Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur

Over the weekend former Prime Minister Owen Arthur was very vocal in his criticism about how the current government has been managing the economy. If we are to accept the political arguments that an opposition must oppose then Arthur is on good ground.

When Arthur vacated office on January 16, 2008 at the request of the people, he indicated he would serve out his term as Member of Parliament for St. Peter. The impression given at the time suggested Arthur would be closing the last chapter on his political career.  The fact Arthur rarely attends parliamentary debates which he has has deemed to be a porakey affair is fodder for another blog.

The precarious perch which the Barbados economy currently finds itself, wrought by the global downturn not seen since the second world war, creates the opportunity for a political bipartisanship approach. Barbados has already demonstrated through the triumvirate social partnership we are not oppose to creating pioneering pathways to finding solutions to problems. This is no time for our best brains to be involved in hardcore political gamesmanship.

Despite political affiliations most Barbadians if asked continue to hold former Prime Minister Arthur in high regard. Arthur’s economic background which stretches back to his Jamaica experience combined with his long tenure as Prime Minister of Barbados represents an opportunity for Barbados to leverage that experience and expertise to help counter the current economic challenges.

The ready interpretation by Barbadians given his recent outbursts that former Prime Minister Arthur is not a patriot and would place politics before country is unacceptable. Why should a former Prime Minister said to be serving out his last term in parliament engage in a wholly partisan line when the country expects more? Arthur is no ordinary Member of Parliament, he is a former Prime Minister! BU has only one answer to explain Arthurs posture which he continues to demonstrate, Arthur’s political ambition remains burning as brightly as ever.

Prime Minister David Thompson did suggest while in opposition that many of our national problems can be solved over a bowl of wanton soup, maybe a Bajan breakfast is more alluring Mr. Arthur?

1. The Henry article covers the same subject matter as this blog. We have posted in the comments section for obvious reasons.

It is amazing, the number of persons who, like myself, reacted with disdain in response to Owen Arthur’s self righteous advice on matters of the economy this past weekend.

Owen Arthur was invited by the Prime Minister of Barbados to serve on a panel of eminent persons to assess and strategize on the future direction of this country’s economy. The concept of a breakfast summit was conceived and articulated by David Thompson in the last budget debate, to give persons like Owen Arthur an opportunity to input and help shape future economic policies, particularly in the current economic environment, where we seek to navigate uncharted waters.

Arthur was invited in his capacity as a former Minister of Finance. So too were Sir Lloyd Erskine Sandiford and Sir Richard Christopher Haynes. The latter is ailing but, reportedly, communicated his very best wishes to the panel and his willingness to serve in any practical capacity. Sir Lloyd, though busy preparing for his Ambassadorial stint in China, unhesitatingly said ‘yes’ to the call to national duty.

Fresh from national embarrassment over his near-miss from speaking in the budget debate, Arthur characteristically rejected the invitation to be elevated to the status of statesman. He could today be sitting around a table with Barbados’ best brains inputting on where we go from here as a nation. Rather, he prefers, whenever he sees the specter of irrelevancy staring him in the face, to mount his soap box in a corner of St. Peter and bear forth to members of the ‘how great thou art chorale’. Somebody needs to point out to Arthur that that chorale is not growing in size or stature. It comprises the dwindling few who still can find no fault in him.

No serious person is going to listen to an individual who clearly is unwilling or unable to raise his game to the required standard. You cannot expect to be listened to if your agenda is not known or is known to be not motivated by national concerns or considerations. Even though, in the heat of a Parliamentary debate, the assurance was given that there would be no future shot at the leadership of the party and by extension, the country, no one but the author of that comment believes it. It cannot be accepted at face value because the individual is clearly finding it difficult to resettle into civilian life. It is as if being Prime Minister was his life!

Barbados has had several former Prime Ministers before, but none as restless without the garb of power, as this one. The Rt. Excellent Errol Walton Barrow left office with pride and dignity in 1976, took a two year sabbatical and was back to lead his party by 1978. Yet, on several occasions he consulted with and offered objective and valuable advice to then Prime Minister, Tom Adams. Remember the Grenada intervention? And there are several other notable examples of Barrow wearing the cap of Leader of the Opposition and yet conducting himself in the manner of elder statesman. So too did Sir Harold St. John after his humiliating loss of seat and government in 1986. The same can be said of Sir Henry Forde after 1991, Dr. Richard Haynes, Sir Lloyd and even the said David Thompson, following his 1994 and 1999 defeats.

