Hartley Henry - DLP Political Strategist
Hartley Henry – DLP Political Strategist

Barbadians are truly ‘something else’. The hundreds of calls, texts and mails I have received over the past four days suggest that I need not say very much in response to certain allegations, because people already know about ‘the connection’.

I thought I had stumbled upon a dark, grey secret with respect to why a certain person enjoys seemingly unfettered access to a particular publication, week in and week out. But every mode and means of communication has been used in recent days to convey to me graphic details of ‘the connection’. What I thought was a piece of ‘hot, juicy news’ turned out to be ‘a particle of rich history’; for Sam Cuch, the Duppy and their in-laws know all about ‘the connection’.

‘The connection’ apparently did not start yesterday, last month or even last year. ‘The connection’ has been ongoing for years now and apparently has been a rocky road for one, characterized, as has now become the norm with cohorts of the aggressor, by an enormous amount of abuse. I am hearing now of blows to the face, blows to the head, blows about the body and even attempts at slitting the wrist. I am also told of the entry of a company head honcho into the “ling”, and the moving out and moving in with the said heavy roller. This heavy roller must be packing a mean punch, kick and especially lick to have two bosses in so pitiful a state, lying prostrate at every beck and call.

That an institution, so once revered and respected, would permit itself to be used and manipulated in so vulgar a fashion is amazing. The foreign owners really need to come to Bim and investigate the moral cesspool that has developed within those walls. It is no longer what it once was. It no longer serves the purpose for which it was created.

Not everyone on the inside is willing to look the other way. The fact that I know of the telephone conversation that preceded the now well publicized call, indicates that not everyone is in agreement with that which is going on. There is gratitude to this writer for bringing certain truths to light.

There is nothing personal about this intervention. But I detest hypocrisy and self righteousness. I am absolutely amazed by the sordid details of incidents and occurrences taking place under that roof, involving the higher of higher ups who are supposed to be setting examples. “Run the desk for me. Tonight is my night, tomorrow is yours”…and up to the nest they go. The whole thing makes Sodom and Gomorrah look like students of theology. In return, the heavy roller gets prominence on demand.

There was no threat to anyone! There was an appeal for fairness and professionalism. There was the assurance that if such was absent on this particular occasion, the world would be sensitized to a chronology of events that point to the aforementioned connection being the source and the cause of unprofessionalism. The exact words were “the whole of Barbados will come to understand how it is that”, a particular individual “can have unfettered access to” a known publication. Little did one know that the entire world, it would appear, was already appraised of the sordid details of the three way connection that has brought a most noble profession to shame.

Those shedding crocodile tears must rewind and reflect on conversations conducted prior to the much publicized call being received. Whom did you speak to after receiving highlights of the survey? What advice was given relative the appropriate response? What assurances were made as to what will not appear where? There is a difference between being threatened and feeling threatened!

If you wish to know about threats and about being threatened cast your mind back, to not so long ago, when other persons were perched on Bay Street. Who could forget the fate of Jerry Richards, Don Norville, Winston Worrel, Carl Ince, Cecil Foster, Adrian Sisnett, Don Singh, Mohammad Saied, Julian Rogers, Muriel Sealy, Ricky Singh, Hugh Foster, Peter Greene, Terry Ally, Reudon Eversley, Rosemary Alleyne and Keith Goddard, to mention but a few. What was the cause of Oliver Jackman resigning from the Elder Statesmen Advisory Group? Which politician was overheard saying that a former big up in the pine ‘would never get a job in the local media again’?

This writer is not a madman. It takes a lot to get him upset.  But several months of examples of systemic unprofessionalism would have had to come to a head at some stage. One does not know whether the publication has wittingly or innocently permitted itself to be used, but the records are there and can be examined by anyone in search of truth.

You cannot be biased and at the same time plead innocence and objectivity. What is good for the goose must be equally good for the gander. You are independent and middle of the road or you are leaning to one side at the expense of the other. If you are biased and have an agenda, it is your right so to be, but do not expect to be treated in the same manner as when you were straight up and professional.

This writer is not intimidated by or afraid of threats and portrayal of being arrogant, vindictive or even anti the freedom of the media. Nothing could be further from the truth. I am a media man to the core. This has nothing to do with press freedom. This is all about ‘the connection’.

