Hartley Henry - DLP Political Strategist
Hartley Henry – DLP Political Strategist

Admittedly, my comments were general and not based on empirical evidence. Three weeks ago I advised my friend it was not wise to give up her job here in Barbados and fly to London in search of employment and career opportunities. My mom, her sisters and several of their contemporaries did that in the 1960s, and it worked. They studied, got trained and worked two and three jobs and made a success of themselves and a comfortable living for those of us who relied on those Pounds Sterling and food and clothing parcels, which we enthusiastically collected from the post office.

Those were the days when even if the British did not want us or like us, they valued and appreciated the contribution we made. Today, London Transport and the public health services, nursing care in particular, are of an enviable standard because of those Bajans and West Indians who made the trek to Britain back in the 60s and 70s.

I advised against her making the move now, because as well meaning as the thought and ambition was, the challenges in balancing one’s budget here at home is not unique to an individual or income bracket, or is it reflective of a lack of discipline in personal money management. Most people are “scrunching” because this is the time to scrunch.

We are in the midst of a global economic downturn and lifestyles and approaches will have to change if we all are to cope and survive this period. My thesis to my friend is that running away is not the answer. Packing one’s bags and flying to Europe, North America or even the northern Caribbean in search of greener pastures is not the answer. People in those countries are scrunching as well.

The reality, nevertheless, is that there is no cloud with a silver lining anywhere in the world today. When I spoke with my friend and her dear friend, we based our analysis on logic and on the occasional BBC report and documentary. However, twice last week I had reason to be in the capital city of London for more than the usual ‘passing through’ period and the impression I have drawn from observation, conversations and media coverage, is that rather than Barbadians heading to Britain for ‘economic shelter’, they would be wise to begin making provision for the return of some of their relatives and friends who had settled in that country.

Life in Britain today is no bed of roses. Simply put, it is dread. Job losses are as common as dips in temperature. You are going to work each morning, not knowing whether it’s your last day on the job or even if the doors to the office will be bolted shut. The cost of living has gone through the roof and public confidence in the political directorate is at an all time low.  Indeed, many of my counterpart analysts are predicting that the current Labour government under Gordon Browne is headed for defeat of the magnitude of John Major back in the 1990s.

Browne, from all reports, has failed to inspire voters. Indeed, he has failed to inspire members of his own British Labour Party. No one can point to any major commission or omission on his part, but yet the arrows of anger and vengeance are pointed in his direction.

Colleges and Campuses in London are recording diminishing attendances because students simply cannot muster the wherewith it all to attend classes. Part time job opportunities are declining because the social lives of individuals have been altered as a result of limited if not nonexistent disposable income.

This commentary is not being made today to scare or depress anyone. It is not in defense of any action or lack thereof here in Barbados. The point being made, as was shared a few weeks ago from the North American perspective, is that life today is tough and there is nowhere to run.

I am happy for the promoters of recent entertainment shows in Barbados. They made a dollar and I share their joy. But, some mother is going to rethink the wisdom of spending so much in that direction in the month just ended, come July and August when there is something called ‘back to school’.

Budget Day is approaching in Barbados and we all hope and pray that the Minister of Finance will work some magic. We will all wish to be taken to “economic heaven” but none of us will want to “die economically”. In simple language, there is no magic formula the Minister of Finance can come up with to avoid the economic turbulence we are experiencing. It is simply a rough ride. If he does not take a little, he cannot give a little.

They are those who will quibble over from whom he takes and to whom he gives. At the end of the day, it is the same pie he is seeking to share. It is no larger than it was two years ago. It cannot do much more than it did three years ago. Indeed, reason and understanding would suggest it will do less.

What is important in this equation is prioritization. I am sure, as we have seen in the past 15 months there will be tighter fiscal management and controls. There will be no cost overruns of the magnitude we witnessed four years ago. Contract sizes will be monitored and there will be greater transparency and accountability.

In the end nevertheless, though some will shout from the sidelines that had they been in the chair the streets would have been lined with gold, the reality, as we are witnessing in Britain and North America today, is that such is mere utopia.

Barack Obama cannot find a quick fix for the United States economy. Gordon Browne, as skilled and brilliant as he is, is going under because of his inability to stem the tide. Private sector giants, such as Chrysler in the United States, have thrown out a life line. The question therefore is that if none in the developed world, the industrialized world, the more prosperous developing world can find a magic formula, how credible and believable are those among us who say they can?

If they could and did not do it while they were at the wheel, why should we even listen to them now? We are living in tough times and each head of household will have to sit with those who comprise that household and work out a formula for success.

