58 responses to “Barbadians Pay Homage To His Excellency Ambassador Ryan Brathwaite”

1. Here is a blow by blow of the pics above.

Image of the Program Cover used at ceremony at Kensington Oval last Thursday to pay tribute to Ambassador Brathwaite

The Stage used for Thursday’s ceremony.

Acting Minister of Sports Irene Sandiford-Garner leading the official party to start proceedings at Kensington Oval on Thursday.

See #3

The Royal Barbados Police Force Band performed at the ceremony

Dwayne Husbands was one of the performers who got the chance to perform at the history making event sang ‘If I Had Wings”

Ambassador Brathwaite receiving gifts from the private sector but first the Acting Minister presented books with signatures of Barbadians and others

Ambassador Ryan received a 2010 Nissan Xtrail from the government with some assistance from the dealer

Ambassador Brathwaite receiving the keys for the Xtrail

Let me test this baby out!

A proud mother sitting next to son at the unveiling of the mural in his home town

Ambassador Ryan with Coaches Babb and Cain

His US Coach saying a few words

The two Coaches who did it!

The Elders came out to hail the Ambassador

The mural painted by home town boy Don Small

The Welcome Banner proudly displayed as you enter his hometown of Hillaby, St. Thomas/Andrew

Farmers where Sir Othiel Williams gave a piece of the rock to the world champion

The proud villagers on a motorcade to celebrate

So tired but signing autographs late yesterday (19 September 2009)

2. Congratulations to the young man on his achievement. However, it’s not nearly as significant as Rihanna’s who’ll be proudly, representing Barbados for very many years while he, could be defeated in his very next race, perhaps, as soon as next week!!

3. That you have put the hurdles to the sword in an event with the world’s best; is synonymous of what Barbadians can do on the world stage given the opportunity.

Well done my son, as the English TV sports commentator said;

“The Bajan has done it”!!

4. Again, congrats to Ryan, his parents, et al for making Barbados proud as a peacock. LOL.

Wishing you well in all future endeavors.

5. Bimbro,
    Sorry to be de one ta burs ya bubble, but you are comparing kings with Klowns. No can do.

Congrats Ambassador Elect Ryan. You fought a good fight. And won.

6. I TRAVELLED FROM ENGLAND JUST TO BE AT KENSINGTON OVAL TO SEE RYAN VICTORY AS A NON BAJAN , IAM PROUD FOR YOU ALL THE BEST , MAY YOU CONTINUE TO SHINE A PROUD BECONOF GLORY.

7. Bims my Bro
    I would like you to Google image “Rihanna nipple ring” and add some age ta yah life. Ha ha haa!

8. Bimbro
    You pervert!!!!!you really want to compare a decent young man with that wh——-re? Even if His Excel Ryan Brathwaite never win another race, he has won the forst gold for Barbados in a World event, all Rihanna has done is embarrass bajan by exposing herself and God knows what else. Bajans can identify themselves with a nice Godly young man not a sl–t.

9. Bimbro
    You would like Rihanna because maybe you’re home alone and needs half nude pictures of that girl to satisfy your craving.

10. ‘Thanks’ everybody for ur comments. Scout, I think u remember Ri’s semi-naked pics more than I do. BAF, I saw the nipple business over at BFP. My question is: does anybody care?!! As for the remainder of u, I don’t think I’ve heard of Ryan in the British press or international news, since his win, yet, Ri’s in our papers almost every single day and mention of the fact that she’s from Bim, so I think that answers your question as to who’s of greater pulbicity-value to Bim!

I jus like people to ‘get-real’!! 🙂 Plus, Ri will be an empress of song for the remainder of her life. How many more races will Ryan win!! Yuh caan tell me dah, can u?!!

Steupse!!

11. Bonny, I’m disappointed u don’t like my girl, man!! I mean, with those lungs, those vocal chords, that wizardly feel for song, the ability to pack a whole music venue with tens of thousands of screaming fans, night after successive night – what more do u want?!! Can Ryan do dah? We all know that he can’t!!

Steupse!!

12. Please don’t stop the music!!!
    Please don’t stop the music!!!
    Please don’t stop the music!!

That’s the refrain from one of my darling’s biggest hits, for those Bajan, fuddy-duddies of u, who did n’t know!!

Laaaaaaaaddddddddddddddd!!

Get up an dance, do!!

13. above shoud read, ‘wizardly feel for a song’!!

