Submitted by Looking Glass

centralbankofbarbadosPolitical systems function no better than the economy. Politicians the world over will do what is necessary to get elected and to remain in power, which need not be in society’s better interest. We are no different. The biggest sin is warning of impending danger. So it would hardly have been kosher to admit that we have been in a progressive state of social and economic crisis for much of the last twenty years or so and living on borrowed time. During that time we managed to destroy or undo much of what it had taken ages to accomplish almost to the point of social and economic unfettered ‘illiquidity’ and debt.

Today we are not much more than a service-mercantile economy with little or no financial strength and reliant on borrowing which increases the debt load. Deficits in saving, trade, budgets and leadership are now salient characteristics. Total indebtedness is very much more than has been stated and will inevitably increase. Interest payments are perhaps the fastest growing component of the budget. Foreign income (remittances) is on the wane. Economic output and job generation continue to decline. Disposable income and household saving continue to dwindle with capital accumulation close zero (borrowing is not accumulation). Plastic is the name, credit the game. Sooner rather than later this revenue source will likely be restricted to a particular category of people.

Much of the above is tacitly suggested in the IMF report of 2006 which projected debt at 75% of GDP in 2011. The report also endorsed the last PM’s intention to further privatize (including the tourism sector which resulted in the sale of Gems) and urged the identification of those assets that could be divested in the near term. It also alluded to the system’s “macro-imbalances” and noted ‘weaknesses’ in statistical reporting. And the remarkable decline in decorum has been duly noted where it really matters in the outside world. Given the above it is hard to see how Barbados will hold its own in the crisis. It is unlikely that the capital cost of the kind of stimulus being suggested will be redeemed by future yields, but will bring additional cost and greater national debt.

Our economic condition is not a direct consequence of the global finance crisis. The white man and discrimination don’t figure in the calculus. The crisis was generated from outside via the banking/finance sector. Our bank/financial sector is largely foreign owned and generally profitable. Bailout if needed will or should come via the parent companies who were themselves bailed out as evident by Clico. The dynamics of Clico’s bailout and the implications for Barbados will be addressed later. Suffice it to note that the seeds were sown a long time ago.

We don’t have a sub-prime problem and as yet no toxic assets to clean except the two-legged ones. One sure route from poverty is work with sustained productivity the means. It is likely that weak job generation and wanton consumption, moreso than the current global crisis, will fuel future down-sizing and business closure rather than any ‘illiquidity’ per se. Right now the crisis underlines the frailties of our economic system.

We must distinguish between stimulus bailout (recovery) and stimulus. We have no large scale value-added production plants where jobs are totally dependant on local consumption and, as such, no immediate need for bailout. Stimulus embracing bailout in any form is not the way to go. A stimulus package based on copy-book rational fiscal and monetary recommendations, however reasonable, is likely to be flawed and unlikely to generate short or medium term growth resumption. It may, as in the case of the USA, amount to socialism bailing out capitalism. Given the nature of our economy such a package will further afflict the afflicted and comfort the comfortable. Thus it is unwise to promise people redemption or insulation from the vicissitudes of future economic life.

We are short of diversity, innovation, production modes/products and investment needed to maintain current standards or fashion a better place. We also need to reduce the negative impact influences of the global crisis. Without these any stimulus package will not be much more than a band-aid that leaves the wounds to fester. No stimulus can temper greed and corruption, or compensate for the human factor. To be successful the people will have to confront their needs and appetites, pull their weight and make the necessary sacrifices. Among other things we need to recapture certain virtues: persistence, perseverance, hard work, frugality and decorum. Growth tomorrow entails sacrifice today.

We need to first identify the systemic causes and design a programme to correct them. We need to restructure the domestic industry in order to enhance productivity, competitiveness and employment. Most likely small enterprises, including agriculture and better land use, not big business will do the trick. In today’s world a country unable to substantially feed its population remains behind the eight ball.

It takes a nation of skilled workers with appropriate values and attitudes to create enough economic value to support and maintain a reasonable standard of comfort. This is a monumental task requiring unpleasant alternatives. The present government however well intentioned can’t do it alone. We need political foresight and economic pragmatism; qualities not as yet in evidence. Those who come to office making grand promises to solve major problems will have a hard time dealing with the vicissitudes of public life.

