Submitted by Georgie Porgie

Any truly valid interpretation of Scripture must be based upon sound rules. These rules must then be applied consistently. The following are the most basic rules we attempt to always follow in our interpretation of Scripture. We do not feel at liberty to discard these rules when they lead us to a conclusion in contradiction to what ‘orthodoxy’ has taught us.  We instead endeavour to allow the scriptures to speak for themselves and believe by faith whatever conclusions they may lead us to.

I  It will be assumed that the 39 books of the Old Testament, and the 27 Books of the New Testament are the wholly inspired Word of God. “That the man of God may be perfect, thoroughly furnished unto all good works.” 2 Tim 3:17.

II  The Bible itself will always be used to define its own terminology, symbols, etc. No appeal will be made to any man-made dogma, theory, or writing, such as the apocrypha or psudopygrypha, to explain Biblical terms which are already clearly defined within the Bible itself.

III  The proper interpretation of any given passage will be determined, not only by that with which it stands immediately connected, but by considering all scriptures which have bearing upon the subject throughout the entire Bible . The truth of any given subject can only be determined by bringing together all scripture which sheds light on that subject.

IV  Every passage will be given as literal an interpretation as possible, unless such a literal interpretation would render the meaning absurd, or bring it into disagreement with other passages which speak in positive language.

V  No interpretation will be given to any scripture beyond what the fair meaning of the text itself allows. For Example: Carcass cannot in any case be interpreted to mean immortal soul burning in hell.

VI  All passages belonging to any particular subject must contain one or more of the peculiar features of that subject, by which it may be identified as belonging to that subject.

VII  The truth of any doctrine must be determined firstly by those passages which speak in clear and positive language, and not those which are symbolic or parabolic in nature. No inference should be drawn from any symbolic or parabolic passage which would bring the passage into contradiction with those which speak unequivocally on the same subject.

VIII  No doctrine will be derived based on a single passage of scripture, a mere inference, or an argument from silence. Any true doctrine will found throughout the entire Bible.

Fundamental Rules for Interpreting Scripture

1. Since Jesus spoke and the Bible writers wrote primarily for the people of their day, always consider the historical, geographical, and cultural setting of the passage you are studying.

2. Always consider the context of the unit, chapter, and book when interpreting a text. The meaning of each verse must agree with the theme of the unit, chapter, and book, as well as the overall teaching of the Bible.

3. When interpreting a passage or verse, make sure to study each sentence grammatically to get the correct meaning. Pay special attention to the verbs as they deal with actions.

4. Make sure to get the meaning of each text as intended by the Bible writer or inspired speaker before making application. This is called bridge-building and is important in giving Bible studies.

5. Difficult texts must be interpreted in the light of the clear teachings of the whole Bible. Therefore, study all that Scripture teaches on a given subject before coming to a conclusion on any single verse.

6. The New Testament must be interpreted in the light of the Old Testament and vice versa. The Old Testament is promise and the New Testament is fulfilment. Both complement each other.

7. For accuracy, use the best translations and, if at all possible, compare with the original text.

Here are the eight rules:

1) The rule of DEFINITION: What does the word mean? Any study of Scripture must begin with a study of words. Define your terms and then keep to the terms defined. The interpreter should conscientiously abide by the plain meaning of the words. This quite often may require using a Hebrew/English or Greek/English lexicon in order to make sure that the sense of the English translation is understood. A couple of good examples of this are the Greek words “allos” and “heteros”. Both are usually translated as “another” in English – yet “allos” literally means “another of the same type” and “heteros” means “another of a different type.”

2) The rule of USAGE: It must be remembered that the Old Testament was written originally by, to and for Jews. The words and idioms must have been intelligible to them – just as the words of Christ when talking to them must have been. The majority of the New Testament likewise was written in a milieu of Greco-Roman (and to a lesser extent Jewish) culture and it is important to not impose our modern usage into our interpretation. It is not worth much to interpret a great many phrases and histories if one’s interpretations are shaded by pre-conceived notions and cultural biases, thereby rendering an inaccurate and ineffectual lesson.

