Hartley Henry - DLP Political Strategist
Hartley Henry – DLP Political Strategist

Barbadians are truly ‘something else’. The hundreds of calls, texts and mails I have received over the past four days suggest that I need not say very much in response to certain allegations, because people already know about ‘the connection’.

I thought I had stumbled upon a dark, grey secret with respect to why a certain person enjoys seemingly unfettered access to a particular publication, week in and week out. But every mode and means of communication has been used in recent days to convey to me graphic details of ‘the connection’. What I thought was a piece of ‘hot, juicy news’ turned out to be ‘a particle of rich history’; for Sam Cuch, the Duppy and their in-laws know all about ‘the connection’.

‘The connection’ apparently did not start yesterday, last month or even last year. ‘The connection’ has been ongoing for years now and apparently has been a rocky road for one, characterized, as has now become the norm with cohorts of the aggressor, by an enormous amount of abuse. I am hearing now of blows to the face, blows to the head, blows about the body and even attempts at slitting the wrist. I am also told of the entry of a company head honcho into the “ling”, and the moving out and moving in with the said heavy roller. This heavy roller must be packing a mean punch, kick and especially lick to have two bosses in so pitiful a state, lying prostrate at every beck and call.

That an institution, so once revered and respected, would permit itself to be used and manipulated in so vulgar a fashion is amazing. The foreign owners really need to come to Bim and investigate the moral cesspool that has developed within those walls. It is no longer what it once was. It no longer serves the purpose for which it was created.

Not everyone on the inside is willing to look the other way. The fact that I know of the telephone conversation that preceded the now well publicized call, indicates that not everyone is in agreement with that which is going on. There is gratitude to this writer for bringing certain truths to light.

There is nothing personal about this intervention. But I detest hypocrisy and self righteousness. I am absolutely amazed by the sordid details of incidents and occurrences taking place under that roof, involving the higher of higher ups who are supposed to be setting examples. “Run the desk for me. Tonight is my night, tomorrow is yours”…and up to the nest they go. The whole thing makes Sodom and Gomorrah look like students of theology. In return, the heavy roller gets prominence on demand.

There was no threat to anyone! There was an appeal for fairness and professionalism. There was the assurance that if such was absent on this particular occasion, the world would be sensitized to a chronology of events that point to the aforementioned connection being the source and the cause of unprofessionalism. The exact words were “the whole of Barbados will come to understand how it is that”, a particular individual “can have unfettered access to” a known publication. Little did one know that the entire world, it would appear, was already appraised of the sordid details of the three way connection that has brought a most noble profession to shame.

Those shedding crocodile tears must rewind and reflect on conversations conducted prior to the much publicized call being received. Whom did you speak to after receiving highlights of the survey? What advice was given relative the appropriate response? What assurances were made as to what will not appear where? There is a difference between being threatened and feeling threatened!

If you wish to know about threats and about being threatened cast your mind back, to not so long ago, when other persons were perched on Bay Street. Who could forget the fate of Jerry Richards, Don Norville, Winston Worrel, Carl Ince, Cecil Foster, Adrian Sisnett, Don Singh, Mohammad Saied, Julian Rogers, Muriel Sealy, Ricky Singh, Hugh Foster, Peter Greene, Terry Ally, Reudon Eversley, Rosemary Alleyne and Keith Goddard, to mention but a few. What was the cause of Oliver Jackman resigning from the Elder Statesmen Advisory Group? Which politician was overheard saying that a former big up in the pine ‘would never get a job in the local media again’?

This writer is not a madman. It takes a lot to get him upset.  But several months of examples of systemic unprofessionalism would have had to come to a head at some stage. One does not know whether the publication has wittingly or innocently permitted itself to be used, but the records are there and can be examined by anyone in search of truth.

You cannot be biased and at the same time plead innocence and objectivity. What is good for the goose must be equally good for the gander. You are independent and middle of the road or you are leaning to one side at the expense of the other. If you are biased and have an agenda, it is your right so to be, but do not expect to be treated in the same manner as when you were straight up and professional.

This writer is not intimidated by or afraid of threats and portrayal of being arrogant, vindictive or even anti the freedom of the media. Nothing could be further from the truth. I am a media man to the core. This has nothing to do with press freedom. This is all about ‘the connection’.

Let the world press bodies come in search of truth. I want them to investigate ‘the connection’. Would this and could this have happened anywhere else in the world? Let us go global with ‘the connection’. The National Enquirer would love the details. Call the police! Lay the charges! Let’s all go on the witness stand and be cross examined about character, integrity, professionalism and ‘the connection’. I dare you!!

