goweb

Blogging has become very popular around the world, Barbados no exception. Bloggers are usually ordinary citizens with no formal training in journalism but this ‘deficiency’ has not constrain members of the public from sharing opinions. In recent years blogging has evolved from a trivial pursuit and has started to leverage the power of the blogosphere to advocate causes, expose inequities …

In North America and Europe especially many blogs have been accepted as legitimate information sources by traditional media. The fact that the traditional media in Barbados continues to regard bloggers as nincompoops maybe more a reflection on them than the blogs.

Here is what fellow blogger Mario over at GoWEB Blog has to say on the question ‘Are Bloggers Journalist?.

146 responses to “Are Bloggers Journalists?”

1. @Chris

You may be correct that it was an out of court settlement; the original report in the Nation is no longer available online, but Vic Fernandes was reported to have confirmed that payment of B$60,000 had been made including legal costs.

But, for some that highlights the risk. If you are sued or threatened with a suit, you need to able to deal with it. I cannot hypothesize about what that might mean but it’s a real cost that has to be calculated. You (I presume) and I run bigger legal risks because we operate openly under our real names so could more easily be held liable. Anonymity gives a certain cover but that cannot be the basis for a real comparison.

2. Anonymous // March 9, 2009 at 7:54 pm

Would you consider putting this topic at the top so more of the BU family and visitors can see it and join in on the discussion?
    ===========================
    Why? This is not an issue, that by any measure, one can say is engaging the thoughts of most Barbadians. This is the people’s blog, not one for the few who have chosen to remain anonymous! David, you should know that the media will not change unless force to do so, you clearly demonstrated this with the Illegal guyanese debate. Leave them, they know exactly what they are doing, and will be force to change as soon as their no1 position is threathen. Their stubborness and or laziness will be the birth of more people centered technology to further communication, that is free of censor. Necessity leads to inventiveness, and the Blogs are only the beginning.

3. @Anonymous… LOL.

@A: “But, for some that highlights the risk.

Only to fools.

@A: “If you are sued or threatened with a suit, you need to able to deal with it.

Yeah. Just like any other situation anyone might face in their lives.

@A: “You (I presume) and I run bigger legal risks because we operate openly under our real names so could more easily be held liable.

This is *exactly* why I always use my real name. If I’m not comfortable standing before a court arguing what I’ve said is true, I won’t say it.

@A: “Anonymity gives a certain cover but that cannot be the basis for a real comparison.

Anonymity is an illusion; an artificial abstraction. People might *think* they’re anonymous on the Internet. But unless they *really* know what they’re doing (and most don’t), they’re not….

4. @Chris

You are correct and BU even found time to blog about the threatened law suit. Also everyone knows that Sir Fred called the shots as far as who should be paid. What law suit what !?!

5. Chris I am sure what your response to me was intended to do, and since, it is written in your now legendary complex manner, I will have to assume what you meant. If perchance, you are taking issue with my suggestion regarding a contribution to the “RESPONSE” section, of the three bajan websites i mentioned (Nationnews, CBC, VOB), below is what one gets after “sending” their comments, and in all three cases your comments are not readily displayed.

VOB : Your comment has been accepted and is subject to approval

CBC: You comments will appear as soon as it is approved by the moderator

VOB: Your comment as be qued for moderation.

6. @Adrian… LOL…

Language can be such fun, can’t it?

7. @Adrian

There is a benefit to blogging about the shortcomings of traditional media. The ratings from Freedom House and other international rating agencies that apply certain indices to measure freedom in Barbados do stumble on these blogs and sometimes questions maybe asked of people in high places.

8. @Chris

I gotta agree with AH. My God man your comments require serious deciphering…

9. Chris Halsall // March 9, 2009 at 8:36 pm

@Adrian… LOL…

Language can be such fun, can’t it?
    ————————————————

So, do I still jest? If I do not, then I can move on to your other point, that suggest,if I am correct, I would have provided a possible answer, to my initial statement of…..
    “I have no idea why [several people] and others are attempting to concern us on this blog with the issues that the mainstream media and it’s journalist employees are facing.”

WE DON’T NEED TO HEAR IT, THEY DO, BUT TRY TELLING THEM!

