Submitted by Guyana Consul to Barbados Norman Faria

Guyana Consul to Barbados Norman Faria

Organisers of the Barbados’ Holetown Festival, which every February commemorates the arrival in 1627 of the island’s first English settlers and their African slaves, may get assistance in undertaking further research for their commendable work. This is being offeredย  by the Guyana Consulate in the island which suggests there is a need to acknowledge the “true, first settlers” in anย  otherwise worthwhile activity.

While he lauded the upcomingย  Festival, which starts this weekend,ย  for its educational dimensionย  and contributing to the important tourist sector, Guyana’s Honorary Consul Norman Fariaย  urged what he called a “fair, well rounded and accurate picture”.

Faria, in a Consulate release,ย  notedย  that the first settlers were the region’s indigenous aboriginal people, popularly known as “Amerindians” (Guyana) and “Caribs” (Dominica). He noted that they had their own civilisation with severalย  big villages in Barbados before the Europeans sighted the 166 square mileย  island.ย  He said that it wasn’t that long, in relative terms in peoples’ migrationย  patterns,ย ย  that they were reported gone from the island when the ship “Olive Blossom” arrived in 1627 with the 70 English people and ten African slaves. It was probably oneย  or two generations, he observed, and the first settlers may have left an agriculturalย  layout for the settlers to build upon, he said.ย ย 

Theories are the “Indians”ย ย  were decimated by disease from Europe or were victims of slave raiding ships. Another view is that they returned to neighbouring St.Lucia or St.Vincent from where they had departed to get to Barbados.But Faria observed, some of them may still have been in the thickly forested island’s interior when the Olive Blossom came.

Faria, who attended the Festival’s opening ceremony ceremony last year and fully supports the aims and objectives of the organisers, said the forbearers of thoseย  aboriginalย  first settlersย  had come originally from what is today modern day Venezuela and Guyana after island hopping on large ocean going canoes northwards through the islands. They then came over to Barbados from what became St.Vincent or St.Lucia. One of St.Vincent’s national heroes isย  a former “Carib” chiefย  named Chatoyer.

“We need to provide a fair, well rounded and accurate picture of the region’s settlement and the recognition of the historical contributions and achievements of the Caribbean/Latin America indigenous peoples……(Festival organisers) need to look at and act upon…correcting what may come across presently and through no fault of their ownย  as the skewed misrepresentative message that the people who came in 1627 were the first settlers and therefore they alone are worthy of all commemorative activities,” he said.

“(We also need) especially against the backdrop of the deepening Caribbean/Latin America integration and friendship, to acknowledge the geographical origins of the first true and authentic settlers which is the Venezuela/Guyana area. This also means acknowledgingย  the significant and worthwhileย  cultural and material achievements which led to their essentially good human exploratory and enterprisingly settler outlook,” he added in part.

In terms of the research help, Consul Faria said the Consulate has written the Planning Committee, a private sector entity,ย  and talked informally withย  an official offering to obtain research material through the Ministry of Amerindian Affairs in Guyana and other institutions such as the Walter Roth Museum in Georgetownโ€ฆ

The Guyanese Consul said he had alsoย  put a conceptual proposal to the relevant governmentย  ministries inย  Guyana and Barbadosย  for the erecting of a suitable monument in Barbados recognising theย  indigenous peoples’ exploratory and other contributions. This would be made by volunteer Guyanese contract workers (those on work permits) and from Guyanese and Barbadian wood and stone material.The proposal was copied to the local Venezuelan Embassy for any possible co-operation…

This would not detract from or undermine the good work of the Festival committee and theย  present monument at Holetown which commemorates the 1627 arrivals, he stressed.

1. YES…YES…YES… we finally got him, now we know for sure he is a fraud and a lover of gay men, what more proof does our government need now???

Thanks alot Living Guyana Blog, Faria i always knew you were a fraud… too bad for you now the whole of Barbados knows it now also.

Thanks also to …propaganda press….Adrian Hinds….Bonny…Hopi…Peppa…Hants…The Scount….Technician…BU and all the crew.

Thanks also for exposing that ass RICKEY SINGH

WHAT MORE PROOF DO WE NEED TO GET THESE INDO’s out of BARBADOS?

They breeding faster than rats!!!

2. How could i have forgottten to mention none other than NEGROMAN, my humble apologies SIR.

Thanks alot for your insight and perseverance altough you seem to want to give up.

Again thank you all.

3. Hangman

I am not giving up.We Blacks in Barbados have to much at stake to allow homosexual lovers & sympathizers like Norman Faria & Ricky Singh to get their way in Barbados.The future of Black People is at stake.

This government is blowing hot & cold on this immigration issue.Progress is being made and it is much tougher now for illegals to remain in Barbados get pregnant and received status.I know for a fact that having a Barbadian child will not guarantee status to anyone who is here illegal anymore.However,there are pressure still being apply by the rich financiers of the Democratic Labour Party by the likes of Mrs Ram of Furniture,Abdol Pandor,Chatrani,& all the other large Construction companies owned by predominantly by Indians such JADA & Moorjani.

