goweb

Blogging has become very popular around the world, Barbados no exception. Bloggers are usually ordinary citizens with no formal training in journalism but this ‘deficiency’ has not constrain members of the public from sharing opinions. In recent years blogging has evolved from a trivial pursuit and has started to leverage the power of the blogosphere to advocate causes, expose inequities …

In North America and Europe especially many blogs have been accepted as legitimate information sources by traditional media. The fact that the traditional media in Barbados continues to regard bloggers as nincompoops maybe more a reflection on them than the blogs.

Here is what fellow blogger Mario over at GoWEB Blog has to say on the question ‘Are Bloggers Journalist?.

146 responses to “Are Bloggers Journalists?”

1. In the traditional sense/terms of journalism, BLOGGERS are not journalist simply because we or SOME of us are not beholding to special interest, our visions are not clouded by stratifications within the respective society and some of us are definitely not paid to keep that status quo in place. Hence some of us even have more credibility than ‘professional’ journalist who were educated and trained in the doctrine of SPIN.

2. Seriously, I think that you fight the cause and eventually, people will HAVE to respect you for what you say you are.

I remember a time in this country where David Thompson was laughed at in many circles. Many said he wasn’t leadership material, but he believed that he was defined first and foremost by himself, and not others. Look at him now.

As bloggers continue to fight the cause, and maintain a high standard, they will conjure up so much readership and influence that the traditional media will be FORCED to acknowledge them.

3. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Many would argue that the words ‘journalist’ and ‘journalism’ if kept at a fundamental level would include bloggers. There will be arguments about what the term means because there is at least a belief that a profession exists. But, to my mind, the art of writing for the public does not depend on a specific training or qualification. How would one categorize those people who contribute occasional/periodic articles to a regular newspaper?

Are those who write blogs for regular newspapers, such as the NY Times not journalists, even if they also have regular columns?

I’m frankly surprised that the California ruling has gone apparently unchallenged, but it may be early days on this issue.

Technology has made many traditional distinctions obsolete, but the laws will take some time to catch up.

4. @livinginbarbados…

Ah, the Law…

And Technology…

They seem to be in constant conflict, don’t they…

Meanwhile, some of us will continue to do what we can, and laugh at those who say we cannot (and/or should not) do.

Some of us know what we’re doing… And are *very* comfortable where we find ourselves….

5. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Chris Haswell

Elegantly put. Oh, to be comfortable in one’s skin.

6. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@ Chris Halsall…excuse my typo on your name.

7. When all is said and done we all know that the blogs continue to make their contribution. We have a situation now where people in high places are becoming wary because information can now quickly make its way to the Internet. Two things will have to happen 1) shut us down or 2) change the old way of doing business.

8. @livinginbarbados…

With regards, “skin” really has *absolutely* nothing to do with anything except history.

It is rather the individual *mind* which matters here and now….

9. @Chris

A big disappointment we have is the reluctance of Barbadians to use the Internet to blog or set up websites to benefit from the potential which it can offer to improve the lot of mankind.

10. @David…

Keep working the problem… It will take some time…

It seems that others must prove the path before some dare to tread. (Not actually an unreasonable position for the latter group, although somewhat cowardice of same.)

Particular namaste to you David, for building and sustaining the BU Family….

11. Why do newspapers hire bloggers and promote their scribblings? And why are newspapers failing faster than the banks? Go figure.

12. I am personally of the view that the newspapers refuse to acknowledge the blogs because of fear. It’s the same reason why Barbadians can’t get into the VoIP market without getting shut down. The internet technically has no overheads. Whether you’re using it for phone calls or publishing news, the Internet is a more robust, cost-effective platform than the traditional companies use. There is no way a printed publication can compete with a website. A website doesn’t have to wait until the next day to publish breaking news, and they can interlace articles with video and other types of interactive media, and there is no overhead cost of buying ink or maintaining printers. I think newspapers KNOW that an internet news revolution could spell the end of the print-media industry, and it would be too costly to restructure their operations.

13. GoWEB // March 8, 2009 at 9:50 pm

“I think newspapers KNOW that an internet news revolution could spell the end of the print-media industry…”

I doubt it. The BU family for example, is not exactly a mass based enterprise. And then there is the matter of the salacious court pages, the reason why 33.33% of the people in Barbados buy newspapers.

Don’t exactly see many people carrying a blog with them on a mimi-bus or to the lunch room.

If Government, in an attempt to improve internet competence, gave away lap tops for free to every citizen, the fact that over 50% of the population are women would suggest that chat rooms like facebook would benefit from a surge in patronage and news papers would continue to sell as they always have.

