Submitted as a comment by BU family member Geogie Porgie

the_holy_book_by_djvueI was once challenged to expand on an outline given by Kaiser in Toward An Old Testament Theology, and  read the Bible to discover that the Old Testament Theology is best unified under the theme “The Promises of God” and that the entire Bible could really be seen inter alia, as a catalogue of a large number of promises which God has made, and a record of how he has kept several of these promises.

As I made a deeper search to see where I could find promises that were not immediately as obvious as the major fulfilled promises or of the covenants, and as I extracted and attempted. to co- ordinate the promises that I found, I discovered that it is not unreasonable to conclude that nearly everything of major significance in the Bible depends on a promise of God.

In any argument or discussion with respect to the promises of God in any part of the Old Testament or the Bible as a whole, it is imperative that we ask and answer honestly the following important and relevant questions as the Bible text is carefully perused.

Has God indeed truly made any significant promises?

• If so, what are these promises? To whom were they made? Of what general or lasting significance are they? Do they have any relevance at all for contemporary men? If so what is the relevance?
  • If God has indeed made any promises, has He been faithful in keeping any or all of these promises to date? If not, why not?
  • If He has indeed fulfilled any, what does this say about His character? What is the further significance of His fulfilling these promises? Were the fulfilled promises completely or only partially fulfilled?
  • If he has fulfilled even a single promise, what is the significance or implication for mankind?
  • If He has only fulfilled some of His promises why is this? Is this because He was unable? Incapable? Untrue? Dishonest? Will He ever get around to fulfilling the unfulfilled portions? If so, When? Does He care that some men are seriously depending on Him to fulfill His promises?
  • Are the as yet unfulfilled promises of serious import? Should we be concerned about whether God will get around to fulfilling these or not?

If so, How? Why?

The Bible was read, and reread in sections according to 16 basic divisions, and the promises therein listed and discussed to indicate whether the stated promise is as yet fulfilled or unfulfilled.

Where the promise has been fulfilled, the location in the Bible where its fulfillment is recorded was pointed out, and any New Testament correlation explained. For example, the several New Testament scriptures which comment and prove that God kept the promise of Genesis 3:15, are grouped in the chapter on Genesis 1-3.

The important significance of the flood as taught by Jesus in Matthew 24:38-39; Luke 17:27 and Peter in 2 Peter 2 5; 2 Peter 3:5-12, as it relates to the certainty of a future universal judgment at the second coming is explained.

In discussing the Abrahamic covenant in the section on the Patriarchal period, the relevant Scriptures in Romans 9-11 and Galatians are reviewed. In the case of promises that are not as yet fulfilled, the point at which these promises will be fulfilled as identified in the New Testament were found.

This study proceeded period by period and book by book, using the basic division of the Bible in the quest and adventure of  seeking the promises of God. I found adequate evidence to answer the questions listed above most conclusively.

The answers on Genesis constituted my 400 page dissertation for my DMin.

1. @ ROK
    Post of 12:36am.

Precisely my point and I would dare say B T’s point as well. That when dealing with the scriptures no amount of book learning or academic degrees will help you, unless you have the guidance of HIS Holy Spirit as well. Capishe?

2. RH

Tell me that you making sport at me??

3. ORIGNAL text, ROK, where would you ever find such in Barbados?

4. I never “make sport” of spiritual things, ROK.

5. We have been expressly warned that we should not trifle with sacred things.

We do so at our peril.

6. RH

The slaves were warned not to run away and that they did so at their own peril.

I am not convinced that the Bible is sacred text and actually I think the Bible is trifling with my spirituality and testing my common sense and intelligence.

That does not mean I don’t believe in what you may call miracles, I see them everyday. I saw Usain Bolt.

7. Fantastic runner, Usain Bolt. And what stamina! Just goes to show what a bit of dedication and endurance can do!
    I wish more people would show the same application when dealing with their own salvation! :-))

8. RH

“ORIGNAL text, ROK, where would you ever find such in Barbados?”

You think we poor rakey when it comes to religion, nuh?

9. RH

Of course you know I meant translation. Sorry.

10. “”You think we poor rakey when it comes to religion, nuh?””

On the contrary, I am very well aware that most, if not all Bajans, have a fantastic understanding of religion.

However, I would like to add that I don’t think that “religion” will “save” anyone.

11. “Of course you know I meant translation. Sorry.”

I don’t quite follow that statement. Explain further.

12. RH

These are the two translations I know. The latter one is Basic Bible English:

32:14 [kjv] And the LORD repented of the evil which he thought to do unto his people.
    [bbe] So the Lord let himself be turned from his purpose of sending punishment on his people.

