NBC Host Matt Lauer

Barbados has moved into the top two destinations which Matt Lauer of the popular NBC show, “Where In The World Is Matt Lauer.” Barbados is narrowly ahead of St. Lucia and lagging Latvia by 7%.   We suspect that the Barbados Tourism Authority would welcome any exposure on one of America’s largest TV networks.

We urge BU family members to not only cast a vote for Barbados HERE, but feel free to email this LINK to all of your friends telling them to do the same.

1. The fact that St. Lucia with a population of 160,000 could be running Barbados so close in a vote like this speaks volumes.

2. I did my bit david for country.

Somehow I believe Matt Lauer would much prefer to be in Barbados.

Welcome Matt.Looking forward to seeing you soon.

3. Easter Island, Machu Pichu?

What are we offering this culture vulture?

A trip up Shop Hill with a photo of what was a slave hut, and the statue of Nelson as a memento of his experience.

4. Actually David,St. Lucia is seen on the world stage as being the next Barbados.That is what I hear from people here in the States anyway,not to mention you get more for your greenbacks.

St.Lucia also appears to be more naturally scenic while Barbados is becoming a concrete jungle.Honestly,tourists just want to get away from it all when they are from heavily industrialized nations,which includes NOT seeing ANY tall buildings & traffic problems while getting the most value for their money.It really is this simple.

5. thats just sad that you guys have to resort to something like this pathetic really

6. @Jay

You should add that with Alan Chastenet et al leading the charge St. Lucia have been executing their tactics very well.

7. @Danny

thats just sad that you guys have to resort to something like this pathetic really

Why pathetic Danny do you know NBC had over 6 million viewership?

Do you know the the kind of advertising dollars to buy the same time on NBC?

8. Danny // February 8, 2009 at 5:36 pm

thats just sad that you guys have to resort to something like this pathetic really

No….pathetic is people like you who do nothing but critisize.

9. *criticize*

10. David:

I AGREE Allan Chastenet rocks..get the man over here!

St Lucia sucks compared with what we have to offer and yet they are beating us hands down.

Wha’ happenin. What exactly are we selling…. its beyond my imagination.

11. @ST

In Chastenet we feel his energy and passion not to mention LEADERSHIP.

12. Straight talk // February 8, 2009 at 8:00 pm

David:

I AGREE Allan Chastenet rocks..get the man over here!

St Lucia sucks compared with what we have to offer and yet they are beating us hands down.
    Have you not seen the recent figures and the reality ?
    St Lucia is very, very far behind us in tourism figures.

13. I voted that he would be in beautiful GUYANA my homeland YEAH and do you know that 2.6% of voters said he would be in Guyana, YEAH. Love you Barbados, but when all is said and done blood thicker than water, so it is Guyana

14. Too bad the Nature Sanctuary is closed. He could have gone there!!

15. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

We are currently 3 points behind the leading country which is latvia!!!

16. St Lucia is very, very far behind us in tourism figures.
    ……………………………………………………St.Lucia is far behind Barbados in every socio economic indicator except crime. They are far ahead of us in violent crime and attacks on visitors. Lets pray we never catch them in the crime race. ST.Lucia though is physically a beautiful isle.

17. I was waiting for the link to be broadcast on Fridays show, but it never came. I really would like Matt to stay in the United States to show that other Americans can get to the destination that I have chosen. It is Mt. Washington in New Hampshire. I am sure that Matt would have a blast going up the “COG RAILWAY”, and this would be an adventure for others from the States that would not be as costly as some of the other ones that he had done. It is nice to see him enjoying himself, but now when times are REALLY TOUGH, it would be nice to visit a place that the TODAY crew had been to, and to experience it with your children. Going up on the COG is an experience like any other. Check it out. Sorry I did not make one of the contenders. Maybe next year. Thanks. Marcia from Maine

18. I am a Barbadian,and I live in Canada. I keep very well informed on situations and matters going on in Barbados as well as in the Caribbean. Barbados is a very beautiful island and it really is a very nice place. Yes, Barbados is by far more modern and industrialized than St.Lucia. The reason why people are calling St.Lucia the next Barbados, is because in order for St.Lucia to get some recongization they have to mention Barbados. Barbadian companies from construction to real estate agents etc. are building the roads and hotels etc. in St.Lucia. The only thing St.Lucia has that Barbados does not have are the Mountains. I personally am glad Barbados does not have mountains because of the snakes and spiders that exist in St.Lucia. I have read and heard of people dying from snake bites. Yes, St.Lucia seems more beautiful than Barbados because of the mountains but Grenada, St.Vincent and most of the other Caribbean islands have the same things and even better and more than St.Lucia, they just don’t have the Pitons mountains. So, St.Lucia is not all of that because I have witness it all for myself and St.Lucians have alot to thank Barbadians for because we are the ones contributing to developing their island. As for Allen Chastenet he is so desperate for St.Lucia to be like the Big Three Caribbean Countries which are Jamaica,Barbados and Trinidad.