None of the aforementioned took up their bat and ball and threatened to end the game or dig up the pitch because their dreams were not fulfilled. None of the aforementioned, and I knew them all personally, would have turned down an invitation from a sitting Prime Minister to serve on a panel of eminent persons to advise on future options for the country.

They were men driven by nationalistic concerns and a desire to see Barbados prosper. Even other former BLP stalwarts such as Dame Billie Miller, Sir Richard Cheltenham and Sir Louis Tull, to this day, have never said ‘no’ to an opportunity to help shape and build this country. But Owen Arthur has chosen to become the proverbial ‘empty vessel’, bearing forth only to his disciples. Arthur needs to make up his mind. Either he is in the ring or he is out. He will not be respected as a former leader if he continues to indulge in low level gutter politics. If he wants to talk about St. Joseph Hospital or Sam Lord’s Castle, he must also talk about the $750 million in cost overruns that were racked up by his administration, and answer the billion dollar question of, ‘where that money gone?’. Do you know what Barbados could do with $750 million today?

Not even Arthur’s successor is at the receiving end of his knowledge and experience. Her two budget replies to date suggest that she could well have done with the input and advice of her former leader. His attendances at Parliament are but few and his participation in debates considerably less. He does not call the family of the Barbados Labour Party together at Roebuck Street and share of his ideas and concerns. He does not invite the press to examine with him, issues of national importance. He mounts a soap box ever so often in the only corner of the country that still sees him as king and attacks anything or anyone that threatens to dethrone him as ‘ruler supreme’. Someone must wake up Owen Arthur from his time tunnel experience and tell him what date it is.

Former Prime Ministers cannot demand respect. They must earn it. There is nothing in the Constitution of Barbados, referencing a former Prime Minister. You become and remain relevant by your deeds. By the same token, no one is intimidated by or afraid of a former Prime Minister. He or she has lost the ability to harm and can metaphorically be likened to Doberman wearing dentures. A former Prime Minister should ideally be someone to whom the country looks for inspiration and advice. He or she should be someone who acknowledges and accepts that his or her day has ended and that focus and attention should be turned to the succeeding generation.

This constant desire to remain relevant is pitiful, to say the least.

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

2. Arthur’s political ambition remains burning as brightly as ever.

No more than I’ve always maintained! Don’t think we’ve seen or heard the last of Arthur at all – not by a long chalk!! i.e. no way!! he’ll be back!! ‘Mia, get ready to step aside’!! ent dat right, Arthur!!

3. Dave, u gun have tuh pay me fuh kick-startin dese discussions!!

Lorddddddddddddddd!!

4. Arthur was my hero until I read BFP and discovered some, shall we say, misdemeanours!! (or is dat too lenient a word) he’d committed!! Anyhow, tek care wid yuh criticisms of my Arthur!! I still got some sort of a liking fuh he!! and, I don’t know how to account for the errors he made, as, otherwise, he seems a brilliant man!! – rather like me!!

5. Laaaaaddddddddddddd!!

6. To become Prime Minister of Barbados is tantamount to committing political suicide. as muchas P.M Thompson is admired right now, whether it is a two or three term stint that he is given, at the end he too will come under the executioner’s hammer. This is the nature of politics in Barbados; it takes a brave man to aspire towards being Prime Minister of Barbados. Mr Arthur made some grusome mistakes, or should I say discisions but like ALL the other P.M’s of this great country,he played a pivotal role in the development of Barbados. I’m one who was glad to see him go, but I will not join with others and deem the gentleman a failure, nor would i say that under his watch nothing was done for this country. My fear right now is that one day Mia Mottley will become P.M of Barbados, I honestly hope by then I would have pass to the next phase of existence in another “world.” i hope my offspring would be able to adapt to the kind of Barbados this country is destined to become under her leadership. My wish is that this NEVER happens. Mr Arthur doesn’t look well at all and being familiar with his family, I know there are some medical problem there.

7. Poor OWING after! Poor OWING after!

8. The Scout // August 20, 2009 at 5:24 AM

To become Prime Minister of Barbados is tantamount to committing political suicide. as muchas P.M Thompson is admired right now, whether it is a two or three term stint that he is given, at the end he too will come under the executioner’s hammer.