We are about to get a new Chief Immigration Officer and if my information is correct many of us is in for a big surprise.I will not reveal the person’s name at this moment but I will tease and say it is a former candidate of the Barbados Labour Party who ran for a constituency in St Michael

Hangman
    We must persevere I will not abandon this immigration issue.I have not seen JC commenting on this issue for a little while.I hope she is not disillusioned.
    Hangman,JC also contributed significantly to this issue.She kept the fire burning and should be saluted for her efforts.

Big Up JC & the Rest

4. HANGMAN … you should be a politician … (you probably are) … I asked a question and your way of answering is to avoid it and, instead, be abusive. All this shows is the level you’re at… anyhow, it gonna be me and you under the rock together

5. Bumblebee,
    I would gladly accept your proposal but a few hearts might be broken. Hearts like Scout, Georgie Porgie, Adrian Hinds and the list goes on.But I will review your application.
    Ya got ma laffing wid ya blogs. You new to BU caws I neva see dis name befoe. Anyway, I luvs ya an keep ma laffin.
    Happy Valentine to you Hunny.

6. Bonny peppa

Yuh ole ‘fire ga lash’,how many of dese fellas you want doh boasee?

Negroman you are right on target with your info on the new chief.Bostic seems to be the man lined up for the job.

Who de dog likes he does lick yuh hear?

I laugh when I read that article on propoganda press that said faria is always begging them to publish his articles but they refused.

Yet here we have BU posting every shite faria could pass out as fast as he could pass it out.

Well,well,well,dah fuh lick wunna.

To thine own self be true!

You got to observe protocol you know ,at least that is what David told us;even it is for a smelly,unkept unemployed racist who holds the dubious distinction of being the most ‘don’t know he place’ honorary consul for the failed state of guyana.

To thine own self be true sire.

7. C-R-A-P ! CRAP ! and more CRAP !
    CRAP ! all over CRAP !
    CRAP! pun top โ€˜oโ€™ CRAP!
    CRAP! deep inside CRAP!
    CRAP! all up in CRAP!
    CRAP! alongside CRAP!
    CRAP! mesmerizing CRAP!
    CRAP! facilitating CRAP !
    โ€”-undiluted CRAP!
    โ€”unfiltered CRAP !
    โ€”pure CRAP !

8. I see Norman making a case for Guyanese ownership of Barbados, but first you have to populate Barbados.

Wait! Wait! Wait! Let me stop there.

9. But how can BU refuse a submission from Guyana’s Consul to Barbados? How can we? It would be a breach of protocol!

10. So what if you refuse to publish the crap faria writes.

Who is going to come and get you,tell me where can they find you.

You seem to be enjoying all this instead of taking our concerns seriously.

Well carry on then,don’t let reasoned arguments stop you.

11. Faria reminds of late Jeffrey Dahmer the infamous American cannibal and child molester.

12. David,

What breach of protocol? He is not a bonafide consul. He DOES not follow any protocol. Why should we?

13. @Pat

Our comment on protocol is made tongue in cheek. We don’t expect the BU family will always agree with our approach but we hope you remember that there is no medium in Barbados who has written as prolifically as BU on the issue of our open door immigration policy. Our policy remains the same.

14. @David…. No don’t stoop to the level of other and disallow the free flow of info. Don’t silence him. If you don’t publish it here that doesn’t mean that it doesn’t exist elsewhere. Don’t censor him. You’re way above that. Next thing is they’ll tell you to censor HOPI too.

15. And we need to know what the other side is thinking and planning. We need to know their MO.

16. Anonymous,
    “Bonny, ya ole fire galash’. I luv um bad. De word is ‘fiah’ not ‘fire’. Ok? Wah I tell you ’bout bringin tales outta school? Evrybody in got ta kno’ dat bout me. stuupseeeee. I hate it when yu actin’ jellous. I savin’ sum a de luv fa yu too, trus’ me, Bonny got enuff ta ga ‘rong twice.

I would like ma man Bostic to get dah job doe, caws he doan mek sport, he is a true-true soldier. I doan support he ‘party’ but he is a good fella fa de job.

Dildo Importer,
    Can I take your name at face value? I luv um real bad.

17. David, you need to help me with this which I have taken from his article and posted here>>>>We also need) especially against the backdrop of the deepening Caribbean/Latin America integration and friendship, to acknowledge the geographical origins of the first true and authentic settlers which is the Venezuela/Guyana area./////////Is Faria asking us to acknowledge the Guyana/ Venezuela areas (geographic origins, would mean place of origin, I suppose) or is he asking to us to acknowledge the Amerindians that once lived in Barbados, as is haphazardly mentioned at the begining of this porrly written bit of folly//////this entire essay is clumsy. Well, all I have to say is he went a bit too far with this one. The man carrying a bit stick around Barbados, he is dangerous and now even his own people outing him, so that in itself tells me he is a buffoon.

18. Faria is sophmoric and his photo macabre.

19. Bonny Peppers, You need to get high on Jesus and were you here, you and I would be heading out right this moment to Greater Holiness Pentecostal Church for some old time singing and Bible thumping religion so that you can become saved and sanctified.

