The long awaited Green Paper on Immigration has been made public. Let us have a look. The BU family has been at the forefront of comment around the need for immigration reform. Let us see if our government has been listening to the PEOPLE.

162 responses to “Comprehensive Review Of Immigration Policy And Proposals For Legislative Reform”

1. Negroman,Scout & Others

This Thompson administration is pulling the wool over bajan eyes.

Having looked at this green paper it is full of unadultarated shite.

Nothing we said on this blog has been implemented.

Imagine anybody can engage in a marriage of convenience,stay in a house together yet seperate conveniently for 2 years and then they get barbadian citizenship.

Nothing we said on this blog for 2 straight years has been taken into consideration.

Everything we were reading about the changes at the last heads of government meeting is in this paper to be made law,e.g.people coming in as skilled nationals and bringing in their wives and NOW their wives or husbands would not need work permit.

Imagine now all non national children will be getting free primary school education.Imagine that with our tax dollars.

Look that green paper IMPLEMENTED NOTHING IN FAVOUR OF BAJANS.

Barbados done like shite man,Thompson done gone and sell we out.

Bjans make some noise over the next few months when they discussing this immigration paper.

Let this government know we want some of these things changed like yesterday CSME or no CSME.

We are swimming in dangerous waters folks.

Don’t let veritas and WIV and others try to sell you for a fool.

NOTHING HAS BEEN TIGHTENED UP IN THIS PAPER,NEITHER CITIZENSHIP,RESIDENCY,DOMESTICS COMING IN,NOTHING SO.

Crap pon top of crap.

BLP – DLP same r***ole difference.

2. Well after reading the green paper I am thoroughly surprised how tough some of the recommendations are.There is no question the bill seems to have some teeth to it while trying to increase the power & efficiency of the Immigration Department to do its job on the front-line.The most surprising thing by far implemented in the green paper is there will be NO more conferring of citizenship to those who do not have legal Permanent parents in Barbados unless the baby’s parents have Barbados Citizenship,Immigrant status,Permanent residency or one of the approved CSME approved categories as this would be an amendment to the Constitution.I think the jus sanguinis part of the bill was absolutely crucial considering Barbados is still a signatory to CSME & I think government has proposed a much stricter implementation of CSME.

It also looks like there are also some things that have been expanded a bit concerning the fact that someone can lose their Citizenship or Permanent residency under expanded circumstances.

Overall,I am actually content with the proposal.As soon as the amnesty period is over hopefully this will become the law of the land.

The St. Lucian Prime Minister has also thrown his support behind having an assessment done in the two countries that are being impacted the most in CSME,which are Antigua & Barbados.

3. Jay

What bill were you reading.

Can you refute any of the points made in the first post above.

Has citizenship been strictly interpreted?

You made a lot of generalisations about the bill having some teeth and is stronger,yet you name 1 thing, denial of citizenship to children born to persons who don’t have immigrant status,residency etc

So it stabds to reason therefore,that children born in Barbados to persons with immigrant status will have barbadian citizenship….. just so.

Tell me who will be the persons having immigrant status – those very CSME skilled nationals who are working here and want their children to be born in barbados and get a barbados passport..

This green paper is alarming.

Look carefully and see how it will be exploited.

All we have are jokers parading as leaders and technocrats who copy and paste from other jurisdictions and who don’t have an original thought in their brain.

If this immigration paper goes through in its present form barbados will be in big trouble for my children and grandchildren.

This will become law and we might as well tell bajans:’will the last bajan leaving barbados please turn the lights off’.

Might as well tell everyone to come in.

4. I know this Green Paper is of importance to the country, however, I am wondering if PM Thompson lit a diya in honour of the East Indian holiday Diwali, considering there are quite a few East Indians in country. It is reported in a Guyana newspaper that President Obama lit a diya in honour of the holiday.

5. black taylor with the axe Avatar
    black taylor with the axe

Obama is an APPEASER! Hindus and Muslims have to reason to be in A protestant Christian country , as in their country they KILL US!!!!

6. black taylor with the axe Avatar
    black taylor with the axe

One parent should have to be bajan born for Children to get papers .. Other than that let them apply like ALL should haver to do …Immigrant status is for the select few that really have reason to immigrate to our small and over-populated country …They can visit for up to 3 months /they can work if we need them !! thats it period!

