Hartley Henry - DLP Political Strategist
Hartley Henry – DLP Political Strategist

Barbadians are truly ‘something else’. The hundreds of calls, texts and mails I have received over the past four days suggest that I need not say very much in response to certain allegations, because people already know about ‘the connection’.

I thought I had stumbled upon a dark, grey secret with respect to why a certain person enjoys seemingly unfettered access to a particular publication, week in and week out. But every mode and means of communication has been used in recent days to convey to me graphic details of ‘the connection’. What I thought was a piece of ‘hot, juicy news’ turned out to be ‘a particle of rich history’; for Sam Cuch, the Duppy and their in-laws know all about ‘the connection’.

‘The connection’ apparently did not start yesterday, last month or even last year. ‘The connection’ has been ongoing for years now and apparently has been a rocky road for one, characterized, as has now become the norm with cohorts of the aggressor, by an enormous amount of abuse. I am hearing now of blows to the face, blows to the head, blows about the body and even attempts at slitting the wrist. I am also told of the entry of a company head honcho into the “ling”, and the moving out and moving in with the said heavy roller. This heavy roller must be packing a mean punch, kick and especially lick to have two bosses in so pitiful a state, lying prostrate at every beck and call.

That an institution, so once revered and respected, would permit itself to be used and manipulated in so vulgar a fashion is amazing. The foreign owners really need to come to Bim and investigate the moral cesspool that has developed within those walls. It is no longer what it once was. It no longer serves the purpose for which it was created.

Not everyone on the inside is willing to look the other way. The fact that I know of the telephone conversation that preceded the now well publicized call, indicates that not everyone is in agreement with that which is going on. There is gratitude to this writer for bringing certain truths to light.

There is nothing personal about this intervention. But I detest hypocrisy and self righteousness. I am absolutely amazed by the sordid details of incidents and occurrences taking place under that roof, involving the higher of higher ups who are supposed to be setting examples. “Run the desk for me. Tonight is my night, tomorrow is yours”…and up to the nest they go. The whole thing makes Sodom and Gomorrah look like students of theology. In return, the heavy roller gets prominence on demand.

There was no threat to anyone! There was an appeal for fairness and professionalism. There was the assurance that if such was absent on this particular occasion, the world would be sensitized to a chronology of events that point to the aforementioned connection being the source and the cause of unprofessionalism. The exact words were “the whole of Barbados will come to understand how it is that”, a particular individual “can have unfettered access to” a known publication. Little did one know that the entire world, it would appear, was already appraised of the sordid details of the three way connection that has brought a most noble profession to shame.

Those shedding crocodile tears must rewind and reflect on conversations conducted prior to the much publicized call being received. Whom did you speak to after receiving highlights of the survey? What advice was given relative the appropriate response? What assurances were made as to what will not appear where? There is a difference between being threatened and feeling threatened!

If you wish to know about threats and about being threatened cast your mind back, to not so long ago, when other persons were perched on Bay Street. Who could forget the fate of Jerry Richards, Don Norville, Winston Worrel, Carl Ince, Cecil Foster, Adrian Sisnett, Don Singh, Mohammad Saied, Julian Rogers, Muriel Sealy, Ricky Singh, Hugh Foster, Peter Greene, Terry Ally, Reudon Eversley, Rosemary Alleyne and Keith Goddard, to mention but a few. What was the cause of Oliver Jackman resigning from the Elder Statesmen Advisory Group? Which politician was overheard saying that a former big up in the pine ‘would never get a job in the local media again’?

This writer is not a madman. It takes a lot to get him upset.  But several months of examples of systemic unprofessionalism would have had to come to a head at some stage. One does not know whether the publication has wittingly or innocently permitted itself to be used, but the records are there and can be examined by anyone in search of truth.

You cannot be biased and at the same time plead innocence and objectivity. What is good for the goose must be equally good for the gander. You are independent and middle of the road or you are leaning to one side at the expense of the other. If you are biased and have an agenda, it is your right so to be, but do not expect to be treated in the same manner as when you were straight up and professional.

This writer is not intimidated by or afraid of threats and portrayal of being arrogant, vindictive or even anti the freedom of the media. Nothing could be further from the truth. I am a media man to the core. This has nothing to do with press freedom. This is all about ‘the connection’.