The Minister of Finance will be expected to lead and light the path, but, let it be understood, salvation in this ‘guava crop” will not come from running away from the problem or shooting the messenger.

My friends, get with the programme! Barbados is our business. We are all going to have to rally together and attend to it …or else!!

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

1. @HH -The Stretegist…….”The question therefore is that if none in the developed world, the industrialized world, the more prosperous developing world can find a magic formula, how credible and believable are those among us who say they can?” What a damn shame. Such a statement coming from a political strategist! Look at what you are saying here….those in the developed and industrialized world are superior to us here in the puny island. If they can’t solve the problem therefore we can’t solve it. My intelligence depends on their intelligence. They are the leaders, we are the followers. Monkey see monkey do. If they can’t/ don’t feed us then we don’t eat. Shameful. Black people wake to hell up. Separate from this satanic system that constantly leads us by the nose in circles. What is going on in the economies of the world is no accident, this is all part of a bigger plan by a group of White Men. There is no mystery here. Black nations DO NOT NEED these criminals. Separate from them. Why the hell do you celebrate Nov 30? What do you plan to do? Just sit around on your hands and knees and wait for the crumbs that fall from their tables again? Black Man know yourself?
    Stop looking for external solutions.

2. Dear Mr. Henry… Kind sir…

What says you (and yours) about the Reference Interconnection Offer (RIO) as provided by LIME, and as to be approved by the Fair Trading Commission (FTC)?

Here we are… Here and now…

Are Bajans to be able to choose alternatives for “Outgoing International Call Termination”?

3. Hi Chris

Want to jump on your bandwagon. The telecommunications and food sectors are the two made areas which the government have failed to make an impression so far in their term. LIME is laughing at we. The FTC is bound up in bureaucracy and the food sector is a lwa unto itself. What can we expect in the soon to be delivered budget to tackled these issues Mr. Henry. These are the two sectors which affect real PEOPLE!

4. Adrian Hinds Avatar

Hopi man stop miscontruing what de man said. His points are within the context of the economic system we live in. There are people who would want the rest of us to believe that the current downturn in Bimshire is the result of the current GoB, and the prevailing Global economic situation has nothing to do with it, and that they alone have the answers. One wonders why they don’t take their services abroad.

Europe is bleeding badly while some of it’s leaders engage in silly antics like banning people from entering thier space who otherwise had not demonstrated any such intent.

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB124155150793788477.html

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB124165214268293673.html

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB124160061463091263.html

5. @Adrian Hinds…..How am I misconstruing what he said? The crux of this piece is that “if the developing world can’t find a magic formula, don’t expect to find it among us” How long can the majority of humanity continue to be led by the nose by a “few men?” Why should we sit on our brains and allow others to think for us? Do you think that the plunging of world economies happened by accident? Before he would focus on Barbados and try to remove its dependency on external factors, he’s looking to the US and the UK?

6. @Dark Knight

We post Henry’s article by request. We are prepared to post an an article of your choice to allow you to present your view in a more structured format 🙂

Talk to ypour leader and let us know!

7. Thanks Chris and David! I agree with your comments!

8. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Those who read me carefully would be correct is knowing that I have no personal or political beef with Mr. Hartley, but I do take issue with his substantive arguments.

First, let’s deal with housekeeping. The British PM is Mr. Brown (not Browne). Small point maybe, but perhaps not.

Second, Mr. Hartley says “Browne, from all reports, has failed to inspire voters. Indeed, he has failed to inspire members of his own British Labour Party. No one can point to any major commission or omission on his part, but yet the arrows of anger and vengeance are pointed in his direction.” But wait, “No one can point to any major commission or omission on his part”? I think someone has not done their homework. I suggest a quick read of this week’s Economist will give many answers, see http://www.economist.com/displaystory.cfm?story_id=13528003, which explains how Gordon Brown first spent and borrowed the UK into a fiscal hole as Chacellor/Finance Minister, then as PM. The UK now has a whopping debt burden and a faltering economy and is paying a heavy price as the pound sterling plummets. The other aspect is that he presides over a party that is now viewed as personally nasty, with its scandals over ministers’ allowances and lately a botched sleaze campaign against the Tories, see The Economist again, http://www.economist.com/world/britain/displaystory.cfm?story_id=13527306.

If the taste of the suggested articles are not pleasant then there is enough published about Mr. Brown and his unpopularity to make one wonder how a ‘no one’ remark could be made. Perhaps Mr. Hartley thinks that no one will bother to check what he is writing.

