Submitted by Alex Fergusson

Honourable Dr Esther Byer-Suckoo Minister responsible for Sports and Youth Affairs

Last week, a welcome home ceremony was held by the State for Ryan Brathwaite who won gold in the 110 metre hurdles. The win by Ryan Brathwaite was the biggest sporting achievement for Barbados since Sr. Garfield Sobers hit six sixes in the same over and was knighted by her majesty the Queen for a remarkable career in cricket.

That a Barbadian for the first time – would win gold at an international sports meet for juniors (seniors like Audrey Cox and Pearle Yearwood have been winning gold at international meets for seniors for some time now) yet the Minister of Sports, Dr. Ester Byer-Suckoo was mysteriously either out of the island or was trampled so that Senator Irene Sandiford Garner could act at Minister of Sports โ€“ is not only vulgar but inexcusably partisan.

In civilized countries, Dr. Byer-Suckoo would be expected to resign from the Cabinet for her unprecedented disrespect toward His Excellency Ryan Brathwaite – a national treasure. In contrast, on page 6 of the Barbados Advocate of September 24, 2009 โ€“ Byer-Suckoo was quoted as having said: โ€œyou have done something for Barbados than no one before you has managed to do.โ€

That statement alone, emphasises why her conduct in this entire affair, is vulgar and in extremely poor taste. Furthermore, how could the DLP diminish a national ceremony – paid for with tax payers money – into an exercise, โ€˜intended to inject life in a DLP,โ€™ which thousands of Barbadian now see as stale; tired and irrelevant to their reality?

Isnโ€™t this the same DLP, which announced in the 2008 Budget that it will impose a 25% (anti-sport promotion) Withholding Tax on winnings – which would essentially reduce the amount of money available to sponsor sporting events?

But, why was Irene Sandiford-Garner trying so hard, even competing with Ryan Brathwaiteโ€™ mother? Why was James Paul at that Primary School? Will Sports Minister Ester Byer-Suckoo resign from the Cabinet for snubbing Ryan Brathwaite?

What could be so important that a Minister of Sports would be out of the Island, at the time of the return of Ryan Brathwaite, especially when it was her who told Barbadians the date and time he was arriving?

Where did you go Minister of Sports Suckoo? What are the benefits of that trip to Barbados? And, was it paid for with taxpayersโ€™ money?

Having snubbed Ambassador Ryan Brathwaite, Dr. Byer Suckoo โ€“ you must now do the honourable and decent thing and resign from the Cabinet. This would be consistent with the โ€œchange,โ€ the โ€œcode of conduct,โ€ the โ€œgood governanceโ€ and the โ€œintegrityโ€ Prime Minister Thompson promised.

โ€œA Home Coming for Ryan Brathwaiteโ€ (even though a good thing) does not assure him that none of his family members or friends – will not find themselves on the bread-line, similar to the 4, 200 who have already lost their jobs, as a result of the dangerous mismanagement of the DLP. โ€œ

Ryan Brathwaite is still subjected to the DLPโ€™ high cost of living and will still get stress when travelling on the road, because the DLP cannot fix the grid lock. So you see, the biggest hurdles for Ryan Brathwaite are not those he will encounter on the track, but the dread economic policies of the DLP, which is making the very food he has to eat, more expensive.

Here is my final point. If this event was organized by Cabinet Office, the Opposition would have been invited and would have received an official invitation on time. Only the DLP knows why such an important State function, which involves public funds โ€“ was allowed to be organized by DLP Operatives. PM Thompson said invitations were sent by express mail but isnโ€™t Express mail signed for. Poor Postmen! They deserve an apology and Sports Minister Byer-Suckoo must resign.

49 responses to “Inexcusable Disrespect: A National Ceremony Vulgarised And Diminished Into A DLP Affair Paid For With State Funds”

1. Yes this matter is being fuelled by partisan positions but the truth is the Opposition should have been invited as protocol dictates. The corn beef politics needs to stop. BU has been blogging all along that there are national issues which must be dealt with on a bipartisan basis. Why do our political parties continue to polarize our small island on almost every issue?

