Submitted by Alex Fergusson

Attorney General and Deputy Prime Minister Freundel Stuart

Attorney General and Deputy Prime Minister Freundel Stuart voiced concern about the working of the Court Process Office, which he said can only be described as: “a dereliction of duty” in some respects. Speaking to the media following a tour of the new judicial complex in Whitepark Road, the City Friday morning (September 11, 2009), our Attorney General disclosed that since taking up office, he has received a litany of complaints about the way in which the Court Process Office has been functioning.

At a glance, Mr. Stuart’ comments seem innocent. But, that is until you ask yourself, which Minister has responsibility for poverty eradication in Barbados. Again, this highlights the rift and power struggle within the DLP. Stuart seems to be sending a firm message to Sinckler that he might only be popular because Stuart was keeping quiet. Then Undene Whittaker – Government’s Advisor on Poverty spoke and Stuart’s point becomes crystal clear. Miss Whittaker was reported as having said that same day (September 11) that the level of poverty in this country is increasing, but as predicted – she blames the former government for it. This is yet another attempt to protect Sinckler. The Wickham Poll did say that Sinckler was more popular within the DLP than Stuart. Undene proves that the Poll is right.

It is why it escaped Undene Whittaker that while the BLP was in office, the United Nations (a highly respected, independent authority) ranked Barbados highly for its success in eradicating poverty. Not surprising, it is extremely difficult for Undene Whittaker to also understand that money allocated to the Welfare Department might not have been spent because unemployment under the BLP was the lowest ever in the history of Barbados. She will not tell you that (in contrast) since the DLP came to office, some 4,200 Barbadians have lost their jobs up to the end of June this year.

But here is where it gets really ugly. Through one corner of his mouth, the AG seems to be saying: “since taking up office, he has received a litany of complaints about the way in which the Court Process Office has been functioning,” and through the other, he says: “It is not a dereliction with which I have become familiar only after taking up the office of Attorney General; I have practised as a lawyer for upwards of two decades and I know what has been going on in that department. Halt has to be called to it.” It is at this point that Sinckler should pay attention, since Stuart holds all of the cards.

Mr. Stuart, forget the rift between you and Sinckler! However you look at it, the level of poverty in this country is rising fast. This is “change” which the DLP brought but which Barbadians do not need. Still we accept that your comments, Undene Whittaker’s confirmation, and the long line out side the Welfare Department, recently – is further proof of the increasing hardship the DLP is casing, effortlessly. But, didn’t the DLP say that it is good at fixing social problems? How is it then – that Barbados now has increasing unemployment, especially among men; hardship and frustration among women; disappointment among the youth and a lack of confidence among investors and consumers?

The bottom-line is, increased hardship and pain is being felt by Barbadians because ‘the DLP does not know what it is doing’ and this country is not only running out of foreign reserves fast, but Barbados’ capacity to pay its bill is dwindling hourly – just like the average household across this country. In short, Barbados has been D’ minished yet again and is in poverty. This is a classic case of: “from prosperity under the BLP to Poverty under DLP Rule.”

The question is, how does the DLP intend to fix this social mess, having triggered a meltdown of the Barbados economy? The primary issue which our learned Attorney General should really address – could hardly be Officers of the Court not serving Orders on men, who in many cases – may not be working because of flawed DLP economic policies. The question is, how does the DLP intends to fix the bigger social issue of giving Barbadians the relief from the social and economic pain they are seeking?

Even die-hards Dems now admit that such is very impossible with a DLP government in office, since the policies of the ruling party are designed to: balance the budget, impose taxes and please the IMF, while giving entitlements without the concomitant creation of new Enterprises.

The sad thing is, not only does Barbados now have a series economic crisis on its hands (the creation of which, the DLP played a significant role) but it also has a serious social crisis, which the DLP is not be able to fix because of its poor judgment, bad decisions, and flawed economic policies.

And, as the level of unemployment, poverty and hardship increase – the DLP arrogantly maintains that Barbados is on the ‘Pathway to Prosperity.’ Drunken men and mad men are known to argue that they do not have a problem. We all know different. The sad reality is, the DLP’ blame game and power struggle continues while poverty and hardship in this country is increasing rapidly.

30 responses to “Stuart Breaks His Silence – Still Barbados Is Moving Backwards With The DLP”

1. Rum shop politics Avatar

This article is amazing.

The heading bears no relation to the theme: An alledged rift in the DLP

The author must be a dyed-in-the-wool BLP supporter.