7. @black taylorwith the axe

The following statement contained in the foreword of the Green Paper is instructive:

Some of the challenges faced include our commitments to CARICOM, globalization and its attendant demands, the freer movement of people across borders, border security
    issues and last but by no means least, the need to strengthen our institutions in order to enhance our country’s standing as one where investment is not only welcomed but equally important can be facilitated in a stable and productive environment.

8. @Anonymous,

I will not refute anything because the things you have mentioned are not surprising or nothing new considering the P.M. agreed with these things at the Caricom meeting in Guyana when he was under scrutiny from the other Caricom members.

I have looked at the policy & see that there was at least an effort to implement a much stricter tone within the context of what was agreed within the CSME block,which realistically should have been expected.

Also concerning the social service of free education for Caricom non-national children.That was fully expected when the Prime Minister agreed with it,I didn’t & still don’t agree with it but there is nothing I can do about that.My main concern has still been & will always be “Illegal immigration” & “Population density” within Barbados.I am not against legal immigration to Barbados no matter the “ethnicity” or “nationality” just as long as they respect our country,people & culture.If you look at the bill it seems legal status under this new green paper is easier to take away if it is in the “public interest” or “affects National security”.I don’t know what else can be expected from an official standpoint.The birthright citizenship amendment,imo,is key to closing off the biggest loophole that has existed in Barbados for the longest time.I think it will also curb population density as time goes on.Most haven’t been approved for permanent CSME certificates in Barbados so I wouldn’t worry about that too much.

I still think the enforcement division of the Immigration department should have been expanded more……5 to 11 persons in that division isn’t enough imo.50-60 officers would have been much better to carry out the policy in full.

What the country currently lacks is enforcement of immigration laws as the bottomline………….but the country also simply cannot survive without Skilled LEGAL immigration.

9. I forgot to mention that Government is still open to comment on the green paper hence its release so I don’t think this is the final thing before it becomes the law of the land.

If there is something not to your liking then contact the PM’s office or the DLP party to voice your displeasure.I still think we’re winning this fight even if all things aren’t to my liking,like the Free education for Caricom non-national children or Marriage timeline which should have been increased to 4 years not 2,imo.We have a Prime Minister who is listening to us on the immigration matter but it is obvious there are gonna be constraints to what can possibly be done,even if he is the lead for CSME.

10. I am on my annual holiday.I am presently overseas relaxing.I took a break from posting on this blog because when I am holiday I am really on holiday and I block everything else.However,I must agree with Anonymous nothing fundamental has been proposed in that new green shite paper on immigration.

Prime Minister David Thompson is a traitor and a political hum bug.The green shite paper shows the lack of will power of the clowns we have masquerading as politicians.

It is going to be business as usual.
    Two years of cohabiting as a couple and then citizenship can be obtained for a non-national partner.Laughable.

David Thompson this green paper on immigration is nothing but a collection of useless recommendations that will not have the effect that the vast majority of Black Barbadians were expecting.

David Thompson you can this green paper and us it to wipe the waste that comes from your body daily.It is nothing but a shitty piece of paper.

11. The last paragraph should read David Thompson you can use this green paper and wipe the waste that comes from your body daily.It is nothing but a shitty piece of paper.

12. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Negroman

You have said it for all of us.

This green paper should be used to wipe their butts.

A complete waste of time.

I wish maxine mcclean or dennis kellman or freundel stuart or one of them so was prime minister,fuh real then.

13. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I feel betrayed by david thompson,and I am not going to just shrug this off so easy.

Are you telling me this is the best they could do,to put the weakest draft out first instead of the strongest?

14. Look forward to reading Linsay Holder’s view on the Green Paper.

15. I hope what I have to say will be given some consideration by the prime minister,the ministers of government,the DLP Elders,and any other concerned citizen.

I am not sure if the prime minister understands that the political capital he had as one of the junior member of the DLP party in the 80s and up to his leadership of the party in the 90s – that the political capital has been used up.

As I listen to young and old barbadians who have voted for Thompson there is no longer that blind trust by persons for him.

Gone are the days of a thompson faction and a taitt or mascoll faction.

Except for a fringe few,persons are watching to see what sort of vision and policy thompson will lay out.