3) The rule of CONTEXT: The meaning must be gathered from the context. Every word you read must be understood in the light of the words that come before and after it. Many passages will not be understood at all, or understood incorrectly, without the help afforded by the context. A good example of this is the Mormon practice of using 1 Cor. 8:5b: “…for there be gods many and lords many…” as a “proof text” of their doctrine of polytheism. However, a simple reading of the whole verse in the context of the whole chapter (e.g. where Paul calls these gods “so-called”), plainly demonstrates that Paul is not teaching polytheism.

4) The rule of HISTORICAL BACKGROUND: The interpreter must have some awareness of the life and society of the times in which the Scripture was written. The spiritual principle will be timeless but often can’t be properly appreciated without some knowledge of the background. If the interpreter can have in his mind what the writer had in his mind when he wrote – without adding any excess baggage from the interpreter’s own culture or society – then the true thought of the Scripture can be captured resulting in an accurate interpretation. Oliver Wendell Holmes said, “Our only interest in the past is for the light it throws upon the present.”

5) The rule of LOGIC: Interpretation is merely logical reasoning. When interpreting Scripture, the use of reason is everywhere to be assumed. Does the interpretation make sense? The Bible was given to us in the form of human language and therefore appeals to human reason – it invites investigation. It is to be interpreted as we would any other volume: applying the laws of language and grammatical analysis. As Bernard Ramm said:

“What is the control we use to weed out false theological speculation? Certainly the control is logic and evidence… interpreters who have not had the sharpening experience of logic…may have improper notions of implication and evidence. Too frequently such a person uses a basis of appeal that is a notorious violation of the laws of logic and evidence.” (Protestant Biblical Interpretation, Boston: W. A. Wilde, 1956)

6) The rule of PRECEDENT: We must not violate the known usage of a word and invent another for which there is no precedent. Just as a judge’s chief occupation is the study of previous cases, so must the interpreter use precedents in order to determine whether they really support an alleged doctrine. Consider the Bereans in Acts 17:10-12 who were called “noble” because they searched the Scriptures to determine if what Paul taught them was true.

7) The rule of UNITY: The parts of Scripture being interpreted must be construed with reference to the significance of the whole. An interpretation must be consistent with the rest of Scripture. An excellent example of this is the doctrine of the Trinity. No single passage teaches it, but it is consistent with the teaching of the whole of Scripture (e.g. the Father, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit are referred to individually as God; yet the Scriptures elsewhere teach there is only one God).

8) The rule of INFERENCE: An inference is a fact reasonably implied from another fact. It is a logical consequence. It derives a conclusion from a given fact or premise. It is the deduction of one proposition from another proposition. Such inferential facts or propositions are sufficiently binding when their truth is established by competent and satisfactory evidence. Competent evidence means such evidence as the nature of the thing to be proved admits. Satisfactory evidence means that amount of proof which would ordinarily satisfy an unprejudiced mind beyond a reasonable doubt. Jesus used this rule when he proved the resurrection of the dead to the unbelieving Sadducees in Matt. 22:23-33.

Learning these eight rules and properly applying them will help keep any interpreter from making errors and will hopefully alleviate many of the disagreements unfortunately present in Christianity today. However, these eight principles are no substitute for the Holy Spirit which will, if you let Him, guide you in the truth [John 14:26]. If you receive Christ into your heart, God will give you the Holy Spirit freely as a gift [Acts 2:38]. I urge you, if you have not already done so, to examine the claims and the work of Jesus Christ and to receive Him as your Saviour.

Interpreting Scripture (Hermeneutics)

Hermeneutics is defined in one dictionary as “the art of finding the meaning of an author’s words and phrases, and of explaining it to others.” When applied to Scripture, accurate hermeneutics would require the scholar to:

• Study the context of the passage and the theme of the book.

• Look up the actual meaning of each word in the original languages.

• Note the verb tenses, the cases, and other grammatical determinants.

• Learn the cultural setting of the passage.

• Determine what the original readers understood it to mean.

• Check out cross-references to see how the words are used in other contexts.

• See how the first mention of the word or topic is presented in the Bible.

• Confirm an interpretation with two or three similar passages.

