Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup
Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley

If our ears and eyes are functioning correctly, the opposition Barbados Labour Party has loudly told Barbadians that it intends to file a motion of no-confidence in Prime Minister David Thompson over the handling of the CLICO Affair. The decision has caught most Barbadians by surprise, many who we have spoken to are not sure what to make of the decision. To observers CLICO’s public image has taken a beating, given the nature of its business which relies on public confidence a no-confidence motion at this time is likely to place a dagger firmly in the heart.

We can only assume that the conviction which Mottley has shown by her declared political strategy of tabling a no-confidence motion, she will be able to accept the consequences. CLICO Barbados being placed under the microscope has come about because of action by the regulatory bodies in Trinidad. We can only assume that if no action was taken it would be business as usual on Whitepark Road. The Prime Minister has made the point that the financial state of CLICO Barbados could not have deteriorated so precipitously in one year of DLP rule. The inference is that the former government should have been aware of any financial weakness in the CLICO balance sheet before demitting office.

The CLICO Affair has now become a political football.

Some people are arguing that it is the job of the opposition to to expose what she knows about the CLICO Affair. Mottley has publicly stated that her concern is for the 38, 000 CLICO policyholders. What seems to be eluding the political actors in the CLICO drama is the understanding that as long as this matter continues to be played out in public the fortunes of CLICO Barbados will continue to slide south.

Commonsense should have indicated that when the CLICO story broke in Trinidad given its gravity, its subsidiaries across the region would have immediately become ensnared in a crisis of confidence. Investors in CLICO would have understandably become concern about the safety of their investments. In some cases it would have been reasonable to anticipate premature withdrawals. This behaviour becomes even more understandable in the current global financial crisis. In light of the foregoing we find the action of the government to extend financial assistance as prudent. The failure of CLICO in Barbados would only serve to undermine the total financial market in Barbados. One of the key strengths of the Barbados economy over the years has been is solid financial system. Recently little Barbados received the evaluation that it was  one of the best managed financial system in the world.

Whether Leader of the Opposition Mottley believes that Prime Minister Thompson’s intervention was less than honourable; motivated by his close relationship with Chairman of CLICO Leroy Parris, he deserves the benefit of the doubt given the high stakes. Her charge immediately tars Governor of the Central Bank Marion Williams and Supervisor of Insurance Carlos Belgrave who have publicly supported the government’s position on CLICO.

So where are we?

85 responses to “Political Opportunism, Opposition Politics, Political Vendettas”

1. sad to see Bajans so polarised and unable to see where we are being led by a politically ambitious man. Thompy has only one ambition – to be PM of this island and now with the help of his VERY GOOD FRIENDS he has achieved that. Watch him now, smirking as always. He has no plan for this island, never did and never will. That is why he is jumping from one thing to the next. He has raised taxes more in his first year in office than the past 14 years! Tax on cell phones, tax on lottery winnings, more land taxes, higher vehicle taxes.Just wait and see what else is coming soon. He was going to reduce the cost of living, anyone seen that happen yet? Doan hol’ yuh breff yuh hear!

2. David

Sopmething is going on with the comments section.Old posts reappearing.

3. It is unfortunate that in the last resort is always race. That never fails to find its way into any Bajan discussion. It is fortunate that Hon E W Barrow is not around now to see how absurd his countrymen remain with their minds still engulfed in race and slavery. Free yourself, respect yourself and stop seeing race in every shadow and every time someone fails or is criticised. Tell the Unions to grow up and get out of the 1940s and come into the 21st century where productivity is the name of the new game. They keep us locked in a time warp because it suits their personal ambitions while the workers, their main supporters, remain firmly at the bottom of the barrel and they blame the employers for this.

4. Jukecheckedeyskirt Avatar
    Jukecheckedeyskirt

It must be a very difficult thing to have ruled for fourteen years now to find yourself being ruled. I believe Thompson wants to do the right thing but his allegiance to Clico and Leroy Parris, his so called jet setting and the alleges of corruption amongst his cabinet ministers, so early in the DLP’s term, is not good at all for the image of this party.