Immigration is one of the biggest indicator of that and to my mind Thompson has missed the boat.

His weak tinkering with the immigration issue suggests to me some one who knows he has to appear to be doing something because the voters are watching,but whose heart is really not in this stringent immigration policy business.

As the product of a white mother and black father it will not surprise me to discover that thompson does not fully understand the passion by persons like Negroman,Scout,JC and others to try and preserve the racial balance in this country,and to avoid the open prejudice displayed by those of indian descent who wish to come and reside in this country.

He hears it through his ears,he understands what is being said in his heart but he does not feel it in his heart or in his bones,because to do so may seem to be an act of betrayal to his non black roots.

Note,it is not only a mixed heritage thing because none of the house niggers in the BLP party feel this passion or care about it either.

Thompson is what he is,and just does not feel the passionate fervour this issue elicits in the heart of a negroman.

Let’s look at his handling of the immigration issue since January 2008.

From all reports the immigration officers are frustrated and confused because they believe he is sending out mixed messages.

From around January 2009 vigiliant immigration officers were strenously enforcing the laws,guyaese,Jamaicans,vincentians ,canadians and all other illegals were on the run in barbados fearful of the 2:00 a.m. knock.

Suddenly a concerted hatchet job was done by ricky singh,roxanne gibbs and the Nation newspaper,shridath ramphal,ralph gonsalves and the rest to ridicule,lie and to intimidate barbados and barbadian immigration officers before the caricom heads meeting in guyana.

An amnesty was announced,there was push back and immigration officers were made to feel that they were being too harsh in the treatment of these known law breakers from these countries who did not meet the legal requirement or had fraudulent documents.

Thompson promised a lot of tough things,but at the end of that Heads of Government meeting, we discovered Barbados had sold its sovereignity at the inistence of Jagdeo and ralph gonsalves.

The result is what we now see in this green paper.

Mark my words,Barbados will not be able to stop the guyanese,Jamaicans,vincentians and others from using this Green paper and the CSME provisions (which only foolee Barbados strictly observes) against us and to insist on getiing in and staying here through whatever loophole or rights provided in this change.

No wonder guyanese are going home,they will be returning in numbers armed with copies of their CSME rights and God help those immigration officers who seek to stem the tide.

Tell me,does a farmer put a fox to guard the hen house?

Why is David thompson being guided by and listening to the very facilitator of this guyanese invasion – the man Gilbert Greaves himself,the former Chief immigration office.

Why did he take Gilbert greaves down to advise him in Guyana and then returned with the opening up of categories to include household help,hawkers etc.

Maybe David thompson is just satisfied with being a prime minister for a day,but what about us who thought we were electing a leader who was going to listen to us and follow through on what he promised us?

Mr Thompson,there may be some unpleasant surprises up ahead for you.

I urge you to rewrite this green paper,and to please read the views of bajans on BU and elsewhere who have been making suggestion on immigration on this site for years.

Do an archive search.

People are growing increasingly irate with you Mr Prime minister.

It is one thing to win,but it is an entirely different thing to govern Sir.

Please walk carefully.

16. A different anonymous Avatar
    A different anonymous

Which party ran Abdul Pandor (an Indian) and Taan Abed (a Syrian) as candidates in general elections? PM Thompson and the DLP supports the reality that Barbados is a multi-ethnic (i.e culture), multi-racial, multi-religious society. How can he reject say the husband of Minister Suckoo or the wife of Minister Estwick? The old two race paradigm is no longer applicable to describing Barbados. Barbados may look very Asian in twenty years time, at least the elites will look Asian. The Green Paper seems quite reasonable to me.

17. This subject is too high for me but you cant stop multi-ethnicity/multi nationalities

18. Green Paper = GREEN LIGHT!

Different day same shite!

Look at Barbados…constantly bragging about how she is 98% literate and HIGHLY educated, yet she has to compete with developed countries for a limited pool of resources of highly qualified skilled immigrants in the area of info and new emerging technologies. In one breath she is patronising the local pool of highly educated and still in the same breath she has to import foreigners to compensate for the inadequacies and inabilities of these same highly educated locals. If that’s the case Barbados needs to stop wasting money and effort in educating her children. This wreaks with the stench of hypocrisy and straight up dishonesty.

From whence cometh this pool of highly skilled immigrants?

