Submitted by Yardbroom

BLPThe opposition party should naturally take a principled position on some issues, when they are part of their core beliefs or what makes them the Party they are. Consideration should also be given to tactics, pragmatism, strategy and most importantly what is in the country’s best interest…in the short and long term.ย  In recent months have the aforementioned positions been adopted by The Barbados Labour Party? I am not sure they have.ย  This submission is not a “critique” it is a personal observation and I am sure others will have a different perception of events.ย  However, since I have raised the subject, the onus is on me to justify my position.

The DLP Government introduced free travel for school children.ย  In the present economic climate it is difficult to see how such a policy could be disadvantageous to those for whom it was intended.ย  A spin off from this initiative was the “perceived” influence travelling on ZR’s was having on young minds and the behaviour that ensued.ย  There are those who will argue this supposed ZR culture is part of today’s society and school children not travelling on ZR’s will have no or a negligible impact on their behaviour…I will not contest that view now.

The opposition’s position…as I understood it was that the money could be better spent in other areas, and was a waste of the Government’s resources.ย  Money can always be otherwise disposed of, you have to identify a specific area and then balance the benefits from that disposal against the free travel for school children, to make a reasonable case to the electorate.ย  If you fail to do that or cannot because of the evident benefits of the initiative…it is best not to oppose.

Now I come to the most contentious policy of all, which can have long term ramifications for The Barbados Labour Party: illegal immigration.ย  That a country should seek to document and account for all citizens within its borders is not only common sense, it is a necessity, a failure to do so would be a dereliction of duty.ย  How can forward planning be properly conducted? That a previous administration failed to do so is no reason for the present one to do the same.

The Barbados Labour Party made a number of cardinal blunders on this issue.ย  In the first instance they gave the impression there was no problem, but there obviously was and it was forced into the nation’s consciousness by the people.ย  Who in some instances had been denied an outlet in certain major media outlets…to be frank they were being thwarted.

There have been only a few instances where a blog – Barbados Underground – has been able to force such an issue into the body politic of a nation…it was the people against the odds and a Government that was listening.

The Government in a stroke of genius and common sense took the bold decision to set up a committee – some thought David Thompson was prevaricating – whose proposals now to be implemented wrong footed the opposition.

The Barbados Labour Party was left in a solitary position of castigating its electorate, or appeared to be and seeking support from the utterances of Barat Jagdeo of Guyana, a Prime Minister whose competence is still open to question by most Barbadians.ย  Some commentators on BU who have identified themselves as BLP supporters, and to be fair I have no knowledge if they are officials of the Party or delegated to represent it.ย  However, they constantly make the point that Professor x or Professor y has said this or that, so we should follow.

We always respect scholarship and education in Barbados, more so from eminent scholars in various fields of endeavour, but if “education” is to mean anything we should be able to analyse and think for ourselves and to know “why” we have arrived at a decision after studying “all” the evidence available.ย  That is what real education is about, to constantly harp on about certain Professors in an effort to stifle debate or undermine free thinking people, shows a lack of human understanding and how to positively interact with others.

I believe The Barbados Labour Party has chosen to oppose when it was not necessary to do so, thus giving the impression “erroneously” that Barbadians have a second place in their thoughts.

A balanced position would have been: we understand what the Government is doing and why they are doing it, we do not object in principle but there are certain issues relating to the overall policy we would have handled differently.ย  It is quite obvious some will say if they do not believe the above, why should they say it?

I say time will be the final “arbiter” in this issue and I contend it is notย  wise for the opposition Party to “always” oppose.

1. Thanks.

2. “Emotions? When daily bajans are losing their jobs or being threatened by employers to replace them with illegals, you call that emotion and perception? Get real”

The employer is the culprit in more ways than one. If the illegals are removed does it mean the threats or dismissals will disappear? I think not!!

Your argument is POOR. Address the symptom not the cause.

3. Quote: โ€œWhat do you want from the opposition?โ€

What has made our political system survive has been the existence of a viable opposition which could easily replace the Government if the people so decided.

The stability of that system is lost if:

1 – The Opposition was essentially the same as the Government (ie the policy of inclusion)
    2- The Opposition becomes so disconnected from the people that even a lousy Government would be a better choice for the people
    3- If they are both so poor that ‘six would be a half dozen’

Highly desirable situations would include where:

a – Both Parties are so in tune with public ideals and so effective that “six would be half dozen”

b -One party remains so focused and effective that the people can find no reason to change them.

The Opposition is therefore JUST AS IMPORTANT to the wellbeing of the country as is the Government.

What Mia and her spokespersons do therefore is of critical importance to any future stability for this country.

Painting themselves into a corner on immigration just to oppose the Government is therefore not only party suicide, but it is also dangerous to our national future.

4. It is a definite fact that at this juncture in Barbados a fast growing number of people are really and truly recognizing the DLP and BLP as two political organisms that have clearly outlived their usefulness in a 21 st Century Barbados wherefore the vast majority of citizens desire a far more just, progressive, prosperous, and rewarding society in which to live in then previously.

Yet, it must be very clear to most individuals and groups that are politically conscious in Barbados that both these horrible factions are now mainly serving the purpose of disgustingly unnecessarily locating themselves between the broad masses and middle classes, and what these major political classes are or ought to be greater more fighting for and achieving in this society, politically, socially, materially and financially.

Moreover, it is so patently clear to PDC how these two joke parties, how so many of their overzealous supporters, and how some of the very outmoded ideas and other relatives, have now evolved into some of the biggest political obstacles to the further growth and development of this other wise beautiful country. For, gone are the days when in our fair land those two political groupings, those who constituted their main leaderships, when those who made up their major support bases, and what philosophical beliefs they – the aforementioned – articulated and stood for, made great sense. Note that when Grantley Adams, Errol Barrow, Tom Adams, and others relevant were at their political best in the 60s to 80s, and were extolling some very serious political principles, and implementing some of them, this country really managed to achieve much growth and development.

