Not since Obadele Thompson’s bronze medal performance at the Sydney Olympics has Barbados had reason to celebrate the performance of our sportsmen on the world scene. Brathwaite’s performance this evening to win Gold in the 110 metre hurdles given the vacuum created by our non-performing Barbados and West Indies cricket teams has served to feed the hunger of Barbadians for success from our sports people.

The twenty year old Brathwaite’s performance on the big stage is sure to inspire young Barbadians everywhere that all is possible. Not to be left out are our local officials who can take comfort in the knowledge we have the capacity to produce a world class athlete with home grown talent.

Brathwaite’s success will have other benefits to the country given our reliance on tourism and international services. The respected Barbados brand will continue to take root.

Yella, blue! Yella blue! Yella blue!

Congratulations Ryan!

1. @ ROK

@livinginbarbados

I’m really sorry that you guys have been unable to receive live coverage from the Berlin games. The atmosphere has been like a carnival. Let’s be clear these games are second only to the Olympics; countries from all over the world are watching and salivating over some of these performances. These games have highlighted some serious short comings concerning are leadership. That Barbadians were unable to witness Ryan’s victory is nothing short of a scandal.
    Are you aware that the German and Jamaican Minister of Sports met in Berlin today? The German minister paid homage to Jamaica with regards to its successful games. Further to this, he suggested an exchange between the two countries: involving German sprinters and some of their athletes going to Jamaica to receive training and Jamaicans going in the opposite direction to learn about field events and to take advantage of sporting facilities available in Germany. Germany is implying we want to learn from you: let’s talk. The ramifications for Jamaica are immense. Jamaica is now an athletics superpower. This association will surely lead to greater social, political and economic ties with Germany; this will bring long term benefits to Jamaica. Jamaica has clearly implemented and developed a sporting plan which it can now profit from. As for Barbados they have that tired old fading chestnut – tourism.
    Serious issues, I know but let’s enjoy our victory and the final days of these games.
    @ ROK, the above story will not be published by The Nation and The Advocat. These are parochial newspapers serving only the interests of their masters.

2. How COW get in this and talking

assness comparing Brathwiate gold to polo.

What the ra##ho## I hearing?

Brathwite’s family earn less a year than a COW polo pony cost.

COW comments insults black people.

3. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@X, J’ai resolu mon probleme depuis, et j’ai un beau frere a Berlin qui m’a informe. Je suggere vous ecrivez une lettre aux journaux au moins pour les tester. On se sais jamais. Ils ont publie aujour d’hui ma lettre de frustration ecrit le lundi passe

4. @X-Man

You make a good point from the moment Brathwaite won that race the Ministers of Tourism and Sport should have been on a transatlantic flight. To meet with Ryan with the world’s media present would have been a priceless moment.

5. @Fairplay
    “Esther Maynard is a good hardworking woman but the others are always fighting among themselves that is why it would look like that athletics cannot do with out her.”

This phenomenon can be observed in cricket (Barbados and WI) associations and in the past the BFA and those organisations which do not encourage stakeholder participation, especially current players, in its decision making process.

For the most part too many decisions are made without base, for example the selection of players/participants are usually not transparent and too much is left to personal judgments and biases. Then the inside politics starts and it will happen every time.

6. @X-Man
    “the above story will not be published by The Nation and The Advocat. These are parochial newspapers serving only the interests of their masters.”

You sent it?

7. Not even a million, but one of us dared to win and so did. Congrats to you Ryan Brathwaite. Thanks you very much young sir.

For a tiny speck of an island nation and 280k souls of which I am proudly one, I will celebrate your achievement as if it were my own. The things that we “shiftless” black people can achieve.

8. Mash up & Buy Back Avatar
    Mash up & Buy Back

Bonny Peppa

Nuff Respect!!

9. Pat,
    Girl, BU family in easy a’ tall hear. You refamiliarising youself wid de good ol bajan dialect? It makes it more indigenous and fun to read.
    We doan mek sport Pat.
    Ya see de word Fed up just invent? Assness, man, we does keep um rale.