14. Scout, there’s much worse than that just a click away on the net! Let’s get real bro!!

Ey, uh jus notice dat BFP started their reply to Mr ROK series!! Mus go over day an c wha foolishniss duh have to say!!

Laaaaaaadddddddddddddd!!

It’s going tuh b an intristing morning!!

Laaaaaaaddddddddddddddd!!

Scout, as a christian, why r u so very ashamed of the human body? God himself, created it and it is perfect, certainly, in her case which, combined with an incredible voice we should give him thanks for his brilliance, not be ashamed of it!!

Wunna continue sleeping!!

Lord!!

Scout, be proud of god’s creation!!

Mr Scout, please be proud of god’s creation!!

PLEASeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!

15. Idiots !

always playing up one person against the other, one song against the other. Stupid brainwashed people from the days of slavery , brainwashed by the slave masters continue to be fragmented and crab in the barrel mentally influenced.

When will the folly end ?
    Wake up sleeping jackasses and get real and realise there is a role for each person and all things work together for the good of all: positive and negative.

Shut your traps !

16. I’ve read the first couple of paras of Mr Cumberbath’s article but, he’s taking so long to get to the point dat, I tired an gine back tuh sleep!! I’ll finish it later!!

Lord!!

Then, hopefully, one day, I might actually fine-out wha d point it is dat BFP trying to make!!

Lord!!

17. Ryan Brathwaite well done, excellence truly.

I do not want to mar this blog, but sorry, must say something, although I will never compare the achievements of Ryan & Rihanna. Apples & oranges.

Bonny, she is not a klown, stop it. She came from not having much to being a world star, give her that at least.

Scout, your words are totally out of order and uncalled for. Why barrage with insults, a young lady who has come so far?

I agree with some of what you say on other matters, but in this instance you are way across the line and a linesman is calling foul.

Come on.

The Jamaicans and Trinis back their own NO MATTER WHAT!

What is it with us?

Peace

18. Bimbro, I read it. Thus, this for Mr.Cumberbatch….yes, we do have busy schedules.

Off to work I go, as usual, will not now see me for awhile.

Lol.

19. I’ve scanned the rest and it seems that Mr Cumbertath is ultimately, concerned with defamation and how that’s handled but, have n’t we examined that here, already. Should nonetheless, prove interesting as the series unravels!

20. @Bimbro

We have a blog which deals with the Internet anonymity issue, please show some respect to the BU family.

21. Ok Rump, just seen yours!! Have a good day and, remember ur customer care!! lol!! 🙂

22. In this society where men, especially young men are the target of redicule, it is refreshing to see a focussed young man excelling to world class statusas a WORLD CHAMPION. You have set the bar for other young bajan men to try to reach. The fact that you have chosen the high hurdles to conquer, I’m sure you can alsoconquer the high hurdles of life that would challenge you. Try to jump over them but if you hgave to run through them but NEVER Quit. Focus on the finish line.

23. Ok, Dave, I’ll post to a thread which is now dead and defunct, if I can even find it! I think your idea of respect amounts to keeping your mouth shut!! Learn to relax, Dave. Trust my intelligence or, start a new thread!!

24. Trained Economist Avatar

The BLP, George Payne and the nation newspaper should be shamed for spoiling the Ryan Brathwaithe celebrations.

The nation really showed their bias in this case. How in heaven’s name could opposition complaints about invites or lack thereof be a front page , sunday story?

25. Trained Economist…..Do not get upset with the Nation newspaper…George is just a PAIN in the ASS…!

26. Rumple,
    She’s a klown fa me man. May be not fa you but fa me, she is. But doan lose na sleep ova de matta for dis too shall pass, like most tings.

KissMya,
    You heading de troop a ‘idiots’, doan faget. And is time you find somebody else ta kissssssss.

And George “Hats”, anotha klown. Katchin at straws all de time. So sickeninnnnnnnnnnnnn.

Bimbro,
    Ya perv.
    smoochessssssssssssssss n hugsssssssssssssssss.

Bro Scout,
    Ya like acid rain. Lawddddddddddddddddddd. Luv um.