Furthermore, we in the PDC could argue profoundly that the DLP and BLP were NOT ONLY serving the great purpose of helping to uplift the broad masses and middle classes, BUT were ALSO helping to fight on the behalf of these said people against many of the elites and colonial powers that were in existence in esp the pre- and immediate post-independence era – as opposed to almost wholly siding with the latter and blocking the further progress of the masses and middle classes in the country.

But, today, sadly the DLP and BLP are NOT any longer progressive. And therefore it does NOT and WILL NOT surprise us – in the PDC – when presently there is the emergence of some more mediocre DLP/BLP leaders (so-called), some more unthinking DLP/BLP supporters, and a gorgeful of ill-defined and bankrupt DLP/BLP philosophies, etc., that altogether serve to retard the country’s progress.

And to think that we have evidence right before our very own eyes on this blog of some of this tragic tomfoolery is NOT an accident. So just imagine this obdurate fictional character that leads off this thread, thinking that somehow he/she is really serving up some major point for discussion, when in truth and in fact what they are posting on here is pure unadulterated piffle and essentialist non-sense of the highest order – about, et al, the opposition ought not to be opposing for opposing sake. What smelly partisan trash, indeed!! Is this something really to base a discussion on, when so many enormous troubling issues and situations are confronting our dear country, like the fact that TAXATION and INTEREST RATES are helping to cause hell for so many people and businesses in Barbados?

So, when many of the so-called leaders and main principals of the DLP/BLP, or when a host of academic leaders of a university, among others, in a country like Barbados refuse to debate and discuss serious ideological and philosophical precepts and their associated methodologies and assumptions in a country, and thus refuse to let ideas contend or combine, as opposed to during the 60s, 70s, and 80s in Barbados, then there must be a glaring reason why this character – one yardbroom – must surely be seen as an example of how exasperatingly low the quality of intellectual outpouring can become when such abject anachronistic political intellectual conditions exist in this country.

5. Yardbroom states:

“Now I come to the most contentious policy of all, which can have long term ramifications for The Barbados Labour Party: illegal immigration. That a country should seek to document and account for all citizens within its borders is not only common sense, it is a necessity, a failure to do so would be a dereliction of duty. How can forward planning be properly conducted? That a previous administration failed to do so is no reason for the present one to do the same.

The Barbados Labour Party made a number of cardinal blunders on this issue. In the first instance they gave the impression there was no problem, but there obviously was and it was forced into the nationโ€™s consciousness by the people. ”
    ————————

Correct me if I am wrong, but I thought that the argument being made by the opposition related to the manner in which the policy was implemented. I actually havenโ€™t heard the opposition argue against the governmentโ€™s desire to document and account for the immigrants who are in Barbados illegally.

The newspaper has quoted Mia Mottley as saying:

“A government is entitled to implement strong policies. These policies, however, must be applied consistently, fairly and humanely,”

After reading this quote, I am tempted to ask the following:

Is it really true that the BLP opposes the Governmentโ€™s decision to manage illegal immigration? Or rather is the BLP merely warning the Government that it must pay attention to the way that it implements its immigration policies?

From what I understand there are a few points of departure between the two sides. Some of the arguments taking place relate to:

(a) Whether data is needed to support the Governmentโ€™s assertion that illegal immigration is causing a host of serious social and economic problems in Barbados;

(b) whether or not the policies are being executed in a humane way;

(b) whether or not there is an unacceptable level of xenophobia in Barbados; and

(c) whether or not the Governmentโ€™s policy is contrary to its commitments to CSME.

I have been hard pressed to find anyone who argues that PM Thompson should not enforce the immigration laws of Barbados.

So, if for arguments sake we accept that the opposition does not really oppose the Governmentโ€™s policy itself but is merely expressing concerns about the manner in which it is implemented, is it really fair to say that they have chosen to oppose when it was not necessary to do so?

6. Anonjam, On this blog to argue against the mode of implementation is to argue against Barbados’ sovereignty which no one is arguing against.

7. @ Peoples Democratic Congress
    Since you have addressed me personally I will grant you the courtesy of a reply…although not in like vein.

I have read your “erudite” comment “all” of it, I wish you well and hope you can add to your “existing” tally of MP’s at the next general election.

PS; I am not “fictional” I am real.

8. Rumplestilskin Avatar
    Rumplestilskin

Yardbroom,

Excellently written, as usual.

I also believe that the Opposition’s proper stance was as stated in your last paragraph.

By recognising that there is an issue, but placing emphasis on certain mistakes in implementation, would have been the correct approach.

Peace

9. Hi Anonjam,
    You quoted from a newspaper article – with regard to illegal immigration – Mia Mottley saying:

” A government is entitled to implement strong policies. These policies, however, must be applied consistently, fairly and humanely.”

I take the above as stated, could you please indicate which of the above this Barbados Government has failed to apply in this matter?

10. Rumplestilskin Avatar
    Rumplestilskin

Further, there is another aspect that is being ignored, by both Gov’t and Opposition, that would be fodder for the Opposition, but they steer clear, ‘I wonder why’.

While Barbados is deporting Guyanese, Caricom nationals as undocumented, we see regular advertisements in the national papers, re requests for work permits for non-nationals (read North American or European), to fill such positions as sales managers, business managers etc.

Bloggers on BU have pointed out the other professions here, that are inundated with other nationalities, such as accountants.

With the high number of graduates coming from UWI in these areas, is this circumstance not in direct philosophical direction to that now taken with Caricom nationals?

It is irrelevant to note that these companies seek work permits legitimately, to validate the positions, when the fact that these positions, despite all posturing, can in fact be filled locally. The end game is the same.

This difference is yet to be explained, yet the Opposition stays clear.

Interesting indeed.

