Amit from Pull!Push! blog
Submitted by Amit from Pull!Push! blog

In yesterday’s print edition of the Nation, I read that Prime Minister Thompson would be asking Former Prime Minsters Owen Arthur and Sir Lloyd Erskine Sandiford, as well as former Minister of Finance, Sir Richard Haynes, to partake in a series of breakfast meetings to discuss the crisis facing our economy.

This came as a bit of a surprise to me as the divide between political parties runs deep. Despite that, here we have DT asking for the advice of two former PMs, both of whom are well known (famously and infamously?) for their command of economics. One who has led the country for several years, through thick and thin (OSA), the other who shall forever remain in the minds of some (if not most), Barbadians for the salary cuts and the threat of devaluation (but who prevented the devaluation in the end).

What DT was proposing excited me (no, not in that way). This is ‘Team Barbados’ at work, I thought. This is politicians putting aside their party politics and their ideological differences and working for and towards the common good. For the country and for its people! YES! CHANGE! The time has come. That’s how I felt, as a Barbadian, while reading the article.

However, the sceptic/cynic/critic in me wondered:

What’s DT up to? Is this the whole, ‘keep your friends close, but keep your enemies closer’ thing playing out? If so, why call in LES (to give the appearance of balance?), or was it to curry favour with the electorate by showing, as mentioned above, that DT is above party politics. That he’s not to proud to ask for help, especially from those who have more experience, and that he was beyond political ideologies and differences.

DT’s plan made me think of President Obama and his attempts at going beyond party politics and getting politicians of all stripes to work together for the common good. Is DT getting political advice from Obama? Are they reading from the same play book?

In any event, it doesn’t matter any longer. At least, as it relates to the proposed breakfast meetings on the economy. The article in today’s edition of the Nation said it all, including:

Read the full article over at fellow blogger Pull!Push!

1. Amit, BU has been preaching that our political leaders need to reach across the aisle for the benefit of the country at this challenging time. The question is how realistic is it and did Thompson reasonable expect that Arthur would accept the offer given his active status as an MP on the Opposition with possible pretension to take back the leadership of the party.

2. What DT is looking for is to get ideas from one of the best PM Barbados had and used them in his favour.

3. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
    Knight of the Long Knives

Domiknowsnothing, This is pretty similar to the politics of inclusion as practised by Owen Arthur other wise know as divide and conquer when you figure it out let me know.

4. Anyone who knows anything about modern management would know by now that leadership by consensus is the only way to achieve any level of success in ANYTHING nowadays..

Competition between organizations, brands and countries is so intense and tight that any entity that waste its resources in infighting will easily be overwhelmed by external forces.

The ONLY solution is to learn the art of CONSENSUS and move to away from destructive internal infighting.

The PM is therefore demonstrating outstanding intelligence with this initiative. However, it obviously will not work unless all the players understand the new rules, AND there is a new atmosphere of trust and openness.

This new culture would need to be actively cultivated by the current power brokers (the DLP) and sold to the rest of us who would need to buy in…especially the BLP.

Personally Bush Tea thinks that it is beyond our collective ability to achieve this in any short time frame. However the only other alternative is not going to be pleasant at all…

5. @BT

Agree with you 100%.

Regrettably if one listens to the talk shows and even read the comments of the BLP surrogates on BU, we have to conclude that the shift required to conquer the new challenges maybe long in coming.

6. Armit seems like a nice citizen over there, unlike in Guyana. I guess everybody eyes pass us Guyanese

7. It takes a big man to look after himself, it takes a bigger man to look after others..so why not embrace it…we will only find faults if that is what
    we look for…why be sceptical… cynical… critical…?
    DT is definitely reading from the same play book Obama is using…and not only that the man is a fast learner…so it will be good to learn from the best…but it’s his time to shine. He only needs play his hand well.
    Dinner anyone…???

8. I saw the spirit in which the offer was made by David Thompson.

And I reject Owen Arthur’s stance that Mr. Thompson could have told him that he wanted such a breakfast event on Monday when they spoke.

It is clear that Mr. Thompson thought up the concept AFTER THE REPLY.

Were that not so, I believe he would have listed it as part of the Team Barbados concept in the Budget!

