Senator Arni Walters – Minister of State responsible for Immigration

Barbadians were informed through a People’s Empowerment Party propaganda piece in the Nation newspaper recently that the government has agreed to a modification to the amnesty conditions announced earlier this year. It is possible BU missed the official release from government on the change or was it a backroom deal made with a group calling itself  the Coalition For A Humane Amnesty?

We should remember the gist of the amnesty arrangement is any migrant residing in Barbados from before January 1, 1998 is eligible to apply. Recent reports suggest several migrants have been flooding the police department responsible for issuing police certificates of character. This administrative bump should be dealt with quickly to avoid the predictable shouts which are sure to come from Guyana Consul Norman Faria and Rickey Singh.

This recent development of government slinking behind the backs of Barbadians to negotiate and agree to new amnesty terms with David Commisong’s group leaves a bad taste in the mouth. BU is hopeful the PEP has gotten it wrong in the column.

Read the full article:

PEP COLUMN: Message to the migrants

Published on: 11/13/2009.

EARLIER THIS YEAR, undocumented CARICOM migrants residing in Barbados were sent into a state of panic when authorities started to routinely order the removal from Barbados of “illegals” who, in an effort to regularise their status, had voluntarily gone into the Immigration Department and filed applications for immigrant status.

Of course, these applicants for immigrant status were simply following a modus operandi that had developed under the previous Barbados Labour Party regime, of permitting undocumented CARICOM migrants who had resided in Barbados for five or more years to come forward and have their status regularised.

It came as a great shock therefore when, contrary to the past practice, instead of granting the applicants official permission to remain in Barbados while their applications were being processed, the authorities started to order them to leave the island.

The panic intensified in May when Prime Minister David Thompson announced that his Government would be offering an amnesty to undocumented CARICOM migrants – but only if such migrants had been residing in Barbados from before January 1, 1998.

This led to a feeling of doom and gloom in the CARICOM migrant community, for there was a perception that undocumented migrants who had come to Barbados after January 1, 1998, would be ordered to leave the island once they came to the attention of immigration authorities.

Thus, there was great apprehension and a reluctance to follow the Prime Minister’s directive that all undocumented migrants should report to the Immigration Department between June 1 and December 1, 2009.

It was at this stage that leading members of the People’s Empowerment Party (PEP) joined with other citizens and residents of Barbados to establish the Coalition For A Humane Amnesty.

The coalition immediately went into action and sought to catalyse a reconsideration of the policy, with a view to making modifications that would render the policy less threatening and disruptive to qualified CARICOM migrants.

The coalition reached out to all of the relevant policymakers of Barbados, inclusive of Prime Minister Thompson, Minister Arnie Walters, the chief immigration officer, Permanent Secretary Greaves, all of the members of the House of Assembly and Senate, and the major civil society organisations of Barbados.

Out of this process, the following very important and helpful modifications emerged:

(1) Migrants who have resided in Barbados for at least five years prior to June 1, have been given a guarantee that they will not be required to leave Barbados when they lodge their applications for status at the Immigration Department.

(2) Such applicants will be permitted to remain in Barbados pending the processing of their application – and in the event their application is rejected and they exercise their right of appeal to the Immigration Review Committee, pending the determination of their appeal.

(3) Applicants who do not meet the criteria for the “amnesty” have no guarantee of being given status in Barbados, but at least they do have a guarantee that their application will be seriously considered on its individual merit.

124 responses to “Government Makes Backroom Deal With David Commisong On The Amnesty”

1. Mr Commissiong:

“What the PM and I discussed was a more humane way to treat to this issue. We have come to an understanding that the process will proceed while other pertinent information about applicants is gathered.”

Did your discussions with the PM address overstaying (i.e. unconstitutional illegal immigrants)

If not, why not?

If so, what response did you get?

Simple questions, so simple answers pkease.

2. I suspect that the real DC would not engage ordinary Bajans on immigration issues on an anonymous blog.

When will people realise that they have elected leaders to look after their interest and they must like it or lump it for another couple of years until canvassing begins.

3. IR Duncy I can tell you are an intelligent person don’t make stupid statements.

Are you implying that Mr. commissiong will not talk to poor people

4. Sorry I accidentally didn’t finish my post

IR Duncy I can tell you are an intelligent person don’t make stupid statements.

Are you implying that Mr. Comissiong will not talk to poor people But will expect us to vote for him! Well I have news for persons of the politician ilk who think that this is cornbeef and biscuits politics……..

THOSE DAYS ARE LONG OVER!

Persons like AH, NM etc. are the common men on the streets and we know when our intelligence has been insulted!

Therefore, I see nothing wrong with Mr. Comissiong coming on this blog to defend his stance or opinion on this issue!

Furthermore, it was because of BU that the DLP got so much support need I say more ……

5. @ David Commissiong

What is inhumane about deporting illegal immigrants? It is done all over the world. Overstay your welcome, you are picked up, put in jail and then on the first available flight out. I do not see anything inhumane in the announced policy.

Why do you think it was your business to interfere with Barbados immigration issues. No one voted for you. We did not elect you to govern us.

Could you please explain why you gave a press announcement if there was no backroom deal? How come we are not hearing from our own Prime Minister?

We dont believe you, just like we dont believe Thompson. We born and bred Bajans are pissing mad.

6. BU is still struggling with the statement Prime Minister made on the immigration issue and the position issued via the PEP column quoted in the blog.