Peace

11. I will be honest with you Yardbroom, I have no clue whether the current Government has failed to apply the policy in a fair or humane manner.

I know accusations have been made about inhumane treatment of Guyanese by immmigration officers but I am not one to just believe something because I read it on the internet.

Don’t get me wrong, for years I have argued that Opposition parties seem to just oppose for opposing sake. I just don’t know that the BLP is guilty of that on this particular issue.

12. Anonjam
    Thanks for your honesty.

13. The points raised in Anonjam’s very perceptive and balanced post (@4:22) refute the subtle (David’s word) nonsense written by many on this blog.

14. In the Weekend Nation of Friday, June 19, 2009, Mr. Clyde Mascoll writing in the second paragraph of his column: WHAT MATTERS MOST, stated: “the debate ( the Abolition of the 11-plus examination) would remain useless until someone can devise a better system for the placement of students in the existing secondary schools, or better still, in the secondary schools as they exist”. He went on to add in this same paragraph that “the real issue is that the secondary schools are NOT equal, and therefore any other method of placement adds to the inequality”.

Right now, we must say for Mr. Mascoll’s benefit that there is contained in our 2006 Pre-Election Manifesto a theoretical exposition that deals with the question of proper placement of pupils into the secondary school system of Barbados. At this stage we must say that any blogger that is interested in this exposition and any other ideas that we have proposed about changes in relation to this present education system in Barbados should visit our website@www.somassfreedem.org and evaluate what we have offered.

However, without a doubt such an exposition is one that envisages a national continuous assessment system being implemented following through from the primary stage to the secondary stage. From our perspective, too, it is this system that will replace the COMMON ENTRANCE EXAMINATION which – whenever a PDC Government is elected into this country – will be abolished, once in existence at that time. Also, Mr. Mascoll must rightly be told by us that an effective system of zoning will generally be implemented by such a government to strengthen the efficacy of this national continuous assessment system in this country.

Of greater importance to us, however, is that there shall be the creation of specialized academies at the secondary level as part of our mandate for reforming the educational system of this country. Such academies will have incorporated into or subsumed under them the existing secondary schools. They will each be structured along the lines of science, technology, business, languages, and other studies.The choices of the parents/pupils; what the pupils are aspiring to do (subject wise/professionally) will also continue to be important in considering allocations to the secondary stage. Such a system would therefore NOT be about seeking to bring about equality in in the secondary school system BUT about giving as much as possible scope stimuli and structure to the realization of the talents and potentialities of these pupils.

So, rather than dismissing the debate surrounding the COMMON ENTRANCE EXAMINATION Mr. Mascoll should have himself dismissed the COMMON ENTRANCE EXAMINATION as being archaic, unfair and elitist, among other things negative. And rather than raising the bogus fallacy about secondary schools being unequal (is there any social variable that is itself totally equal or unequal anyhow) – he should have considered that the COMMON ENTRANCE EXAMINATION has NEVER been structured to FAIRLY PROPERLY test for the fullest performances or potentialities possible of ALL the individual pupils at the transition stage from primary school to secondary school, BUT has long been largely designed to PLACE HITHERTO UNKNOWN PUPILS IN PARTICULAR SECONDARY SCHOOLS – NOT as Mascoll erroneously suggests based on age – BUT based on the stupid NEED to continue reproducing a particular elitist driven neo-colonial based work oriented society.

So, finally, the question must be whether this COMMON ENTRANCE EXAMINATION is a fair, flexible and modern approach to testing the widest abilities of our pupils. To this we say a loud and resounding NO and we hereby tell the world once more that it is our intention whenever we become the government to ABOLISH this damn COMMON ENTRANCE EXAMINATION, if still around at that time.

15. Days after the announcement of the new Immigration policy, she questions the humaneness of it. Was she being pragmatic or prophetic? After the ramp up of rhetoric from the usual crowd, she justified the lies and anecdotal evidence from Ralph Gonzalves, Analee Davis whom I might add has been selectively documenting personal stories before the announce migration policy, by call for the GoB to rectify the BAD RAP we were subjected too. This contrast to the many comments from Barbadians at home, in the Caribbean and in the Diaspora, who, though no matter the misgivings about the current Immigration policy, stood ground with team Barbados and call for an end to the BASHING we were getting. The rhetoric that some in the neighboring Caribbean countries were pulling of the shelves dusting off and using were totally uncalled for, specifically in light of the storied and documented evidence of Barbados huge role in Caribbean immigration matters. What does Mia do? She washes her hand of it. Not a word in defense of Barbados, but this is what LOTOโ€™s do; it would have been Thompson himself that was unable to rise above petty partisan politics and support team Barbados in our fight for our rights to our EEZ against Trinidad.

It is what Mia has not said that demonstrates where she is on this issue.

Yuh know it is not even tiring for me to ask of you as I did all others who regurgitate the same talking points of the regionalists. You ask for concrete data to justify the position of the GoB for it Immigration policy, and you do not give any for your belief that their some level of xenophobia that needs to be dealt with or that there is evidence to justify the BLP caution about humane and fair application of what is lawful. Is there something inherent in our law that makes these concerns founded and necessary?

16. It is so refreshing to see intelligent BLP positions being blogged. I think that Anonjam represents such a blogger.

Unfortunately, intelligent does not mean right!

It cannot be fair to dismiss the BLP’s position on immigration as being only opposed to the method of implementation.

The BLP has been the very architect and promoter of the current fiasco.
    The BLP insulted Bajans who urged caution; changed our laws to facilitate strangers; and threatened Bajans with cheap imported labour.

The BLP Prime Minister himself, bragged about hiring illegal workers instead of Bajans.

Nothing says what someone really believes, better than what they actually DO.

The BLP started out in this debate by warning of dire consequences for us if we enforced our laws….it is only when it became crystal clear that most of us supported the DLP’s approach that we now hear that they are only against the method of implementation.