Scout, 2 to 3 terms of office is fantastic and, hardly, ‘political suicide’!!

Do u think Arthur posts here and, if so, under what name??

Scout, u in gine nuh way fast and, neither is Arthur!! He’ll b back!! Ull see!!

9. Poor OWING after! Poor OWING after!

10. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Scout
    “To become Prime Minister of Barbados is tantamount to committing political suicide. as much as P.M Thompson is admired right now, whether it is a two or three term stint that he is given, at the end he too will come under the executioner’s hammer.”[Is a 3 term stint at PM ‘political suicide’? I would have thought less than one would be suicide, or some other -cide. Why would a people allow themselves to be ‘tortured’ for 3 terms? Because they are not.

The author wrote “Despite political affiliations most Barbadians if asked continue to hold former Prime Minister Arthur in high regard.” yet you say “I’m one who was glad to see him go…” I guess that is not inconsistent if you really represent minority opinion–the election in terms of popular vote was very close. But I wonder what a poll would show.

11. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

For the record, I sent you some comments by e-mail, which you are free to use and attribute to me, if you wish.

12. Oh noooooooooo!! he back again!!

13. The Scout
    “My fear right now is that one day Mia Mottley will become P.M of Barbados”

That is precisely why Arthur is sticking around. He must believe that as long as Ms. Mottley is in charge the Labour Party has absolutely no chance of winning office. I believe that he is glad that she is past forty, grossly overweight, and smokes. All the B’s that think like Arthur have to do is wait..! – Not too long now… I know that he was grooming Farley for leadership, but with Farley and Mascoll out of Parliament and with Symmonds jumping ship, he really has no other choice but to stick around.

14. In all honesty, I think Arthur’s pondering the bigger-field rather than local politics again and, is eyeing becoming President of the first regional, political-conglomerate, of a united states of the caribbean, aka the first President of Caricom, if nobody holds such a position, already!!

15. Wait, wah is dat I now hear? My outside woman just say that Duguid could be Prime Minister.. he is de right colour!

16. “Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur has accused the David Thompson Government of placing the country in serious turmoil.

“Barbados is going down rapidly”, he told a Barbados Labour Party (BLP) branch meeting at the Roland Edwards Primary School, St. Peter, last Sunday night.

Charging that lack of planning, given the current economic climate, was the nucleus of Government’s failings, the member of Parliament for St. Peter said the situation required intellectual militancy.” – Taken from the Daily Nation, Tuesday, August 18, 2009.

Now, the People’s Democratic Congress’ Leader , Mr. Mark Adamson, using a copy of this said Daily Nation newspaper – did show or refer this said news story from which the above extracts were taken to about 250 persons in Bolton Lane/Victoria Street, to elicit their responses to some of the issues being raised by Mr. Arthur – esp. the one that relates to his charge that Mr. Thompson is “running the country down”.

And would you – you the readers of this post – believe that about 248 persons out of those 250 persons acknowledged that Mr. Arthur had instead run the country into the ground when he was in office; that about half of those agreed that Thompson has been running the country into the ground; and that a small number of people ( about 10 0r so ) stated that Mr. Thompson is NOT running the country into the ground, because it was already run into the ground by Arthur. Would you believe it?

Anyhow, just as our leader told most of them that Mr. Thompson, Mr. Arthur and Miss Mottley would have been “heartlessly cruelly running this country into the ground”, at different times since 1994, we hereby repeat the same that Mr. Thompson, Mr. Arthur and Miss Mottley would have been heartlessly cruelly running this county into the ground at different times since 1994.

For, the incontrovertible evidence is there that both the DLP and the BLP have been for years wickedly running this country into the ground. Indeed, Arthur’s reported comment about Mr. Thompson running the country down calls to mind the idiom of the kettle calling the pot black. Even some BLP supporters yesterday agreed with our Political Leader that Arthur would have run the country into the ground as well.

So, therefore, what Arthur has clearly done – by way of his comments about Thompson running the country down – is to have mainly embarrassed himself, chiefly embarrassed his party, and really and truly embarrassed the Opposition Leader in parliament, since he does not have ANY MORAL AUTHORITY OR MORAL STANDING to say so. None whatsoever, since he himself – when he was political leader of this country – had been running it seriously down.