Mr. Prime Minister I rooting for you but you made promises and did not keep them. You need to reevaluate your position and move swiftly to implement those controls that will assist the image of the party. Right now the party’s image is being tarnished by intellectual weakness, lack of prudence and deception. Please show Barbadians that this is not true.

5. A new Party is needed but from the unknown populace of Bajan society. The ordinary working class who has very good ideas, the economist who truly understands money matters etc. ordinary people who have a direct interest in the people of Barbados not the pockets our Treasury. Not the white Bajan who from the 17th century had opportunity to gain wealth unlike the black Bajan. Young people with have no connections to the Mottleys, Taitts, Thompsons, Adams, Simmons etc. total unknowns but intelligent – we really need a new party

I am young but old enough to remember the actions of the both parties over the last 20 years and both of them do the very same thing when in power. They talk of the atrocities of the opposition. They make threats but NOTHING ever happens because they know that some day they too will be the ‘opposition’.

6. Do any of you ever sit back and try to find the sense coming out a mottleyism speech??

I tell you other than a lot of strung together words there is never a lot of substance or content.

If one were to look closer at the service given to the Ministeries that she has had the misfortune to have been given and how she has carelessly and dangerously assaulted them, one will agree that mottley is all blubber some would go so far to suggest a 1000 lbs of blubber.

7. Kerrie Simmons called Mia and Liz a 1000 lbs of blubber two elections back. Simmons the grasshopper is now a water carrier for Mia Mottley. This question is for Kerrie. Has Mottley and Liz shed any of the 1000 lbs of blubber.?

8. Queenam: Agreed 100%

9. Queenam

I support your views wholeheartedly.There is definitely a need for new political dispensation in Barbados.I am not that young, neither I am that old,however,I know about some of our past leaders & politicians.Even though young people of your generation might not have a connection with our past politicians I think it is imperative that you & other young people understand the contributions those formers politicians did for the development of Barbados.

The Democratic Labour Party & Barbados Labour Party have outlived their usefulness to Barbados.The philosophy of both parties is similar and it is practically irrelevant to a changing and more dynamic Barbados.
    Barbados need a completely new political philosophy to advance the gains Barbados have made in the past.Neither the DLP or BLP are in a position to deliver that on that idea.

I am disillusioned with both parties and my active participation in politics is over.Both parties have taken Black Barbadians for a ride to long.They view Black Barbadians as jackassses who they can ride at any given time.

10. Negroman if your declaration means that you are done with party politics, I say welcome to the other side. However if it is to say, You done wid politics even as an active voter, citizen!, ….then i gine agitate tuh have you place of “CON AIR” with deportees back to Guyana! lol!

11. Ok folks:
    Some of you are convince that a Third party is needed. Lets take this suggestion a litte further.

This can be an education for us all.

Are they any legal requirements to launch a poltical party?

What can we learn from recent attempts to launch other political parties?

The NDP, at one point got as much as 12 % of the vote. How were they able to do this?
    Would a NDP like party satisfy our view or define of a third party, on that is really freash with new aspirants?

Why don’t we view PEP and PDC as viable alternatives to the two establish political parties?

Lets think about these things. It is easy to opinionate and not so easy to have a working plan to achieve a stated objective. It gets a little difficult to transform a ‘working plan” into a workable plan. The real difficulty is putting it in place. Who is going to pay? how will you encourage support? will it work?

12. I looked in the paper today and could not even spell the names of the persons behind the PM! vaswani and all types of strange names

What is going on Mr. PM! I vote for you the last three elections wha gine on!

13. David thompson needs to stop going to all these shite ass functions.

As prime minister he can’t be at every bram that he gets an invitation for.

Plus he running behind these blasted coolies who bout here using bajans and racist as ***.

14. Anonymous

I am always saying those people with strange sounding names are the purse strings behind David Thompson & the Democratic Labour Party.That is why we will not have any effective immigration policy regarding the influx of Indo-Guyanese.We were duped.

