Hartley Henry - DLP Political Strategist
Hartley Henry – DLP Political Strategist

Some of my political allies may cringe, but I nevertheless invite all Barbados to read last weekend’s Barbados Labour Party newspaper column, captioned ‘BLP Column: Financial revelations’.

There is something most striking about the reasoning and logic of the BLP, under Mia Mottley. I do not agree with the manner in which Owen Arthur has set about putting the issue of BLP leadership ‘under the microscope’, but I understand the thinking.

See what the BLP, under Mottley, wrote in not one, but both newspapers, and broadcast on its radio programme, last weekend:

“…the Government potters about with ill-advised schemes like Constituency Councils and summer camps, seemingly oblivious to the danger that dawdling is having on a timely economic recovery. By the time they realise the error of their ways, much pain will have been endured by an unsuspecting public who they are trying to win over with ‘freenesses’. Free summer camps and free bus rides may yet be too dear a price for the country to bear.”

Can you believe that? Grantley Adams, Tom Adams and the founding fathers of the Barbados Labour Party must be turning in their graves. This is leadership that has lost its way and is out of control!

Here is a party in opposition seeking to regain the trust and confidence of the electorate, and the very schemes with which ordinary Barbadians can identify and have embraced, the BLP, under Mia Mottley, is saying should be scrapped, as they are too costly on the treasury.

I will not look back to the period 2000 to 2008 when in excess of $750 million in cost overruns were racked up by the former administration. I will not speak about the new prison that was quoted in one currency and ended up costing the same or more in another. I will not refer to the building in Warrens that ended up costing taxpayers nearly 10 times what it is valued and of course, we shall not mention, on this occasion, the dubious ABC Highway improvement project, for which the millions wasted are still being counted. None of these glaring examples of wastage and squander mania will I rely upon to make my point in this article.

I could dwell also on the insistence by Mottley that we should forge ahead with ill-conceived flyovers, each costing in excess of $70 million. Were this government to announce tomorrow that it would use the same firm handpicked by the BLP four years ago to build three flyovers for in excess of a quarter billion dollars, the measure, we are confident, would receive the full support of the BLP, under Mia Mottley. But, again, that is not the bone of contention today.

I go further to say that the current government has to date offered in excess of $200 million in direct concessions to big business in Barbados, as a means of mitigating the fall-out from the global economic downturn. It has given money to tourism, to farmers, to slot machine operators, to horse owners and riders, to road builders; generally to every known group of business person threatened by or who have fallen victim to the downturn of business, occasioned by the global economic depression.

This money, in cash and concessions, has been given and not a squeak has come from the opposition, because, for the most part, they can identify with the need and the cause of big business. Money put into the hands of big business is money well spent and deservedly so, according to the BLP, under Mia Mottley.

But this government says to a poor mother of three in the countryside ‘we know things are hard on you and we value your wanting to educate your children. Don’t worry about bus fares. We will pay that for you’.

That concession is valued less than $8 million annually, but it has incurred the wrath of the BLP, under Mia Mottley. It is like the proverbial bone, stuck in their craw. They simply cannot fathom the idea of “giving” to the poor. Give to the rich and all is well. Give to the poor and you are condemned. Robin Hood, according to them, had it all wrong!

In almost every statement released by the BLP, under Mia Mottley, the free bus-fare initiative is referenced in the most disparaging of terms. Now, we are told it’s a ‘freeness’, the country can il-afford.

The same goes for summer camps for school children. The children of affluent and well off parents go to Disney World, Paris and New York for summer holidays. Others go sailing on cruise ships or on pleasure crafts down the Grenadines. The 90 per cent majority children of working class parents watch television or roam the streets aimlessly for eight long weeks.

The Government of David Thompson said to parents “look, we know what a strain it is for you to have to go to work and leave your children unattended and in harm’s way for eight long weeks. We know many of you cannot afford private summer camps. We will take the load off you. We will create a national summer camp programme, in which we come up with programmes that the children would like and where we can attend to them and keep them engaged and out of trouble for much of the long vacation’.