What he has also done in the context of having made those comments too is to clearly prove that he can still with the participation of some sections of the media rightfully undermine the Opposition Leader in parliament. And the truth is – and this is something that Mr. Arthur clearly knows – that the current Opposition Leader is NOT sufficiently intellectually nor politically equipped for the role of Opposition Leader in parliament esp. as it relates to the provision of alternate national political leadership of this country.

Thus, Miss Mottley continues to fail massively as an Opposition Leader in this country with her Henry Forde-type leadership, and esp. at such a time as is now when this country needs very strong decisive dynamic visionary leadership, and at this time too when the country’s political material and financial affairs are – as we have many times previously stated on this blog and elsewhere – rapidly going downhill.

For a start, Mottley does NOT even use the political economics language properly in her official speeches and utterances, so as to convince many persons who we talk with that this is one crucial way of evincing that she is capable of leading this country and of commanding wide spread attention and respect from so many thousands of people in Barbados as a paramount or undisputed leader. Too, this is one of the major reasons why Mr. Thompson’s own so-called leadership of this country right now, at such a tumultuous time in this country’s history, is so dismal and backward. He has clearly NOT mastered the the political economics language and therefore CAN NOT and WILL NOT convince the vast majority of Barbadians that he has mastered the intricacies of the political economic beast. Even Dr. Richie Haynes sounded better and was more astute as Opposition Leader in the late 1980s and the early 1990s than Miss Mottley is today, and had commanded far greater respect from major national stakeholders as Minister of Finance in 1986-1987 than Mr. Thompson is getting from such persons and interest groups as the present Minister of Finance. Obviously, Dr. Haynes, though NOT a so-called trained economist, had the ability still to speak the language and at the same time to convince many thousands of Barbadians that he knew what he was talking about.

In closing, though, we in the PDC wish to point to the fact that in this said Daily Nation news story, Mr. Arthur stated emphatically that Mr. Thompson does NOT have a plan for the growth of the country; that he does NOT have a programme for stabilizing the country, …. that he does NOT have a plan for stop this downward turn. But, we would like in turn to say to Mr. Arthur most factually that he himself does NOT have a plan for the growth of this country or to stabilize it whatever and that NEITHER he, Miss Mottley NOR Mr. Thompson has any of these kinds of plans that he referred to in this news story. NONE Whatsoever.

Well, Thank God that more and more people in Barbados are realizing the need to get the rid of the DLP and BLP from out of the parliament of this country. And, yesterday, out of those 250 persons or so, about 100 agreed with that type of position that the majority of the electorate need to elect other governing parties into the parliament of this country!!

So, down with the damned DLP and the blasted BLP!!

17. I guess that is not inconsistent if you really represent minority opinion–the election in terms of popular vote was very close. But I wonder what a poll would show.

______

Non sequiter in terms of first-past-the-post. So was Bush’s first term. And Owen Arthur’s 1994. Look at the numbers for their second terms. Power is about consolidation.

Prediction: DLP will get more seats next time if Mia does not get rid of the current dead wood: Cynthia Forde, George Payne, Eastmond and Duguid (all marginal). She must get rid of Arthur to survive. Even her Deputy won by just 60 votes or less.

18. Wishing In Vain Avatar

I can see no real reason why Mottley should believe that she has an entitlement program to be leader of this country, I know thru her family connections she may feel the Mottley name is that reason but I must tell her it is not so.

With her dubious track record remember her involvement with the VECO PRISON and VECO OIL STORAGE and DANOS 3S ROAD WORKS and a lack of a moral compass.

She needs to do the honourable thing and resign after all the Senator resigned for cutting up his wife’s car seat what would you say to Mottley who has cut up more than car seats????

19. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Veritas Prediction: DLP will get more seats next time if Mia does not get rid of the current dead wood: Cynthia Forde, George Payne, Eastmond and Duguid (all marginal). She must get rid of Arthur to survive. Even her Deputy won by just 60 votes or less.

You are spot on in your reading of this situation no wonder Forde is already feeling the wrath of the terror of the attacks of her seat.

20. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Veritas
    “Non sequiter in terms of first-past-the-post.” [I made no mention of ‘first past the post. Note that I wrote “…the election in terms of popular vote was very close…” that’s about numbers of votes cast/percent of people voting not seats gained/constituencies won. Wikipedia shows the results, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barbadian_general_election,_2008. The 53%/46.5% split is to me ‘very close’, considering the 2:1 ratio of seats gained. I see no non-sequitur. I need to check that Wiki ref. is correct, though.]

21. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@PDC
    “And would you – you the readers of this post – believe that about 248 persons out of those 250 persons acknowledged that Mr. Arthur had instead run the country into the ground when he was in office”[Seems to beg question of author’s contention regarding national support for Mr. Arthur, but can you confirm the small sample was representative of the nation?]

“Thank God that more and more people in Barbados are realizing the need to get the rid of the DLP and BLP from out of the parliament of this country. And, yesterday, out of those 250 persons or so, about 100 agreed with that type of position that the majority of the electorate need to elect other governing parties into the parliament of this country!!”[More and more suggests that before you had less than 100/250 showing the support you claim. Could you please confirm?]

“Evince” is a word not often seen, and I wondered how your usage of it sits with Ms. Mottley’s not using “political economics language properly”.

22. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Tell us all what the DLP has done for the economy. What has become of the Cox report on the economy.

23. Bimbro,
    You start off hot a nuff out de ‘blocks’.
    I like Mr. See Tru too but as a lova not a leada. Watch it Julie. I also liked his ‘down-to-earth’ approach. He’s a good fella.

Bro. Scout,
    Mawnin Sire, his sister Arlette went to school with me and she died at a really young age. Sixteen or seventeen, I think.She was so cute and pretty-skinned just like Mr. Owen. I don’t know about their family history pertaining to health.
    But wait, alcohol doan cure tings? Jus teasin.

24. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

I refer to your statement on Owen Arthur that he was “Fresh from national embarrassment over his near-miss from speaking in the budget debate..”

Was this “near-miss” not orchestrated by the DLP???? Come on be truthful!!!!

25. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

There are several ways of looking at Mr. Owens’ refusal of the breakfast summit invitation (and he indicated that his position was in part a reaction to the manner of the invitation, given that he and the current PM had been in then-recent private communication, and he felt offended to get the ‘invitation’ through the media.)

One, it seemed disingenuous. He could argue that the national situation demanded a bold unification of the country (the PM had mentioned “Team Barbados”) that could have been done by a coalition government/Cabinet. These are exceptional times and party differences should be put aside, etc. Why would he now want to be brought on board when the ship was more clearly foundering to help get it back afloat? But things like coalitions mean that choices that may unfavour party faithfuls/current ministers would have to be made and that is complex political arithmetic.

Another view is that, political ambition taken (for his party, if not his leadership), better to let the ship run aground so that people could ‘see’ or be led to believe that it was one side’s ‘fault’. This is standard adverserial politics. BLP could then be seen as a better option, naturally, (no offence PDC), notwithstanding any feelings of blame that they could/should carry. The electorate often has a short memory.

A third point. Inviting Mr. Arthur in his capacity as former Finance Minister seems ok. But…It immediately displaces even demotes to no count the current opposition spokesperson on finance, who is also the party leader in and outside the House. She is also a former minister with relevant credentials, and a rare bird too (see http://www.guide2womenleaders.com/finance_ministers2000.htm–BTW can someone send a correction to the “Bermuda” reference?). That would have opened at least one pot of worms.

A non-voting outsider’s views and no doubt totally wrong.

26. Some DLP ministers are making the same mistakes that the BLP administration made. One of the mistakes that drove a nail in Arthur’s coffin, was echoed by a DLP minister, I think Chris Sinckler; Arthur said he would do everything posible(or words to that effect) to see that the DLP never regains the government.This remark infuriated some voters and were determined to vote the BLP out and prove Arthur wrong. It hurted my ears when I heard Min. Sinckler repeat similar words when in the House of Assembly said that the BLP should never( orwords to that effect ) be allowed to gain this government again. Fortunately, Min Sinckler’s remarks were made early in the DLP’s term of office and it would most likwly be forgotten when elections are called. The one thing that stands out in Barbados’ fsvour is that irrespective of which party is in power, this country has always had stable government; I hope it remains like that. All P.M’s, including my hero His Excel The Right Hon Errol Walton Barrow , made their mistakes while in government, some more blatant than others but in general they all assisted in placing Barbados as the envy of the rest of the region. It is on these matters that I differ vastly with many diehards from both parties. I have been called a BLPite by some and a DLpite by some, it depends on my response to certain matters. That’s O.K with me, al least I’m honest with my opinion even though I’m not always right. Those people who knows me respects me for being honest. My loyalty is with the DLP but when , in my opinion they err, I would say so, that is my democratic right and that was engrained in me by my political hero. When I look into the mirror, I done feel ashame of myself on the contrary, I’m usually proud of myself despite being criticised by others. In other word, I done say what anyone wants me to sat but what I believe.