Then there the case of CARICOM intending to open up to ALL categories of immigrants. How much broader can this get? By the time they are thru, your indigenous bajan will be history.

Instead of giving them 6 mths we’ll pacify you and give them 3mths to find their way around and do mischief. And in case they don’t show up at immigration we’ll send out our 6 big, bad enforcement agents.

Another big stinking guise is the so-called prevention of drug and human trafficking. The biggest traffickers in these two areas are those who hold so-called high positions in society. But they are always protected.
    [A few years back there was a drug case right there in ‘Bim’ where two gov’t agencies were involved. When members of one agency realized what was occurring and tried to clean up, the other agency usurped them by telling them that they had everything under control. A report was subsequently written on the nefariousness of the incident and as a result certains individual were NEVER allowed in such arenas again]. So there’s your need to prevent trafficking.

But the biggest scam of all is the implementation of BIOMETRICS. This is about getting YOU totally under the grid of the beast. This has naught to do with immigration.

But its all good because Barbadians are only interested in patting each other on the back for mediocrity and pea-brain intellect as well as blowing smoke up their own arses, while the country continues to be sold off to the highest bidder.

Barbados you’ve been had, you’ve been took. You’re too damn impressionable. When you listen to your average bajan, you realise that they are nothing but a bunch of non-thinking, cliched, blacked-out, white-washed, self-important serfs.

So just sit and wait for change!
    ching! ching!

@Negroman……. continue to enjoy your vacation because the time is fast approaching when your average Bajan will need to have their own gated communities free of the agenda of these political pimps and prostitutes.

@Bro ROK………..this actually belongs on that other thread, but since I’m talking about political pimps and prostitutes, I might as well ask this here. Did Clyde Mascoll declare his hands. Do you know if he has any financial stake in BL&P?

19. HOPI

Thompson’s fate is going to be worse than arthur,because by 15th January 2008 the people knew the evil man that arthur is, and they decided to go for Thompson based on promises he was making as far as immigration clean up and corruption busting were concerned.

They are slowly discovering that the man has no stomach to make difficult decisions.

We are dealing with the fate of this country called barbados and no matter how they try to spin it,this immigration green paper spells the end of the Babrados that Spadillo,bonny peppageorgie porgie,pat and the others are so proudly reminiscing about.

This is the begining of the end.

Let every man take heed:

In that day they will run to the rocks to hide and ask the rocks to cover them but there shall be no cover.

Burn fyah pon dem.

20. @Anonymous………”In that day they will run to the rocks to hide and ask the rocks to cover them but there shall be no cover.” So True! There ain’t gonna be no cover because the rock would have been sold off.

The political prostitutes are operating on whitey’s agenda, that’s why they are constantly quoting the EU and the UN. They are traitors. And no election of B/D is gonna change the plight of Black bajans.

21. Some of you seem to be confused. The green paper is a discussion document, not a bill. It’s now that input should be given to help shape the policy. Send them in as requested. Sorry, if you all thought the government was poring over blogs to get this thing worked out.

22. I am not surprise with the nonsense that is proposed in the green shite paper on immigration from the corrupt,inept,backward thinking Democratic Labour Party led by the mutant David Thompson who has the stinking white man blood and traits.

David Thompson thinks & behaves like the typical white man,that is he is a schemer,liar & lacks morality.David Thompson is fast becoming the worst Prime Minister Barbados would produced.

The behavior of this present Democratic Labour Party administration is not surprising because this party is well known for its dubious behavior.This same Democratic Labour Party fooled Black Barbadians that it is the party for the masses.Our so-called national hero Errol Walton Barrow criticized & ridiculed white people during his life as leader of Barbados.The same Errol Walton Barrow in the 1971 or 1976 general elections had a party at his then official residence at Culloden Farm. That party was to raise funds for his election campaign and almost everybody there where the elite white businessmen of Barbados with exception of Errol Barrow himself & Muhammad Nassar the former Garry Husbands.Muhammad Nassar asked Errol Barrow why there are only the 2 of them as the only Black People there and Errol Barrow replied was that Black People can only vote for him but he needs these white people to finance his campaign.This is true if anyone is in doubt ask Muhammad Nassar he is still alive.

I mentioned that experience to highlight the trickery that is being play out on Black Barbadians by the two corrupt political parties in Barbados.

