Submitted as a comment by BU family member Geogie Porgie

the_holy_book_by_djvueI was once challenged to expand on an outline given by Kaiser in Toward An Old Testament Theology, and  read the Bible to discover that the Old Testament Theology is best unified under the theme “The Promises of God” and that the entire Bible could really be seen inter alia, as a catalogue of a large number of promises which God has made, and a record of how he has kept several of these promises.

As I made a deeper search to see where I could find promises that were not immediately as obvious as the major fulfilled promises or of the covenants, and as I extracted and attempted. to co- ordinate the promises that I found, I discovered that it is not unreasonable to conclude that nearly everything of major significance in the Bible depends on a promise of God.

In any argument or discussion with respect to the promises of God in any part of the Old Testament or the Bible as a whole, it is imperative that we ask and answer honestly the following important and relevant questions as the Bible text is carefully perused.

Has God indeed truly made any significant promises?

• If so, what are these promises? To whom were they made? Of what general or lasting significance are they? Do they have any relevance at all for contemporary men? If so what is the relevance?
  • If God has indeed made any promises, has He been faithful in keeping any or all of these promises to date? If not, why not?
  • If He has indeed fulfilled any, what does this say about His character? What is the further significance of His fulfilling these promises? Were the fulfilled promises completely or only partially fulfilled?
  • If he has fulfilled even a single promise, what is the significance or implication for mankind?
  • If He has only fulfilled some of His promises why is this? Is this because He was unable? Incapable? Untrue? Dishonest? Will He ever get around to fulfilling the unfulfilled portions? If so, When? Does He care that some men are seriously depending on Him to fulfill His promises?
  • Are the as yet unfulfilled promises of serious import? Should we be concerned about whether God will get around to fulfilling these or not?

If so, How? Why?

The Bible was read, and reread in sections according to 16 basic divisions, and the promises therein listed and discussed to indicate whether the stated promise is as yet fulfilled or unfulfilled.

Where the promise has been fulfilled, the location in the Bible where its fulfillment is recorded was pointed out, and any New Testament correlation explained. For example, the several New Testament scriptures which comment and prove that God kept the promise of Genesis 3:15, are grouped in the chapter on Genesis 1-3.

The important significance of the flood as taught by Jesus in Matthew 24:38-39; Luke 17:27 and Peter in 2 Peter 2 5; 2 Peter 3:5-12, as it relates to the certainty of a future universal judgment at the second coming is explained.

In discussing the Abrahamic covenant in the section on the Patriarchal period, the relevant Scriptures in Romans 9-11 and Galatians are reviewed. In the case of promises that are not as yet fulfilled, the point at which these promises will be fulfilled as identified in the New Testament were found.

This study proceeded period by period and book by book, using the basic division of the Bible in the quest and adventure of  seeking the promises of God. I found adequate evidence to answer the questions listed above most conclusively.

The answers on Genesis constituted my 400 page dissertation for my DMin.

1. Georgie Porgie Avatar

The thorns and thistles were the result of sin by God withdrawing that extension of his power which had maintained a steady state of life and order. Since then thorns are associated with the curse of mankind and nature, and man’s failure at the time of the fall. Since then man has to contend with thorns in his work and in his spiritual life. Throughout the Bible we see that thorns has been a symbol of man’s negative will toward God, and used to designate divine chastisement (Numbers 33:55; Judges 2:3). In 2 Corinthians 12:7-9, Paul’s thorn in the flesh was something aggravating enough to bother him, although it was suffering designed for blessing. The thorn is a sign of Satan’s power; but even Satan’s evil designs result in good when God’s power is employed. Thorns are used to designate the administration of discipline to a nation. Thorns are related to economic depression and recession under an agricultural economy. Depression is brought on by man’s bad decisions or sins in the field of economy (Jeremiah 12:13). The unconquered Canaanites in the promised Land were thorns to the nation of Israel. (Numbers. 33:55 Joshua 23:13 Judges 2:2,3). God had ordered Israel to destroy all the Canaanites. But the Jews did not obey that mandate, so God permitted certain Canaanite groups to live as thorns to the nation Israel.