Aren’t we all Barbadians? Isn’t Mr. Arthur still being paid by the taxpayers and enjoying a rent free office at UWI Cave Hill? Come on…

9. I want to tell the Prime Minister to forget about Owen Arthur.
    Invite old and young Barbadians with Economic training who have a vested interest in seeing this country maintaining its high standard of living to give ideas on how we can at least get through the roughest part of this downturn.
    He will get some very creative ideas.

Barbadian politicians were always petty. I like the American system, where Obama invited John McCain to talks and he went, although he loss to him in the elections.

Politicians should stop insulting our intelligence by making stupid statements about the problems Barbados are facing. This is a worldwide problem where Bahamas which is half an hour from Miami are laying off workers in the tourism sector because millions of American and Europeans workers are losing their jobs.

10. What is disappointing is the way many Barbadians has allowed the political gamesmanship of politicians to influence their opinions on the Thompson offer. It just goes to show how ignorant many Barbadians are about the way politicians operate. As far as Arthur goes whether he is offended or not which can be taken care of by an apology is he saying that he is refusing to consult with his colleagues (ex-finance ministers) in the interest of the country because his sensibility has been offended?

11. What must be assessed is the level of sincerity and the motives of Thompson in his suggestion of a breakfast meeting of former finance ministers. When juxtaposed with the issue of the order of debate in parliament, Arthur’s claim of no prior notice and the adversarial nature of Westminster politics, the only reasonable conclusion I can come to is that Thompson is really not interested in Arthur’s opinion and was simply seeking a PR moment hopefully at the expense of the opposition. What is also obvious is that this administration is at a lost as to how to respond to the perceived economic challenges ahead. It is a nonsense that Thompson’s puerile suggestion (worthy only of a US television reality show) should be paraded as a serious attempt at consensus building. It would be laughable if it wasn’t so absurd given that the other three participants are way pass their “sell buy dates”. Mr Arthur although still a profound thinker is really yesterday’s man, Sir Lloyd is slated for China and so may make his participation difficult (which given his past record is a blessing) and Sir Richard is unfortunately in very poor health.

12. What a load of rubbish. None of these puny state Prime Ministers are great men. None. Their collective wisdom will still add up to very little. Sandmandiford, the man that increased his salary by 8.5% before cutting everybody elseโ€™s including his own; the man that virtually handed the opposition the government because he refused to step down. Seetrumore, the man that won and kept the government by default for fourteen years and lost it by helping the opposition solve its infighting by employing the candidate that was at the centre. Wow, what political wizardry.

How many of you nincompoops know that the budgets are actually prepared for these prime ministers by agencies like Ernst and Young? No magic that they can very quickly discuss ithem mere hours after they are delivered. The Central Bank is packed with economists. So to the Ministry of Finance. The Chief economist Anthony Sobers has not changed for close to 20 years. He must be drawing a salary for a reason.

There is a guy with a really big headโ€ฆ really big head by the name of Tibbits. I wonder if he is the true genius behind these cloak and dagger Prime Ministers?

13. What happened to Clyde Mascoll?

14. Gaston LeRoux:
    He passed on fuh tru’

15. ha ha ha ha It was a master political move on David’s part. Very soon people will see that the Owen isn’t and has not been as politically shrewed as he has been rumoured to be. At least not as cunning as David Thompson. Arthur is a very emotional person, quick to anger, and often times reflects on this and wish that he could be much calmer. I think he drinks because it allows him to relax to a point that he likes. It allows him to interact as he would truly like to, but he has never sought to build that habit without drinking. Thompson knows that Barbadians views of the economic crisis is global and does not fault GoB for the hardship they are facing, neither do they buy into the BLP strategy which suggest they they know how to fix things. Understanding this and believing that Mia is damaged in the eyes of Barbadians as a potential opponent, and given the possibility of Owen Arthur’s return to the leadership of the BLP, thompy’s political approach is to stay ahead of all this. If Arthur is out of contention, then Mia can be easily dealt with. If Thompson can get the former PM’s to sit with him and discuss national issues, it bolsters his image, further relegates’s Mia to obsurity, and gives him some playing room, with Arthur should he be returned to the BLP leadership. But this is not as sexy as having an emotional Arthur do what he is known for and has now done. In the eyes of Barbadians he runs the risk of being seen as selfish and not willing or wanting to protect the ‘yellow blue” as BU would say. This can damage him, and it is even more likely to be the case since i believe that Barbados will pull through this, and Thompson can boldy proclaim that he did it without anyone.