The Democratic Labour Party would never bring into force a new immigration policy that would curtail the influx of other ethnic groups into Barbados especially the Indians.The local Indian population has taken over the Democratic Labour Party completely.That grouping is dictating the policies of this government.I have mentioned on previous occasions the Indians are the major financial contributors to the Democratic Labour Party.Peter Harris of CGI Insurance fame the person who financed the former Prime Minister Owen Arthur wedding and benefited from many deals with the former administration is now a leading financial contributor to the Democratic Labour Party and was rewarded by being given the chairmanship of the Combermere School Board.There many others such as Chatrani,Abdul Pandor,stinking Mrs Ram of Furniture Limited who bribes all of our governments with her donations of fire trucks,ambulances & police vehicles and who jeopardized the health of this country by selling us disease chicken and then corrupt Brandford Taitt then minister of health telling us not to worry because we were eating chicken for a long time are also major financiers of the Democratic Labour Party.

Black Barbadian we must prepare ourselves for a long & serious battle to reclaim Barbados from the takeover that is happening.Let David Thompson,Mia Mottley & Owen Arthur know that we are not supporting them anymore.Call to arms Black Barbadians let the revolution start.

23. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Anonymous @10:25 a.m.

You said:”the government is not pouring over this blog to get this thing sorted out”.

Really,is this why hartley henry,irene sandiford,sinckler and the other ministers and I won’t be surprised if this includes the prime minister have either contributed or we have been told, read this blog daily or almost daily?

We know Owen Arthur was smart enough to read this blog daily to get the pulse of the people.

William Dugid M.P. was quite open is saying so.

It would be a serious lack of political smartness and foresight if any of the political parties chose to ignore this new form of communication and this important medium known as the internet.

@ David/BU

Very strange that you have not given us your view on this immigration green paper.

This is most unlike you good sir,especially since immigration has been one of your pet peeves which is supported by the BU family.

24. @mash up

No mystery, it is a 95 page document and recently the BU family has been stretched in other areas of life. We want to have a good read before offering serious comment. Remember it is a Green Paper and feedback by citizens is required at this stage to mae the exercise worthwhile. Interestingly we expect several of our Caribbean neighbours will used the new Barbados Immigration Bill to model their own legislation.

25. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I suspect Antigua’s version may not be as generous as ours.

26. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Imagine 70% of our population according to the recent Cadres poll supported a tougher immigration stance and this is what we got.

Goodness!

27. mash up

Could it be the government is kite flying? The government is aware of the recent CADRES poll which shows support from both sides of the political fence for a tighter immigration policy. Thompson would be committing political suicide if he ignores concerns. On the other hand he knows the Opposition BLP cannot take an aggressive position on immigration come next election based on Mottley’s earlier mouthings. We are assuming Mottley will take the party into the next election.

On a related note BU was disappointed to listen to Mathew Farley recently expressing disgust at the circulation of a Green Paper on immigration by government. His position was enough had been said on immigration in the country already. The comment is stupid when closely examined.

28. David your comment makes no sense because the Cadres poll was earlier this year but the Green Paper, according to the PM, was being drafted since June 2008.

Big point: How is a Green Paper drafted? The PM said it is not settled policy but a discussion document. Should it only reflect David Thompson’s and the DLP’s views or should it reflect the views of a wider combination before the policy is settled?

My sense is that ideas are just being thrown out at this stage.

I, for one, was interested in the proposed constitutional amendment to reverse a 2000 BLP decision to give persons ordinarily resident in Barbados status as of right! That needs to be amended now – the ten years is almost up.

Also, the nonsense that Negroman and Anonymous (the same person – check the similar punctuation errors!) write should be ignored. Who cleaned up the Crane? Not the same enforcement division of the Immigration Dept.?

I would assume that intelligent people would realise that the amnesty ends in December 2009 – that is when action against those who are undocumented should be taken. I will wait until then to see what the government does.

29. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Veritas

You and your party ignore people like Negroman at your peril.

Many persons read this blog but don’t comment but they talk to one another.

Negroman’s view on immigration control is not too far off from some of theirs.

Negroman thinking though not always his manner of delivery – is worth listening to because he speaks for the common man.

30. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I did not hear the comment by farley but was he saying that enough has been said in this country about immigration already,therefore it is time to act?