27. ‘Morning Bonny!!

Listen all, we in in nuh nashanol emergency, so I doan c nuh need fuh any ‘coalition-guvmant’!! Leh d man (Thompson) do e job! It wus jus d udda day dat wunna elek e an now some uh wunna already talking bout coalition!!

Steupse!!

However, having occupied the position, for such a long time, and being of such sagacious disposition, Arthur’s opinions should be given serious consideration! Unless, of course, u think he’s simply being mischievous!!

28. Arthurs credentials CANNOT be compared to Opposition Leader Mottley. Extraordinary times call for extradinary actions by our leaders. Correction, we should regard them as leaders when they show leadership!

Let the government flounder, no problem, Barbadians will be the better for it.

29. Not totally wrong at all, LIB. A reasonable analysis, for which sometimes being an outsider is actually an advantage. Mr Arthur is only human (some say) and his reaction to the way the invitation was proffered was only to be expected. After he had been proclaimed loud and long as a disaster to governance and the economy of Barbados for fourteen years, a clear malicious misrepresentation of his tenure as PM, why should he feel inclined to respond positively to a call to help steer the ship when rocks appeared on the horizon, especially when the callers were the very ones who vilified him during the election campaign? The Government can’t have it both ways. Hartley Henry’s condemnation and indignation are disingenuous.

It seems to me that Arthur’s warning that the Government is about to make as huge error with Sam Lords Castle is both timely and appropriate, given the scarcity of Barbados’ financial resources and the unpredictable future of tourism. The question must be asked. To what extent is the proposed acquisition and restoration of the property motivated by Thompson’s desire to help dig the owners out of a deep hole. Would he be so eager to “save” Sam Lords if the owner was not Clico?

30. Not many votes separated the BLP from the DLP IN THE LAST ELECTION. Remember that !

We like to diss our cricketers, our politicians, musicians and artistes. We are a cruel people. Here is a man who has give 25 years of his life to Barbados. Kudos to him. I salute him for his contribution. He was part of the team that took Barbados from the brink of despair in 1994 to stability. RESPECT THE MAN.

David Thompson has become Prime Minister and whatever his shortcomings, we should be happy that we can pass the mantle of leadership so smoothly to another person , who has the capability to lead and function as Prime Minister.

The job of Prime Minister of Barbados cannot be easy and it is to the credit of any person who aspire to the position.

This is little Barbados and we should value our people, all of our people. I dont give two wukk-ups who is Prime Minister or which party is in, this is my country Barbados and I will make my contribution for love of country.

Respect everybody ! everybody !

When the election is over, its all hands on deck. I dont support no nonsense. Political cleaning versus Politics of Inclusion—–Give me –Inclusion

31. How could somebody say that Owen run the country in the ground when Owen left unemployment way down and foreign reserves way up ? Those partisan crap statements should be ignored. Anybody who says that Owen run this country in the ground aint know what they talking bout and needs to see the doctor to have their heads examined. Be truthful people !

32. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“Arthurs credentials CANNOT be compared to Opposition Leader Mottley. Extraordinary times call for extradinary actions by our leaders. Correction, we should regard them as leaders when they show leadership!”[In some senses you are correct, but Miss Motley has clearly mandated status and that cannot just be bypassed because the PM would like it. It is the kind of thing that can drive a wedge between, or expose a wedge within, a party, and that might have been part of the intention–pure guess by me. It’s not so dissimilar to what has now happened in the USA with POTUS using former Pres. Clinton to do foreign policy work while Mrs. Clinton in the Secretary of State–just look at how that is being played out and the confusions it has created.]