32:14 於 是 耶 和 華 後 悔 、 不 把 所 說 的 禍 降 與 他 的 百 姓 。

32:14 于 是 耶 和 华 后 悔 , 不 把 所 说 的 祸 降 与 他 的 百 姓

13. Don’t mean a thing to me,ROKKIE

14. Gonna have to cut the switch here for now,ROK, I have a little grandson to look after early in the morning and he normally runs rings around me when I am fresh much less if I am tired. :-))
    We’ll continue this …………..tomorrow?

15. Also

Exodus 32:14 And Jehovah repented of the evil which he said he would do unto his people. – American Standard Version.

Was hoping to find the International Version but unsuccessful so far.

Sorry, ignore the foreign language in my last post.

16. RH

“On the contrary, I am very well aware that most, if not all Bajans, have a fantastic understanding of religion.”

“Fantastic?” Hmmmm….

I could agree with your last statement.

17. “There was no spare land .Between the time of the banishment from Shinar and the Abrahamic covenant, the nations or peoples or tribes were occupying the land between the Nile & the Euphrates.”

Of course not because the nations of Africa occupied this land; the entire stretch of the Nile. So they were sent by God to drive out the Africans from their lands.

Anybody who knows anything about the Nile would know that this is where the evidence indicates that the great African Civilisations started. I would suggest that the use of the word tribes is rather insulting.

18. I get a shock dis morning!! 67 comments in less than a day!! Dis subjek is even more popular dan Rihanna!!

Whoever said that Bajans were no longer a religious people have been proved wrong!!

19. @ ROK and others

Then the Lord relented and did not bring on his people the disaster he had threatened. Exodus 32:14 (New International Version)

20. Some people try to complicate Christianity. For me I live by the Law of Morality, I have a consience and that tells me if I’m doing right or wrong. Sometimes we try to get too technical and miss the true Christian way. I was just studying the book of Romans and the very first chapter was as relevent as if it was in the news recently. The Bible is the GREATEST book ever written.

21. February 25, 2009 at 11:22 pm … Mr. Anonymous

99% of the people writing on this blog cannot understand humor… don’t waste your time!

As the man said… you cannot talk about 6, 7 and 8 to folks who know of 1, 2 and 3.

Move on!

22. That should be … you cannot talk about 6, 7 and 8 to folks who know ONLY of 1, 2 and 3.

Sorry about that.

23. What precisely is this thread about, David(BU) ?

24. @Ah Non E Mus: “What precisely is this thread about, David(BU) ?

While I will never speak for David, if I may… The reason I suggested to David that GP’s post become a tangent to “the other thread” is I found it extremely interesting.

The questions GP posed are worth examining. From a strictly information/knowledge theory perspective, this could be a worthwhile exercise.

My personal ideal end-of-blog result is an inventory of promises formally defined and agreed to by /scholars/ of this particular body of language.

One of the reasons I’m interested in this dataset is that once this set is defined, we will then know what *hasn’t* been promised.

Valuable knowledge, IMHO.

(GP… This work has probably already been done. If so, and you are aware, could you provide references?)

25. Can God build a house too big that he can’t lift it. If he can’t do it, he’s not omnipotent.

Does God know everything before it happens? If he does, then you don’t really have free will.

And either way, if he already knows what’s going to happen, do you think praying to him will change his mind?

There is no God.

Now get on with your life.

26. Oh, and If you believe in the God of the bible, ask yourself where the other hundreds of Gods around the world came from? Either all Gods are real, or all (except yours of course) were made up by men. All except yours. Right?

27. @Bush Tea: “Now we are on to the promises of God and poor Bush Tea can’t even get your posts read – longer and more complex even than Carlos and PDC – and still no simple answers..

BT, I *completely* agree with this observation.

Perhaps we could all try, on this thread, to keep all language to less than 100 words per “packet” (or, at least, as an average per individual)?

And, as an aside, another personal heuristic…

I have observed and concluded that those who talk the most, longest and/or the loudest usually have the least worth listening to….

28. Chris

I have a theory that the promises of God were made to appease man and recompense man for the labours through which God put man.

Now while I cannot identify the labour required by God, or the benefit derived from mankind being on earth, I can still start with what the ancient civilisations had to say.

Somehow they felt that God (the Anunnaki) made us to be his (their) slaves. Is it a coincidence that slavery was practiced by humanity? Is it quite possible that the labour that built the pyramids, stonehenge and other ancient structures were seen as slave labour by the Gods?