That could be the only sensible explanation.

31. @mash up

If that is what he is saying it does not make sense because to act without comment from the public on the new policy would be breaking a promise made by the Thompson government.

@Veritas
    Yes the poll was after but the sub-committee of cabinet would have released the Green Paper last week. Nothing to say it couldn’t have been hauled backed and tweaked if the PM felt it necessary given the poll result.

32. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I am dedicating a song for david thompson:

“Ohhhh,yes,I am the Great Pretender,Pretending that is so well……..

33. Veritas you dumb ass
    I have not posted as Anonymous.I usually post as Negroman & the Anonymous who posted is not me.Please do not worry about any grammatical errors I make,I am not in any damn English examination.

I want you and the members & supporters of the corrupt Democratic Labour Party to come on this blog and dispute what I am writings.Why are you only concern with my English ability.Dispute the points I make in my postings.

It is political pimps & prostitutes like yourself that have sold Barbados over to the rat catcher/mango seller Indians & Pakistani.It is weaklings Blacks like you who are afraid and are dictated by the other ethnic groups.I know because I have to unfortunately associate at a professional level with many Black political pimps & prostitutes like yourself.

The local White,Indian,Chinese & other ethnic groups in Barbados have no respect for Black People including our politicians.I could recite many experiences I encountered where many of our Black political leaders including our former Prime Ministers & Ministers were humiliated by Whites,Indians & other ethnic groups in Barbados.

This Negroman moves in all types of circles and knows everybody in Barbados.

David Thompson the political clown he is has appointed a known white racist to the Senate of Barbados.That person is foolish Peter Gilkes.I know Peter Gilkes personally and that racist has said some of the most despicable things imaginable about Black People and that political nuisance David Thompson has appointed that racist to the Barbados Senate.Peter Gilkes come and dispute the accusation I am making about you being a racist.

Barbados has been sold to the highest Indian,White & Chinese bidder firstly by Owen Arthur now by the mutant David Thompson.

34. MUBB, neither you nor Negroman have read the Green Paper. And David has admitted that he hasn’t. So I recommend to David that he reads it since it is clear that the far reaching proposals there are not in synch with the CADRES poll.

I am sure of that.

MUBB is neither funny nor sensible. I am also sure that he is afraid that if David Thompson deals with the immigration challenge, he will be in the closet for a lifetime! And with alot of toilet paper and the Green Paper too.

One point that struck me is that the government proposes that not everyone born here is entitled to citizenship. That would be a major step.

It is one of the things that Negroman et al have been carping about.

MUBB, you are not the only one who talks to people and you should do more listening than talking.

35. I will not engage you Negroman. I have never done so and I won’t now. You are too full of hatred. And you are a disgrace to our race.

And ignorant to boot. Do you understand the difference betwen grammar and punctuation?

36. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

My dear veritas

Please restrict your nonsense remarks to the political yardfowls.

I have read the document almost to the end and got fed up of the rubbish I was seeing.

37. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

@veritas

I notice that like a true cowardly politician you hitting out at the messengers and not the message.

I notice that you have carefully side stepped the points raised by hopi,jay,anonymous,negroman and others about the weakness in the green paper and the enshrining of rights to non nationals.

Veritas,I almost feel sorry for you all at the DLP,because I fear the backlash against you and your party for not doing what the people expected – is going to be greater.

Sad but true.

For whom much is given much is expected.

38. A different Anonymous Avatar
    A different Anonymous

PM Thompson as the second non-Black PM of Barbados is doing a great job. Negroman you are going to have to emigrate to Africa where the Chinese are in control. Don’t rush, Barbados is going to elect its first PM of Indian descent in 2018.

39. @ negroman and all like-minded bajan-african brothers and sisters:

Hold tight all is not lost. Somebody great will arise amongst you within your life-time. The battle for the soul of the afro-bajan has already started.

The cries of your black ancestors will liberate, cast aside and expel all those who have no historical links to the foundations of your island home.

Keep the faith. Listen to the words of possibly the greatest african visionage of the last century – Malcolm X. Let his words be our bread and water for today.

40. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Like with town hall meetings this government is going to use the fact that because only a few people attend these meetings and speak up and because with this green paper a few persons will read the paper and understand and realise how that will set us back forever as a people;then the government will take silence as consent.

