christian faith per se is an instrument of oppression rather than — as there is a long historic record on that we do not learn in our too often ideologised schools and syllabi in our region — when it is closest to its historic core and true Spirit, liberation. And in case you need to see what sort of governance systems and philosophies I have in mind, cf here in the relevant section of an already linked document on SD, which will reveal an emphasis on balance, empowerment, participation and transparency; e.g. look at he governance structure models and the leadership models I emphasise and lay out in diagrams. But, note: unless we are willing to make a generation long commitment [40 years . . . ] in light of our historic debt of honour, it is not going to happen, period. (And BTW, US$ 30 mns — the startup seed I am suggesting above — is about US$ 4/ Caricom citizen, apart from those from Haiti.)
Dic……….Man tell me how it is that you can take WHITE RACISM that is so ‘ACTIVE’ in Haiti and all over this planet and call it Hopi’s bigotry?
And I am not interested in rebuilding Haiti according to the interest of OUTSIDERS.
You are one ‘ill’ man…..What was the bone of contention of that last thread between you and I? Wasn’t it Africa being the origin?
This is truly a waste of my time!
Get on wid ya business man.
Onlookers
Hopi plainly needs to understand that it is not correct to attach an evil or demonising label to all persons of any one racial characteristic or another, here, Caucasian complexion.
Alinsky was simply grossly, destructively wrong:
FYI, Hopi, Solzhenitsyn, instead, was right:
Each and all of us have to deal with our own finitude, fallibility and moral fallenness. And that is a condition of being an effective helper in a situation with a painful and difficult history with much blame to go around.
Onlookers, was to the rebuilding of Haiti, the Haitian people obviously need to play the leading role, but that does not mean that we the fellow Caribbeans do not have a say and a duty, or for that matter the peoples of the wider world.
For excellent reason, it remains my contention that we the peoples of he Caribbean — who do have a historic debt of honour — are also ideally positioned to be bridging people on much of the aid, and buffers who can help assure that on the one hand there is not an oppressive or manipulative hidden agenda, and on the other, that there is adequate transparency.
And that is separate from the contributions we can and should make in our own right and as was specifically requested by the people of Haiti
And in particular, it is plain that education and support for business formation, for a transition to sustainable construction, for sustainable agriculture, and for reforestation are key areas in which we can make a valuable contribution.
G’night
Dictionary
Okay:
Waveplace Foundation on issues for background reflection, with people who have been piloting initiatives using OLPC XO-1s on the ground:
[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PzXtQgfZi3I&hl=en_US&fs=1&]
–> this is more on principles, philosophy and context issues
–> Key factoid: 100% Haitians speak Kreyol, 5% French, and even teachers in some cases simply memorise and recite what hey do not really understand.
D
Timothy Falconer continues:
A grab-bag of planning-implementing nuts and bolts, including networks of people and already on the ground efforts, up to and including translation of ebooks into Kreyol:
[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TgEl1v14NOY&hl=en_US&fs=1&]
–> Notice how almost by the way we learn that this man is endorsed by Alan Kay.
–> Oh yes, here is Waveplace’s site. Contact:
–> This is still a pilot level effort, but it is one that is and has been on the ground, linked to several partners that have been on the ground for upwards of 15 years. (Note WP’s Haiti project page.)
–> Notice, the Schools of Hope idea under development in this thread, in a partnering context, should plainly first looks to find partners to work with and support, then learn from and propagate in a network of partners
–> Emergent strategies based on reinforcing what works are more likely to succeed than those that do not build on empirically tested incrementalism.
–> Falconer also gives a street report on working with the XO’s and working around their quirks, making best use of their capabilities and strengths.
–> Nothing is going to be perfect, and nobody or nothing will have no detractors and critics, but we need to ask: what works? how can we build on strengths, address challenges and compensate for weaknesses or defects?
Okay
D
WP’s needs:
Worth looking at (and I think, reaching out to, at individual level, and at Caricom level):
[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-JmMhRPzLys&hl=en_US&fs=1&]
–> Notice, it seems there are 13,000 laptops [are these XO-1’s? Seems likely, worth following up . . . ] in Haitian public schools already
–> Notice too how WP’s efforts in Nicaragua were adopted as a model by the Government
D
PS: this is of course a case of working live on a discussion draft project concept paper over the next several days, so things will develop and change from day to day. Onlookers are invited to put in their own insights, ideas, suggestions etc.
