The late Wendell McClean

BU has been observing for sometime how some people in our society are being elevated to the status of social commentator. It is a growing trend which John Public must become aware. Our media houses facilitate a platform which supports the production of many tin pot social commentators; by accident or design some may ask? The lurking danger which the current environment presents is to enable a few among us to be opinion shapers. Surprisingly there are many Barbadians who hold the view that if it is read in the newspaper or spoken on radio, it must be true.

A good example of one such social commentator in our opinion is Peter Wickham. He is a pollster by profession and from all reports is respected on that front. It seems to us because of his reputation as a good pollster and political scientist he has been anointed by the media and duly elevated to the throne of social commentator.

BU is the first to defend Wickham’s right to promulgate his multiplicity of views based on what we see as a neoliberal leaning. We have to ask, is it fair that his personal views should be foisted on a non-discerning public twice weekly on CBC radio, once a week on CBC TV, once a week in a Nation column and as if that was not enough he is given additional airplay by the generous number of other exposures in the media. Additionally, as the CBC resident Political Analyst he is given generous opportunities to analyse  political issues of the day on the government owned station.

Should we be uncomfortable with a Fourth Estate which has become so unconcerned by allowing allcommers to deposit their views in the public space with apparent little thought? This time around we have picked on Peter Wickham but there are many others who can easily fit the bill. It is time Barbadians understand that an approach based on discovery rather than than drinking hook line and sinker what it is fed to them is the more sensible approach. Do you remember the times when our social commentators were people like Gladston Holder, Oliver Jackman, Wendell McClean, Glenroy Straughn to name a few?

Unfortunately we operate in times when to be popular is the sole credential needed to attract the bright lights.

57 responses to “Tin Pot Social Commentators”

1. David

I have witnessed worse…! Stan Riede, Elombe Mottley, Mark Williams for Pete’s sake (pun intended)… Man you picking on Pete…! If anyone feels strongly enough to oppose his view, the oppurtunity is always there to pick up the phone or send him a nasty email, as I do from time to time…!

2. Yet again, the political wranglings and media houses prove that people have short memories.

The loss of Ted Kennedy’s seat, that was Democratic so long, plus Bernanke’s current apparent unpopularity (reportedly), the reducing popularity (apparently) of Barack Obama, reinforce that either or all, many people have short memories, many people simply do not understand and never have, what the recession is all about or many people are just plain idiotic or uneducated or both.

After the extensive and nimble work to save the Western and probably world economy from absolute disaster, the USA popular vote seems to be shifting, now to back the team who caught the dropping ball, instead as usual, seeking a ‘quick upside’.

Did they not realise that there was no quick upside, that the Democrats, Barack Obama’s and the economic managers work, has only JUST BEGUN???

Did they not understand that for a recovery, we must expect at least five if not upwards of eight to ten years of grunt?

But nooooo.

The same thing that brought the USA economy to its knees, is now raising its head yet again, greed and arrogance.

Nope, they cannot be satisfied that the Democrats have worked assidiously to save a complete crashwash, they must HAVE IT NOW.

Ah well. As the Bajan saying, Own Way Yuh Woan Hear, Yuh Goin Feel.

Just a warning rant for the day. Sorry.

Yes, in case you did not guess, I am mildly. ……off.

It seems the moronic majority did not understand just how close things were to an economic apocalypse.

But, you see…they still do not understand just how early the days are and that ‘recovery’…is not over, far from it.

See the stocks last few days???

Ah well… Here we go again.

Rant over.

G’night all.

3. Rephrase to clarify ‘ now to back the team who caught the dropping ball, instead as usual, seeking a ‘quick upside’

‘now to turn their backs on the team who caught the dropping ball, instead as usual, now seeking a ‘quick upside’.

4. Barnabas Collins Avatar
    Barnabas Collins

It seems that now I have to look forward to the next 10 years or so to hear Mr. Wickham pontificate on everything from whale poo to religion. He is the lone political scientist, the lone pollster and the lone ranger……For me he has become like smash potatoes, one doesn’t mind having it once in a while.

5. @Carl Moore

Enjoyed your article in today’s press. It is the reason why BU has been lobbying hard for the media to understand its role.