Let the world press bodies come in search of truth. I want them to investigate ‘the connection’. Would this and could this have happened anywhere else in the world? Let us go global with ‘the connection’. The National Enquirer would love the details. Call the police! Lay the charges! Let’s all go on the witness stand and be cross examined about character, integrity, professionalism and ‘the connection’. I dare you!!

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

717 responses to “No Threat To Press Freedom It’s All About ‘The Connection’”

1. AS SOME OF THE ‘LEGAL EAGLES’ HAVE NOTED, DEFAMATION DOES NOT NEED SPECIFIC NAMING; AGAIN THAT HAS GENERAL IMPLICATIONS FOR MATERIAL PUT INTO THE PUBLIC DOMAIN. IMPUTATION IS POSSIBLE, AND THE SALIENT MATTER RELATES TO ‘DAMAGE’ TO REPUTATION.

UNLESS THE LAWS OF BARBADOS HAVE CHANGED, NEWSPAPERS DO NOT HAVE ANY OBLIGATION TO BE ‘FAIR’, HOWEVER THAT IS DEFINED. MOREOVER, IT IS A MOOT POINT IF ONE IS ARGUING THAT A NEWSPAPER IS BIASED–WHICH IS WITHIN ITS RIGHTS. IT CAN EXERCISE ITS BIAS FREELY. FOR THOSE WHO WISH TO THINK OR SEE MORE, LOOK AT THE KNOWN BIASES OF NEWSPAPERS IN THE USA; THE KNOWN BIASES OF CERTAIN TV/RADIO BROADCASTERS IN THE USA.

THERE IS NO CASE THAT COULD STAND UP TO THE LEGALITY OF ‘THREATS’ TO MEDIA ORGANS BECAUSE THEY WERE VIEWED BY THE PERSON ISSUING THE THREAT AS ‘UNFAIR’ (A SUBJECTIVE MATTER, ANYWAY).

IF BARBADOS IS TO REMAIN CREDIBLE AS A DEMOCRATIC COUNTRY, THIS INSTANCE HAS TO HAVE ITS RESOLUTION IN LAW, IN COURT OR OUT OF COURT.

2. David, my screen has refresed and I see text is bold, which I take to be part of some original submission (though can that be proven by the author and has that been corroborated by you?).

That text in bold, would seem to seal the fate of the author. I imagine that if those words in bold were in the original submission, then the Advocate knew where publication of them would lead legally. They are unsubtantiated claims at best and I’m sure that the Advocate, given its recent concerns about legal redress regarding publishing defamatory material, took the route of prudence.

The passage that reads, “There is nothing personal about this intervention. But I detest hypocrisy and self righteousness. I am absolutely amazed by the sordid details of incidents and occurrences taking place under that roof, involving the higher of higher ups who are supposed to be setting examples.” could be used as a classic example of a true non sequitur, and a statement of total self contradiction.

Any Hart felt sympathy for the author may well be totally misplaced.

3. s/b refreshed (not refresed…)

4. “We really need a plausible third party here and not just apologists for one or the other major party.” – Checkit-out – commenter on the BU blog.

Checkit out, the truth is that the vast majority of people of this country MUST RESOLVE once and for all TO DEMOCRATICALLY RID the parliament of this country and the country itself of these two increasingly stupid joke DLP and BLP factions – if ever our country is to achieve greater and higher levels of social political material and financial development in the long term, and if our country is to NEVER become a failed state in the next twenty or so years, NOTWITHSTANDING the fact that it is, right now, on such an abominable and disgraceful path with the DLP and BLP at the helm of managerial affairs of this country.

So, you have the option of joining our party – PDC, joining the PEP, or going and helping form your own party. And, it is NOT just about joining or forming a party, it is about helping to build a serious national political movement, or serious national political movements, that is , or that are, genuinely about the fostering and achieving of a people-centered nationalist development for this country, right now and in the future.

At the moment, in Barbados, with the DLP and BLP failing the masses and middle classes so massively, there has since the early 2000s had to emerge a nascent people-centered nationalist movement that involves the PDC.

And, so, while we would like to offer congratulations to Mr. Arthur Holder for becoming the country’s newest Senator, given that it is first time that a Rastafarian has been appointed to sit in Parliament, and, as such, this appointment in itself must be seen as a truly significant step in the history of politics in Barbados, the fact still is that both the DLP and the BLP are increasingly becoming a sickening aggravating waste of time in this country. And they NEED to go now and in the future!!