Sampler on damage to schools, by Haiti Partners:
[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=muRGMDboJfM&hl=en_US&fs=1&]
–> Note the way timber stood while unreinforced and inadequately confined masonry fell.
–> The school in question was at he epicentre
–> Can we come up with a modular, sclable plan and design for school buildings to make campuses quickly?
D
PS: A more step by step overview of the XO-1 in action:
[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=quJIAucDOU0&hl=en_US&fs=1&]
Some provocative thoughts:
Wayan Vota is a nice guy, and clearly means well, and supports the XO in general. But I don’t think he entirely Gets It with his post on OLPC Haiti:
The Good, Bad, and Ugly of XO’s in Abject Poverty.
Wayan has three specific objections:
* Children won’t be able to take XOs home without being robbed or even killed.
* What is the follow-up, if children are successful in elementary school with the XO, but cannot continue in school?
* Haiti can’t afford this program. Who will pay for it?
I am Edward Cherlin of Earth Treasury and I have a some answers.
OLPC Safety
olpc Caribbean
A glimmer of Haitian XO hope
OK, safety first. Robbery is a possibility, with XOs going for more than $400 on eBay. The usual advice from big US cities applies about not getting killed: Don’t fight an armed robber. We can replace your XO, but we can’t replace you. But there are places in Haiti not under gang rule. Why not start there?
How about the area where Paul Farmer’s Partners in Health/Zanmi Lasanté is providing free health care? Or, wait, here’s a thought. Why not talk to the gangs, and offer their chidren some XOs, and a path out of gang life? On the condition, of course, that they protect every child carrying an XO in their territory.
Leveraging OLPC Education
I’m not clear on the objection to giving little children just the first part of an education. Is it not good for anything? In Haiti, I hear that a conventional sixth grade education puts you ahead of the pack when looking for work. In the case of the XO, a sixth grade education includes computer repair, three or four years of programming, Web design, and other entirely marketable skills. But there is far more.
The children get to make contact with the outside world. Earth Treasury is creating plans for getting students into international businesses together. We are definitely going to be able to hire elementary school graduates for some of our enterprises, because we will design them around the available skills, and not the skills of ridiculously expensive university-educated First World workers such as myself.
My current day job is contract Tech Writing at $60-$65/hr., but I have also been a market analyst, a software developer, and a serial non-profit founder. I’m currently available. Or you are welcome to donate to Earth Treasury.
And are you going to tell me that you never heard of distance learning, online schools, and cooperative home schooling? Do you think that someone with access to the Internet and six years experience in collaboration will be incapable of learning the necessary from it?
If the lack of secondary schools in Haiti is the problem, then the solution isn’t idiotic withdrawal, it’s the creation of a complete online secondary education system where the students teach each other with help from anybody else who knows anything and is willing to pitch in. Yes, that’s work, yes, that’s hard (Life is hard, as hard as possible, but no harder), yes, we don’t quite know how to do it (which makes it research), but tell me: Is it better to teach children to make candles, or to curse the darkness?
OLPC Costs
Haiti certainly cannot afford this program out of current income. But that isn’t the correct question. Can such a program result in sufficient economic growth to result in increased tax revenue sufficient to cover the costs of, say, a 20-year bond, or an international loan? I have a spreadsheet that says Yes, and I would buy some of those bonds. What do you have?
Posted by Edward Cherlin on March 4, 2008 in Countries: Haiti >>
http://www.onenewsnow.com/Culture/Default.aspx?id=898508
The leader of a Messianic Jewish ministry is pleased that Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu recently proclaimed the fulfillment of the prophecy in Ezekiel, Chapter 37.
Speaking on the recent 65th anniversary of the liberation of the Nazi concentration camp at Auschwitz in Poland, Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu proclaimed the fulfillment of the prophet Ezekiel’s vision of the valley of dry bones.