10. @Adrian

There is a benefit to blogging about the shortcomings of traditional media. The ratings from Freedom House and other international rating agencies that apply certain indices to measure freedom in Barbados do stumble on these blogs and sometimes questions maybe asked of people in high places.
    ————————————————–
    David i am not accusing you of anything, but one can define your approach to be ample proof that Barbadians do indeed suffer from a peculiar form of dependency. However i will at this time choose not to center my opinion of your comments above around this interpretation. I believe that when one does something from an approach of self help and personal conviction, that all manner of unintended “help” joins in the fight. Others tend to help those who are seriously engaged in helping themselves.

11. I wonder David, my experience with BFP from which I have been BA’d (banned again) is that as a result of the fact that wordpress is a Californian (USA) company they believe themselves obligated to ensure that anti-USA comments do not factor into any of their discussions. Their topics have traditionally been anti-Chinese, anti-African, anti-Middle Eastern. W’ah you t’ink ‘bout that?

12. @BAFBFP (and Adrian): “My God man your comments require serious deciphering…

Thank you for that feedback. I will consider it seriously…

I always try to say exactly what I mean using as few words as possible. (What I call “high-bandwidth”.)

Perhaps I’m taking that practice too far….

13. @BAFBFP: “…as a result of the fact that wordpress is a Californian (USA) company they believe themselves obligated to ensure that anti-USA comments do not factor into any of their discussions.

Please do note that BU is hosted on the same (WordPress) servers as BFP.

BU seems to be able to offer free and open (and sometimes very heated) discussion.

Thus (with apologies) I leave you to connect the dots with regards to your hypothesis….

14. BABFP,…..
    BFP has become the Barbados Yatch Club on the internet. It’s resident apologist made a comment in here tonight and nobody responded. Cuh dear. lol!

15. Man Chris I wanted you to have me connect the dots with regards to BFP operators deciding to use the word “Free” in its name…

16. @Adrian

I trying to find who this BFP snoop is.. I sure it can’ be that Gear Box dimwit.

17. No it’s not our resident Gearbox impersonator and I aint calling nuh name, other than to say that they were known for coming in here and engaging person is some very civil conversation, and then going over to BFP and disparaging the same people, only to turn round and beg BFP to remove their posting, before BU family members see it. Duh real dangerous. ha ha ha lol!

18. Dennis Johnson // March 9, 2009 at 6:10 pm

Chris:
    1] The reason why I mentioned the political broadcast comment was because there is a difference of opinion about what constitutes a political broadcast. There is also a doubt about the proclamation of the regulations covering political broadcasts
    …………………………………………………..
    I agree with you Dennis regarding what is a political broadcast. CBC’s Sunday Night talk show with the PM and then with Minister Inniss can be deemed political broadcast based on its composition. Forget the studio audience because you can see the questions and answers are fully rehearsed. As I see it, both parties are bias pertaining to what should be deemed a political broadcast. All we see is a different programme hog by the party in power.

19. Does Norman Faria have to observe the same strict measures imposed by Starcom or the Nation?

He writes whatever he wants,even though he offends bajans often,and might more be responsible for stirring up anger,yet he gets free and full access to the airwaves where his statements are read out as a news item,or through the newspapers.

And you say that Barbados is for bajans first?

20. This is Sister Baby, Norman Faria is a Barbadian, never mind he was born in Guyana, he is a citizen of your country, plus the man have lived there since the 60’s.

21. Response to Dennis John Avatar
    Response to Dennis John

Oh Denny ol’ Boy

“Consider the financial loss” to starcom if your licence is revoked. You mean consider the political fallout to a Government for revoking a licence and putting scores of people out of work. You cowards; Chris is right you find excuses to sit comfortably doing to encourage freer speech . God you pinkies at Starcom disgust me…!