20. Who cares what Faria has to say,imo this is nothing but a distraction from the true focus on pressuring Government on enacting & enforcing a truly managed migration policy.

I highly suggest everyone read the following blog entry to see why it is very possible that Barbados could be inundated with illegal immigrants from fellow Caricom countries as time goes on.Time is of the essence.

http://www.normangirvan.info/schengen-visa-exemptions-first-class-and-second-class-caricom-citizens-by-norman-girvan/

——————————–
    Schengen Visa exemptions: First Class and Second Class Caricom citizens?
    by Norman Girvan

“As there are thousands of Cariciom citizens living and working legally in Antigua and Barbuda, the Bahamas, Barbados, and St Kitts and Nevis; this scenario can be mulitiplied several times and in countless variations and permutations (for example, where Mrs Brown is married to an Antiguan, and her children are Antiguan, etc.). And of course, it applies en masse to the eleven other Cariforum countries which are not so favoured.
    From the point of view of EU immigration regulations, therefore, we can see the emergence of first class and second class Caricom/Cariforum citizensโ€”and first class and second class Caricom/Cariforum countries.
    If the UK joins the Schengen zoneโ€”as it is reported to be consideringโ€”the distinction will become even more real to the ordinary citizens of Caricom. The majority will be required to secure Schengen visas to visit the UK. A privileged few will not.
    There is another side to this. When the pros and cons of the EPA were being debated last year, some of us pointed out that the right of Cariforum countries to export services to the EUโ€”an alleged benefit of the Agreementโ€”was signficantly qualifed by the visa and immigration restrictions that would still be maintained by EU member states.
    Lifiting of visa requirements for some countries will place their service providers at a distinct advantage vis-a-vis those from the eleven other Cariforum states.
    They wil be able to make casual visits and to scout out opporunities for landing contracts to sell their services under the terms of the EPA; without the hassle of getting a visa beforehand .
    There will still be other barriers to be overcome; like certification requirements, mutual recognition arrangements and the possibility of economic needs tests being applied by destination countries. Nonetheless they will have โ€˜foot in the doorโ€™.
    The visa exemption agreement, in other words, strengthens the likelihood of establishing first class and second class โ€˜country beneficiariesโ€™ as a result of the operation of the EPA. ”
    ———————————–

21. Now think about the “thousands of Caricom citizens living and working” but illegally residing in Barbados currently.Coupled with the addition of a First & Second class Caricom citizen system taking affect in the near future due to the signed EPA advantages to Barbados I believe illegal immigration will become astronomically high in the coming years.

22. Sister Baby,
    Just tell me where this church is and who knows. Maybe Bonny will attend once or twice and see where it goes.
    Incidentally, how do you know that I am not ‘saved and sanctified’?

23. Bonny, because I know, you need to get your grove on in church girl, and not with that importer. The devil is everyhere, in fact his picture is right at the top of this blog, and he comes in many guises like the importer.

24. Sister Baby,
    You’re so right girl and for all we know you could be a guise too. Who knows, who cares?
    I got my groove on many moons ago and it wasn’t in de church girl.
    keep on keeping on sista sista.

25. Bonny, No dear sista, I am not a guise, rest assured, anyway, put on your traveling shoes and we will go to our fathers house, where we will sing and shout the praise and thank the Lord for all he has done for us.

26. Sister Baby,
    Aw-rite sista.

27. Mr. Faria has read my history of my people in my new book REFLECTIONS and jumps one the bandwagon seeking to usurp the Carib. I have told him that he should go to Portugal and erect a statue to the first settlers of Portugual. We are the origianl inhabitants of this country not the first settlers. He has been running around behind my back to my fellow Caribs, who are not as aware and he is seeking to undermine us. Angela Cole

28. What de hell I hearing though?

Faria in the news saying he sent a letter to michael pemeberton from 4 seasons project and a letter to the chief immigration officer asking pemberton to rehire back the guyanese when the project reopens,and for the immigration to allow the guyanese to go and work at other places even though their work permit is only to work at 4 seasons.

Can any one tell me how the shite a ras**hole guyanese could even dare to make these outrageous demands on a sovereign government and not be publicly rebuked by the prime minister?

All like nowThompson should be insisting that bajan perform the jobs which guyanese are doing at 4 seasons but not a blast from thompson.

Also what is happening up at that new project at the Crane hotel,are they also hiring only guyanese too?

When hell break loose bout here I hope some people will know where to run because it can not be right that in these hard economic times that so much guyanese still being employed over bajans and not a shite the prime minister ain’t saying.

Man I so pissed off I real,real cruel like shite.

29. Anonymous
    This is Barbados as I will always say a we have a windbag for a Prime Minister.
    Prime Minister David Thompson is a waste of time.
    Paul Doyle & Nuli Doyle are racist & wicked.Both of them ill treat Black Barbadian workers at the Crane Hotel.At one stage in the Crane Hotel redevelopment I do not know if it is still happening only Guyanese & Indo-Guyanese in particular were being employed by Paul & Nuli Doyle.
    At the Crane Hotel a plan was in place to stop access to the beach by Paul & Nuli Doyle.We now have that hum bug for a Prime Minister saying the praises of Paul & Nuli Doyle 2 wicked degenerates.