Thorns are also used to describe the results of not accepting Bible truth. (Proverbs 22:5; 26:9), and to describe the distractions to positive volition toward Bible truth. For example, in Matthew, “thorns” refer to the man who hears the Word, but the worries of this life (e.g. peer pressure) and the deceitfulness of riches choke out the Word. (Matthew. 13:7,22). Thorns are also used to describe the results of being involved in Satan’s domain cosmic and negative volition toward the plan of God. (Hebrews. 6:8)

It is interesting to note that not only was the emblem of the curse pronounced upon sin in Genesis 3:18, but that when Jesus Christ wore the crown of thorns on the cross, this signified the fact that He was made a curse for us (Matthew 27:29; Mark 15:17; John 19:2; Galatians. 3:13; 1 Peter 2:24). It is most significant that Jesus bore this same emblem on his brow when in keeping the promise of Genesis 3:15, he was made a curse for us. In the millennial reign of Christ, nature will be delivered from the curse of the fall. This is expressed by the removal of thorns in Isaiah 55:13 and Ezekiel 28:24.

2. @Georgie Porgie… This is an attempt at a serious question:

Are you able to sleep at night?

3. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Yes. I sleep very well actually. From about 10 pm until 8:30 am.

Thats one of the blessings God has bestowed on me- to be able to sleep well despite everything that might go wrong.

4. The gentlemanly GP returns…

When needing to call ROK a fool or CH or “a likkle runt” a change of handle will suffice.

No ad hominem from gentle GP !

What next? will “memries” turn up to tell what an amazing doc you are?

Will “bobbie” tell us what a fool ROK is?

Sorry GP the jig is up, your ruse is exposed !

You sure this is “christian” behaviour?

5. “It is between fifty and sixty years since I read it [the Book of Revelation], and I then considered it merely the ravings of a maniac, no more worthy nor capable of explanation than the incoherencies of our own nightly dreams … I cannot so far respect them as to consider them as an allegorical narrative of events, past or subsequent. There is not enough coherence in them to countenance any suite of rational ideas…. What has no meaning admits no explanation. And pardon me if I say, with the candor of friendship, that I think your time too valuable, and your understanding of too high an order, to be wasted on these paralogisms. You will perceive, I hope, also that I do not consider them as reveladons of the supreme being, whom I would not so far blaspheme as to impute to him a pretension of revelation, couched at the same time in terms which, he would know, were never to be understood by those to whom they were addressed.”

[Thomas Jefferson, letter to General Alexander Smyth, January 17, 1825]

6. I suppose Paine and Jefferson, 2 of the greatest minds of their time, I guess they just did not “understand”

7. Just saw your post laughing at my disdain. Why not refute anything I said? I posted a list of murders that your loving God commited against innocent men,women,and children. I didn’t even include all the incidences of sanctioned rape and slavery.

You’re laughing at me for scoffing at this? If you were capable of a second of independent thought you would realize that no loving father or mother acts this way.

And if you were capable of TWO seconds of critical thought you would ask yourself what it says about you that you embrace this death cult that is christianity.

Anyhow, run along. If I needed someone to back me up, I wouldn’t look in your direction. Either refute the evidence I’ve posted with some of your own, or go back to praying to your fairy God-father magic sky lord.
    Peace

8. That was for Bush Tea by the way…

9. Where is ROK hi GP how r u I see you still have immense faith!

I admire this ….. when we getting married in Christ Church!

Just love your faith!

10. I just told my son that I am going to be married to you GP and he here laughing

How does Mrs. Georgie Porgie sound ……

He laughing reall baddd!

11. “No falsehood is so fatal as that which is made an article of faith”

[Thomas Paine]

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I enjoy television programs like Matlock & Perry Mason and others involving court cases. Let me share one that seems to naturally arise from Paul’s arguments in Romans 3, 4 & 5. It is based on an idea from a chart on the opening chapters of Romans from Wilmington’s Visualized Bible , which I have modified, expanded and embellished considerably

Romans 3 concludes the argument of chapters Romans 1-3 with the summary statement “for all have sinned! ALL GUILTY!” It corroborates the state and sin’s sequelae which was introduced at the fall.

