The recent earthquake in Haiti which devastated the capital Port-au-Prince has sent shockwaves across the globe. In an era of instant communication, the horrific pictures of the carnage afflicted on Haiti has been emotional for many who have witnessed it. Some say hundreds of people are dead or injured, others say hundreds of thousands. Only time will tell the extent of the injuries and damage to humans and property. The devastation has been enough to force many to ask, why Haiti. This is a country which has had to endure perennial suffering whether manmade or acts of God.

BU is heartened by the global response to the cry for help by Haiti. In the past similar humanitarian relief efforts have been hampered by corruption in the distribution efforts of aid. We hope that those responsible in administering the relief efforts in Haiti will do what is right.

Now is an opportunity for the Caricom region to respond as a region to what is required to effectively help Haiti. It is good we have a few regional Prime Ministers flying into Haiti to see and hear for themselves what is required to support the humanitarian effort. Is this a PR exercise done to satisfy our obligations to a regional member? Time will tell!

Already the catastrophe in Haiti has revealed how religion can expose the ignorance of some people. It has been reported that Pat Robertson who is an American Christian televangelist has blamed Haiti’s pact with Satan as the cause for its suffering. We are flabbergasted that a man of such influence and suggested intellect would be driven to spout such bovine excrement.

On behalf of the BU household we hope and pray that those behind the relief effort will be able to mobilize quickly and to do what is required to relieve the suffering to those who are alive and to bring dignity to those who have died so tragically.

Haiti I am SorryDavid Rudder

618 responses to “Haiti We Are Sorry”

1. PPS: In fairness, I should note that Robertson’s Operation Blessing and Crouch’s relief efforts have done a lot of good, in many places around the world, including Haiti. (We should remember that the secular humanist, evolutionary materialist, often homosexualist dominated international media have some serious axes grinding against Christians, so we are unlikely to get a fair and balanced report from such. Never mind their obvious duties of care to the truth and the right. CBN contact page.)

2. Ah

X-man, why am I not surprised?

Thanks for the link. Money quote:

Experts say it is no surprise that shoddy construction contributed to the level of destruction in Haiti following Tuesday’s earthquake. But the scale of the disaster has shed new light on the problem in the impoverished Caribbean nation.

Tens of thousands are feared dead after being crushed by buildings that collapsed. Scores more remain trapped under the rubble.

“It’s sub-standard construction,” says London-based architect John McAslan, who has been working on a project linked to the Clinton Global Initiative in the country.

“There aren’t any building codes as we would recognise them,” he added.

Mr McAslan says most buildings are made of masonry – bricks or construction blocks – which tend to perform badly in an earthquake. . . . .

There are also significant problems with the quality of building materials used, says Peter Haas, head of the Appropriate Infrastructure Development Group, a US-based non-profit group that has been working in Haiti since 2006.

“People are skimping on cement to try to cut costs, putting a lot of water in, building too thin, and you end up with a structure that’s innately weaker,” said Mr Haas, who was on his way to Haiti to help assess the safety of damaged buildings.

“Concrete blocks are being made in people’s backyards and dried out in the sun,” [Which does not necessarily mean they are of poor quality, but with incentives to skimp on expensive materials and fairly exact technical procedures . . . ] he said.

Mr Haas said there were also “serious problems” with the enforcement of building codes in Haiti.

He said the government did not function at all in several parts of the country, and many communities lacked basic services such as electricity, sanitation services or access to clean water.

“So the problem of code enforcement is low down on the list,” he said . . . .

Roger Musson, head of seismic hazard at the British Geological Survey, said he was “not at all” surprised at the level of destruction in Haiti.

He said Haiti, the poorest country in the western hemisphere, was not used to dealing with earthquakes of this magnitude.

Tuesday’s quake was the worst in two centuries. The country is more used to dealing with hurricanes, which have been getting more frequent in recent years, according to Mr Musson.