27. Bonny Peppa
    I was a little taken back by the first outrageous pic by Rihanna but now these today is the straw that broke the camel’s back. Can’t she or her handlers see what they are doing to that girl? she os being protrayed as a cheap little island girl, who wants to embarrass the young american idol. American rumors are that she is trying to convince the judge to cancel the protection order and has even found a Rihanna look-alike that they claim is more refine than the little island girl. Next thing she will be offered $1 million to pose nude in playboy. Bimbro would like that PERVERT

28. i was wondering why “I” did not see members of the oposition on “my tv”or among other formalities for the weekend, if that is true what a sad out come, i thought this was a “bajan celebration”

Congrats to you H.E Ryan go get em in 2012 !!!

29. just- hey
    they’re probably lookin fa ‘sympathy-votes’, hence the absence from ‘my tv’.
    Cah dearrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.
    Doan cryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy.

Wunna Klownsssssssssssssssss.

30. Scout, why don’t u *uck yourself and express ur own opinions and leave me to express mine. If ur sexuslly frustrated go and *uck ur wife and stop bothering with what u perceive to be other people’s sex lives. WEIRDO!!

31. It’s no wonder Bim’s in the state it’s in; instead of worrying about what’s really important ur worrying about other people’s sex lives and then you claim not to be a PERVERT yourself. YOU (Scout) are the biggest PERVERT of all!

32. …and moving right on to Excellence. Congrats to Ambassador Ryan Brathwaite and I don’t see why a little island girl with no head on should be mentioned in the same blog thread as one who stands for decency and scrupules. Only the unscrupulous would do such a thing.

I am not a church goer but I could more take seeing a photo of Ryan at church than the promiscuity I have seen coming from that other quarter. I bluntly refuse to even mention the name. What she is doing is not only a disgrace to herself but serves as another humiliation of black people.

I have no doubt that those who put her up to it are laughing their tails off at we. You just don’t throw pearls to swine if you have any respect for their value. She really needs guidance.

There is a saying that if you bring your children up the right way, they shall not depart from them.

33. The success of Ryan Brathwaithe and the rise of the community and national spirit is something which we need. It is a factor which is missing with Rihanna, she brings something else to the table. It seems we need to fan that flame which Ryan has sparked.

34. Bimbro,
    C’mon now, no need to launch such a vicious attack on my man de Scout. He is just joking wid you man. Dat’s all. By d way, wha’ state Bim in? We still holding we own man. Sa far. Dat is. Tek um easy, Bim.

Yes,yes, yes David, Ryan is a real prodigy for the youngsters and should be emulated at every opportunity. We need to accentuate de positive i.e Ryan Par Excellente. Well deserved.
    Can’t say de same for Robyn, de knuckle head. Sorry Bimbro, againnnnnnnnnn.

ROK,
    My dew-drop, still hay drooling ova your pic. Too cute.
    Mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.
    But what about the ‘ones’ you bring up de rite way and they still tend to ‘depart from them’? Ya cud help ma day, Hun?

35. @Bonny

I know that i could always depend on my peppa for flavour. To answer your question, the ones you bring up the right way will never depart. However, the ones that depart were not brought up the right way. For me it is that simple.

Each child has different needs both tangible and non-tangible. I will risk to say that the parents of those children who departed from their ways would tell you that they saw very early signs. I could only conclude that those children were not brought up the right way although they may have been in the home of parents whose intent and purpose was to bring them up the right way. They simply failed and now failing to admit it…

but there is nothing to be ashamed about. Too many times parents recognise the problem but have nobody to turn to. Now, because I couch my words in this manner does not mean that blame should be cast otherwise we would have to blame the entire society; social and economic systems.

However, I have seen “wayward” children turn out better than some who were not wayward. Take for example Young Cassius Clay. Who would have thought that this one time bully known to the law would end up being a role model with all the time, care and attention for children they could ever want?

Cassius, because of his experience, knows a lot that many parents don’t know and I have seen him work with many difficult children that when he was a lad, he would just have beaten the stuffings out of them.

I think that Cassius spent long hours thinking hard about how he fell through the cracks and he knows that emotional support is paramount. He empathises with any child in that situation and feels compelled to help.

I hope that helps. Stay as sweet and as colourful as you are. Oh, you get in any mustard yet? It make the sauce more palatable you know.

Mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

36. ROK
    No, the only thing I plan to add to ‘dis’ sauce is a lil cayenne. Mo heat.(chuckleeeeeeeeeeeeeee)
    But I know of situations where two or three children were born n bred in the same environment, same rules, same everything but one usually tends to stray from his/her upbringing. We as parents have to ask ourselves why. Is it because we are all different individuals with different mind-sets? If that is the case, then all the proper up-bringing will be to no avail. But as parents we still have to instill good morals n discipline in our offspring even if it falls by the wayside, I would feel comfy knowing that I did my best but because it takes all types to make the world spin in orbit, some will be sexy, like you, studious, like Porgie,sincere, like de Negro, witty, like Pat, intelligent,like MashUp, astute, like Hopi,wutless, like Bimbro and GOOD, like me and so on n so-forth. Git?