That is what the government undertook and truth be told the programme does not cost $3 million. Indeed, whatever it cost, 90 per cent of the money is pumped directly into the coffers of small, ordinary folks who supply camp counseling or catering services. Yet, every time the BLP, under Mia Mottley, opens its mouth, it speaks in the most reproachful manner about the summer camps. Is it that government money is not to be spent on poor people?

Through the eyes of the Mia Mottley-led BLP, it is alright to pump money into big business and through procurement, where the State is paying nearly four times the value of the product, but to spend a fraction of such funds on poor people and the cause of poor people is the crime of the century.

The same principle applies to Constituency Councils. The BLP in government spent millions on dubious community projects, 60 per cent of which are today not identifiable or visible to the naked eye. There are houses that were paid for that cannot be found, road projects that were started and paid in full but never completed and toilets that were built for the value of a bungalow. Yet none of these was viewed as wastage or squander mania by a BLP government that included Mia Mottley.

But this government establishes Constituency Councils and give them a measly $100 000 to attempt the myriad number of projects that need attending to in communities, and the Barbados Labour Party, in opposition, has gone ballistic. Where is the logic? Where is the reasoning?

What is wrong with poor people handling money? One man was given hundreds of thousands to build a toilet and nothing is wrong with that. But an entire Committee, comprising pastors, teachers, lawyers, accountants, housewives and other honest, hard working people drawn from the society, cannot be trusted to spend $100 000 on the community in which they live. This logic is sickening. It smacks of the class prejudices with which some of us have had to contend all our lives.

One does not wish to get personal in situations such as these, but the truth must be spoken. It is hard for the current Leader of the Opposition to understand what free bus fares mean to working class Barbadian parents. The Current Leader of the Opposition cannot understand the benefit to parents, mental, financial and otherwise, of having children in a secure and constructive setting for the bulk of the summer holiday. The current Leader of the Opposition clearly does not understand what it means to an ordinary man or woman for the government to say ‘here is some money. I entrust you with the responsibility of determining how it is spent’. She simply does not understand. Indeed, she cannot understand! She is not from “the hood”.

In matters such as these, the David Thompson administration, with which I am proud to be associated, is inspired and motivated by the dictum that ‘only by understanding what people value, will we be able to serve them better’.

David Thompson understands that Barbadians value the free bus fare initiative. He understands that they value the Summer Camps. He understands that they value Constituency Councils. That is why he has committed his government to sustaining them, much to the dismay and disapproval of the Barbados Labour Party, under Mia Mottley.

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

23 responses to “The Higher The BLP Climbs…”

1. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Remember the DLP promised the following in their manifesto as part of their economic strategy. They said “a Democratic Labour Party Barbados government will give maximum priority to the creation of a macro-economic environment that stresses the following:

 Fiscal prudence in the allocation of expenditure and the absorption of revenues;
     Protection of the fixed exchange rate regime through careful management of the fiscal and external current account deficits;
     A tightly managed debt accumulation strategy targeted at the reduction in both domestic and foreign components of the national debt;
     The attainment of full employment through the private sector’s response to new domestic entrepreneurial and investment opportunities in traditional and more importantly new industrial, cultural and knowledge sectors.”

Further aspects of the DLP economic policy announced in their manifesto stated that a new DLP government will:

 Give priority to achieving and maintaining a balanced budget while allowing for small manageable fiscal deficits where necessary to facilitate the development objectives of the country.
     Implement taxation policies that reduce fiscal drag on the economy. We shall avoid taxation policies that act as disincentives to investment and productivity; require that public expenditure be kept under continuing review to promote efficiency and economy is the use of fiscal resources;
     Seek any domestic financing from the capital markets in preference to the heavy reliance on national insurance funds; [ never mind there has been an approximate 25% increase in holdings of government debentures between jan 2008 and may 2009]
     Undertake a comprehensive review of the proliferation of government owned companies created by the BLP administration to ensure that they promote economic goals and/or meet genuine social needs. Companies such as Hotel and Resorts Limited (GEMS) and the Barbados Tourism Investment Inc. (BTII), which receive public funding will now be required to have such financial support debated and approved by parliament, and will be required to consistently adhere to existing and new legal requirements for reporting to parliament in a timely fashion.