Netanyahu said, “Armed with the Jewish spirit, the justice of man, and the vision of the prophets, we sprouted new branches and grew deep roots. Dry bones became covered with flesh, a spirit filled them, and they lived and stood on their own feet.”
Jan Markell, founder and director of Olive Tree Ministries, comments that Netanyahu’s statement helps debunk the idea that modern Israel is just a secular country with no connection to ancient biblical prophecy.
“There is a degree of spirituality in Israel, recently with this Benjamin Netanyahu saying that Ezekiel 37 is now fulfilled,” she notes. “So I’m encouraged when the top leader in the nation of Israel comes out and stands up for the Bible. This is absolutely tremendously good news.”
Markell adds that now that Ezekiel 37 has been fulfilled, chapters 38 and 39 are expected to follow.
“The Ezekiel 38, 39 scenario – that’s the Gog and Magog invasion of Israel, where they, being Russia, Iran and some other nations, descend on her to seize her wealth,” the Olive Tree Ministries founder mentions.
She concludes that Israel wins that war, and though some scholars argue on the time frame of that event, Markell believes it takes place during the tribulation period.
Keep Looking Up!
@ Anon…
What does this have to do with the Reconstruction of Haiti?
I am trying to be Kiki and CH. ha ha ha
And I want Rok & Hopi to come with a rant and a rave! Followed by rebuttals or “apologetics” from GP and Zoe with full “hermeneuitics and exegesis.”
Yo aint able with any of the above. So sit down and shut up and wait till ya name call. ha ha ha
Mad nutty people have every right to blog
(total rubbish) if they feel like it
Onlookers:
Rough draft points for Section 1 of the in-development concept paper:
++++++++++++++++
1. Background and Rationale:
How the need for a project came to be;
–> Education, technical and managerial/decision-making capacity are key factors in development/ transformation: long-standing needs in Haiti
–> Estimates are: up to 75% of existing (inadequate!) institutional schooling capacity in PAP was destroyed in the Jan 2010 quake
–> Haiti is a part of Caricom [56% of pop, on eve of quake] and through its youth has formally requested aid with education (NB: esp. college level) and business development
–> This raises possibilities for using networked Internet and computer based digital resources and existing or restored or new physical infrastructure to transform Haiti’s educational system and integrate it into community upliftment and business and agricultural development
A thumbnail sketch on the state of the art in knowledge on the matter: environmental [PEST, Biophysical] factors, trends and dynamics,
–> Cloud computing (store data and do significant processing on the net as server base, joined to “thin clients” — netbooks etc), the OLPC low cost laptop family [already being piloted in Haiti], the development of EPUB open eBOOK formats, the open source software movement [esp Wiki and blog and education content management systems such as Moodle], etc the existence of other ICT initiatives present an opportunity to enhance education capacity through virtualisation of education services and knowledge base
–> Networked, community based education and associated upliftment and agricultural and business formation would help to reverse urban drift, and create balanced urban and rural development
–> Modular, rapid build low cost, sustainability oriented construction technologies also offer a capacity to put in required community based infrastructure at affordable rates
–> historic ties and formal membership of Haiti in Caricom create a debt of honour, and a regional initiative of 5 schools of hope in PAP, and 20 acr4ss the rest of the country, addressing targetted educational needs at primary, secondary and first level tertiary [up to Associate degree]
–> initially, crudely budgeted at US$ 1 mn/school + US$ 5 Mn for associated programme and network expenses, would cost the 7 – 8 mn people in non-Haitian Caricom countries on average US$ 4/capita. i.e. the startup, strategic demonstration project would be affordable.
–> in addition, use of modular, rapid-build sustainable, quake and hurricane resistant construction technologies would demonstrate and build capacity for the urgently needed post-quake rebuilding
–> Successful phased, modular implementation with community and national Haitian and international partners based on participative sustainable development principles and strategies, would then serve as a scalable model for expansion to fully transform Haiti’s education system.
issues/controversies and perspectives, how interventions could give rise to the desired outcomes.