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

717 responses to “No Threat To Press Freedom It’s All About ‘The Connection’”

1. Bimbro
    How ya mean I in like u na moe. How ya arrive at dah Bosey.I wood stop lovin you when hell freeze ova, not befoe.
    Ya sa malicious doe, you cud ask sum questions hear. Oh Lordy. No , I nevva bin to Hingland. I got a olda brotha livin day since 1959. He’s a loony-toon doe like a lot a dem dat return back hay from jolly ol Hinglan. He’s as crazy as hell. I fritten a nuff when he hay. Real crazy but he doan tink so. We all does. On de contrary, Germany is a very beautiful country. It reminds me of my old Barbados. We never locked the back door and a neighbour was always welcome to come in and help him/herself to a cold beer which were always in abundance. I was amazed at the young people who smoke. But they are very friendly. They always speak to you when passing. NOt unmannerly a’ tall. My neighbours love classical music which is one of my two passions. You kno’ de otha passion. Won’t say. Anotha ting dat amazed me is that they don’t accept U.S currency. Have to use
    Demarks They don’t seem too keen about Americans either. You get very good quality stuff too just like in Hingland.
    No, Bimbro, I come back wid my accent in tact an my ‘busing’ too. They like to hear me say ‘r-hole’.
    Sheuse.

2. Europeans and their descendants should be ashamed of their history.The history of Europeans is repleted with torture,murder & mayhem.

The two major world wars are European inspired.The conflicts that are wrecking havoc in regions such as Asia,Africa & even in the Americas the Europeans have a hand in all of them.

Which race of people used the atomic bomb?The murderers European.Hiroshima & Nagasaki in Japan.
    Who invaded people countries,killed their leaders and seek to control the resources of those countries?The killing Europeans.Irag,Afghanistan are recent cases.
    Who created biological .weapons to wipe out other ethnics groups?The cold blooded murderers the Europeans.The creation of the AIDS virus,Ebola & chemicals weapons.
    Who enslaved African Black People for 400 hundred years and built their riches from the sweat,tears & blood of African Black People.The corrupt,ungodly,heartless Europeans.
    The atrocities that those wicked Europeans criminals have committed & continue to commit on this earth are many & aplenty that it is virtually impossible to comment and all of them.

Should the killing Europeans be proud of their history with a track record of destruction,murder & mayhem?

It is not surprising the sub-human,stinking,disease ridden,smelly half make Europeans are so heartless & ruthless killers because those bastards lack a spiritual base.They corrupted African religion and used it as one of the conquering weapon to control us during slavery.Unfortunately that same weapon is in use today to keep us in subjection.

The cold blooded killers are cannibalistic in their behavior.They love to taste blood,that is why the Europeans love to eat their meats rare with blood in it.The Europeans are a bunch of blood suckers.The contrary is true for we African people of colour.We have a true spiritual connection with our maker and will never associate ourselves or even think to carry out the atrocities that the killing Europeans perpetrated against other ethnic groups.Our spiritual base has serve us to the point that even though we are free physically and living alongside the murderers Europeans we are prepare not to challenge them.

It is laughable those who created the notion of racial superiority,created racist institutions and benefited and are still benefiting from racial prejudices can label us Black people racist.

The white Europeans scums must acknowledged the wrong they have done to us African Blacks and seek to compensate us.Reparations is a must.

3. Bonny so glad you are back. You sometimes crack up the wife and me and our Guyanese maid with your spicy comments. Love you to bits.
    My only problem is you loving that Bimbro man who left Barbados in 1955 on the Surriento and has never set foot back here. How could you love such a man?
    And please have nothing to do with that Adrian, who is nothing but a proper shit stirrer. We must meet Bonny, the wife would dearly like to meet up with you.

4. Negroman boy where did you learn your history. It is true the white man enslaved black people, but are you not forgetting yje role played by Africans themselves in selling their brothers and sisters. Do not just blame white people for all the atrocities, what about the raiding parties of some chiefs to get slaves to sell to the white man?

5. Hi Bonny Peppa
    So many are trying to court you, I must take a back seat or I will be killed in the rush, just save the last dance for me.

The German children were so polite and respectful on being introduced to you – I will not go into the different forms of address Germans use here – with a courteous bow before speaking. I had some pleasant times during my years there and on my departure was given a book by a dear friend (live and let live) in German of course ; perhaps a lesson for us all.

Bimbro
    I do not like to write about myself on the blogs unless it helps to illustrate a point I am trying to make. I am not in the business of I did this, or that or I have been here or there or speak so many languages. “I” never want to be the story, perhaps that can be left to…….have you someone in mind.

