Development underway at St. Davids

In a previous blog BU echoed the concern of many Barbadians regarding Town Planning approval given to several entities to build in St. Davids Christ Church, specifically on the Staple Grove Plantation lands. We should point out that approvals for projects in St. Davids straddle both the BLP and DLP governments. Barbadians whether old or young know this area to be a rich agricultural belt which adjoins the St. George Valley, another rich agricultural area. Of further concern are the several applications for housing development scattered across Barbados.

BU has no issue with People’s Cathedral building a 42 million dollar facility in St. Davids. From all reports the Holmes William’s operation has been a model citizen. We may have a concern based on reports in the local media the haste with which he threatened to shut the school operation down because his teachers threatened to join the union…

The big concern of many Barbadians centres on the lack of an orderly development of our land resource. Barbadians can easily cite the cluttered West Coast which has crowed out all but a few windows to the sea. In recent weeks the local media seems to have awaken from its long slumber to alert Barbadians to the rapidly disappearing Mullins Beach, no doubt caused by the tampering of our coastline by developer after developer.  Local reports continue to point to other beach areas rapidly losing the battle to the sea. The previous government justified the unbridled development of our West Coast to the need to encourage foreign direct investment operating on the economic concept that land should always be allowed to fetch its highest economic value. There we are!

The government has changed and there is no more West Coast to develop, the South side was exhausted a long time ago. That leaves the East Coast and the North West of Barbados relatively untouched. We shall see how long the current government stave-off selling land to pay down debt.

What has started to concern Barbadians in recent weeks is the wanton development of prime agricultural lands in the quest by the government to deliver on its housing program. Obviously if there is a demand for housing the land must be found somewhere. Commonsense however requires that given the size of Barbados, the density of the population, the commitment to sustain a reasonable agricultural base, as well as all the other considerations which the Town Planner should factor to maximize return of our scarce land resource, any approval to cut-up prime agricultural land should be deliberated-on with the utmost care.

Part of the appeal of Barbados is its island beauty which is a mosaic of its indigenous fauna, flora, sugar cane fields, housing etc. While we  understand that development of the island must occur to sustain the required GDP level, it must not come at too expensive a price. At the rate we are going Barbados will soon kill the goose which is laying the golden eggs.

Before the government in its enthusiasm to find housing solutions to satisfy the 30,000 requests received by the National Housing Corporation to date, we suggest that all the stakeholders take a step back  and visualize how decisions taken today will impact the sustainability of Barbados tomorrow.

Almost two years into the Thompson led government and we are waiting for a land use policy to be practiced which is visibly different.

1. Nostradamus

Your concern is noted.

We wanted to put things in perspective for the BU family to understand this land business is serious business, millions at stake.

We previously indicated that Om Prakash was behind the housing development in St. Davids, Priya is his faithful wife. Not sure about this Boolani.

Stephen Farmer is our famous cricketer and veteran lawyer of long standing along with David Gittens, we believe they are part of the same law firm formerly Evelyn Gittens and Farmer. Their firm amalgamated with the late Alfred Clarkes law firm some time ago. Either lawyers make good money or they are fronting for the real real shareholders.

we couldn”t find anything on the others.

2. David

I am watching to see what David Thompson who is the Minister responsible for Town Planning – will say and do about this.

3. Knight Templar Avatar
    Knight Templar

Do you believe that if the approval was granted by the BLP – that the DLP would not be quick to inform Barbadians of that fact?

Any change of use of agricultural land in this country under DLP Rule – will be to facilitate Clico, as regards its Statutory Fund deficit.

4. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

Cli who? Dat still does exhist?

Lol. Effin I had munny, whichin I do not, I wudna put it in summa dese cumpnies, dat is de trute.

I wud want tuh see ful real audited statements, lisitng of alla de assets too, telling me where dem is.

Alla de liabiltys too. Deng I still wudna not be sure to buhlieve wuh dey.

5. Dear Sir,

It will soon be evident that CL Financial is even more bent than your eponymous dick.

6. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

Wuh loss. Epo who… at first I thought you wrote, enormous, which you could not possibly know yourself!

Then, I realised that I have learned a new word this day.

Eponymous. Like de eponymous Green Monkey Golf Course?

But I have never played, with a club or without, on an eponymous gold course.