The Moore Things Change – Wheat and chaff

Published on: 1/24/2010.

by Carl Moore

MY DICTIONARY describes chaff as the inedible, dry, scaly protective casings of the seeds of cereal grain, or similar fine, dry, scaly plant material such as scaly parts of flowers, or finely chopped straw. In agriculture, chaff is used as livestock fodder, or is a waste material ploughed into the soil or burnt.

The same dictionary says this about wheat: it’s a worldwide cultivated grass from the fertile crescent region of the Near East. In 2007 world production of wheat was 607 million tons, making it the third most produced cereal after maize and rice.

Wheat grain is a staple food used to make flour for leavened, flat and steamed breads; biscuits, cookies, cakes, cereals, pasta, juice and noodles, and for fermentation to produce beer, alcohol, vodka, or biofuel.

When wheat and chaff are brought together, they provide the language with a fascinating and colourful idiom meaning the choice between what is of high quality over what is of inferior quality.

Almost daily I find myself falling back on that figure of speech as I wade my way through the wheat and the chaff of talk radio.

The airwaves are awash with "experts". They challenge everything: from the suggestion that Barbados is water scarce, according to geological determination, to the fact that Barbados’ population is ageing, merely because a caller sees a long line of pregnant young women attending the Queen Elizabeth Hospital every Wednesday.

How can Barbados be water scarce when there was a stream behind my uncle’s house in Blades Hill? What about the thousands of gallons of water that flows through Harrison’s Cave, wasted and untapped, on its way out to the sea? When challenged to support their "facts", it usually turns out that they are merely "feeling" these things.

Everybody can broadcast. All you have to do is take up your phone and immediately you are talking to the world.

The daily diet of talk radio, while allowing people to talk back, has become a free-for-all, and has resulted in a laziness at radio stations reflected in the absence of structured programming for listening. It seems to be forgotten that people still listen for education and information.

There are over 20 call-in programmes weekly on just two of Barbados’ 11 radio frequencies, not to mention the normal continuity programming that invites listeners to chat with the duty announcer whenever they feel like it.

This surfeit of talk radio has started to affect both listeners and moderators. People tune out the irascible, the incoherent and the repetitive ("Mr P" broadcasts twice a day; no one has the guts to tell the man to take a break). Some moderators are beginning to take on the patina of prima donnas. The other night one spent most of the 80 minutes of Tell It Like It Is feeling "happy for Haiti" – as if 200 000 people hadn’t perished; as if this was the first time folks had promised to help Haiti.

Barbadian talk radio has lost the wisdom of Duncan "Mr Submissions" Neblett, Vernon Fenty, Luther "The Philosopher" Bailey, Astor "The Cement Man" Marshall, Silvester Edwards, Keith "Pastor From Bay Street" Phillips and Calvert Taylor.

As the river of words flows, Barbadian broadcasting ignores several festering social issues while expending too much time and energy on the banal.

Talk radio has firmly established itself as a worthy component of the democratic process, but there’s too much of it. We could do with 50 per cent less talk and more structured programming designed to educate, inform and entertain.

Recently, the BBC popped up on the FM band. It’s a breath of fresh air for those who welcome some respite from the daily tedium.

Some people don’t like this development. I don’t think they have much to fear: they have nurtured a couple generations on fluff, so I don’t think there will be many thousands "locked on" to the BBC. They may well find it boring.

6. @ above
    The other night one spent most of the 80 minutes of Tell It Like It Is feeling “happy for Haiti”

The same twit is responsible for shaping the minds of over a thousand school children every year…!

“Barbadian talk radio has lost the wisdom of Duncan “Mr Submissions” Neblett, Vernon Fenty, Luther “The Philosopher” Bailey, Astor “The Cement Man” Marshall, Silvester Edwards, Keith “Pastor From Bay Street” Phillips and Calvert Taylor”

Other than for the Astor “The Cement Man” Marshall, the others are better off not being heard. My God did you actually see value in broadcasting the likes of the Lt Pastor From Bay Street? Pastors should remain in church along with Andrew Hatch…!

7. I declare myself to be a honorary citizen of Haiti.