Let the world press bodies come in search of truth. I want them to investigate ‘the connection’. Would this and could this have happened anywhere else in the world? Let us go global with ‘the connection’. The National Enquirer would love the details. Call the police! Lay the charges! Let’s all go on the witness stand and be cross examined about character, integrity, professionalism and ‘the connection’. I dare you!!

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

717 responses to “No Threat To Press Freedom It’s All About ‘The Connection’”

1. @ Adrian Hinds // September 2, 2009 at 10:53 AM.
    I have always had the impression that these football fans displayed horrible behaviour not only to others but amongst themselves as well. I say this because of all the reports of violence and injuries that we hear about at these events.

However, I see that the officials are trying to correct the situation. Listen to Sepp Blatter with what he says the consequences will be for those uttering racist slurs at the World Cup.

I agree, it is a contemptible testimony of the behaviour of such people who agitate against others just because of skin pigmentation.

By that same token the same applies to those who discrimate against others because of their religion their creed, or their class (station in life) or even their nationality.

2. @ Adrian Hinds

I notice that you are taking some time off from the many jobs you work at.:>)

3. By that same token the same applies to those who discrimate against others because of their religion their creed, or their class (station in life) or even their nationality.
    ————————————————

all of that is discuss in the video, as it occurs in Europe without a wimper from BFP. Would that they where wanting to magnify Negroman’s comments to the size of what the video portrays. Negroman’s response is emotional and can be considered similar to the two football players who had enough of it. It is disgracefull and dishonest for BFP and it’s Canadian base supporters to be so blantantly one-sided.

Do they speak for you and other white Barbadians in Barbados?

4. robin hood // September 2, 2009 at 11:23 AM

@ Adrian Hinds

I notice that you are taking some time off from the many jobs you work at.:>)
    ————————————————-
    Whatever do you mean???

5. @ Adrian Hinds // September 2, 2009 at 11:32 AM.

“Whatever do you mean???”

Nothing sinister. :>) .

It is just that I remembered that you had said quite some time ago that you were very busy working several different jobs.
    So when I saw the time that you posted your recent comments I just wondered if you were having a “break”. Capishe?

6. @Robin Hood

Are you a Barbadian? are you currently living in Barbados? I am beginning to suspect that you may not be. Was I wrong to assume that you were?

7. @ Adrian Hinds

BTW no one speaks for “ole” robin here.
    Don’t you remember from way back in King Richard’s time that I was a law onto myself! :>)

And furthermore, ole robin speaks for himself……..ie for no one else. My views are mine alone!

8. Adrian,
    You seem to be very perceptive! No not born baje! “Just adopted!” But a Caribbean Man, nonetheless! :>)

9. Ok Robin Hood, here endith my conversation with you. I have no interst in speaking with the dead. Have a good after life??

10. @ Inkwell -Respectfully…
    You probably intended to say that YOU find that my “juxtapositioning of the cases of Nelson Mandela and Negroman is distasteful at best and does a great injustice to Mandela, who has shown nothing but love for his oppressors. The same cannot be said for Negroman.”
    The point here being your judgment of Negroman without knowing him. I do not know him; but I KNOW Bajans! and as I said, Negroman is 99% likely to be the most caring, helpful and respectful man you are likely to meet…

…. However, he is DEEPLY hurt by the pain that he sees inflicted by TRUE racist who (I submit) are DEFINED by their vindictive and hateful ACTIONS. His response is clearly not the most elegant, but where do you get off judging the genuineness of his intent, honour, or correctness? His outbursts are typical of some Bajans and should be analyzed as such. I challenge you to question his IMPACT in raising the issues in the blogosphere…

Which part of this do you find to be flawed?

@ Ebenezer
    So now Bush Tea putting himself in the same league as MLK and Mandela? Well, well………….
    What a childish interpretation of a simple personal, factual statement!!!

However, since you raised the matter, I can tell you that BT is one of those lucky Micro Mock Engineers who have been chosen for great things….

In fact Ebenezer, as you will probably live to discover, Bush Tea will be elevated to levels well above anything that MKL and Mandela could even dream….

11. Adrian,

Cheers, buddy! I’m good with that.
    We’ll talk again, no doubt.

12. Folks you would notice how RH attempted to ascribed the behaviour in the video to a “some” people. The broadcaster must be taken to task for elevating the behaviour we see, to porpotions of national levels. He talked of soccer fans, and accepted behaviour in Europe, and compared such to behaviour in the US. But RH sees it as behaviour of “some” people. Well there you have it.