As for this Micheal Brown-nose…as Bimbro would say Laaaaaaaaaaaaaad

BAFBFP

22. Response to Dennis John Avatar
    Response to Dennis John

doing nothing to encourage freer speech

23. Dennis Johnson Avatar

I am all for free speech. In fact, I welcome the growth of blogs, as I am a strong opponent of censorship. What I would like to see is the careful presentations that would negate the use of “cuts” by Producers. It is scrappy radio; counter-productive and sometimes ill-timed.
    In some countries, call-in programmes have become “e-mail-in” programmes. Persons are encouraged to e-mail comments that are then subject to “selection” and editing before being read on air.
    Do we want this here? I fear if the current over-use of “cuts” continue, this may be where we are headed.

@BAFPF
    There will be no “fallout” because it will not be “Government” revoking the license, it will be the Barbados Broadcast Authority. Who will hold the “Government” responsible? You?

Once, I said at the start of a call-in programme, “Basdeo Panday is my favourite politician; but I don’t think I like him as a P.M.” The statement was cut by my then Producer. For the record, it was NOT the gentleman you made reference to in your comments.
    You care to tell me if you see anything wrong with the quoted statement?

Dennis

24. Michael Browne will be the demise of VOB.

Time will tell whether the decline that has started is already too far gone to be halted.

There is nothing appealing about that station any more and I suspect advertisers are already beginning to take note.

VOB = Yesterday’s News.

25. Mr. Dennis, I don’t understand if Basdeo Panday is your favourite politician then how come you do not think you would like him as your PM. Makes no sense to me. The producer was right to cut out that statement as it is ambiguous, anyway, just my feelings.

26. @anonymous:

….. so a Producer should cut for “ambiguous” statements.
    You are not the only person who does not understand the difference between favourite politician and good leader.

Dennis

27. Perhaps dennis johnson could tell us why michael browne the producer of all the call in shows is not allowed to be criticised FOR ANYTHING.

Callers have been asking,and as late as about 10 minutes ago, a caller asked tony marshall if michael browne will be allowed to host a programme so that he can raise questions about actions of the producer.

The caller was subsquently told to move on to another subject and subsquently cut,however not before he told tony marshall that BARBADOS HAS ANOTHER RADIO STATION -CBC RADIO – AND HE WILL BE AIRING HIS CONCERNS THERE.

A female caller is on air again expressing her dissatisfaction with the callers inability to vent their frustration about the action of the producer.

When will VOB wake up and smell the coffee.

28. Wuh i nevuh! We cannot get on VOB tuh discuss what we want, and de only place that is open to us has found it necessary to have a leading discussion on VOB problems. Drop the station if it isn’t doing right by wunnuh. I did about two years ago. I do not listen to VOB anymore, and I don’t miss them.

I just read Dr Trev Hassell admonishing bajans fuh being lazy, um is true, that lotuh fat, that people carrying around affects productivity.

So the next time that wunnuh wondering why VOB can’t seem to get it’s act together, ask the Market Vendor to comment on that. lol!

29. Lord have his mercy!

Even the former senator linton complaining about michael browne and how he is over doing it with the cutting.

Surely this time VOB will listen,after all senator linton has spoken.

30. Wuh dis Mike Brown fella behaving like de classic bajan wid a bunch a keys. Aint nuh body like he. If nobody calls he wouldn’t have a fella to cut. I gine long and listen to wickham wid he controversial self. lol!

31. Asking “are bloggers journalists?” is like asking “are people men?”

Clearly some are, and some are not.

Just my 2 cents worth.

32. Dear Dennis,
    With respect, The Broad Casting Authority or any other will have to answer to Central Government (ie the collection of politicians that have and image to protect and seat to defend) for any rash action that they take. Again I say to you that REFUSING TO ISSUE BROADCASTING LISENCE IN BARBADOS IS NOTHING MORE THAN AN IDLE THREAT. .. IT CANNOT HAPPEN.

And along with the complaints expressed above with regards to Brown-noser, the station has

1. Refused to fix the telephone hook up so that the callers can be more clearly heard,

2. Refused to fix the equipment required to allow for conferencing, and

3. Will not regulate the volume of the advertising. In fact Brown-noser last week fiddled while a commercial was playing turning the volume up then down then up again.

You people lack innovation and care very little for your listeners.

33. Somebody tief Sharon Marshall delights …

AAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhh

34. Dennis Johnson Avatar

@BAFBFP

I must again respond to what is an unfair comment. The person who you choose to refer to as Brown-noser does NOT regulate volume[s].