1. My wife see ROK and Chris on TV last night. She say Halsall short but ROK nose bigggg.
    AAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhh

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFF TOPIC BUT…

“Canada drops Guyana from its aid list. May close its Embassy”

In what must bring a sense of déjà vu to those who lived under the Burnham regime and saw the withdrawal of Western aid, the Canadian Government says it has dropped Guyana and Nicaragua from this part of the world from its aid list.

In addition, Canadian observers have been uncomfortable with the authoritarian drift that they saw gaining momentum after the 2006 elections. When Western governments evaluate politics in Guyana, they always juxtapose it against what obtains in the rest of the Caribbean. Governments keep changing hands in the Caribbean but not Guyana. While democracy deepens in the rest of the Caricom region, Guyana slides back.
    The rejection of the Freedom of Information Act (FIA) makes Guyana a focus of attention of countries like Canada. I am absolutely sure that this truculent attitude to the FIA by the Guyana Government must have contributed to the perception that Canada should not aid such a country.

Kaieteur News

3. Political systems function no better than the economy because they are two organs of the same rotten, disease infested body which needs urgent cremation. There’s no way you can extricate them from each other or the whole. What’s going on in Barbados as well as around this planet is the price you pay for global inclusion in a market where the only commodities that are truly globalized are slave labour and the natural resources of the land of the pauperized peoples while the spoils of this same bloodsucking demon(globalisation) are only limited to a minute clique who use any means necessary to protect their stolen goods, be it terrorism,religion, diseases, death you name it, they employ any method to protect and insulate them from us, to keep the wool over our eyes. Obviously the IMF can project with assurance 75% debt of the 2011 GDP, because this is the BIG SET UP, that’s how it was planned from the get go. With the right leadership or failing such (which seem to be the case) the average bajan can take the bull by the horn and hold their own in this bogus crisis by getting off the damn grid and getting out of the matrix of the bloodsuckers. Barbados has been blessed with sunshine, arable land and a sea of fish. Feed yourself. And by the way don’t belittle agriculture because it is NO small enterprise. Doesn’t 99% of humans in Barbados eat food? Agriculture is/should be a far bigger enterprise than banking, construction of hotels, tourism….It is the sustenance of our physical existence today. Now if you had any governance with both hind and foresight they would focus heavily on agriculture instead of importation. A nation which cannot feed itself ( even though it has the capacity) deserves to DIE. At the end of the day when all the bogus white collar (which gives the illusion of superiority) and blue collar jobs are gone, we’ll all have to revert to that one man that we once looked down on, the field man.

4. Hopi you are correct.

My PM needs to make sure that he lets Bajans know what is going on in our country. We need a better agriculture system.

Additionally, we the POOR in Barbados need to know that we have persons looking our for us! Mr. PM when will you investigate this:-

February 1, 2009…4:55 am
    Barbados Newspapers Refuse To Print Letter Revealing Secret Government Report Into Cave-In Deaths. Professor Machel Will Name Names
    Jump to Comments

“I found out many more things that the public has a right to know but that have been hidden so far. I encountered an atmosphere of frustration and intimidation, nourished especially under the previous BLP government. I met several individuals who were afraid to speak out for fear of loosing their jobs, bodily harm, or having their houses burnt down, if they ever went public with what they know. I will speak for them. And should the day come, I am prepared to testify in any court of law under oath.”

Prof. Hans G. Machel Will Name Names: Codrington Family Deaths Caused By Gross Negligence
    FOREWORD TO OPEN LETTER
    I wrote the appended ‘OPEN LETTER TO PM THOMPSON’ on the evening of January 26, the same day Barbados’ Prime Minister, the Hon. David Thompson, was prominently featured in THE BARBADOS ADVOCATE, denouncing a “conspiracy of silence and indifference” as well as “corruption, nepotism, and malfeasance” by the previous BLP administration. I then submitted this letter for publication to both THE BARBADOS ADVOCATE and THE DAILY NATION. Neither of them dared to print my submission, even though one of them had at first indicated to me in no unmistaken terms that they were intent on printing it word-for-word in their Jan 30 edition. I have no doubt that pressure was applied that forced this retraction. Thus, the conspiracy of silence continues.
    But I refuse to be silenced. Five innocent people, the Codrington family, got buried alive when their house collapsed into a cave at Brittons Hill on August 26 2007 though a combination of gross ignorance and gross negligence. I am speaking out for them, for their relatives, as well as for all the good people of Barbados. I consider myself their servant. I have a moral obligation to speak out, not only to get to the truth, but also to warn and protect others from meeting the same fate.
    I have not edited my open letter since January 26. Our small group of investigators has since learnt some additional explosive facts. Most importantly, construction near the ill-fated house had actually opened up a second hole in the cave system, in addition to the large hole that had opened up right at the house’s foundation (which was already reason enough to evacuate). Also, we now know the names of those who worked to remove the legal obstacles to built on the land that this house stood on, land that was not to be built on. We shall disclose this information in due time. For now, I am posting my OPEN LETTER in its original form, so that all readers can see what was deemed ‘too hot to handle’ by those who control Barbados’ two national newspapers.
    Hans G. Machel