“Most buildings are like a house of cards,” he said. “They can stand up to the forces of gravity, but if you have a sideways movement, it all comes tumbling down.” . . . .

Mr McAslan says it is more complex and expensive to earthquake-proof a building than equip it for hurricane damage.

“The priorities have inevitably been elsewhere, but I’m absolutely certain that the attention of the government will be to build back better.”

He said the main task for the authorities now was to save as many lives as possible, then to stabilise damaged buildings so they could withstand any aftershocks, and finally, to assess how to create buildings that could reasonably withstand another earthquake.

As I said we need to move building technologies a generation forward, to systems that more or less build- in the right approaches. (So the codes become self-enforcing.)

Now that we have two capital cities to rebuild in our region — Haiti and Montserrat — why not let’s turn this into a Caricom effort to transform building technology to on-the-ground safer systems?

Putting the sustainable part into Sustainable development . . . from a country that knows the hard way just what “unsustainable” means! (We were warned in 1938 and again in 1987, both times by competent scientists, but ignored it . . . putting all our development eggs in the Plymouth basket, straight downt he hill from a volcano, and on volcano deposits.)

D

PS: BTW: (i) Why is QEH built about 10 ft below the level of the Constitution River’s levees? (ii) Why is much of B/town sub sea level and unprotected? (iii) Why is BLP’s main plant on the coast, with not only storm surges but Kick’em Jenny around? (iv) Compare where Station Hill and Glendairy were built.

3. PPS: And what about all those beach-front hotels all around our region? Airports on the sea?

PPPS: Portmore on the sea and built on the “reclaimed” mangrove land over in Jamaica [further along he same fault trend . . . ], and , and . . .

4. P4S; David, also remember my earlier remarks here, on the judgement of consequences as morally governed, intelligent creatures. If you look at the size of some of the collapsed buildings, they were not being built by the dirt poor. Something was wrong with how people were operating in the community, something that predictably (scientifically . . . or on common sense ) could have had very bad consequences. And so there is a serious issue of duties of care and moral as well as legal accountability.

5. @Dictionary

You are making some good points. You maybe aware BU has been an advocate of better utilizing our land space and with it the proper building code. Believe there is a draft in circulation in Barbados. Already we have heard commentators in Barbados pushing the position that the magnitude of the quake in Haiti would have overwhelmed the strongest building. We know now this was not the case with a number of buildings in the city attracting minor damage.

6. HAARP did it and an Iranian Nuclear scientist was taken out a couple of hours before quake…can you say diversionary tactic by elite scum…i can..check the net for related stories.Boy are people gullible.

7. David:

Contractors here were crying: “no steel sticking out!”

That about says it all.

But we need to move to technologies that build-in the proper techniques, as I have been saying.

And when it comes to where we build, and what we put up . . .

D

8. @Dictionary

“Please, unlock your mind and seriously read, think and listen again, before it does a lot of damage to you, to the christianity that you lead, to regional church etc. movements, and others in the region at large. Isn’t “stakeholder participation” supposed to be grounded in true consultation and respect, Dictionary?”

9. First you need to understand that I am not in any war with you. Everything I say offends you. I speak my mind.

What you know about stakeholder participation? You do not have the first clue because if it is not as you and your lord say, that voice goes. Don’t tell me about stakeholder participation. You barking up the wrong tree.

In terms of BANGO, and for the record, my views on christianity, religion or any other subject, have nothing to do with stakeholder participation. I am sure you have heard me say that NGOs focused on drugs are feeding on the fear of the population… but that does not stop them from participating in anything. As a matter of fact, I gave up space in my office for a counselling room to be established for them.

First Zoe and now you. I tell wunna to leave BANGO out of this. Then you talk about respect? You need to show some. Why don’t you reveal who you are? You out there taking pot shots and talking about fairness and godliness?

10. The sufferering in Haiti was made worst by the recent earthquake. But no such disaster in Barbados or am I wrong:

+++++++++++++++

By Clyde Mascoll

“Higher utility bills are also on the cards, and food prices are expected to rise.