–> Change, especially when fairly drastic, moves us out of our comfort zone
–> the proposed initiative calls for a transformation of Caricom’s self-perception, to seeing ourselves as a responsible and capable region, able to reach out to and help others through partnership based on our knowledge, history, skills and wealth base
–> Worldview change like that is difficult
–> Haitians and others across the region are very concerned for the possibility for extension of a history of external exploitation and the rise of opportunistic, looter power groups in Haiti
–> Aid that comes from partners who have been through a similar history ands are reaching ourt in partnership and solidarity in light ofr an historical debt of honour, would be transformational
–> the post quake situation so obviously calls for so drastic a response that it may help catalyse the shift
The existing/expected resources and stakeholder commitments that permit an effective response to be developed; and,
–> Caricom’s 7 – 8 million non-Haitian people and 9 million Haitians are a rich pool of capacity, and the financial load of such an effort would be in aggregate affordable (even on an annual basis)
–> We owe a debt of honour, our brothers and sisters in Haiti have asked for help, and both Caricom and other regional bodies are already reaching out
–> Caribbean churches and other NGOs have also long had interest and involvement in Haiti.
What factors could motivate a switch from business as usual to a more sustainable path through doing the project.)
–> the urgency of need and the need for balancing, partnership oriented regional input so that sad chapters from Haiti’s past are not repeated, motivate moving away from unacceptable business as usual
–> Haiti has asked for help, we have agreed to help, and our peoples want to help, in a context where an education and community transformation initiative is one that has worked time and time again across our region
–> thus, motive, means and opportunity are well matched, if we are able and willing to think in transformative, C21 digital age [including in education], sustainable development terms
++++++++++++++++
Now, any suggestions for further developing these ideas to generate a strong background and rationale section?
Dictionary
PS: David, there seems to be a mod piled comment from yesterday
David:
there are two mod piled comments, including draft points for the background and rationale section.
D
Warm and Tender Love ★ ☆ ✰
Thanks
Thanks (a former thank you was mod piled . . . )
So true Anon…..hence why I don’t cut and paste internet jokes and pass them on as truth….but hey, knock yourself out….literally.
Tech:
Any thoughts?
D
Yes, I have some thoughts but I am awaiting a reply to some emails before posting.
In the meantime, has there been any attempts by BL&P or LIME to get crews into Haiti to help with the external plant?
I know this has been done before in cases where there was devastation by hurricanes like Grenada and Bermuda.
There are many ex-Lime technicians who I know for a fact, would love to get in and help the rebuilding of the Haitian plant and communication infrastructure which can help to speed up the implementation of some of the programs listed above.
By utilizing these ex-techs, it would not be putting a strain on the resources at home.
I am not in Bim, so I cant say for certain if this plan has been put in motion but so far I haven’t heard anything of the sort.
Those mobile cell sites (that we see at shows) can also be helpful with internet connectivity, which could really help with the laptops in rural areas.
H’mm:
Further Background/Rationale issues:
1: Kreyol, French Spanish & English
Kreyol is the native language of most Haitians. (One of their problems is the official language of schooling is French.)
Turns out Haitian Kreyol is very close to the Creole(s) spoken in Dominica and St Lucia [probably also Guadeloupe and Martinique then?].
Immediately this means we Caricom-ers — we need a name — have a pool of relevant language speakers and some resources. (Indeed, I saw one of my Haitian bro’s here using a Kreyol-English Dictionary produced by I think it was St Lucia. He says it is very close indeed.)
Of course, the E 2/3 of Hispaniola is Spanish-speaking DR, with 10 millions. (BTW, based on the “Spanish” here, they have their own Creolised Spanish too.) And, Haitians etc want to learn English for international commerce and education opportunities.
So, we will need help on a multi-lingual education situation. (I do not like the general run of language education in the anglophone world: we have inherited the English expectation that others will learn “our” language. I think the Europeans in general and the Dutch Islanders in particular will be able to help us on this.)
2] From digital consumer to digital producer
We tend to be consumers in the digital world, not producers, even when we are texting away, firing off our cam phone cams and sending video clips. Even much blogging, Wiki production, Web page creation etc is dependent on the folks who set up the programs.
It is of course the programming where the big value added numbers lie, and where the real power to apply digital tech lies.
That brings up: ALICE as first — object oriented — programming language, in a context where the creation of virtual objects moving and acting on a virtual 3-D stage invites extension to the real world robotics and mechatronics — intelligent machines and processes — stage. Aside from being obviously a multimedia language in its own right.