Slanted cave in the Brittons Hill area, about 60 m long and up to about 8 m in height. The roof is supported by pillars that narrow to less than 50 cm near the middle in some places. Person for scale.

Open Letter To Prime Minister David Thompson
    In his recent address at the DLP Report to the Nation Rally, Barbados’ Prime Minister, the Hon. David Thompson, spoke some brave and encouraging words. He denounced a “conspiracy of silence and indifference” as well as “corruption, nepotism, and malfeasance” by the previous BLP administration. Since about 2002, I had encountered all of these in my dealings with the BLP Government and civil servants regarding the Greenland garbage dump fiasco, and I have seen some of this in the context of the cave collapse at Brittons Hill in August 2007. To date, nobody has been held accountable for this tragedy, which claimed the lives of five members of the Codrington family. I am herewith appealing to the Hon. David Thompson to stand by his words to “Hold all accountable” (The Barbados Advocate from January 26 2009). Furthermore, I appeal to his government to enact legislation that places stringent conditions on construction.
    As a geologist with nearly 30 years of experience and whose active research includes caves, I had been approached by concerned Barbadians to provide an expert opinion on the Brittons Hill cave collapse. During the past 4 weeks alone, I visited 15 caves in Barbados and also conducted numerous interviews with people directly or indirectly involved with the Brittons Hill tragedy. I also went into “Ground Zero”, where I took photos, measurements, and rock samples. I found out very quickly that the deaths of the Codrington family were entirely avoidable for two reasons: the house that they had lived in should never have been built on that site, and the imminent collapse of the huge cave underneath was not recognized or ignored.
    I found out many more things that the public has a right to know but that have been hidden so far. I encountered an atmosphere of frustration and intimidation, nourished especially under the previous BLP government. I met several individuals who were afraid to speak out for fear of loosing their jobs, bodily harm, or having their houses burnt down, if they ever went public with what they know. I will speak for them. And should the day come, I am prepared to testify in any court of law under oath. I presented a part of my findings at a public lecture in Solidarity House on January 14 2009 entitled “Caves of Barbados – Wonders and Danger Underground”, which was widely reported in the local media. In this lecture I called the tragedy a case of “gross negligence”. I stand by these words, and shall elaborate.
    The first reason for this assertion is that the cave under the ill-fated house reached a height of about 20 m and came within about 1 – 1.5 m of the surface at its shallowest. The cave had been known for decades, as many children and adults had played in it or visited the cave over the years, well before the time any house was built in this area. Most people did not notice, however, that the coral rock that makes up the cliff in this area is jointed, that is, it is separated into large blocks by deep-reaching cracks that provided access to copious amounts of rain water that had weakened the rock over time. Also largely unnoticed or ignored was the fact that rock matrix itself is brittle like crumble cake: I can break and disintegrate it with my bare hands.These facts alone render building a house on that particular site prohibitive.

Builder Of The Deadly House Is A Well-Known Public Figure
    The second reason for my assertion is that the land on which the ill-fated house was built had a covenant or deed restriction attached to it for several decades, which limits what the owner of the land can do with it. This covenant stipulated that one shall not build on this land because of the cave underneath. I know of one person by name who had wanted to buy this land back in 1961 and was told at the time that he could not build on it. If this was a legally binding covenant, one has to ask whether it was legally removed before the ill-fated house was built, when, why, and by whom. Permit to build the Codrington’s house was issued in 1982. Alternately, did the builder of the house (who is a well-known public figure in the island) know about the covenant, or was he left in the dark by the previous owner who sold the land to him without full disclosure? If the builder of the house knew about the covenant, did not have it legally removed when it was legally binding, and yet he built the house anyway, this person has blood on his hands.