These are all proven study methods and good guidelines of interpretation. Here are some other additional factors of correct Biblical hermeneutics?

1. Spiritual Perception Over Intellectual Understanding

The first factor of interpreting Scripture is to approach it as an exercise in spiritual discernment rather than just an intellectual pursuit. Paul emphasized this in his letter to the Corinthian believers. “But the natural man receiveth not the things of the Spirit of God: for they are foolishness unto him: neither can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned” (I Corinthians 2:14). Jesus Himself confirmed that Biblical understanding does not come from human reasoning but from spiritual enlightenment. He said, “I thank thee, O Father, Lord of heaven and earth, because thou hast hid these things from the wise and prudent, and hast revealed them unto babes” (Matthew 11:25).

The Holy Spirit is the One Who inspired the writing of Scripture, and He is the most qualified One to interpret its meaning to each reader. Jesus assured us that the Holy Spirit would indeed guide us into all truth. “Howbeit when he, the Spirit of truth, is come, he will guide you into all truth” (John 16:13).

This being the case, it is also reasonable to conclude that if a person who wants to interpret Scripture has sinful habits or practices in his life that grieve the Holy Spirit and quench His power, the Holy Spirit will not reveal the truth of Scripture to such a person. In fact, God warns that such individuals will take Scripture out of context to their own destruction. (See II Peter 3:16.) This result supports the axiom that a man’s morality will dictate his theology and his philosophy.

2. God’s Revelation Over Human Reasoning

In the final analysis, accurate Biblical interpretation is based on the revelation of Jesus Christ throughout the Scriptures. Nowhere is this more clearly demonstrated than on that walk on the road to Emmaus. The disciples had been personally taught by Jesus for three years.

However, they still did not understand the Scriptures from which He taught. They were distracted by the conflicting interpretations of contemporary scholars. It was not until Jesus began with Moses and all the prophets and explained how they revealed Him that they understood the true meaning of Scripture. “And beginning at Moses and all the prophets, he expounded unto them in all the scriptures the things concerning himself” (Luke 24:27). They later recalled, “Did not our heart burn within us, while he talked with us by the way, and while he opened to us the Scriptures?” (Luke 24:32).

The scholars of Jesus’ day carried out heated debates over the correct interpretation of Scripture, but Jesus counselled them to search the Scriptures on the basis that they testified of Him. “Search the scriptures; for in them ye think ye have eternal life: and they are they which testify of me” (John 5:39).

3. Genuine Love Rather Than Justification of Selfishness

Since the Scriptures reveal the person and work of the Lord Jesus Christ, it also follows that the primary theme of the Bible is the love of God and how we are to live out His love in our daily words and actions.

When a clever lawyer tried to involve Jesus in a wordy battle, He began his forensic sparring with the question “Which is the greatest commandment?” The reply that Jesus gave is a profound principle for Biblical interpretation. All the Law and prophets are based on the command to love God with all of our hearts, souls, minds, and strength, and to love our neighbours as ourselves.

Therefore, we must interpret Scripture on the basis of how it teaches us to love God and to love others. Love is the theme of the Bible. All good character qualities are simply practical expressions of genuine love. When the Pharisees used the Law of Moses to justify their harsh and unloving treatment of wives, Jesus reproved them for hardness of heart and took them back to the Creation design of one man and one woman becoming one flesh for the rest of their lives.

The lawyer who tried to engage Jesus in debate then tried to justify himself by asking, “Who is my neighbour?” to which Jesus responded with the parable of the Good Samaritan.

4. Christ’s Commands Over Man’s Theology

Every interpretation of Scripture is based on some foundational structure of reasoning. Jesus provides the structure of truth in the commands that He gave to His disciples during His earthly ministry, and they are the guiding lights for correct Biblical interpretation. They clarify what was written in the Old Testament and are further explained in New Testament teaching. Jesus promises that if we keep His commands before our eyes, He will reveal more of Himself to us. This was the great goal of Paul: “That I may know him, and the power of his resurrection” (Philippians 3:10). Jesus further promises, “If ye continue in my word, then are ye my disciples indeed; And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free” (John 8:31–32).