Anonymous do not be surprise with anything in Barbados.We have useless political parties and useless Prime Ministers.David Thompson is in top bracket.

There are some interesting developments in the new immigration policy that will come into effect on September 1,2009.

Non-nationals now applying for extensions will get an extension up to July 31,2009 & it can be extended up to August 31,2009.After that no more extensions will be given to non-nationals.In addition,amnesty is being offer to non-nationals who resided in Barbados for at least 10 years or so.The rest who does not qualify will have to return to their home countries.Calculations indicate between 1200.& 1600 non-nationals will be in a position to qualify for amnesty.

I must state that the immigration department is really trying to enforce our immigration laws and in some cases the department is reaping success.However,the department is facing a problem with Gilbert Greaves the former Chief Immigration Officer who is now is Permanent Secretary in Defence & Security Division of the Prime Minister’s Office muddling in the immigration department affairs.Many non-nationals who were given deportation orders are calling Gilbert Greaves and visiting him and he is stalling the deportation of many of those individuals.

30. Negroman

I am totally against any amnesty especially if indo guyanese will be benefiting from that amnesty.

Please keep us informed negroman.

What do you think of colonel bostic as the new chief immigration officer negroman?

31. Anonymous,
    Dah cud mek Gear Box de new chief immigration officer, as long as he get rid a dese GTbanna ’bout hay. Legal or illegal. We runnin outta airspace. Lord look down.

32. Acts of crime in Guyana ‘wrong’

Published on: 3/5/2009.

by GERCINE CARTER

RACISM, TORTURE and genocide in Guyana “are wrong” and “must be condemned in no uncertain terms”, says University of the West Indies lecturer Dr Kean Gibson.

Acording to the senior lecturer in lingustics at the UWI Cave Hill Campus, Guyana’s social and economic problems are “rooted in social inequality” and must be addressed by the government.

Delivering a lecture at the Grand Salle, Barbados Central Bank, yesterday, the Guyanese-born author of two books on the racial issues in her homeland spoke about the impact of religion and politics, which she described as “a deadly cocktail”, on the racial situation in her country.

Gibson pointed to areas of contention between two major ethnic groups in Guyana, and asserted that people of African origin were being marginalised. She was particularly concerned about the number of murders.

“No investigations not only means that Africans continue to be criminalised, but the lack of investigations and numerous killings mean that these incidents are manifestations of a deeply-ingrained cultural belief . . .,” Gibson said.

Addressing an audience made up mainly of senior students from the Garrison Secondary, Grantley Adams Memorial and the St Michael School on the topic The Issue Of Race In Guyana, the university lecturer detailed the “kind of violence” in her homeland which she said Barbadians “often read about” and “from which many Guyanese flee”.

Responding to a question about the current rate of Indo-Guyanese and African Guyanese migration to Barbados, and the likely transfer of the racial tension and “superiority”, Gibson said this was unlikely because “they are not here in large enough numbers”.

While Gibson’s lecture was received with applause from the large Grand Salle audience, it was challenged by Guyana’s Honorary Consul in Barbados, Norman Faria.

Faria stormed out of the room after voicing a range of objections to statements made by the UWI lecturer.

The lecture was part of an ongoing series sponsored by the University of the West Indies Open Campus, Barbados in collaboration with the Central Bank of Barbados.

33. Speaking as a man born of a Bajan Father and Trinidadian mother, much of what I have read makes some sense. It is a shame, however, that a debate like this is spoiled by ignorant racist comments. There is no need for it. If you are going to have a go at someone, start with the Europeans first. They are the ones that own the island you live in.
    If you have something sensible to say then say it and cut out the nonsense and racist abuse. I agree with a lot of what has been said. It is a worry. But it seems that either memories are very short or people have chosen to turn a blind eye to what has happened in the past. I will come to that in a moment.
    It has been mentioned that President Obama should be made aware that faria is a communist and should not be allowed to spend his hoilidays in America….yet you would allow Tony Blair, who, together with George W Bush, blatantly lied to the world about weapons of mass destruction in Iraq, you still allow the likes of him to spend his days soaking up the sun in Barbados, playing golf so people like you can serve them in fancy expensive restaurants, and hand them beach towels when theyโ€™ve had a dip in the sea??

Some of you have made references to the Holetown festival and whether Amerindians should be acknowledged. It is not something to be celebrated! It was a dark period of history that should be reflected on and remembered. Not celebrated!
    And what is this about an ‘arrival’ of the English and the african to Barbados? You make it sound so sweet, like Africans and English were the best of friends! In reality, the English (and not just them) tore the african from his homeland and everything he knew, kicking and screaming to end up being a slave, where he was beaten, kicked and forced to work. The women were raped, treated like animals, like something someone had just stepped in. These are not things that should be celebrated. Barbados had its freedom handed to them when europeans were done. Now to add insult to injury, our european slavers have returned to buy up all our land and precious coastline to build hotels, expensive houses, condos, golf courses etc that we turn round and work in for them! The mentality of many people and not just in Barbados, makes me want to gag sometimes. I’m sure some people reading this wish I would suddenly choke, and if you are upset, or irritated or agitated by what I have said then I’ve probably struck a nerve. The truth hurts as they say.