What better implementation approach did they use between 2000 and 2007?

Come again Anonjam – (but that was a good try…LOL)

17. ” The BLP insulted Bajans who urged caution; changed our laws to facilitate strangers; and threatened Bajans with cheap imported labour.” and yet they voted for the BLP in May 2003. Even in the 2008 election I don’t remember any of Wickham’s polls having immigration or CSME as an issue of concern. Come again Bush tea.

18. @Anonymous 21 June, 2009 at 11:24pm
    Quote: “Yet they voted for the BLP in 2003”

I am sure that you would agree the circumstances in Barbados like other places is much different in 2009 than in 2003.

It is refreshing to see BLP supporters engaging in a debate on issues that confront us; rather than jumping up with myriad heads spouting personal abuse.

As a committed democrat I am delighted you have rowed back from that dark canyon and decided to “engage” with the people.

Although castigated when I made reference to the previous policy – not inferring it was official – in a submission some weeks ago…in the longer term you will find it is a better method of engagement and will have a longer “positive” effect.

@ Rumplestilskin
    I hope you may find time to linger, if only for awhile here – BU – your wise counsel and measured tone often brings clarity to many issues.

19. Rumplestilskin Avatar
    Rumplestilskin

Yardbroom,

Thank you for the vote of confidence and coming from you, it means a lot.

Yes, I will pass through and digest what I see.

On another matter, sometimes it is good to re-read what we write, I note a mistake from my post yesterday, should read as ”With the high number of graduates coming from UWI in these areas, is this circumstance not in direct CONTRADICTION TO THE philosophical direction now taken with Caricom nationals?”

Words now input, in bold.

The meaning may have been assumed, but I still prefer to clarify.

Peace

20. If you stand in the middle of an ants nest and starts to feel the stings, would you have to count the ants first to see the ones that are just crawling or the ones that are stinging before you illiminate them? All the evidence is there for those who are no blinded by politics to see. Should we then take three years to survey and do a cencus of the illegals in Barbados, then to put a halt to it? By then many many more would have entered the country and the program starts all over again. The Barbados government HAS to act NOW before this matter gets more out of hand. Some people might get hurt by it, some persons will benefit, that is the nature of the game but looking at the big picture, at the end of the day, a proper immigration policy MUST be put in place and adhered to. Then and only then would any Barbados government be able to determine the areas where we need regionalor extra-regional labour in Barbados. It is disasterous to have illegal or legal persons invading any country and FIGHTING hard to displace that countries citizens. That is a recipe for civil unrest and a weakness in any administration. We got to dust off the ants, those that are stinging and those that are not because those that are now just crawling have the potential to sting too,

21. My view is simple: The immigration situation needed to be dealt with. David Thompson is tackling it and providing leadership which was sadly lacking from Owen Arthur.

I support him 100% and, on this critical issue alone, I will support and vote for the DLP.

Mia Mottley is not on the political radar. Don’t you see how the BLP candidates who are selected appear in the newspaper with Owen Arthur?

The battle, such as it is, is between the odious policies of Owen Arthur and the leadership of David Thompson. Simple.

22. Yardbroom wrote “It is refreshing to see BLP supporters engaging in a debate on issues that confront us; rather than jumping up with myriad heads spouting personal abuse.”

Well I am “tempted to say that he being mischievous” but that would be too nice a word.

23. “the odious policies of Owen Arthur”?

What are you saying about the people of Barbados who elected him to lead this country 3 times or the over 40% of the electorate who voted for his party in 2008?

24. Rumpelstilkin’s point about regular ads in newspapers for work permits for non-nationals (read North American or European) is absolutely correct. Rumps mentioned accountants.

Chefs would be another such occupation.

Are there any local Executive Chefs in any of the hotels or top restaurants in Barbados? Any at all?? Even one? When they bring in an imported one, why do they ALWAYS have to be white? Have we ever had a black imported chef on the island. You seriously mean to tell me that in the whole wide world the only Executive Chefs to be found and brought to a country that is majority black is a white chef.

Are we really serious about jobs for locals first or are we making sport?

In an island that is so heavily dependant on tourism, I would hope that there are courses offered by the educational institutions in Barbados for Executive Chefs and every other occupation in the hospitality industry.

There is a local fellow who was acting as Ex. Chef for several months recently at Casuarina Hotel. From what I have been told, everything was going good, the food was good and staff happy and apparently, the fellow was a proper fellow too. Then in comes one of these imports. I guess the local was good enough to act in the position, but not good enough to be permanent. Moral went down. If the fellow could work better than the local fellow there might not have been a problem. Then the local and the import got into some sort of dispute and the import suspended the local for one week and then fired him. The union was subsequently called in and it was discovered that the import went to management and told bare lies on the fellow. All this was substantiated by other staff.

Well, I don’t know if he found another job yet. I wish him luck what with nearly all the hotels half empty and staff working one week on, one off, three days a week, and the Ministry of Tourism trying to fool the public that the recession is having little impact on tourism in Barbados. Talk to the locals working on the beach and in the hotels.

However, I know for sure the import still has his job, and is enjoying it and the illegal substances he smokes, and he like all the other imports are not working one week on and one off. I’m pretty sure that they are getting their full salaries.

You all know what it is for a hotel worker who normally takes home about $400 a week to be getting half of that? I guess some would say he is lucky to be getting that much.

We have to compete with the indo Guyanese, the Chinese (who want to take over everywhere they go), the Caricom people, the white imports, the tourists who come and don’t want to leave and then end up waitressing and bartending because they have run out of money. I remember some years ago, immigration officers used to ask tourists how much money they had for the duration of their stay. I guess we don’t do that anymore. I was at Big B Supermarket on Friday and about 6 tourists came to the bottle return with beer bottles and other returns. I was nosy and asked them if they were going inside to get more drinks. They said they were leaving the island. Once upon a time they would have left them in the room for the maid. I guess the recession hit them too.