Further, Alice (written in Java) is part of the Java- C family, inviting a logical next step in that direction. Python, the main language used in the OLPC system, also is worth a serious look.
So, I vote for open-hardware, open software, with object oriented education language as first serious programming language and onward moves down the Java and Python tracks.
Linux, Android and Sugar — all in the Linux world — look like useful, open source operating system contexts.
Onward, the publicly funded University and college research programme agenda is to base on open source, creating a solid backbone for technology. (One area I want to see moved on: smart control of processes and dynamic — AKA “servo” — systems, using extensions of the CAN automotive industry bus. Agriculture, prosthetics — we are a diabetes, amputation region — and industrial control, also robotics and unmanned aerial and submersible vehicles spring to mind.)
On the commercial — business incubator and beyond — side, economic and business model is bare bones freebie, with value added commercial entities. (Open Office and Star office with also oxygen office as a freebie enrichment — is a model for at least discussing that.)
Notice, OLPC fits the emerging world of cloud computing with thin clients in wireless networks.
And technician is right to look to he mobile phone net as a source for network access. Though, I think 802.x networks are a key.
3: Fibre
Does Haiti have a high capacity fibre optic bit pipe? An inland fibre backbone? (We can always add microwave point to point links to reach remote areas. Indeed, that is exactly how we get overseas phone and net services here. Which is why Montserrat shows up as Antigua in a lot of places on the web.)
If not, pulling one ashore there then extending a national backbone along the U would be a significant contribution to the development of the nation. (I suspect there are some call centres so fibre may reach PAP, but the country backbone will be another problem.)
Okay
Dictionary
PS: Seems there has been a move to run a 10 Gbit/s fibre line in from the Bahamas since about 2005. Nice thing about fibre is that wavelength division multiplexing will allow huge multiplication of bandwidth once fibre is in. Venezuela has also been talking a 1,000 mi line from Ven to Cuba, Haiti and J’ca.
PPS: It might be worthwhile as a background survey to skim through the Wiki articles on Haiti and the DR, then follow up linked references and articles on points of interest, to help us understand the many-sided complexities of the history and culture of both states, not to mention the other side of many of the perspectives we have often heard (and may assume are the general consensus or “practical truth”).
PPPS: Following up a reference on Food for the Poor being involved in building schools in Haiti, I ran across a very interesting contact point: FFP’s Exec Director is a certain Senor Angel Aloma, who I believe is a former Spanish Teacher of mine, and if so would be a Cuban-born Jamaican. (FFP is Catholic rooted, but is a specifically ecumenical charity. I find it interesting that the Wiki page does not bring out he J’can connexion of the Mahfoods.)
P4S; the Wayback machine’s link on Building With Books is also very useful. Sobering statistical summary:
–> Interventions at primary, secondary levels and at up to Associate level would therefore be strategic, and a networking web based resources approach would leverage existing efforts.
–> USAID has been buildign schools too, and funding an interactive primary level radio education programmme, which would of course fit the networked education ideas being discussed here
–> In addition, the Jamican JAMAL literacy programme from the 1970’s [when J’ca had similar (functional) illiteracy rates about 40%] may be a useful model for breaking through the illiteracy cycle
–> An obvious move on a basic fact of life is that Kreyol needs to be respected as a language in Haiti and used as an educational platform, and the Wycliffe Bible translators are the world experts on this area. (Thus, Haiti would be recognised as a bilingual society.)
–> At the same time, education in French and English (perhaps Spanish too) will need to be brought in as these are gateway languages for education and commerce. In addition, English is the de facto dominant — though plainly not exclusive — global base language of computer programming.
An Exemplar:
Build-On, formerly build with Books, Haiti programme (which seems to have put 15 small community schools in place already):
buildOn, Haiti
buildOn launched its School Construction Program in Haiti in 2001 and has built 14 schools to date in the country’s Central Plateau and Les Cayes regions. We partnered with Save the Children USA in the former region, and more recently with Catholic Relief Services, Hope for Haiti, and Caritas Haiti in Les Cayes. buildOn constructed six, three-classroom schools with latrines since 2007.