The scene is that of a courthouse, where the Honorable Jesus Christ is the presiding Judge (John 5: 22; Acts17-31).

The jury is composed of the conscience, and deeds of man, and the creative works and the law of God, and the Crosswork of Christ.

The charge is “Coming short of the Glory of God”- missing the mark set by God.

The defendants are:
    1) Pagan man (Romans 1:18-32) who utters ignorance as the excuse for his sin, but this plea is refuted because he had the witness of nature and conscience.
    2) Moral man (Romans 2:1-16) who utters comparative morality as the excuse for his sin (he is better than most). But this plea is rejected because he has just sinned in a refined way or in more sophisticated circumstances.
    3) Religious man (Romans 2:17-3:8) who posits religion as his right to escape the sentence for his sin (at least he had a form of godliness and followed the “church”).

His plea is disallowed because he denied the power of the godliness he professed, and did not practice what he preached.

The religious sinners of 1 John 1: 6,8, 10 are of course to be included with this sub group of defendants. So too are those mentioned by Jesus in Matthew 25:41-46.

13. Georgie Porgie Avatar

The Detailed Indictment of the general charge is that Mankind:
    • Held down the truth- he actually received and grasped it, but did nothing with it (1:18).
    • Knew God through the creation but did not honor Him (1:21).
    • Were unthankful (1:21).
    • Began foolish speculations (1:21).
    • Allowed their hearts to become darkened (1:21).
    • Became fools-probably by saying that there is no God as in Psalm 14 and 1:22.
    • Preferred idols to God (1:23).
    • Were given over to sexual perversions, as is associated with idolatry of all sorts even up until today (1:26-27).
    • Were filled with unrighteous acts (1:29-31).
    • Encouraged others to do all the above, along with practicing them themselves (1:32).
    • Are contentious, disobedient to the truth, and obey unrighteousness, indignation and wrath. (2:8).
    • Are all unrighteous and under sin (3:9-10).
    • Do not understand, or seek after God (3:11).
    • Have all gone out of the way and have become unprofitable, and do not do good. (3:12).
    • Are guilty of a diversity of oral sins (3:13-14; see also James 3: 2-14; Jude 15).
    • Are swift to murder, and do not know the way of peace-especially today! (3:15,17).
    • Are condemned to destruction and misery (3:16).
    • Have no fear of God whatsoever. (3:18).

To these can be added the list in Galatians 5:19-21 and Colossians 3:5-9, in addition to all the perversions mentioned in Colossians 2 by which the Serpent entices modern men to follow “the rudiments of the world” rather than embracing Christ as Lord and Savior. These are:

• Enticing words
    • Philosophy
    • Vain deceit
    • Tradition
    • Legalism
    • Self-abasement
    • Angel worship
    • Visions
    • Man-made rules

These lists are not at all exhaustive. The reader is urged to complete the above by collating all the similar lists which occur in the Bible, for such is man’s inescapable indictment.

14. Georgie Porgie Avatar

The defense. It is noteworthy that no serious defense can be offered either here or at the great white throne judgment (Revelation 20:11-15).

The reason for this is that it is quite clear that all the indictments above are in contravention to the embodiment of the law against God as enunciated in 1 John 2:16, which classified all sins under the categories 1) lust of the flesh, 2) lust of the eyes and 3) the pride of life.

Since when all of these rules were broken in Genesis 3:6, the verdict was guilty, and the sentence which was immediately imposed and executed was spiritual death, it is reasonable to expect both the same verdict here (and at the great white throne judgment). So no attempt is made at a defense.

The teaching of Colossians 3:25, also renders a defense pointless. This scripture states that “he that doeth wrong shall receive for the wrong which he hath done: and there is no respect of persons”. The first part of the verse is a reiteration of Galatians 6:7.

The verdict in this case is as expected -guilty on all counts! (Romans 3:9,19,23).

The sentence is physical death and spiritual death (Genesis 2:17; 3:23; Ezekiel 18:4,20; Romans 6:23a;Hebrews 9:27).

