goweb

Blogging has become very popular around the world, Barbados no exception. Bloggers are usually ordinary citizens with no formal training in journalism but this ‘deficiency’ has not constrain members of the public from sharing opinions. In recent years blogging has evolved from a trivial pursuit and has started to leverage the power of the blogosphere to advocate causes, expose inequities …

In North America and Europe especially many blogs have been accepted as legitimate information sources by traditional media. The fact that the traditional media in Barbados continues to regard bloggers as nincompoops maybe more a reflection on them than the blogs.

Here is what fellow blogger Mario over at GoWEB Blog has to say on the question ‘Are Bloggers Journalist?.

146 responses to “Are Bloggers Journalists?”

1. It is no secret that one of our biggest critics is Carl Moore the former Chairman of the BBA. We suspect that in order to be critical it means he must be reading: – ). It is times like now that he should realise how his wisdom can be used to enlighten the PEOPLE. Mr. Moore please feel to jump in! It is our view that the BBA can usually be described as a motley crew. Several members of the BBA are appointed simply because they know a Minister.

2. And this is my point. Political appointees are not going to stand in the way of Government policy which in the case of a first term Government with an employment agenda is not to put people out of work.

Again Dennis this board will think double, triple hard before they decide to take a politically destabilising step like withholding licenses. You have very little to fear. Now is the time to test the waters. Chickens

3. @BAFBFP…

There is a not so subtle difference between Chickens and Opportunists…

The former *might* be forgiven….

4. Well said chris,well said!

5. Dennis Johnson Avatar

@BAFPFP

Maybe I just have a deep mistrust of political operatives …. but, consider this:

Operatives who believe, for whatever reason, that a station [or stations] are operating against the best interests of their party.
    That a moderator [or moderators] are working to destabilise their party-in-power.
    Two options:
    1] Pepper them with lawsuits; drive them into a corner; or force them to discontinue their style of programming.
    2] Have callers make comments that “incite racial tensions”, then have the representative of the targeted race make a written complaint [or complaints] specifying the times of broadcast of the offending material, the moderator who “encouraged the offending remarks”, and viola! grounds for a censure.

Fantasy? You decide!
    One thing I know for sure, if I owned the station under such attack, I would not risk my investment, nor my employees livelihood on “public opinion” or “first-term government”. …. but maybe you would!

Dennis

6. @Dennis Johnson… Please give us a *&$%^# break…

From your immediate above, what you are actually telling us is that the Fourth Estate must abide by what the “Operatives” dictate.

So, from your above, should we all ignore what you all have to say, because you’ve accepted (and have just now admitted) that you are actually under others’ control?

Please explain.

7. Dennis Johnson Avatar

@ Chris:

Which should I do? Give you a break or explain?

All I have sought to do is show how a controlled environment [such as a call-in programme] could be manipulated, and become restrictive, as opposed to an open forum [such as this].
    Remember, all i want to encourage is to have carefully thought out and presented interventions.
    If the level of contribution is improved, then the comments made about excessive cutting and unreasonable or over-protective producer intervention will evaporate.
    And Chris, if this were a call-in programme, your “*&$%^#” would have been cut!

Look, I am not trying to be a pain in the “*&$%^#”, but everyone [and yes, that means me too] makes a throw-away statement in a heated moment, than on reflection, we wish we had phrased differently.
    So accept that will happen. But the frequency of some of the thoughtless remarks that cause the irritating cuts can be controlled.

Dennis

8. @Dennis Johnson: “Which should I do? Give you a break or explain?

Both.

I do note that you’re now fixated on “cuts”. Please note that a “cut” is not the only option. A “beep” is another, and allows the discussion to continue, without the broadcaster being exposed to being libel for radiating profanity.

Of course, a “beep” simply limits the broadcast of “*#$#&*#$”; it doesn’t stop a discussion which isn’t desired.

Hmmm….

9. Dennis Johnson Avatar

@ Chris:

Agreed. And that’s where discretion comes into the picture.
    Look, the regulations are perhaps outdated, and our outlook ultra-conservative. But, one has to determine what one will spend to test what is “offensive to public good taste”, “abusive and leads to racial discord” and so on.
    One also has to decide how far the appeals will be pursued, and at what cost.
    In an environment where freedom of expression surpasses all other considerations, I am sure those limits would be tested, and re-established if found to be too restrictive.
    I do not think we are yet in that environment.
    Maybe, with new players set to enter the market, avenues for freer expression will be explored.
    Maybe, with this new administration, less restrictive guidelines will be established.