With Haiti’s tropical climate as a consideration, all schools are designed to withstand tropical storms and most hurricanes thanks to reinforced pillar-and-beam construction and poured concrete roof slabs. Walls are made of rebar-and-concrete pillars and beams and cement blocks. Gender-specific latrine blocks are also built in communities where there is the need. Most schools in Haiti are community run, rather than sponsored by the government, and various non-governmental organizations assist to pay for and provide technical training to teachers, school lunches and supplementary curriculum.
Field Coordinator Clerge Garry currently oversees buildOn’s Haiti program, with guidance from Skyler Badenoch, Manager, International Programs.
303 La Biche Les Cayes Apr 2009
302 Rosseau Les CayesApr 2009
273 Tete Sous Les Cayes June 2008
244 Ravine Sab Les Cayes Apr 2008
211 Nathan Les Cayes Oct 2007
197 Nan Sab Les Cayes May 2007
127 Rentionoby Maissade July 2005
101 Savanne-a-Palme Maissade June 2004
79 Port-au-Ciel Maissade June 2003
78 Selpetre Maissade Apr 2003
65 Bassin-Cave Maissade Apr 2002
44 Raymond Moussambe Apr 2001
++++++++++++
Methodology:
How We Build Schools
buildOn’s Construction Methodology is designed to empower people in developing countries to become pro-active in the pursuit of education and self-reliance. Keys to our success include careful site selection, experienced staff, and community participation throughout every aspect of the program.
Refined over 17 years of grass-roots fieldwork, our methodology has proven to be replicable and scalable in every country where we work. Our work is effective because it promotes self-reliance, a key component of sustainable development, and it ensures that community members are empowered to take ownership of pursuing their education and other development goals, well beyond the time of their partnership with buildOn.
The buildOn Covenant
Before a school construction project begins, villagers and buildOn sign a covenant that outlines the expectations the community has of buildOn and that we have of them.
buildOn promises to provide all construction materials, construction management and skilled labor among other things. Meanwhile, the community elects a project leadership committee and in the covenant the entire community agrees to provide all unskilled labor necessary to build the school. Up to 30 volunteers per day. Many communities contribute more than 3,000 volunteer work days to build a single school. They also commit to providing all locally available materials to build the school. This is their school and they actually build it!
Most importantly, the covenant they sign promises gender balance across all aspects of the project – at least 50% of the students in the new school will be girls and women make up at least 50% of the project leadership committee.
Many villagers, especially in countries with high illiteracy rates, cannot sign their own name and must make their commitment by inking their fingerprint next to their name.
Through this commitment to help build their school, villagers become stakeholders in their futures while instilling pride in their accomplishments. Indeed, community contributions typically equate to 20% – 30% of the cost of each school construction project. Since 1992, villagers have contributed more than 652,000 workdays (at 8 hours per day) to construct their own schools. That’s a lot of pride to go around.
@ David and all BU family
Man David enough is enough!
When all is said and done (or blogged) a man has got to do what a man has got to do!
……..numerous similar clichés……
David!
We GOT TO ban Dictionary!
…we ain’t got no choice. It will be for his own good!
We know that you are a patient man, and that since you are also a ‘D’, you may be inclined towards leniency …… But David, YOU ARE NOT A DICK! Ban him!
…..The Bushman sense that you still hesitant David, so I beg to move the following resolution:
Whereas BU has always taken the moral high ground; and whereas unlike other ‘former ‘blogs (now blog shadows) that banned first and asked questions afterwords, BU has always been non judgmental
And whereas we have been patient with the Dick, scrolling pass his marathon posts and multiple hyperlinks to more reasoned contributors (like Kiki for example)
And whereas his condescending tone and above average intellect are indeed impressive to behold;
Be it resolved that;
1 – We Ban him!
2 – We keep him banned
3 – We ban any future contributor using the term ‘Onlookers’ – this is a TV now? What onlookers what?!!
4 – If any of the other Trinity boys call down any fire and brimstone – Dem ban too!!
And finally
5 – Let us warn Kiki that the next resolution has his name on it…..
I rest my case!