It is customary for a Bible scholar to base his interpretation of a passage on the theological position that he has accepted. The problem with this approach is that no theological system is totally without some human error, because it is not inspired. It is man’s explanation of Biblical truth.

This is not to say that theology is unimportant. Wrong doctrine leads to wrong behaviour. No one was more concerned about false doctrine than the Apostle Paul. He maintained a continual battle against false teaching. However, he did not base sound doctrine on the theological views of his day but on the words of Jesus Christ and that which leads to Christ like living.

He explains this in his epistle to Timothy. “If any man teach otherwise, and consent not to wholesome words, even the words of our Lord Jesus Christ, and to the doctrine which is according to godliness; He is proud, knowing nothing, but doting about questions and strifes of words, whereof cometh envy, strife, railings, evil surmisings, perverse disputings of men of corrupt minds, and destitute of the truth, supposing that gain is godliness: from such withdraw thyself” (I Timothy 6:3–5).

5. One Interpretation and Many Applications

The Bible makes it clear that there is only one interpretation of Scripture. However, there can be many applications. It is the Holy Spirit Who guides us not only to the right interpretation of a passage but also to the precise application of Scripture to our daily lives. If our lives are in harmony with the Lord, we can expect the Holy Spirit to illuminate certain passages of Scripture for our personal application. When this happens, it is God giving us a “rhema” of Scripture.

In the New Testament, the Word of God is generally referred to by the Greek word logos. Jesus is identified as the Living Word (logos). However, there are many references that use the Greek word rhema to define the Word of God. A rhema is a precise direction of Scripture for a particular person or circumstance. When Jesus told Peter to cast his net on the other side of the boat, Peter replied, “Master, we have toiled all the night, and have taken nothing: nevertheless at thy word [rhema] I will let down the net” (Luke 5:5). Jesus did not tell every one to cast their nets on the other side of the boat—only Peter.

It is on the point of the Holy Spirit applying a passage of Scripture to a decision that critics often rise up and claim that this is not acceptable hermeneutics. Their quarrel is not with believers who know in their spirits that God is directing them by the witness of two or three rhemas, but with the Holy Spirit Who confirms the application of rhemas.

Jesus used rhemas in overcoming Satan’s temptations, and one of the passages He used affirms rhemas. “But he answered and said, It is written, Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word [rhema] that proceedeth out of the mouth of God” (Matthew 4:4).

6. Correct Divisions of Truth Versus Truth Out of Balance

Paul gave Timothy wise instruction in hermeneutics when he wrote, “Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth” (II Timothy 2:15).

Scripture is a living, powerful instrument in the hand of God. It functions on what appears to us to be paradoxes. In a similar fashion, the muscles in our bodies are only able to function by opposing tensions.

On the one hand, Scripture presents the Law of God, but then it contrasts this with the grace of God. Scripture teaches the need for justice, but then it counters this with mercy. We are told to cease from our own labour and enter the rest that is in Christ. At the same time, we are commanded to work for the night is coming when no man can work and to labour for the Lord. We have freedom in Christ. However, we are to make ourselves servants to all people.

If we emphasize only one side of God’s Biblical equation, we can certainly support it with verses of Scripture, but we will come out with the wrong answer. Truth out of balance leads to heresy. For example, if we emphasize the “rest” that a believer has and fail to give equal and primary emphasis to the “labour” of a believer, we will view any emphasis on working for the Lord as legalism.

Paul put labour and rest together when he wrote, “There remaineth therefore a rest to the people of God. For he that is entered into his rest, he also hath ceased from his own works, as God did from his. Let us labour therefore to enter into that rest, lest any man fall after the same example of unbelief” (Hebrews 4:9–11). Similarly, there is certainly freedom in Christ. However, if we focus on freedom, we will react to God-ordained authority as being oppressive and cultish.

Proper hermeneutics requires diligent use of all the above factors under the guidance of the Holy Spirit.