I am not yet ready to hold my breath [nor my tongue] and wait for those changes, but I know there are ways in which clever persons can discuss issues that some may wish to suppress, in a manner that evades censure.

Dennis

10. To make things worse, the producer now assumes the right to cut callers if he does not agree with his/her comments. I heard Stedson Babb in some background conversation say to Brown-noser that he did not agree with that approach.

11. Namestie Dennis.

However, I dream of the day when one must not be “clever” or “gutsy” to be comfortable saying publicly what they believe….

12. If CBC could aim at reclaiming its rightful place as a mid-day call program a lot of this @#$%^ would stop. I understand that people would be less willing to sue the Government owned station as they are less likely to see the matter dealt with dispatch. But again I am not so interested in the Law suits side of things as I am with the revoking of licenses. “An environment where freedom of expression surpasses all other considerations” has nothing to do with anything. Your stated policy is “committed to a free and frank discussion of issues”. The only “commitment that Starcom has shown in over twenty years of its call-in program is to its advertisers. I am sorry Dennis, but all that you have said comes across as hot air.

13. @BAFBFP
    “I am sorry Dennis, but all that you have said comes across as hot air.” …..

and I guess some may say, that’s why I am a moderator.

Sorry you feel that way though, I enjoy your contributions [in both places!]

Dennis

14. Oh belt up Dennis Johnson. Enough already. You mouth off far too much on Brass Tacks and now you come here to hog this show too? Get lost.

15. Yawn
    Man show some respect… Ca’dear man…

16. BU actually appreciates that Dennis Johnson has the guts to parley with members of the BU family. Not many have done that using their names and survived!

17. @BAFBFP

Please desist from using multiple names. At times we ignore a BU family member who uses another handle when they want to be constructively provocative but in this case we don’t appreciate what you are doing.

18. Now that journalist have won there appeal in court, I guess this gives them the RIGHT to invade people’s privacy. Well, since I don’t have the judicial system on my side, I’ll take my chances, if any journalist/reporter comes on my property unwelcomed, they would accept their reward.

19. David

What on earth are you talking about? What the hell am I suppose to be doing? Do you think that I am pretending to be Dennis Johnson?

20. @BAFBFP
    Not Dennis Johnson more like Guyanese.

We don’t have time to play games, be nice.

21. On a related point:

To breathe some life into VOBs callin show in the short term, VOB’s management needs to keep Dennis Johnson, Tony Marshall and David Ellis on the air most of the time. They are the best of the lot! Stetson “The Tueeeeeeeeeeeeeeeesday Edition” Babb should step aside and if possible replaces with Ralph Jemmott.

CBC can at the same time up the competition by pairing Larry Mayers and the controversial Tony ‘Admiral’ Nelson. There is nothing like competition to bring out the best:-)

22. David

The problem is not so much the moderator as it is the producer Mike Brown.

A moderator does not cut a caller a producer does.

Mike brown also determines what topic will be discussed on the Sunday brass tacks.

23. Just thought I’d make a quick contribution to this one: journalists, among other attributes, shoud have a sence of caring and responsibility for their country. Do our Barbadian journalists possess that??

24. talking about the VOB midday call-in programme, I find that once you say something negative about Rihanna, Mike Brown and Run-around Babb dismisses you rudely. It seems they hold this girl in their innocent hands and all that is happening, she is the victim. They behave like parents who believe everything their children say or do irrespective of all the evidence to prove otherwise. Keep it up and VOB will lose its call-in popularity.

25. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

Just to offer a different perspective. In the UK (and Europe) in the 1960s, the standard fare on the radio offered by the BBC was deemed ‘out of touch’. That led (simply put) to the development of pirate radio stations, mainly located offshore on ships. They offered what they felt the public wanted–modern music, mainly. They were raided often, and taken to courts. Eventually, there was a convergence. The BBC changed and took on new music playlists and DJs (some ex-pirates), and most of the pirates went off air (I guess feeling that mission was accomplished).

Perhaps a similar development needs to occur on Barbados’ radio. The blogs, such as BU, do part of the job as far as free expression goes, but it’s not the same as on-air broadcasts.

It takes a good amount of commitment and risk to make certain changes, and often change cannot come from exisiting organs, even if they have a will within. It’s almost a natural law. Some of the ‘establishment’ may need to break away to satisfy those who criticize.

It can be an unpleasant and personally damaging affair, though, to make the change needed.

Who is out there to really take on the role that those being criticized play now? No empty rhetoric, please.