14. The threat to the established media will not only come from blogs. There is the tendency from a younger and savvy population to search out information/news from multiple sources. Newspapers in the USA are only feeling the impact. Also you can’t underestimate the impact of economic slowdown where disposable income, advertising etc will reduce.

15. […] has become very popular around the world, Barbados no exception”: Barbados Underground says that “the fact that the traditional media in Barbados continues to regard bloggers as […]

16. David
    The trouble with newspapers is that they really are not news papers. News, the reporting of events that have actually occurred really does not happen does it? Even if you surf the web the closest that you will get to news will be that of an opinion from someone posing as an expert on the topic. The actual reporting is so filtered and with a selection of biased adjectives that are clearly designed to influence an opinion on the topic. Frankly I hate terms like “It is widely believed” and “inside sources reveal that …” and “surgical strike” and “terror”… all innuendo.

17. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Chris

Skin is a metaphor: it is that in which we live. Maybe I should use house or cave or land or place.

When you know what and where you are and have belief that what you do is of value, definitions of you do not matter. Hope that is clearer.

18. Thewhiterabbit Avatar

There are many significant differences between journalists and bloggers, or perhaps better stated, between journals and blogs. First, most blog entries tend to be quickie little print versions of the “sound bite”. Only infrequently are we presented with a chain of sound reasoning, or, in other words, with any wisdom. Second, in journalism there is a chain of responsibility. A journalist does not, in fact, write just exactly what they want to write, or at least not until some serious stature has been achieved. The journalist writes a piece, which is then sent to one or more editors who check not just spelling and grammar, but also check to see if the piece actually makes any sense, actually says anything worth reading or worth knowing about. The editor also checks to ensure that the facts are verifiable, that the piece does not needlessly and willfully damage anybody’s reputation or standing in the community. All of the above ensures that the piece is not just the personalistic ramblings of one singular author nor the venting of pent-up spleen. Because none of the above-noted processes, emphasis on processes, obtain in the blogosphere, the blog and blogger cannot be accepted as journalism and journalist.
    The above words are not meant to suggest that there is no point or purpose to blogs and blogging. Quite clearly the blogosphere provides a service not previously available outside the traditional pathways of gossip and sharing of information. The above words were also meant to apply to good journalism, and specifically not to what is currently available in the Caribbean where small population size and ties to government seriously affect the quality of local journalism. So, blog on, please do, but at the same time don’t confuse blogging with serious journalism. Sorry, just ain’t the same thing!

19. @Thewhiterabbit………’The editor also checks to ensure that the facts are verifiable, that the piece does not needlessly and willfully damage anybody’s reputation or standing in the community’ falsity….Perfect example the ‘beacon’ of journalism the NYTimes helped to lead the comatose world into the decimation and pillaging of Iraq thru one of their journalist who siad that she had factual & confidential info that Iraq had WMDs. All you care about is someone’s reputation or standing in community? How about the death of over a mil human beings? Some sound reasoning and wisdom! Ain’t it! I know of many blogs out there that have more credibility than than your traditional journalistic pieces. Long live the Blogs. Long Live BU.

20. @livinginbarbados… My apologies for not correctly interpreting your meaning, and for your clarification of same.

I agree with you.

21. It can easily be argued that some of the great advantages of the “Blogsphere” is:

1. It is immediate.

2. It is efficient. No trees die in the process.

3. It allows for peer review of the content of the main article, and subsequent posts, and for serious debate of the points raised.

4. There is (often) no “gatekeeper” controlling, or “managing” the message.

There, is of course, downside…

1. As with anything, one must be careful believing anything one reads. As “Red Green” says, “You need a license to buy a bullet — any idiot can buy a stamp.” (Or, now, Internet Access.)

2. Some Blogs are as tightly controlled as the traditional “Fourth Estate”. (Not mentioning any names…)

3. There are actually groups who retain teams, independent of the Blogs, which work to try to “manage the message”. (Again, not mentioning any names…)

IMHO, at the end of the day, the legal debate as to the formal status of Bloggers is quite separate from the work actually being achieved by same.

Blogging (can) introduce true democracy to contemporary debate.

It never fails to amuse me those who find such raw and open dialogue abhorrent….

22. @Chris
    Can you remember Ian Bourne reporting a comment issued by now Minister Maxine McClean when he attended a town hall meeting to discuss the freedom of information bill? She had this to say when asked about the contribution of the blogs:

Senator Maxine McClean stated at the Town Hall meeting at Combermere school last night that blogs have their place in establishing limits of a democracy.