It is easy to simply jump down the throat of the asian man or the guyanese and complain that they own all the businesses and get all the jobs…

I’ve heard the same backward rants blurted out by ignorant English people. They also came out with the same remarks then that I am hearing now on this very forum. But back then it was black people who did the jobs that white people didn’t want to do because it was beneath them. But I guess we were used to it, with that feeling of inferiority so strong back then, sweeping the streets, cleaning out toilets and pretty much doing every menial job out there was probably considered an honour…hey, I’m in the UK, the land of milk and honey! I love being verbally abused and spat on by white people! I so miss it!! (sarcasm) White people screamed and shrieked obscenities at my own parents for ‘taking their jobs’! The same happened with asian folk, except that they ended up being much more successful today. They had a strong sense of community where as we did not. That’s why we failed to get very far after 50 years of us establishing a โ€˜communityโ€™ in the UK (and I use the term โ€˜communityโ€™ loosely). Today the people who are doing the menial jobs are the Polish and Latvians. And all in the middle of a world economic breakdown.

These islands have become our homes. We were brought to these rocks in the sea by our captors by force, against our will and forced to โ€˜liveโ€™ where we were bred and sold on like cattle. It may sound that I am fuelled by a degree of hatred for the white man, but no, I bear mo malice. But I will never forget what our slave descendants had to go through and all the atrocities they endured and what my own parents had to put up with when they first came to the UK in the 60โ€™s.
    It is a great shame to find black people making remarks that amount to nothing more than ignorant nationalistic neo naziism. I thought we would have progressed a bit more by now, but it looks like many of us have taken a step back and have simply pointed fingers at others and formed easy targets. Again, lets not forget who really owns and runs half of the island. I expect these kinds of remarks from dumb English folk in the poorer, darker parts of Britain, not from my own fellow black people, especially those from the Caribbean!

I hear what the majority of this forum is saying. But didnโ€™t these same arguments come about when Vincentians entered the island in the early 90โ€™s as well? I didnโ€™t see the problem with Vincentians in Barbados. Before you have a go at the people coming into the island now, give some thought to those Europeans who have slipped in and bought up half of Barbados from under you over the last 15 years. There were grumbles but there werenโ€™t half as many comments or remarks as Iโ€™m hearing now. So what about those people? What about the British, the Americans, Canadians and Germans, etc many of whom do not enjoy associating with or being around black people when they are back in their own country?
    For those who believe that we would have no โ€˜voiceโ€™ if we migrated to Indian dominated Guyana and would be completely shut out, I find it hard to believe that being shut out as you put it would be the outcome, IF we stuck together that is. Indians and Pakistanis left for the UK to live. How come they havenโ€™t been โ€˜shut outโ€™? Maybe it is because they had an agenda and we did not. Our agenda was to have fun and to screw as many white women as possible. That was seen as the big prize to have, a white women on the end of a black arm! Those of us who did buckle down and worked hard to later return home to the islands ended up being hounded out with every attempt to progress thwarted. They were even accused of trying to โ€˜act like the white manโ€™.
    Asians knew they were not welcome in the UK and all the racism and violence directed at them is testimony to that. What about the Jewish population? A race that suffered an awful holocaust yet still they remain and today run the world. How come they werenโ€™t shut out? God knows that was the intention which ultimately failed despite huge efforts to exterminate them. They refused to go down and out. Or maybe itโ€™s ok for Asians and Jews but different rules apply for us? Is it because that somewhere in our genes there is some code written into our DNA that says we were treated as sub human so maybe sub-human rules apply today that manifest in our sub-conscious? Utter rubbish!! How come other people can establish communities and work together and we canโ€™t? In about 20 years, those same Guyanese that you are all screaming at will end up owning the remainder of the island that the Europeans didnโ€™t get their hands on under the Owen Arthur administration.
    Itโ€™s strange how we are so afraid of the Guyanese taking over when we handed control of the island to the European so long ago. But wait! Did hand over control? Or was it rather taken from us and we were just so stupid we allowed it to happen. We talk as if WE control something when we really control nothing. If we owned big businesses and enjoyed a lucrative lifestyle, I question whether this blog would ever exist let alone be this heated.
    Why are there no black owned construction companies in the island? They all seem to be owned by white or asian people.
    All the Guyanese are trying to do it seems is to find a job and work, a human right and a natural human instinct. If opportunities arise and you do not take advantage, someone else will step in and you cannot turn round and blame them for that. The government is also to blame to a certain extent. But people also have power too. Jobs should be offered to the Bajan first and if no one local applies then the job should then be advertised outside. Companies do it. If no one at home takes the post because they feel the role is beneath them and a Guyanese or anyone else for that matter applies for the position and gets it, whose fault is it? Donโ€™t moan, fret or complain. I know that businesses especially the construction industry will be offering a lower wage for workers and we know who they will be targeting. They are in it to make money, plain and simple. If Bajans choose not to take up those roles because they went to Coleridge and Parry and Harrison College, on your head be it. You deserve what you get. The government should exercise some controls and set a minimum wage. First choice to Bajans for available jobs.
    If the powers that be allow for the migration of people into a country and they end up running the island, whose fault is it really? It is not the foreigner. Barbados is small and I understand the concerns of people flooding into the place. What I disagree with is the abuse. I would not feel comfortable in a place where people coming in looking for work are forced into hiding and subjected to racial taunts, and called names like โ€˜shit houndsโ€™ and โ€˜shite-bucketsโ€™. Dare I say it stinks of the right-wing British National Party in the UK that we have to face.
    If Bajans had any control of their own countryโ€™s infrastructure, outsiders would not be so ready to come in and exploit it. People coming in would not stay very long because we would have already have our hands in all the โ€˜piesโ€™ so to speak. If Bajans worked together, it would not be very appealing for anyone on the outside to come and settle. They would look elsewhere. But because we are the way we are and like to stab each other in the back when one of us tries to make something of themselves, outsiders will see that as an opportunity to make money from us and establish a foot hold in our own home!