(Ich bin ein Berliner) you said, you are in good company President Kennedy got there first. To your further point, I was not in the war but I do recall the first Russian soldier I saw, was standing on a train station platform in East Berlin, he was very dark indeed, he was an officer. Resplendent in his grey overcoat, lilac epaulettes and tall calf high black boots, he cut a dashing figure. Of course I should not have been surprised, the African Abram Petrovich Gannibal ?1696-1781 was a blackamoor as recorded. Brought to Russia as a small boy – a favourite of the tsar – he became a General. He was the grandfather of Russia’s greatest writer Aleksandr Pushkin 1799-1837 it was said of him – Pushkin: ” indisputably Russia’s greatest poet, Pushkin changed literature forever”.

Apologies to all for going off thread, I was in Berlin at a difficult time. To see people being shot and left near the wall to die and allowed to stay there for sometime before they were recovered by the East German guards “not a pleasant sight”. Or to see the Russian cemetery in East Berlin with so many graves; life is so beautiful and precious we should savour it while we can.

6. Thanks for that information YB. Very interesting. Perhaps David can start a blog about all the languages and places persons have visited and the uniqueness of their experiences! LOL!

Seriously though … he could!

YB you don’t come over as being uppity atall!

7. Yardbroom I was in both East and West Berlin prior to 1989 when the wall came down and just after it came down, and then up to two years ago with the wife. It has been all of what you say prior to 89. I even bought me a bit of the wall after it came down, was privy to East Germans selling their uniforms etc in a couple of sunday markets.
    Visited PotsDama Plats when it was little more than a bombed out site , now it is one of the most impressive pieces of real estate in Europe. Berlin might be a great city now,especially on a summer’s day in the Tier Garden but one still cannot escape the feeling of the pain in some of those crumpling creepy concrete cavernous buildings near Alexander Plats. You still get the eerriee feeling of people being shot. Otherwise not a bad country when you get out of Berlin. The wife and I even ran into a Bajan with a restaurant in Hamburg.

8. Hi Bonny, thanks for that dear. I’m pleased to see u had a great time over there. I’ve got an old Jamaican girlfriend of mine who lives there. Met some German, white man ova hay, nex ting is duh getting married an they’ve lived there for years! This is a girl I grew up wid locally, an if, years ago, anybody had ever told either of us that one day she’d be living in Germany, we’d have thought they were mad! Anyhow, not really surprised he fancied her! Girl was pretty as hell and, still is, even today!! Life is so strange!!

Bonny, why do u say ur brother’s mad!! What’s so mad about him! What does he do or say which is so very different from d Bajees!!

Johnnie, u know enuf ’bout me!! And, d fack is dat, u don’t!! So, keep guessing!!

lol!!

Yardbroom, thank you for that illucidating piece! I don’t just visit here ‘to make sport’ but also to try to obtain some knowledge whenever I can. I’m reasonably acquainted with the history of Russian writers, Tsarian history, communism-era, etc! However, I’m still struggling to comprehend precisely when u were there and in what role. Were you not in the forces, an observer and just prior to the end of the war or just after! Do illucidate!! I’m interested in that period of European history!! Even if u were in the Secret Service, so many years have transpired plus, nobody knows precisely who u r that you can enlighten us a bit as to what really happened. At least to the extent that you consider, judicious!! Also, have u read Soltzhenitsin’s ‘The Gulag Archipelago’!! Yard, doan expek me tuh spell all dose names correckly man!! I in nuh encyclopedia plus, I in intrested to dat extent!! lol!!

I’ve had that book on my bookshelf for years and have n’t read it, yet! Have u? and, care to share ur thoughts on it?!!

9. YB, if u were there at the time, did u c Hitler’s bunker and the site of his cremation?! Must have been fascinating if u did!!

10. @ Bonny Peppa

What is with this English! Some days ago you included some French. Dont you know that you and Bimbro, Adrian and probably myself, are part o f the “less educated” Bajans who dont know how to switch from lingo to English?

LIB and the other white folks on this board want us all to speak their language. Did you not see the comment?

I was in Jamaica over Christmas and New year. I wanted to hear some Caribbean news and asked the manager what the local station was. Lo and behold, I could not understand much of anything. They spoke Jamaican on TV! Even the police inspector who was talking about the first murder of this year! Even the local MPs. It is their language. But we Bajans are expected to cowtow to others.

By the way I have had similar experiences in Canada with the kids in Saskatchewan and the Yukon. I was with an exhibition and school groups came in. They just stared until their eyes were like saucers. One of my colleagues realized what was happening and whispered that I was probably the first black person they had seen.

So, I chatted with them and asked. I let them touch my arm and the kids looked at their hands after. I let them feel my hair (afro at the time) and they told me it was so soft.