Those rights under CSME SHOULD NOT BE IN OUR IMMIGRATION LAWS BECAUSE 20 YEARS DOWN THE ROAD THEY WILL COME BACK TO HAUNT US.

We should be using this opportunity to spell out stricter immigration measures not more generous provisions.

Reducing immediate right to stay from 6 months to 3 months is not a big thing to be boasting about.

Saying that a baby being born in barbados to a non barbadian will not immediately get citizenship is a stupid and insulting attempt to fool bajans because in the next breath you are saying HOWEVER IF THE MOTHER HAD IMMIGRANT STAUS THEN THE BABY WILL BE A BAJAN.

HELLO – most of these guyanese and other non nationals will have some immigrant status of sort under this new CSME PROVISIONS – Barbados is where they want to come.

Countries are now moving away from granting citizenship to persons born in their countries except under strict conditions

It would be only obvious that for a small country like Barbados – CITIZENSHIP -which is the ultimate prize, and confers absolute rights, and means that at any time such a person can chose to return to live in an already over populated place – this will cause chaos in a very,very short time.

The other points raised by negroman and others are also important.Marriages of conveniences especially among indian guyanese women are happening every week here in barbados,currently I think when you marry one of these non national you are asked to spend a few years living in the spouse’s home country together and then here together before you get citizenship.

Now this unelightened man decides that all you have to do is stay in the same house for 2 years and bingo – you win the jackpot.

This david thompson administration is turning out to be one of the most pathetic of all times and this immigration fiasco will be written on his political tombstone.

41. @Veritas……………When anyone wishes to conduct business in Barbados, do they consult CADRES polls or do they look at the ‘almighty’ dollar?

42. I always said that this much awaited green paper on immigration would be nothing worth waiting for. It was always going to be a sell out. A man of Thompson’s background with his type of heritage will never have the spine to do what is right for Afro-Bajans.

Afro-Bajans you are the spiritual owners of this island. Do not share it with those who have no right to be there. Put self first and you will prosper as a nation; adopt the legislation of the CSME and you will wither away.

Afro-Bajans, Barbados is yours – take it!

43. A different Anonymous Avatar
    A different Anonymous

There are 43 “Afro-Bajans”. How are they going to take Barbados away from the other 275,295 Bajans of varying degrees of mixture of African and European genetics. Get real, Thompson is the man for the times.

44. @ A different Anonymous

THE HOUSE NEGRO AND THE FIELD NEGRO

Back during slavery, there was two kinds of slaves. There was the house Negro and the field Negro. The house Negroes — they lived in the house with master, they dressed pretty good, they ate good cause they ate his food —— what he left. They lived in the attic or the basement, but still they lived near the master; and they loved their master more than the master loved himself. They would give their life to save the master’s house quicker than the master would. The house Negro, if the master said, “We got a good house here,” the house Negro would say, “Yeah, we got a good house here.” Whenever the master said “we,” he said “we.” That’s how you can tell a house Negro.

If the master’s house caught on fire, the house Negro would fight harder to put the blaze out than the master would. If the master got sick, the house Negro would say, “What’s the matter, boss, we sick?” We sick! He identified himself with his master more than his master identified with himself. And if you came to the house Negro and said, “Let’s run away, let’s escape, let’s separate,” the house Negro would look at you and say, “Man, you crazy. What you mean, separate? Where is there a better house than this? Where can I wear better clothes than this? Where can I eat better food than this?” That was that house Negro. In those days he was called a “house nigger.” And that’s what we call him today, because we’ve still got some house niggers running around here.

This modern house Negro loves his master. He wants to live near him. He’ll pay three times as much as the house is worth just to live near his master, and then brag about “I’m the only Negro out here.” “I’m the only one on my job.” “I’m the only one in this school.” You’re nothing but a house Negro. And if someone comes to you right now and says, “Let’s separate,” you say the same thing that the house Negro said on the plantation. “What you mean, separate? From America? This good white man? Where you going to get a better job than you get here?” I mean, this is what you say. “I ain’t left nothing in Africa,” that’s what you say. Why, you left your mind in Africa!

http://malcolmxfiles.blogsp

45. I think one should always analyze why things the way they are & be careful of being critical towards things as a whole.