One of these days, heaven forbid, all hell is going to break loose on this island. There is only so much that a person can bear.

I thought that we were going forward, but in many ways, we are still where we were years ago.

25. What happen to the Trade Unions ?

No voice on immigration and the “odious practices” workers suffer at the hand of the other non- nationals beyond the Caribbean borders. Word is that some enter the country without work permits but are allowed to function from their hotel suites.
    Who checks on such practices? Better who sanctions such “odious polices” in Barbados?
    Workers in Bim need some help. Some one needs to get to the bottom of the issues cause the workers still want to hold on to their lil picks.

26. David, can you help me understand why this post from Yardbroom was placed under the banner of the Barbados Labour Party?

27. On the topic of work permits; after reading a notice from a company that they had no suitable applicants for a position and was applying for a work permit I enquired of a friend (who is involved in Labour relations) if the company had to satisfy the Immigration Dept. that the pool of candidates were not qualified. His response was the companyโ€™s only requirement was to post the notice; if no one objected then the company could obtain the work permit. The requirements (unless they have changed) put the onus on the Bajan applicant(s) to show that he/she is qualified and could serve in that position. Now who will be eager to work for a company that rejected him or her? The employer could make life miserable for you and I would venture to bet that the employee would soon find themselves on the street.

Another point to consider is that many Head Offices of subsidiaries based in Barbados see some positions as training posts where some โ€œbright lightโ€ could gain valuable experience for their career advancement. They want to locate this individual in Barbados and will frustrate all attempts to hire locals. Trouble is once the individual is located in Barbados with the great weather and all the perks e.g. ,housing, car and vacation benefits and the wife moves from the deep suburbs in the Northern cities and joins the Canadian/US/British club combined with luxuries like maid/gardener etc. they want to stay (who wouldnโ€™t?). Education is a bonus as the quality prepares their children for entry into the majority of Universities up North.

So unless the Govโ€™t changes the rules we are likely to continue to see notices seeking work permits for Accountants etc.

28. Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads, yet unemployment is still 10.4% and highest among men – something not seen in Barbados for over 25 years.

Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads, yet there is still grid lock on the roads.

Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads and the cost of living is still high

Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads but Barbados’ credit rating has been downgraded.

Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads and someone is still being shot almost every night in this country.

Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads yet Four Season remains close.

Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads and the DLP is still price gouging on petroleum products, land tax and soon water rates, “just to please the IMF.”

While DLP bloggers focus on deportation, Barbados lost over $700 in foreign reserves between March 2008 and March 2009.

While DLP bloggers focus on deportation – cost of living increases and the US economy is coming out of recession while Barbados is going in.

While DLP bloggers focus on deportation, the DLP continues to punish Barbadians by confiscating their wealth through high taxation.

While DLP bloggers focus on deportation, people cannot get a NHC house because they do not have a job and therefore cannot qualify for a mortgage.

Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads but Camps are being administered on โ€œa rolling basisโ€ – spending gone wild yet people are not being paid. How is that possible?

While DLP bloggers focus on deportation, the DLP goes to Parliament to either change the number of people who can serve on boards or to change the word: โ€œdruggistโ€ to โ€œpharmacist.โ€

Had not for the Guyanese and the global financial crisis, the DLP would not now anything to blame for its failure.

Since Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads, more Barbadians should be getting jobs but the opposite is now true.

With the US economy rebounding, what will Thompsonโ€™s excuse be when the Guyanese have all been deported?

With the Guyanese gone, everyone who wants a house will get one and everyone who wants a job will find one.

There will no longer be traffic jams; the cost of living will come down and the rain will stop falling so that the DLP will not have to refund tourists.

With the Guyanese gone, foreign investors will suddenly have confidence in the DLP; Swine Flue will disappear and Prime Minister Thompson will travel on LIAT.

29. Hog Squeal
    Guyanese are being rounded up and deported and so your stinking Jagdeo and his people will not be getting the high remittance out of Barbados as before . Maybe he will return to his slogan ” yes we Khan.”

30. Rumplestilskin Avatar
    Rumplestilskin

Hog Squeal,

You repeated twice that the US is coming out of recession.

That is a rather premature and reckless statement.

In addition, obviously there is a lag between the Northen countries having a recession and the recession in Barbados, you should know that, surely.

Many of the millionaires who frequented here previously, are much less rich, some no longer millionaires.

Where do you expect that they will get their money?

Although, not being one, thus not really having a need to defend any, for accuracy, as I recall, it is NOT the ‘DLP bloggers’ who are making a hullaballoo about move to the regularisation of immigration status of resident individuals, but those like yourself, who seek to use the matter against the Gov’t, to create dissention, it would appear.

Again, for the sake of accuracy, in terms of the cost of living, this seed was planted some years ago, through the policy of land sell off to the wealthiest.

The only solution to our land woes, is a Land Ownership and Use Policy, a suggestion ignored by the previous Gov’t, unfortunately now also this Gov’t thus far.

If you are so keen to improve the lot of Barbadians, please speak to your people about this Land Ownership and Use Policy, have your people commit to pushing for such legislation.

Peace

31. There is a lot to support what Rumplestilskin and ST are saying. Here is what the World Bank reported on their website today. FDI will contract as global markets are expected to enter slow growth. There is also expected to be flight of capital from developing to developed countries.

The Financial Crisis: Charting a Global Recovery

June 22, 2009โ€”New World Bank analysis of the global economy paints an unprecedented picture: global output falling by 2.9 percent and world trade by nearly 10 percent; accompanied by plummeting private capital flows, likely to decline from $707 billion in 2008 to an anticipated $363 billion in 2009.

As the world enters what appears to be an era of markedly slower economic growth, the World Bankโ€™s annual Global Development Finance (GDF) report, released today, updates the outlook for the global economy, and explores the broad approach that will be necessary to chart a worldwide recovery.