13. @ Adrian Hinds

I would kindly suggest that you re-read my comment. I never used the term “some people”. The term I used was
    “such people”. Such =any! Meaning anyone…………anybody! Get the drift?

14. Adrian Hinds

I read your response three times in an effort to understand it. Sadly, I cannot get the point that you are making…it is incoherent, which only goes to prove my point concerning your intellectual capabilities. Oh well.

15. Well, Mr. ROK, as I can’t seem to get a a straight answer to the question asked about these “tourists” quoted in your comment :
    “BTW the tourists that reading this blog say that they are glad that we venting and that they can see that we fighting for justice… and you know what? They are horrified at the level of racism in Barbados. They saying that the dangerous ones are the white b*********s (their words) and they hope that the election of Obama would send a strong message to them that slavery done and that they should own up as USA owned up. LOL!”
    ….I will have to conclude that the entire thing was purely a figment of your over active imagination.

16. Hey, I c dat LIB defek to BFP!! Lor!! an, tank god too!! He’d become such a bore!! Meanwhile, how suh many uh wunna feel having one foot in each camp?!! I in namin nuh names bo, but duh all day fuh all to c!! In terms of international politics one would probably be deemed a spy or traitor!! but, I would n’t say nutten?!!

Lord!!

17. As fuh d footballers!! They’re probaly racists themselves, in respect of somebody/other people else!! So, guess how much I gun cry fuh dem!! You got it!! Not one shite!!

Lord! Leh me guh way an have a nice day, do!!

18. Anyway, they probably got enuf money to buy themselves out d situ nex month or nex year. D people I really feel sorry for r the poor who can’t easily extricate dumselves from d situ!! **** the footballers!! Mek dem go an get a proper job!!

Laaaaaadddddddddddddd!!

19. THEN, they might get the chance to experience, real racism!!

20. Have a nice Bajan day!! an, BTW, is it raining in St Johns!!

Laaaaadddddddddddddddddddd!! 🙂

21. Bush Tea, respectfully, why is my judgment of Negroman not valid and yours is, when I have as evidence a plethora of rantings “from the horse’s mouth” and you have only, while admitting to not knowing the man, only your “knowledge” of Bajans. From that you wisely conclude that “Negroman is 99% likely to be the most caring, helpful and respectful man you are likely to meet”. Most naive and highly illogical.

In addition, with your admitted lack of knowlege of the man, you have the conceit to posit a long distance psychiatric evaluation.. “However, he is DEEPLY hurt by the pain that he sees inflicted by TRUE racist who (I submit) are DEFINED by their vindictive and hateful ACTIONS.” Give me a break.

How does this “deep hurt” motivate his racist attitudes to Indians, and Chinese and Pakistanis? They enslaved our people too?

I am not judging his intent, just his effect and that effect is to demonstrate to all and sundry that there are still some “ignorant” Bajans and gives the impression that his type of racist attitude is prevalent here.

The fact that the blog administrator allows his ravings without issuing any sort of disclaimer (and I support David’s dedication to the principles of free speech) only entrenches that perception. The blogsite therefore is being seen, not as a crusader for free speech, but as being itself racist. I don’t know if that is the intention, but, hey, it’s David’s blog.

22. Does anybody remember when I used to put half a dozen !!!!s after every sentence?!! I used to b very energetic in dem days!! Well, now I’m down to only two, so ‘I’m getting there’!!

Laaaaaaadddddddddddd!!

23. One step farward, Two step back
    Inna Babylon!!

Infamous rastafarian chant!! Don’t mention it here!!

24. “How does this “deep hurt” motivate his racist attitudes to Indians, and Chinese and Pakistanis? They enslaved our people too?”

Inkwell, give d ******ds unfetterd access to our country and c what’ll happen! You won’t then need to ask that question as it’ll be an undeniable, reality!!

25. ‘I know Negroman’!! and, who’s right in their analysis of me?!!

26. In these troubling times, I wonder what it’s like ‘to have a foot in both camps’!!

27. An, can u sleep peacefully, at night!!?

28. Dem Spanish people r among the most racist in the world!! Rented my place to a family uh dum once – yuh should uh c dum when duh come to ask me tuh let it to dum – almose crying, like duh would fall pun duh knees an beg, if I’d declined. Having offered it to dum, it was n’t long before they were complain bout dis and dat an being suh aggressive whereas, nuhbody din have nuh complaints before!! A shite-people man!! so, it’s no wonder they behave the way they do re: the football!! Welcome to real life, Bajans!!