One young lad fell in love instantly. Hans about 12, chatted me up all afternoon until dinner break. He told me he was too young for me, so he was going to bring down his Dad. Lo and behold at 7:00 pm who walked in but Hans and his Dad Heinz! Both Germans! lol! The staff was hilarious.

11. Pat, that’s amusing but, the Yukon and Saskatchewan! Lord, those r names I’ve hardly heard since my schoolboy geography lessons days! I thought all the blacks lived in Toronto and Ottawa or, nearly, judging from the reaction of those kids! They sound very remote areas of Canada, Pat? Hardly, any other blacks there?!!

12. Pat you lie ha ha ha lol!

13. Johnnie Too Bad
    Of all the places I visited in Berlin the Olympic Stadium was my favourite. One day on my own I went to the stadium…my friends thought I was mad there was nothing on. In those days before all the security of today, I just walked through the gates. I went into the stands and looked down on the arena where Jessie Owens won his gold medals at the Olympics. The stadium was so quiet and all those old movie clips I had seen came before me. Since then the stadium has been changed, with more seating etc…but those images are fixed in my mind.

@Bimbro
    I cannot answer questions all the time you might not believe it…but I do other things and you always come with another…but because it is you.

However, I have read Aleksandra Solzheitsyn’s The Gulag Archipelago as far as Solzheitsyn is concerned what I learnt most from him is how the pull of home reaches out to those who are far away from it. After his sojourn in America and the money he made it was Russia he wanted to return to despite all that had happened.

Russian Authors: Leo Tolstoy with him you must have time, I like Pushkin perhaps best of all. Ivan Turgenev I find complicated but for relaxation and an easy style, Anton Chekhov is my man …just a personal opinion.

I did see Hitler’s bunker it was grassed over when seen from a distance we were not able to enter. That was less than twenty years after the war, I do not know what recent changes have been made. Germany is unified the bunker was in East Germany …as was then.

I spent some time next door to Spandau ( the prison) I was not an inmate. Rudolph Hess, Hitler’s deputy was imprisoned there at the time…but that is a long story.

14. Dah day a German shepherd bite me like ah hamburger.. had mah berlin’ like a krout…

AAAAAAAAAAAGhhhhhhhhhhh

15. Gear Box

Nice !!!!!!

16. Johnny 2 Bad,
    All wunna like me, even de GT maid? Wah bout de dog n’ cat? You is bare trouble bosey but I luffs wunna tu. Bimbro is my boo. He aw-rite.

Yardbroom,
    You’re such a gentle-soul. You make me blush. Oh dearrrrrrrrrrr.But yes, both children n adults are very polite. I was given a ‘good-luck’ sash to tie anywhere in my home. It like it in wukking doe. 🙂 I was dining at a restaurant one evening and when introduced to the Chinese owner, he asked my German friend if I was from Africa. I laff hard as shite ta myself. I tasted venison there for the first time. Bon apetite. My neighbour and his wife were in the habit of bathing naked in their pool all the time. I would get a free ‘peep-show’. They even invited me over occasionally.I never accepted. Probably were thinking manage-au-trois. You bad.
    It’s the only place I’ve seen roses in all colours.

Bimbro,
    How come you leh dah purty J’can gurl elude your grasp? You mek me shame man. stupseeeeeeeeeeee.
    Most persons who emigrated to Hingland in the 50’s were considered mad on their return home. I don’t know why but I never could understand it. I serious. If my brother isn’t a loony-toon,I am. He is one crazy bitch Bim. By word n’ action. Trust me. So you betta escape while ya ahead. Jinkins full. Ya chan sah I in tell ya. (kissssssss)

Pat,
    I doan mind de ‘nuckleheads’. Dem jellus a we. I see you fix he good, do I in worry my head. He cud only want a good ‘busing’. I visited Toronto a million times. Have famlee there. What a clean beautiful place. I have a sista i Newfoundland and a good frien in Montreal. She spokes francois.
    You did in good grazing girl wid dat German fella. Why you din pursue de matter? Dem fellas real romantic girl. Dem kno’ how to woo girl. Ya miss a good chance. But where there’s life there’s hope, so ya nevva kno.

17. JC // September 3, 2009 at 3:41 PM

Pat you lie ha ha ha lol!

Not this time sweetheart. It was in the 1970’s. The kids asked me if I knew Florida. I thought they meant the State in the US. I had been there and proceeded to talk about Florida and Disney World, when the teacher told me they were asking about “Florida” the character in a TV show, Good Times I think it was. lol!

The poor kids were amazed that I did not know her, they probably assumed that we all knew each other, seeing she was probably the only black on Saskatchewan TV at the time. ha ha ha.