Avoid Scripture Twisting: Eight Basic Rules Of Bible Interpretation

1. Begin with what the passage says, but always ask, “What does the passage mean?”, not what it “says.”

2. Pay attention to the Greek and Hebrew, (For those without language training, an interlinear Bible used in conjunction with a Vine’s Expository Dictionary of New Testament Words or Expository Dictionary of Bible Words is recommended).

3. Remember the context. Read verses in the context of the whole passage, the chapter and even the book. Finally, keep in mind the larger context of the New Testament or Old Testament.

4. The Bible is progressive revelation. This means that, generally, the New Testament specifically interprets the Old Testament.

5. Always interpret the incidental passage by the systematic teachings of that topic; consider all the passages dealing with the topic, A good topical Bible is a useful aid (e.g. Nave’s Topical Bible).

6. Interpret the unclear passages by the clear ones. A favourite ploy of the cults is to choose a difficult passage and build their unique doctrines on it.

7. Beware of novel interpretations, check various conservative commentaries on the passage. There is very little new under the sun. Many of the heresies of the cults have been dealt with thoroughly. Even though there are many Christian denominations, it is interesting that on the essential doctrines there is solid agreement. Always go beyond what the passage is saying to get at its intended meaning. Cult leaders are expert in isolating passages and imposing their interpretation on it.

8. Come to Scripture prayerfully, submitting to be taught by the Holy Spirit, allowing the Scripture to interpret itself and not be clouded by personal doctrinal presuppositions.

1. Pray! Pray! Pray! The Holy Spirit knows better then you do!

2. Always know what the verse actually says, not what you think you remember it saying

3. Take the verse in literary context, don’t just read what you want to read to prove your point and don’t forget the Bible is a mosaic of different kinds of literature meant to be read different ways.

4. Take the verse in cultural context, just like you saying “it’s raining cats and dogs” is not what you literally meant

5. Remember the Bible is a whole 66 books! Interpret all verses in relation the other 1000’s of verses

6. Check the other translations, The variations are complimentary and show the whole picture

7. The Bible was not originally written in English, go back to the sources

8. Theological presuppositions are bad, scripture determines doctrine, not the other way around

9. Check the Theologians’ opinions, The Ph.D, professor of heart surgery of Harvard is better then your uncle Ted’s heart removal service. Professional opinions matter! (but don’t assume they’re always right)

10. Assume nothing, be ready to learn, don’t give up. Remember, only God knows everything.

561 responses to “Hermeneutics And Exegesis”

1. @ “Mr.” Dic’
    Hahhhhhahahahohohohohahahaaaahhhhahahahohohoheheheheheheh!! . How much more you want me to laugh at your comedic attempts, “Mr.” Dic??

2. I personally LOATHE any form of Racism, be it from a white man, black man, or any other colour in-between; I’ve always being like this.

I don’t stand up for the ‘colour’ of anyone’s skin; I listen to what comes forth from a man’s heart, for as a man thinketh, so does he speak.

What I have zero tolerance for, is downright, wilful ignorance, ignorance of facts and evidence, followed by either more ignorance, demonstrated here on BU by an obvious dearth of the inability to think, critically, objectively, coherently, and factually, rather than just resorting to the well tried tactic of strawmantizing, disguisting red-herrings, an blatant ad hominem, a woeful lack of any capacity, intellectually, to engage in meaningful dialogue.

@Adam Sherman, You should have remained in Darfur, you sterile intellectual, irremediable, indigent, fool!

What Dictionary has studied, understands, and has a remarkable grasp of; i.e., Physics, Philosophy, History, both secular and Church history, and many other related subjects, all extremely pertinent to the human condition and crisis that mankind is in, your *godless* brain, would never know; as evidenced by your nasty, voidless, endeavor to demean his character, because you would NOT know how to begin, to engage him, seriously, you intellectual moron!

3. @BU.David.

I believe I have the right to ask a direct question of you:

Which Bajan party do you support?

Please reply directly and honestly.

Or, if you reuse to do so, please say so.

4. @ Dic

You claim:-…………….. “TH: has been advocating a real case of religiously motivated racism”
    When ever my mother caught me (or anyone) in a lie while growing her favourite expression were that I (we) was a “fornicating liar”. Well that is my reply to you. I wonder why anyone would want to lie so blatantly!! You seem to have made a career out of the art of lying! I must take my hat off to you, though, you real good with your deception!

