Not since Obadele Thompson’s bronze medal performance at the Sydney Olympics has Barbados had reason to celebrate the performance of our sportsmen on the world scene. Brathwaite’s performance this evening to win Gold in the 110 metre hurdles given the vacuum created by our non-performing Barbados and West Indies cricket teams has served to feed the hunger of Barbadians for success from our sports people.

The twenty year old Brathwaite’s performance on the big stage is sure to inspire young Barbadians everywhere that all is possible. Not to be left out are our local officials who can take comfort in the knowledge we have the capacity to produce a world class athlete with home grown talent.

Brathwaite’s success will have other benefits to the country given our reliance on tourism and international services. The respected Barbados brand will continue to take root.

Yella, blue! Yella blue! Yella blue!

Congratulations Ryan!

1. Mash up & Buy Back Avatar
    Mash up & Buy Back

Ryan

We are soooooo proud of you.

We are walking with our heads held high.

2. Congratulations to Ryan Brathwaite for a no doubt very hard earned victory. Now when will the announcers learn that the correct pronunciation for the name “Brathwaite” is “Braffit”. (just kidding)

3. Ryan Brathwaite, as one of many fellow Barbadians/Bajans, we are so proud of you.

4. A couple of questions:

Why was this race not televised by CBC? Brathwaite’s recent performances would have clued all to the fact he would medal.

Why did VOB call Sir Othniel Cow Williams for comment immediately after the race?

5. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

Congratulations to Ryan and all those who in any way contributed to his success. I am urging Barbadians to reflect on the common threads among Ryan, Andrea, Obadele, Suki, and all other persons who achieved at the height of their endeavours. I leave with you my observations: determination, commitment, and a strong will to challenge self. These are values that cut across life if you want to achieve. Sacrifice becomes a motor for personal motivation. Do not blame others and take responsibility for self. I am proud of Ryan, and my hopes are raised with the responses of persons around the Caribbean about our successes.

6. @ David…

.. Because CBC is pure crap. All along this guy was steadily improving, I had him for the silver because of the class of the Cuban.When I realised the Cuban was out, I said GOLD, needles to say I was laughed at ……until this afternoon.

My problem with CBC is that they missed a grand opportunity to highlight his career all week long, which would have made it fitting for the result.

As for VOB calling Cow……not even going to comment on that other than to nod my head.

Best wishes to him now and in the future.

7. THE HISTORY MAN
    Ryan you have brought great honour to Barbados with this unprecedented victory. You have rewritten the history book with this historic victory. All of Barbados would like to pay homage to you for this great victory, which is like medicine to a nation in turmoil. In life and in death your name will forever remain a part of this country’s great history. Congratulations and thank you.

8. @David
    “Why was this race not televised by CBC? Brathwaite’s recent performances would have clued all to the fact he would medal.”

Very good David. Would you believe that the Government is going to parliament for the sum of $135,000 to pay for the olympics they have not yet paid for?

Would you also believe that it only costs 9,000USD to carry the games live for the eight days? Now that is news and they in the news business, yet they could pay somebody $100,000 to run their CBC socaholics promotions and that ain’t news.

As for COW. He is the godfather of Barbados and no doubt he will ride on Ryan’s success the same way he did Obadele and others. I suppose we will hear how much he did for Barbados too. Ask him how much he gave so Brathwaite could get to the games?

That is why VOB called COW because they know his MO.

9. Congratulations to Ryan Brathwaite on his victory.

10. Ryan Brathwaite well done! Hope there is a motocade when you return, but please no naming of any streets or buildings until after another twenty years!

COW Williams, part of the legacy of Lodge School. Don’t mek mah laff!

11. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Congratulations to Ryan for the win AND NATIONAL RECORDS in final and semis. It was a mad crowd who found full live coverage in Bubba’s. Nice win to set along side Bolt’s win/WR in the 200M and Melaine Walker’s win in 400M Hurdles, with Championship record.
    “Why was this race not televised by CBC? Brathwaite’s recent performances would have clued all to the fact he would medal”[Aha, this sad tale…You have not been following. Should have been fixed months ago. Dare I say ‘should’ and ‘do’ remain distant friends. Only 3 countres, o/w one Jamaica took up the feed that CMC had bought–giving full coverage from 2-3am our time. I’ve vented about it already.]