2. An Insider Speaks Avatar

The BLP were invited to be part of this program of events and they willfully refused to partake, not a single piece of blame can be placed at the hands of the DLP but rather fully on the hands of the BLP for being so uncouth and totally disrespectful, they should be ashamed of their sick and uncouth actions.

I suppose some would suggest this is just Mottley being Mottley what a Mottley bunch of misfits and rogues and vagabonds.

3. I am with you David. The Government actions as reported in the press seems very childish. That is the story as far as I am concern, not the Minister of Sports being out of the Island.
    ————————————————–

Bit of juicy gossip compliments of the cou cou and flying fish column
    ——————————
    A RECENT MEETING has basically put all doubts to rest.

Cou Cou understands that a former general has had a meeting with the new boss and informed that individual in no uncertain terms to stop speaking on his behalf. A number of comments have been coming from the individual’s mouth, and there has been no indication that they are direct quotes.

Word is that he made it clear that he intended to go through the internal process and try to retrieve that which was once his.

Even though the news was not taken well, the listener was still gracious in accepting the details, even if it was more diplomacy than delight.

An insider who was present told Cou Cou that the old general’s decision is based on pressure from the majority and a belief that the young tyro has not lived up to expectations.

The die has been cast.

4. While I would agree that the absence of the substantive Minister of Sports for the Ryan Brathwaite celebrations is suspicious, there is nothing that says she did not have a legitimate private or Government reason to be absent during his welcome home. I would also agree that there should be more reason given for the conspicuous absence of the Opposition party (most likely represented by the Opposition Leader and perhaps the MP for Mr. Brathwaite’s home area) for what should have been a National Celebration.

5. The whole affair was more about the DLP government trying to win the seat in the constituency of St Andrew than acknowledging the greatness,and Star Quality Performance of His Excellency Ryan Brathwaite. Why would the DLP government think it in good taste to have a non head of government competenting at every stage with the ‘STAR ‘. Just political circus and mere showmanship. If Primeminister Thompson was being featured instead one might have been more inclined to accept it . Such a parade seems too political and leaves a lot to be desired.

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

I am getting really upset with you.

Why do you think that it is necessary to provide a platform for the crooked Barbados Labour Party?

They have their own newspaper, The Nation, they have VOB, they have BLP blog, they have the BLP website.

Let them stick to what they own, and talk their garbage. There ought to be no place here for them!

I have sent you emails with topics which would make very interesting threads and you refused to published them, but every day we have to endure this Barbados Labour Party hogwash.

If this continues then I would have to find somewhere else to go.

7. Alex, within your piece there are some valid points. You could even have still got your political jabs in, but to intersperse your entire article with them was distracting to whatever your main point seemed to be. It read like the rant of a political hack. No offense.

My bit on the Ryan Brathwaite thing doesn’t read like a polished gem either, but I’m pretty sick of articles like this. Deal with the issues. Where was Suckoo, away presumably on govnt business.

If you know for a fact she was not, grow a pair and say so. If you know she outrightly snubbed the guy, say so. Otherwise, sure, note her absence, but move on and focus on the MANY other issues that you can focus on.

http://flacophil.blogspot.com/2009/09/talkin-tings.html

Have a read.

8. Are we reading the BLP surrogates correctly i.e. Minister Byer-Suckoo conveniently was away to give Acting Minister Sandiford-Garner a chance in the spotlight? Isn’t that stretching it?

9. @CCC
    Thanks for your email. Bear in mind we receive daily maybe on average 10-20 emails from members of the BU family with interesting suggestions and articles for which we are very appreciative.