And, no amount of popular appointments to the Senate by the BLP or by the DLP to mask their inevitable demises; or no amount of use of findings of silly pathetic joke polls by the DLP or the BLP to largely peddle untruths and cheap conversations over them; or no amount of involvement in modern communication technologies by those two factions to rehash the same old dead pan messages, will be enough to stop an increasingly growing awareness and attitude among so many thousands of people in Barbados that the DLP and the BLP MUST BE RID from the parliament and political landscape of this country.

For, NOT ONLY is there a need for the existence of two newer and very serious parties, BUT ALSO there is a need for at least another new and serious party that does NOT resemble the damned DLP and the blasted BLP in this country.

And, finally, since the national and developmental interests of our country is ever so often at stake and imperiled under these two old archaic factions parties, it behooves you, Checkit-out, and so many others in Barbados NOT just to talk about the need for some plausible third party – whatever that means – but, more so, to get up and make sure that you and they strongly support the PDC, in its bid to help bring about a far greater appreciation for the national interests of this country; or to get up and make sure that some other newer party is helped formed by yourself and many others in Barbados with a view of greater more securing the national interests
    of this country.

So long!!

5. @Bush Tea

BU is onside with your view. HH could be found guilty but some good may come out of it all when the dust settles. Many Barbadians are not aware of the politics which occurs between Fontebelle and Bay Street/Roebuck Street.

6. David, as it seems that everyone can identify the publication and the parties in question and, as the deleted bits (now printed by you) do not really mitigate either the message or the accusations, one has to take the view that the publisher (the Advocate) of Mr Henry’s article has taken legal advice, viewed Mr Henry’s supporting evidence and concluded that Mr Henry and the publisher (the Advocate) have enough solid evidence to support the defense of Truth.

Also, Mr Henry has not accused anyone of a criminal sexual act. Homosexuality is not a crime. Sodomy is a crime. Nowhere does Mr Henry imply sodomy, nor can anyone suggest such, as the accused parties would appear to me to lack the necessary equipment to do that particular deed. I do not believe that rubber or plastic add-ons (as opposed to add-ins) would be legally recognized as they were not contemplated by the law makers who wrote that law many centuries ago when the vegetable patch was seen as an area of culinary delight only and plastic was not invented and rubber hardly a readily available commodity.

Under the 1891 UK Slander of Women Act, it is actionable as defamation for someone to impute unchastity or adultery to a female. As such, it is one of only four instances in which slander (as opposed to libel) is actionable without proof of damage. However, in 2009 the adoption of that principal would appear to me to be long outdated and also to create a situation of sexual inequality that men and women who strive for sexual equality must deplore. So it is time that area was revisited and done away with. Of course, if the parties are unmarried and of a certain (or uncertain, in this case) age…..well, might make a difference.

Bottom line. Let us hope that the persons accused give Mr Henry the opportunity of proving his allegations in court.

It would have a terrific effect on tourism and remove from places like St Martin the rainbow currency that now goes into their coffers and, instead, bring it all to Barbados – and there is a lot of that currency around. The second effect is that it would provide us Bajans with HOURS, WEEKS AND YEARS of harmless amusement and gossip – in fact, the situation that Mr Henry has published has done that for some time now, but not as publicly as we would have wished.

The phone lines must be burning up today.

7. The Sodomy Law covers many acts, not one. Those have not read it, should.

David’s support of Bush Tea seems to be along the lines of ‘getting things straightened out’ (a pun of some sort is there). But if so, it also condones notions such as ‘taking the law into your own hands’.

Laws protect populations from the whims of individuals. If society in general wishes a change it can and should be legislated. Two people rarely see the same thing at any event. There is also nothing worse than the misconstrued event.

While there seems to be a lot of school boyish tittering going on, again, it seems that the principles are lost.

On feminization of education, it is a universal process that has occurred over several decades. It is affecting black populations in noticeable ways, but is not in any way limited to them and certainly not in the Caribbean.

Allusion to Bruce Golding’s remarks are rather funny. It puts back into play the true moral compass of countries that say they are guided by Christian principles and ethics. So, (cue giggling) no gays, but (cue more giggles) any number of wife beaters, and adulterers, and perhaps sodomisers of children (really?) in a Cabinet. The facts are out there in all instances: no one can hide his or her activities.