Also, what I said was that the Broadcast Authority can revoke a license for breaches of the Broadcast Act.
    If you think that is an impossibility here in Barbados; well, you are entitled to that opinion. Just so that you know, it has happened in Jamaica; and it is the license that most of the cutting is supposed to protect, not just defamation. [That is the point I was seeking to establish]

Another issue on which we differ is the belief that politicians fear the electorate. They will be serving sno-cones in hell before you convince me of that!

Dennis

Dennis

35. @Dennis Johnson: I hope you appreciate that I’m thankful of your participation. And I’m not *necessarily* against your position.

However…

@DJ: “Also, what I said was that the Broadcast Authority can revoke a license for breaches of the Broadcast Act.

1. Could you (or anyone) perhaps tell us all how one might get in touch with the (Barbados) Broadcast Authority (henceforth in this post “BBA”)?

2. When was BBA established?

3. Who, exactly, *IS* the BBA? Who is on the Board? Who are responsible?

4. Has the BBA ever actioned anything?

5. A thought experiment:

5.1. Let’s say someone wanted to have access to what was broadcast on a particular day, at a particular hour, by a particular Barbadian broadcaster. (On a particular frequency and modulation.)

5.1.1. How might this be accomplished?

@Dennis Johnson… You seem to be a reasonable, knowledgeable, involved and serious individual.

Can you answer any of my above questions?

I welcome your response.

Namestie.

36. Dennis
    With respect.. C&W is much bigger than any broadcast authority and the Prime Minister of Barbados interested in protecting an image that says “job no. one is jobs” had the principals fly in first class, excused the press from the meeting and proceeded to give them a first class Cawmere busing. The result is there to be seen. You people believe that in a first term and in today’s environment a PM is going to sit back and watch some select committee sen’ home people. Your snow cones woul’ got tah melt den…

And what about the other observations mentioned?

37. Dennis Johnson Avatar

@ Gearbox:
    “and what about the other observations mentioned” ….
    I do not defend the indefensible.

@Chris Halsall
    All radio stations are required [under said license] to keep a log of all material broadcast. They are required to keep those logs for a specified period and to produce excerpts as required for myriad reasons. For example, if someone claims a song with profanity was aired; or a defamatory statement made. These logs are also used to allocate cheques to copyright agencies and so on. Various organisations request recordings [and transcripts too] sometimes to issue a response to something carried in a news story.

The BBA has had several heads [and members] over the years. I can remember Lucille Moe as one such person to head that organisation.

During the election period, the BBA issued a code of conduct for media organisations; how many paid commercials with a political content could be carried, how many live debates, and so on.
    If my memory still holds, Jimmy Serrao was the head of the BBA then.
    A certain Carl Moore was chairman from 1994 to 2003; again, if my memory can be relied on.

Hope this helps.

Dennis

38. So dennis johnson,all the other questions we asked,are positions of starcom that you can not defend,hence ‘not being able to defend the indefensable’?

39. @Dennis Johnson…

Thank you for your above, kind Sir.

But may I (and we) please note that you didn’t actually answer *any* of my immediately above questions with your response.

You instead tried to rephrase the questions, and then give answers to the questions you wanted asked. (Or, at least, were able to answer.)

Let me, please, re-ask these questions:

1. Could you (or anyone) perhaps tell us all how one might get in touch with the (Barbados) Broadcast Authority (henceforth in this post “BBA”)?

2. When was BBA established?

5. A thought experiment:

5.1. Let’s say someone wanted to have access to what was broadcast on a particular day, at a particular hour, by a particular Barbadian broadcaster. (On a particular frequency and modulation.)

5.1.1. How might this be accomplished?

Can we please, kind Sir, try this again?

Can you answer any of my above specific questions with specifically?

40. Lucille Moe, Jimmy Serro
    Any institution that is headed by either of these two individuals is sure to be guided by a higher earthly authority. With the change of Government Dennis at least you could hazard a guess at

You could be damned sure there would be neither of the two.

41. Dennis Johnson Avatar

@ Chris:
    My apologies on Jimmy Serrao. He was chairman of the Elections & Boundaries Commission NOT the Broadcast Authority. The regulations concerning political broadcasts were outlined by him.