Adrian Hinds

I have given up party politics, but will still remain politically active because you cannot separate politics from life.

Adrian you asked some pertinent questions regarding third parties in Barbados politics.
    The NDP was an emerging party but had a similar philosophy as both the DLP & BLP and in that context found difficulty in displacing either one of them .David Thompson tricked Richie Haynes in the St Michael North West bye-election that Clyde Mascoll won I think that in 1995 or 1996 by suggesting that the NDP do not run a candidate in that bye-election so as to affect the chances of Clyde Mascoll.That decision did not go down to well with David Comissiong who wanted to run in that bye-election.That resulted in David Comissiong & his lot severing ties with the NDP.That action led to destruction of the NDP.

People’s Empowerment Party led by the same David Comissiong is a waste of time.David Comissiong & Bobby Clarke are 2 discredited individuals.David Comissiong with all the promise he had shown is not relevant anymore to the politics of Barbados.He has blown his opportunities.

Mark Adamson & PDC I have time for them.The PDC has some very interesting and innovative proposals that merit serious thought. However,in the context of Barbados politics I do not think the PDC would be taken as seriously as it should be taken by the Barbados population.There are many factors contributing to this situation.The major factor is the social status that Mark Adamson and many of his members represent.We Barbadians believe that our leaders must come from a particular social background and graced one of our prestigious secondary schools.I respect & support many of Mark Adamson & PDC programmes and I believe PDC is in a position and could emerge as a viable alternative to the waste of time DLP & BLP.

This country is going to stagnate under the DLP & BLP.This country needs a progressive & strong leader with foresight & courage like Hugo Chavez of Venezuela.Unfortunately neither the windbag David Thompson or the clown Mia Mottley could provide that type of leadership.
    l

15. ha ha ha ha I am going to coalace on the one point that everbody who thinks about thinks this comes too, and yet no light bulb seems to go off.
    You said we need a leader like Chavez. How did Chavez come to be the “Leader” of Venezuela? then compare that process to how the Barbados PM becomes the “Leader”

16. Comment repaired!

The Legacy of Willie Lynch (a slave owner) still lives in Mia Mottley.

I know that the Opposition Leader Mr. Mia Mottley is not even aware that what she is attempting to do with the that black company” Clico” that has done so much for the Barbados economy is deeply imbedded in Willie Lynch’s letter to other slave owners in the 1700’s.

I don’t agree with her unbecoming behavior but I also don’t blame her one bit since Willie Lynch’s plan has been designed to last for more than 300 years and possibly 1000 more.

Have a read below and tell me what you think.