Let me tell you. I enjoyed that job. Every town I went to, some nice lady said, you must be dying for a good home cooked meal and invited me for dinner. They never invited the Canadians. You have no idea how much dinner allowances I pocketed.

I ate some queer things too. Moose lips, beaver, black bear or was it brown? Oolichans, grayling a fresh water fish, arctic char and a jam made from bear fat and choke cherry – without sugar. yuck!

18. @ Bonny Peppa

Girl that German was cute and blonde. Tall, slim and a chartered accountant. He did ask me out, but I was on a tight schedule. Had to leave the next morning for Dawson City. I met him in Whitehorse. From the Yukon we went into Alaska so did not get to retrace my steps. Came down from Alaska by ferry to Seattle, drove to Vancouver where we spent a day or two and flew back to the nation’s capital. It was a 6 weeks trip.

19. Pat,
    Girl, I eat some strange looking tings in Germany too. But I learn real quick dat when in Rome do as they do. So i eat widout asking questions. If um stan down, I kno dat my consumption real good. Doan tell me wah um is cause i mite vomit. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

20. “I never want to be the story, perhaps that can be left to…….have you someone in mind.”

Yardbroom, I have n’t the foggiest idea who u were referring to!!

Laaaaaaddddddddddddddd!!

Ok, YB, u caused me to do a lot of back-checking to see u were in Germany after the war. I don’t know why you don’t say precisely when and tell us some more about your experiences there. Were u in any of the armed forces? What were you doing there, precisely? Did u actually c anybody get shot at ‘the Wall’ or shoot anybody!! YB, yuh too secretive man!! It was a long time ago! Nobody’s going to worry, any more!!

YB, u were a right, little romantic then, were n’t u, over the stadium and Jesse Owens!! Now, here’s a question for u to exercise your grey-matter!! Do you think the whole war, Nazi-Jewish, holocaust could happen again, perhaps, next time, involving different victims and, if so, where and when?!!

I was actually more interested in what u thought of the story, ‘The Gulag Archipelago’ and the experiences contained within it rather so much, than about Solzhinitsin himself! Give one or two examples of the most moving occurrances in the book that u found!! Also, have u any thoughts on why a remote country, so far away from the West has produced these literary-greats!!

Thanks, YB, I know all about Hess and his failed mission to arrange an understanding with the west which led to his being imprisoned in Spandau! Never assumed u were a prisoner there!!

Lord!!

Finally, re: this:

“Good manners should never be seen as a sign of weakness and are available to all Black, White, Rich and Poor and I learnt that from a poor black woman in Barbados…who never once left these shores.”

Well YB, ur account of the importance of good manners does n’t seem to apply any more, according to Bonny and others. The Barbadian women of today just seem to want some quick, foolish-line to get them into bed and romance is out the door as I discovered when I tried to chat-up Rihanna, above!! Well, u live in Bim YB, so do the Bajan women of today, prove what the old lady said to be nonsense!!

21. Hi Bonny, tuh tell u d trufe, I’m a little ashamed uh dat, myself, but honest Bon, the girl wus so pretty dat d men were just lining-up to *crew she man!! an, I wus young and d same age as she an did n’t really stan much of a chance! You know, those guys were older, better-off, more experienced than me and everything else!! We were best-friends and spent a lot of innocent time together although I was dying to **** her but she said ‘no’!! Anyhow, years later, we bumped into each other again and were delighted to c each other and she was interested then but, by that time, I’d had many experiences of my own and was n’t so interested then!! She’s still amazingly beautiful, even today. I’ve lost her no. in Germany but hope to get it again when, sometime or other, I bump into one of her brothers or sisters, or even her, when she pops back here for a visit. She has a great, lively personality. A real joy to know!!

Yeah Bonny, but u still in tell me wha it is, or not, dat he/they does which causes u to say that about ur brother!! I’m sure he does n’t carry an umbrella in the midday sun (although that might not be such a bad idea) so, wha it is! Give me some examples man or, I hear, it could jus be dat d locals jealous uh d Brits!!

Pat, ‘thanks’ for ignoring my questions to yuh!! Yuh Bajan, u!!

Lord!!

22. Mia’s obsession

This week, the country has been subjected to the mouthing off of the former MP for St James South. On Sunday, August 30, 2009, the vociferous Senator Elizabeth Thompson called for support for her new leader.

The former Member of Parliament for St James South, turned Senator, has now become the mouthpiece for the Opposition Leader. This lady of the Opposition has finally found her place in politics. She has landed the job of Mia’s whip. She whips out her tongue on every issue facing the Opposition. She is the lone choice for the television discussions and public endorsements.