BU was hatched around the political intrigue which prevails in Barbados. If both political parties want to use the popularity of the blogs to promote their opinions the BU household has no problem with it. On how it is done we will continue to use our best judgment to present their arguments. Sometimes you need to trust our judgment.

The BU household does not have a paid staff to hammer out blogs like a factory would manufacture widgets. As it stands BU has set a standard where we generate at least one blog a day, occasionally two. As far as we are aware there is no Bajan blog publishing with that frequency. Let us accept that not every blog or decision we make will please you or others. We continue to thank all the members of the BU family who submit their views. This gives the BU household a chance to recharge its batteries and at the same time read other views.

10. Firstly, I don’t think it is fair to blister Dr. Byer-Suckoo without knowing the circumstances. For all we know, she could have been ill or something. Grantly, it would have been ideal for her to be present, but as I said, we don’t yet know the circumstances.

As for the BLP not coming, I have to agree with the PM on this one. Many of the business people who came and showered Braithwaite with gifts didn’t receive invitations but they came because that is where their hearts were. The M.P. for St. Andrew has NO excuse for not being there. He was in health and in the island. He himself said the reason he did not come was that he was not invited. Sure, it would have been ideal for the Opposition to have receives invitations in a timely fashion, but if you really care about Ryan Braithwaite, you would show up with everybody else in Barbados and give him his moment in the spotlight, and THEN, take the Government to task about the invitations.

It is clear that this was a political move by the BLP, and a childish one at that. You don’t need to have a red carpet rolled under you to honour someone. The focus doesn’t have to be on you, but the person being honoured. In my honest view, it is the BLP who dishonoured Ryan Brathwaite but indicating with their absence that they are too “big-up” to celebrate his achievements with the masses.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not leaving the DLP blameless, but the most important thing was to show up at the event for the sake of the person being honoured, especially the M.P. and you they could have blistered whoever AFTERwards. If you REALLY want to honour somebody, honour them, then fight.

11. @GoWeb

You are not separating the issues.

Agree with you the DLP team could have made a statement by entering the Oval together and sitting at the back of the crowd. In Mottley’s position BU would have so advised.

The action or inaction of the DLP does not excuse the fact that protocol required at such an event the government should have ensured the invitations to the BLP side were delivered in a timely manner. The timely explanation to Barbadians of Minister Byer-Suckoo’s whereabouts is a legit concern. Remember the DLP is a government promoting change, FOI and the lot. Finally, taxpayers dollars were spent which makes the decisions taken by government in His Excellency Ambassador Ryan Brathwaite’s tribute relevant.

12. @David

I think you mean the BLP could have made a statement.

As for the issue of absence, has anyone even seen Minister Byer-Suckoo since the celebration? Call me forgiving but I just cannot fathom her not being present if there wasn’t a VERY good reason. In any case, an announcement should have been made explaining and apologizing for her absence by the person acting in her place, at the said event. That is the first things the acting Minister should have addressed.

As for the issue of invitations, the PM seems to be blaming the whole thing on the Postal service, implying that once they mailed them, they were no longer their responsibility. More information would be required, like WHEN they were mailed. I get the impression that all the invitations were mailed together but I’d like that clarified too, because it seems fishy that if all the invitations were mailed together that only a particular group would not have received theirs. Also, I’d like to know if the BLP acknowledges receipt of the invitations after the event or if they have vanished into thin air. There are so many unclear pieces to the puzzle.

Lastly, I would like to think that if the Leader of the Opposition showed up without an invitation she would be allowed access to the VIP section.

13. How do you motivate The Voiceless One George Pain if he wanted nothing to do with it because he had no money to waste in this program, the problem here is that Pain saw this as event that would cost him from his pocket, sad time for a hopeless George Pain

14. An Insider Speaks Avatar

How do you motivate The Voiceless One George Pain if he wanted nothing to do with it because he had no money to waste in this program, the problem here is that Pain saw this as event that would cost him from his pocket, sad time for a hopeless George Pain

15. An Insider Speaks Avatar

Stand by more licks are around the corner for Mottey, Marshall and Arthur.