Most here have only labeled specific provisions that they don’t like in the immigration green paper but the trend is also being critical of the entire thing as a whole which I don’t think helps the cause.The “green paper” as it is called actually exceeds US INA[immigration] law which is good.I think we should all state only specifically what we like & what would be a good alternative to replace the things we don’t like.

What I believe the green paper does is try to address the realistic situation that Barbados is in by addressing the situation with some tough provisions,but some of the provisions definitely don’t make any sense when we are trying to tighten up the laws even if Barbados is signatory to CSME.THE GREEN PAPER IS ONLY A TALKING POINT so anything you don’t like specifically let the Prime Minister’s office know BUT ONLY THE SPECIFIC PROVISIONS not the entire thing.

I will list specifically what I don’t like & why;

Free Primary education For Caricom nationals in Barbados——–Mr. Thompson obviously agreed to this because of pressure from the other Caricom countries,but the fact remains is that not ALL countries within CSME offer Free Primary education.If this is going to be implemented it should be funded by the Caricom Development fund for their Caricom Nationals & not on the backs of hard working Bajan taxpayers.We currently have a system where Caricom national parents are supposed to be paying for their school children’s back fees & I wonder what happens to those fees that they owe,would it then all be forgiven?Antigua is also currently facing the exact same issue where non-nationals are overstaying their time & then entering the schools on the Antiguan taxpayers over there.We’re basically saying with this provision that it is ok for Caricom national parents to abuse the system we have while also not even offering the same service to our nationals within other CSME states to our Barbados nationals.

Citizenship by Marriage in 2 years————–I am ok with non national spouses being able to work during their time period for Citizenship,but to give the greatest benefit this country has to offer within such a short time span is lunacy.It should be at least 4 years to see if the marriage is legitimate also the spouses shouldn’t have any Free entitlements such as healthcare or education until they have acquired citizenship at the 4 year mark.

Guaranteed 6 month entry for Caricom nationals——–This is nothing but a joke.Considering we have a huge illegal immigration problem this just further invites people to circumvent our immigration laws.I can see this being abused by Caricom national parents where they will bring their children in for Free primary education or other nefarious means like narco trafficking & sex slavery.

Domestic workers portion of CSME—–Nothing but an absolute joke because it is NOT a SKILLED provision that Barbados requires.I don’t think anyone truly understands how dangerous this provision really is.People NEED to ask themselves does Barbados have a shortage of Butlers & Maids.

46. A different Anonymous Avatar
    A different Anonymous

X-Man
    yadda, yadda, yadda ,…. Farrakhan must be a house negro given what he did to Mr Shabazz. By the way what is Mr Thompson?

47. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Jay Barbados needs to look at the bermuda regulation.Bermuda is a good fit as an example because it is a very small,over populated island with a high stand of living.

It has a strong english tradition,strong legal system,low on crime,stable currency and a harmonious society.

Same as Barbados.

You would have thought that the prime minister and his advisers if they wanted to, would have looked closer to home to bermuda to check out what their immigration laws look like;

For example – CITIZENSHIP – You must wait 10 years after marrying a bermudian to get citizenship and if during that period you seperate,then you forfeit that right.

Children born in Bermuda do not automatically get citizenship etc,etc

I am beginning to get the clear impression that Thompson was taking us for a ride.

Reminds me of that song:

oh,oh,oh,……. the great pretender….pretending that all is so well…….

48. @ mash up & buy back @ Jay

It is pointless splitting hairs over this CSME policy. A trap has been set for Barbados and it is going to fall into it. This policy will marginalise the Afro-Bajans. Can you guys not see that there are groups out there who would like to see this group of people – Afro-Bajans; removed from this island – by any means necessary. Wake up!

@ A different Anonymous
    I thought Thompson was your “Prime Minister”

49. Apologies for the poor grammar in the above article. I only had a few minutes to compose it and was almost locked in the library.

Hope you can make sense of it.

50. Name me a country where there is a black minority and they are not the lowest economic group.

Name me a country that has a black majority and the other ethnic minorities are not top of the economic ladder.

You can fight but you can’t change fate.

The negro is there for other races to take advantage of and these other races don’t have to work very hard to achive this.

Black people are still selling themselves and their birthright.

Slavery never stopped, it’s just the rules has changed, the outcome the same.