Fed up,
    ‘Cow polo pony cost’.
    Had me bitin up my tong day. Try sayin it fas den, if u dout me.

10. Doan kno’ bout nabody else, but i just watch Ryan Brathwaite on de podium, if dah is it name, and when we anthem did playin, i had ta go an get me hanky.

For he’s a jolly good fellaaaaaaaaaaaaa, dat nobody can deny. (help ma sing man, help ma sing)

11. Mash up & Buy Back Avatar
    Mash up & Buy Back

Pat

Nice to have you back with us.

How is the heat up dey in Canada?

Care yuhself,hear?

12. Mash up & buy back
    I in able wid u soul. You is got me ’bout hay laffin hard, hard, hard, like I gine off or sah’ing.
    Respecks ta ya good self too.
    keep it up.

13. @ Bonny Peppa

Man, I like I back home yuh! “assness” man that word is now in my current lexicon. I had to laugh at worsest – haven’t heard that in an eon. True Bajan, what?

14. Here is a picture of Ryan posing with his medal flanked by the two Americans he piped!

15. Pat,
    Only on BU girl, only on BU.
    Any other is just ‘fake’.

Hail David, founder of BU.

16. @livinginbarbados
    @rok
    I have corresponded several times with The Nation, unfortunately they have never published my letters. I can only assume that they do not believe in the freedom of speech. It’s their lost. I’m glad that you were able to get through. I have ceased all communication with them.
    Ryan’s magnificent victory has brought with it many points for discussion. The debate has been lively. This government is certainly under the spot light. I’m working this Saturday. I have to retire. Enjoy your weekend.

17. @X-Man
    “I have corresponded several times with The Nation, unfortunately they have never published my letters. I can only assume that they do not believe in the freedom of speech.”

Since the present Editor of the Nation took up her post, it has been difficult getting anything in the Nation. I have been begging for a space for NGOs for the longest time to no avail, so I know the Nation does not have the development of Barbados at heart.

They are interested in exposing the criminals and publishing the worst about Barbados; all the negative stories they turn into juice and even when they publish a good story, the editing leaves a lot to be desired; in many instances rendering the story inaccurate or void of the salient details.

I will not be asking anymore because we are busy putting together our own media. Once we launch, we will be competing with them down to the last advertising dollar. You wait.

18. I usually switch to CBC TV 8 to watch the evening news. The sports news came on and I was ready to see Ryan once more on the top of the podium and the Barbados National Anthem being played for the first time at a big international athletic meet. That joker Andy brought the little interview with Ryan and then moved on to the 200m’s races. I immediately called CBC and enquired about the medal presentation. The young lady I spoke to told me they did not get the feed so they can’t bring it. I asked her who worst can that station get; no race now no presentation. She tried to explain the reason but for me there was none. However towards the end of the sports news, the clip with the presentation was made. Could it be that CBC is so dumb to realise that they were doing bajans a dis-service by with-holding this momentous occasion?

19. One other thing shocked me, the old version of the Barbados National Anthem was played. Am I to understand that the powers that be at the AAA don’t know the correct version of the Barbados National Anthem?

20. I hope David retires soon and real soon and consider making BU a full-time job/recreation instead of part-time. LOL

A thought: Maybe at that time he could introduce BU to businesses and offer some form of advertising.

21. Question
    Did any of the media report that not only did Ryan become the first bajan to win gold at a major athletics meet but he also became the youngest man to have won that event at the IAAF meet. I guess one of our reporters would have to get it from thew internet since investigative journalism is not not their job.

22. Maybe he will be able to bring back a print version as he did with the 3S scandal.

23. Bro. Scout,
    Ya got ma day. Is there a new and old version of ‘Our song’? Can’t recall.

24. Our media got caught with their pant/ies down and probably embarrass to tears.

I’m sure the Government would do whatever it takes to embrace Ryan, a son of the soil. If they did for Obedele, no doubt it is in the making for him.We are talking GOLD, not bronze.