12. "*Adviser to the President*" Avatar
    “*Adviser to the President*”

ADVICE TO RYAN : GO FOR THE GOLD

13. "*Adviser to the President*" Avatar
    “*Adviser to the President*”

CBC is better these days

14. Johnny Postle @ Avatar

Gaw Lidee, we got gold people. We got gold. For the first time as far as I know, I gine get to her we national anthem by the podium. Hahaha can imagine that we national anthem. I hope that this boy gets the red carpet treatment and a few million dollars waiting for he when he comes home. After all he deserves it more than crooked politicians wasted laundering projects.

15. Congrats young man. Can just imagine how he’s feeling now, not to mention his family.
    I know that COW will give him his own
    ‘piece a de rock’ and he will also throw in a nice house for good measure.

Blue, yellow and black, put it up, put it up.

16. My heart is fairly bursting with pride. Congrats to all who made it possible for this young man to excell.

Congrats to you Ryan Brathwaite. Bajans at home and abroad are walking tall today.

17. Congratulations are in order big time. There is a saying, “the race is not for the fast or the swift but for he who endureth to the end.”

Well, this time around, the race was for the fast, the swift and for our own Brathwaite who endure to the end. Hip hip, hooray!!

Dey aint a bajan hearing of his victory dat ent as proud as a peacock tonite.

“Perseverance seldom fails.”

18. Pat,
    Nitey-nite, I is he personal trainer?Wah you wanna bet? I cudda gone fa de gold too but ROK is enuff gold fa me soul.

Sapidillo
    Ya in lie.

19. An excellent performance by Ryan Brathwaite!

To be honest I was worried because there seemed to be such a short period between the semi finals in which he worked hard and won.

The finals were so exciting and nail biting as they took so long to make the decision.

It’s fantastic news for Barbados, who needs a little uplift at the moment.

Congratulations again to Ryan and congratulations to all the Caribbean athletes who are out in Berlin doing the whole Caribean proud. It’s our time!

As for CBC shame! They missed out on an excellent opportunity. To be honest its no surprise, there’s very little to watch on that channel at the moment, repeats, repeats, repeats. Thank goodness for the internet….

20. We feel so good, we feel so good, we feel so ****-**** good

21. Congratulations to Ryan Brathwaite a job well done and to have done it of all places at the “Berlin Stadium”; a place of great significance to those who follow athletics, Brilliant!

22. What a race!!! Brathwaite really made up some ground after hitting the first hurdle. Bajans at home and in the diaspora are proud tonight.

Kudos to all the other Caribbean esp. Bolt & Co. who have done well at the Worlds

23. It was reported that in any interview with Ryan yesterday that he said once he makes it to the finals, no-one will be ahead of him at the finish. This is the determination which seperates winners from losers. That spirit was shown here in this race, after hitting the first hurdle, he lost some ground but all he could have seen was the finish and NO-ONE would get their before him. You could see the determination in every stride. Congrats, my HONOURED “SON”, you have made Barbados and bajans all over this planet and beyond PROUD. You deserve whatever alcolades are given to you. I hope that other potential successful young bajan realise that they too can excell. Once I’m around when you return, I’ll be one of many lining the streets to welcome you home. Something happening and it’s so exciting, I see flags in the air, I see Bajan flags everywhere’ Why? because our HERO has returned. Take a bow Allwyn

24. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

You may want to cross threads to the ‘Purge the psyche’ thread and see discussion on the income/GDP potential from winning.

Barbados needs to look to see if it can apply lessons from the singular senior level success of Ryan Brathwaite. I wrote critically about the way that Shane Brathwaite (Junior World Decathlon Champion, 2007) was being treated. That story warrants an update.

Those not familiar with track and field and how Jamaica has developed that over decades (eg with the Champs/high school athletics meets) may find it worth while to study.

Sport development is a medium term program that needs serious study and implementation at the personal and infrastructural level. It is also a matter of national priorities, and one needs to ask if it is one in general (or with some clear particulars) for Barbados. Sport tourism, for instance, is a better product if it taps into and develops local sport development.

25. Phew! That was close but, ‘very well done, young man’!!

26. The only sad thing is that a lot of nincompoops here are going to bask in the lime light that he has created and in so doing continue to mask a lot of the nonsense that continues to happen with the treatment of our athletes and artistes who seek international exposure.

I wonder how much money is spent sending Politicians and public (and indeed private) servants overseas and about the returns that are derived from such efforts by way of international exposure and foreign exchange?

27. In a few instances the blog has gone into the direction of personal attacks; this is most regrettable as it does not encourage reasoned debate.

It is noticeable how some individuals never miss an opportunity for the

…”I have done refrain”

and constant self-promotion. Restating of their assumed self-importance. Those who have “really achieved” let others make statements to acclaim, there
    is no need for self-promotion.

28. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Views differ, that’s clear, and sometimes it’s a reflection of nationality or culture, but of course could be other things.

At last year’s Olympics, the president of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) Jacques Rogge (Belgian) criticized Bolt for his public displays during his winning his events, saying “You can’t do that. That’s not the way we perceive being a champion.” Interestingly, the president of the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF), Lamine Diack (Senegalese), disagreed with Rogge’s comments about the behaviour of Bolt after the Jamaican’s world record races at the Olympics, saying such occasions merit extraordinary celebrations.

Jamaica’s PM, Bruce Golding, publicly disagreed with Rogge, see http://www.cananews.net/news/131/ARTICLE/29057/2008-08-24.html. He talked about pure red eye and ‘grudgefulness’. He said “Some people just feel that kind of glory doesn’t belong to a little country like Jamaica. Tell dem to tek weh demself (Tell them to take away themselves).”

Now Rogge and Diack had each had sporting glory–very different, but glory.

It was noticeable that Rogge’s comments were echoed at the time by a few American commentators, who seemed to have forgotten how their winners had behaved over many decades, and continued to behave on the Olympic track and in the swimming pool.

Rogge was also very silent when his countrywoman, Tia Hellebaut, later won the women’s high jump. (I won’t go into whether or not she is from the same linguistic group as Rogge, or if they are opposing each other in that small country of Belgium.) She showed in her performances before, and after, she won, how a champion should act. She pumped her fist and pointed her fingers to the sky after she cleared a good height. Not a Bolt-en stance, but equally clear that she had dominated her rivals.

For those who wish to read my views on this differential treatment they can search for Rogge on my blog.

I hope that Ryan does not keep his light under a bushel. I would not expect his countrymen to downplay his success with a very muted welcome home.

Things done well should be recognized. However, I wonder what would have been the reaction in Barbados yesterday and after, if the event had not been broadcast. Better still, if Ryan had just come back to living in Barbados and carried on as if nothing had happened in Berlin.

I sense that every Bajan and as far as I know most if not all Caribbeans are so proud of Ryan as to burst into tears. I’m glad that I know what he did. It can be an inspiration. Those who don’t know may be told. Those who don’t like what he did? I don’t know what to say.

Jacques Rogge? He suffered a lot of blistering attacks on his views including being urged to focus on getting his own house in order (the corrupt IOC) and not on criticizing the athletes that make his job possible. He has been awfully quiet since last summer.

Bolt? He seems to just keep on doing what he does well.

29. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

For those interested, The Economist wrote an article about this time last year that showed animal aggression behaviour is normal for someone who is on top and that displays of pride and shame are ‘hard-wired’ (see “Victory is mine”, http://www.economist.com/science/displaystory.cfm?story_id=11919409).

30. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

To watch World Champs online live:
    http://www.channelsurfing.net/watch-iaaf-world-championships.html
    OR
    http://www.fromsport.com/

I have tried both and they work.

31. For those who are “on top” present position displays no evidence of that.

32. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Interesting that despite frustration and anger being expressed publicly about the lack of TV coverage since last weekend, it takes a week to clear the air, http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/CMC-say-copy-for-web.

I guess now that the nation has really felt the pain of not having the sights, the possible fall guys want to make clear who should fall.

CMC director Patrick Cozier said: “CMC secured the rights for the Caribbean and on-sell these rights to the local television broadcasters in each country. In the case of Barbados, CBC did not purchase the rights for the event and hence no broadcast of the event on local television.” There you have it.

33. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Just to let minds think about what being publicly spirited means.

Given that television access was not available in Barbados, it would have taken little for someone, better still a public agency, to highlight that it was freely available on the Internet.

It could even have been possible to set up a ‘screening’ area taking a feed via a computer. However, my understanding is that there may be copyright issues with re-broadcast (as was noted during Cricket World Cup), but private viewing is ok.

Was it a case of ‘eyes not on the prize’? Truth be told, many tried and failed to find Internet coverage, and it took a friend’s close contact with a former media honcho now living in Bim to unearth some of the links posted above.

34. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Yardbroom // August 21, 2009 at 5:36 AM
    “For those who are “on top” present position displays no evidence of that”[Much of economics is about the study of ‘turning points’; more broadly, one can also look at ‘tipping points’ as studied by Malcolm Gladwell). They are usually clear after they have passed, by when people are getting adjusted to the new situation.