Then, researching the word further, I see this extract on political eponyms ”In Ancient Rome, one of the two formal ways of indicating a year was to cite the two annual consuls who served in that year. For example, the year we know as 59 BCE would have been described as “the consulship of Marcus Calpurnius Bibulus and Gaius Julius Caesar”

I knew neither that Calpurnius was Bibulus (of the Bible?), nor that Julius Caesar was ‘Gaius’.

Then I read that places can also have eponyms, such as the place Prince Albert, Saskatchewan.

Does this mean that Sweet Bottom is indeed indicative of a young lady who may have been a resident of that area, in some era?

I know a place, in another land, called Six Mile Bottom! What an eponym!

Really, ask your fren’, ‘199’ , whether he knows the place. Maybe it is named after one of his lovely conquests dat ‘e does boas’ bout pon here.

Den, there are enponyms that represent particular Government styles, named after certain leaders, such as Arthurism, Sandiism, Thompsonism.

So, my eponym, that you bring attention to, seems to be in good comp’ny.

Thanks for the word ST.

Have a g’night.

Again, as your fren’ ‘199’ would say:

Laaaaaddddd!!!!

7. Makiala Ashanti Nyahbinghi Avatar
    Makiala Ashanti Nyahbinghi

With much pain and desperation to do something about it, I read of the plight of the descendants of slaves who most likely were of the same clan who labored and slaved without pay to built Maxwell Plantation fortune that has been sold to foreigners namely Chinese, with the results of the slaves descendants being ordered off the land by the court. The article printed in this Friday 5th June Nation News went on to state that a two floored house half half way done would be demolished and all the bajan lady labor wasted with no mention of compensation or alternative provision.
    Also other locals would no longer have backyards and the young carer of the 88 year old land owner cut off from her. WHERE IS THE HUMAN RIGHTS? It is a burning shame that just a few years after Owen Arthur while in England for the Slavery Bicentenary made a bold statement to the British Government to ‘Give back something to the slaves children’ that right in our faces in Barbados a ex slave plantation has sold land passed down from a generation of slaves to the present generation.
    I am appealing to political activists like the people of the People Democratic Congress, The People Empowerment Party and Human Rights Lawyers and Pan Africanist as well as the Barbados Justice Committee to support these victims of recolonization by researching and offering them advice to appeal against the court order to buy time for proper legal research and seek out if they can be further representation. I see the defendant is quite young and may be unaware of other legal defenses he may be able to depend on, for example, what about prescribed rights to the land where as one can claim these rights after living on land and not being charged rent for a given time, or what about the Government Tenantry Act whereby the government was to subscribe to the reduced cost of plantation land that slaves descendants lived on for generations. New political parties like the two new ones that contested the last general election,( since it seem that both sides of government have taken
    turns in selling us out to the Chinese and all ) I am calling on you to offer your support to these victims, who, most of the time have to surrender without the right legal advice not aware of their rights and suffocated by excess legal fees.
    This is cause to start a national campaign demanding that the plantation owners who own 95% of Barbados arable land that is drenched with our blood sweat and tears, our forefathers bones and developed by our free labor should be given to us a repration for slavery.
    The generation who inherited Maxwell and other plantations benefiting from the above should have some conscience in matters like this and remember that neither the land or labor honestly belongs to them and should not be greedy and heartless to sell what was handed down to generations from slaves. Obviously the old man is dead and in those days there were not always formal documents exchanged when land was purchased, and this may be what they may be taking advantage of without equity. There may be other avenues in law that can be explored. I appeal to Pan Africanist to look into these and offer assistance to these poor people. I appeal to the government to stop selling us out to foreigners.
    This same trick has been worked on some people in Porey Spring St Thomas where they lived on land passed down for generations not paying rent, the government was supposes to assist these people in buying the land at a reduced rate as tenantry land. Because the people do not know the law or their rights one man claiming to be a descendant of the the long time owner Mr Moore came and convinced the people they should pay him rent ( thus possibly losing their PRESCRIBED RIGHTS to own the land as long term tenant not paying rent) I believe they are points in law where this can be overturned if the people were misled by this man. However he offer to sell them the land if the want to buy yet as I have a house on the same land when I asked him to show me his title deed , it was not forth coming for a few years I dont know if he found it yet. Althought government seem to have started the process in assisting the people on DR Moore land to own their lot this man was still able to come and
    sweet talk them into paying him rent. Our governments and civil servants don’t seem to be acting in the best interest of the descendants of the slaves although the members of parliament too are descendants of the slaves like us. It seems they are quick to put on price on our heads or allow a price to be put on our merely survival.
    Meanwhile the plantation owners after pocketing the rewards of slavery,now can reap the final grand reward of selling the land and we the slaves descendants GET NOTHING . And worst of all walk away silent or begging on our knees. FURTHER IT IS A BURNING SHAME WHEN WHAT LITTLE WE TRY TO GET FOR OURSELVES THROUGH FURTHER WORKING OUR BACKSIDES OFF IS DESTROYED WITHOUT REGARD FOR OUR WELFARE AND OUR GOVERNMENT MINISTERS WHO WE LINE UP IN THE HOT SUN TO ELECT SIT silent. This tells me it is time for the people of Barbados to defeat the governments misrepresentation and rally together behind such causes and local leaders motivate the people to stand up as one against such disrespect and disregard. People sitting in the CPAA office as Pan Africanist as well as political activist and social activist I beg you seek out if they can be further representation for these victims of land grabbing oppression. If so appeal against the court decision, drag it to the high court to the CCJ or the
    Hauge, whatever it taked to demand respect for our part of building Barbados with our BLOOD SWEAT BONES AND TEARS. Organize a fund raising program, to cover legal cost to support any further representation that can be made.
    Babylon system is surely a vampire sucking the blood of the suffering people. It seems that in Africa and the Caribbean the Chinese are the African people latest milker, sucking dry what the Europeans have left, and not without the help of the traitors of our race who willing to sell us out on demand.
    PEOPLE OF BARBADOS UNITE AND RESIST THEM. THE POWER IS WITH THE UNITY OF THE PEOPLE AGAINST OPPRESSION.