Who Decided To Continue Construction In The Few Days Before The Cave Collapse?
    Despite all this, the tragedy could have been avoided, had somebody not made a fateful – and as it turned out fatal – decision in the days preceding the cave collapse. There was an active construction site nearby that caused serious vibrations in the ill-fated house and those around it, which was felt by numerous inhabitants as far as several houses in each direction. Furthermore, about 3 weeks prior to the cave collapse one neighbor spotted a hole in the ground that had opened up right next to one corner of the ill-fated house, about 2 1/2 feet in diameter with no bottom in sight: a gaping black abyss. Unbeknownst to him, this was the large cave that would swallow the Codringtons later on. He reported this hole to the workers at the construction site nearby. Construction was halted about one week later, yet resumed about 4 days before the cave collapsed entirely, killing the Codrington family. How could this happen? There were serious vibrations all over the neighborhood, and the top of the cave had already started to open up. What more was needed to stop construction and evacuate the people in the house over the cave? Whoever ordered construction to resume after it was halted temporarily, despite these glaring indications of impending doom, is either grossly incompetent or grossly negligent.
    I have also learnt that a fairly thorough investigation was undertaken by technical experts, that is, by geologists, hydrogeologists and engineers, in the months following the cave collapse. Apparently a preliminary report was finished in December 2007 under the previous BLP administration, a final report was finished about July 2008 under the current DLP administration. Yet this report is hidden from the public. Just why? The public has a right to know. On behalf of all Barbadians, I request that the findings of this report be made public immediately, and that they be part of a proper, impartial and open Coroner’s Inquest, which the public has demanded for a long time. Prime Minister Thompson, stand by your words: hold all accountable !
    Looking into the future, I feel compelled to point out that many more houses were built on precarious ground in Barbados, especially in the Brittons Hill area. I have visited one particular cave just last week that is in relatively close proximity to the one that swallowed the Codringtons. This cave is about 60 m long, with variable heights of up to about 8 m, large enough to lead to another fatal collapse. This cave is slanted and comes to within 1 to 2 feet of the surface. Luckily, no house is built on the shallowest parts of the cave, which could collapse under a load as small as a heavy truck. Parts of the cave are supported only by narrow pillars of rock (see photos) that can topple under minor earthquakes or vibrations from construction, and sooner or later they will give way from continued erosion by groundwater. The rock here is the same crumbly stick-coral rock that forms much of Brittons Hill, especially along the cliff face. And yet, this cave underlies a densely developed part of the area with residential houses and schools nearby. Obviously, nobody cared or cared to check for caves and brittleness of the rock when this area was developed. This may have been understandable 20 or 30 years ago, but it is inexcusable now. Legislation should be enacted as soon as possible that puts stringent conditions of ground testing on any developer.
    Furthermore, owners of the houses already in place in this area, especially along the cliff face that the Codrington’s house was located on, are well advised to have their properties scanned for caves, which can be done at relatively little expense with tools such as ground-penetrating radar. I would go as far as to recommend ground scanning for caves elsewhere in the island, wherever the rock is relatively brittle. On the other hand, there is no reason for panic. The coral rock is well cemented and hard as concrete in many locations. Where this is the case, the rock can carry very heavy, multi-story structures even with caves underneath.
    Hans G. Machel
    Professor of Geology
    Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, University of Alberta

5. Prof. Machel

Thank you for again for highlighting the obfuscations and intrigues which lay behind every GoB announcement and more importantly their non-announcement.

ITAL…………… lol, never happen.

That being said, Hopi has once again highlighted this tendency in her post.

Government sweet talk and the newspapers’ lapdog following of the politically correct line.

Clico is dead in the water, and there are other shocks to follow.

This unbundling of the land speculators’ asset value, for this is what concerns us most back here, will,as I’ve said previously, begin a downward revaluation of previously over-priced “prime land” and properties so vertical it will make many nouveau speculators and even old hand developers put their head into their hands and cry for mercy.

We are still at the top of the roller coaster’s climb, the ride down will last for at least five years and most of the easy riders won’t last the course.

Don’t trust a word your politicians tell you, they are on a different agenda.

Check what is happening in the real world, not the fantasy of The Nation and CBC.

There is only ever one big loser out of these corrections, and it isn’t the perpetrators it is you.

The middle classes of all industrialised nations are about to be impoverished.

A quick market manipulation of the oil price began this, and another lesser spike later this year will finish the job off.