Certainly the story presented here, which mirrors and amplifies the scene in Genesis 3 at the fall, suggests that man is, as we say today, in serious trouble! He needs a miracle in order to escape this sentence, for the evidence is really stacked against him!

And it is miracle that he gets, for just as the Good Shepherd of John10 became the Lamb of God of John 1:29,36 and died for the sheep, the Judge steps down immediately after giving the awful death sentence, and becomes our Advocate to enter a most efficacious appeal.

Just as in Genesis 3 God proposed and promised a path to peace and escape from the penalty for our sins, immediately the sentence of guilty is handed down in Romans 3:23, the result of the “Appeal court” is given in Romans 3:24-26,28. The crystal clear conclusion of the “Appeal court” is simple, salvific, and self explanatory. It is:

“Being justified freely by his grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus: Whom God hath set forth to be a propitiation through faith in his blood, to declare his righteousness for the remission of sins that are past, through the forbearance of God; To declare, I say, at this time his righteousness: that he might be just, and the justifier of him which believeth in Jesus. …..Therefore we conclude that a man is justified by faith without the deeds of the law.”

Verse 29-30 teaches in addition, that God is the God of the Gentiles also, and that He is the one God, who shall justify the circumcision by faith, and uncircumcision through faith. In case one would ask how Jesus the Judge qualifies to be Jesus the Advocate the following scriptures may readily be cited: John 7:18; 8:46; 14:30b; 18:38; 19:4,6; Luke 23:4,14,47; Mark 14:55-59, 15:14; Hebrews 7:26-27; 1John 3:5. In 2 Corinthians 5:21, we are told that Jesus “knew no sin”; in 1 Peter 2:22, it is said that Jesus “did no sin, neither was guile found in his mouth”; Hebrews 4:15b teaches that He was in all points tempted like as we are, yet without sin; Hebrews 5:9 teaches that Jesus’ perfection qualified and entitled him to be “the author of eternal salvation unto all them that obey him”, and both 1 Peter 1:19; Hebrews 9:14 teach that Jesus was the perfect, unblemished sacrifice for sin.

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

In Romans 4:1-8, Paul suggests that as is the common practice in law today, the “Appeal court” cited two cases for this decision.

These were the case of the Court of God vs. Abraham, in which the decision was that Abraham was justified by faith in God apart from circumcision; and the case of the Court of God vs. David, in which it was determined that David was justified by faith in God apart from the law.

The reason for these decisions by the “Appeal court Judge” is given in Romans chapter 4. Let us highlight some of the main points of this argument.

• Abraham discovered that he was justified because God counted him as righteousness because he believed God by faith (4:1-3).
    • Those who work for salvation are rewarded by debt rather than grace. This is because we cannot work hard enough to pay for our salvation. Thus we will always be in debt. We are therefore better off under a grace situation. (4:4).
    • In contrast, those who give up working for their salvation, but decide to believe on him that justifies the ungodly. Such exhibition of faith is rewarded by God’s righteousness through grace (4:5).
    • David discovered that God imputes righteousness to those who confess their sins and ask for forgiveness, and that it unnecessary to work in order to have one’s iniquities forgiven, or one’s sins covered (4:6-8).
    • Both of these cases revealed that God’s decision to save has nothing to do with whether the defendant is Jew or Gentile (whether they were circumcised or not), because the basis of salvation has always been faith, and faith alone! It has always had to do with believing God’s promises, and taking Him at His word. (4:9-11)
    • The court ascertained by referring to Genesis 15:6, that when Abraham received the sign of circumcision (a seal of the righteousness of the faith) he was already saved!

He had already exhibited faith in God and was already walking thereby. As a result, he was appointed as the representative (or father) of all them that believe, irregardless of whether they ever got circumcised, or not. For the imputation of righteousness, faith by believing God is the issue-not the outward sign of circumcision.

Rather the requirement is to emulate Abraham and walk in his steps, by exhibiting the type of faith that Abraham did even prior to his circumcision as recorded in Genesis 17 at one of the occasions of the re-affirmation of the Abrahamic covenant (4:12)
    • On examination the sacred record, the court found that the promise given in the first enunciation of the Abrahamic covenant in Genesis 12, that Abraham would be the heir of the world and his seed was always predicated through the righteousness of faith.