At a recent Breakfast gathering at the Hilton with Thompson held to demonstrate Unity of political parties in a most worthy cause of HIV/AID prevention campaign to get Barbadians tested,….

Mia said: we all know when it’s time to cross the political divide.

Thompson said: I am just glad somebody wants to have breakfast with me, the prime Minister joked

Below is the caption of the photo showing Mia Thompy and Alison “Roll it” Hinds

[quote]
    POLITICS ASIDE: Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur may not want to sit down at a breakfast meeting with Prime Minister David Thompson, but yesterday morning Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley, did just that with Prime Minister David Thompson, at the Hilton Barbados, because we all know when it’s time to cross the political divide,said Mottley. I am just glad somebody wants to have breakfast with me, the prime Minister joked. The two were attending the media launch of the Regional (HIV) Testing Day, to be marked on June, 2007. Both the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition exhorted Barbadians to go and get tested on the day assigned and both pledged to show bipartisan leadership and commitment for the project. Here, Prime Minister Thompson, Mottley and Live Up hero Alison Hinds (right), show that they are united in the fight against AIDS, by showing the Live Up sign at the launch. (RG) (Pictures by

16. What must be assessed is the level of sincerity and the motives of Thompson in his suggestion of a breakfast meeting of former finance ministers. When juxtaposed with the issue of the order of debate in parliament, Arthurโ€™s claim of no prior notice and the adversarial nature of Westminster politics, the only reasonable conclusion I can come to is that Thompson is really not interested in Arthurโ€™s opinion and was simply seeking a PR moment hopefully at the expense of the opposition……………

——————————————-

Anonymous, very well said. I am at a loss that anyone would have believed that Mr. Thompson’s motives were pure or that there was any sincerity in his call for these meetings. For the time he has been in office as PM, he has consistently pulled these types of PR stunts. Most of you on this blog appear to have some level of intelligence, but yet his political stunts seem to have eluded you. This is just not worthy of debate. Please, find more serious issues to discuss!

17. Well said Get Real

So Adrian Hinds agrees that Thompson’s sole motive is gaining the political advantage; NOT finding solutions to the economic crisis. However as long Mia Mottley is put at a disadvantage Hinds is happy. What Mia do he?

18. Anonymous – Submitted on 2009/05/23 at 8:00am

That is part of the problem with Barbadians and people from small jurisdictions. Our level of insularity towards our own is lamentable. How can we agree that Barbados has historically been well managed but the people who were in charge you don’t want to give praise?

On the matter of Thompson’s sole motive being to gain political advantage, lets discuss this a little. Let’s for argument sake say that you are correct how should Arthur respond given how things are playing out i.e.global economic crisis? Should he have sais no, as he is reported to have done or should he strategize in another way to minimize any political fallout? Who are we to say that Arthur will not get political support from Barbadians given that Thompson made the request before discussing with him first? The point is politicians are politicians and decisions made by them must be seen from that perspective first.

19. Come on folks. The BLP and Arthur got outmanouvered plain and simple. OSA clearly wanted to be the last speaker before the PM wrapped up the debate, while the DLP clearly wanted David Estwick and Frenduel Stuart to rebutt Arthur before the PM wound up.

Arthur was not in his seat when all the other BLP speakers had finished and only Estwick, Freundel and the PM were left to speak on the govt side.

The DLP had a choice, disrupt their preferred order, and let OSA and the BLP get their way, and use their numerical advantage and owen’s absence to their advantage.

You caanot pick a designated time to speak. The mover of a motion has the right to wrap up the debate on the motion if there is no one in their seat ad desirous of speaking.

The DLP would have been naive to do otherwise. In some ways the speaker was generous to OSA.

Al in all it was a parliamentary embarrasmment for the BLP, especially the shouting down of mia by owne.

For me this was compounded by the fact that Mia and OSA seem to have contradictory responses to the current crisis.

