Submitted by Guyana Consul to Barbados Norman Faria

Guyana Consul to Barbados Norman Faria

Organisers of the Barbados’ Holetown Festival, which every February commemorates the arrival in 1627 of the island’s first English settlers and their African slaves, may get assistance in undertaking further research for their commendable work. This is being offeredย  by the Guyana Consulate in the island which suggests there is a need to acknowledge the “true, first settlers” in anย  otherwise worthwhile activity.

While he lauded the upcomingย  Festival, which starts this weekend,ย  for its educational dimensionย  and contributing to the important tourist sector, Guyana’s Honorary Consul Norman Fariaย  urged what he called a “fair, well rounded and accurate picture”.

Faria, in a Consulate release,ย  notedย  that the first settlers were the region’s indigenous aboriginal people, popularly known as “Amerindians” (Guyana) and “Caribs” (Dominica). He noted that they had their own civilisation with severalย  big villages in Barbados before the Europeans sighted the 166 square mileย  island.ย  He said that it wasn’t that long, in relative terms in peoples’ migrationย  patterns,ย ย  that they were reported gone from the island when the ship “Olive Blossom” arrived in 1627 with the 70 English people and ten African slaves. It was probably oneย  or two generations, he observed, and the first settlers may have left an agriculturalย  layout for the settlers to build upon, he said.ย ย 

Theories are the “Indians”ย ย  were decimated by disease from Europe or were victims of slave raiding ships. Another view is that they returned to neighbouring St.Lucia or St.Vincent from where they had departed to get to Barbados.But Faria observed, some of them may still have been in the thickly forested island’s interior when the Olive Blossom came.

Faria, who attended the Festival’s opening ceremony ceremony last year and fully supports the aims and objectives of the organisers, said the forbearers of thoseย  aboriginalย  first settlersย  had come originally from what is today modern day Venezuela and Guyana after island hopping on large ocean going canoes northwards through the islands. They then came over to Barbados from what became St.Vincent or St.Lucia. One of St.Vincent’s national heroes isย  a former “Carib” chiefย  named Chatoyer.

“We need to provide a fair, well rounded and accurate picture of the region’s settlement and the recognition of the historical contributions and achievements of the Caribbean/Latin America indigenous peoples……(Festival organisers) need to look at and act upon…correcting what may come across presently and through no fault of their ownย  as the skewed misrepresentative message that the people who came in 1627 were the first settlers and therefore they alone are worthy of all commemorative activities,” he said.

“(We also need) especially against the backdrop of the deepening Caribbean/Latin America integration and friendship, to acknowledge the geographical origins of the first true and authentic settlers which is the Venezuela/Guyana area. This also means acknowledgingย  the significant and worthwhileย  cultural and material achievements which led to their essentially good human exploratory and enterprisingly settler outlook,” he added in part.

In terms of the research help, Consul Faria said the Consulate has written the Planning Committee, a private sector entity,ย  and talked informally withย  an official offering to obtain research material through the Ministry of Amerindian Affairs in Guyana and other institutions such as the Walter Roth Museum in Georgetownโ€ฆ

The Guyanese Consul said he had alsoย  put a conceptual proposal to the relevant governmentย  ministries inย  Guyana and Barbadosย  for the erecting of a suitable monument in Barbados recognising theย  indigenous peoples’ exploratory and other contributions. This would be made by volunteer Guyanese contract workers (those on work permits) and from Guyanese and Barbadian wood and stone material.The proposal was copied to the local Venezuelan Embassy for any possible co-operation…

This would not detract from or undermine the good work of the Festival committee and theย  present monument at Holetown which commemorates the 1627 arrivals, he stressed.

1. Mr.Faria,
    You said all that to say what? Look, I tired seeing and hearing you now. YOu and the whole GTbanna entourage pack wunna bags or boxes and assemble in de departure lounge at G.A.I.A.
    Everytime you open you mout I does get diarrhoea.
    Stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

2. Well here we go again, what folly is this now, the celebration is about the arrival of the English and the Africans to Barbados, so Amerindians are irrelevant, plus I learned in school that Barbados was unihabited when the first settlers arrived, it says so in Longmans Caribbean Geography book. So that is what he looks like. Well the Guyana Consul is wrong, he just trying to throw a wrench into the Holetown Festival. Watch out Barbados because next he will come up with the idea that you all need a reserve there for Amerindians from Guyana, then you are going to have give money for land you took from the Amerindians. Don’t you have some Guyanese chief living there, some body who is the titluar head of the Guyana Caribs camping out in Barbados.