If you want to understand what it means to be seen as the laughing stock view some of the region’s hypocricy through the eyes of the rest of the world.

8. Again, for those of you who love to live in the land of where ignorance is bliss, tis folly to be wise, you may abstract from legal definitions, to common understanding and definitions.

Sodomy: anal or oral copulation with a member of the same or opposite sex; copulation with an animal.

Little or no ‘equipment’ may be needed.

Perhaps you should review the recent case of Bajan schoolboys and the goats (or were they sheep).

9. Anonymous, I stand corrected and mis-spoke. I meant to say “buggery”. There is a Buggery Act.

I defer to the definiation of Wikipedia in this instance, as follows:

“Under most common law legal systems, the term buggery refers to a criminal offense and has a specific legal meaning.

In English law, “buggery” was first used in the Buggery Act 1533, while Section 61 of the Offences against the Person Act 1861, entitled “Sodomy and Bestiality”, defined punishments for “the abominable Crime of Buggery, committed either with Mankind or with any Animal”.

Neither Act defined what constituted buggery. Over the years the courts have defined buggery as including either:

1. anal intercourse by a man with a man or woman, or
    2. vaginal intercourse by either a man or a woman with an animal,

but not any other form of “unnatural intercourse”.

At common law consent was not a defense; nor was the fact that the parties were married. As with the crime of rape, buggery required that penetration must have occurred, but ejaculation is not necessary.

Most common law jurisdictions have now modified the law to permit anal sex between consenting adults. Hong Kong did so retroactively in 1990, barring prosecution for “crimes against nature” committed before the Crimes (Amendment) Ordinance 1990 entered into force except those that would still have constituted a crime if they had been done thereafter.

In the United Kingdom, heterosexual buggery was decriminalised in 1996.

In the UK the punishment for buggery was reduced from hanging to life imprisonment in 1861.”

So, there you have it. Equipment (of one kind or another) is definitely needed.

As for the school boys with sheep (or were they goats?) that depends on their age. If my memory serves (and it may not so feel free to correct me as I certainly am not going to look it up) under a certain age, a person is deemed incapable of any kind of sexual act. I believe that the age is defined as being 16 (which shows just how backwards our laws are – and always were.

The point is that Mr Henry has not accused the ladies of buggery, merely suggested homosexuality – and that is NOT a crime in Barbados. Ergo, no one is defamed in that sense.

Got to go and get back to the phone.

10. Thanks Anon and Anonlegal for your input of a legal variety so far. The fact you have different opinions on the matter at hand is insightful. The crux of the matter is always testing the matter in Court.

When Rosa Parks sat at the front of the bus in Alabama, Montgomery in the USA in 1955 she had disobeyed a law. Her disobedience of that law has created a civil rights movement which is ongoing. Most admit her disobedience has served to make the world a better place. Law and order must be supported however sometimes the current realities of any situation will create grey-areas where citizens of a country will act out of concert with the establishment.

BU like many Barbadians is aware of the machinations which occur on Fontebelle. BU stands behind our thrust to expose the hypocrisy which currently drives the production of news in Barbados. The Fourth Estate of the Realm is too important to good governance to become sidetracked, a legacy which Barbados has become known (good governance). The BU household loves Barbados to the bone and we are prepared to give of whatever sacrifice which maybe necessary to expose the sores which continue to fester within many of our institutions. Barbados has done well up to now but there are signs about which clearly suggest we have fallen asleep at the switch. The weeds are beginning to protrude from the lawn.

On the issue of homosexuality BU’s position is known however current realities indicate Barbadians must start to address the issue in some structured way. The tension which currently exist is fuelled by the hypocrisy of Barbadians to want to closet this issue while at the same time expecting an equilibrium in public view to develop. This will not happen!

11. **Adviser to the President** Avatar
    **Adviser to the President**

Absolutely despicable !

12. David // August 27, 2009 at 9:58 PM

The Barbados Advocate butchered the HH article, we have highlighted those parts which were edited by the Advocate.

Thank god that is why we have BU.

13. Some day, we will hear of a lawyer /court whose goal and objective is to unveil the TRUTH…. to expose evil…. to protect the weak and to improve our society.
    ….but that will probably not be soon….