It always had to do with what he believed, rather than what he did. Of course James points out correctly that when he acted, that he did so based on his faith, and that his faith was the root and vehicle of his actions- his actions was merely the fruit. (4:13-25)
    • The conclusion then, was that faith and grace go together, and that this has always been so. And that the promise will be assured only to those who exhibit the sort of faith demonstrated by Abraham.

We need to explain how this argument relates to both Genesis 3 and contemporary man. It is simply that in Abraham’s case, faith in God and his provision for salvation, and the escape from sin’s penalty was rewarded or exchanged for the righteousness that only God can give through faith in the work that Christ did on the cross. We must believe the gospel (1 Corinthians 15:3-4).

It is important to see that Abraham exhibited this faith as mentioned in Genesis 15:6 before he was circumcised (Genesis 17). Thus he was justified by faith in God apart from circumcision. The advice to us is therefore “Go thou and do likewise, and accept as Savior, Christ-God’s remedy for sin without any additional paraphernalia. Avail yourself of God’s super abounding grace (Romans 5:20). It is grace through faith plus nothing!”

In David’s case, this king recognized that the salvation offered in the promise of Genesis 3:15 could be accessed by confessing his sin (Psalm 51) rather than blaming his partners in crime as Adam and Eve did. Having fallen like Adam did, instead of trying to cover his sin, he sought the efficacious covering that only God Himself could offer.

16. Georgie Porgie Avatar

The final review of the court is given in Romans chapter 5 as the blessing of justification, and the summary of condemnation.

We will quote directly from the review summary which records the following facts under the blessing of justification.

Romans 5:1-2 states “Therefore being justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ: By whom also we have access by faith into this grace wherein we stand, and rejoice in hope of the glory of God.”

We are taught that the benefits of justification by faith include the ability to glory in tribulations, and develop patience, experience, and hope that makes us confident because the love of God is shed abroad in our hearts by the Holy Ghost which is given unto us (5:3-5).

The reason given for the above, and the basis by which we obtain such benefits is declared to be that “when we were yet without strength, in due time Christ died for the ungodly (Romans 5:6)”.

In addition we are told that “God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us (Romans 5:8)”. As a result, now that we are justified by his blood, we shall be saved from (the sentence of) wrath through him.

Since God went to the trouble when we were enemies to reconcile us to Himself, by the death of his Son, it is logical that now that we have been reconciled, we shall be saved by the fact that Christ lives for ever. In addition, we also joy in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, by whom we have now received the atonement (Romans 5:8-11).

With respect to the summary of condemnation we read in Romans 5:12 “Wherefore, as by one man sin entered into the world, and death by sin; and so death passed upon all men, for that all have sinned.”

In verse 14 we read that “death reigned from Adam to Moses, even over them that had not sinned after the similitude of Adam’s transgression, who is the figure of him that was to come.”

In verse 15 we understand that in the same way that all men were punished by the sentence of death because of the sin or offence of one person, Adam; in like manner, the free gift of the grace of God has been bestowed in abundance unto many by grace through Christ.

Verse 16 continues by pointing out that in the same way that sentence of condemnation was passed because one person sinned, similarly the gift is bestowed because one person, Christ, obeyed.

Although the judgment of condemnation was the result of one man’s error, the free gift of justification will atone for the many offences of its recipients.

In the same way that death reigned because of one man’s (Adam’s) offence, much more they which receive abundance of grace and of the gift of righteousness shall reign in life by one (Jesus Christ.)

Therefore as by the offence of one judgment came upon all men to condemnation; even so by the righteousness of one the free gift came upon all men unto justification of life. For as by one man’s disobedience many were made sinners, so by the obedience of one shall many be made righteous.

The conclusion is that where sin abounded, grace did much more abound. Romans 5:20 is thus a very short summary of the import of Genesis 3:15. With this strong conclusion, and on the terms cited, we have been released from the penalty of sin, to live a life free from sin as taught in Romans chapter six. Aint that great!