3. He is an obeah man now, how he knows these things. This Guyana Consulate lacks protocol, he does not know when to stop, it is disrespectful. You guys will ahve to do something like Fiji. You see PM Thompson should not be PM there, because of his Guyanese roots, neither should Chris Sinckler or anybody who has a connection to Guyana

4. I wonder how much lower can this moron go. When the Blacks (who were so happy and elated to be enslaved) arrived here in their 24k gold,diamond studded bracelets, were Faria’s Amerindians here?
    Did the Africans enslaved them and kill them off. Is he saying that had it not been for them that the Africans would not have been able to set up their own agricultural livelihood? Faria is a dangerous, despicable man. It seems like he will stop at nothing when it comes to ramming the Guyanese down the Bajans’ throats and he is not letting up.

5. Let’s just hope that our trusted and noted historians can put this jack ass in his place once and for all.
    I think this should be seen as his last insult to Barbados.
    This is NOT what the festival is about !!

6. You all should not be getting vex with Faria.

It is David of BU who has been encouraging faria by posting everything he submits.

The same faria who calls us the bloggers who contribute to this site – racists and other despicable names.

Ask yourself why.

7. This is incredible.What nonsense am I hearing.Norma Faria you a nut case.This is a Barbadian Festival with relevance to the history of Barbados and not Guyana or Venezuela.

Norma Faria what next piece of madness you are going to concoct to justify Guyanese presence in Barbados.

This is only the beginning.Look out more to come.Next proposal from Norman Faria a statue of Cheddi Jagan.and the celebration of more Indian & Amerindian festivals.

8. Is the BU family saying that we should ban the Consul General’s submissions? Wouldn’t that be a serious breach of protocol?

9. How so David ?Is this suppose to be Barbados underground or Faria’s underhanded tactics?I can’t really tell by this article.

I think BU should concentrate any & all resources on making sure Government does the right thing when it comes to both CSME & Managed migration.

10. I would ban him David, the man in so many words wrote to you saying he is a communist, and that is where I drew the line with him, and rest assured all his country people from Guyana flooding Barbados are communist, supporters of the PPP, communists. Next thing Barbados will be like Cuba or North Korea. In fact President Obama should be made aware of the fact that Faria is a communist and should not be allowed to spend his holidays in America. The festival is about the arrival of the Englsih and Africans into Barbados and when they arrived there were no Amerindians there, they were supposedly removed by the Spaniards in the 1500’s. now if you want to honour them do it at another festival, but if you do that you asking for troubles.

11. @Jay et al

What better way to challenge Faria’s positions than to expose them to the glare of public scrutiny?

12. @David

Isn’t that what Faria wants,free publicity ?Why give it to him ?How is showcasing Faria’s position going to be of any help to the cause of getting a Managed Migration policy in Barbados ?

I don’t think Faria should be banned from this blog at all,but what I would definitely like to see is more blog entries surround pressuring Government to enact a much stricter immigration act & follow through with an enforcement protocol to go along with it.

I also forgot to mention in my last post that the Schengen exempt visa status should be coming online very soon for Barbados.We shall see if increased levels of illegal immigration will take place under the guise of CSME for Barbados & the other two Caricom countries with these enhanced travel arrangements.I am starting to wonder if it is too late for a “managed migration policy”.

http://sflcn.com/story.php?id=5671
    ————————————
    “The European Commission said Thursday it expected member states to approve by the end of March the abolition of short-term visas to four Caribbean destinations – Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Barbados – and Mauritius and Seychelles, in the Indian Ocean.