The above is what Trained Economist had to say on another blog. The point missing from the argument is the convention of both sides agreeing to speaking times. Given conventions and customs practices in parliament and Thompsons desire to be embrace all views don’t we see a conflict of positions?

20. Get Real
    You real real real fah trut..!

21. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

I am sorry, but I was really disappointed with OSA’s budget presentation. Given his training, intellect and experience, I really wanted to hear what he had to say at this time.

A major part of his speech was sought to explain away the sharp increase in barbados’s debt to gdp ratio from 50% to 80+%, that coincided with his term as PM. He quoted a famous study by Dinesh Dodhia, “The Emerging Debt Problem of Small States,” and sought to suggest that the explosion in the debt to gdp ratio is an inevitable consequence of being small.

I have read the study quoted by OSA, and it suggests that small states have unique vulnerabilities and therefore if they fail to exercise fiscal prudence their debt to gdp ratios will explode. He also emphasizes the role of natural disasters in the debt explosion. St. Kitts got hit by two major hurricanes, Grenada got hit by Ivan. What natural disasters have we had over the period coinciding with the surge in the debt to gdp ratio and OSA’s PM ship?

His suggestion for the crisis is even more debt, which according to him, you must do off budget. In local parlance, you must hide and borrow it. And by the way, according to him, the hell with the ratings agencies.
    Maybe its a good thing he is not going to breakfast.

The speech to me was essentially about defending his legacy.

22. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

You are taking a truly high road David.

I feel no sympathy with OSA on this one. The prima donna sh….te does not cut it.

There are three days of debate, you are not there most of the time as yu are paid to be. But yu must be accommodated to show up at prime time.

I think the BLP was just shocked that the relatively inexperienced and often tardy DLP team could show some parliamentary sophistication.

I think the speaker was very generous to OSA.

23. I believe the public is seeing this “team Barbados” talk for what it is – politics of inclusion a la DLP! I accept that Barbados has been comparatively well managed. Those responsible are still there; in the Ministries, the Central Bank and resource institutions like UWI, CDB and even CARICOM. I am not particularly interested in the political fortunes of Owen Arthur, as I have written before, he is yesterday’s man. However in response to your query as to how he should have responded to Thompson, my advice would be to ignore Thompson’s suggestion. Arthur needs to focus on exiting active politics. He should be working on first holding the St.Peter constituency for the BLP and ensuring that his successor can hold the seat for his party, help to promote young (or at least new) members of substance to the BLP and to assist the party in presenting an engaging, coherent and forward thinking political platform. Arthur needs to repudiate Thompson’s implied diminution of Parliament as the place where national debate should take place and more importantly that the official opposition and the official channels of communication should not be sidelined. Arthur needs to show discipline in his relationship with his party and tell Thompson that there is nothing stopping private consultations (which has always happened in the past) but that it is proper and fitting that the voices of all parliamentarians be heard at this time of immense national challenge.

24. All t’ree Prime Ministers and Doctor Haynes could only get Nelson turn roun’ but dey still can’ get he move…!

AAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhh

25. Anonymous // May 23, 2009 at 8:00 am

Well said Get Real

So Adrian Hinds agrees that Thompsonโ€™s sole motive is gaining the political advantage; NOT finding solutions to the economic crisis. However as long Mia Mottley is put at a disadvantage Hinds is happy. What Mia do he?
    ==========================
    SOLE????? deal with what is, not what you wish for. What it is that you seems to agree “disadvantages Mia’? You tekking issue with me for what you believe? ha ha ha ha ha

I could not possibily be happy about anything concerning Mia.

26. Gear Box
    that was brilliant. 20 words to sum up the political and economic efforts of the last 30 years.

27. Anonymous // May 22, 2009 at 9:23 pm

What must be assessed is the level of sincerity and the motives of Thompson in his suggestion of a breakfast meeting of former finance ministers. When juxtaposed with the issue of the order of debate in parliament, Arthurโ€™s claim of no prior notice AND THE ADVERSARIAL NATURE OF WESTMINISTER POLITICS, the only reasonable conclusion I can come to is that Thompson is really not interested in Arthurโ€™s opinion and was simply seeking a PR moment hopefully at the expense of the opposition.