Rotfl Ha Ha haaa
One of my Favourite Artists ➫ Bushman
Wicked Man. ✟
p.s. I’ve been staying out of trouble and
have been good for a whole week now
✈ ✈ ▌▌
Bush Tea:
You call for banning me, while ignoring those who indulge in name-calling vulgarity — taking a shot at it yourself?
Ignoring those who slander and call for arson against churches based on that slander?
Ban me while I am actually giving you an opportunity to learn, live, how to create a viable major project proposal, in its initial project concept paper form? [One that probably in the next week or so, DV, will be going to where it can hopefully do some good.]
Okay, I “get” it now . . . this thread is no longer harping on attack-dog, venom-spitting rhetoric, but on actually doing something seriously positive, in real time. And in that process, laying out some key facts and background information.
So, THAT is what is utterly unacceptable to some denizens at BU.
Sadly revealing, I’d say.
Now, can we get back to doing something serious and positive? (And BTW, if I am banned here for doing what I am doing here, it will not block the process of proposal development, but it will tell us a revealing lot about some trends in our region, as the above already has. )
G’day
Dictionary
PS: David, pardon me for responding to an attempt to re-ignite acerbic exchanges in this thread.
ᎴᏐᏨᏦᏖ, Bush was just playing with you
couldn’t you see the twinkle in his eye
@David, While Dictionary’s post and links can be overwhelming, to the average person, as well as the bright academics; that is simply the man’s intellectual capacity; that is just one point though!
The other point, is this, there IS a very obvious group of folks here on BU, that literally HATE any contribution whatsoever, that IS made by Dictionary, GP and me; expressly so, because we are Christians, there IS a terrible antagonism towards any subject matter that is expressed by us, a vehement dislike for anything that comes through the Christian ‘Worldview’ as is patently clear in the rhetorical slander, turnabout accusations, reherrings, strawmen, etc, etc., rather than any serious engagement on the facts, evidence, and so on, that we submit.
While it may appear to some that BT was playing with Dictionary, in calling for him to be banned from BU, and no doubt GP and myself as well; this IS no joke at all, as it ECHO’S the rabid sentiments of others, as well, who would like nothing better than to MUTE us; if I percieve David correctly, he will let his better judgment prevail, even though, he has being very lenient with many others who need to be seriously reproved for down right, vicious slander, call to arson, etc, etc.
@Zoe
Why you don’t lighten up and relax…??
..man take MME’s advice and go and drink some coconut water – (sterilize the glass first with about a thimble of cockspur – and leave it in the bottom)
..add the coconut water and some ice cubes.
Shake well, but since you are a christian you should only drink the ‘coconut water’ from the top of the glass…
….feel free to repeat.
You and the Dick really need a life…. Wanna can’t tek a lil joke now???!!
Dictionary’s verbosity is overwhelming and completely out of place on a blog like this….. ‘inconsiderate’ is the word that comes to mind.
…and to compound matters, wanna got this habit of coming here and abusing people – calling them fools, idiots, ignorant and devils – once they fail to see things your way.
Then when there is reciprocity directed at wanna – we hearing foolish talk bout how wanna being victimized because wanna is christians.
What Christians what??!!
Wanna getting cussed because if you live by the sword – expect to die by the sword.
Contending for what faith what!!??
That has nothing to do with being unmannerly and insulting…. it simply means striving diligently to understand the truth….by listening to others, exchanging ideas, asking questions -and most importantly- by prayer and by the guidance of BBE….as the Hood was at pains to point out.
So Mr. Zoe, let us not hear you again seeking to justify your insulting language as ‘contending for the faith….’
…anyway, I Bush Tea withdraw the above resolution for lack of a seconder.
I second that motion.
“The other point, is this, there IS a very obvious group of folks here on BU, that literally HATE any contribution whatsoever, that IS made by Dictionary, GP and me; expressly so, because we are Christians, there IS a terrible antagonism towards any subject matter that is expressed by us, a vehement dislike for anything that comes through the Christian ‘Worldview’”
What is the Christian “Worldview”? Is that Christian? You, especially do not behave like a Christian should. Therefore I would suspect that this Christian Worldview is a runaway form of Christianity.