7th Space Interactive quotes Vice-President Jacques Barrot, European Commissioner responsible for Justice, Liberty and Security, as saying: โ€œSometimes Europe is unfairly named โ€œFortress Europe.โ€

โ€œToday, I have the pleasure of announcing the launch of the procedure to ratify agreements which will facilitate travel between the EU Member States and Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Mauritius, Barbados and Seychelles. This is great news for nationals of these countries and EU citizens who will soon be able to travel to these countries without requiring short stay visas.โ€

The agreements provide for visa-free travel for the citizens of the European Union and for the citizens of the six countries โ€“ holders of all passports (diplomatic, service and ordinary) โ€“ between their territories for stays not exceeding three months.

The agreements cover all category of travellers, except for the category of persons travelling for the purpose of carrying out a paid activity, for which each Member State and also the six countries remain free to impose the visa requirement in accordance with the applicable Community or national law.”

13. Is he Barbadian? Answer: “No”! So, who cares what the *uck he thinks about, anything!! I don’t!!

14. There are no Amerindian celebrations in Guyana a country with close to 100,000 Amerindians.

15. Plus, he suh ugly, too!!

Larddddddddddddddd!!!!

16. Can someone tell me why it is so difficult to accept that the indigenous people of the islands were amerindians?
    Some left,some were killed,some even enslaved etc.
    Even if this Faria maybe use this fact for some political reasons when it comes to Barbados, we should also be aware that theese days there is a rise in indigenous movements all over the Americas to achieve self determination,take pride in their culture and not be put down and forgot in the dize, of more powerful groups of people.
    Can it have something to do with that,this comment?
    This is something black people of the caribbean should respect and understand.
    I can understand if bajans feel guyaneese emigration as overwhelming and out of control at the moment.
    But the way this debate looks to me,it sounds just as much like the xenophobic,rasist,neonazi phrases we hear here in Europe at the moment.
    Just that here it is all blacks who are the enemies,fortune seekers,prostitutes and criminals.
    Sorry,but this issue makes me reluctant.

17. moderator, please sign my contribution as BAJAN BORN

The arguments that the aboriginal people supposedely had left (there is still speculation about it) when the Europeans and their slaves landed in the island doesn’t undermine Consul Faria’s essentially good point; the need to have fair, well rounded picture. The Canadian provincial government of Newfoundland/Labrador has erected a statue in L’Anse aux Meadows in Newfoundland recognising the Viking settlement there around 995 –long before Vespucci “discovered” and others settled America. Of course, the Vikings found aboriginal people there and authorities in Canada also honour them. The monument is also in a Canadian national park designated a World heritage site by UNESCO.
    Faria’s point is not to create any divisions but to raise the justified question as to why the island’s first true settlers are being effectively being ignored in an otherwise commendable activity. It is especially pertinent against the background, as he noted, of the deepening and friendly trading and other relations between Caribbean and Latin America where there are sizeable numbers of aboriginal peoples including Bolivia’s President Morales.
    As to the criticsms of the Consul for his alleged calls to stifle fredom of expression of Bajans, what he clearly called for is the better regulation of hate speech, This is justified and an ongoing legitimate dicussion point about internet blogs in other countries. He can’t deal too much with the nueroses of the handful of xenophobes bleating against Guyanese on Barbados Underground, but what he is trying to do, and he has my support, is to make sure that they don’t harm the otherwise tolerant and welcoming Barbadian community. This can only be done by having the xenophobes’ platform taken from them..

18. moderator, please sign my contribution as BAJAN BORN

The arguments that the aboriginal people supposedly had left (there is still speculation about it) when the Europeans and their slaves landed in the island doesn’t undermine Consul Faria’s essentially good point; the need to have fair, well rounded picture. The Canadian provincial government of Newfoundland/Labrador has erected a statue in L’Anse aux Meadows in Newfoundland recognising the Viking settlement there around 995 –long before Vespucci “discovered” and others settled America. Of course, the Vikings found aboriginal people there and authorities in Canada also honour them. The monument is also in a Canadian national park designated a World heritage site by UNESCO.
    Faria’s point is not to create any divisions but to raise the justified question as to why the island’s first true settlers are being effectively being ignored in an otherwise commendable activity. It is especially pertinent against the background, as he noted, of the deepening and friendly trading and other relations between Caribbean and Latin America where there are sizeable numbers of aboriginal peoples including Bolivia’s President Morales.
    As to the criticsms of the Consul for his alleged calls to stifle fredom of expression of Bajans, what he clearly called for is the better regulation of hate speech, This is justified and an ongoing legitimate dicussion point about internet blogs in other countries. He can’t deal too much with the nueroses of the handful of xenophobes bleating against Guyanese on Barbados Underground, but what he is trying to do, and he has my support, is to make sure that they don’t harm the otherwise tolerant and welcoming Barbadian community. This can only be done by having the xenophobes’ platform taken from them..