Take the future into your own hands because the past’s securities will tumble round your ears and leave you helpless and broke.

Act now.

Thus spake Zarathustra.

6. Anonymous…..Had these victims of this tragedy been of the ilk of the PM or someone he considers above him, I’d guarantee you that heads would have been on the chopping block by now. This PM like all other prostiticians are nothing but TOOLS of this same globalised bloodsucking octopus. They’ll give the impression that they are with the sheeple, that’s the mask they have to wear in order to get the sheople to agree to their own enslavement. Why the hell did the B’dos Central Bank give/loan or is about to give/loan CLICO $10m. Who is receiving this money and for what purpose? Will the money be repaid? And what if CLICO becomes defunct? Who’s responsible for repayment? This is tantamount to breaking into an old shack, robbing the poor inhabitants of what little they have and then giving it to the reckless, thieving, scheming, filthy rich. Again the rich lives off the poor! Doesn’t this money belong to collective Barbados. Can a poor working class family go to the central bank with nothing more that their sweat and blood and a promise to repay, to get a loan for $150,000. to build a simple home to live comfortably in Barbados? Would they get the loan?

7. David,

would you please start a separate thread for Dr. Machel’s comment? Looking Glass deserves some focussed attention.

8. BAFBFP…..Where have you been?

Looking Glass……I’ve posted 2 comments so far but now I have a direct question for you. After re-reading paras 2 &4 how is it that you do not see some symbiosis here?

9. Hopi,
    For de pas’ month I fin’ myself paying mo’ attention to my wife and I ain’ read a blog in weeks. Sweat rice, dah is wah I feel. But it wearing off. T’ank de Lard.

10. @Hopi

A commenter (possibly RA or Trained Economist) has posted that the government has a charge over CLICO Mortgage & Finance mortgage portfolio for the 10 million. We have not seen confirmation of this in the media however.

11. How the economy was lost
    By Paul Craig Roberts

SNIP

Suddenly, American and other first world corporations discovered that a massive supply of foreign labor was available at practically free wages.

To get Wall Street analysts and shareholder advocacy groups off their backs, and to boost shareholder returns and management bonuses, American corporations began moving their production for American markets offshore. Products that were made in Peoria are now made in China.

As offshoring spread, American cities and states lost tax base, and families and communities lost jobs. The replacement jobs, such as selling the offshored products at Wal-Mart, brought home less pay.

“Free market economists” covered up the damage done to the US economy by preaching a New Economy based on services and innovation. But it wasn’t long before corporations discovered that the high speed Internet let them offshore a wide range of professional service jobs. In America, the hardest hit have been software engineers and information technology (IT) workers.

The American corporations quickly learned that by declaring “shortages” of skilled Americans, they could get from Congress H-1b work visas for lower paid foreigners with whom to replace their American work force. Many US corporations are known for forcing their US employees to train their foreign replacements in exchange for severance pay.

Chasing after shareholder return and “performance bonuses,” US corporations deserted their American workforce. The consequences can be seen everywhere. The loss of tax base has threatened the municipal bonds of cities and states and reduced the wealth of individuals who purchased the bonds. The lost jobs with good pay resulted in the expansion of consumer debt in order to maintain consumption. As the offshored goods and services are brought back to America to sell, the US trade deficit has exploded to unimaginable heights, calling into question the US dollar as reserve currency and America’s ability to finance its trade deficit.

SNIP

According to its hopeful but economically ignorant proponents, globalism was supposed to balance risks across national economies and to offset downturns in one part of the world with upturns in other parts. A global portfolio was a protection against loss, claimed globalism’s purveyors. In fact, globalism has concentrated the risks, resulting in Wall Street’s greed endangering all the economies of the world. The greed of Wall Street and the negligence of the US government have wrecked the prospects of many nations. Street riots are already occurring in parts of the world. On Sunday, February 22, the right-wing TV station, Fox “News,” presented a program that predicted riots and disarray in the United States by 2014.

How long will Americans permit “their” government to rip them off for the sake of the financial interests that caused the problem? Obama’s cabinet and National Economic Council are filled with representatives of the interest groups that caused the problem. The Obama administration is not a government capable of preventing a catastrophe.

SNIP

If incompetence in Washington, the type of incompetence that produced the current economic crisis, destroys the dollar as reserve currency, the “unipower” will overnight become a Third World country, unable to pay for its imports or to sustain its standard of living.