You see it clearly in Barbados with immigration. The turning point was sometime ago, now the country is struggling to deal with aspects of a new status quo. Some wish to turn things back; others can manage to deal with the new situation. The balance of these different positions will determine the next phase. And so on.

The US attitude to being displaced in track and field as supreme-ish #1 has been interesting. Disbelief (actually they had not cared to look before). Suspicion (how could this be possible?, we have 300 million, they have 3 million. Accusations of foul play (even though they had lots of huge skeletons). Attempts to discredit. Interest in what could have been behind the development. [Gradual?] acceptance of new status quo. Dealing with consolidation of new status quo.

Bolt doing what he did in Beijing again in Berlin has been met by some very, very different American reactions. Europeans love it as they do not like much US claims on world dominance. The fact that other Caribbeans emulated Bolt/Jamaica in Beijing and that that continues in Berlin will raise eyebrows again. That may be new for Barbados so the country should look at how Ja. and TT have dealt with it, at least as a guide. It also shows that there is something special in the region at least in this field, and that is worth understanding and building upon.

35. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Not the best image from the finish line, but maybe better than nothing for posterity, http://www.twitpic.com/ep5mg

36. @ LivinginBarbados

Thanks very much for the links.

I was one of the people looking all over the internet and asking everybody for one, but couldn’t find any.

Would have loved to see that race live.

Don’t mind you get your licks on this blog. You does tek them like a man.

Thanks again.

37. Young Mr.Brathwaite, well done indeed.

Amazing, given the challenges that any athlete, yet alone one from an island nation, has to face.

May the Almighty go always with you.

I would take the opportunity to request that Government AND the private sector, assess what support or lack thereof, is given to Barbadian athletes and sports teams.

Sports are an integral part of any national psyche, building individual strength of character and community strength, ties among athletes, stakeholders and the community.

Anyway, enough of that, this moment belongs to the Golden Boy.

Peace

38. The People’s Democratic Congress (PDC) joins with throngs of Barbadians, inside and outside of our country, in celebrating Mr. Ryan Braithwaite’s gold medal winning performance in the 110 metres hurdles at the IAAF’s World Athletic Championships in Berlin, Germany yesterday.

This Barbadian’s victory was simply momentous, extraordinary, and unprecedented. For, never before in the history of Barbados’ participation in any athletic championships at the highest level has Barbados been done so proud than through Ryan’s amazing but stellar achievement.

Indeed, his victory must be seen as a victory for all Barbadians, and does show that through the proper harnessing of one’s God given talents, through the correctness of discipline and character in whatever exploits, through the ardence of dedication and commitment to a regime of training and conditioning, and through ample exposure to the right conditions, et al, world class excellence and world class standards can be achieved by any person in Barbados in whatever fields of endeavour.

Verily, some of us in the PDC and some of us who have long been small business people on Bolton Lane, the City – Gregory, Joel, Curtis, Jeffrey, Ormond, Mark, Ricky Shanka, Wayne, and most of ALL Paul of Pee Jay’s Jewellery – remember and admire the humbleness, the pleasantness and politeness of manner and the ability of Ryan to listen to our encouragement, as being among some of the outstanding characteristics that Ryan ever so often displayed as an up coming young men’s national hurdler at the Lestern Vaughn Secondary School.

And, therefore, what a complete joy it has been for the Bolton Lane crew and so many others around Barbados to see Ryan match those wonderful characteristics with tremendous improvements in his hurdling times and techniques and performances. Thus, yesterday achievement was like the icing on the cake, so to speak.

Well, to ALL those who would have been supporting him over the years in whatever ways – his family, friends, mentors, coaches, here and overseas, sponsors, here and over seas, and to all other connections of his, we in PDC say to you that you have altogether greatly helped to develop another Barbadian world champion.

Finally, to Ryan, we say thanks for making Barbados proud and we urge you to continue growing from strength to strength and to as much as possible treasure the benefits of your success.

Indeed, we in Barbados do look forward to a great welcome home.

Bless Up!

39. We heard Minister Suckoo making the expected statements in the aftermath of the Brathwaite victory, have we not heard it all before when Oba did his thing in 2000? Barbadians need to start demanding more of the people we place in public office. In the same vein the ex-pat at CBC MUST be made to explain why the ‘moment’ of Brathwaite winning in Berlin was not seen live by children home on holiday and Barbadians everywhere. This is what we mean when we talk about the deficit in the psyche of our nation. In Jamaica etc this decision would have been a no-brainer, and we muse about moving to world class.

It is not only an economic objective but the social factors must flow hand in had.

40. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

As you know, I usually send you by e-mail things of general interest/use. But let me send this one direct to this thread. I have not tried it (as I am not using Windows at the moment), so perhaps you test first and double check.

Here’s a link WavePad, which can download streams and then save them
    for you in a couple of formats, but it’s more useful as an all round
    audio editor
    http://www.nch.com.au/components/wpsetup.exe

Perhaps users can offer feed back.

41. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Sea Cat
    “Don’t mind you get your licks on this blog. You does tek them like a man.”[My main concern is that views are symmetrical. If something looks or sounds bad in one place then why does it not get the same reaction elsewhere or with other utterances/commentators. If one does a search on certain profanities etc. the results are very revealing. The attitudes to those (mainly silence) are also revealing.

All I try to be is consistent. I’m often wrong. I also try to pin what I say to things that are concrete or people; that’s how you establish if they actually took place/are correctly reported–you can check. Perhaps that’s novel to some or not possible for others. I cannot say. It’s implicating others in order to corroborate. Any body can make a statement that has no underpinning.

42. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

You know my general attitude to the typos/semantics, so this is just 2 birds with one stone.

“In the same vain the ex-pat at CBC MUST be made to explain why the ‘moment’ of Brathwaite winning in Berlin was not seen life by children home on holiday and Barbadians everywhere”[‘vein’ (not vain); ‘live’ (not life). The implication is that if it were not an ‘ex-pat’ the outcome would have been different. If not, then drop the adjective. One could otherwise look behind and point to Minister Suckoo’s husband. I’m not sure that’s fair or right. CBC is a corporation–government owned too, not a one person show. Let’s deal with the institution not a person. Otherwise, you have to go to who appointed the person…]

43. @LIB

Thanks for picking up errors but like many when we write comments we do it free writing style.

Lars is in there to make day to day decisions, it is highly unlikely the decision to broadcast Berlin/Brathwaite race was a board or ministerial decision. If it were one could question why do we need management with the credentials of Lars. The not too subtle point we want to make is, a Barbadian or Caribbean person would have seized this moment given its importance to a small nation. Don’t let us get tied up in semantics.

44. livinginbarbados // August 21, 2009 at 7:13 AM
    …CBC is a corporation–government owned too, not a one person show. Let’s deal with the institution not a person. …”
    ————————————————–I have to agree with you 110%

I could understand that many Caribbean people in Bim, especially Bajans would be disappointed that the race was not shown on the one and only TV station at the moment in time. However, thank goodness that the race is available in case they want to see (after the fact) via the internet and other media.

Could it be that CBC did not see any big deal in showing the race because they did not have enough confidence in the Barbados team, and never thought that their athletes could have pulled off such a victory?

Just speculation on my part.

45. Wishing In Vain Avatar

I would like to take this opportunity to say a hearty congrats to this young man for his massive performance he has does the island very proud.

46. Imagine many BAJANS, in Barbados missed seeing FOR THE FIRST TIME a bajan standing in the NUMBER ONE position at a world games and listen to the BARBADOS NATIONAL ANTHEM being played. What do you expect? The manager at our CBC; NO BAJAN. This feat didn’t happen “out of the blue”, the young man was destined to medal and there is no excuse why the whole of Barbados should not have been given the chance to witness history in the making. We need a manager who is patriotic, not some foreigner who is just doing a job, a poor one at that

47. The Scout // August 21, 2009 at 8:06 AM
    “We need a manager who is patriotic, not some foreigner who is just doing a job… ”

It could be that you have answered part of my curiosity. Something just did not make sense but couldn’t seem to put my finger on it.

48. Some people just out of touch. Foreigness and success and care for team do not exclude one another. Look at English Premier League, National Team, etc. Ancellotti (Chelsea), Benitez( Liverpool), Ferguson-Scottish (Man U), Ericsson (England team). Scolari-Brazilain (Portugal team) etc. Small mindedness gine kill you all. Only we can deal with we? We so hard to control? Do better than this. You really don’t want the best, right. You just want to do it yu self.

49. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@David: CBC/Lars. Why state what you do? Call and ask. Pin him to a statement or lack of one. Why throw mud and not do some basic investigating. Surely some one can call and engage. Now we will have discussion based on assertion. Same old. That is not a good route, I think. If you have the backing for the assertion then lay it on the table.

50. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@David, turn your assertion re Lars onto Hal Austin at FT in London. It looks good? My tongue in cheek point about Brits in Bim finds resonance in your kind of analyis. If non Caribbeans so fly get them all out should be the cry.