8. Makiala Ashanti Nyahbinghi Avatar
    Makiala Ashanti Nyahbinghi

With much pain and desperation to do something about it, I read of the plight of the descendants of slaves who most likely were of the same clan who labored and slaved without pay to built Maxwell Plantation fortune that has been sold to foreigners namely Chinese, with the results of the slaves descendants being ordered off the land by the court. The article printed in this Friday 5th June Nation News went on to state that a two floored house half half way done would be demolished and all the bajan lady labor wasted with no mention of compensation or alternative provision.
    Also other locals would no longer have backyards and the young carer of the 88 year old land owner cut off from her. WHERE ARE THE HUMAN RIGHTS? It is a burning shame that just a few years after Owen Arthur while in England for the Slavery Bicentenary made a bold statement to the British Government to ‘Give back something to the slaves children’ that right in our faces in Barbados a ex slave plantation has sold land passed down from a generation of slaves to the present generation.
    I am appealing to political activists like the people of the People Democratic Congress, The People Empowerment Party and Human Rights Lawyers and Pan Africanist as well as the Barbados Justice Committee to support these victims of recolonization by researching and offering them advice to appeal against the court order to buy time for proper legal research and seek out if they can be further representation. I see the defendant is quite young and may be unaware of other legal defenses he may be able to depend on, for example, what about prescribed rights to the land where as one can claim these rights after living on land and not being charged rent for a given time, or what about the Government Tenantry Act whereby the government was to subscribe to the reduced cost of plantation land that slaves descendants lived on for generations. New political parties like the two new ones that contested the last general election,( since it seem that both sides of government have taken
    turns in selling us out to the Chinese and all ) I am calling on you to offer your support to these victims, who, most of the time have to surrender without the right legal advice not aware of their rights and suffocated by excess legal fees.
    This is cause to start a national campaign demanding that the plantation owners who own 95% of Barbados arable land that is drenched with our blood sweat and tears, our forefathers bones and developed by our free labor should be given to us a repration for slavery.
    The generation who inherited Maxwell and other plantations benefiting from the above should have some conscience in matters like this and remember that neither the land or labor honestly belongs to them and should not be greedy and heartless to sell what was handed down to generations from slaves. Obviously the old man is dead and in those days there were not always formal documents exchanged when land was purchased, and this may be what they may be taking advantage of without equity. There may be other avenues in law that can be explored. I appeal to Pan Africanist to look into these and offer assistance to these poor people. I appeal to the government to stop selling us out to foreigners.
    This same trick has been worked on some people in Porey Spring St Thomas where they lived on land passed down for generations not paying rent, the government was supposes to assist these people in buying the land at a reduced rate as tenantry land. Because the people do not know the law or their rights one man claiming to be a descendant of the the long time owner Mr Moore came and convinced the people they should pay him rent ( thus possibly losing their PRESCRIBED RIGHTS to own the land as long term tenant not paying rent) I believe they are points in law where this can be overturned if the people were misled by this man. However he offer to sell them the land if the want to buy yet as I have a house on the same land when I asked him to show me his title deed , it was not forth coming for a few years I dont know if he found it yet. Althought government seem to have started the process in assisting the people on DR Moore land to own their lot this man was still able to come and