17. @Georgie Porgie… Sigh…

Is it reasonable for me to conclude that you are attempting to honour your promise to me by sending me your 400 page dissertation by way of this blog, a few hundred words at a time?

You are aware that almost no one is reading your language, right? That you’re actually hurting your own cause with this dishonourable behaviour?

@BU Family… If I may please share…

This is a good example of why I personally rejected Christianity at a very early age. Straight answers to simple questions seem to be impossible to receive.

Contrast this with the study of the sciences, where hard questions are /encouraged/. Hell, hard questions are the very *methodology*!

No (real) scientist will ever refuse to answer a question of their work or what they *believe* to be the truth.

And, even more importantly, they’re always prepared to be proven wrong. IMHO, a far more honest position to hold….

18. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Mr Halsall

Sigh.

Your counter is not working today right?

I am sure that most are not reading my posts. Most folk are not interested in the Word of God. It doesn’t “resonate” with them. Some have even rejected Christianity and Christ, as you have. BUT there are the few that are reading don’t worry. If only one reads.

Guess what? I only read the threads on BU or the Nation that appeal to me. And I can understand that others do not read the threads that don’t appeal to them either. I expect that some wont read my posts either. And I wont get” my knickers in a twist” about that either.

Why are you so militant about my posts on the Word of God? If you don’t like the Word, then don’t read my posts.

I cannot see how presenting the Word of God could be dishonorable in Barbados. Unpleasant to some, maybe…….but dishonorable?

I appreciate your opinions and philosophies, why cant you respect my right to express mine in my own way. I speak what I know.

Have I cursed anyone? Have I incited to treason, or riot? Have I used indecent language? Have I disobeyed the terms and conditions of posting on BU as set by David?
    Can you refute my attempt at a correct division of the Word of Truth?

Hebrews 4 :12 reads For the word of God is quick (or alive), and powerful, and sharper than any twoedged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart..

God’s Word is alive! This means it is eternal, always current, always essential, always true, pure, and refined. Other writings fail when measured against these qualities, and they pass into oblivion. The Word of God is a discerner, a critic, of the heart’s inner workings. It is penetrating, scrutinizing our desires, and we should test our thinking against what Scripture says is good.

Weren’t you the one that asked David to start this thread?

19. @Georgie Porgie… You are being disingenuous here. And I suspect that you know it…

@GP: “Weren’t you the one that asked David to start this thread?

Yes, because I truly was interested in your top most post, and the questions raised therein.

@GP: “If you send me an email address I can send [my dissertation] to you online.

For the record of this court of public opinion, you have still not done so. I would *really* like to understand why.

Please explain.

20. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Chris

Last I checked you are not God, and so I do not have to explain anything to you, my friend.

I dont think that my work will “RESONATE” with you. LOL. After all you admit that you have rejected Christianity. You are not genuinely interested in my work or the Word of God.

*with due respect*

21. @BU Family…

I would like to observe that GP is empirically a hostile and dishonest “witness”.

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

As they say in court; As your worship pleaseth. LOL

But when I stand at the “bema” i.e the Judgement seat of Christ, none of the BU family will NOT be the judge.

Aint that great Chris? I think so.

23. And this is perhaps my fundamentally point…

You and yours seem to be mostly concerned about where you’ll go when you die.

I and my are instead concerned about what *we* can do *here* and *now*. While we’re alive “on this bloody ball of wax”.

We have people to feed, cloth, shelter, educate, further and advance…

What happens when we die will be realized by each of us, individually, when that event happens.

Until that time, I would argue, we all have a great deal of work to do, *together*….

24. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Re

I and my are instead concerned about what *we* can do *here* and *now*. While we’re alive “on this bloody ball of wax”.

We have people to feed, cloth, shelter, educate, further and advance…

———————————————
    Oh I have seen many thousand patients in my lifetime, and worked for the State at every available opportunity.I guess I have paid my dues in Barbados.

Now I teach a number of medical students whenever I get the chance.

I can only do more when the opportunity presents itself.

I have definitely not been “so heavenly minded” that I have been of “no earthly good.”