โ€œExtraordinary measures by governments around the world have helped save the global financial system from complete collapse, but the economic recession in the real sectors persists,โ€ said the World Bankโ€™s Justin Lin, Chief Economist and Senior Vice President, Development Economics. โ€œTo break the cycle, we need bold policy measures, including restoration of domestic lending and global capital flows.โ€

Lin was speaking at the Annual Bank Conference on Development Economics, underway in Seoul, where experts have gathered to discuss the financial crisis. He emphasized the key role that developing countriesโ€”the engine of future global growthโ€”can play in the global recovery, as well as the grave development emergency posed by the impact of the crisis on poor, vulnerable countries.

Deepening global recession

As capital became increasingly hard to come by, and uncertainty soared about future demand, there was a sharp decline in production of manufactured goods, and in global trade in these goods. The level of industrial production in rich countries has dropped by 15 percent since August 2008, and that in developing countries, excluding China, by 10 percent.

GDP growth in developing countries is expected to slow sharply, from 5.9 percent in 2008 to 1.2 percent in 2009. However, their performance surpasses rich countries, whose collective GDP is expected to fall 4.5 percent in 2009. Notably, when India and China are removed from the total, developing countries as a group will experience a contraction in GDP of 1.6 percent, a real setback for poverty reduction.

Global GDP growth is expected to rebound to 2% in 2010 and 3.2% by 2011. In developing countries growth is expected to be higher, at 4.4 % in 2010 and 5.7 % in 2011, albeit subdued relative to the robust performance before the current crisis.

The updated Prospects for the Global Economy website [link] that accompanies the GDF report contains detailed projections, including for developing regions and countries. Two regionsโ€” Europe and Central Asia and Latin America and the Caribbeanโ€”are likely to end 2009 with negative growth.

โ€œWhile the global economy is likely to begin expanding again in the second half of 2009, the recovery is expected to be subdued as global demand remains depressed, unemployment remains high, and recession-like conditions continue until 2011,โ€ said Hans Timmer, Director of the World Bankโ€™s Development Prospects Group. โ€œTo prevent further damage from a fresh wave of instability, the focus should be on financial sector reform and support for the poorest countries.โ€

Rapid deterioration in financing conditions

Developing countries are likely to face a dismal external financing climate in 2009, according to the GDF. With private capital flows declining dramatically, many countries will find it difficult to meet their external financing needs, estimated at $1 trillion.

Private debt and equity flows will likely fall short of meeting the external financing needs of developing countries by a wide margin, amounting to a gap estimated to range between $350 billion and $635 billion. Capital flows from official sources, plus tapping foreign reserves, will help fill the gap in some countries, but in others, there willโ€”of necessityโ€”be sharp and abrupt macro adjustments.

โ€œMany corporations will be hard pressed to service their foreign currency liabilities with revenues earned in depreciating domestic currencies, at the same time that export demand has plummeted,โ€ said Mansoor Dailami, lead author of the report. โ€œThe risk of balance-of-payments crises and corporate debt restructurings in many countries warrant special attention.โ€

Charting a global recovery

Governments have, in general, โ€œwalked their talkโ€ through monetary policy changes, fiscal stimulus, and guarantee programs to shore up the banking industry. However, a great many challenges remain, and concerted global action remains critical while the crisis is still underway.

The GDF highlights the importance of broad agreement among major governments on implementing reforms and staying away from beggar-thy-neighbor policies. The case for coordinated fiscal policyโ€”usually weak, because of variation in the challenges each country facesโ€”is now very strong as the world faces the common prospect of inadequate global demand.

โ€œEventually, governments will need to relinquish their high stakes in the financial system, making way for the private sector,โ€ said Dailami, โ€œAlso, the big expansion of money supply in rich countries will need to be unwound, and fiscal deficits will need to be cut in the medium term. This will help maintain debt sustainability and avoid another debt crisis as seen in the 1970s and 1980s.โ€

Finally, there is a very urgent need to recognize that poor countries that were already under strainโ€”notably from suffering through the food and fuel crisisโ€”should receive attention quickly. These countries have little or no access to private foreign capital even in good times, and are largely dependent on donors for the resources needed to meet the Millennium Development Goals, which have a due date of 2015.

โ€œIt is critical that international commitments on development aid and debt relief should be upheld and strengthened further,โ€ concluded Dailami, โ€œPoor countries face increasingly grave economic prospects if the dramatic deterioration in their capital inflows from exports, remittances, and FDI is not reversed in 2010.โ€

32. “Again, for the sake of accuracy, in terms of the cost of living, this seed was planted some years ago, through the policy of land sell off to the wealthiest.

The only solution to our land woes, is a Land Ownership and Use Policy, a suggestion ignored by the previous Govโ€™t, unfortunately now also this Govโ€™t thus far.”

How???

33. What are these “land woes”? I see much agricultural land lying idle. I see lots of empty house spots in every residential sub-division. Government is the largest owner of land (so I’m told) what is it doing with it? People like Rumplestilskin repeat that ignorance about a land-sell off policy implying that the Government is selling off land to foreigners. I challenge them to show me where one square centimetre of land was sold by ANY Government in the last 40 years to any foreigner. It is Bajans in their private capacity that have sold their lands to foreigners and therein lies the problem for any land use policy. There are Bajans who do not even want to abide by the restrictions imposed through the water zone designations. Which political party is going to disenfranchise some group of Bajans from being able to profit from their property in the name of what?

Barbados enjoys a quality and style of living at a cost of about $3 billion (BDS) per year. Which political party is prepared to reduce that expenditure and hence so fundamentally change the way we live?

34. Rumplestilskin Avatar
    Rumplestilskin

Ignorance? Definitely not.

How many mansions and gold courses sit on expansive tracts of land?

It is irrelevant who sold this land. What is relevant is that change of uses, allowed such development.