Corruption and the corrupt coming to light on by one.

16. Stand by lights, action camera Danos, Arthur, Mottley and Marshall, Adventures coming to your TV near you soon.
    What a corrupt bunch of bastards.

17. This is so silly that it is unbelievable.When will our politicians grow up and recognize that it is a country with thousands of people living in it that those jokers have the responsibility to look after.

This Ryan Brathwaite event was organized in a haphazard manner.The invitation cards & envelopes were purchased from Straker Marketing on Bay Street on Tuesday two days before the actual event.Staff at government headquarters worked late into the nights of Tuesday & Wednesday getting those invitations ready.In addition messengers at the government headquarters worked overtime in trying to deliver invitation to specially invited guest.The event was not properly organized.

There are more pertinent issues affecting Barbados that I am sure we should be more concern with than a blasted unnecessarily event.
    I think we should be more concern with the predictions of Mr Persaud the international economist who indicated that the next 6 months are going to perilous for Barbados.I also believe that state of the Barbados economy is more of an issue than any social event.

There is some disturbing activity that is about to happen at the Barbados Hilton where a substantial number of Hilton employeees is about to lose their jobs or will work short hours despite the Barbados Hilton having a relative successful year.The retrenchment of Hilton workers is taking place despite the government allocating 25 million dollars of Barbados tax payers money to protect jobs in the hotel industry.

Critical issues such as the economy,job losses,immigration,crime & health should be the issues that Barbadians should be concerned with instead of a damn unneccessarily event .

18. alex ferguson, BLP pimp, there you go again.

19. @ Joke Politician

I can’t agree that the event was unnecessary. If there wasn’t one, people would have been very upset. You need to make your own feel special when it’s warranted.

I can agree that the after-fuss is not the most important of issues, but you know Barbadians. They may not be ,big on action, but when they’re no happy they talk about it.

20. Alex Ferguson wrote “Ryan Brathwaite …will still get stress when travelling on the road, because the DLP cannot fix the grid lock”

But Alex how can the DLP (or the BLP) fix the grid lock when we Bajans are so in love with car ownership?

We Bajans are a bunch ofy low class people walk or catch the bus.

And then we expect that a political party can fix the grid lock.

Stupse!!!.

It ain’t going to happen.

Remember when a certain BLP politician said that every Bajan family should have a car a the door.

Wel the dream (or nightmare) has come true.

It is called gridlock.

We got exactly what we deserve.

21. CORRECTION: 3rd sentence above should read:

We Bajans are a bunch of poor great poppets who think that only low class people walk or catch the bus.

22. David you ask “Why do our political parties continue to polarize our small island on almost every issue?”

Because both the BLP and the DLP have over-full quotas of yardies who are willing to do anything their masters demand.

Sad, sad but true.

23. Ales Ferguson wrote “Will Sports Minister Ester Byer-Suckoo resign from the Cabinet for snubbing Ryan Brathwaite?”

Well Mr. Brathwaite wasn’t snubbed. And I doubt very much that he felt snubbed.

I bet ya $100 that nobody i’n going resign.

I bet ya another $100 that Ryan Brathwaite ain’t give a rat’s a*s whether a cabinet minister turn up at a ceremony or not, or whether cabinet minister “a” or cabinet minister “b” turned up. I bet ya $5 that the young man would rather have gone home a lay down cross his bed, after all that hard trainig, that steller performance and that long journey home. The damn ceremony was way, way too looonnnnggggg.

Why the a*s we have to have such long public ceremonies for?

After about 2 hours the damn things become as boring as hell.

J not a BLP yardie.
    J not a DLP yardie.

24. David wrote “Minister Byer-Suckoo conveniently was away to give Acting Minister Sandiford-Garner a chance in the spotlight”

Good.

Plain as day. Even to a blind man on a trotting horse, or whatever the metaphor is.