5. @ Dictionary..

We have to ask what sort of hostility could so motivate people to act like the above, when they are utterly unable to address key matters on the merits on a fair level playing field.

You know or you should know by now, that one of the reasons for it is the hypocrisy perpetrated by so called Christians who should know better…mainly Zoe.

There are lots of people out there (myself included) who are genuinely trying to grasp the whole concept of religion/Christianity.

At some point in our life we have all been exposed to it, some have rejected it, some have embraced it and some are on the fence on it. It is therefore, difficult to embrace something to which you have reservations about, when the so called Christians are behaving in a similar way to the unsaved.

If you would stop taking yourself so seriously, you would see that others have no issues with Christianity but rather the condescending attitudes displayed by mostly you and Zoe. Your pride and arrogance (because you seem to think you are better than most) denies you the foresight to realize that you two, add to the problem rather than solve anything. The constant nitpicking by you, in you zeal to correct everyone and everything on BU also serves to derail the threads. Your posting of the same paragraph numerous times to make a point also derails the thread, can’t you see this?
    You would have ‘onlookers’ believe that the attacks on Zoe is what is derailing this thread when anyone with eyes can see that Zoe is just as guilty as any of the accused.

So when you need to ask again…’what sort of hostility could so motivate people to act like the above?’….just remember, it has a lot to do with the hypocrisy of Your Christianity, rather than an attack on true Christianity!!

I will await your wrath now.

6. @ All

Quoting one Zoe:-…………. “What Dictionary has studied, understands, and has a remarkable grasp of; i.e., Physics, Philosophy, History, both secular and Church history, and many other related subjects,”
    Okaaaaaaaaaayyy! So now we know just what the problem is with these guys! Nothing that a little consultation with either Dr. Ermine Belle or the renowned Dr. George Mahy would not fix with a few little electric shocks to the frontal lobes of the brain!! Simple! Obviously these guys have done just a “likkle” bit too much studying for their own good! Sooooooo, now that we know things are a little easier. We understand!

7. @ Zoe..

I think you have enough rope now.

8. geogie porgie missed the dick and zoe’s pudding and pie are totally correct the bu family are fools. Dictionary does know everything about everything and we are like infants that need to be taught by our spiritual god fathers (tongue in cheek

9. @ Technician

You said……. “If you would stop taking yourself so seriously, you would see that others have no issues with Christianity but rather the condescending attitudes displayed by mostly you and Zoe. Your pride and arrogance (because you seem to think you are better than most) denies you the foresight to realize that you two, add to the problem rather than solve anything. The constant nitpicking by you, in you zeal to correct everyone and everything on BU also serves to derail the threads. Your posting of the same paragraph numerous times to make a point also derails the thread, can’t you see this?
    You would have ‘onlookers’ believe that the attacks on Zoe is what is derailing this thread when anyone with eyes can see that Zoe is just as guilty as any of the accused.”
    Very well articulated, Techie, (if I may address you so). These are just the points I have been trying to make way back months ago!! Thanks. I was beginning to wonder if I was the only one who had these opinions.

10. @Dic
    “ROK: A slanderer who is unable to date to apologise for slander that has excited calls for arson…”

If this goes any further, I am going to seek legal action against you. At this point in time you have no evidence to prove that I am a slanderer. You are cowardly hiding behind a pseudonym throwing stones and breaking the law in the process. David, take note. Right now, I need an apology from this madman. I am not going to let this go any further.

I have my opinion and he has his. He has nothing over me nor I over him. We are both in the dark as much as he thinks he is in the light. He does not have a license to slander me with his remarks. A word to the wise.

11. It seems this blog has run its course. BU will close the topic because we see where it is headed. This topic like others give truth to the saying, give a man an inch and they take a mile. BU simply do not have the time to read all the comments on the religious blogs especially because they are usually lengthy. It is a shame how lettered people can allow a conversation to denigrate to the pit.

It is instructive the blogs BU have to close from time to time because of the tone are the religious ones.