What is relevant, is that limits on land lot sizes for housing, per a Land Ownership and Use Policy, would ensure that massive areas of land were not used to house a few wealthy.

Demand = supply. If no one can build a house lots greater than a half acre, there would be increased land supply, very simple.

I know exactly of what I talk. ‘People’ like me, to use your words, are simply fed up with a few blood-sucking vampiric creatures taking all for themselves, with no concern as to the input of our forefathers, with no concern as to the future social well-being of the nation.

Remember, it can be done now with calm, well thought out policies.

Or, it can be done later, with animosity, aka Zimbabwe.

That it will be done, is a foregone conclusion.

I prefer the former solution.

Peace

35. Rumplestilskin Avatar
    Rumplestilskin

By the way, your comment ”It is Bajans in their private capacity that have sold their lands to foreigners and therein lies the problem for any land use policy”

Why is that a problem? Limits on land uses i.e. agriculture, require a change of use. How did that occur? Where did the permission come from?

Secondly, a Land Use Policy will address this in three ways.

Limits in usage, limits on lot sizes for development and land ownership, irrespective of who owned or did not own the land. Legislation is a wonderful thing.

Finally, ‘people’ like me who raise concerns on the available land area, would include Ministers of the previous Gov’t AND Ministers of the current Gov’t, they who suggested placing locals in high rise buildings (I prefer the word cages), due to limits on the availability of land.

Your implied suggestion that Ministers of both Gov’ts are ignorant is noted.

Peace

36. The Crown must always have an interest in how land is developed, especially so on a 166 sq mile island. To ignore will generate social and other issues later as suggested above.

On the policy of the previous government. Former Prime Minister Arthur in the recent budget debate outlined the policy of his administration concerning the need for FDI to supplement foreign exchange from tourist receipts. He indicated the burden on small states like Barbados to meet demanding obligations caused by globalization has up the ante for Barbados to find foreign exchange. It is why his government had aggressively allowed foreign development.

37. What are you saying about the people of Barbados who elected him to lead this country 3 times or the over 40% of the electorate who voted for his party in 2008?
    _________

When are you all going to start defending Mia? Was she elected three times or only Owen? Did the Party play a role?

Owen done! And he said he is supporting Mia… don’t you all support Mia?

The swiftness with which these BLP accolytes defend Owen and ignore pertinent criticisms of Mia tell me that Mia’s days are numbered as long as Owen is around.

Notice that the picture with BLP St. Lucy candidate was with Owen – even though Mia was there!

Owen is still trying to stay in the sun-light.

38. On the policy of the previous government. Former Prime Minister Arthur in the recent budget debate outlined the policy of his administration concerning the need for FDI to supplement foreign exchange from tourist receipts. He indicated the burden on small states like Barbados to meet demanding obligations caused by globalization has up the ante for Barbados to find foreign exchange. It is why his government had aggressively allowed foreign development.

Big question, was this the right policy for Barbados?

I long ago abandoned my support for Owen Arthur and his corrupt government’s land use policy and immigration policy.

39. Rumplestilkin
    By hard dedicated work, I as a patriotic bajan, is now living on a house lot that is 3 acres. Are you then telling me to accomodate these migrat regionalist, you would “tek up” 2 1/2 acres of my land? You got to be MADDDDD. Over my dead body anbd a lot more too. Every day I wonder what agreement the Arthur government made with other leaders that they can now be claiming Barbados as theirs? If that man, as it is alleged, mess up Jamaica, he does not have the authority to sell Barbados to anyone to make up for his mistakes to others. If ant one of you regionlist think that you can come and over-run Barbados, in modern day terms “wheel and come again.” The silence of the ex P.M Arthur, is deafening.

40. Veritas,

you really are a bore. You wrote about “the odious policies of Owen Arthur” now you are going on about Mia Mottley!! To date the land use policies of the Thompson administration and the Arthur administration are indistinguishable. I would dare say the immigration policies are also similar but for the amnesty period now in place.

You are a Veritas in name only. Come fuh corn.

41. Rumplestilskin

I point you to the comment by Scout @7:46.

Expensive land may not be particularly useful land. The West Coast years ago was seen as useless by the plantocracy. They sold it off to the “mad” foreigners. It is Barbadians that in the main that have developed the agricultural lands for housing and continue to do so.

But as you claim to be knowledgeable on these land development issues, I have a few questions. Who was the minister of planning that removed the subdivision of plantations from the direct oversight of the Chief Town Planner in favour of ministerial oversight. Which minister of planning made the same action with regard to development of coastal lands? Who was that tall, fair skinned minister of Finance who gave tax concessions to Royal Westmoreland many years ago? Who facilitated the expansion of Sandy Lane and Apes Hill? Now for the curious these Ministers are all different persons. These observations are raised to help onlookers assess the likelihood of any change in policy.

What do you think about the proposed airport in St.Lucy or the proposed development of Bath Plantation?

The kind of changes that I think you may want to see implemented can only work if there is a fundamental change in politics and system of governance to a more socialist form and that is another can of worms.

42. “Many of the millionaires who frequented here previously, are much less rich, some no longer millionaires.

Where do you expect that they will get their money?”

Perhaps someone should tell you that as at June 23, 2009, the population of the United States was three hundred and six million, seven hundred and thirty-five thousands (306,735,000) still, a mere 4.52% of the world population.

Barbados has a carrying capacity.

But, are you telling me that the BTA cannot attract 500,000 of that 306 million?

43. Scout wrote:

“Guyanese are being rounded up and deported and so your stinking Jagdeo and his people will not be getting the high remittance out of Barbados as before .”

I am saying that Deportation is a perfect distraction tactic for the DLP. Notice that DLP Ministers have already said all they can say.

There is nothing more there can add or do, at any Ministry.

This is what you call “political drift.”