How long can the US government protect the dollar’s value by leasing its gold to bullion dealers who sell it, thereby holding down the gold price? Given the incompetence in Washington and on Wall Street, our best hope is that the rest of the world is even less competent and even in deeper trouble. In this event, the US dollar might survive as the least valueless of the world’s fiat currencies.

http://onlinejournal.com/artman/publish/article_4409.shtml

12. Oh no… I was wrong all along. There really are “international terrorists”. But they do not live in caves and cover their faces with scarves. They wear $15,000.00 suits and draw million dollar bonuses while reporting to work in offices like those on Wall Street.

America’s (US) greatest and deadliest weapon is its electronic media. It is the prime agent for conditioning the views of its own people and those of others, of what America is, and what it stands for. Whether it is through their news channels or their feature length movies, sitcoms or rap artists, one image is perpetually blasted at you while the horrible sinister truth of its being just plods righteously along.

“calling into question the US dollar as reserve currency and America’s ability to finance its trade deficit” As the world’s reserve currency, the US dollar is not attached to a Gold standard or oil standard or any kind of standard to prove worth. Trust that’s it. All the US has to do is write a cheque. Bam. And the more cheques they write, the more diluted their dollar becomes, and the more the prices in the world become inflated.

Exactlly what is an “international terrorist”?

13. @@David…..I’m not even feeling that. I don’t believe anything that comes out of the government’s trough. They lie to protect their arses, their loot and their masters.

@BAFBFP….You’re so True on these ‘international terrorist.’ These are the same gangsters who sit on Wall Street as the middlemen for the World Bank and the IMF, the same gangsters who inflated the oil prices and took their loot right out from the middle for the same World Bank and IMF. Why has the price of oil dropped today? All these orgs that front as international this or UN that are nothing but shills for the real terrorist organisations that’s tormenting humanity today and these terrorists wear the mask of DEMOCRACY!

One of the main reasons that they went after Saddam is because he no longer pegged his oil to the US dollar and that’s the same reason that they are going after Iran today because Iran created its own oil bourse. It has nothing to do with nuclear weapons.

14. I wonder if Babados realise that this WILL happen unless they deal with the immigration policy!

15. You Mr/Ms Looking Glass……Is this just a simple opinion piece? And if such is the case you should send it to the Nation/Advocate, not for bloggers response. I detest cowards who just state their ‘irrefutable opinions’ with certain parameters that others should not dare venture outside of. (Don’t try to tell people what to think or how to think). Anyhow let me just refute you on a falsity. You stated in para 2 that “Foreign income remittances are on the wane” and then in para 4 stated outright that “Our economic condition is not a direct consequence of the global financial crisis” and that this has nothing to do with the white man’s discrimination. Don’t you see the direct and devastating impact of the big greedy money changers in the biggest markets contracting their credit, resulting in a waning of remittances simply because those who would have sent remittances are losing their jobs. You don’t see a correlation here?

16. Have to say we agree with Hopi. We can get more out of the blog if the submitter is willing to engage the BU family. So far Looking Glass seems happy with the arrangement but it defeats the purpose because people soon get disinterested if the author remains silent.

17. Thompy and Owen are on the same page regarding “stimulus packages” Mia still wants to know when the Gob is going to put one in place.

[quote]
    As Arthur sees it, “the present global crisis warrants a fundamental change in the institutions for global economic governance”, he argued, concluding that “it is to enter the theatre of the absurd to believe that structured defects of the existing magnitude can be corrected merely by adding a stimulus to existing activity. . . .”

Later came his verbal swipe at a perceived CARICOM “inertia” that “now seems to have invaded our region”.

This inertia, according to Arthur, who played a sustained high profile role as CARICOM head with lead responsibility for CSME-readiness arrangements, “has most profoundly taken the form of the virtual suspension of the programme to create the CARICOM Single Economy . . . .

“We have lost a year,” he said, and warned that “the consequences for the region are and will be adverse, as can be illustrated by reference to the current situation that has evolved in the region’s financial sector . . . .”

Those are certainly not words of music to the ears of former political colleagues and opponents currently running governments across our Caribbean community. Some of them may well resent the scenario he has presented. Question is whether Arthur is right or wrong?

18. […] were in crisis before the current global financial crisis. (See Stimulus: more debt and dislocation; On the road to perdition). Before the global crisis we were faced with humungous national debt, […]