23. Indeed Goweb. Well said Hopi.

One should note that Bloggers are not asking themselves if they are Journalist. It is probably Journalist who are asking themselves if we are like them. The answer for me will always be no, and the real question should be, do bloggers want to be Journalist? I don’t think so.

24. A related point is the constant accusations that VOB has been heavy handed while managing their call-in programs. We appreciate the issues which VOB or any other radio station have to deal with regarding defamation. An example we can use is the immigration matter and the concern Barbadians had exhibited before the government changed. VOB refused to discuss matters related to immigration and the perceived high inflow of illegal Guyanese and others. Miraculously under the current government  this matter is now being discussed. Bottom-line, VOB needs to find a better way to manage the call-in show if as they suggest it is for a public good i.e. give a VOICE to the PEOPLE. If it is that the value of their program becomes diminished because of frustrated callers then what is the point?

Not sure if the  exchanges between Peter Wickham (host of CBC Talk Show) and David Ellis (Manager at VOB) were heard this morning on the CBC call-in Talk Yuh Talk. The exchange was sparked by a caller known as the Trinidadian Lady who complained about the heavy handedness at VOB. We should congratulate CBC for creating some competition which is forcing the issue of freedom of expression on talk radio in Barbados.

25. @David… Yes, I do remember that. And I remember believing (or at least hoping) at that time that McClean had misspoken, or had been misquoted, and what she actually meant was:

“…blogs have their place in establishing limits OF ABUSES of a democracy.”

The reason I came to this conclusion and interpretation is I can think of no situation where open debate would limit a democracy.

Quite to the contrary, in fact.

26. Speaking of “managing the message”…

Let me please refer you to the Nation Sunday Sun, 2009.03.08, page 18A. Headline: “No blot on island”. Topic, the very unfortunate attacks on two visitors to our beautiful island.

This article in the Nation tried to communicate to its readers that the attacks were being viewed as an “Isolated Incident” internationally.

It quoted several people from “afar” claiming such things as “For me, I think that could happen anywhere…” (Which is, of course, true.)

Interestingly, there were absolutely no contrary positions presented.

So, if a Bajan was relying only on the print media for their Point of View (POV), they would have been told that everything is fine — potential visitors understand that this was an unusual incident.

Unfortunately, this is not the truth…

This incident will probably cost Barbados at least $1 million in lost tourism revenue. People simply deciding after reading about the incident that perhaps Mexico, Hawaii, Europe, or any other country in the world is safer. Or, perhaps, that simply staying at home is even more so…

The truth sometimes hurts. Not facing it hurts even more, in the long run….

27. Chris, the idea that if things are not “prim’ n proppuh” it is to be swept under the carpet,… is a highly held view and practice throughtout Barbados. This blog exist as a result of this national pastime.

28. @A. Hinds… Please understand that I understand this. And this is exactly what I (and many) are trying to change. (And I suspect you understand this.)

“Sweeping under the carpet” doesn’t scale. The unfortunate happens. It is how an individual, a people and/or a country deals with unfortunate truths which truly defines the character and opportunities of same.

We *must* scale, or else we become (or, more accurately, remain) nothing but consumers and servants of those who have reached this realization….

29. VOB Programming and its call in shows are experiencing the laws of diminishing returns.

Getting poorer and poorer by the day.

The public seems to be turning to CBC 100.7 fm in a big way and the behaviour of starcom whether it was the veoma ali matter or their heavy handness on the call in show is certainly not helping.

CBC started the call in shows with Elombe Mottley which held the sway and it seems that things have come full circle once again and people are returning to that station now.

Now may be a good time for CBC to do a listenship survey.

30. Dennis Johnson Avatar
    Dennis Johnson

I [somewhat reluctantly] must make this intervention on behalf of my station.
    I constantly hear [and read] of concerns about defamation. What I seldom [if ever] hear about is reference to a small matter called a license.
    That “small matter” can be revoked for broadcasting matter that offends public morals, stirs up disaffection against any section of the population, and a host of other infractions.
    Does anyone recall the PM’s comment about Political Broadcasts and “some stations breaking the law”?
    If the Broadcast Authority decides that comments made about Guyanese nationals in Barbados [select any of those printed on this blog by Negroman as an example] are representative of a breach of the broadcast license, and suspends the operations of Starcom Network Inc. [all four stations], please consider the financial loss [over the period it would take to obtain a review or re-instatement], and the effect on the future of call-in programmes on that [or any] network

Dennis Johnson

31. @Dennis Johnson… I truly appreciate your stepping forward. However, I take some exception to what you’ve said…

@DJ: “Does anyone recall the PM’s comment about Political Broadcasts and “some stations breaking the law”?