37. Bonny, why do u like Mr ROKStone!! does n’t his beard put u off?!!

Laaaaaaaadddddddddddd!!

38. Bimbro,
    Nooooooooo, my ROKstone is ROKhard. His beard turns me off? Nooooooooooooooo, actually, it does de oppositeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.(whispering).

That ‘snow’ signifies, dignity, honour, maturity n satisfaction guaranteed.
    Git? Now leff my ROK a Gabralta.
    Ya gallas-bait.

39. Bonny Peppa
    Don’t worry with Bimbro, when you step on sharp “glassbottle” you are expected to get cut. If all he can do is dribble over Rihanna, if he gets close to her in private maybe he will try raping the little girl. Come to think of it, if he sees her in the nude he might run because he might not know what to do with a real Rihanna, like what he does with her pics.

40. Bonny, well after that resounding endorsement, I feel positively, jealous and subordinate! I’ll have to grow a beard as well, to compete, I think!!

Laaaaaaadddddddddddddd!!

And, do u have a novel in u!! I’ve asked u this before and uv had some time to think about it now!! I’m really impressed by your serious narrative. I guess that must mean that I want to shag u too!!

Poor me!!

41. Bimbro,
    No,no, no my rose-petal. I’ll luv u jus de way u r. Bearded or balded. smoochhhh
    What wood i be doin wid a ‘novel’ in me? Ya teasa.

Bro Scout,
    You feel dat he would run from Rihanna but I doan feel so. He would be so ecstatic, something else would run but not his feet. Ya wicked.

I gone boe, Bimbro is my pardner in crime.

42. Hi Bonny, it’s a British expression so, in case u were n’t sure what I meant – I meant; is there something within in (your experience of life or interest) which you could write a novel about, or some other kind of book, like an autobiography!! I’d love to read it!! U sure u don’t have a ‘novel in u’, somewhere!!

43. Bimbro,
    I know it’s just a metaphor but I was just being facetious. Thought you would pickup the line. Smarty.
    So being serious, no I have no novel in me. OK? But I might have a Archie Comic.(teehee)

44. Ok Bonny, thanks for the reply but I still think uv got unrecognised (by you) literary talent! Good luck my friend!!

45. Bonny, can u sing, as well!! Obviously, not to Rihanna’s standards but, for example, do u belong to the local church choir?!! I can jus hear u now!!

Laaaaaaaddddddddddddd!!

Which is ur favourite, hymn?!

46. Mine is ‘Breathe On Me Breath Of God’!! Those r all the words I know!!

Lord!!

47. Bimbro
    You’re crazyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy.
    And no, I don’t belong to any church choir, local, regional or international. I can hold my own in a chorus or two but no, don’t attend church, except for de odd occasion.i.e: wedding, funeral,christening etc. Dat is de trute.
    Nevertheless, I do have a favourite hymn,it is, ‘It is well with my soul”.

When peace like a river attendeth my way, when sorrow like sea billows roll, whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say,
    It is well, it is well, with my soul.

I have a few more favourites but too numerous to mention now.

And yessssssssssss, I can singgggggggggg.

And yessssssssss, I keep some of the commandments, difficult as it is at times.
    For example, I love my neighbour as I love myself and God knows how I wish every day dat ROK was my ‘neighbour’.
    Gotchyaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.

48. LOL!! Bonny that was funny, darling!! Thanks very much. I must brush-up on my hymns and maybe, even start going to church again!!

Good luck with ROK, babe!! Hope ur dreams will come true!! ’till later!!

49. Now, when’s Ryan’s next race and will he win it and, if he loses it, would he still be an ambassador and, if so, of what? Failure?!! Does n’t a person need a longer series of successes before we would honour him with the title of ambassador?!!

50. Bonny Peppa
    Looks like your buddy Bimbro is the CEO at church. He attends at
    C—- Christmas
    E—- Easter
    O— Other occasions.
    Maybe he would start going more often when Rihanna changes her promiscuous ways and becomes the Pastor of a church. He would then want to be Managing Director