19. @Bajan in Europe

While we accept that xenophobic remarks are often generated by this issue it should not be used as a red herring. The core issue remains the impact of unplanned migration by ethnic groups on a small island which has a dominant host population which is Black.

20. I am very turned off by what David is doing by allowing faria to stick his finger up at us by getting on the radio and cursing us and then coming on the same BU which is widely read to spread his vile propoganda.

Trust a bajan who pretends to be so angry about this immigration mess to be allowing a man who is unashamedly pushing his guyanese people into this country almost at will – to get free acess to mass readership.

Only a bajan will do something like that and try to excuse it.

What protocol what!

Norman faria is not even a true diplomat – remember he is only an honorary consul – which is virtually an unpaid position with just a stipend for small expenses.

This vermin has had the umitigated gall to insult us the bajans and our elected representatives by his posturing and now a blog that we helped make popular – he is being allowed to post at will every few days to bring his vile crap here to.

If David so love faria’s posting I will not be a part of any contribution to encourage this man in his quest to denigrate and dominate my bajan people.

Choose ye this day who you will serve!

21. @Anonymous

BU is not about being popular, it is one reason we have never discussed our hit/visits.

BU is not about being intolerant to alternative views.

BU believes what better way Barbadians can communicate their views than by knowing they have the ear of the Consul?

22. I would picture Satan to look just like him.

23. Guyana once was majority black and look what happened there. When I was in school they were always teaching that Barbados was unihabited when the British arrived, and that the Portuguese spotted uninhabited Barbados on the early 1500’s and named it Barbados the bearded one for the type of foilage they found, so how now they are saying that in the mid 1500’s Spaniard carted off the native population as slaves.

24. David

What do you take us for,fools?

What utter rubbish you are telling me that by publishing the nasty lies of norman faria on your blog,that this will give bajans an ear to faria because he will be reading our comments on what he writes?

He already knows how we feel about his views because he has been commenting about it in the Nation newspaper and on VOB and even complaining to our Commissioner of Police about our ‘xenophobic’ attitude.

Right now I am asking myself some serious questions about BU,Is it that you are soooo naive that you really believe what you just wrote, or are you about trying to be liked by everyone you think has some influence,or are you just about being’s devil’s advocate and being a provocateur and not really interested in the means you use to do that.

Read today’s article in the Nation by Minette Bacchus and see what is really important re the indo/afro potential conflict.

Perhaps you would like to publish that article.

Let us know what you decide on the future of giving prominence to faria’s propoganda on your blog.

25. Anonymous
    I am with you all the way.Norman Faria knows the stupidity of Barbadians and will seek to exploit it to his benefit.I do not think Norman Faria articles should ever be publish on BU.After all he advocated for BU to be shut down.Why now use the same forum to promote his positions.

I am sure if the position was reverse and Black Barbadians were fleeing Barbados for Indian dominated Guyana The Black Barbadians would never be given the oppurtunity to express their views on any issue that might be affecting them.The Black Barbadian will be completely shut out.

As I often say Guyana has an Indian government and Black Guyanese have no say on anything in Guyana today nothing ,nothing,nothing at all.Black Guyanese men & boys are routinely rounded up beaten & in some cases murdered and no one is held responsible.

David & Bu why give Norman Faria the opportunity to railroad the government’s attempt to introduce a properly functioning immigration programme.

26. Negroman forgive our naivety but how is posting Faria’s occasional submission going to railroad the process?

27. Faria is a bad man, and I have never seen any consul meddle like how he does in Barbados. The festival is about the arrival of the English and the African, so do not include the Amerindians in it, because I don’t think there were any inhabitants there in Barbados prior to the arrival of the British, Babados too far out for them to have discovered it, plus when slaves tried to steal away in British Guiana tot he jungle the Amerindians would capture and turn them over to the British.