26. @Anonymous
    If VOB put their strongest moderators on the air it will stem the obvious dissenting tide prevailing at the moment. It is why we said short-term. It will also create some healthy tug-a-war between the best mods and the producer.

@livinginbarbado, the BU family has discussed the matter or pirate radio stations. The discussion of the issue which Barbados is currently engaged maybe part of the process of getting to that point. Win lose or draw VOB will have to make a decision on how the call shows should proceed. The CBC opportunity (talk yuh talk ) has created an alternative, COMPETITION!

We want to remind the BU family that Mike Browne is following instructions from CEO Vic Fernandes, he gave these instructions after the Noel Lynch settlement. It is all about money and to held with the role Fourth Estate needs to play in a democracy.

27. Mike Browne is not just following Vic Fernandes orders so don’t let him fool you with that.

Mike browne was behaving that way before the noel lynch saga,and mike brown as a blogger above says, cuts off any discussion he does not like – whatever the subject matter.

He even cuts off callers who want to object or criticise his action as producer.

28. @ David
    I have a house guest. Still legal in these parts.

Tony Marshall and Ralph Gemmott are the biggest bores ever to be exposed to the Barbadian public. Dennis is correct when he suggests that being filled with hot air is key qualification required by moderators.

Here is a list
    Tony Marshall- Bore. Tedious and lacks an adequate command of the English language. Fancies himself as a cross examiner but has extreme difficulty listening!

Ralph Gemmot.- Conservative and stutters too damned much

Mathew Farlwy – Talks AT callers. He will never leave his class room

Akinoolove Corbin – Right mind but he was not designed to shut up.

David Ellis – Likes to hear himself speak. Contemptuous, patronising and impolite. When Mr Ego speaks he will be heard no matter who his crossing.

Dennis Johnson – Ego personified. If there were no reference to self in the English language, Dennis would be lost for words.

Stedson Babble – the name says it all

My personal favourites for call-in hosts/moderators are the women in particular Dr. Delph.

But I will never forget that it was Walter Blackman who initiated the march against Lloyd Earskine Sandiford, proving then the true power of radio.

29. !!!!!! // March 12, 2009 at 7:19 am

If you knew how little these producers are paid when compared to their over zealousness, you gotta know that they enjoy the power that they have. Like the imbeciles at BFP they get off on censoring and cutting and having that kind of control. Fernands knows how to choose his people. Brown-noser ain’ even a lawyer! If Fernands was really interested in quality he would pay the right salary to attract the right people, instead of paying himself the hundreds of thousands that he gets every year.

30. Dennis Johnson Avatar

@BAFBFP

Hot air, ego and a willingness to talk to [not at] anyone! What a way to make an honest living.
    I thank Walter Blackman [made my first contribution to a call-in programme with him as moderator in those days to which you earlier referred], David Ellis [who gave the opportunity] and the late Leslie Seon, and Annette Beckett, who as Producers [of class] helped me to understand how call-in radio should work.
    It has helped provide for may family.

Dennis

31. BAFBFP

Couldn’t agree with you more on everything you said above.

Sometimes it is easy to get the impression that some of the personalities are auditioning for a coveted position elsewhere.

I would like for a former VOB employee with some writing skills to do a proper analysis of that station down by the radio.

Do an Expose.

Lax and low morals,peversion,sexual harassment,a CEO who is grossly overpaid and can point to no obvious feature by him that contributes positively to the Station,and on and on.

I also agree that a producer should have some legal background and if that is not possible at least they should have some passing knowledge of what they are doing.

Having a big ego and a supercilious attitude should not be the only qualification to be a producer.

32. Dennis

Here is a challenge. I know it may sound easy to the normal run of the mill individual like me. But in your next broadcast (on radio) I would like you to make two consecutive sentences without the use of the word “I”. You should know that I am betting against you.

33. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Thanks for flagging that you have discussed pirate radio; I’ll try to check some of that discussion.

Sorry if it seems pedantic, but an alternative is not the same as competition. It is a choice and may always lose in a competition, depending on what is desired. Taking an extreme example. Siberia is an alternative destination but it cannot compete with Barbados for sun and warm sea. To my mind, Brass Tacks and Talk Your Talk may be alternatives but I sense that they are not in competition.

@BAFBFP
    I’m sure that each listener/caller has his preferred moderator. Relative to callers, most of the moderators seem to be better listeners–but that’s my personal take. Each moderator has a particular style and that suits some/all/no listeners. If it were like ‘American Idol’ they could be voted off/on. Maybe that is what some would prefer.

34. livinginbarbados
    Will you back off the fair play crap?!