Yes. But we also remember the PM publicly stating that the Fourth Estate should do their jobs. (To paraphrase.) And, further, your above quoted statement was about “Political Broadcasts”, not *all* Broadcasts.

Further, we also know that those speaking “live” on the radio are not actually live — they’re delayed by many tens of seconds. This is so the manager responsible can hit a button to silence the caller if said caller goes out of bounds.

At *some* point in time you and yours will have to stop giving the pathetic excuse of “We might be sued!!!” for your benignity.

Yeah, you might be sued. And this would show you are actually doing your jobs.

And, if I may, this is where the *fun* begins. Heck, where I come from, everyone in the media *wants* to be sued!!!

At least, everyone with any testicular fortitude….

32. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Thewhiterabbit.
    You paint a wonderful world for ‘professional journalism’ as distinct from blogs. However, I suggest you take a good look at blogs, and see how they have changed and how corporate journalism has embraced them as a part of what they do, and subject to many of the limitations on other forms of writing.

I also suggest that you take a look at the local papers at random and see/ask if they pass the test of good journalism. I wont presume your conclusion.

What is worth reading is actually determined by the reader, not the writer.

Many bloggers take a while to write because they do their background research or think hard about their ideas before committing them to the blogosphere. But both forms can coexist.

Journalists of the kind you describe also work without the limitations you outline. How do you view television journalism, of the ‘live reporting’ or ‘breaking news’ kind?

33. Dennis Johnson Avatar
    Dennis Johnson

Chris:
    1] The reason why I mentioned the political broadcast comment was because there is a difference of opinion about what constitutes a political broadcast. There is also a doubt about the proclamation of the regulations covering political broadcasts.
    These things, however, did not deter the PM from stating that the law was being broken.
    2] Are you aware of the costs associated by pursuing litigation in this fair land? There is a lawsuit dating back to the “chicken controversy” that I am sure the cost of legal representation far outstrips the sum requested by the complainant.
    3] The delay system used by radio stations requires a Producer to make a decision in 12 -20 seconds on a matter that may take judges and lawyers 12 years to decide. Would you take that job?

34. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Dennis Johnston
    I think we bloggers are less aware of or concerned by certain legal limits on say a radio station or newspaper, because the law allows us to work in an ambiguous space, which may not last much longer. I can well imagine needing to be registered because it tends to force a certain ‘discipline’ or duty of care. Not everyone will like that, but protection goes both ways. Slanderous remarks are really only possible on blogs, for example, because the utterer feels that he/she will not be made accountable. Blogs that allow that run the risk of eventually being sanctioned. We live in a liberal environment but only have to look at how the Chinese famously control access to the Internet.

35. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Chris
    I’m not sure that Starcom and others doing their job means going to the point of being sued, because that may suggest that they have not been taking care to do a good job. If the suit is frivolous, good for them. But it if is not and they are brought down financially then we would have to think about what the consequences really will be.

Thanks for making a good discussion.

36. @Dennis Johnson…

1. DJ: “…because there is a difference of opinion about what constitutes a political broadcast.

1.1. One *might* have thought that *your* Company, and *your* Industry, might have wished to get to the bottom of this question.

1.2. This involves having an opinion which you are willing to stand behind and test.

2. DJ: “Are you aware of the costs associated by pursuing litigation in this fair land?

2.1. Yes.

3. DJ: “The delay system used by radio stations requires a Producer to make a decision in 12 -20 seconds on a matter that may take judges and lawyers 12 years to decide. Would you take that job?

3.1. I have *done* that job, with a Manager standing behind me.

3.2. The rule is, you do the best job you can, and be prepared to stand behind the decisions *you* make.

37. Are we to understand that the persons who make up the broadcast authority are Zombies and not thinking,intelligent citizens of this fair land and thus liable to making arbitrary,unreasonable decisions in a state of panic.

Is there any radio station in the history of Barbados who had their license taken away for what you referred to above?

Are we to also understand that these eminent persons on the Broadcast Authority live on Mars and not in Barbados where they are privy to the daily expressions of barbadians and can distinguish between a bajan expressing himself and someone seeking to incite a riot?

If the said F.M. stations which starcom own are allowed to be used by their DJ Lil Rick to give shout outs and other coded messages such that the royal barbados police force mentioned it some time ago as a matter of concern for them;and yet starcom license was not taken away,then,what gives?

Barbadians to my mind are not fools.