25. This is why like to read the comments section under these posts. It really gets you thinking. The yet-to-be-explained absence of the Minister of Sports leading to an Acting Minister of Sports in the form of Irene Sandiford-Garner, who gets lots of photo-ops during the National Celebration, just happens to be the losing candidate in the January 2008 elections in the same constituency that Ryan Brathwaite hails from. Hmm… Another point- while yes, the BLP hierarchy could have turned up and sat somewhere in the back of Kensington or stood at the side of the road as all Barbadians were invited to, proper protocol for a taxpayer-funded National Event does dictate that they should be formally and properly invited and treated with appropriate decorum. If the BLP were in power, I would expect respectful treatment of the DLP in this matter also. We have to be careful of the messages that are being sent by our elected officials to the young and impressionable of our society with regards to how people are accorded respect.

26. I called it a spade from day one. This piece of HH (the guru) political advise was in poor taste and Barbadians should call it what it is.

27. I find it hard to believe that the opposition was not invited to participate in the occasion that highlighted Ryan Braithwaithe’s greatest acheivement. I just find it hard to believe.

28. Things were done ineffectively and in poor taste of the event. Why was there any need to have any other minister other than the PM speaking and further more highlighted/spotlighted. The event was suppose to be about Ryan and we saw more about politicians. But can we separate ignorance from common sense?

29. Invitations should have been sent out well inadvance of te event. There is no logical excuse for he late delivery of invitations. However, to write such nonsense about the Mnister of Sports is just as pathetic. The Ministry of Sports was well represented at the event and that’s th important issue, not the personality. Just as tasteless is the behavior of the MP for St Andrew.
    Why can’t they just congratulate the young champion and leave the silly politics out of it?

Hey, did he thousands of people at Kensington receive special invitations?
    Give me a break.

30. ONE TERM FOR DLP

They are not worthy another term
    They are too divisive
    They are still electioneering /2 008
    They have silenced David Estwick

31. This is an old, lame debate. When David Thompson missed one Independence parade, they said he was unpatriotic and disrespected national symbols. Who remembers the brouhaha then?

Who remembers the first Emancipation March to Bussa when the Opposition DLP was not invited, but the public and media said they should attend – the event was not one to stand on ceremony? Harold Hoyte, Roxanne Gibbs – the whole lot of them cried shame on David Thompson. The BLP government organised it!

My memory is very good. David Thompson and the DLP held a procession to the Errol Barrow statue and Owen Arthur said he politicised the event and that it was sick. All that happened is that David Thompson’s short speech received thunderous applause and the BLP attempt to use Errol Barrow back-fired!

Get real … all national events have political significance. No national event caters to the opposition.

The only draw back for this event was that Irene Sandiford-Garner over-did it. It was too crass.

But Mia Mottley and George Payne have treated a humble Mount Hillaby hero from a dirt-poor background, with scorn.

Remember Obadele had to better qualifications: His father was a Guyanese (BLP currying favour) and he went to Harrison College.

32. The only difference between Thompson & Mia is their width, BLP & DLP are Tweedledumb & Tweedledumber!

Barbados needs a genuine new party not SOMASS-FREEDEM who just bans taxes and has no thought for infrastructure (the Rasta joker was at EBCCI when Avinash Persaud spoke the other night, surprised he did not deliver a long speech like he does here) but a genuine force to be reckoned with, who will apportion land issues on MERIT not backside kissing; look at revising tax structures based on performance not what looks good for votes; give an annual Prospectus of where taxpayers monies have been used to develop this once great country!

As it is right now, I stand by what I said – Mia and Thompson are two old hens on different sides of the trough! In fact, I hear Denis Lowe is also D-Lowe and dodging bailiffs for mounting bad debts. But Kerrie Symmonds resigns for some tattered car seats, tsk-tsk!