One would therefore expect that it has moved away from the traditional Christian Church which was based on faith while the christian Worldview seems to be based on manufacturing proof.
@Bush Tea, “Contending for what faith what!!??”
“This has nothing to do with being unmannerly and insulting…(“But if any man be ignorant, let him be IGNORANT” 1 Cor. 14:38, ) …it simply means striving diligently (WRONG!) to understand the truth (WRONG!) by listening to others (WRONG!) exchanging ideas (WRONG!) asking questions…” (WRONG!)
All WRONG BT, as none of the above suppositions are applicable to the ‘context’ of ‘…that ye should EARNESTLY contend, for the *FAITH* (body of doctrinal TRUTH) which WAS *Once* delivered unto the saints.” (Jude 3b) emphasis added.
Bush Tea, ya ignorant man!
@Rok, You don’t even understand what the Christian ‘WorldView’ means, especially in its proper context, i.e., (Jude 3, 4).
Ya foolish man! And I’ll never withhold from saying this to you, BT, or anyone else, when the context warrants it!
I’d rather be Biblically sound and correct, and be called unmannerly and insulting, than to be mannerly and be a FOOL! Ignorant!!!
Life is too short for this man.
Let us explain something about the BU household.
We welcome ALL. The creator is the ultimate judge.
In the BU household we welcome SDA, Mormon, Christian. Baptist, Evangelist, JW, Baha’i , Methodist, Agnostic, Atheist it does not matter.
To the topic in question, the BU does not care if the Haitians practice voodoo, they are human beings who need help, that is all we should care about.
Why is it we suspect if Jesus were here right now he wouldn’t give a damn?
Onlookers:
All too predictably, volcanic vitriol has now poured forth from the usual anti-Christian commenters (who, sadly, are conspicuously silent on actual positive contribution . . . ), backed up by scorn and sporting insistent name-calling vulgarity.
The contrast in animating Spirits should be pretty plain by now, and should leads to sober reflection and amending of ways on their part.
Anyway — and remember, there are people who pay good money for a workshop on doing a project proposal on a tested successful framework — let us move on to proposing a Goal and associated Objectives, Part 2 of a Project Concept Paper:
2. Goals and Objectives:
(Concisely state the overall goal to be achieved through doing the project.
Through a Caricom partnership with the Gov’t and people of Haiti, to initially implement and support an initial programme of C21, sommunity-transforming Schools of Hope in Haiti.
Then, break it down into a small list of more specific, brief, observable (and preferably quantitatively measurable) objectives that can be achieved by given times
a] Agreement across Caricom to initiate such an effort [D + 3 mos]
b] Agreement with Gov Haiti — a Caricom member — and selected target communities across Haiti [D + 6 mos]
c] Contacts with partner development agencies and supportive governments [D + 6 mos]
d] Contacts with OLPC and Sugar, etc towards production and distribution of XO-1’s for schools [D + 6 mos]
e] Contact & agreement with OLPC etc on creation of a student and educator version of the OLPC XO-1 etc [D + 12 mos]
f] Design, construction of pilot wave of schools at 10 – 20% of selected sites [including at least one primary, one secondary, one community college/ Associate degree level], using innovative sustainable, rapid build, relatively low cost construction technologies (e.g. Moladi would be a candidate for technology) [D + 18 mos]
g] Implementation of integrated, associated community uplifting efforts in collaboration with communities and partners. [D + 30 mos]
h] Initial evaluations [D + 18 – D + 33 mos]
i] Wave 2: next 20 – 40 % [D + 36 mos]
j] Wave 3: up to 90 % [D + 48 mos]
k] Wave 4: final set of schools [D + 54 mos]
l] Evaluation, scaling up and dissemination in concert with partners [D + 60 mos on]
(to the day, week, or month, typically). When attained, these objectives should collectively indicate the achievement of the goal.)
–> As shown
3. Proposed Implementation:
–> Implied in the above, i.e. a partnership across Caricom including Haiti, working with the local community, and incorporating proved partners in such education and community upliftment
4. Milestones and Deliverables:
–> Initially suggested timeline is as shown . . .
Okay, over a few days, let’s complete the framework and get it ready for communication as a discussion draft proposal.
G’day
Dictionary