————————————————–
    GP in another thread said the following

Georgie Porgie // May 19, 2009 at 6:52 pm
    “However, he is talking about Great Britain; a place that since 1966, Bajans hate like poison. We no longer follow the example of the โ€œmother country.โ€ We prefer to be mendicants to the USA, and follow their ways instead..”

————————————————-
    Adrian 2004
    The BLP that we all knew died when Owen Arthur became it’s leader….whether that is a good thing or not is not my point. The changing of the constitution of that party should signal once and for all that it is no longer the same. Tom’s BLP or Owens BLP or some such like naming convention will have to use to distinguish between the two eras and the differenceS of the groups calling themselves the BLP.

==========================

How many elections have we experience that saw Owen Arthur as the central campaign theme for the BLP? It is well establish, I believe, that Owen Arthur was the success of the BLP winning election and governing for the last 14 years. To my mind this tells me that Bajan have taken to voting for the party with the percieved strongest leader. Everything in recent elections point to this, be it the subject of polls, or the campaign slogans and theme. But West Minster is not about electing a leader, West Minster choose the Leader. Owen is squandering his national standing amongst Barbadians by not accepting Thompson’s invitation no matter the politics and gamesmanship Thompy may have factored into the request. It should still be of concern to the BLP, wether they can get elected without Arthur as leader, and what if Barbadians begin to see Arthur throught the lense they have always used to view the BLP?

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

David Thompson appears to me to be a little confuse.

Let me state it for David Thompson, OWEN ARTHUR’s shelf life has expired.

The people of this country voted your party into office because they wanted a new beginning. All OWEN ARTHUR and the Barbados Labour Party can offer is failed policies from the past. We as Barbadians deserve better.

Get on with the job David Thompson. You are the leader of Barbados you have to provide the VISION.

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Breakfast meetings my fanny.

30. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Trained Economist
    The question is was the debt meant to increase (eg to build up the country’s capital and productive base) or did it increase by ‘negligence’ (eg due to poor control over spending and/or over optimistic revenue projections) or increase by accident (eg responding to natural disasters)? Barbados did not really need to respond to the latter, so we can look at the first two. We see certain capital projects (eg rebuilding Kensington Oval, ABC highways) but have to ask will they help to pay for themselves. We know of other areas where spending/costs have been under poor controls and borrowing to cover that seems to have been necessary.

31. But Carson
    DT already had a national consultation last year and organised a group of “experts” (obviously pre-selected) to tackle the issue. The consultation was an absolute waste of time, packed with sterile speeches and ego stroking; all of the bankers and many others left just after lunch was served. There was very little time for comments from the floor. Who amonst them cared?

32. @livinginbarbados

We can’t fault the road improvement project idea although we question its implementation. Transportation is critical to national productivity. We do have a problem with Kensington Oval which was cost justified based on a legacy forecast.

33. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Anonymous
    “What must be assessed is the level of sincerity and the motives of Thompson in his suggestion of a breakfast meeting of former finance ministers.”

We know that politics is about strategy and manouvering. The motives for the breakfast offer may not be immediately clear, but the circumstances beg lots of natural questions.

In the context of the Budget presentation of “Team Barbados”, the idea of the breakfast could have been aired and would have looked and sounded to the House of Assembly like a sincere rallying call, more so for being an official open hand that stands on the record of Parliament. To make it afterwards looks at the very least odd.

The way it was presented makes it very easy for the former PM to refuse because he could have been asked privately or publicly but very directly, yet apparently was not, which in a very simple way seems dismissive.

If sincerity is at the root, then the ‘how’ is very important. Thus, we are left asking about the ‘why’.

34. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

Beg my pardon, but are we all invited to listen and will food be served?

Breakfuus, meeting. I would love to have Mia invited, together with Mr.Commissiong, then I may truly sit back and enjoy the fireworks, while enjoying some ‘crepe with duck’, washed down with some good old-fashioned OJ.

Sir Bentwood Dick, 4th Earl of Ruritania

35. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I should have written “We see certain capital projects (eg rebuilding Kensington Oval, ABC highways) but have to ask will they help to pay for themselves OR BRING CLEAR ADDITIONAL NATIONAL BENEFITS”.

