Submitted by Micro Mock Engineer

President of the Senate, Dr. Branford Taitt
President of the Senate, Dr. Brandford Taitt

$3.5 million later, here are the main findings of the St. Joseph Hospital inquiry:

1. Project was not brought before the Planning and Priorities Committee
  2. Main contractor was paid $2.9 million without a formal contract
  3. Main contractor simultaneously provided building services at hospital project and Minister’s residence
  4. No final account prepared by the contracted quantity surveyors
  5. Hospital recruitment decisions made by Ministry rather than hospital board
  6. No one guilty of any wrongdoing

ROFL

The main recommendations

1. Better training for public officers
  2. Better accounting system
  3. A Code of Ethics for holders of public office

The new Minister of Health says that he and his team will soon be announcing plans for the property. Hopefully they have received “better training” than their predecessors 🙂

148 responses to “St. Joseph Hospital Report Laid To Rest”

1. Bush Tea

Based on wha’ John say, you agree wid me that de Queen wan’ lockin’ up too…!

2. Then forgiven..!

3. By the way John

“They are all tainted,
    …… to be honest, we are too !!”

You must speak for yourself on that one!

4. BAFBFP // July 22, 2009 at 2:09 pm

Bush Tea

…when you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
    Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, (Sherlock Holmes)

5. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“Who is disagreeing that we have to change behaviours? We are probing the issues and you run off about Bajans this and that? Barbados is not a perfect society and we have a way of working through problems which does not include shooting at people or law makers as in Korea fighting with each other.” [You cannot discuss the nature of problems in a country as if they are abstract, and what you see as my running off and saying Bajans this and that is moving away from abstractions to the reality of dealing with the issues as they are in Barbados. This thread is essentially about how the public management of the country has great lack of accountability.

People complain that institutions like the IMF have a one size fits all, yet if one tries to look at the specifics, you cannot treat each country as the same. The ‘pecularities’ of Barbados and how things are done are key; in that vein lack of accountability is something that has to be addressed. I’m also coming at this not as a neophyte, but someone who has seen similar several times and in several places.

Let’s take it that I have seen countries go through many dysfunctional stages. Let’s take it that I have seen how they deal with the need for austerity/public sector reform/debt problems, etc. You name it. Barbados’ situation is not new in general, but memories here are short (or for some, mere stories).

But the lack of accountability and opaqueness in public finances is not here alone. Some of the problems fall at Caricom’s door but I cannot discuss them in great detail here. It has decision making powers for countries in the region but is not a legislative power at any national level. That is an enormous problem.

On water, my essential point remains, though. It is no answer to the problems of a water scarce country to say that the consumers will not change their behaviour until the distributor/supplier of water changes theirs.

6. @BAFBFP
    Bush Tea

My Man! If you think that Bush Tea will fall into your sedition trap you real wrong…
    …long live the Queen yuh!

7. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

In a titular sense what you say may be correct, but I suspect that as in the UK, the monarch is acting of the advice of the government and its ministers, not independently.

As for suggestions that the monarch be locked up. I think the sedition laws are still on the books. Barbados is not a Republic.

8. Bushman yah coward…! Ha HA!

9. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Did I not use that same Sherlock Holmes quotation the other day on another subject?

10. On the water we can agree to disagree as we stick to a pragmatic view. To use your argument, significant change will only occur when the push factor is catastrophic.

Despite you position which we accept, a country will have peculiar needs can you cite 5 small island economies within the peer range of Barbados which have entered an IMF funding program to support balance of payments and can be said to have survived it?

11. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

What do you call “peer range” and what do you see as survival? Glad to respond after that.

12. Countries with similar GDP size and debt burden ie. debt:GDp

Economies with similar structure ie productive sectors – tourism/financial services etc

Survival broadly defined as mainting investment grade rating which would have experienced any growth pre-global meltdown.

Hope you get the drift.

13. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I could give a quick and dirty reply, or even say that you set it out clearly enough for you to do the research 🙂 But let me ponder after I do some other things. There are not many countries that had the same initial conditions as Barbados. You may have nullified the question but let me consider.

14. John, you should be advised that the Queen has no power in Barbados except nominally in the Constitution. And in the majority of cases, the GG acts on the advice of relevant Ministers…we might not be a republic in form, but we are one in substance.

15. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I ran the question by a few experts on small economies, included a noted national and economist. The best we could come up with is one case that fits the initial conditions, and it’s Dominica.

General consensus was that the question is not well defined, and therefore hard to give an answer.

16. @lib

Dominica?!?

Is that the best your economists friends could come up with?

What is so difficult about a question which seeks to find out which other countries Barbados can be used to benchmark for comparative purposes using certain key measures like debt:gdp, size of economy etc?

Anyway thanks for trying.

17. @David
    … you know what a ‘shaper’ is?!!

18. @Bush Tea

Got and idea…lol

19. Am i reading that Barbados has no equal? Ha… now that’s funny. LMHO

20. David

You want me to call Wickham fah yah? He could talk ’bout de IMF too ya kno’.

21. @BAFBFP

You may have to drag him kicking and screaming.

22. Done..!

23. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“Is that the best your economists friends could come up with?”
    [A snarky reply would be to try do better yourself. But breezing past the implied criticism. As I pointed out, the question you posed and the way you posed it does not give a nice convenient answer. The reply reflects what a few experts in small economies said to me, and I intimated to you. Perhaps the question you had in mind is not the one you posed. Complex issues need to be well refined. No two countries are really the same, so analysts try to put them in common categories, but it’s an artifice.

I would have added Seychelles but its starting conditions were very different to Barbados and it is still in a relatively new IMF program. The same could be said for Sao Tome and Principe, which meets certain size similarities with Barbados, but not on its relative income position.

Barbados’ high ranking on the humand development index (often categorized as the highest ranking developing country) means that it has few peers of its size. That ranking also tends to mean that the need for recourse to agencies like the IMF is less (or as in Barbados’ case, rare).

When the new central bank governor takes office you can pick his brains or do so before he takes office. He is a renowed expert in the field of small economies.

24. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Hopi/David
    I hope that when the Argentina questions are answered David will be able to ‘grade’ the effort.

If the assignment is not going to be completed, then it’s acceptable to indicate that.

25. Delisle Worrell..? Oh no… what next

26. Here is a Commission of Enquiry but this time in St. Kitts/Nevis.

Another former Cabinet Minister in the Barbados Government, this time from both parties in the same era, will give evidence.

http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/blackie-copy-for-web

Who Commissioned the Enquiry?

On whose behalf was it commissioned?

How long will the report take to be completed, submitted and published?

…. and,

How much will it cost?

We all know who will pay so I won’t ask this question!!

I notice there is a QC from Britain heading the enquiry which will also have as its legal counsel, another former MP from the same era who is also a QC.

What does QC stand for?

27. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I see that Tony Best (Sunday Sun Extra, July 26, p 15) has provided us with “Dr” Irving Burgie, courtesy of the latter’s receipt of an honorary doctorate from the City University of New York; he already has honorary doctorates from St. John’s University (Queens, NY) and UWI, so is well doctored. With all of this who is nursing his image?

28. LIB

Please don’t prolong this debate about honorary degrees or it will morph into a debate about titles and we will see start seeing marquees with coming shows The Rolling Stones featuring Sir Mick Jagger and Sir Paul McCartney and his band etc…

29. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Sargeant
    But Paul and Mick were granted TRUE knighthoods, and it’s not my place to question the decision of the monarch and/or her advisers. They are entitled (literally) and can be called “Sir”. This is quite different to honorary knighthoods (given to persons who are not members of the British Commonwealth, such as Steven Spielberg), where they cannot use the title “Sir” or “Dame” but could use the initials of the award (eg, KBE, Knight of the British Empire).