Bravo! Penmanship at its best!

2. Ignoring the politics, I have to admit my disgust at the completion of this court house monstrosity. This is the type of building where half of the overall cost represents the trimmings (the fancy roofs, and aluminium fittings) very much like the airport and Kensington, tax payers will be asked to pay for a hell of a lot of icing along with what ever cake there is. These architects, in particular the ones with fancy accents must be laughing all the way to the bank. With all of the side walks that need to be built and maintained in town alone.. my God

And to think that the spot was previously the location of the engine of industrial effort in Barbados; now it has been transformed into a shrine for the operatives of Barbados’ most inefficient, over-rated and over priced industry, that which is supposed to deliver legal advice on the one hand and justice on the other.

Champaign taste as long as you are not paying the bill..!

3. First Time Reader Avatar

I don’t have any interest in politics and for that reason I don’t much follow it nor know what’s going on. However, if as a writer you are trying to get a point across you need to make sure that you have coherence to your article and provide supporting facts instead of just trying to prove which party you support. I’ll give you a few points to glean over.

1. Your point in the first paragraph was “Attorney General and Deputy Prime Minister Freundel Stuart voiced concern about the working of the Court Process Office.” (He cited “a dereliction of duty” mostly in the case of the marshals if I remember the news report correctly.) However, in the second paragraph you refer to the problem of “the rift and power struggle within the DLP” seemingly to disagreements due to the “poverty situation” (my quotes) in Barbados which in no way relates to the first paragraph nor is their a justifiable link between the two. (From what I have read.)

2. Later on you ask, “How is it then – that Barbados now has increasing unemployment, especially among men; hardship and frustration among women; disappointment among the youth and a lack of confidence among investors and consumers?” Check your facts and figures as Tony Best did in this article found here (http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/LEAD-unemployment—-LEAD-copy-for-web). Unemployment has gone down a bit considering that unemployment only went up by a little more than two per cent over a two year period (as highlighted in the next point). Granted you might have missed that article but the data was available to Tony Best.

3. Do you really think that BLP, DLP or any other form of government on this planet would have stopped the loss of jobs at this point in time? Granted the figures may be different with every other type of government, some higher or some lower in the figures you mentioned when you said “She will not tell you that (in contrast) since the DLP came to office, some 4,200 Barbadians have lost their jobs up to the end of June this year.” Quoting Tony Best again from the article in point 2. “Joblessness had dipped under eight per cent in 2007 but spiked as the global economic recession affected tourism, the flow of foreign direct investment and resulted in a significant slowdown in construction. All of these contributed to layoffs or reduced work-hours.” Hence, when you say “The sad thing is, not only does Barbados now have a series economic crisis on its hands (the creation of which, the DLP played a significant role)”. Does your statement mean that Barbados, or for that matter, DLP control the world economy?

4. In line with the thought of point 3., you said that “this country is not only running out of foreign reserves fast, but Barbados’ capacity to pay its bill is dwindling hourly.” Are you saying that a goverment was able to do that from January 2008 until August 2009 without a very strong and convincing no-confidence motion being brought by the opposition? You can always refer to the ludicrous no-confidence motion brought by Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley for the current Minister of Finance [David Thompson] concerning CLICO among other issues because as highlighted by Mr. Sinkler when he asked “How could you admit as Leader of the Opposition that in fact CLICO’s Statutory Fund was in deficit of $93 million in December 2007 and want to blame the current Minister of Finance?” (Who took office in January 2008). Mr. Sinkler’s statment can be found at http://archive.nationnews.com/archive_detail.php?archiveFile=2009/March/07/Politics/2091736.xml
    and that Prime Minister David Thompson took office in January 2008 can be found in the 15th paragraph at http://www.barbados.gov.bb/pm.htm

How I came across all this information, with no knowledge of politics or the political arena, to make this point? Research backed up by references.

I don’t have a leaning towards BLP nor DLP, however, if you are planning to make a strong point don’t let it be shot down by simple research.