I was citing some clear instances, but not all. Agree on arguments on ABC highways. For me, the jury will be out a long time on KO.

36. The above is what Trained Economist had to say on another blog. The point missing from the argument is the convention of both sides agreeing to speaking times. Given conventions and customs practices in parliament and Thompsons desire to be embrace all views donโ€™t we see a conflict of positions?

David, don’t get sucked in by BLP propaganda. There is no such convention, custom or practice!

Richie Haynes used to reply twice – his firstreply and then a speech on an amendment later. Roett changed all of that unilaterally. Go back and read the debates.

Some years ago, the BLP team went to parliament early without telling the Dems parliamentarians and passed 10 Heads in the Estimates and then said the DLP is lazy and has no intellect.

The Bees are terribly embarassed about this whole thing because it shows the divisions among them. Thompson held his team together like clock work. Thats the truth.

Clearly, the Dems outmanuevred the Bees plain and simple. Owen Arthur is no special parliamnentarian who has a time to speak. If he wants to speak he should be in his seat, rise and catch the Speaker’s eye.

He was the last speaker for the Bees and that alone should tell him that he should be in his seat.

37. @Veritas

Accepting what you have written one still has to explain the arrangement which Jones and Mottley seem to have establish regarding how speakers are scheduled. So was there a breach of trust, should there be or should political strategy be the ultimate winner?

38. ….surely David, that ‘arrangement’ would have been only a general guide to avoid confusion… I mean what if a scheduled speaker had ‘bad feels’, or just finished early, should everyone just sit around and wait until the next arranged time?

…in any case it is irresponsible for everyone on the BLP side to be missing at once, …who was watching the shop? how did they think it looked on live TV?

…the whole thing was childish, even the DLP grandstanding. After making the political point, the PM should have graciously invited Arthur to speak and offered him an extra 10 minutes to boot…
    ….and then unleash my boy Doctor D…. LOL

39. Veritas how come you ain’ run for office like all dem odda DLP lawyers? You don’ feel you had a good enough chance?

40. Why is it that there is no mention of the fact that it was George Payne who was the MP present when the PM attempted to close the debate before Arthur spoke ๐Ÿ™‚

Isn’t ironic that the man of many hats who hardly attended house settings in the latter period of the Arthur administration was the person who rose on a point of order to question Thompson’s attempt to close the debate and save Arhtur’s half hour?

41. Anonymous

Nobody does listen to me… you need a drink…!

AAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhhh

42. Veritas says,

“David, donโ€™t get sucked in by BLP propaganda. There is no such convention, custom or practice!”

The Nation Newspaper carried a letter written in the handwriting of the First Lady of Parliament, MS. Ronald Jones in which she set out the speaking order of the speakers and this has been the PRACTICE and CONVENTION of our Parliament for as long as I can remember.

But isnโ€™t it funny that in 1994 Owen Arthur inherited an economy with 27% unemployment, almost zero foreign reserves, no investor confidence, an alarming crime rate, starvation wages in the public service, a society where apathy and hopelessness abounded and where our every move as a people had to be sanctioned by an IMF Official sitting where our Minister of Finance should have been sitting at Government Headquarters.

This is the perfect scenario to summon help isnโ€™t it?

In 2008 David Thompson inherited an economy with 6% unemployment, lowest ever in the history of the country, over $2.6 billion in foreign reserves, strong investor confidence, an enviable living standard, and a confident and competent public service, a country that was paying its debt with ease and standing on the threshold of attaining โ€œFirst Worldโ€ status.

All that was required for the Government that followed was to MAINTAIN order.

But what happen in the two scenarios set out above? Arthur, who should have called for help fired the IMF Official and order him to leave Government Headquarters while Thompson in less than two years issues a SOS, a distress call for help to run the country. Even those whom he earlier described as being expired are now being asked to put on new shelf life and rush to his distress. In other words the CORRUPT is now to put on INCORRUPTION and the MORTAL is to put on IMMORTALITY and rush to save his incompetence. What a shame.

Base on the information I received from within the BLP following Thompsonโ€™s proposal of a Breakfast Meeting with Arthur, had Mr. Arthur accepted the BLP would have suffered a serious convulsion within its membership.