On the rallying call and the matter of how to get out of economic problems, “Barbados is our business. We are all going to have to rally together and attend to it”. I would say hooray. But, as I have also said, Barbadians need to see the economy and how it performs as their business not someone else’s. To me that means major changes in how those in the key activities view what they do. Public servants need to understand that the job is about serving the public well. Tourism is a major foreign exchange earner and those who are in it directly need to make sure that the product/experience is the best on offer otherwise visitors wont come once or again. Retailers need to understand that prices that they cannot justify (with a clear explanation of how prices are made up) will naturally turn the public against them, and slowly spell their own demise. Everyone needs to appreciate that they are an ambassador and if the image is damaged by one it is damage for all; that’s hard to control but it is a lesson that can be preached. Those are just a few points on what rallying can be based upon.

9. HH is a well paid spin doctor, and not a political scientist.

The false portrait of Brown’s dilemma is his attempt to prepare us all for the stiff medicine about to be administered.

See it for what it is …a proactive excuse, prior to the budget.

10. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Agree with you Living in Barbados.

11. Adrian Hinds Avatar

I didn’t pay any attention to his comments about Brown or Browne. Neither was i thrown off by an E added to a word in error. The main point of his article I gathered to be, that what Barbados is experiencing is global in nature, and there is no escaping it by leaving the island, or believing the rhetoric of the BLP that they alone have the solutions.

12. It’s OK for Bajans to go to the UK and USA – either as legal or illegal immigrants – to find enployment… but it’s not OK for Guyanese or any other nationality to come to Barbados for the same reason.

13. Mr. David Sir,

I have no problem with Mr. Hartley Henry, never had and will will. It bothers me little if he is paid $155,000 or $200,000.

I think Henry is to the DLP what Gobells was to Hitler and Karl Rove is to the Rubulicans.

In Henry’s case, it is not the pay but the principle. The DLP did promise that it will not cheat, steal or lie.

I do not think the BLP has a problem with him either.

Rather, I think that it was Prime Minister Thompson who created a problem for Henry.

Remember!

It was David Thompson who got rid of “consultants.” He even gave the impression that having consultants was a very bad thing, hence – consistent with his alleged: policy of “change” – engaging consultants would a thing of the past.

I think the BLP was shocked when:

(1) Mr. Thompson (by stealth) appointed Henry as his Political Advisor, and

(2) When in the Constituency Act, the same DLP that said it was done with consultants – turn around and legislated the engagement of consultants.

I was not well trained, I would have to be honest and say that David Thompson is a nasty lier.

Henry, in the national interest, I hope you give sound advice which is capable of being followed eventhough I do not wish you or the DLP political success.

All I can say is – please stop creating so much MESS.

14. Hopi // May 7, 2009 at 9:43 pm

@Adrian Hinds…..How am I misconstruing what he said? The crux of this piece is that “if the developing world can’t find a magic formula, don’t expect to find it among us” How long can the majority of humanity continue to be led by the nose by a “few men?” Why should we sit on our brains and allow others to think for us? Do you think that the plunging of world economies happened by accident? Before he would focus on Barbados and try to remove its dependency on external factors, he’s looking to the US and the UK?
    ===========================

Hopi you have some valid points. But I don’t think you should have used those them to attack what HH said. His arguments are base on what is, not what should be as you are advocating. Your approach doesn’t occur overnight. Even on a individual level, those of us who seek to return to a level of self sustain living, growing our own food, reducing our carbon foot print, becoming less of a consumer, living within our means, in other words pulling back from the current economic system, have seen this to be a gradual reversal of our current habits. Changing habits is always easy, and with that we are all free to do or not do so. Government can only incentivise the behaviour that they wish for us to collectively engage in, and individually we can help by marketing this different approach by word of mouth. It will take time, and in the mean time we have to work and live within the current economic system.

15. BOTTOM LINE // May 8, 2009 at 9:12 am

It’s OK for Bajans to go to the UK and USA – either as legal or illegal immigrants – to find enployment… but it’s not OK for Guyanese or any other nationality to come to Barbados for the same reason.
    ===========================
    There is no law in Barbados, Guyana, UK or the USA that stops their Citizens from leaving for whatever reason. However they are laws in Barbados, Guyana, UK and the USA that can be used to deny entry and expel anyone not authorized to enter.

Disclaimer: I am aware of travel restrictions on US citizens to Island of Cuba.

16. As I understand it, here is the innovative and refreshing view; guidance and sound advice, from the Leader of Her Majesty’s Loyal Opposition – on Immigration Reform in Barbados.