25. Anonymous // February 28, 2009 at 10:02 am
    People try to put christianity in the same box as other religions. I do not see it as a religion. I see christianity as
    a way of life. In one of the books, we are directed to ‘work out our own salvation’. i take this to mean that God takes into account personalities – not withstanding the fact that we still have to be covered in the blood of Christ and fight being controlled by some sin.

26. The following article “The coming evangelical collapse” makes for interesting reading.

http://www.csmonitor.com/2009/0310/p09s01-coop.html

27. BU Family

I am new here. I like what I see.
    I was challenged by the words of one of the commenters that God has made promises to men. So I started to read my New Testament to see if this was so or not.
    Here are the promises I found in the first five chapters of the book of The Acts. Let me share what I found with you. I would be happy if anyone can guide me as to if I am on the right tract. As I go on I will share my findings with you. Peace.

PROMISES IN THE ACTS

Promise of the Holy Spirit

Chapter 1: verse 4-5 and verse 8
    V 4. And, being assembled together with them, commanded them that they should not depart from Jerusalem, but wait for the promise of the Father, which, saith he, ye have heard of me.
    5. For John truly baptized with water; but ye shall be baptized with the Holy Ghost not many days hence.
    8. But ye shall receive power, after that the Holy Ghost is come upon you: and ye shall be witnesses unto me both in Jerusalem, and in all Judaea, and in Samaria, and unto the uttermost part of the earth.

Promise of the Lord’s physical visible return

Chapter 1: verses 10-11

10. And while they looked stedfastly toward heaven as he went up, behold, two men stood by them in white apparel; 11. Which also said, Ye men of Galilee, why stand ye gazing up into heaven? this same Jesus, which is taken up from you into heaven, shall so come in like manner as ye have seen him go into heaven.

Promises of salvation
    Chapter 2:v 21. And it shall come to pass, that whosoever shall call on the name of the Lord shall be saved.

Promise resulting from repentance

Chapter 2:v 38-39
    38. Then Peter said unto them, Repent, and be baptized every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the remission of sins, and ye shall receive the gift of the Holy Ghost.
    39. For the promise is unto you, and to your children, and to all that are afar off, even as many as the LORD our God shall call.

Chapter 3: 19. Repent ye therefore, and be converted, that your sins may be blotted out, when the times of refreshing shall come from the presence of the Lord.

Promise of Destruction for not receiving Christ

Chapter 3: 20-23

20. And he shall send Jesus Christ, which before was preached unto you: 21. Whom the heaven must receive until the times of restitution of all things, which God hath spoken by the mouth of all his holy prophets since the world began.
    22. For Moses truly said unto the fathers, A prophet shall the Lord your God raise up unto you of your brethren, like unto me; him shall ye hear in all things whatsoever he shall say unto you.
    23. And it shall come to pass, that every soul, which will not hear that prophet, shall be destroyed from among the people.

Promise that Jesus is the only source of salvation ( see also John 14:6)
    Acts 4:12
    11. This is the stone which was set at nought of you builders, which is become the head of the corner.
    12. Neither is there salvation in any other: for there is none other name under heaven given among men, whereby we must be saved.

These below may not be true promises, but it seems that this is what happens when anyone teaches the Word of God anywhere.

Acts Chapter 4: 1-4
    Some will be grieved and try to stop it; but some will believe! Still happening today. Isnt it?
    1. And as they spake unto the people, the priests, and the captain of the temple, and the Sadducees, came upon them, 2. Being grieved that they taught the people, and preached through Jesus the resurrection from the dead.
    3. And they laid hands on them, and put them in hold unto the next day: for it was now eventide.
    4. Howbeit many of them which heard the word believed; and the number of the men was about five thousand.

It seems from Acts Chapter 4:17-18 that attempts are always made to restrain the spread of Christianity (not religion) that is teaching about, and following the teachings of Jesus

17. But that it spread no further among the people, let us straitly threaten them, that they speak henceforth to no man in this name.
    18. And they called them, and commanded them not to speak at all nor teach in the name of Jesus.

See what happens in chapter 5 when the apostles disobeyed the Jewish leadership
    Acts Chapter 5: 17
    17. Then the high priest rose up, and all they that were with him, (which is the sect of the Sadducees,) and were filled with indignation, 18. And laid their hands on the apostles, and put them in the common prison.
    I wonder what will happen here on BU when folk read this post.