19. Anonymous // February 9, 2009 at 6:29 am

I voted that he would be in beautiful GUYANA my homeland YEAH and do you know that 2.6% of voters said he would be in Guyana, YEAH. Love you Barbados, but when all is said and done blood thicker than water, so it is Guyana

When all is said and done we would not mind if you go back home.

Thanks for being here though

20. I am bajan and have nothing against Barbados. However, when it comes to natural beauty, SVG, Grenada, Jamaica, Dominica, etc., beat Bim hands down. They have rain forest, rivers, lakes, and the mountains. It is not just the mountains. Barbados has its beaches, but so do they.

Having said that, I was looking at spending this Christmas 2009 in St. Lucia at the Westin they are building. But it seems the credit cruch has slowed or stopped the building of the first phase. So, my vacation may have to be somewhere else this coming Christmas.

I spent Christmas 2008 in Jamaica and had a blast. Port Antonio is one beautiful place.

21. I am a Guyanese and I have nothing against Guyana, but I think Barbados is the most BEAUTIFUL country in the world. Everything is so neat and nice, but most important for me it is the cultural ties between Guyana and Barbados.

22. e should come during crop over FORRRRR SUUUREE!!..he’d enjoy all that culture

23. Do not underestimate Latvia. Prior to WWII, Latvia was considered the “Paris” of Eastern Europe. It has a rich cultural heritage and some of the worlds most beautiful achitecture. Millions have been spent restoring the capitol city, Riga, to it’s pre-war glory.

24. hmmmm, I will be moving Latvia up the list of countries to visit.

25. Dear Pat:

But did you vote for Barbados?

And did you encouraged your family and freinds to vote for Barbados also?

26. Pat Wrote I spent Christmas 2008 in Jamaica and had a blast. Port Antonio is one beautiful place.

The thing about Jamaica is its size and the fact that it has these several diverse areas. For example the beautiful red earthed areas where they mine the bauxite; the area to the east where they grow bananas and coconuts that resembles the Windward islands; the areas where they grow sugar cane as we do in Bim, the citrus growing areas, the Blue Mountains and Warwika Hills; and places like cold Mandeville lush and green, Lacovia , Spur Tree Hill, Bamboo Avenue, Fern Tree Gully, the areas where they raff, etc.

The diversity of terrain and such interesting agricultural areas makes Jamaica a place that ought to be visited.

27. @J:

Yes, I voted for Bim and sent the link to family and friends.

@Georgie Porgie:

You have to go again and again. This was my second visit and I spent most of my three weeks sightseeing and tooting around the beaches, rivers, etc. Lots of rivers. Real rivers, not those cricks they have in Bim.

Next time I want to do Clarendon and St. Elizabeth, where my sister in law comes from.

I admire Jamaicans. They grow everything, and sell anything.

28. @ Pat,
    Jamaica is known as a terrible violent place. How did you cope?

29. It has to be Barbados, Jewel of the carribean

30. Matt is definately comming to St Lucia!..

31. St Lucia has a world wonder, that is the Twin Pitons. We also have the ONLY WALK IN VOLCANO IN THE WORLD!.. Matt should think of going nowhere else than St Lucia!. Simply Beautiful!!

32. Anon // February 14, 2009 at 9:02 pm

@ Pat,
    Jamaica is known as a terrible violent place. How did you cope?

True, but violence is everywhere. There is lots of violence in Toronto. I just dont go looking for it. I dont look for it in New York, Toronto, Montreal, Bridgetown nor Jamaica.

33. Right now (16/2/09) Jamaica is 20%, Barbados is 15% and Latvia is 14%.
    St Lucia has dropped back to 8.5%.
    We need more votes for Barbados.

34. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar

As jamaica has a bigger population it will get more votes!!!

35. The size of the population isn’t as important as the number
    of Internet users who are interested enough to vote for the country, so let’s keep passing the word along to vote for Barbados.

36. Donald Duck, Esq // February 17, 2009 at 9:35 am

As jamaica has a bigger population it will get more votes!!!
    ————————————————————————————————————
    Not necessarily. I think Jamaicans are more competitive than the average bajan, especially when it comes to supporting their own. So I am not surprise to see that when word got out, Jamaicans came from behind to lead the pack.

I’m not sure events such as this one excites most Barbadians. Unless Barbadians spread the word to those far and near, and keep reminding, they would lag.

37. @ Sapidillo

You are right, we are super competitive unfortunately…but I think we have so much more to show than what is already known. I hope he goes to Portland. Portland is at the Eastern end of the island away from the popular North Coast. It is so serene ….

38. He is so hot I am going to be miss matt Lauer