2. The higher Hartley Henry climb , the more shyte yuh see

3. Cool it KISSMYA

Dont forget that Hartley is an advisor to Denzil Douglas too!

And things not so sweet in St Kitts these days. Ah lie? Oh me am!

4. Johnny Postle @ Avatar

Normally I do not comment on anything that Hartley Henry produces but I think it is quite difficult to refute some of his claims. Indeed the BLP did dig themselves a hole and there is stigma that many in our society has attached to the BLP that is not too pretty but wreaks filth.

5. BU and others have written exhaustively on the BLP leadership. It is clear Mottley has a centipede in her bed. When will it sting? Will she be able to kill it? Henry is obviously milking the fear for what it is worth but can it backfire? Arthur in our view remains a formidable adversary in the minds of many Barbadian voters. We will see when not IF Arthur elects to make his move?

6. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Arthur may be a formidable adversary in YOUR mind David,but bajans are not as stupid as some think.

The average bajan does not want anything to do with mia or arthur.

7. Who is this ‘average bajan’ so oft spoken about?

As someone commented at the Nation website, the majority of the $142,000 spent so far on Councils went towards the payment of stipends, very few ‘projects’ if any at all.

8. Mash up are you discounting the recent CADRES poll?

9. Both the BLP and the DLP must be thrown out of the parliament of this country by the majority of voters.

For, both these stupid factions have long failed and continue to fail the broad masses and middle classes of people of this country.

Well, as almost everybody knows, Barbados has found itself in the throes of yet another severe recession (depression) that is taking its toll on the broad masses and middle classes of people of this country.

And, make no doubt about it, both these joke parties have substantially played a role in the bringing about of this a most destructive depression. It is primarily because of many of the harmful domestic economic and financial policies of both these factions, over the last 16 years or so, that the country has entered into this depression which has been bringing enormous suffering and misery and hopelessnes across the land. It is therefore foolhardy to primarily blame international circumstances for this depression!!

But, the DLP and the BLP leaderships and principals would like the electorate of this country to falsely believe that “booms” ( expansionary times ) and “busts” (recessionary times) are naturally processes that countries like Barbados have to go through as part of their growth and development. What arrant nonsense!!!

It is clear that our country is direly in need of at least two more new, modernistic, serious, people centered developmentalist parties to go after governmental office in this country, and which – once acceding to governmental power – would exercise it for the benefit of the further development of the country as a whole.

So, down with the decadent DLP and BLP, and up with any new serious developmental parties.

But, David, why is part of the facial image of Miss Mia Mottley on display in the right hand side of your mast head?

10. Get real PDC
    Get real
    It is either the Dees or the BEES

RIGHT now it is the Dees
    Soon it will be the BEES—VERY SOON TOO

Read this Headline
    ——————————————-
    Bus woes increase for commuters due to DLP ‘s incompetence.
    ——————————————

No buses on some routes
    Reduced buses on some routes

percursor to a bus fare increase ?

11. MU&BB thinks that

“The average bajan does not want anything to do with mia or arthur.”

Really?

Maybe he thinks that the 61,315 Bajans who voted for the BLP in 2008 were below average.

It would take less than five thousand of those 70,135 above average Bajans who voted for the DLP and who are now disenchanted over the long list of broken promises, not the least of which are FOI and Integrity legislation, to vote the other way next time to produce a different result.

Maybe MU&BB should ponder on that in his assessment of the below average Bajans.

12. Hurrah Inkwell !

I endorse your comments

KISSMYA endorses the comments of INKWELL

13. Last weekend’s Barbados Labour Party column could have been titled “Political Revelations”. The author of the column delivered a blistering indictment on the Mia-led Opposition. The Barbados Labour Party’s column poured scorn on the Democratic Labour Party’s policy initiatives, aimed at strengthening the social safety net and increasing public participation in the governance process. “Ill-advised”, “error of their ways” and “freenesses” were some of the words and phrases strung together to describe the Democratic Labour Party’s new policy initiatives .