Too many organisations in Barbados thrive on mediocrity and ignorance. Brass Tacks is no different. The call-in hosts, one in particular, love to refer to the concept of “excellence”, but thrive on entertaining obviously intellectually challenged nincompoops, otherwise referred to as regular callers, and it is my opinion that the primary reason for doing so is that these individuals are easy to talk down too.

And here is my list:

Mr P. After twenty years he actually believes that because he Mr. P makes a comment on air that someone actually listens and will take him up on it. The man is Delusional.

Mr. Canada. I’ve witnessed too many examples of this Canadian-returnee nincompoop spin on a coin as he “makes his point” The man must sleep with roller skates on.

The Jamaican “Laidy” – Both of them. Obviously a clear case of MPD multiple personality disorder

Mr Foreign Affairs – After starting with his famed “A Pleasant Day to You” proceeds to “say to you” that he knows very little about a whole lot of stuff. And don’t get him vex…

Mr. Christian – Ass. Head as hard as bricks and tries to come across as honest and caring. What a hypocrite

Mr. Taxi Vernie Hinds – Our local self appointed advocate for the protection of White people. Stan Ried (the Late) would be proud.

Ms P – My God for a person with letters the woman must have lost it some time after retirement.

Mr. Economist – My God. Nobody can create straw men like this ex-senator. The man is blind in so many other ways.

Then there are the not so bad ones

Mr. Taxi – He use to live in a Barbados where the people were “bawling and suffering” but now-a-days he is making a lot more sense. Why? He no linger calls…

Dr. Kools – Who understands her when she calls? She an Chris will do well together.

Mr. Koran – Obviouly well researched but to understanding him requires a tape recorder. I am sure he has a medical condition, I’m just not sure what.

The Trini Woman – Dem Yard fowl and will make good companions with many on this blog. The woman hates Guyanese

35. I forgot Wesly “Mr. St. Thomas”, Mr. Agriculture and Mr. “St. Philip” Layne, my personal favourites, and of course Glyne Julian Manningham Hunte the inimitable scorn of moderators.

36. Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha lol! BAFBFP, I think you understand VOB call-in program better than they do.

37. Thanks AH. I’ll talk to Sir Hillary about letting me to lecture to undergraduates on the subject. I’ll do it for free..!

38. BAFBFP

I see you are an equal opportunity blogger.

You diss the moderators,the producer and now the callers.
    Ha,ha,missed out any one BAFBFP?

39. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

@BAFBFP
    Again, with due respect, which you often lack. You can identify those whom you seek to dismiss or criticize, while you sit with the mask of the Lone Ranger. Anyone can snipe. It takes a lot of courage to show your face. So, without descending to your level if your tone cannot be civil, then I may as well treat it with the contempt it deserves.

I take comment moderation to mean moderating the comments. No one should be free to just insult people who take different views. That is what children do. But the danger of moderating is that you will see that you need to exercise control. Put yourself into Mr. Browne’s position?

40. @Livinginbarbados

Do we hear our members of parliament hurling personal abuse in the highest court of the land almost on a weekly basis?

41. @David, and the BU Family…

If I may please make an observation…

A few months ago The Economist carried a very interesting article…

http://www.economist.com/science/displaystory.cfm?story_id=12630201

Therein empirical evidence was presented which argued that when one perceived lawlessness by others, one is more likely to ignore the law.

Hmmm….

42. Livinginbarbados

As Ace would say

Crap…

43. @Chris Halsall

Snowballing effect like our ZR and minivan culture.

But what disgusts me in Barbados (an indeed the rest of the world) is that there is big money to be made by keeping people stupid. A stupid population makes good going for quite a few people where these people do not really have to perform; an environment where image is everything and product does not count.

Yes I criticize and I do it because it needs to be done. If there is an elephant in the room somebody’s got to first say that there is one. The elephant is that the media is the tool used by Government and business houses to keep people ignorant and in a state of dependence. The call-in programs reflect that ignorance and the moderators like journalists are nothing more than public relation officers.

Sorry Chris for criticizing you but you are a very complex being.

44. @BAFBFP… Please don’t hold back. In fact, to the contrary… Please, bring it on…

One must not give what one is not prepared to take….

45. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

If you want to compare your blog to Parliament do so, but remember that Parliament works with special rules, where the speech is ‘privileged’, which is why something slanderous can be said in Parliament free from legal consequence, but cannot be repeated outside without expecting legal action. But, in Parliament you cannot use offensive language. The Speaker is supposed to control that (as a moderator).

Anyway, I will keep my line and leave you to do your job.