These increases will continue to impact negatively on the poor and the working poor.

In addition, the unemployment rate will worsen as the private sector is challenged by reduced domestic spending.

Notwithstanding my concerns, it is impossible for the economy to decline more than in 2009 unless it is really poorly managed.

The unemployment rate will, however, rise along with inflation.

And if the foreign reserve position is not held in check, this year could be a chequered one for all of us.”

http://www.nationnews.com/comments/guestcolumnists/mascoll-column-jan15-10-copy-for-web

11. Onlookers:

re ROK: he has attempted an empty turnabout accusation. My invitation to participate in a level playing field comparative difficulties process on warranted credible truths 1 – 7 is still open, over a week after it was first issued.

As touching participation, ROK needs to understand that his consistent behaviour in recent threads has plainly not reflected best practices on stakeholder consultation and participation.

He cannot expect to box the God-fearing Christian people of the region cross the face in one moment, then approach us as stakeholders in any serious way the next.

In other words “speaking one’s mind” is not an excuse for incivility, disrespect, slanders [he has yet to apologise or make amends for slandering GP, Zoe and the undersigned, for example] and closed minded — he explicitly spoke of refusing to look beyond what he concluded 30 years ago — boorishness.

G’day

D

12. […] Regional bloggers lash back at American televangelist Pat Robertson, whose comments about the Haiti disaster left a bad taste in their mouths. Cancel this reply […]

13. I agree that “it is impossible for the economy to decline more than in 2009 unless it is really poorly managed.”

It would be impossible to imagine that the DLP could do more damage to the local economy and Barbadians than that earthquake did in Haiti.

14. With all due respect to Dictionary and ROK….

Take your bickering somewhere else guys.
    It takes 2 to Tango…cant one of you just ignore the other?

15. Isn’t it vulgar that David Thompson and the DLP are trying so desperately to benefit politically from the suffering of people in Haiti?

16. @Dictionary

Stakeholder participation by NGOs for your information is a national exercise and not a BANGO exercise. At the regional level it is a regional exercise, not a BANGO one… and similarly at the international level.

The church is left out of nothing as you would have seen with the Haiti Relief effort where the PM consulted with the relevant stakeholders; public, private and Civil Society. How does any of my comments affect that? As can be clearly seen you do not represent the church. It is larger than you or any of your misguided comments.

You looking for blood, not faith and I am sure a lot of the priests out there would agree with me on that. You have so little faith you have to manufacture proof, otherwise it don’t sit with you.

You trying to use BANGO as a red herring to catch your whale. Good for you. Happy fishing! By the way, cast your nets the other side.

17. Oh Lawd now!!

18. Why is David Thompson, whose government moved poor people from going near the Treasury Building – now in Haiti?

Is he a counsellor? Is he a Nurse? Is he an Engineer? Is he a trained in Search and Rescue? Is he a Doctor?

Does he even care? Did he made a case for Haiti since becoming PM with lead responsibility for the CSME?

So why is he in Haiti?

Would you go to such low to make a political statement? Would you seek political mileage at the suffering of people?

19. My humble apologies to Technician and readers. Sometimes it is hard to resist a ripe mango. Well, since I have turned diabetic, I shall have to resist.

20. Why is david Thompson on tour in Haiti?

Is he a peacekeeper with the United Nations?

Is he a Doctor; a Nurse or an Engineer?

Is it that he wants to accept some of them here as refugees?

21. @Alex

You belabouring the point. Why do people go to the hospital to visit the sick?

Not sure yours is a valid point. If I was PM I would want to be there. Yes you can send eyes and ears, but when you have to make critical decisions about resources, sometimes that is not enough… Personal attention is required.

22. Mr. ROK Sir,

All due respect as a seasoned NGO person, but is the PM a Doctor; trained in search and rescue; an Engineer, a Nurse or Counsellor?