This comes against the background of a global recession and a caring Prime Minister who continues to act in the interest of one Barbados and not the two that the Arthur administration left behind. The introduction of Constituency Councils, free buses rides for schoolchildren and the Government-funded all year-round camp programme are definitely not sitting well with the Opposition. It is clear that they are unable to conceptualise or identify with programmes that are targeted at the vulnerable.

This gives the public of Barbados a clear opportunity to define the intentions of the Opposition, if they are to ever see government in the near future. Mia has already signalled her intention to go ahead with the $145 million flyovers, against public outcry. They have never responded to any of the allegations regarding the expansion of the highway project and the engagement of 3S, a fivemonth-old company with no track record of road building, as the official contractors. This is typical of a government who had little to do with poor people but spent all their time on the polo ridges, west coast cocktails parties and golf course breakfast meetings. These activities, along with protecting big business, led to the demise of the small and medium size business sector as we know it today.

How dare they pour scorn on the attempts by Prime Minister David Thompson to secure a better Barbados for all? The PM has been adamant that we need to strengthen our social safety net and to this end, Michael Lashley, Member of Parliament for St Philip North, has been on the job looking after the interest of the those in need of housing solutions. In this respect, we know of the political mismanagement that took place under the Arthur’s watch at the National Housing Corporation. This continues to come to come to light as the Auditor General’s Report makes political revelations about what took place. If ever a Commission of Inquiry is needed, it has to be at the NHC.

We are awaiting the Mia-led Opposition to discuss Housing Revelations in their ‘weakly’ Friday column and their national radio broadcast. The tirade of neglect continued in the allocation of land to poor people and the construction of low income homes. The reported sale of hundreds of acres of NHC land to private developers, thus denying those on the waiting lists any possible access, smacks of contempt. The Arthur administration did not care about providing low income housing solutions. The lack of attention paid to the vulnerable continues to reveal itself in the aftermath of the political destruction that was heaped upon this country.

The Mia-led Opposition must now stand up and seek to explain and account for the glaring lack of transparency that transcended their tenure in Government. It is not right that day after day Opposition members parade throughout this country as if they have entitlement to rule. However, they now have to deal with an electorate that is more aware thanks to Prime Minister David Thompson and his team. We intend to continue the reporting about our findings; no stone will be left unturned and no one left behind as we chart Pathways to Progress.

14. Wishing In Vain Avatar

CLARENCE SLOCOMBE wants to know who gave Member of Parliament George Payne permission to utilise his land.

The land is located in Hillaby, St Andrew, obliquely opposite Payne’s constituency office.

Slocombe, a Barbadian living in England, said he came here in 2007 to find that a portion of a parcel of land that his father had left for him in Hillaby, had been cleared and fenced.

“I was shocked and when I asked who had done it, I was told that it was Mr Payne. I called him up and asked him who gave him permission to fence my land and he told me that he was trying to find out who owned the property. I asked him who did he consult, but he did not reply. I told him to take down the fence.”

However, Slocombe said the fence never came down, even though he spoke to Payne on several occasions.

“The next time I called him he told me that he wanted to rent the land. I told him that I was not renting nor selling. And the next time I spoke to him he told me that he owned the land. I asked him who did he buy it from?”

Slocombe said he continued to wait for Payne to remove the fence, but instead, he saw huge billboards had been erected on the property and large plant pots also placed on it.

“Last Friday I took two police officers with me and went to his office. He was not there, but I told his secretary in front of the police that I was giving him until Sunday to remove the fence. I went up there on Sunday and the fence was still there so I took a hammer and knocked everything down,” said an upset Slocombe.

He said while he was taking down the fencing Payne turned up.

“He told me that I had damaged his property and that he was the owner of the land. I called the police and I showed them all of the tax bills with my name on them. The police asked Mr Payne what proof he had that the land was his and he kept saying that [a] Mr Rawlins gave him permission to use the land.”