I thought this was the most appropriate time for ALL OF US to re-read, remember and NEVER FORGET, the speech given by Willie Lynch a slave owner who over 300 years ago devised a plan to help keep Black people divided…
    Gentlemen:
    I greet you here on the bank of the James River in the year of our lord, one thousand seven hundred and twelve. First, I shall thank you, the gentlemen of the colony of Virginia, for bringing me here. I am here to help you solve some of your problems with slaves. Your invitation reached me in my modest plantation in the West Indies where I have experimented with some of the newest and still the oldest method for control of slaves. Ancient Rome would envy us if my program is implemented. As our boat sailed south on the James River, named for our illustrious KING JAMES, whose BIBLE we CHERISH, I saw enough to know that our problem is not unique. While Rome used cords or wood as crosses for standing human bodies along the old highways in great numbers, you are here using the tree and the rope on occasion.
    I caught the whiff of a dead slave hanging from a tree a couple of miles back. You are losing valuable stock by hangings, you are having uprisings, slaves are running away, your crops are sometimes left in the fields too long for maximum profit, you suffer occasional fires, your animals are killed, Gentleman,…You know what your problems are; I do not need to elaborate. I am not here to enumerate your problems; I am here to introduce you to a method of solving them.
    In my bag, I have a fool proof method for controlling your slaves. I guarantee every one of you that if installed it will control the slaves for at least three hundred years. My method is simple, any member of your family or any OVERSEER can use it.
    I have outlined a number of differences among the slaves, and I take these differences and make them bigger. I use FEAR, DISTRUST, and ENVY for control purposes. These methods have worked on my modest plantation in the West Indies, and it will work throughout the SOUTH. Take this simple little list of differences and think about them. On the top of my list is “AGE” but it is only there because it starts with an “A”; The second is “COLOR” or shade; there is INTELLIGENCE, SIZE, SEX, SIZE OF PLANTATION, ATTITUDE of owner, whether the slaves live in the valley, on a hill, east or west, north, south, have fine or coarse hair, or is tall or short. Now that you have a list of differences, I shall give you an outline of action- but before that, I shall assure you that DISTRUST IS STRONGER THAN TRUST, AND ENVY IS STRONGER THAN ADULATION, RESPECT OR ADMIRATION.
    The black slave, after receiving this indoctrination, shall carry on and will become self-refueling and self-generating for hundreds of years, maybe thousands.
    Don’t forget you must pitch the old black VS. the young black males, and the young black male against the old black male. You must use the dark skinned slaves VS. the light skin slaves. You must use the female VS the male, and the male VS, the female. You must always have your servants and OVERSEERS distrust all blacks, but it is necessary that your slaves trust and depend on us.
    Gentlemen, these kits are your keys to control, use them. Never miss an opportunity. My plan is guaranteed, and the good thing about this plan is that if used intensely for one year the slave will remain perpetually distrustful.
    -WILLIAM LYNCH-1772
    The letter above is one of the major problems of the African-American race today. And with this knowledge we as a race can and will overcome. So with this letter still in your mind I ask that you enlighten someone else and send this letter to as many brothers and sisters. We as a race must start somewhere in learning our problems what better place than the document that started the destruction of our MOST POWERFUL RACE!!!
    Does this Lynch’s strategy still work? You bet it does ask Mr. Neville Rowe of Julie’n Supermarket and we will see what happens to Clico with Mia’s help. May God help her . . . and Willie Lynch.

17. Donell,….I don’t know if you are new to the internet or not, but you seem sincere in your posting of the above. The Willie Lynch letter is a hoax. Just because we in Barbados may have had a Douglas Lynch at the Mutual (we know the black eye on race relations that affair caused) and claims that R.L.Seale use the method contain in this fake letter with some success does not make the Willie Lynch or his letter anymore real. It’s fable not a fact.

18. Willie Lynch is an invention of the 1990’s. The travesty of “Willie Lynch” is that it does represent how some Black people operate particularly those that accuse others of acting in accordance with its precepts.

19. anonymous // February 26, 2009 at 9:28 am

Kerrie Simmons called Mia and Liz a 1000 lbs of blubber two elections back. Simmons the grasshopper is now a water carrier for Mia Mottley. This question is for Kerrie. Has Mottley and Liz shed any of the 1000 lbs of blubber.?

Have you looked at the rear view of Missing from Senate Liz Thompson, it is becoming wider with each passing day maybe because she does not rise off of it often enough to exercise its muscles or to exercise its brain.

It will be soon as wide as a barn door just like that of her part time leader mottley.

20. Anonymous // February 26, 2009 at 1:34 pm

Plus he running behind these blasted coolies who bout here using bajans and racist as ***.

May I remind you disgrutled BLP member, when the DLP was elected to office on the 15 th January 2008 the Prime Minister The Hon Mr David Thompson was selected as Prime Minister, now he is not only the Prime Minister for the Brown skinned, the Black, the white, the half white, the Indians, the Hindus, the Moslems he became the PRIME MINISTER OF A NATION CALLED BARBADOS and as such he has shown his openingness and kindness across the spectrum.

BARBADOS IS FOR ALL BARBADIANS BE THEY BE BROWN, BLACK, WHITE OR GREEN.

21. Wishing In Vain

Kiss yuh arse.

If YOU HARTLEY HENRY THINK WE THE PEOPLE OF BARBADOS WHO VOTED FOR DAVID THOMPSON WILL ALLOW HIM TO JUST MOUTH WORDS TO US ABOUT PROTECTING OUR INTERESTS WHILE BEHIND THE SCENE PROTECTING THE INDIAN MAN,THEN:

THINK AGAIN!