It is far more lucrative to protect the interest of their paymasters. May God help us when those paymasters are warped…

14. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

We in Barbados who pride ourselves of being a decent,upright,christian society should collectively hang our heads in shame for the sin of ‘turning a blind eye’ to the allegations and reports that we were constantly hearing about that ‘wo-man’ re her aggressive and violent behaviour towards her partners.

We as a society are too quick to place money,or family name or professional standing above the basic traits of good moral standing,integrity and the like.

Bajans knew that the individual was rotten to the core yet in public they shouted :hail to the chief,what an articulate speaker,wuhloss he/she bright nuh,all the while whispering on the phones and among their friends and family of the dirty deeds being committed by that person

The horse is about to bolt the stable gates,who will restrain it?

15. Who says that you have to be accused of a crime to be defamed? Would not being accused of being a lesbian tend to lower your reputation in the eyes of ordinary right thinking members of society?

In any event, it seems that in the first highlighted part, an imputation of criminal assault is being made against someone!

And there is not only sodomy (no Sodomy Law) or buggery (no Buggery Act) which are criminal; there is also the offence of “serious indecency” covered by the Sexual Offences Act 1992.

16. **Adviser to the President** Avatar
    **Adviser to the President**

All of the nonsense that you speak dont not make what HH did , any less a sin. Stop trying to shift the focus to partisan political discussions

17. Bush Tea, do you realise that under our legal sysytem a prinicipal tenet is “hear both sides”? So what are you on about truth? In your elegant phrase”what truth what”? The court has to decide as best it can, from two conflicting stories, who is speaking the truth? How otherwise would you determine that? Toss a coin? Or accept the story which best accords with your worldview?

In any case, HH would have a good defence to any defamation action if he can prove the truth of his “factual” imputations

18. mia mottley is a public figure. her behaviour is a matter of public interest and concern. certain questions keep going around about her. they make her image look bad. people talk about her all over the place. she wants to be prime minister real bad. she should answer these questions truthfully. these questions are about her lifestyle. she wants to lead barbados so barbados has a right to know the truth. she should answer these questions with a lie detector.

19. David, Themis is correct. Other commentators talking up Christian values need to be sure they want to walk that road. Skeletons do talk and if any one were to find a child who would say….

Buggery is not the sole act either…imagination Watson, imagination…Some of you are out of time/out of date…

Perhaps a look at how ‘advisers’ have been released for their deeds in other British-based systems will tell you the likely future for Mr H, who seems to have prepared no defence for himself. HE has not said things that the Advocate suppressed for his sake.

What was he thinking?

Where will the article above land next? Is he prepared to have questions posed to him on how he may know what he purports to know? If a good journalist took him to task on the contents it would be a show. Imagine if this were next Sunday’s talk topic….Wuhloss!

20. I just heard that a printed version of the BU article has been put on the PM’s desk for this morning! This could be a RED LETTER DAY…..

21. Hi everyone,

After reading the comments, I must say

to you all remember this is Barbados anyhting can be said and done, nation of gossips no one has to care about words spoken.

Is it that one can get away with anything on the island, in this it’s about who you know society. Do anyone of you think anything would come out of this or would it die a sudden death.

Mr. Henry I’m a woman who have called the police, been to court been abused by a husband who can get away with it because I’ve ended up looking like the crazy one.

I’ve been to immigration and over by the PM office called AG office as it is that my husband knows alot about someone’s not so legal business. Yet he can over stay his time in Barbados and walk back in to abuse me with words and torment me about taking my child and seeing me in the Mental.

Yet I get no help and I can see to some to some degree why, this happens.

I don’t know anyone, been away from Barbados sometime come back very different I had to deal with abuse, so I’m sorry that I’m not my former out going self.

I’ve been to immigration for a husband that will be back here this weekend, yet I get no help, no one wants to listen to what I have to say. No one wants to know why he who knows so much about things that are not very good should come in here, when all I want is to keep myself and my kid safe.

So this morning folks I have to make plans to move not care about the court system in this country that has failed many like me. Knowing the back lash would not be a good thing, kid needs their father or so I’m told. But having to uproot myself because I don’t know what else I can do for I get no help.

I wish you luck in your trashing of the woman 2 sides and let the truth be told.

But as a woman who have been at the hands of and words of abuse .I see what

your doing as something my soon to be ex husband would do and I ask when will it all end?

22. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_Boy Avatar
    Adrian Hinds aka Tall_Boy

Lisa you are truly confuse. Look at the Kerrie and Andrea Symmonds relationship and the action she took. Things have changed in Barbados. The only men who are getting away with abusing their spouses, are the ones who spouses seem to in a strange way like de licks. Out de man in public, on de blogs, and I can recommend a few fellas in Barbados that would gladly adopt you as their sister, and place a permanent chill on this man and his beating ways. You have recourse if only you will act. I don’t like self impose victims.

23. “sylvan wrote on // August 27, 2009 at 10:43 PM ..j, it look like u is a stinking wicker too.”

Me and the chief still rolling on the floor laughing at this one.

24. To all bajan remeber when you are in New york vist THE CATCH.It is the only bajan restaurant in NYC.115 Farmers blvd Queeens nyc. They are having a fish fry today.Steam flying fish, breadfruit cocoo, coconut bread, etc.

Ryan Braithwaite race today in switzerland at the IAAF sponsor welsklasse golden league at 2:20pm.

25. Threat made threat carried out.
    Thompson now has to be a man for once and act….

26. wicking is a abomination. a perversion. a curse. a nasty, stinking act.

27. David wrote o// August 28, 2009 at 5:44 AM …”When Rosa Parks sat at the front of the bus in Alabama, Montgomery in the USA in 1955 she had disobeyed a law. ”

David you are no Rosa Parks.

Hartley Henry is no Rosa Parks.

WIV is no Rosa Parks.

You can fool yourself.

But you can NEVER fool sensible people.

28. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_Boy Avatar

J you are not sensible if you are insinuating that someone said that David, HH, or WIV is like Rosa Parks. To penned such as the above may now lead person to now put J and fool in the same sentence. Buy why bother I would ask, no real person is being reference in such. ha ha ha ha lol!

29. ZION1971, what time does THE CATCH close and do they take reservations? We already have plans for lunch but wondered about dinner tonight or tomorrow. The menu sounds great.

30. Adrian Hinds,

First let me say all abuse isn’t physical and no I’ve been doing everything I can to change what’s going on.

It’s amazing that you come across people with attitudes just like yours.

Now I don’t have to out my husband on the blogs but if I have to I will.

All I want is him to get out this country and leave me to live in peace. I wouldn’t have to run into him or have him drive by my house in the dead of the night.

Trying to get him to leave this country, even though he’s not Bajan has been hard. Immigration says I married to him and I’ve been told he has a right to be where his child is.

Now this is a man that never did apply for any citizenship or even a new work permit here.

However I have to live in the same country as him, all I was saying is that no ,matter what it seems one can’t win.

He’s back in Barbados this Sunday and even though I’ve said to him many time to stay out or I’ll try to get him to stay out. He can laugh because it is just good fun to him and Bajans are stupid.

So no you don’t have to like me after all you don’t know me.

31. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_Boy Avatar

He’s back in Barbados this Sunday and even though I’ve said to him many time to stay out or I’ll try to get him to stay out. He can laugh because it is just good fun to him and BAJAN ARE STUPID.
    —————————————————
    Lisa I have to agree. That some bajans is you. Make sure to wear some padded clothing on Sunday. Fool

32. Thanks Adrian I didn’t want to tell she that!!! ha ha lol

That is why persons don’t like you!

You too real!

33. sylvan // August 28, 2009 at 9:45 AM

wicking is a abomination. a perversion. a curse. a nasty, stinking act.
    ———————————-
    might be true so what ?

34. Mr. Hinds,

Yet again you go off on one, you seem to be someone who lacks information on abuse.

Now for the fact that you laugh and talk about padded clothing says much about you as a person.

No I don’t think that you are real, maybe you are just real stupid. I don’t live with anyone I live alone, you seem to think that I’m some live in the same house can’t do any better.

That might be most people you know but you don’t know me.

I’ve moved here to Barbados, my mother born here, I’m a citizen of this country. I made mention of what happens when your trying to get things done. But maybe you lot are the ones who people go to, that’s why nothing gets done. Have a good day, I have a life and job to do.

35. Chris, is deciding which party to support too difficult a decision for u or, do u find continual ‘sitting on the fence’ an easier perch to maintain and, if so, are n’t u ashamed of ur cowardice!!

I get tired uh dese people who tell me duh doan support dis party an dah party!! Look, god give yuh a brain – use it or doan complain!!

36. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

This person posting as lisa has posted the identical story at BFP under a name michelle.

This might have no significance as well as it may have some significance .

However I did not think she defended or was too kind to BU with that thread at BFP that was bashing this same blog she is now posting at.

Hmmmm.

37. Hi Sir Ben, sorry bro but, I’m unable to assist u with the ladies as I’m across the water as u know, however, if what Pat intimates is true then it probably has unsavoury constitutional implications which should n’t be tolerated!!

38. Adviser, how’d u manage to rise to that lofty position?!!

39. If these allegations against Hartley are proved to be correct then he needs to be summarily dismissed! We should n’t tolerate this kind of intimidation, threats and harassment, in Bim!!

40. It’s amazing that some idiots think we’re in Zimbabwe!!

41. Boy tall people ain nuh joke Avatar
    Boy tall people ain nuh joke

MUABB
    This Lisa/michelle person is so confused, they can’t even remember their name. Yet she is preparing to tek some more licks come sunday. I can only imagine what her post licks state of mind would lead her to write on this blog, that is if she survive the licks. Of course I do not take this dopplegangers ‘ comments seriously. Uh mean they are so many options available to this person were they and their situation fuh real.

42. mia mottley, you agree to a lie detector test? i and many Bajans want to know the truth about you. you want to be prime minister real bad so we want to know where we stand with you. we want to prevent the office of prime minister from getting caught in any scandals in future that would embarrass barbados in the world. answer the questions going around about you if you want the rumours to stop. come on BU. we waiting on you.

43. Sylvan,

stop trying to deflect attention away from the slimeball who’s article is at the top of this. Blackmail is a crime. This is effectively what Mr. Henry has admitted to. No matter what his rationalisations its a crime.

More importantly this crime was committed in the presence of several witnesses some of them Ministers. This makes them accessories to the crime.

Similarly the PM could also be indicted if he does not distance himself from this.

44. Sylvan -why ??
    The world is tolerant of homo exualitee ???——————>>>>>>>.

45. Generally, I find many people in politics to exhibit an expression which I coined as “political pimpistic” behavior.They effectively convolute the truth, defy all logic and contradict themselves, merely for personal gain and gratification.

According to the article the author writes, ” You cannot be biased and at the same time plead innocence and objectivity. What is good for the goose must be equally good for the gander. You are independent and middle of the road or you are leaning to one side at the expense of the other. If you are biased and have an agenda, it is your right so to be, but do not expect to be treated in the same manner as when you were straight up and professional.”

Given that statement, how then can the author reconcile with the fact that a DLP political strategist conducted a poll on behalf of the DLP? If there is a modicum of honesty and integrity on the part of the author, wouldn’t he concede that the aforementioned poll should not be taken seriously as it wasn’t conducted by an unbiased entity?

46. All of wannah talking a lot of shite! We need for mor of this to happen!

Wannah want we the ordinary man onthe street to lick wannah ass althoguh we KNOW that wannah is a pack of Frauds!

Look skin them out man in any means necessary!

47. Anonymous@2:18,

What HH did could be properly termed “blackmail”, but it does not fit the defintion of that crime which requires some financial gain or loss!

48. Spotting-Prejudice Avatar
    Spotting-Prejudice

Who is Hartley trying to convince when he says that “This writer is not a madman?” It is a fact that you are paid from the public purse to advise the Prime Minister of Barbados (and many of us are not in agreement with that association); you are not an officer of the DLP as far as public knowledge is aware; what manner of good sense would prompt you to call in the first place (threat or no threat), is not that interference? Talk all ya like, a madman in a panic would have acted as irrational as you did. Do not even know why the PM would risk the office of prime minister in defending your action. Seems that the poll had more to hide than it revealed. The DLP is standing on the edge of quick sand, I suspect their demise will be sooner rather than later. The people will decide when the BLP or any other party shall rescue democracy from the tyrants who threaten and seek to destroy peoples’ careers.

49. Themis you have confused blackmail with the crime of “extortion” which speaks specifically to financial gain by the perpetrator. Blackmail simply means that the person was compelled to do something or face the release some form of damaging information.

50. @ sylvan

“….we want to prevent the office of prime minister from getting caught in any scandals in future that would embarrass barbados in the world. answer the questions going around about you if you want the rumours to stop.”

We really live a fish bowl.