The man said the only thing he knew about Payne, who is also an attorney-at-law, was that he had bought a parcel of land from his brother Charles Walcott, now deceased, three years ago.

“He bought my brother’s land at Lower Estate Gardens for $1.4 million; that’s the only thing I know about him.”

When contacted, Payne explained that attorney

Deighton Rawlins was executor of the estate of Slocombe’s brother Charles Walcott and that the land actually belonged to Walcott.

He produced a document which he said he received from Rawlins giving him permission to occupy the land.

“All he [Slocombe] did was to put his name on the tax bill. I never met him until Sunday. He kept calling me and leaving . . . messages on my telephone. I told him that Mr Rawlins had given me permission to use the land.

“I was going to my constituency office on Sunday and I saw him with a hammer destroying everything. He destroyed $10 000 worth of equipment.”

Payne, however said he would not take the matter any further

15. Poor People Fed Up Avatar
    Poor People Fed Up

Hartley Henry, the longer the DLP takes to free the people from the suffocating grip of the cost of living, the sooner they will be back to picking pond grass.

16. The Weekend Nation Newspaper, Friday, October 16, 2009, has reported that Prime Minister David Thompson is moving full steam ahead with a three-year development plan for Barbados, and that part of this plan is “the acceleration of the Needham Point Development Project”, “the pumping of more money into Barbados’ tourism advertising”, “increasing its Housing Every Last Person (HELP) programme”, and “the development of a special waste management project to replace the country’s controversial landfill at Mangrove, St. Thomas”.

According to this said newspaper issue, the Prime Minister was at the time on Thursday addressing a joint strategy conference between the Inter-American Development Bank (IADB) and the Caribbean Development Bank (CDB) at the Hilton Hotel.

Aside from the fact that the content of this news story was so incoherent and disjointed and amounted to pure mishmash – and which are criticisms that even a journalistic cub would hardly have attracted for any news article produced by them – we in PDC – notwithstanding our having to pick through this a most terrible piece of journalese – have been proven correct once more: that this Thompson Administration is as incompetent and unimaginative and backward as the previous Arthur Administrations.

Hence, it was so nonsensical and callous minded for Mr. David Thompson to have attempted – at that conference – to link many projects, existing or to come on stream, like the Needhams Development Project, Housing Every Last Person (HELP) programme, the expansion of the port, etc., and which would have been especially earlier designed for wholly different times and purposes, with some notion of his government at this juncture not resting on its laurels in making sure that the economy is stabilized, the foreign reserves are protected, the fiscal deficit is kept in check, and that Barbadians remain employed (all old worn out hackneyed Manifesto-like phrases of by-gone time), such uninspiring useless epithets from a so-called leader, especially at this time when this country is being battered by a deepening depression.

Moreover, Mr Thompson appears now to be so very confused that he does know his head fom his tail. As such, he has been shockingly failing to tell the public how 5 months after his Budgetary Proposals were made in parliament, how some of these new proposals are really working, and, if so, how and to what extent are they helping to achieve such an objective of helping to stabilize a foundering so-called economy of Barbados: how is the foolish one-year deferment of employer “contributions” to the NIS really working to help stabilize the so-called economy? How, huh?? How are the senselessly stupid increases in water rates really affecting the broad masses and middle classes, many small and medium sized businesses, and other relevant vulnerable entities in this country?

This joker for a Prime Minister has also been dastardly failing to tell the public of Barbados what is the status of some of those new Budgetary Proposals that were supposedly designed to stimulate a so-called economy that is in dire straits: Is the proposed BDS $ 10 million fund to facilitate training and the provision of a stipend for the unemployed up and running as yet? Has the proposed BDS $ 15 million facility at the Central Bank that is to be used for advance payment to workers contracted by government established as yet?