29. Dave, all dis writing’s making me tired!!

30. Inkwell // September 2, 2009 at 12:18 PM

Adrian Hinds

I read your response three times in an effort to understand it. Sadly, I cannot get the point that you are making…it is incoherent, which only goes to prove my point concerning your intellectual capabilities. Oh well.
    ===========================

ha ha I beg to differ. I know you understood. You disagreed with BT on any similarity between Negroman and Nelson Mandela yet claiming they differ only in their response. You were no doubt coherent in demonstrating your conflicting points.

Intellecutal giant you are not. Of course you made no such claim. With good reason I might add.

31. Bimbro

Did you take your medication this morning?

Please check,because you slipping real bad!

32. Some humour:

33. Let us “look” at this racism of which we on BU are accused:

One thing you can be certain of, the Blacks here in “Barbados” never started it, or sought to perpetuate it in Barbados.

We have a situation where suddenly Blacks are accused of racism, because of a comment on a blog.

The acres of Barbados soil are soaked in the blood of black people, the dark lanes and open fields if they could speak
    would confirm the unspeakable crimes that have been committed in this idyll in the sun.

Now there are those who come like a Pontius Pilate with “unwashed hands” lecturing us on “two injudicious” words on a blog; in an effort to cleanse themselves of a history, that brings only shame.

They come to lecture and hector, hoisted up on empty words: what this would do to Barbados, the world is watching…well the world watched before.

Oh! things have not changed. Thomas Walduck, thought this of Barbadians – in the seventeenth century, and he was not speaking of Blacks. “Barbadians had no “moral honesty” it is evident here now.

If it is that Black Barbadians are racists we have paid in “blood” to learn and we had very good “teachers.”

Let us see the teachings:

“Father Antoine Biet described how one planter had a slave whipped by other negroes repeatedly for seven days. On the eighth day he had one of the slave’s ears cut off and roasted. The black was then made to eat his ear. Although Biet agreed that “one must keep these kinds of people obedient” the gruesome spectacle caused him to write that ” it in inhuman to treat them with so much harshness.”

We have learned our “racism” yes in Barbados. Even the good father thought it was the way to treat us, with conditions.

We are not “obedient” enough now are we ?

Be off with you, telling us we are racists.

34. @ Adrian Hinds…

Did you read the comments below this video?!?

…and they call negroman a racist?!?

35. I think Bonny Peppa should stay off de people’s blog with her/his despicable behaviour. It is a definite turn off. He/She should mend her/his ways.

This blog would not miss Bonny Peppa
    Trust me

The filth emanating from Bonny Peppa is so repulsive that she/he should be sanitized by being banned from the blogosphere. The sooner the better.

36. Technician // September 2, 2009 at 3:51 PM

@ Adrian Hinds…

Did you read the comments below this video?!?

…and they call negroman a racist?!?
    ————————————————
    yup saw them. Nothing new. I understand the need for the real minority to feel superior, to feel that they are better than everyone else and more importantly to have all others (people of colour) believe it all as well.

37. Adrian, and u think that’s funny!!! Hmmm! Can’t have happened to u!!

38. Anonymous // September 2, 2009 at 1:37 PM

Bimbro

Did you take your medication this morning?

Please check,because you slipping real bad!

‘Anonymous’, thanks for enquiring and yes, I’ve taken it now, so now I’m ready again to b a typical boring-ass Barbadian just as you normally appreciate!! Ok?!!

39. Bimbro // September 2, 2009 at 5:50 PM

Adrian, and u think that’s funny!!! Hmmm! Can’t have happened to u!!
    ————————————————-

Can’t say that it has. I never noticed it, and that may be the result of
    not having a habit of watching the actions of strangers.

40. Yardbroom

I enjoyed your prose , as usual.

About 5 years ago I was teaching at a medical school in Curacao. There was a white American twit who was a PhD with a cv that extended right around the corner.

But he knew nothing about Medicine and about leadership. Having killed myself the first term by teaching 90 extra contact hours, he wanted me to do the same the next term.

When I refused, he called me a most unsavory name. I did not respond in kind, but told him I would report the incident to the owner of the school.