34. Mauby man,
    You said a ‘mout-full’ which I just perused but after all is said and done, more is said than done.
    Your analysis still does not address the influx of GTbanna on my 166 sq.mls.
    You go back to who discovered where and what should and shouldn’t be celebrated but we still have a massive problem with this influx.
    I am no Historian. I am concerned about my future and that of my people. Nothing can justify their being here in such abundance.
    Talk cheap.

35. Mauby man,
    Another thing, what do you know about our infrastructure fool? Talk not what you know not about.

36. Finally a response, and from Bonny Peppa too of all people! Two messages directed at little old me as well! I am honoured! ๏Š
    No, youโ€™re quite right. I did not address the โ€˜influx of GTbanna on your 166 sq. mlsโ€™. My entry was to remind everyone of the not too distant history. It was designed to remind people that before we charge go gung ho and full steam at the โ€˜Guyanese invadersโ€™ consider the ones that we โ€˜missedโ€™ who invaded and conquered the island dragging us along for the ride.
    But perhaps my blog was a bit on the long side. My apologies to anyone who found it tough going to read, or peruse for that matter. Your perusal seemed to take some time.
    I am disappointed though. I was expecting something that was a little more…intelligent. The first response was honest. Shame about your second comment which has let you down. If talk is cheap, why does this Barbados Underground site exist? I see nothing but talk here. But I suppose I shouldnโ€™t expect anything more from people like yourself.
    You then go on to ask what I know about your infrastructure? Hmmm, actually I know a fair bit and Iโ€™d even go as far as to say I know a great deal more than you and I donโ€™t even live there. I sense a lot of passion in your comments, misplaced as it may be, I respect that at least. I feel you allow it to get the better of you. Speaking the way you do and with such โ€˜convictionโ€™ Iโ€™m sure you probably are a fine upstanding member of society…. living on your own in a gully somewhere maybe? Blessed with a phone line and an Internet connection. Someone who regards herself as a pillar of the community perhaps? A real voice for the people? No, I doubt that too, but I couldnโ€™t resist ๐Ÿ˜‰ Now if you had asked me nicely how I know about Barbados infrastructure, I would have told you (in an equally nice manner) that 1) I used to live in Barbados and worked within its infrastructure, 2) I have been making frequent visits to the island for many years now, 3) I have business interests out there and 4) Have more family living there that I have lost count.

But I do so love it when people jump the gun. They almost always set themselves up to get shot.

Rule number one: Assume nothing. You can wind up looking like an idiot.

Rule number two: Get the facts… and change your nickname on here from Bonny Peppa to Fat Pork.

The name seems to suit you better.

Just a suggestion ๐Ÿ˜‰

37. Mauby man
    Be it pork or peppa you still haven’t addressed the influx of the GTbanna. YOu didn’t elaborate on the infrastructure either.
    YOu just like to play wid words um look like.
    It is an honour to live in a gully once it is in Bim. What about Swampy Town?
    Be careful wid de crocs.

38. ha ha most persons in Barbados dont live in gullies; you sure it is Barbados you went to or just some other part of Guyana. oooorrrrr by Guyana so big you thought you was travelling……. LOL ha ha ha ha ha

39. Mauby Man
    this might not answer your query but just let me say it. In this 21 century, we have too many guyanese here and that’s a fact. Fact number 2 is that if they don’t get out and then people like you and all the other guyanese touts that get a chance to use a comp for the first time and think that it is a toy, is just making it worse for those who are here. The day will come soon and very soon when ALL the guyanese legal and illegal, would wish that they NEVER chose Barbados to invade. Mark my word.