38. @livinginbarbados: “I’m not sure that Starcom and others doing their job means going to the point of being sued, because that may suggest that they have not been taking care to do a good job.

Or, perhaps, that the environment within which they’re working is broken? And perhaps it is time to fix it?

Part of Law is testing things. Asking questions. Setting precedent…

If our “Fourth Estate” don’t even know what the boundaries are, let alone be willing to test them, why should we trust them to communicate the alleged Truth to the People?

39. What a hoot! Journalists actually research their work without letting personal views and opinions enter into the article. Bloggers, sadly, do little research into facts and let their owns opinions, feelings, and bias guide their words. No where is it more obvious than on BU. Bloggers don’t have to take responsibility for their words because they are blogging in unchartered and unregulated territory. Journalists have to answer to someo one whether it be their editor or their publishing house. Good thing that most of you bloggers on BU don’t have to be responsible to anyone nuh?

40. DJ is probably right, we have pushed the limit on the issue of immigration, what choice did we have if we really wanted to make a difference? Until BU came along the former Prime Minister felt comfortable openly admitting that he knew that a contractor who did work for him hired illegals. Before BU came along your radio station was very passive on the issue of illegals in Barbados, to be fair this has changed of late. Don’t know if you are familiar with Machiavelli doctrines but BU took a position when we started the blog that if we are not prepared to die for the cause then why bother? Your arguments are sound DJ but the critical role of the Fourth Estate DEMANDS that the management of STARCOM finds a way for the PEOPLE to speak out.

41. livinginbarbados // March 9, 2009 at 6:07 pm
    “Many bloggers take a while to write because they do their background research or think hard about their ideas”…

hmmm…!
    AAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhh

42. David

Pushed what limit?

All you did was give bloggers an opportunity to share their deep seated concerns about the large influx of immigrants into their small space,and government’s seemingly lack of will and dertimination on the matter.

As a result,the prime minister,the minister of immigration,the cabinet,the opposition,and even norman faria and ricky singh are now clear how barbadians feel.

To be forewarned is to be forearmed don’t you think?

43. I gotta Influx of immigrants in my back yard and all de bait and plukkin’ ain mekkin’ nah difference…

AAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhh

44. @David… With respect…

The fundamental issue is not simply for the Forth Estate to allow the People a voice, but rather, for them themselves to push themselves to present *all* of the real issues of the populous to same for their consideration.

“Journalists” /should/ be asking, and getting answers to, the questions we’re /all/ asking.

So why does this occur here in Barbados only on the Blogs?

What’s wrong with this picture?

And, how do we fix it?

(And when I say “*all* of the real issues” above, I mean *ALL*.)

45. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Chris
    I agree with you that the system needs to be tested and from I have seen in Barbados that test is rarely done.

That said, in the instance of Minister Lynch/Starcom, he sued and won, which surprised me.

46. @lib: “That said, in the instance of Minister Lynch/Starcom, he sued and won, which surprised me.

From my understanding, what you say is incorrect.

My understanding is that instead Minister Lynch *threatened* to sue Starcom, and was quickly paid out by the latter.

A *BIG* difference. No court was actually involved. No precedent was set.

(Please, anyone, correct me if I’m wrong on my understand of what actually happened in this instance.)

47. @Gearbox
    When I say many I do speak for most but those whom I know to be bloggers; many of these are professionals and write blogs for known media houses, such as Prof. Krugman–see his post in today’s NY Times, http://krugman.blogs.nytimes.com/?scp=2&sq=krugman&st=cse. Being a professional may reduce the need for extensive new research. Some bloggers I know only write weekly because of the time it takes to do the background work. Literally speaking, they might not be called journalists because of that lower regularity, but I am not splitting hairs on that.

48. I have no idea why Chris, Dennis Jones, Dennis Johnson, David and others are attempting to concern us on this blog with the issues that the mainstream media and it’s journalist employees are facing. The Nationnews has a blog, VOB has a blog, CBC has blog, go and talk to them, and with them about their issues in their space, if they will let you,… but Please be aware that your post will not be immediately available, as it has to be checked and varified and decided upon. Such,is what some argue is needed and necessary. I say go, and live with it.

49. David

Would you consider putting this topic at the top so more of the BU family and visitors can see it and join in on the discussion?

50. @Adrian Hinds: “I have no idea why [several people] and others are attempting to concern us on this blog with the issues that the mainstream media and it’s journalist employees are facing.

Because it might be interesting…

@AH: “…if they will let you,… but Please be aware that your post will not be immediately available, as it has to be checked and varified and decided upon.

I presume you jest here.

And if not, then you’ve answered your own question above….