In this aspect, she has little regard for the chairman of the Party, George Payne. Payne was noticeably absent from yet another of Mia’s nomination meetings in St. Philip over the last weekend. It is clear that the only person calling for public support for Mia is Senator Thompson. She has not gotten any public support from the chairman and it seems like he has no intention of throwing any public support behind his parliamentary comrade either.

The Opposition leader’s political caravan seems to be getting smaller and smaller. Out of the nine sitting Members of Parliament, she was able to resurrect the retired Rudolph ‘Cappy’ Greenidge as part of the heavyweights.

We are well aware of what Payne’s wishes are for the Opposition Leader and his ambitions for leadership. The dynamic duo of Payne and Marshall has forced the Opposition Leader to summon some sleeping troops to aid in her political ambitions. Mia’s obsession with leadership has divided the Party into some clear factions. The pathetic public display, week after week, of parading handpicked candidates is beginning to paint a picture of a leader who is disconnected from the issues.

The recent Cadres polls cemented in her party member’s minds that she is not the person to lead the Opposition. What is incredible is the fact that she continues, in the face of this revealing evidence, to trumpet her leadership skills.

The recent addition to the Mia list is a virtual unknown in the community but fits her bill. The first-timer has identified “a better housing deal” as a priority. Mistake number one. A virtual unknown who goes up against one of the most hard working Ministers of Housing calling for a better housing deal. This surely cannot be a platform upon which he intends to launch his campaign. Minister Lashley was on the job from day one and has not slept a wink in an effort to promote the House Every Last Person (H.E.L.P ) initiative. If we were to advise the newcomer, we would suggest that he seeks additional counsel outside of the Mias and the Lizes. They both totalled failed effort.

The constituents of St. Philip have elected in Michael Lashley what defines a Member of Parliament and they have gotten what constitutes a Minister. They voted for an MP and got the entire package.

23. It is indeed interesting that Bush Tea has not seen fit to respond to my post of September 2, 2009 at 12:54 PM. in continuance of a quite civilized debate we were having.

Dare I assume that BT by his silence admits defeat?

24. Yes finally showing his “face” WIV” tries desperately to divert this blog off of his heavy handed gestapo like attempt at “managing the media” on to what the poll was designed to do in the first place 🙂 talk about the Mottley/Arthur issue.

The higher the monkey climbs the more you see his tail

25. You are obviously a blinded BLP supporter that fails to come to grips with the fact that the defuct leadership of your former masters had a nasty and vile habit of calling reporters at 4.00 am in the morning and blistering them with curse and the most abusive manner, your leadership did so not this the leadership of this great party the DLP YOU WOULD NEVER HERE OUR PM CALLING SOME ONE AT 4.00 AM TO BLISTER THEM IN THE MOST ABUSIVE MANNER POSSIBLE.

26. YB, please ask the wife an kids to leave u alone for a while so u can reply to my questions!! Bless um!! 🙂

27. No he sends his slimy little emissary to threaten them with disgrace, and then carries out those threats when he gets called on it.

Whatever OSA did doesn’t make you or your boss any less of a slimeball Hartley.

28. Hey Parro in a suit Greenidge get used to the fact that you got kicked out of office and come to grips with exactly why the voters kicked your ass out then come back and talk some sense.

You may also want to tell the public who your leader maybe because clearly from the polls Owing has Mottley by the balls and it is hurting her pride, what pride she may have left, actually it maybe the best course of action for Owing to try to revive the party and remove the eliteism and entiltlement factor that is attached to the Mottley idea.

29. While we’re at it……

perhaps WIV you would like to comment about how this “great party” as you put it can come to power saying cost of living is their number one priority and then raise the price of everything?

Yes I’ll admit the fuel subsidy was unsustainable in it’s original form but the chaos that ensued in its overnight removal is the DLP’s baby.

Tell us about how the DLP bungled the offshore exploration bidding process by not even living up to the deadlines that the government had committed to. Tell us please.

This great party that curses the private sector for laying off people, but then proceeds to do the same thing? The night of the long knives is in progress for sure. The quote “Today is a funny night” has never been more apt.

How about Thompy raising road tax last budget to “pay for the highway” but then borrowing from the BNB this year for the same thing?

Yes this great party feels great concern for the plight of the working man but forgives the Barbados Turf Club’s debt (a first for any party in the history of independant Barbados) and talks of increasing water rates.

Yes WIV tell us all about this great party that has presided over the largest and fastest jump in foreign debt in the history of the island.

Tell us also about what the plan is to sustain employment which continues to rise, because we have yet to hear anything coherent from your “Great leader”.

Tell us when the DLP is going to stop trying to excuse their lack of performance or coherence by referring to something the BLP did.