Btw, was there no confidence in Barbados getting a medal; therefore, there was no flag available to wrap around Ryan, or for him to display around the field, as other winners would have done?

25. Sapadillo,
    Nasty, dirty , down-rite shame nah? Not a piece a blue, yellow or black. Shameful man.

But wait, I serious, dem wearing pant/ies now? Ya wicked but I luv um.

26. David // August 21, 2009 at 7:03 PM

@X-Man

“the Ministers of Tourism and Sport should have been on a transatlantic flight.”

De Gov’ment ain’ got na money …
    AAAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhh

27. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy Avatar
    Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy

The Comments of JOCK on the Breadfruitlime

I din even count dem (US) as challenges, good as dey are. De only body he had tuh worry bout din mek it tuh de finals (injury) namely Dayron Robles (Cub) de current WR holder.
    But he been breathing down Robles neck fuh de whole Euro season. In fact Robles had tuh pull out all de stops tuh outlean he at Crystal Palace

http://redirectingat.com/?id=593X1004&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DEnhQF1HPZcg%26feature%3Dplayer_embedded

28. AAAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhh

Gearbox, r u in pain?!!

Call d doctor!!

Laaaaaaddddddddddddd!!

29. Bonny Peppa
    Yes there is an old version and a new version of the anthem. The first one was a little plain, this was just after independence, then the then bandmaster Prince Cave beefed up the chorus somewhat and included some extra horns and percussions that really did a lot fot it and makes it sound a lot more caribbean. In fact there is also a shortened version of the anthem also. The sh0rtened version is played at the arrival of the G.G among other occasions,

30. Bonny Peppa // August 21, 2009 at 9:59 PM
    “But wait, I serious, dem wearing pant/ies now?….”

Wuh yuh want tuh put muh en now. De media mek up uh both male and female reporters.

31. Georgie Porgie somebody say call you…

AAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

32. I’m sure the Government would do whatever it takes to embrace Ryan, a son of the soil. If they did for Obedele, no doubt it is in the making for him.We are talking GOLD, not bronze.

Yeah, right…and maybe they can do the right thing by awarding him the status of youth ambassador. They can surely do no worse since Ryan would be more deserving of this honor than the current holder of this title who has done virtually NOTHING to positive inspire ‘de yoots”.
    The news of OUR youth ambassador finding herself in trouble after being spotted wielding a needle in a Manhattan tattoo parlour without a licence to do so comes to mind.
    Yet, not a word from guvment…an’ dem waan know how de yoots get so!!!

Congrats again to Ryan!!!

33. Correction / Clearing The Air

They can surely do no worse since Ryan would be more deserving of this honor than the current holder of this title who has done virtually NOTHING to positive inspire ‘de yoots”.

That is (I meant to state) since having this official title bestowed upon her.

34. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Interesting spread of views about the COW involvement: its origin, its consequences, its implications. Some I heard this morning found it distasteful. Reasons: First, the speed with which RB was ‘thrust’ into COW’s arms via VOB (and there is need for clarification on who set what up). Second, the notion of COW supporting ‘winners’ [athletes/sports persons need much support all along the way, not just when they have ‘made it]. Third, the alliance/connection/comparison with the COW polo team [Bajans? No siree.]. Fourth, the land issue–a mixed blessing? Who will ensure development of the lot offered and what happens if it cannot be developed in the normal time frame.

The dissenting views were mainly from a prominent white Bajan, and few opposing views were offered by others present (about 5/5 white/brown; Bajan/foreign). Not scientific, but views count.

‘Piggy backing’ on success is natural but that does not make it acceptable.

I posed the question: What has happened to Shane Brathwaite (Junior World Champion, 2007, Octathlon)? He was Barbados’ last athletics hero, but a few things went wrong (I know some of it). For bio. see http://www.iaaf.org/athletes/biographies/country=bar/athcode=236314/index.html. A fine hurdler too in his own right.

35. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Regarding the flag issue, my understanding is that the Barbadian delegation had remained in their box at the far end of the stadium so it was not until RB neared there on his victory lap that a flag could be conveniently passed to him.

One may ask, if this version is correct, why after RB had posted the best qualifying time in the semis and broken the national record, and Robles had not qualified, there was not a hint of anticipation that he would medal and someone be posted with flag near the finish line? There were a few hours available to arrange that.

36. The adhocism which permeates sports in Barbados in 2009 is not acceptable. The opportunities which sports can facilitate for our youth and by extension our little country and region is sickening. As we did with Oba’s success so too the euphoria of Ryan will wane and then what?

Our leaders seem not to grasp that the success of our sports program should not be measured only in the successes of Obas and Ryans.

37. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

For those who do not follow these matters, a major issue revolved around what unfortunately happened when he was presented with a fully-loaded Ford Focus car at the 2007 National Sports Council’s Awards. Someone had not realised that this would jeopardise Shane Brathwaite’s US scholarship prospects. To preserve his amateur status and remain viable for a university scholarship, he had to hand back the spanking Ford Focus for capturing the Sports Personality For 2007 award. Not much has been written about this Brathwaite since.

Since that incident Barbadian the National Sports Council (NSC) has not considered athletes on scholarships for the top award.

Consequently, Olympians Bradley Ally and Ryan Brathwaite, who are on overseas scholarships, are/were deemed ineligible for the National Sports Personality award, which carries a prize of a new car. Under the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) rules, they are not allowed to accept gifts or monetary rewards.

It’s very odd that NSC did not know of the NCAA rules or if they did why they would seek to do what they did.

38. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“You make a good point from the moment Brathwaite won that race the Ministers of Tourism and Sport should have been on a transatlantic flight. To meet with Ryan with the world’s media present would have been a priceless moment.[Absolutely not. THAT is ad hoc. They can call and make the message needed work, or send an Ambassador or High Commissioner–that’s why you have overseas representation. It is certainly not priceless: late bookings are notoriously expensive. Now, if you are suggesting that to mitigate cost the Minister make use of some private jet, that would open an interesting set of issues. The Minister does not need to milk the media moment as you suggest.]

39. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@X-MAN
    I suggest that you send the letter to the Nation (and Advocate, and/or others in Europe) and ask someone (David? Your choice?) to post it on a blog–that way it’s public whatever. Let the print media then deal with it. Give them the chance to succeed or fail.

Nothing ventured, nothing gained. You cannot win a race unless you enter. etc. Il faut y aller.

40. LIB

As someone watching from afar I also wondered at the alacrity in which COW was brought on board. Did VOB contact his parents/coaches/teammates for their reaction also?

We know that COW “gave” Oba and Rihanna land in the past and I think in one those instances the “gift” was orchestrated by the Gov’t so at this juncture it seems like VOB was trying to solicit a similar gift for Brathwaite.

Call me a cynic but if COW was supporting athletes or their associations in general it wouldn’t leave such a bad taste in my mouth.

41. LIB

• It’s very odd that NSC did not know of the NCAA rules or if they did why they would seek to do what they did.
    Many people and organizations in the USA are unaware of the NCAA rules if you read about the infringements even among the coaches caught breaking the “rules”. As far as I am concerned the NCAA is an organization which ensures that Universities and coaches becoming rich(er) from the efforts of the athletes while the athletes remain poor and some uneducated.

42. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Sargeant
    “Did VOB contact his parents/coaches/teammates for their reaction also?”[I have asked this question this morning and await a reply. I have also asked who initiated teh VOB/COW contact. I just heard “we have … on the line”. That’s an outcome. Hence my attempt at cautious wording.

Agreed on other points.

I think philanthropy is a good thing and the government seems interested in using it more widely. But one should look at how and when. Will we get a similar media ‘show’ if there is philanthropic capital to develop QEH?]

43. @LIB

We have admitted that the thing is adhoc already so why not salvage something from the Berlin experience with media present?

Also have you factored Barbados have senior government personnel in Europe already?