28. The sad thing is that while Afro, and Indo guyanese cannot get along, with this divide on daily public display, there are however united in their mistreatement of the Amerindians in their mist. The land of six people as guyana is sometimes calles is such misnomer!

Norman Faria please emplore the inhabitants of your FAILED STATE OF GUYANA TO :

Learn to live with each other, so that they may be less inclined to discriminate against the majority citizens in those English speaking islands that they have INVADED!

To treat to the LIVING Amerindians in their mist as equals and not less before insisting that Barbados include and recognized a people that are not at present amongst us.

29. Come on, can’t you see what Norman Faria is trying to do? He is thrying not only to justfy the presence of indo-guyanese in Barbados but to suggest that it is us BLACK bajans that are living on land that originally belong to guyanese. The Amerindian guyanese is a different tribe and live mainly in the hinderlands of Guyana, most of them have never been to G.T. In fact talking to an old amerindian man in his eighties, he told me he only went to Georgetown once when his father took him when he was a little boy. Mr Faria, my W.I history never told me about guyanese amerindians living here and in any case these indo-guyanese that are flocking here, NEVER had any ancestry in this island, so do us a favor LET THEM PACKTHEIR BAGS AND LEAVE ——– PRONTO. All that you are doing is fueling the fire for a big expolsion that will eventually happen if something is not done about the indo-guyanese deportation soon. BE WARNED. Time is running out MR Faria.

30. There has been another armed robbery in Barbados, this isabout the 4th or 5th such robbery within the last few days. It is alleged, that a guyanese was involved in the KFC robbery in Collymore rock. I,m afraid that there seems to be a trend in this sprat of incedents. I hope that what happened in Guyana a few years ago with similar robberies in G,T has not now been migrated to this country. We can ill-afford this in Barbados or it can escalate our demise.

31. Well well well…. now that the world in recession and the construction boom slow down we have 1000’s of indo-gt’s and no work for them, so guess what, they robbing us and sending the money back home.

MORON faria is a BIG ASS. full stop

My friend say the man that rob Brydens today had a GUYANA accent and he has straight hair and a mask on he face…well well well.

32. David,
    Can’t you see that Faria is trying to cause division in Barbados? Don’t give me that talk that you don’t want to be seen as intolerant. Just stop posting this fuckery that he keeps posting on the blogs. Ignore him!!!

33. Norman Faria looks like he is of Portugues extract. I think his postings would be a better fit for Barbados Free Press. Why are they not being publish over there????

34. I believe that Norman Faria,Ricky Singh et al have devise a strategy to use all outlets available to promote their message.

Norman Faria was fairly successful in curtailing our views on the immigratrion issue on VOB & the Nation Newspapers .There is little or nothing being reported on immigration with Guyanese on either the VOB or the Nation Newspapers.It appears the views of Barbadians are also being censored on CBC by the lunatic the anti-man Peter Wickham.

I believe Norman Faria is bidding his time with BU and softening up David & BU to support his position that this blog is anti Guyanese and racist and the perspective of this blog should change.

Norman Faria & Indo-Guyanese are playing the victim’s role perfectly and are using BU to project that position and inevitably we will fall victim to his scheme.

There is a systematic ploy to push the Guyanese position and I believe David & BU are falling for the trap.

35. If and when the Holetown festival is changed to reflect things Guyanese, all bajans have to do is stay away, and wait fuh Oistins wun.

36. I see BU has kep faria post up but has not seen it fit to post the other side of the argument by guyanese minette bacchus which is in today’s Nation.

37. @Adrian Hinds // February 13, 2009 at 7:08 pm

NO….. we can let them take over what we have know as built as our own… kick those indo scumbags out.

38. Is this man trying to take over barbados with guyanese people.
    the government need to stop them from coming in the country. can a bajan go to guyana and do the things that the guyanese doing in the country. owen arthur is the cause of all them guyanese in the country. sad to seem what barbados is coming to

39. David, it is about time you encourage all readers to submit letters to the Minister of Foreign Affairs, the Prime Minister and the Governor General to declare Norman Faria as persona non grata and expelled from Barbados.

He is divisive and threatens the very fabric of Barbados the more and more he speaks.