It should now become clear to level headed and independent thinkers, why -in Barbados’ national strategic interest – the Leader of the Opposition would offer such sound advice to Prime Minister Thompson:

++++++++++++++++++++++

“The danger lies in the message that is communicated which can easily be distorted from what is the intention of the Government to legitimately control the number of illegal immigrants.

The Immigration Department’s capacity must also be at the centre of this discussion since persons legitimately waiting for extensions or renewals should not be disadvantaged.

There must also be urgently completed the Protocol for the Treatment of Migrant Labour in Barbados which the BLP started in its last term. ”

++++++++++++++++++++++

Well!

Since Miss Mottley puts is so eloquent and diplomatic, everyone can live with that.

Diplomacy my friends! Diplomacy!!!

Jack Straw, Dame Billie and Hilliary Clinton would tell you that Diplomacy – as put and mastered by Mia effortlessly – is an art.

17. Mia Mottley said :
    THE PRIME MINISTER IS ACTING WITHIN THE LAW.

Dark Knight you need to remind the Fat chain-smoker, of her own views with regards LAW AND ORDER and the price we would pay if we do not ensure the that sysem is fair, and transparent.

What could be her beef now? Oh she is now on the other side, strip of power.

18. @ Adrian Hinds,

On the topic on consistency, clarity, diplomacy and respect for the rule of law, here is more from the Leader of her Majesty’s Loyal Opposition:

“Whatever is done to deal with this issue must be done in a HUMANE AND TRANSPARENT MANNER – and one that does NOT breach the text or the spirit of our Constitution, the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas or indeed the Carciom Charter for Civil Society.

This must not be an excuse nor a platform for the fostering of intolerance or xenophobia in Barbados. And the Prime Minister has a responsibility to all Barbadians to make sure that this does not happen.

As has often been said, it is the impression created that can do the greatest damage even if that impression varies substantially from reality.”

A New Way…A New Beginning!

BLP’s Political Leader outlined Revolutionary Plans for Humane and Law Abiding – Immigration Reform in Barbados.

What absolute freshness!!!

19. Dark Knight: Nonsense. The BLP knows little about Humane treatment, and TRANSPARENTCY is not a word that they understand to the point that what it defines has ever been a practice of theirs.

Here is how humane your Leader has been. The video clip I put up was in response to the 14 illegal indians working in Barbados for 10 dollars a day. Under whose watch???? Should I put up those clips to refresh your memory?

The PM is acting within the LAW, so I do not understand your leader’s call for humane treatment and transparentcy. IS SHE SAYING THAT OUR LAWS ARE NOT HUMANE AND TRANSPARENT?????

20. This bunch of BLP leadership is so ANTI BAJAN it aint funny nuh more. I do not know how any Bajan elector can in good conscience and knowing of these actions and attitude of these BLP people can vote freely or even sell their vote to them.

21. @AH…..The same way HH is dishing out this Preparation H here, he can defend himself. However, I agree that my approach does not occur overnight, neither did the world economies enter the doldrums overnight. The same energy that we put into this corrupt shitstem and are willing to put back into reconstructing the same failed system(but with more blinders), we can take that and build our own and in this way we will not set up our children for failure. They would not have to deal with this recurring bullshit.

‘Reducing carbon footprint’ my arse. Stop falling for their dogma. They take their language and construct a new reality. This is another ploy to give them more control over us.

Another problem is living within a current economic system that only supports a few. I say to buck it!

22. “The danger lies in the message that is communicated which can easily be distorted from what is the intention of the Government to legitimately control the number of illegal immigrants.

The Immigration Department’s capacity must also be at the centre of this discussion since persons legitimately waiting for extensions or renewals should not be disadvantaged.

There must also be urgently completed the Protocol for the Treatment of Migrant Labour in Barbados which the BLP started in its last term. ”

23. Here is the level of commitment and love which the BLP has for this country.

Remember that the BLP was formed to defend Barbadians for all persons and threats – domestic and foreign:

1. The BLP stood up again the might US in Shipriders.

2. The BLP stood up against the OECD when the talk foolishness about Barbadians being a “tax haven.”

Who is the DLP standing up for:

CLICO; The Barbados Turf Club
    and Big Business.

The BLP has always been on the side of the poor and serves the masses while the DLP is on the side of the money.

Ask JADA, Rotherley, COW, Mapou, Clico and others.

For greater clarity on the BLP love for Barbados and therefore want “Only the Very Best” for Barbadians – here is the Leader of Her majesty’s Loyal Opposition:

“In addition, our only hope to sustain our quality of life and our economic development without the constraint of small size is dependent on our ability to do business, sell our services, trade and invest within the Caribbean Region.