    sweet talk them into paying him rent. Our governments and civil servants don’t seem to be acting in the best interest of the descendants of the slaves although the members of parliament too are descendants of the slaves like us. It seems they are quick to put on price on our heads or allow a price to be put on our merely survival.
    Meanwhile the plantation owners after pocketing the rewards of slavery,now can reap the final grand reward of selling the land and we the slaves descendants GET NOTHING . And worst of all walk away silent or begging on our knees. FURTHER IT IS A BURNING SHAME WHEN WHAT LITTLE WE TRY TO GET FOR OURSELVES THROUGH FURTHER WORKING OUR BACKSIDES OFF IS DESTROYED WITHOUT REGARD FOR OUR WELFARE AND OUR GOVERNMENT MINISTERS WHO WE LINE UP IN THE HOT SUN TO ELECT SIT silent. This tells me it is time for the people of Barbados to defeat the governments misrepresentation and rally together behind such causes and local leaders motivate the people to stand up as one against such disrespect and disregard. People sitting in the CPAA office as Pan Africanist as well as political activist and social activist I beg you seek out if they can be further representation for these victims of land grabbing oppression. If so appeal against the court decision, drag it to the high court to the CCJ or the
    Hauge, whatever it taked to demand respect for our part of building Barbados with our BLOOD SWEAT BONES AND TEARS. Organize a fund raising program, to cover legal cost to support any further representation that can be made.
    Babylon system is surely a vampire sucking the blood of the suffering people. It seems that in Africa and the Caribbean the Chinese are the African people latest milker, sucking dry what the Europeans have left, and not without the help of the traitors of our race who willing to sell us out on demand.
    PEOPLE OF BARBADOS UNITE AND RESIST THEM. THE POWER IS WITH THE UNITY OF THE PEOPLE AGAINST OPPRESSION.

9. Hi Nostradamus, you made s reference to ‘Rock Cakes’ above. That is the EXACT truth of the matter where there is no planning. In all of this sometimes ‘it is difficult to see the trees from the forest’. I would like to use what is currently happening in another Caribbean country – Haiti, to underscore the importance of proper planning. In Haiti, they are actually eating MUD PIES as a daily diet. With the accelerated deforestation in the country, mud-slides is an almost daily occurrence, almost every body of water poses a health hazard. And yes, the people have to eat dirt to survive. If we cannot learn from the mistakes of others, we’re going to learn the very hard way.

10. Concern Citizen Avatar
    Concern Citizen

How is it that we are using up the prime agriculture land in St Davids to build so many churches. Why is it that Peoples Cathedral has to come right above a chruch to build? How many penticostal church we need so close, we have one anglican, and two penticostal already. What is the real reason that People Cathedral is stuck right on to the anglican church, do we need that many churches so close and in such a small area, What are we really looking for? Why did they stop now could they not have gone further across Egerton or do they think that St David’s church is doing so well that they want to take away tghe congregation? Last but not lease who does the People’s Cathedral really belong to? the people or why ws it willed to the pastor

11. The church was will to Holems son

12. wanna talkin real shite

13. bajan hot sauce Avatar
    bajan hot sauce

stop whining! Stop being jealous, stop coveting what thy neighbor owns. At the end of today all this new construction and development on the said land creates a lot more jobs, opportunities etc, than if the land where left for sugar can.
    Get over it, we Barbados, are moving forward and developing. If you don’t like it, move out.

There is more than enough unused agriculture land on this island that we have use for at the moment, or in future for that matter.