40. Again with the assumptions Fat Pork? You still havenโ€™t learnt. I bet you never paid attention in school either. Since you have jumped the gun yet again, allow me to make an โ€˜assumptionโ€™, though I believe I’m safe from suffering your fate. I โ€˜assumeโ€™ by โ€˜Swampy Townโ€™ you mean Guyana? A country you could throw Barbados into and easily lose it. Of course, if that were possible I would prefer that didnโ€™t happen as I love the island very much, contrary to what you guys might believe. I want to see it protected also.

Barbados infrastructure is conducive to foreign investment, I โ€˜assumedโ€™ that I need not spell it out for you Fat Pork. If you really insist on a lesson on transportation, utilities, tourism and other aspects of the islandโ€™s infrastructure, this blog will end up being a lot longer than the entry I posted previously. I would however like to know what you know about it (without researching I might add). Come on, impress me! ๐Ÿ™‚ I fail to see how I โ€˜playโ€™ with words. Or maybe I just express myself better than you do.

What you all fail to realise is that I am actually on your side. But as you seem intent on attacking me for my views then I will respond in kind.

And if โ€˜Anonymousโ€™ had read my previous comment closely he (or she) would realise that I did not say โ€˜most peopleโ€™ lived in a gully on their own. I was referring to an individual, not Bajan people in general. by the way Anonymous, did you come up with that nickname all on your own? Or did the site just give you the name by default for not being imaginative enough to generate one yourself? The name speaks volumes my friend. And laughing at your own comments like that…tut tut tut. Itโ€™s a bit like laughing at your own jokes before you deliver the punchline. And more often than not that person usually ends up laughing all by their lonesome leaving everyone else to scratch their heads in bewilderment. Sound familiar?

At least the Scoutโ€™s response was more credible. I donโ€™t want to see hundreds and thousands of foreigners in Barbados either. But lets not descend to levels of abusive tongue lashing and hurtful taunts, it just amounts to prejudice which is โ€˜just ignorantโ€™โ€ฆ.in the words of Wacko Jacko! ๐Ÿ™‚

But Iโ€™m enjoying this. Keep the responses coming! ๐Ÿ™‚

41. BAFBFB at it again.

What Mauby man what.

42. BLACKS TALK TOO MUCH

This is an indication of a cry for help

–it is pure

C-R-A-P
    dah is wha um iz

43. Anonoymous, Ace

Yeah, dem were really useful reponses…

44. …and before you take this opportunity to attack my spelling, I meant RESPONSES

45. Oh dear. I do seem to be touching some nerves here. Anonymous, was that a nervous stammer?? Lol. Iโ€™m sorry but I have no idea what โ€œBAFBFBโ€ is. Iโ€™ve obviously missed something but I have no doubt you or someone else will fill me in on exactly what that means in the posts to follow.

Ace, this is a site where people can leave comments, remarks, suggestions, opinions, etc etc. It is specifically designed for talking or rather writing. What else did you have in mind? I find it hard to imagine what else you could do here but talk. And for somebody who says blacks talk too much, are you insinuating that you are in fact not a member of the black race? Or do you include yourself in that statement? Someone who says we all talk, โ€˜-pure C-R-A-Pโ€™ you sure do talk a lot of it yourself, and quite literally as well. I wonder, can you write a paragraph without typing the word โ€˜crapโ€™ in a post? Cโ€™mon ace, you can do it! Your earlier post with all the โ€˜crapโ€™ in it did make me laugh though when I first came to the site. But surely you must have something useful to say? Or maybe, just maybe, youโ€™re the comic relief this site needs? Although, stating the word โ€˜crapโ€™ all the time does lose its lustre rather quickly. It might have been funny in the beginning, but after a while you will start to lose your audience. Iโ€™d find some new material if I were you. Ainโ€™t that just typical of crap though! At first thereโ€™s this bad smell that everyone notices but then gradually the smell just fades away into oblivion and people kind of forget the crap is thereโ€ฆ notโ€ฆthat Iโ€™m saying you should go there or anythingโ€ฆ ๐Ÿ™‚

46. @Mauby man

You claim that there is no need for racist comments; you want us to believe that it is a perfect world so therefore, we black people should behave in a nice manner. You know quite well that this is far from the truth , since you yourself so ‘eloquently’ reminded us of how we were ripped from the bowels of Africa. Therefore we have every right to be as racist as we so choose. Moreover, do you think that we Barbadians do not read and know the history of Fiji, Mauritus, Trinidand and Tobago and YOUR beloved Guyana. Dont you not think that we know that those Indo Guyanese people do not care about us and think that we are worthless ……… Pleaseeeeee spare us your bull shit.