33. Downlow? Not now, ever since, me dear… He also has been avoiding creditors for a long time, his boyfriend’s tired of bailing ‘her’ out!

34. ONE TERM FOR DAVID THOMPSON AND HIS GOONS

ONE TERM !

35. (the Rasta joker was at EBCCI when Avinash Persaud spoke the other night,
    ——————–>>>

TAKE BACK THAT COMMENT NOW !

36. Re – “(the Rasta joker was at EBCCI when Avinash Persaud spoke the other night,
    โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€“

TAKE BACK THAT COMMENT NOW !

Freedom of Speech, remember? NO! Up yours, in fact, he was a STUPID Rasta Joker with all the political savvy of a flea-turd ๐Ÿ˜›

37. I think we’re all missing Linnear’s point, it seems many on both BLP and DLP are of a bulling nature? This has led to not not only crooked sex but crooked deals.

It is well known that Mia has a certain lifestyle, and many think Thompson and Parris follow that trend in the down-Lowe way… But Linnear is privy to new details that the Environment Minister follows a similar path?

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_3CpEjO6-lU&hl=en&fs=1&color1=0xcc2550&color2=0xe87a9f]

38. @ Micah

The same Irene Sandiford who as acting Minister of Agriculture went up White Hill, ST.ANDREW with CBC in tow, to ahighlight the land slippage problems being faced by the residents. She promised relocation, yet a year later the issue still in the news.

39. **Adviser to the President** Avatar
    **Adviser to the President**

Whoever is advising my girl Irene
    step aside because I am coming for the job

40. Wuh who is this Avinash Persaud???? This economic soothsayer playing it safe with his SIX MONTH prediction.

41. Irene Sandiford did a great job for Ryan’s homecoming CELEBRATIONS and by the next three years….(Tuesday 15th January, 2013…Election Day) she will be the duly elected representative of St. Andrew.

42. So the parade was really for the home town girl and not the World Class Ryan Brathwaite.

43. I thought that the Prime Minister was the only person to announce an election date. Wait I forget who is the Prime Minister of BARBADOS.

44. who is the Prime Minister of BARBADOS

45. Elections can be called anytime now.

The truth is – the only thing the DLP will be doing from now until March 31, 2009 – will be paying salaries and wages.

Next financial year 2010-2011, the DLP will have to cut Expenditure even further.

So for all of financial year (2010-2011) the DLP will again – only be able to pay salaries and wages.

Government as we know it, has ground to a hault. The only logical thing for the DLP to do – is call elections or hold on to power so that as many would say – the DLP operatives can fill-up at the trough.

But then there is the question of those painful IMF recommendations.

Here is what the DLP is considering all now: Call elections and hope to win so that the DLP can then place Barbados in the hip-pocket of the IMF 0r (2) call election and hope to lose and then critice the BLP during its first 100 days in office – when it will have to clean-up the DLP mess.

Either way, base on what I read on the IMF website, Barbados is in serious trouble.

46. To Alex Fergusson…..Can you tell us how come in a time of plenty…..your BLP gov’t took up 50 million dollars of taxpayers money……yet GREENLAND cannot receive a bag of garbage 10 years LATER !

How come in a time of plenty…..when Anthony Wood told Barbadians water rates must be increased….some 10 years ago Owen Arthur (the Economic guru) told the country…NO !

How come in a time of plenty….the NHC failed to build 50 houses….yet in a recessionary period the DLP gov’t have built over 300 houses !

Yes……Bajans proved they were smarter than you dumb BLPites on 15th January , 2008.

47. By the way Alex Fergusson…..do not pray for the next elections to be called !

The amount of filth we have uncovered since January 2008……is a cesspool in comparison to the cheques we displayed at Haggatt Hall!

Tek it from me…….I am here preparing the video clips right now…!

This information gine mek Mia Mottley smile al the way to the bank>>>!

48. @2009

You sure about that, HH?

49. Who is Audrey Cox ??????? Please let me know