The two are out of alignment.

If it can be explained to satisfaction BU as always is willing to retract, so far we stand firm on our position.

7. Well said Pat ha ha ha well said!

We aint believeing a boy until we see different!

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

It would not make you less of a man to admit that you were wrog.

We all make mistakes. Unless you want us to believe that you do not make.

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

It would not make you less of a man to admit that you wrong.

We all make mistakes Unless you want us to believe that you do not make mistakes

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PAT

When was the last time you voted in a General Elections in Barbados?

11. Carson Cadogan
    What is wrong with David & BU highlighting the contradictory statements being made by our Prime Minister?

Carson Cadogan,please get with it,our Prime Minister is talking with the two sides of his mouth.He is saying his immigration policy in still in place & he is also saying the process must take time.I want our “beloved” LOL Prime Minister to come to us with a clear & concise position regarding his amnesty policy.Is the amnesty still in effect for those Caribbean nationals that came before December 31,1998 or has it change to 2004 as indicated by the wind bag,the discredited & political duppy David Comissiong?

12. @ Carson Cadogan

Voting is my right and privilege. I am on the voters list. You just have to go upstairs in that building opposite the Fairchild Street bus stand and check. The list of electors, with address and maybe phone number is right there. Let your feet do the walking.

You just have to figure out which one of those thousands of names happen to be mine. Good luck.

A hint…I am under our St. Michael address, not the St. Joseph one.

13. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

JC

You don’t know how happy I am to see you back in the debate.

I thought the fire had gone out of you.

Hope all is well with your studies at cave hill.

We must not let this matter die until we get an explanation from the prime minister who is the senior minister for immigration.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PAT

“Voting is my right and privilege. I am on the voters list.”

A lot of people are on the voters list who don’t vote.

15. Cave Hill has me by the balls. I have so many things going on in my life! I just got back some results in an exam and after working so damn hard I got 13/20. I am so f##ing mad.

Anyhow, I will never stop this fight this is a fight for my children’s future!

I will definitely be at any meetings pertaining to this matter!

16. CC you know that I like you, BUT David has done nothing wrong! It does seem contradictory and we definite answers and action!

17. CCC
    My name is on the voters lists and I’ve voted many many times, in fact every timesince 1971. However, I am begining to feel that I’ve wasted my vote last elections because the P.M is really disappointing me with him whimpy behaviour on this immigration issue. If a stop is not put to this invasion of Barbados by non-nationals, we bajans will soon become foreigners in our own country. Immediately after the Independence Service on T.V8 a documentary on China was aired, I thought this as strange; why not a documentary on the progress or lack of since becoming a NAtion in 1966. I will wait and see what significance China has on the furure of Barbados. I already know of Guyana, now China, GOD help we.

18. I observe that whenever the subject of immigration in the small islands in caricom arises, guyanese are very defensive and are quick to point out that they work(ed) hard and have built other people countries/economies. If this is case, and they are such are hard working individuals why don’t they return to Guyana and build their own country? I am sure jagdeo could use all the help he can get. What are they afraid of by not wanting to return to Guyana? Who is to be blamed for high unemployment/low wages , in a country with abundant, rich natural resources? Who is to be blamed for
    poor inept leadership that Guyana has had for a very, very long time?

19. Keep your eyes on the ball BU family, the PM has said some things which provide hope that the government is committed to implementing a managed immigration system. It is a work in progress and we the people must be vigilant and keep the government honest on this matter.

BU as we have done from inception will continue to maintain immigration as a pillar issue for now.

20. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I am no longer interested in what the P.M. says,ONLY IN WHAT HE DOES.

He has proven himself to be untrustworthy in MY eyes,and unless he comes and disputes what david commissiong says – I WILL NO LONGER TRUST HIM.

Trust is a key ingredient in any relationship.

Let me see how far he can go without trust between himself and the electorate.

I have watched carefully as not one of the government’s spokespersons on the blog;neither Wishing in Vain,nor Veritas has denied what Commissiong is boasting.

When yuh start wrong yuh will always end up wrong.

The prime minister started his term by giving a commitment on a firm immigration amnesty policy and once the people relaxed and trusted him to do what he says he went behind their back to reverse the key ingredient of the immigration amnesty policy – which is the date the amnesty goes back to -that is 1998.

All the illegals who came in the construction boom around 2004 – 2005 knew they could not qualify and so they had commissiong and faria working on their behalf for their people,while the barbadian people had a weak,and ineffective leader supposedly representing them.

I am soooooo ashamed and disappointed!

21. As soon as the Four Seasons project restarts, most of those employed would again be non-nationals, how can this help the bajans who are finding it difficult to finance his home right now? I hope the P.M realise that this decision can result in civil unrest in this country. a bajan will not sit idly by and allow non-nationals to deprive them of feeding their families

22. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I just heard today that the guyanese are now boasting that they can’t send them back just so.

Obviously commissiong and norman faria have been telling them all to apply and then appeal if their application is rejected,and then appeal again while they continue to stay here in barbados illegally.

That is what thompson agreed to with commissiong behind bajans backs.

One guyanese female who had already said she was leaving next month to go back to guyana is now preparing to put down roots while she waits.

Thompson the traitor – man he will never get my vote again never,ever.

23. He better do the right f**ing thing cause we the electorate watching and believe me it aint gonna be easy!