Finally, what is so atrocious about this so-called 3 year development plan is that is seemed to have contained no specificities relative to making life less hard or a lot easier for the poor and vulnerable in this country at such a very distressing and miserable time in this country’s history. Thus, from this monkey plan, it is clear to the PDC that like that buffoon Arthur, Thompson has been principally pandering, and ungraciously so, to some business elites in this country and to those elites who run or have serious blooksucking interests in the two earlier mentioned lending agencies. What a shame!!!

So, Mr. Thompson be off and take real note of the fact that like Mr. Arthur you will have to ride off into your political sunset sooner than you think! Down with the damn DLP and the blasted BLP!!

17. BETTER BRAINS IN THE B.L.P

election slogan

18. The powers that be within the BLP (and they are many powers that be) seem unable or unlikely or uncertain to be able to set a date for their Party Conference>

It is a long time in coming and some may suggest that Mottley is trying to draw it out to try to buy time to Garner support where there is none.

She must be in great Pain to get George to speak with her to set a date, maybe there is some truth that Owing See Thru White Rum is really running things from behind the scenes.

She may be forced to Chew on this for some while as her leader gains his footing and displaces her with one fell swoop.

No I intended to say Swoop as we know Mottley is not predisposed to the other issue.

Really do they have a planned date for the Party Conference or are they running scared of the likely outcome?

By this time last year it was done and dusted but this year it is a non starter funny how in one short year how the wheels have turned on Mottley an empty meaningless babbling voice saying nothing of sense or value.

I have often said that Mottley is a lot of fluff and no substance and finally her own party is seeing thru her shallow emptyness that Mottley is.

19. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Barbados enlists support for APD rethink

Barbados has enlisted the support of the travel industry in a bid to get the UK government to scrap Air Passenger Duty.

The island’s Prime Minister David Thompson came to the UK to lobby the government to rethink the tax, which could add as much as £400 to the cost of a family holiday to the island.

PM Thompson met with Dermot Blastland, managing director of TUI UK & Ireland, David Jessop, executive director of the Caribbean Council, Dr Barry Humphreys, chairman of the British-Caribbean Business Council, Petra Roach, director of the Barbados Tourism Authority and George Blundell Pound, acting secretary general of the Federation of Tour Operators.

Barbados’ move follows that of a number of other Caribbean countries, which have written to Gordon Brown requesting he rethink the tax.

APD is hiked on November 1 from £40 to £50 in economy cabins and from £80 to £100.

From November 2010 it goes up again to £75 and £150.

It is widely regarded as unfairly penalising visitors to the Caribbean because it is based on the distance from London to the capital city of the destination, rather than the miles flown.

So, for example, a passenger will pay less APD to fly to Hawaii than Barbados.

Barbados’ aim is to scrap the second hike and get the Caribbean reclassified in the same tax band as the US, which will mean a hike to £60 in economy and £120 in premium.

Prime Minister Thompson (pictured, second right) said “I am delighted so many influential travel and tourism organizations in the UK are supporting our APD campaign. There was complete agreement amongst all those attending our meeting that this is an issue the British Government need to take very seriously.

“It is unfair to discriminate against visitors to our region, who will pay far more in APD than those traveling to destinations that are many thousands of miles further away.”

Last week, Tim Jeans, marketing director at Monarch Airlines, gave a stark view on how APD could hit the industry.

Speaking at a Chartered Institute of Marketing Travel Intelligence Group debate on air travel he said:

“Governments are beginning to turn towards air travel as a cash machine.

“From November 1 it will cost a family of four travelling to the Caribbean £400 in tax on Air Passenger Duty.

“We may yet have seen the peak of air travel.”

20. So Mia playing hard ball and showing who is the real boss.

Who has the balls to call her bluff after that performance?

21. @GL

It is a smart move on her part. Arthur would be more comfortable playing the waiting game and avoid the sweat of opposition politics. If he wants it he has to indicate now because if he waits he signals he is not interested to the public. The lack of interest could lead to a reshaping of the public perception that Arthur is the man. Whatever happens the DLP must be glad for the distraction.

22. It is okay to assert yourself as leader, but to suggest that you will not tolerate any dissent from big hard back men, is sure to breed some resentment.

23. You do not achieve reconciliation by intimidation.