Well! having seen what CNN and BBC World was reporting, now what?

Will that spur David Thompson, as PM with lead responsibility for CSME, to do something?

We know that he is deporting CARICOM nationals from Barbados so accepting refugees is out.

So what now?????

By being in Haiti, with no hospital, security and so on – he is merely adding to the problem.

23. Though I am not at home in Barbados, my contacts are sending me the correspondence that is being relayed to leaders of the Evanglical Churches in Barbados since the devastation in Haiti.

Here is just one example of many that was fowarded to me …..

Message to BEA Member Bodies

Dear BEA Members and Associates,

I am sure that you have by now been fully acquainted with the horrific devastation to the people of Haiti. The Acting President of the BEA, Bishop Winston Clarke did send an email to you on January 14, 2010 expressing the profound sadness of the Executive and Constituents of the BEA and he did request your full support after the needs analysis was presented or known. This is extremely important in order to be effective.

Even though I am not on the island, Bishop Clarke has kept me fully informed and I am aware of the happenings while I am overseas, through the media, both print and electronic.

The BEA Executive, even as I write to you, will be seeking your full support in some ventures which will be proposed for immediate action and support. Over the weekend, an emergency meeting will be convened to finally flesh the proposals which can only be successful if full participation is realized. The announcements of the projects and actions will be made at that time. I am also asking that you invite your congregations to be in prayerful support to the people of Haiti.

I am also asking ALL BEA Member Bodies and Associates to designate some time during this Sunday Service (Sunday 17 January 2010) to intercede on the behalf of the Government and people of Haiti.

Again the aspect of being our brother’s keeper MUST be in evidence at this time.

Please be aware that while I am away Bishop Clarke will keep you updated on any and all activities relating to the support given from the BEA.

Thanks in anticipation of your full support.

Sincerely,
    Barbados Evangelical Association

Dr. Nigel L. Taylor
    President

24. In its column published in today’s Advocate, the DLP wrote: “It comes as no surprise that in the wake of the devastation that has struck Haiti our leader is heading off to do a tour.”

Well I suppose President Obama is not a good man because he did not leave Washington to go to Haiti, neither did his Holiness The Pope leave the Vatican and go there.

But look what we have come to?

There was a time when men were describe as good when they did something remarkable like create jobs, reduce the national debt, find a cure for an infectious disease or manage the economy well.

Not so in Thompson’ case. We are told that David Thompson is good because he is going on tour to Haiti.

25. @Alex

Suppose I tell you that friends may send get well cards and flowers if you are in the hospital, but nothing beats that family visit everyday for spiritual and emotional support in dire times. LOL!

26. @ ROK

You have a sound point but your operative word is: “friends.”

When given its leteral interpretation and its ordinary meaning, the word: “friends” mean something.

It both inplies and expresses “caring” and “genuine concern.”

The DLP’s column in today’s Advocate confirms that Thompson’ trip to Haiti is politics.

Is Predident Obama in Haiti?

27. Sorry about that typo, I mean: “Literal”

28. […] Regional bloggers lash back at American televangelist Pat Robertson, whose comments about the Haiti disaster left a bad taste in their mouths. […]

29. WildyCoyte

I am listening…!

30. Haiti needs technical assistance and we could best support them by sending technical people to find out what their needs are.

The place is in ruins!

The airport is swamped with planes such that planes bringing in teams and serious aid cant even land.

There are no hotels left standing, no food, no water.

All that these prime ministers will be doing is, by their presence confusing the situation and placing additional burdens on the country.

This nation is in ruins and is in no state to be dealing with one visiting head of state, far less two or three.

It would impose burdens on Haiti to provide protocol, to provide security and such like.

What Haiti needs now is help, not boy scout visits by Prime Ministers!

CEDERA is the Caricom body that coordinates regional disaster responses and has done so very well in the past.

This is not a time for Prime Ministerial photo-ops.

Send money!
    Send man power!
    Send food and water!
    Send doctors nurses and medicines!