Thompson’s fate will be worse than arthur’s because we the people voted out arthur and voted in thompson to stop the blasted shite that was going on with these indian people flooding in to this country.

No wonder WIV that during the time in opposition when you were reaching out to us the bloggers here on BU that you never talk about these large number of migrants coming in.

Now I know why.

If you advising thompson you better let him know that he better pay attention to what we the people who gave him the chance to realise his dream and become prime minister – what we want.

All the advice yuh giving him,remember you only got 1 vote.

Ra**hole,I now understand what negroman was saying all along.

22. Anonymous

I will repeat again & again The Democratic Labour Party has been hijacked by the Indians in Barbados.It is the party for rat/catcher mango seller Indians & Pakistani.I said before & I will say it again.an Indian businessman brags that he has the cellphone number of our Prime Minister and he carries meat for his family on weekends in St Philip.These Indians also brag that our local Police Force cannot prosecute them because of their contribution to the force in form of donations of vehicles & other equipment.

Anonymous & the rest Barbados is becoming a failed state like Guyana,Trinidad,India,Pakistan,Bangladesh,Nepal and all the other Indian countries in this world because of the wicked,corrupt practises of the Indian race.

David Thompson is powerless because of his party & government dependence on the Indian hand outs.

23. Negroman

Thompson is not powerless.

Thompson think black people could be pacified like idiots with mere words and no real action while the agenda of the other people flourish.

Let me state clearly here I wish the Blp NEVER GET BACK IN OFFICE.

However if we the people don’t get what we want the situation will not be sweet bout here.

Watch and learn what is happening in guadeloupe and martinique.

We are not blind we can see what is going on in Guyana and Trinidad and we can see what is already happening here with the indians from India and Pakistan and the now – comes from guyana and Trinidad.

Not for shite will we let them turn here into the republic of guyana.

Tek yuh place.

24. am did somebody say that the LEADER OF BARBADOS WAS SELECTED?

I gine continue to hammer home this point, so that wunnuh have a DATA POINT, even if wunnuh continue to ignore um, that UNDER SCORES, why things cant’ get done in BIMSHIRE.

25. BARBADOS IS FOR ALL BARBADIANS BE THEY BE BROWN, BLACK, WHITE OR GREEN.

What is the color of most electorates. Check your f—–g self! I would eat anybody raw for Thompson that is the truth.

But nowadays …….. I aint so sure cause bechrist I seeing that he backing a LOT OF INDIANS! Look Thompy Check ya self!

26. -C-R-A-P !

27. MEANINGLESS !

WILL LEAD TO NOTHING
    BUT MORE

C-R-A-P !

28. AH,
    You query authenticity of Willie Lynch.Well as a serious schoolboy historian I studied British/West Indian history in detail. I never came across this Willie Lynch. His tactic of divide and conquer is as old as ancient Greek mythology.

29. @AP

Indeed, the method ascribe to the “ghostly” Willie Lynch, and the behaviour some attribute to Blacks, are alive and well to this day, but neither method, or behaviour, have their origins with, or are peculiar, to the afore mention person or group.

30. Here are the Opinions of a person who can be contrued as a real Language maven. A person who uses his knowledge of “LANGUAGE” not redicule as some posters to this blog small mindedly love to do, but to investigate, and illuminate.

——————————-

Willie Lynch is Dead (1712?-2003)

By William Jelani Cobb

The letter was never “discovered.” It just showed up on the Internet one day.