Secondly, the next sayyyy approximately 18 lines of your comment is the truth and I will never try to contradict facts. This is a waste of everyones time ……… and noooo we dont want you to choke we just want you to be REALISTIC! This is a forum where everyone can have something in/valuable to say ……… In addition, you go on to rant and rave about how your parents went and faced atrocities oh pleaseeeee spear me the bull shit why couldnt your parents not go back to Africa instead of the MOTHER COUNTRY so that persons like you and me could be the persons who would have rebuilt a once powerful nation ….. stupse ….. is this the same UK where its’ residence placed signs outside stating in no uncertain terms “no irish , no dogs and no blacks” noooo couldn’t be lol. Then you turn around and insult the very same GREAT english people where you still lick their asses but still want to talk down to us oh what irony ……. You know for a fact that when you are black there are a million obstacles in your way. We have proved we can be leaders of SO CALLED GREAT NATIONS, yet Obama is still referred to as an APE! so dont go there it is a waste of me and your time.

You went on to tell us that when the vincentians came, that we had the same argument … listen, I KNOW that vincentians, lucians and dominicans came to this island and never tried to dominate anybody they lived side by side with us and never tried to carry away old men’s money or fling their puss left right and centre …… so when you talk come reall good (do you live on the island?) I doubt it….. as I said your opinions on the Europeans are correct so I will not comment. But I will join with you and agree with you when you talk about Owen see thru arthur I dont think that we will ever get back that land……..

I will admit, yes you did hear grumbles but it is quite obvious that you are now going to hear growls and sooner or later get some bites in ya ass ………….. Barbadians like most people wait till the horse has bolted the stables and then react. But Mauby man you mean to tell me that we should not kick up pist about this crap…… What about those Irish and English blokes who have started to march in their respective country you mean to tell this backward Caribbean human being that allllllllll of them mad and dont know what they are saying and just kicking up pist acompanied by marches etc. PLEASE STOP IT! You go on to write about us BLACKS wanting to be around White people ……. PLEASE who the fuck tell you that most black people want to be around white people I dont know who fool you STUPSEeeeee. Only recently Bizzy after tasting some black puss was ostracised for associating with black people you and your pitthle…. I would prefer ANYDAY to go on the block or a good rum shop and lime with my own than to pretend that I am something that I am not …… I AINT WANT TO BE ROUND THEM EITHER .

Come on Mauby man, your bull shit about we migrating Guyana is bare boo. Lets get real, if the blacks whom were there lonnnnnnngggggggg time before us Bajans are segregated and killed and you talking about going to Guyana why the fuck would I want to go to Guyana ……. a failed state stupse …… Kean Gibson recently confirmed all of our fears why the ass would we want to go down there! Stupse. Allsopp and all those great Guyanese brains ran why the fuck would we want to go down there YOU FAH REAL!!

I remember one of my fellow bloggers posting an excerpt on the blogs about some Indians and Pakistanians who ‘beat killed’ a black girl and had the most despicable things to say about black people in your GREAT U.K. However, you are right, there are many black fools that would prefer to remain in slavery instead of working for themselves to them I say

“You are a bunch of assess”

Moreover, I will go on to say that I am one who would never be disrespectful to SOME of you who went to England, had not for some of you many persons in the Caribbean would not have survived and for that I say thanks. BUT dont forget loads of you all went up the road and forget about the children that wannah lef down here thank GOD for persons like my Great Grandmother who worked and loaded cane in order for my mother who wutless father went long to England and refuse to send a cent for her and her sister. So when you come with your philosophic talk come reallll good make it more balanced.

Now why do you think that bajans kicking up pist? Dont you think that somebody will no some body who works at a Government Institution or Immigration that will realise that persons like the same Oshaka and others such as Greaves and others selling out Barbados to whoso ever will and would get pist off …….. you seem to know all the answers dont you think that Julie N and Clico aint feeling the weight of BSNT. We dont only have to look out for persons of our own color cutting our ass (like you) but the whites and lord havest mercy lol the Indians too and you ask why we kicking up pist. If the Whites and Foreigners own 80% of the place you mean to tell me that we have to sit down and ALLOW the Indians and other foreigners to control the other 20%

What you fail to acknowledge is that there always comes a messiah that will lead their people out of the bull shit that others have built for us. Persons such as Errol Barrow, Martin Luther King, Malcolm X, Peter Tosh, Bob Marley, my Grand mother and many other unsung heroes soooooo dont come on this blog and feel that you have come to teach us backward Caribbean people nothing make your argument well balanced but dont dry us down …. when you have an animal in a corner what does he do ……. He lashes out and retaliates in a nasty way!

I nearly had a kaniption after reading your DIATRIBE HA HA LOL!

Dont hate the player hate the game!

47. Anon

That last post of yours got me rolling on the floor with laughter.

Look up to now I can’t even recover.

Wuhloss,wuhlaw.

Murder!

Mauby man got lick up.

48. Anon@12:04

Still rolling on the floor laughing,but please ease up on the cuss words.

Sprinkle it now and then with one or two, but you don’t have to saturate it,but like bonny peppa would say,luvs you bad.

49. I was the annoymous blogger at 12:04. I was using someone’s computer so I couldn’t use my blog name anon…….

50. Sorry about the curse words to all felow bloggers but you know I am a crass woman so I get on how i want to it is just that Mauby brought some valuble facts but then he got on as if we dont have a right to kick up….. It was no disrespect Mauby man doh …..you hit we good and I love to give as good as I get ………

Respect!