30. Livinginbarbados,

Can’t agree with you more.

Knighthoods are different to honorary degrees (although, there can be a similarity if both are conferred for political reasons)

In some countries, the holders of honorary awards affix certain initials behind them, for ex. (hon). This distinguishes the “earned” from the “bestowed”

I think the holders of such awards should desist from encouraging citizendry lebelling them as “Doctors”

To earn a doctorate from an accredited university is no easy task. It takes years of back-breaking study and fact-finding research which has to be peer- approved (approved by academic experts in the relevant field).

It is no easy task. It can take between 3-10 years to have a thesis approved for publication and the award of Phd.

Therefore, one can understand the furore and concern over this matter.

Earning a doctorate from an accredited university is no fly-by-night experience.

31. Perhaps a separate thread can be opened up on this topic. For its small size, Barbdos, seems to be blessed with an overflowing of “doctors.”

32. @Facts

Please feel free to submit your thoughts on the subject and it will be given prominence. You may submit via Feedback at the top of the page therefore no need for email!

33. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Facts
    “I think the holders of such awards should desist from encouraging citizendry lebelling them as “Doctors”” [In a world of free speech this would be nigh impossible. You cannot, for instance, stop someone who feels that it’s the done thing to utter “Dr”… if it’s know the person has the honorary.

I look forward to your analysis of how Barbados is ‘over doctored’.

The door swings two ways: those who merit and do not get any/enough/many; those who seem to not warrant who get any/many. I do not know in which category I fall, but I have no honorary doctorates 🙂

34. LIB

But Paul and Mick were granted TRUE knighthoods

What is this discussion about again? Whether someone with an honorary doctorate should be referred to as Doctor? Maybe those with medical degrees should chime in perhaps they have something to say about e.g. persons with PhD in economics being referred to as Dr. etc.

Reminds me of folks who completed the Microsoft course of studies and had the designation Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer (MCSE) i.e. until the Ontario Society of Professional Engineers objected…………

35. Barbados is not necessarily “over doctored” but Bajans love titles, perhaps they think it bestows some degree of importance to them. When I left Barbados Granville Williams was the man who led the church with the “tie head people”. Today he is Bishop Granville Williams.

Does the Barbados Coast Guard have any Admirals? Check out the Land ship
    🙂

36. LIB

But Paul and Mick were granted TRUE knighthoods, and it’s not my place to question the decision of the monarch and/or her advisers
    Wuhloss!!! I now recognise the import of that sentence. I know you were educated in Old Blighty but I didn’t know that you believed in the infallibility of the Monarch. Shades of the Japanese Emperor eh eh eh eh as we say in the great White North

37. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Sargeant
    Regarding the latest comment, we need some way of indicating comments are sardonic or ironic.

On the attitudes of the various persons who can use “Dr”. In academia and professional circles, I think it’s long been accepted that “Dr” refers to a wide category. It would have been nice if medics were say “Doc” (unequivocal). Dentists were “Den”. Those with doctorates in things non medical “Phil” (or some nicer sounding equivalent). Then all would be hunky dory.

Anyway, enough already 🙂

38. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@ Sargeant
    “I didn’t know that you believed in the infallibility of the Monarch”. Even though I have a modest education, I am a mere commoner (not ‘uppity’) and know my place. I am Her Majesty’s humble subject. A short read of the British Monarchy website is a good reminder of what she is to you and me (while I am here):

“The Queen’s relationship to Barbados is unique. In all her duties, she speaks and acts as Queen of Barbados, and not as Queen of the United Kingdom.”

I must, therefore, treat her with all due respect.

39. LIB

I must, therefore, treat her with all due respect.

I’m a little slow sometimes but I recognise sarcasm when you hit me over the head with it as in the above. You’ve now introduced a word “uppity” that is more common to those folks in the southern USA who have sunburned necks and speak disparagingly about black people. I was seeking a similar Bajan word or phrase and the closest I could come was “poor great”.