That is what the rest of the world is doing!

Not organizing Prime Ministerial visits to clutter up a broken country, to distract the President and so on from important tasks ahead.

This is where the real slime is. That someone would seek photo ops and bragging rights on the back of the hurt, pain and suffering of the people of Haiti is “slimy.”

And now you know where the slime is!!!!
    Leave a Comment

31. Here is exploiting a situation for you. Cable and Wireless has set up a text line for people wishing to donate… US2 bucks a text for anyone wishing to donate…

Dictionary points to the morally corrupt refering to those responsible for building the structures in Haiti. Well these people have satilite phones and they are communicating to their friends in BIM and the rest of the world, you know the Rotarians, on mobilising a relief effort of their own…! These people, guilty for decades of exploitation in a country where 65% of the people work for less than a dollar day, are now seeking to have us use them in support of the same poor. Dictionary say something…

32. Alex Fergusson your message is sound, it is the messinger that I have a problem with…!

33. Technician:

Kindly look above, e.g. here on vs here and here.

It should be plain that I have made abundant and specific postive contributions on the main topics of this thread, anwering to a major challenge along the way.

The linked should also suffice to show why — given a track record of unrepentant sander on ROK’s part — I have felt it necessary to exercise right of reply.

Why not take up the issues I have raised on the theme in the main?

G’day.

D

34. @ D..

You find it necessary because that is you. You cannot help being you…I understand!

Now…moving on to the issue at hand, Haiti.

35. @ D…
    The issue you have raised and your suggestions so far are on point, dont think anymore can be added to what you have said so far.

36. @ Alex Fergusson
    You do a great disservice to a party whose luminaries have graced the political stage of Barbados with distinction.

I like many others is aware of your dedication to the BLP and your wish for it to be the next Government of Barbados…from where “you stand” that is not a bad thing, that is not an issue.

However, to use this ” thread of great sorrow” to attack your political opponents is unbecoming of you, particularly as the issues of which you speak are not directly related to this disaster.

Let us for once be in unison and mourn for our brothers and sisters; there are other threads which are more suited to your political vitriol…some then may say it is justified, and reason will be on your side.

You will then have “effectively” communicated a message.

37. A few things.

Firstly, ‘D’ notating on commentors ‘pouncing’ on Robertson’s own comments.

No, it was not aimed at ‘Bible’ bashing as you say.

It was to address ridiculous comments by a ridiculous individual, one who blamed their current situation of nature on the people themselves.

I understood why they were commenting on such moronic statements from that individual, though I really also wondered why they even bothered.

Now to see you attacking them as the ‘guilty’?

Secondly, on beginning your comment with referring to some who were ‘bested’?

What the xxxx?

This article is not about one-upmanship in discussions, but about Haiti. But, one’s own approach exhibits one’ s outlook.

Finally, so many people are referring to building quality.

You really think buildings around much of the world, however built will withstand a 7???

You really have not a clue.

IF you build on rubberised ‘flex’ mountings, that probably is the only way to remove probability of cracking.

As long as a building is rigid, it will come apart under severe stress, even with steel, which many of the Haiti buildings did have.

The epicentre of a magnitude 7 quake was within ten miles of the city, close to the surface.

There are few buildings anywhere that will withstand that intensity.

You really want to test that in New York, when that fault goes?

Indeed, if NY gets such a quake, so close to the surface, most of those skyscrapers will come down like a pack of cards.

Certainly more steel may delay collapse, I say MAY. Only to be demolished after, as the buildings will be unsafe.

What happens when the quake is a 7.5 or 8?

You really think all events of nature can be prevented?

Not so.

38. Mr.Yardbroom,

Truly well said and timely.

We can all trust that our Government will committ assistance in manpower and money to assist in this horrid time.

And I for one will not quarrel when the PM commits five or ten million USD to help the Haiti redevelopment.