Barbadian prosperity cannot be guaranteed by Barbadian labour and Barbadian capital alone.

It is urgent that the Lead Prime Minister of the CSME, Prime Minister Thompson, show leadership and ensure the urgent settlement of the long-awaited Protocol on Contingent Rights that will settle what benefits Caricom citizens will access if they live in another Caricom country. ”

Here is more:

“Very often, it is not only what is said but how it is said and what you do not say that influences the behaviour of people.”

+++++++++++++++

Thompson said a lot but said NOTHING!!!

Where are the over 30,000 illegal immigrants that the DLP said are in this country?

That is the ONLY issue and the ONLY question the DLP must answer.

24. Dark Knight said:

Where are the over 30,000 illegal immigrants that the DLP said are in this country?

————————————–

The true dark knight.

http://www.wildlifeonline.me.uk/images/graphics/Blind_Bat.jpg

25. It must be repeatedly stated that the quicker the mass of voters, esp. the younger ones, get rid of the DLP and BLP from the parliament of this country, the better it will be for the future and greater integrity and development of this country.

So far our political campaign at getting many more people to understand this fact is bearing great fruit, principally because of the types of responses that are being made by these persons. For, so MANY individuals that we have been speaking with have vowed NEVER to again VOTE for the DLP or the BLP simply because they have felt let down by the governments of both parties over the years. They realize that the DLP and BLP leaderships and principals are very much about themselves, their friends, the businesses and their business interests – which are things that we in PDC have been saying for some while – and NOT very much about the public or the national interests.

Moreover, many of these persons are increasingly pledging their support for the other two parties – the PDC and the PEP. At this stage, let us state, though, that there is little in common between us and the PEP. Unfortunately, sometime ago many, many people used to mistake us for the PEP. But as time has gone by these persons are realizing the ideological, social, political, professional and other differences between the two parties, esp. in regard of the fact that we have pledged unwaveringly to – whenever we become the government of this country – ABOLISH TAXATION, INTEREST RATES, MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE, EXCHANGE RATES, ZERO-“PRICE” IMPORTS OF GOODS AND SERVICES INTO THE COUNTRY, etc. Yes, such progressive policies we put forward as opposed to the PEP, even though the PEP has got its own progressive policies. And, yes, a vibrant, serious PEP is necessary and important, if we are to rid the DLP and the BLP from the parliament of this country.

However, where we in PDC are concerned, we are being told by so many more persons than before that if only we can prepare more candidates for the next election and get better organize and get more into the mainstream traditional media, et al, that they will definitely be willing to help us go forward.

And, of course, we are impressed by these considerations, if mainly because our primary mission is NOT ONLY to assist in the further development of the interests of the nation, those of the masses and middle classes (NOT the ELITE) BUT ALSO to make sure that we secure and use whatever right, proper and effective means for doing so. And, to those persons who are already giving us their political and other supports we say to them that we are encouraged by their solidarity with us and their support for our causes.

Finally, we must state quite categorically that no kind or amount of joke utterances by this buffoon, Hartley Henry, concerning attempts of his to defend the very miserable political stewardship so far of this lack-luster and discredited DLP Government will be enough to prevent the many thousands upon thousands of people in Barbados, who too are right now feeling the brunt of this political economic recession in the country, from becoming more aware of the fact that the DLP and the BLP must be VOTED OUT of the parliament of this country and thus their proceeding to democratically remove them from the parliament of this country, whereby they will be replaced by far more progressive parties like the PDC. So, Down with the DLP and the BLP!!!

26. Freedom From Mottley Owen and the crooks of the BLP Avatar
    Freedom From Mottley Owen and the crooks of the BLP

Here is the level of commitment and love which the BLP has for this country.
    Hey you idiot Dark crap, you had power for 14 years and never uses it to do all these things that you now moth to do all hot empty air.

Thanks to the people for a new DLP Gov’t you are a sad excuse of a person.

27. WOOW Dark Night, Dark Shadow what say you?

28. Like most Barbadians, I here trembling waiting for the budget.

I note that old ladies could not get their pension cheques while the same NIS was talking up $400 million to build two buildings.

Look, if crime does not kill us, we could very well starve to death.

Private sector officials say that prices are coming down even though there was reduced international demand since October 2008 when commodity prices fell drastically.

Here is something for the private sector!

With serious cash flow, and commercial banks imposing shorter repayment periods – what will happen when your existing stock runs out?