Our point remains, we are guilty for being adhoc but there is nothing wrong with claiming salvage value until we get our act together. By your post you have indicated the Jamaican Minister of Sport is already in Germany, the bar has been set.

44. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Sargeant
    “Many people and organizations in the USA are unaware of the NCAA rules”[We should not regard NSC as like ordinary people; this is their mandated area. They should know. If not, then what are they supposed to be doing? As a soccer coach in the US, for example, it was my duty to check and find out so that my team members did not fall foul inadvertently (and/or, yes, it happens–maliciously). No ignorance allowed for NSC/Ministry of Sports.]

45. Don’t want to disrupt the thread but my point about the NCAA. See article on John Calipari and his second violation of NCAA rules will he be punished? Are you kidding me?

I have run and cut my lawn before it starts to rain.

http://sports.espn.go.com/ncb/news/story?id=4412860

46. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

LAST POINT AS I AM RELAYS BOUND>>>
    “We have admitted that the thing is adhoc already so why not salvage something from the Berlin experience with media present?”[No. It’s a waste of money! The media have what they need and can call the Minister if they want. She can do likewise. It will be a day before she gets there and the comp. ends tomorrow. Too late. No foresight. End.]

“Also have you factored Barbados have senior government personnel in Europe already?'[Yes. See point on Amb/HC]]

“Our point remains, we are guilty for being adhoc but there is nothing wrong with claiming salvage value until we get our act together.”[Agreed on ad hoc. Yes there is. Get act together. Do not extend ad hocery.]

“By your post you have indicated the Jamaican Minister of Sport is already in Germany, the bar has been set.[On Minister Grange being in Berlin, the reports I read were not clear when she decided to go (I may hear better later). But, I would say that she/Jamaica has a clear agenda on sports development and that is being developed by her contacts with German officials. Yes, perhaps a moment to ‘seize’ but it’s part of a clear plan.]

47. Are we that stupid that because of some amateur status rules to deny Ryan Brathwaite what he deserves? What rules what? We take this thing to heart and allowing foolish rules to get in our way?

So finishing paying what the scholarship refuses to pay and let the man enjoy his achievements and Bajans with him. We so foolish? What scholarship what?

48. Bimbro,
    Gear Box was a ‘character’ who died a few years ago. Every sentence he made, he would finish it off wid;
    Aghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, hence my man Gear Box using it too. Ondastan? He in want na doctor a’ tall. BU Gear Box does sum it all up in one sentence, add he lil ahhhhhhh and done up de show, just so. He badddddddd. I luv he vicioussssssssssss.
    Bimbro, I did friten as shite fa de real Gear Box.Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.

Gear Box,
    I wanna come long wid Porgie too, ta hol’ you dong while he stick de needle in you pooch ya hear?

Ras,
    Tru dat. Well spokened. We all know dat Rihanna is a klown. All except Bimbro. Dat’s his ‘treasure’, so don’t deny him. Dat poor girl barely get in at Com’mere, by a mere hit n’ miss. You ever hear she during an interview. Poor thang can’t even express she self proplee. Be dat as it may, she got de dollars doe. Better to born lucky dan rich, I’ve heard said. She’s a classic example.
    Ok Bimbro,I gun stop trampling you ‘tweet-hart’.

49. Hi Bonny and thanks for the explanations, babe!! Had no idea about the history of ‘Gearbox’ and won’t make fun of him any more!!

Disapppointed to hear uv such a low opinion of my Ri! Why babe? Why’d u say she’s a clown? She does seem to have something of a violent-streak in her but hopefully, Chris put an end to that, the other day! Are n’t u impressed by her singing! Boy I tell yuh, dat girl can sing!! Can’t even ascertain what she’s doing these days. Does n’t appear to be touring any more! Hope she can get her career back on its feet!!

50. Wow! Jamaica women 4×100 gold.
    5000M women: Kenya, Kenya, Ethiopia.

I think that Africa dominated these games when you include Caribbean, USA, GB, France and Africa itself.