30. And no everyone who criticises you on this blog is not Sylvan Greenidge or a BLP stooge.

Your great party is a great failure

31. Let me for one suggest to you that had the prison been built at the original budgeted cost of US $ 60 million and not filtered away to your friends bank accounts the tidy sum betwwen the budgeted cost and the mammoth over run cost that saw it close off at at US $ 122 million that of course all of us would be much better off as result on these savings but no you made sure to line your pockets first and foremost don’t lets start on how corrupt and dishonest you lot were after all you and the other slime ball Bovell know how you stole the hams and the turkeys and the hampers that were earmarked for the poor and the needy.

32. And no everyone who criticises you on this blog is not Sylvan Greenidge or a BLP stooge.

Ha ha ha but sadly you cannot hide you are so like a stuck record that your style is clearly defined and know you are THE PARRO IN THE SUIT GREENIDGE.

33. Hartley,

I’m not Sylvan who you are so obsessed with. We voted the BLP out for their transgressions. Let’s discuss your failures shall we?

You seem unable to grasp the last point of my earlier post. I’ll repeat it for you if you are being a little slow this morning…..

“Tell us when the DLP is going to stop trying to excuse their lack of performance or coherence by referring to something the BLP did.”

Somehow this appears to be somewhat difficult for you.

34. Lets discuss the obvious dislike by the public with Mottley’s lack of leadership and the results of the poll that shows that Owing is the leader of choice over the acting leader.

Or the glaring fact that 90 % of the people are happy that intergity has returned to office with the installation of the PRIME MINISTER THE HON MR DAVID THOMPSON QC, MP,

35. Hartley, Hartley, Hartley….

Your party is in Government.

You are responsible now.

I’m not going to let you divert a thread that’s about you threatening a newspaper editor with a red herring about an opinion poll of dubious nature which was conducted by a member of the party faithful and carefully edited for the information that was released to the public.

You were SO concerned with your carefully crafted PR poll that you felt that you had to threaten an newspaper editor and publisher to get it published.

Further you were so stupid that when they called you on the threat you went and proved to the world that you DID threaten the media. Had you shut up you could have accused them of lying, but no, you went and proved to the world that the DLP is willing to go to any lengths to surpress critics.

Not a smart move, even for a slimeball like you.

36. And again tel me more on these two items the public would like a blp view on why Mottley is so hated among the voters ???

Lets discuss the obvious dislike by the public with Mottley’s lack of leadership and the results of the poll that shows that Owing is the leader of choice over the acting leader.

Or the glaring fact that 90 % of the people are happy that intergity has returned to office with the installation of the PRIME MINISTER THE HON MR DAVID THOMPSON QC, MP,

37. Hartley,

Let’s talk about this poll that was conducted by a party member, and then edited by the DLP before it was released to the public and before you threatened a newspaper editor and publisher to get it published.

Don’t you feel a little concerned that only 43% felt that it wasn’t necessary to change the government? That those saying that it was time to change and those who won’t give their opinion also equaled 43%? Now given that you are threatening newspaper editors to suppress criticism isn’t it a wonder why so many people WON’T give their opinion to an obviously biassed poll taker?

Aren’t you worried by the fact that so early in their term you can’t even secure a majority of people who feel that it isn’t time to secure the government? And let’s remember this is a poll done by the party faithful for DLP PR purposes so if you’ve modified it to this extent what was the true nature of that statistic?

And, just to keep this in people’s mind….

Remember everyone Hartley Henry threatened a newspaper editor to suppress anti government opinion. Tactics the Gestapo would be proud of.

Isn’t that right Herr Hartley?

38. Pleaseeeee Anon I can’t stand Peter Wickham. However I find he is not buyous in his polling (JOB) . I consider him to be a very good pollster.

This is the same PW who although we know he is ALLL LLL for illegal immigration yet, telling us the public that MOST barbadians are for manage migration policy. Therefore, I find it saddddd that you come here and talk such pitthle and expect us the public to believe your ‘party!’

Spare us your bulllll oops I meant #######! Fill in the blanks!

39. let’s all remember who paid for this poll and who released it. And who had a chance to remove any information before it was released.
    And bias can easily be expressed in the framing of the questionaire, not just in the reporting of the responses.

40. WIV . You are behaving like a chicken without a head. You keep stating I am this “Greeenidge” yet you are calling Annonymous the same “Greenidge”. What we can honestly state that you and you alone is Hartley…”the Caribbean spin-doctor and political strategist.

41. It does not matter what anonymous people think about the poll. It does not matter who commissioned it. What matters is the reaction of the two political leaders to its contents. We know what Thompson’s views are. We recently heard Mia’s (she is not surprise by it) and more recently, we heard Liz Thompson imploring BLP MEMBERS to support Mia Mottley as political Leader.