33. Plumber // August 20, 2009 at 9:47 AM

How could somebody say that Owen run the country in the ground when Owen left unemployment way down and foreign reserves way up ?

What are you talking about? Redefining the term “unemployment” to exclude “Voluntary Idle” (undefined) and raising money by selling land to Foreigners is not something to be proud about..!

What are you talking about? Redefining the term “unemployment” to

34. Two questions in the interest of fairness:

1. Was the method of calculation of the unemployment rate used by the Arthur administration consistent with that used previously?

2. Did the Arthur administration sell any public land or was the land sold by private owners?

And, forgive a third and rude question:

3. Is this yet another brazen attempt to twist facts to suit a different agenda without due regard for the truth?

35. Off topic

Ryan Brathwaite has set a B’dos national record in winning the semi final in the 110 metre hurdles. The time of 13.18 was the fastest of the finalists.

For live coverage tune into and follow the link:

http://www.cbc.ca/

36. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

I ask again , what has the DLP done for the economy since jan 15, 2008?

37. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Who is on the government overisght commitee looking after clico? What is their terms of reference?

Why is this dlp government so silent on these issues? Is it that they don’t have a clue?

What about the second instlament of the tourism relief fund. The taxi men were crying out for work in Bridgetown yesterday.

PM speak to us on the economy. Don’t let us wait for the governor’s report at the end of october to let us know the unemployment rate has skyrocketed which we all know it has.

38. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Why is it that the DLP followers are so silent on the performance of the economy to date?

39. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

What has happened about the proposed tax on cell phones and tax on gambling that was proposed in the DLP’s first budget of 2008?

40. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Are we getting the QEH refurbished or is a new one being built. Remember the Minister of Finance said he was selling our shares in BNB to ICBL to pay for this work. What has become of all of these plans?

41. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

What is the cost of the constituency councils to date?

42. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Has anyone benefited from the recent 3% interest loans from the NIS? These are loans representing the amount of the NIS deferred on the employers contributon.

43. @Plumber
    “How could somebody say that Owen run the country in the ground when Owen left unemployment way down and foreign reserves way up ?”

In doing some recent research in low income communities, it was found that the unemployment rate in these communities range from 33% – 47%. You know what that makes those declared central bank figures?

So while the body looks healthy and properly clothed, there are many festering sores under those garments. Maybe that will give an understanding as to why crime is soaring.

44. ROK said….

In doing some recent research in low income communities, it was found that the unemployment rate in these communities range from 33% – 47%. You know what that makes those declared central bank figures?

You do realize thats the same thing as saying “Gee I did a survey of unemployed people and the unemployment rate was 100%!”

The rate amongst any smaller subset of the population cannot be use to invalidate the larger national survey. That’s basic statistics. In fact the use of that information I would say is deliberately misleading..

45. @Donald Duck Esq.
    “What is the cost of the constituency councils to date?”

You know, my problem with people that spout these kinds of criticisms is that whenever it comes to spending money on the people, it is always too much. How much money was spent on Greenland? How much on the ABC highway?

So you are going to tell me that to spend $30M on the people is too much? Consider that if $30M is allocated to the CCs that it would mean that many government departments would have to cut budget lines/heads because these would be handled or shared with the CCs.

How many of these unemployed people own cars and use the ABC highway? So tell me exactly how do they benefit from all that spending? I see, spending is only to satisfy those who already have, right?

46. @Anonymous
    “The rate amongst any smaller subset of the population cannot be use to invalidate the larger national survey.”

I see that you miss the point. Who is trying to invalidate the national figure?

47. @Anonymous
    “You do realize thats the same thing as saying “Gee I did a survey of unemployed people and the unemployment rate was 100%!” ”

The height of ignorance… or is that an attempt to deny the facts and continue to make a case against these communities?

Would you agree that if these were evenly spread throughout the country that the crime rate may be very, very different? When you have bunches of unemployed people concentrated in areas, that is problems. Open your eyes to what is happening in our society and how concentrating poor people in reserved areas as we did in the past is merely inviting trouble.

48. So what then are you saying, ROK?

49. Off topic

Just saw Bolt. Unbelievable!!!!

50. @ROK

Your discussion with anonymous is not new. It is the economist and statistician arguing with the social worker. We need to have the balance, unless there is social cohesion the numbers mean nothing.