It appears that he wants to establish Barbados as a colony of Guyana and if you claim to care about Barbados and our values, I urge you to rally support for declaring Faria persona non grata and get him out for good!

How DARE he live in comfort in Barbados talking about the greatness of Guyana that he’s abandoned for over 15 years? If it’s so great – leave! Go back where you come from.

40. He look evil like JIM JONES.
    Check he eyes. Evil as shite.
    Ga long home wunna GTbanna shite-buckets.

41. Annonymous, Is which part of The Nation has the Minute Bacchus story. I checked online and I can’t seem to find it. Please let me know. Thank you

42. Bonny Peppa lets get married we have the same feelings about shit hounds

43. Isn’t Faria a Barbadian?

44. The story is under the columnists section.

45. Thank you Anonymous, I just read the Minuette Bachcus story, plus Tony Best and Mavis Beckles. I say we should be discussing here what Minuette had to say and not what Faria is saying.

46. GUEST COLUMN: Singh mum on Guyana violations
    Published on: 2/13/09.

by MINETTE A. BACCHUS

RICKEY SINGH’s passionate arguments to enforce the CARICOM Single Market and Economy (CSME) are not always, in my view, fair.

A weekly Sunday columnist for the Guyana Chronicle, (and for the NATION’S WEEKEND NATION) Singh is generally uncritical of Guyana government’s violation of human rights, as established in CARICOM Charter of Civil Society, Guyana Constitution, United Nations and International Labour Organisation conventions. Human rights are the foundation for a prosperous Caribbean Community.

Singh, a Guyanese by birth, left Guyana for Barbados in the 1970s, claiming threat to his right to freedom of expression under the Burnham government.

Using his pen, he advocated for rights and change of government in Guyana. In 1992, the People’s Progressive Party/Civic became the government. And from 1992, the rights of some Guyanese have been systematically violated.

Many state institutions that primarily employed Africans have been closed and no retraining programme(s) offered. The government refuses to sign a collective labour agreement with the traditional African dominated public service unions and continues to impose wages/salaries.

In 1999 the police shot unarmed striking public servants. The Bauxite Pension Plan, the single largest pool of money owned by Africans, was broken up by the government. Hundreds of young men were murdered by death/phantom squads.

Yearly state funding given to the Critchlow Labour College, since the 1960s, was taken away by President Jagdeo in 2007; 95 per cent of the student population is African. The PPP-dominated Parliament refuses to entertain a motion to regularise lands bought by Africans after slavery.

In December 2008, the chief justice ruled Linden โ€“ the second largest African community โ€“ be granted television licences, but President Jagdeo disregarded the ruling and promised to challenge it.

These are just a few examples.

Mr Singh cannot argue that Barbados is involved in abuse, not enforcing CARICOM/CSME free movement of labour principles, when he remains silent to the Guyana government’s abuses, violations and inactions.

His reluctance to hold the Guyana government accountable for its conduct against its citizens disqualifies him to advocate what must happen in any CARICOM country.

Minette Bacchus is a Guyanese communications analyst.

47. Had this article been posted under the name Sam Small or Johnny Johnson instead of Norman Faria, I wonder if we would see all the vitriol?

And re ‘historians’ — they are masters of the art of distorting facts.

48. @ BUMBLEBEE // February 14, 2009 at 8:41 am

Go back under your rock or back to guyana we don’t need a spin doctor in here.

49. […] then this, shake your head then move on to some action. we’re sure norm’s friends at barbados underground will love this as […]

50. norm faria has lived in barbados for about forty years and ricky singh 20 somehthing years
    neither of these two bastards are returning to the cocaine, crime infested, corrupt, backward, racist regieme they support from afar. typical of the PPP Crime Family Inc. & friends.
    the cubans and venezuelans are funding an eye program for free surgery in Cuba. see for yourself here
    http://propagandapress.org/2009/02/11/cubanvenezuelan-funded-mission-miracle-predominantly-for-east-indian-guyanese-official-ministry-of-health-policy/
    but for every 10 Indians they throw in one from another race
    faria and singh are paid assassins for the PPP Crime Family
    …and most people in Guyana do not know norm faria, his only appearance we can recall on the govt propaganda tv our first reaction was who is this bajan? and what is he doing on the govt channel?