We are merely seeing the politics of desperation, the bizarre and the outreageous.

The simple point is – that the Guyanese are a life-saver for the DLP. Without them here, the DLP would not even be on the map.

44. Rumplestilskin wrote:

“Again, for the sake of accuracy, in terms of the cost of living, this seed was planted some years ago, through the policy of land sell off to the wealthiest.”

Sir/Madam,

As I recall, the BLP never said that its job #1, 2, and 3 was reducing the cost of living. It was the DLP.

The DLP has failed to deliver, hence the Deportation debate.

I do not see how a private citizen selling land to a willing purchaser – could constitute an increase in the cost of living.

Often land is sold to foreigners – hence foreign exchange earning (FDI).

The point to note is that in the 14 years it was in office – not one square inch of land was sold by the BLP to any foreign entity?

Land can only fethch the price the market is willing to pay. That is why real estate people are now complaining.

Having said that tourist have no money, you defeat your earlier argument.

Consistency of argument is important. professor Haynes would have given you zero for reasoning.

45. Veritas said:

“When are you all going to start defending Mia? Was she elected three times or only Owen? Did the Party play a role?

Owen done! And he said he is supporting Miaโ€ฆ donโ€™t you all support Mia?”

+++++++++++++++++++

Let me see if I can answer that! By focussing on david thompson, the DLP is really protecting Frundel Stuart.

Think carefully. I do not see an error but a startegy perhaps!

Think about Chess. What is the number one rule?

46. Veritas asked:

“Big question, was this the right policy for Barbados?”

++++++++++++++++++

Did Professor Howard say that the DLP should embrace the BLP economic policies?

Thompson and the DLP now have the opportunity to set economic policy and show the change they promised.

Unfortunately, Barbados is in recession and unemployment is so far 10.1%.

No such “bashment” under the BLP?

47. Clicoโ€™s solvency problems have in fact been on the public radar for close to two decades.

In 1997, a report from the then Supervisor of Insurance raised concern about Clicoโ€™s inability to satisfy its statutory fund requirements for the years 1992, 1993 and 1995 and the insurerโ€™s insistence in the face of a deficit on paying dividends.

The years under question were during the first Manning administration 1991-1995.

In fact, Prime Minister Manning was the Finance Minister in 2007 when his party received huge sums of money from the CL Financial Group.

Sources say CL was the single largest financier to the PNMโ€™s 2007 re-election campaign.

A former executive at the brokerage firm of CMMB, one of the distressed finance companies owned by the CL Financial Group, told the Sunday Express that in 2007 Monteil complained that CMMB was the only board he sat on that didnโ€™t give the PNM money.

In 2007, Monteil was chairman of the Home Mortgage Bank (HMB), Clico Investment Bank (CIB), the Housing Development Corporation (HDC) and the Education Facilities Co Ltd. He was also a member on the board of directors of the CCN Group, parent company of the Trinidad Express Newspapers, Home Construction Ltd (HCL) and Angostura Holdings Ltd.

A CCN spokesman said yesterday that the media group made no donation to the PNM 2007 campaign or to any other party for that matter.

Monteil was a co-signatory to the $2.5 million cash payment to the party in the 1995 election at a time when he sat in the Group Financial Directorโ€™s chair.

He later became party treasurer following the death of Anthony Jacelon in April 2005.

http://www.stabroeknews.com/2009/news/local/06/22/clico-tt20m-pnm-gift/

48. There is nothing to criticize about the free travel for school children. They could have asked for a dedicated bus service, maybe, but to criticize it was just stupid. If you’re trying to find favour in the eyes of the electorate, why criticize something the electorate are OBVIOUSLY in favour of. Makes no sense to me.

As for the immigration issue, can someone please explain to me how on earth it can be wrong, or unreasonable to deport ILLEGAL immigrants? I must be dense, but I don’t get how people can be complaining about Barbados deporting people who are here ILLEGALLY. Are the other countries asking us to ignore our own laws? because that’s what illegal means…..against the law. Secondly, the PM hasn’t said, “Come and be deported”. He has said, “Come and regularize your status.” In other words, people than can be deported forthwith BY LAW, have been given an opportunity to come in and explain their circumstances. They might be allowed to stay (become documented) or they might be deported, but in any case,
    they’re not in a position to quarrel if they were here illegally in the first place, because they have been given a right to they had no claim.

49. Mario wrote:

“I must be dense, but I donโ€™t get how people can be complaining about Barbados deporting people who are here ILLEGALLY.”

+++++++++++++++++++

You are missing the point. While Barbadians focus on “deportation:”

(a) unemployment is 10.1%,

(b) the cost of living continues to rise, so to crime,

(c) Barbadians cannot get a NHC house because they lost their job and therefore will not qualify for the mortgage.

(d) Clico still has a $54m Statutory Fund deficit

(e) Someone is shot almost every day

(f) The police, nurses and teachers are yet to get those duty free cars or increased pay

(g) Four Seasons remain close

(h) No one can say how much Camps are costing the Treasury but bus ride will cost some $32m annually, more.

(i) $134 million and yet there is grid lock on the ABC highway. In fact, the road is in more confusion

(j) the DLP is already price gouging on petroleum prices, land tax and will soon price gouge on water, just to please the IMF.

50. With the Barbados economy in a “deep-private sector driven recession,” how can the issue be the deportation of Guyanese?

As regards the recession, what are the facts?

We know that Prime Minister Thompson has sent out an SOS to “retired-sick-old-men,” to come out of retirement from active politics to help him run the country.

I suppose the Guyanese made him do that too.

I suppose it is the Guyanese that caused the DLP to go to Parliament – just to change the word: “druggist” to: “pharmacist,” also!

Perhaps it is the Guyanese that are causing the DLP to collect road taxes illegally!

You know what, why not blame the Guyanese when the rain falls? Why: perhaps they want brandname tourist to get a refund from the BTA.