28. BU Family

As I said before I was challenged by the words of one of the commenters that God has made promises to men. So I started to read my New Testament to see if this was so or not.
    Here are the promises I found in Acts chapters 6-15 . As I said before I would be happy if anyone can guide me as to if I am on the right tract, as I have never read the Bible like this before actively looking for something specific.

Promise concerning Paul’s future service soon after his conversion

Chapter 9 vs 15
    15. But the Lord said unto him, Go thy way: for he is a chosen vessel unto me, to bear my name before the Gentiles, and kings, and the children of Israel: 16. For I will shew him how great things he must suffer for my name’s sake.

Promise of God to accept all of any nation who fear him and work righteousness
    Chapter 10; vs 35

35. But in every nation he that feareth him, and worketh righteousness, is accepted with him.

Promise that Jesus was ordained to be the Judge of both the living or quick and the dead Acts 10:42
    42. And he commanded us to preach unto the people, and to testify that it is he which was ordained of God to be the Judge of quick and dead.

Promise that remission of sins (salvation) is received by believing in Jesus name Acts 10:43
    43. To him give all the prophets witness, that through his name whosoever believeth in him shall receive remission of sins.

Promise that God would raise up Jesus as Savior via the seed of David the son of Jesse
    Acts 13:22-23
    22. And when he had removed him, he raised up unto them David to be their king; to whom also he gave their testimony, and said, I have found David the son of Jesse, a man after mine own heart, which shall fulfil all my will.
    23. Of this man’s seed hath God according to his promise raised unto Israel a Saviour, Jesus

Promise that forgiveness of sins and justification comes through Jesus.
    Acts 13: 38-39
    38. Be it known unto you therefore, men and brethren, that through this man is preached unto you the forgiveness of sins: 39. And by him all that believe are justified from all things, from which ye could not be justified by the law of Moses.

Promise that God will restore Israel after he takes a people for his name from among the Gentiles
    Acts 15: 13- 17
    13. And after they had held their peace, James answered, saying, Men and brethren, hearken unto me: 14. Simeon hath declared how God at the first did visit the Gentiles, to take out of them a people for his name.
    15. And to this agree the words of the prophets; as it is written, 16. After this I will return, and will build again the tabernacle of David, which is fallen down; and I will build again the ruins thereof, and I will set it up: 17. That the residue of men might seek after the Lord, and all the Gentiles, upon whom my name is called, saith the Lord, who doeth all these things.
    Promise that salvation comes through the grace of the LORD Jesus Christ
    Acts 15:11
    But we believe that through the grace of the LORD Jesus Christ we shall be saved, even as they.

The following are not promises but
    I learned in chapter 13 that some will seek to turn others from the faith when the Word of God is presented
    Acts 13 vs 8. But Elymas the sorcerer (for so is his name by interpretation) withstood them, seeking to turn away the deputy from the faith.

I learned in chapter 14 that some will believe God’s Word but some wont.
    Acts 14:1-4
    1. And it came to pass in Iconium, that they went both together into the synagogue of the Jews, and so spake, that a great multitude both of the Jews and also of the Greeks believed.
    2. But the unbelieving Jews stirred up the Gentiles, and made their minds evil affected against the brethren.
    3. Long time therefore abode they speaking boldly in the Lord, which gave testimony unto the word of his grace, and granted signs and wonders to be done by their hands.
    4. But the multitude of the city was divided: and part held with the Jews, and part with the apostles.

Look what may happen to such: Acts 13:9-10. They are blinded spiritually!
    9. Then Saul, (who also is called Paul,) filled with the Holy Ghost, set his eyes on him.
    10. And said, O full of all subtilty and all mischief, thou child of the devil, thou enemy of all righteousness, wilt thou not cease to pervert the right ways of the Lord? 11. And now, behold, the hand of the Lord is upon thee, and thou shalt be blind, not seeing the sun for a season. And immediately there fell on him a mist and a darkness; and he went about seeking some to lead him by the hand.