This is a very interesting call, and it does more than legitimize the poll results. Liz Thompson once penned a nation newspaper article, expressing concern about the hold that Owen Arthur had on the BLP successes at the poll, stating, “At some point we will have to address this”

Up to that time, the BLP had entered two elections with slogans riding on Owen’s popularity and the affection the public had for him. We all can remember the slogans “Going with Owen” and “Owen now more than ever”.

Liz was correct then and now, the BLP never dealt with this “eggs in one basket” problem, and so they entered the 2008 election, trying to convince Barbadians they need “Owen now, more than ever”, because “Barbados now is better than ever”.

It failed and whatever the reason and or rationale for Owen relinquishing the Leadership of the party and Mia assuming the role, it leaves the BLP to confront in an uncharacteristically public manner, the issue of Leadership in a post Owen Arthur era.

42. @ Bimbro:

“Pat, ‘thanks’ for ignoring my questions to yuh!! Yuh Bajan, u!!

Lord!!”

Sorry Bimbro, what questions? I read these blogs only at night (just before sleep). Today is an exception as I am down stairs doing laundry and waiting on the machines.

Ask me again nuh.

43. @ Bimbro:

I preferred your 199 ‘alter ego’. You were better with that persona. More lucid and intelligent. So much so, that you even fooled the Technician. With Bimbro, people take you for a “mock stick”. Remember that phrase?

44. @RH
    “Just one question, though. Would this confiscation also apply to corrupt politicians as well?”

Of course the law should apply equally to everybody.

45. @Inkwell
    It is indeed interesting that Bush Tea has not seen fit to respond to my post of September 2, 2009 at 12:54 PM. in continuance of a quite civilized debate we were having.

Inkwell, Bush tea has no need to have the last say in any matter. I believe that I have made my point and I certainly have seen enough of your position to adjudge where you are coming from…

Clearly, while I am prepared to give Negroman the benefit of the doubt and presume him to be a typical boisterous, harmless, Bajan until he proves otherwise- you are keen to assume the worst (and lord only knows what action you would take if you knew who he was and you had the power. Of course if you were a typical racist we could take a good guess LOL)

Just as Bush Tea chooses to assume that you are an intelligent, caring citizen despite disagreeing with your position, so I also choose to presume positively about Negroman.
    ..Apparently, this is where we differ – no need for extensive debate…. if it will make you happy, feel free to have him lynched…

46. @ “Dry” Inkwell:

It is indeed interesting that Bush Tea has not seen fit to respond to my post of September 2, 2009 at 12:54 PM. in continuance of a quite civilized debate we were having.
    ———————————————–

ALERT!
    The above requires a comma after DEBATE.
    I assume Bush Tea is saying that the above serve no real purpose, and therefore does not warrant a response.

LOL!

47. Hi Pat, yes, I do remember the phrase and, they can take me for what they like but, when I become PM, then they’ll c!!

Lord!!

Would u like me to become PM, Pat!!

Here’s the earlier remark/question, Pat!:

Bimbro // September 3, 2009 at 3:37 PM

Pat, that’s amusing but, the Yukon and Saskatchewan! Lord, those r names I’ve hardly heard since my schoolboy geography lessons days! I thought all the blacks lived in Toronto and Ottawa or, nearly, judging from the reaction of those kids! They sound very remote areas of Canada, Pat? Hardly, any other blacks there?!!

48. @ Bimbro
    “I” cannot constantly go off thread, those who are interested in a specific topic – as headed – should be allowed to enjoy it…sorry.

49. YB, u worrying too much man!! There’s every reason why they should b just as interested as I am. It’s an interesting subject. As u know, we can’t easily commence our own subjects here, even though I asked Dave to create such a website, years ago, a la TILII but, as usual, he completely ignored me! He just does n’t like me. Nonetheless, WW2 IS an interesting subject which has defined all our presents and our future so, why should n’t they wish to learn more about it!! Come on Y, ur an ex-soldier so, be brave!! Answer d questions, man!!

50. @Bimbro,

… in those days most blacks did indeed live in Toronto, MOntreal, Winnipeg, and the larger cities. There were a few families in Regina, one in Weyburn, two in Moose Jaw but several in Saskatoon. The other small towns, mostly farming, had no blacks at all and ne’er and Indian (native) although I did meet a Jamaican teacher in Fort Q’Appelle, and a Sihk in Moosomin.

In the Yukon, there were none. Not even at the lead/zinc/gold mine at Faro. I quit that job in 1980. Got tired of living out of a suitcase.