My feelings about the Monarchy were formed the day in the 1960’s when we the junior members of the proletariat, lined the streets in short pants, in the midday sun outside our school to await the passing of a motorcade with a distant cousin of Her Majesty. When the motorcade reached the school all of us with one voice shouted – as we were coached to do- WELCOME, WELCOME, WELCOOOOOOMMME as it whizzed by. I’m sure that it was going faster than the then speed limit of 30 mph.Then we slowly trooped our way back to class thinking what was that all about? We didn’t even see the people inside the car; mercifully the teachers never spoke about the subject again.

BTW In the news today there is an article that a group of economists have written a letter of apology to the Queen for failing to predict the financial crisis. I’m going to guess that your signature was not affixed to the letter, but never mind the Queen where is our apology? On behalf of the folks who frequent this blog I demand an apology and since you’re the only declared economist here that burden falls on you

We’re waiting………. .

40. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Sargeant

Is ‘poor great’ the same as ‘poor rakey’.

‘Uppity’ is a particularly ill-chosen term to offer to a man of my tint, given its oft heard pairing with another word that rhymes with rigger.

I would like to think that I have straddled the line well and am on the side of irony, not sarcasm.

Funnily, those kinds of displays for the Monarch were never the case in the UK. My school was a mere five minutes from Bucky Palace and I would get the chance to see the whole family often, never from inside the gates, though.

I read the economists’ apology and it is a strange document. But I guess they feel a certain obligation.

I–notwithstanding having become a whipping boy for almost everyone–made my apologies when I left my last assignment and the Minister of Finance said he understood that I was just doing my job. I would look closer to home amongst those who hold or held elected office recently.

41. LIB

Is ‘poor great’ the same as ‘poor rakey’
    At the risk of offending Bajan lexicographers everywhere, here are my definitions:

Poor Great: A person of modest means or circumstances who may or may not have achieved a higher level of education/ financial means/influence and acts and speaks in a haughty manner. This person avoids his or her old friends and may claim not to recognise common Bajan utensils e.g. cou cou stick.

Poor Rakey: Of no account e.g. The West Indies Cricket Team; it can also be applied to animals– your mutt/dog can be called a salmon tot retriever or described as “poor rakey”.

As to Bajan respect for Royalty vs. that in England- just remember the title of Austin Clarke’s book “Growing up Stupid under the Union Jack.

If you don’t know what a “cou-cou stick” or “tot” is, ask the proprietress of the establishment where you dined on the Green Banana cou-cou.

I accept your apology I think…..

42. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Sargeant
    Bajan lexicography 101 completed. I know a cou-cou stick, at least in its African incarnation. A tot, I may need explaining if it is not like my five year old was, or like my nip of Wray and Nephew could be.

Poor I may be, but neither great nor rakey.

43. Sargeant@26th,
    Correction: Mr. Williams is not Bishop Williams – He is ARCH BISHOP Willams.

But that’s nothing compared to the current batch of “apostles”!
    How does one qualify to be an apostle? Who makes the decision? A committe of apostles?

44. FACTS

Thanks for the correction, actually back in the day he was known as “Brother Granville” so he has really climbed the ecclesiastical ladder.

45. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Sargeant
    I used your definitions in a piece I just wrote on my blog this morning. I did not give attribution (which may be due as no contradictions have come forth) but if you feel that is warranted please flag ASAP so that I can edit the piece.

These discussions, even with their abrasive sides, have triggered a lot of thoughts, so now I need to try to make sense of them.

46. LIB

No Problem, use as you wish. I read the piece and may make a few observations later

47. I see someone is trying to imprison the GG over in St. Kitts/Nevis.

Why would anyone waste time trying to do this to the holder of what is often referred to as a “ceremonial” position?

http://www.caribbean360.com/News/Caribbean/Stories/2009/07/13/NEWS0000008106.html

48. Miguel Douglas Avatar

who signed the agreement to sign the St Joseph hospital