4. Prime Minister Thompson has to watch very carefully a seemingly power struggle developing within the party. It was nice to see the party seemed to have ironed out their problems that helped them to rescue Barbados in 2008. However, it appears that some of these cuts were so deep that the entire inside was not fully healed. I am a bit worried about the quickness of the healing between the now P.M and Estwick, for the party’s sake, i hope if or when there are any differences, they would resolve them inhouse and not run to the call-in programs again. Maturity, is the name of the game, this is necessary because a politican snipper is waiting in the bush ready to strike as the occasion presents itself. P.M Thompson, I’m counting on you to keep the party under control, even if it means making some harsh decisions sooner rather than later. Your task is not easy but if the coaching by Mr Barrow was taken in, you would be able to deal with the situation

5. @FIRST TIME READER
    “How I came across all this information, with no knowledge of politics or the political arena, to make this point? Research backed up by references.”

Do you really expect BU FAMILY* readership and other BLOGGERS* to accept your supposed stance/slant based on this concocted idea of “neutrality”???

In a time of economic and political war and upheaval – there are no zones of neutrality.

Actually neutrality is regarded as being the greatest hostility against what has already been established…

People who are “intellectually honest” will see through the dark oak varnish veneer and recognize that people who have an agenda will use psychological morphology and cloak their language in disclaimers, disavowal, renunciation and repudiation. All ploys which won’t wash!!!

If you are claiming that ALEX’s piece is filled with holes, contradictions and bad research – how on GOD’s green earth could you be using 2 BLP propagandized media-house references linked to the NATION NEWSPAPER as corroborative specs. for unbiased analytic research to bolster your arguments…

Quoting Mr. Best does NOT even mean that the analysis is not skewed in favor of one party or the other!!!

To be “intellectual dishonest” in this fashion lend more credence to ALEX’s piece because all it shows is that the use of language can be manipulated, vague and ambiguous at least and full of sophistry at worst…

Come out of the shadows and state your position and your case!!!!

6. @THE SCOUT
    “Your task is not easy but if the coaching by Mr Barrow was taken in, you would be able to deal with the situation…”

Hey Big Bruv – how many post-1966 neo-Bajan politicians have really learnt the real structural and ideological lessons of the Late, Great, Right, Honorable Errol Walton “dipper-the-skipper” Barrow Esq?

A serious question of contemplation and even discourse…

May someone on BU has got an answer!!!

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFF TOPIC

I would like to suggest a fitting name for the new judicial complex in Whitepark Road:-

Sir Frederick Smith Judicial Comlex.

8. Here is what is reported in a Tony Best article, published in the Nation newspaper on september 14, 2009:

“Unemploymenty in Barbados has dipped, falling to single digits.”

Now! How is that possible? Take the 0ver 800 who were placed on the bread-line at Four Seasons, for example.

Have they found jobs in a country where construction has declined by 4.5%?

Which Private Sector company/ies is/are employing people and what business are they in? Or, is it that a man who is claiming unemployment for 13 weeks – is not looking for work or having used his 13 weeks unemployment – he has given up all and any hope of finding a job under DLP rule – hence the number of persons captured in the labour force has declined, giving the apparance of a “dip”?

Which is it?

9. Being “most popular” in this ongoing pageantry is no difficult task. It is a clear reflection of the administration’s action or better yet inaction.

Just look at Parliament–seldom in session, often over before school finishes and always to amend one line or borrow/transfer funds.

Instead the media, especially the Advocate and CBC, is inundated with images of ministers carrying out the most menial of tasks associated with the job.

Furthermore, if the misrepresentation of people’s qualifications in an effort to mask employee victimisation is admirable then that’s a sad indictment on those polled and we truly are in a sad state as a nation.

@ Terence Blackett

I totally agree with you, neutrality what!!!

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ALEX

Tony Best is one of your people.

11. Carson C. Cadogan // September 15, 2009 at 11:24 AM

Sir Frederick Smith Judicial Comlex. Are you of sound mind? Is this because he was a Judge or is a friend of yours? Because he was a politician and close friend to EWB? So what…! He has done well for himself and has been awarded the country’s highest honour. Enough. There are a few more round-abouts that could be renamed.

Leave the building for future generations to determine the best candidate.

12. When is the DLP, or its new emerging leader – Christopher Sinckler – going to tell Barbadians that his party is scrapping the free bus ride programme, and that there will be no free camps at Christmas?

This is what I mean when I talk about a power struggle within the DLP. Look out for a Cabinet reshuffle soon!

Has Mr. Thompson calculated yet – how many he will have to send home from the public service?

Look out for the Cabinet reshuffle and see who gets what Ministry, then you will know where the power lies and who is being protected or fed to the wolves.

Keep your eyes on Tourism, Economic Development, Labour and Social Care.

13. THE PEOPLE OF BARBADOS JUDICIAL CENTRE:

Down with the hero worship: up with the people. People make it happen with their hard work and taxes.