39. @ BAFBFP and Yardbroom,

Your submission are duly moted. Still, I maintain that CEDERA is the Caricom body that coordinates regional disaster responses and has done so very well in the past.

What is happening in Haiti is not a time for Prime Ministerial photo-ops.

Your responses mean that my point is made.

40. @ Crusoe

Check. It was me who re-focussed this debate.

Despite the fact that we Barbadians are force to experience and endure unnecessary perilous economic conditions here at home, which now has many of us stretched to the limit – I encourage those who can – to reach out.

Still, I am yet to be convinced why Thompson went to Haiti.

He is not a doctor, a nurse, an engineer a trained counsellor or trained in search and rescue.

It was just bad politics on his part.

41. The devastation in Haiti, the pain, suffering, death, could not fail to touch the heart, yes, I cried watching CNN!

Yes, America’s turn IS coming, it began in the economic and financial realm first. New York, California et al cities, WILL be ruined by earth quakes, all seen in visions by many who DON’T know each other; no nation will be exempt from Almighty God’s judgment, our turn in B’dos too, will come, whether by EQ, or Hurrican, or other, time will tell!

The reality IS, that the *spiritual* foundation that WAS/IS laid, by any people, determines so very much regarding these matters!

“Why DO the nations *rage* And the people plot a vain thing? The kings (rulers) of the earth set THEMSELVES, And rulers take COUNSEL together, Against the Lord and against His Anointed, saying, Let us break Their bonds in pieces, And cast away Their cords from us.”

“He WHO sits in the heavens shall laugh; The Lord shall HOLD THEM in derision, Then shall He speak to them in His WRATH, And DISTRESS them in His deep displeasure. Yet I have SET My King On My Holy hill Zion.”

“I WILL DECLARE the decree: The Lord has said to Me, You ARE My Son. Today I have begotten You. Ask of Me, and I will give You The Nations for Your inheritance, And the ends of the earth for Your possession.” (Psalm 2: 1-8) emphasis added.

In all of the humanitarian help being extended to Haiti, from across the world, and this IS the correct and proper thing to do, let us not FORGET, no matter how man may plan to build better and stronger buildings, WHEREVER, it may be, that:

“UNLESS the Lord *builds* the house, (i.e., City, Town, Nation) They LABOUR in *vain* who build it; UNLESS the LORD guards the City, The watchman stays awake in vain.” (Psa. 127: 1,2) emphasis added.

We ain’t SEE nothing YET! Wait till you SEE a metropolis, like New York devastated!!!

42. Zoe, please, shut yuh mout an go way.

43. Ripe mangoes. Have to pass them up. LOL!

44. sometimes i wonder if God created man or man created God.
    from the above zoe comments it appears as if God is avery revengeful deity who seeks to destroy the very beings he created.
    I mean give me a break what is wrong with you people.Don’t you think it is time to show LOVE and Compassion in these difficult times .
    Some of your post are very disturbing and does not show any form of christendom.
    It begs me to ask the question?
    What would Jesus SAY?

@BAFBFP
    Love and Happiness sweetie.From me to you

45. @BAFBFP
    Aristide was ready to return before he left. Should not have had to leave in the first place. Given what is happening in Haiti with the peace keeping forces commiting crimes against Haitian citizens, is it any better that when Aristide was there?

USA has to learn to let people settle their own affairs. This imposition of conditions (which we embrace) is folly. As if they are ever so civilised. Imagine that Haiti was left out of CARICOM because it did not have a democratically elected government at the time?

As far as I see, the one way it could have become democratic real fast was to embrace it. Let it conform with the charter and give it time. We are not perfect and what we did to Haiti is unforgivable.

When the CARICOM Charter was signed every state was given time to conform. When CSME was on track, every state had to be given time to conform. Why was Haiti not accorded the same courtesy? We allow other to define us for us.

46. Of course, a big double standard is Guyana.

47. @ac

Why don’t you leave those mangoes alone? That is just another Pat Robertson statement.