BU, it would be useful now to reprint some of the newspaper extracts from the DLPโ€™s public meetings of the last election.

Oh but then WE WARNED THE ELECTORATE THAT THIS WOULD HAPPEN.

43. How is it possible for employment to be 6%. That has to be the biggest lie in the history of lying in Barbados. It use to be comfortably placed at 17% until about 10 years ago it dropped to below 10% around the same time as the RE-introduction of some term “voluntary idle” or something like that. What a hoax

44. Oh and by the way when I first came to this blog I really thought that it was neutral and politically independent.

Now after reading some of the comments by David it is all so clear to me. But I donโ€™t have a problem with the fact that you support the DLP. I just donโ€™t want you to do what the fellows over on freepress do.

Please do not stifle or refuse to post opposition comments while allowing free range. That is all I asked. Also now that you have released your hand do not be offended when you are attacked in ways you may not have imagined.

45. Royalrumble

Submitted on 2009/05/23 at 4:25pm

Oh and by the way when I first came to this blog I really thought that it was neutral and politically independent.

Now after reading some of the comments by David it is all so clear to me. But I donโ€™t have a problem with the fact that you support the DLP. I just donโ€™t want you to do what the fellows over on freepress do.

Please do not stifle or refuse to post opposition comments while allowing free range. That is all I asked. Also now that you have released your hand do not be offended when you are attacked in ways you may not have imagined.

Was that a threat Royalrumble?

Despite that fact that we have asked you to ask your leader to submit articles to BU?

Despite the fact that we have uploaded your document sent to BU when you wanted to prove your case?

Despite that fact that we have not censored any of your comments to date?

Despite the fact that we have allowed you to have your fun by using multiple handles?

Why do you people feel that intimidatory tactics is the solution to everything?

Even just even if we are pro-DLP why would that be a problem as long as you had your say?

46. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Bush Tea
    It’s been fun following this discussion, but I cannot imagine that you say “in any case it is irresponsible for everyone on the BLP side to be missing at once, โ€ฆwho was watching the shop? how did they think it looked on live TV?” as if you really think that the politicians cared. I think most MPS see their buffoonery for the theatre that it is, and in the age of quite thrilling TV, you need to put out something that will challenge the audience to turn off if they dare miss some piece of idiocy. By and large, MPs know that the electorate will either not be watching or those who watch will know that it’s showtime, so why not have fun, because that wont be what determines the votes when it comes election time.

47. Base on the information I received from within the BLP following Thompsonโ€™s proposal of a Breakfast Meeting with Arthur, had Mr. Arthur accepted the BLP would have suffered a serious convulsion within its membership.

_________

The above (including usual grammatical errors) is a strange comment from Royal Rumble (Sylvan Greenidge) and needs to be analysed carefully (not because of his use of “Royal” that speaks to his identity).

This means that OSA is not finished with cut and thrust, partisan, leadership politics! Desipte his pledge to Ms. Mottley, Arthur cares more about how the rank and file judge him over the next few months because he is interested in being leader again.

(Notice RR seldom puts the case for Ms. Mottley! He is always defending, promoting and profiling OSA)

In 1994 who did the BLP ask to run the campaign to elect Sir George Alleyne? Branford Taitt. Did the DLP rank and file convulse? You were a Dem then Your Highness Royal Sylvan Greenidge. So what say you?

Is the DLP rank and file more mature? Do they see country first?

I have drawn my conclusions. Let me hear yours.

BTW, you sound like a very dogmatic, opinionated guy based on your threats above. Typical of the last BLP crowd. Can’t take opposition politics!

48. Answer ne one question Sylvan,

Where were you in the shambles of 1994.?

Who paid your debts and cost of living.

Simple questions only require even simpler answers.

Come clean you, trougher.

49. Veritas are you serious when the DLP came into power it wasn’t about putting “country first” it was DLP faithfuls/supporters/yardfowls first and to hell with the rest. Tribalism was rearing it ugly head and was seen as ok. Preachers in the pulpit saying that it should be acceptible. Hypocrisy is live and well on this board.

50. Redds, Barbados is a democracy and I refuse to debate illiterates like you. Find the nearest kindergarden.