My vote and suggestion

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

KISSMYA

I do not agree with your suggestion.

Sir Frederick Smith Judicial Complex

is much better.

15. Sir FREDERICK happens to be a relative but I do not support the idea of naming anything after anybody because everybody is somebody and nobody can convince me that any one is more important than any other.

Name the thing as suggested by me

16. Public Service Notice:

MANY PEOPLE IN BARBADOS HAVE INVESTED in a online business PONZI SCHEME called “PATHWAYS -2-PROSPERITY or P2P…

This is the email I just received which I am posting as a public service to those who have lost money in this SCAM*….

When you thought Alan Stanford & Bernie Madoff were off our radar screens…

To Whom It May Concern:

My name is Jacob Gholson. I am a United States Postal Inspector investigating Pathway-2-Prosperity and Nick Smirnow for various forms of fraud. The U.S. Postal Inspection Service investigates crimes that make use of the U.S. Mail. Below is an explanation of what is going on and a questionnaire. Answering the questionnaire is completely optional but highly encouraged. If you have previously filed a complaint with me, or received a previous email and already responded, you may disregard this email.

Due to the high number of potential victims identified we have deemed it more efficient to send out this email than contact everyone by some other means. In addition a specific email account has been created to handle the emails related to P-2-P it is FraudInvestigations@USPIS.GOV

17. Alex Ferguson 15th Sept @ 11.42 a.m.
    If or when the Four Seasons project re-starts, I hope to see a noticeble dip in the unemployment. The reason is that 90% of the workers at the Four Seasons were non-nationals, either from china or regional, mainly guyanese, so their layoff didn’t increase our unemployment but the start of the project with 90% locals employed would be beneficial to the country. i hear Norman Faria saying that preference should be given to the former workers first but if that happens I would be greatly upset, since many local/bajan artisans are now on the bread line. Mr. P.M remember your words to P.M Gonsalves “home drum beats first”. Plastic Bag reminded you about that quite recently.

18. ALEX

We all know that things are a little brown due to the Global Economic crisis. Barbados is not on the Moon. It will not be spared. However the situation in Barbados is not as dire as you try desperately to protray.

All in favour of naming the new judicial complex, The Sir Frederick Smith Judicial Complex, raise your hand.

19. THE PEOPLE OF BARBADOS JUDICIAL CENTRE:

20. The Bjerkham, Williams, Gillespie, Steel and BLP-Sellout Judicial Centre

21. ITAL CENTER

22. Does anyone care to bet that this new ‘Judicial Centre’ will not make one iota of difference to the dispensing of justice in Barbados?
    It looks pretty, but Bush Tea predicts that it will be to justice, what Kensington has been to cricket…..

23. …… or that a new QEH/public hospital will make an iota of difference to health care in Barbados.

24. BT
    You got that right. Agood deal of the money spent could have ussed to improve the process as opposed to the trimmings.

25. … Or that Constituancy Councils will make a bit of difference in representation…!

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Alex Fergusson

If you want a not so pretty picture of what the Global economic crisis looks like follw this Link”-

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/moslive/article-1212013/Revealed-The-ghost-fleet-recession.html

27. Enuff // September 15, 2009 at 11:45 AM

Instead the media, especially the Advocate and CBC, is inundated with images of ministers carrying out the most menial of tasks associated with the job.

Is this not what media houses and Journalist in Barbados consider news?

How does this differ from the past?

28. Is it true that the DLP is scrapping the free bus rides programme?

Is it true that there will be no free camps at Christmas?

29. The Judicial Centre for Crooks (thieves) & Robbers (lawyers)

I wid you as usual Bush Tea my hunny-comb.
    “Justice delayed is justice denied”, still.

Bush what is your take on the release of Coard n’ company in Grenada?
    He complained that the then Sup. of Prisons, Mr. Maloney, a Barbadian, tortured him. I knew Mr. Maloney and his family. I can tell you for a fact, he was one of the most, if not the most, cruel men to ever walk the face of this earth. Maloney was no cake. He was a real disciplinarian at work, home n play. Some of his children were frighten as shite fa he man.
    Da tink prison is a sunday school or wah?

30. Peppa

The American policy setters who were involved to the eyebrows in what took place in Grenada should have been put on trial. I forgot.. they took all of the evidence with them. This was a planned and executed regime change and as usual the core culprits get to go unnoticed and unscathed.