Consider the possibility that the Gods have no use for us right now in that vein. However, the way they may have done it is to keep man’s mind subjugated until that day arrives when next he will put humanity to work.

As it is today, we are all slaves. We get paid but the blaring fact is that whatever you get paid is not just and that you are really working for a master, who controls your time for eight hours each day to do what that master wants you to do; and to the profit and benefit of that master.

Is not capitalism, socialism, communism, liberal democracy, etc. modern day forms of slavery?

29. Chris Halsall, I totally agree with this:

I have observed and concluded that those who talk the most, longest and/or the loudest usually have the least worth listening to.

Ask a christian a simple question like, “was God wrong when he sanctioned the murder of innocent children, or the rape of women?”

Instead of a simple, “Yes, that was obviously wrong!!”, you’ll get the longest meandering answer you’ve ever seen.

30. @Rohan… This is, in my mind, a very interesting datapoint…

For some reason, some followers of *many* different belief systems seem unable to argue their positions “in the short form”.

This is not intended to be interpreted as to be constrained to the religious domains. This observation includes “financial gurus”, polititions and salespersons, et al….

31. This observation includes “financial gurus”, polititions and salespersons, et al….

Yup, agreed. Charlatans of all types need some time to work their magic. It’s almost like they’re trying to convince themselves at the same time they’re trying to convince you.

32. @ROK: “I have a theory that the promises of God were made to appease man and recompense man for the labours through which God put man.

I share this theory. In fact, I would go further, and argue that most formalized religions have been deliberate attempts to *pacify* us; to encourage us to consume and reproduce.

I will *never* tell anyone that their belief structure is something they should not believe in.

I will, however, never hesitate from challenging any and all such structures, to test their resilience, logic and value.

Including, and especially, my own….

33. @Bush Tea: “Now we are on to the promises of God and poor Bush Tea can’t even get your posts read – longer and more complex even than Carlos and PDC – and still no simple answers..

Bush Tea is assuming that because he finds the posts long and complex and because he cannnot read them, that no one can read them. An obvious non sequitur.

Bush Tea does not know that there are many in churches all over Barbados that use study guides every week in thier Sunday school classes.This includes Adult Sunday school classes.

Whereas GP uses standard English Bush Tea talks about forces and BBE’s and a lot of nonsense.

This is all very amusing.

34. In response to GP’s assertion that “the land between the Nile & the Euphrates” was promised to Israel, Rok, the sage complete with white hair and beard states categorically
    “Of course not because the nations of Africa occupied this land; the entire stretch of the Nile. So they were sent by God to drive out the Africans from their lands.
    Anybody who knows anything about the Nile would know that this is where the evidence indicates that the great African Civilisations started. I would suggest that the use of the word tribes is rather insulting.”

My African friends from Kenya tell me that there are several tribes that make up there nation. They don’t think its insulting when they talk about their tribes with their different accents dialects customs etc though they are all in the same nation. But Rok knows best, and all it seems.

If Rok had consulted a map or a map of Bible times, he would note that “the land between the Nile & the Euphrates” is nowhere on the African continent. The land between the Nile & the Euphrates has nothing at all to do with Africa.

35. Friar Tuck

I think it is you that had better check the map again and your history starting with the “Black-Faced People” of Sumer.

36. Friar Tuck

“My African friends from Kenya tell me that there are several tribes that make up there nation.”

Your words. The tribes make up a Nation, or is it that the “Nation” make up the tribes?

Now these are my words:
    “Of course not because the nations of Africa occupied this land; the entire stretch of the Nile. So they were sent by God to drive out the Africans from their lands.”

Furthermore, the stretch between the Nile and the Red Sea is properly on the continent of Africa… and where did I state that the land stretching from the Red Sea to the Euphrates is on the African Continent?

I suppose that Hawaii has nothing to do with the USA since it is not part of the American Continent.

You are so intent on doing your evil that you did not stop to digest what I wrote, did you?

37. I think that I am going to do like Chris and take a sabbatical from the blog. It seems like my manner is offensive to some and I don’t like being offensive.

Therefore, I am off to do an internal reflection and see if I can mend my ways.

In the meantime, “Look for me in the whirlwind.”

38. Sob sob sob
    boo hoo boo hoo ‘
    the hoary headed and bearded Rok is gone
    he stop talking to himself
    now he’s gone

sad sad sad
    no more shit to read on the blog
    no clown to make my day in giving me a good laugh

are you leaving in a jet craft or a flying chariot or a submarine?

come back Rok
    please come back and spew some more shit on the blog

39. My friends, some Bible verses pointed out some of the things that God gave us. After reading them I was inspired to write the following. I have summarized from the verses Six things that I mnemonically remember with PETS MC or as I say PETS My Code.