My apologies for the error.

Dennis

42. Dennis Johnson Avatar

@ Chris:

I thought I answered the question of “Let’s say someone wanted to have access to what was broadcast on a particular day, at a particular hour, by a particular Barbadian broadcaster. (On a particular frequency and modulation.)” by stating: “All radio stations are required [under said license] to keep a log of all material broadcast. They are required to keep those logs for a specified period and to produce excerpts as required for myriad reasons. For example, if someone claims a song with profanity was aired; or a defamatory statement made. These logs are also used to allocate cheques to copyright agencies and so on. Various organisations request recordings [and transcripts too] sometimes to issue a response to something carried in a news story.”
    All one has to do is request the relevant information from the party or parties concerned.
    I do not specifically know when the BBA was first constituted; I joined this noble profession in 1994, and there was a Broadcast Authority in place with Carl Moore as Chairman.
    As to the current members of that body, I must plead ignorance.
    The tradition has been to have the Chairman meet with media houses after his [or her] appointment. I cannot say if this has been done at some point when I was away from work, but I do not recall having met the new Chairman as yet.

These are all the answers I can truthfully provide.

Dennis

43. Who is this person? I of course can safely assume that he is a DEM

http://www.barbados.gov.bb/ViewNews.asp?ID=6489&Dat=5/15/2008

44. @Dennis Johnson…

Thank you for your response above. And please forgive me if I misunderstood same.

@DJ: “All one has to do is request the relevant information from the party or parties concerned.

So are we then to understand from your above that if anyone wanted to have a digital recording (or, God forbid, an Analogue recording) of what was said on BrassTacks on, say Monday of last week, that one must simply ask?

Please confirm. Or elaborate.

On a separate issue…

I do find it somewhat amusing that you claim that you cannot risk having your license revolved by the BBA, and yet you (and, for that matter, no-one) has been able to even identify those constituting the Authority.

Please forgive me for this, but, things which might make you go “hummmm”….

45. Dennis Johnson Avatar

@ Chris:

On the “separate issue” check the link provided by BAFBFP above!

On the matter of recordings; yes. If someone wanted a recording of Brass Tacks Sunday from January 25th 2009 or on Errol Barrow Day, they can be obtained. Some persons offer to provide a recordable disc, some opt to send a cassette.

Dennis

46. @Dennis Johnson.

@DJ: “On the “separate issue” check the link provided by BAFBFP above!

I humbly stand corrected.

@DJ: “Some persons offer to provide a recordable disc, some opt to send a cassette.

So, if I was to provide you with a stack of 50 (or 500) CDRs, I could receive a digital record of all live recordings? Is there a cost associated with this?

With apologies for possible further error, there are still a couple of questions I feel are worth drilling down on:

47. Indeed Chris, I would like to know, for I once emailed a request to David Ellis for a recording and was never responded too.

48. Dennis Johnson Avatar

@ Chris Halsall

I don’t mind the grilling down!

If you requested 50 or 500 CDR’s I am sure there would be an alarm raised as to the reason for the copies; maybe even a suggestion of “use for profit”.
    One copy or two copies would attract a fee. The fee differs depending on the length of the programme requested.

The BBA can be reached at Government HQ on Bay Street.
    On the matter of “actioned anything”; if you mean has any licenses been revoked, I do not recall any such action during my time in Broadcasting. However, I do recall a series of “consultations”, and “cautionary action” being taken after complaints received about certain entertainer[s].

Dennis

49. @Dennis Johnson… (smile) I appreciate your gamesmanship.

And I assume you understand, as I do, that we are but pawns on a much larger board…

@DJ: “However, I do recall a series of “consultations”, and “cautionary action” being taken after complaints received about certain entertainer[s].

Please provide references to your above.

50. Dennis Johnson Avatar

@ Chris….[with a large smile]

…. as much as a poor pawn can comprehend!

I would really like to provide those references; however, I do not know for certain that some of the matters have been laid to rest.
    So, I ask for some time.
    I will say however, an earlier post [not by me] made reference to one of the incidents that evoked a response from the BBA.

Dennis