His response was to write the owner and make the most unsavory report about me. He did not know that others had seen me work and had reported the same to the President.

My response was to print out the relevant verses from the book of Esther on the incident where Haman hang on his own gallows, and put it on his desk.

That was the begining of the psychology I worked on him.

By the end of the term he was no longer the Dean, and I called him UN-DEEN or RE-DEEN, By the end of the next term he was gone!

From a lad I have always stood up as a MAN, not a black man. I have not been popular for it, but thats how I feel, and how I act.

41. I would like to hear the various psychological events that led to his becoming “un-deen” or should I not have linked the two sentences together?

This is a powerful story if it is true. The real MD defeats the PHD in his “own” mind. lol!

you said:
    From a lad I have always stood up as a MAN, not a black man.
    ————————————————
    This isn’t what you said to Bonny peppa recently ha ha ha.

42. @mash up

There is a lot we can say about the incident of late but we will stay for now:-)

Remember BU is for all. Yes we encourage the academics to join BU because one weakness we have found has been our inability as a society to optimally leverage academia to re-engineer our society in a changing world.

Sorry it is becoming infectious!

43. Georgie Porgie
    On this blog I have said repeatedly I do not hate white people, I even find it “offensive” for someone to suggest I do.

I like fairness and reason, most of my life I worked in departments or offices abroad and I was the only black person. It never bothered me, I just got on with what I had to do.

I recall once going into a small village in Germany and everyone was looking at me, I wondered why. Later I was told there had never seen a black person in the village before, not even the American soldiers during the war.

On the blogs, I always think I am having a conversation at my home over a drink. My wife is there reading a book or listening to music, my children are also there darting from room to room.

I use language or behave as in that setting. That is how I interact with others in my professional life, it is for other grown ups to act as they see fit.

Good manners should never be seen as a sign of weakness and are available to all Black, White, Rich and Poor and I learnt that from a poor black woman in Barbados…who never once left these shores.

Thanks for your kind remarks.

44. More humour:

45. Yardbroom
    I had a similar experience in Germany when I attended a flower show. They seemed more interested in me than the show. Especially the children , they stare at you like you’re from another planet. A german friend of mine told me she was amazed that the bottom of our feet are clear. She expected them to be black. She’s a drunken b anyway.
    I lived in Siegen Meiswinkle. They are very friendly though, I find. You realize that the little boys are coached with a football from very young? They are die-hard football fans boy. Alll the pubs are packed to captivity/capacity when a game is on. And they love their beer too. It’s the first place I ever tasted non-alcoholic beer. Amazing but true.

46. @ Bonny Peppa

Bonny, that is you!? You sure striking on all 8 cylinders tonight!

Doan cuss mih 2 bad, though hunny.

47. Robin Hood,
    Yes is me. I in cussin tonite. I behavin ma self. Or trying to.

Nite nite Hunny to you too.

48. Bonny Peppa,
    Yuh dun knows how muchie we loves ya, darlin!
    nitey, nite to you 2.

49. Adrian, it’s not a god idea to close ur eyes – u might get run-over!! Or, maybe, it’s a coping-mechanism?!!

Georgie, congratulations on being a doctor of medicine, it’s a move up from being the civil servant which I suggested. However, u never replied to my question (about your profession). Were you using psychology then too, or simply did n’t notice it and, how does psychology help you to cope with modern life? Is it a real help or a temporary crutch which will be of no assistance to you when things get tough? I ask these questions in the hope that they won’t be too difficult for u to answer! Also, why, as a child, did u act as a man? I just wanted to play, study and ‘meet’ the girls!!

Yardbroom, congratulations on surviving the war, however, like most Barbadians, I hope u did n’t lose your sense of humour along the way, or, did u?!! And, BTW, which war was it and, did they send u to Aden too? U may still have been a young man, then?

Bonny, I know u don’t like me anymore but, did u ever visit the UK and, what were ur impressions of my home-country now?

50. Also, Bonny, I’ve no idea how long u were in Germany but, did u return with a german accent and did the local Bajans then have difficulty understanding u?!! – had any amusing experiences as a consequence?!!

Ich bin ein Berliner!!

Dats d extent uh my german bo!! Fancy visiting Hitler’s ex-country!! Did n’t it feel creepy, Bon – send a shiver down yuh spine?!!