Things That Our God Gave Us

The Lord through His prophets asked that we
    Have faith and promised us Life for Eternity
    If we be perfect, of good comfort and of one mind
    Never fearful but living in peace, we’ll find
    God of Peace and Love shall be always near
    Spiritually guiding us through the things we might fear
    The Peace shall keep our hearts and minds
    His Peace is purer than all other kinds
    And this peace He gives with His Everlasting Love
    To those who follow the Bible and His word thereof
    Our God gave us Trust and ensures that we
    Under His watch will sleep and dwell in Safety
    Rest may elude you but know that He’s there
    God watches every moment and hears every prayer
    Our God of Peace and Love has given us Mercy
    Divine forgiveness despite our former iniquity
    God of Peace and Love gave us Comfort
    A resolution to ease our bodies and souls that hurt
    Various translations of His doctrines may
    Exist, but if you on any doctrine will stay
    Use His promise of Eternal Life and remember that He
    Shared Peace, Everlasting Love, Trust, Safety, Comfort and Mercy

An Acrostic Poem from The Bajan Poetry Society

See Bible verses
    2 Corithians 13:11:

Jeremiah 31:3

Philippians 4:7

Isaiah 26:3

Psalm 4:8

2 Corinthians 1:3-4

40. Chris Halsall wrote “to encourage us to consume and reproduce.”

Actually most of us need little or no encouragement to consume and reproduce.

Consuming and reproducing are such fun.

41. Love God.

Love your neighbour.

Amen.

42. @BU Family… I’m actually trying to be serious about doing a sabbatical… But… Real-time is, after all, real-time…

I would like to let the record show that at this point in time, none of those promoting the Bible as a belief system have answered my simple question above.

GP… I still have not received your document. Please trust me: confidentially assured. Send it to David to send to me if you wish complete decoupling, or set up a new GMail account.

To counter Khaidji’s blatant attempt above to direct traffic to its site, let me please (temporarily) leave you with another knowledge set I personally believe is also worth considering.

http://www.skeptic.com/eskeptic/

Namaste all.

43. @ Khaidji // February 26, 2009 at 9:31 pm

God has

44. Khaidji // February 26, 2009 at 9:31 pm

God has NEVER asked us to be Perfect. We CANNOT be so that line “If we be perfect, of good comfort…etc” is not accurate.

The correct translation is “complete” . We all know by now that the English is a limited language – therefore the KJV used the word ‘perfect’ to come as near as possible to the original translation. God asked us to be complete in him NOT PERFECT. How can one born in sin be perfect? I really hope that if you witness to anyone, you do not go around telling people that God expects us to be perfect. That is crap. If you truly walk with the Lord then seek to understand his word in a reasonable sense.

45. Queenam:

There are 36.000 denominations of the Christian church.

Perhaps, in view of the many diverse translations, one must assume that spirituality is a totally, individually arrived at conclusion, and “organised” religion should keep the hell out of it.

Unless of course your way is the one true way.

46. The silence on this blog can be cut with a knife since those two devils gone on sabbatical! WOW

47. Be carefull Friar Tuck !

Remember Luke 4:13 ?

And when the devil had ended all the temptation, he departed from him for a season.

One translation says the Devil departed from him till a convenient season.

Another one says he departed from him until another time.

Yet another says the devil departed from him for a time.

Though Satan departs for a season, we shall never be out of his reach till removed from this present evil world.

Those two main devils Rok & CH will be back, and bring their hordes and the devil’s other representatives with them, don’t worry.

48. Religion easily has the greatest ***** story ever told. Think about it, religion has actually convinced people that there’s an INVISIBLE MAN…LIVING IN THE SKY…who watches every thing you do, every minute of every day. And the invisible man has a list of ten special things that he does not want you to do. And if you do any of these ten things, he has a special place full of fire and smoke and burning and torture and anguish where he will send to live and suffer and burn and choke and scream and cry for ever and ever ’til the end of time…but he loves you. And he NEEDS MONEY!!

— The late, the great, George Carlin.

49. What did I tell you Friar Tuck?

50. @ Straight talk

There is a place for organized religion but I believe we should sincerely seek God’s guidance on interpretation. We can use about 2 different interpretations and find a balance there. More than anything else – I believe that we have one major factor going for us, we all have a conscience. whether we listen to it our not – that is where God has place his directives, I believe