I long ago stopped listening to sentences that begin with “The problem with black people is,” or end with “and that’s why black people can’t get ahead now,” which partly explains my initial indifference to the now-famous William Lynch Speech. The letter was never “discovered.” It just showed up on the Internet one day.
    In the few years since the speech on how to train slaves first appeared, it has been cited by countless college students and a black member of the House of Representatives, along the way becoming the essential verbal footnote in barbershop analysis of what’s wrong with black people. The rapper Talib Kweli laments on the song “Know That,” “blacks are dyin’/how to make a slave/by Willie Lynch is still applyin’,” and one professor at a Midwestern university made the speech required reading for her class. Of late, the frequency of its citations seems to be increasing — at least three people have asked me about it in the last month. According to the speech’s preface, Master Lynch was concerned enough with the fortunes of his slave-holding brethren in the American colonies to present a lecture on the bank of the James River, explaining how to keep unruly servants disunited. The old, he argued, should be pitted against the young, the dark against the light, the male against the female and so on. Such disunifying tactics “will control the slaves for at least 300 years,” he guaranteed. And that, it seems, is why black people can’t get ahead now. There are many problems with this document — not the least of which is the fact that it is absolutely fake. As a historian, I am generally skeptical of smoking guns. Historical work, like forensic science, isn’t some flashy field — it depends on the painstaking aggregation of facts that lead researchers to the most likely explanation, but rarely the only one. Slavery was an incredibly complex set of social, economic and legal relations that literally boiled down to black and white. But given the variation in size of farms, number of enslaved workers, region, crops grown, law, gender-ratios, religion and local economy, it is unlikely that a single letter could explain slave policy for at least 151 years of the institution and its ramifications down to the present day. Considering the limited number of extant sources from 18th century, if this speech had been “discovered,” it would’ve been the subject of incessant historical panels, scholarly articles and debates. It would literally be a career-making find. But the letter was never “discovered.” Rather, it simply “appeared” on the Internet — bypassing the official historical circuits and making its way directly into the canon of American racial conspiratoria. On a more practical level, the speech is filled with references that are questionable if not completely inaccurate. Lynch makes reference to an invitation reaching him on his “modest plantation in the West Indies.” While this is theoretically possible — the plantation system was well established in the Caribbean by 1712 — most plantation owners were absentees who chose to remain in the colonizing country while the day-to-day affairs of their holdings were run by hired managers and overseers. But even assuming that Mr. Lynch was an exception to this practice, much of the text of his “speech” remains anachronistic. Lynch makes consistent reference to “slaves” — which again is possible, though it is far more likely people during this era would refer to persons in bondage simply as “Negroes.” In the first paragraph, he promises that “Ancient Rome would envy us if my program is implemented,” but the word “program” did not enter the English language with this connotation until 1837 — at the time of this speech it was used only to reference a written notice for theater events. Two paragraphs later he says that he will “give an outline of action,” for slave-holders; the word “out-line” had appeared only 50 years earlier and at that time was only used as an artistic term meaning a sketch — it didn’t convey its present meaning until 1759. Even more damning is his use of the terms “indoctrination” and “self-refueling” in the next sentence. The first word didn’t carry it current connotation until 1832; the second didn’t even enter the language until 1811 — a century after the purported date of Lynch’s speech. More obviously, Lynch uses the word “Black,” with an upper-case “B,” to describe African Americans more than two centuries before the word came to be applied as a common ethnic identifier. In some popular citations, Lynch has also been — inexplicably — credited with the term “lynching,” which would be odd since the speech promises to provide slave-holders with non-violent techniques that will save them the expense of killing valuable, if unruly, property. This inaccuracy points to a more basic problem in understanding American history: the violence directed at black people in America was exceptional in the regard that it was racialized and used to reinforce political and social subordination, but it was not unique. Early America was incredibly violent in general — stemming in part from the endemic violence in British society and partly from the violence that tends to be associated with frontier societies. For most of its history, lynching was a non-racial phenomenon — in fact, it most often directed at white people. The term “Lynch law” was derived from the mob violence directed at Tories, or British loyalists, just after the American Revolution. While there is disagreement about the precise origins of the term — some associate it with Charles Lynch, a Revolution-era Justice-of-the-Peace who imprisoned Tories, others see it as the legacy of an armed militia founded near the Lynche River or the militia captain named Lynch who created judicial tribunals in Virginia in 1776 — there is no reference to the term earlier than 1768, more than half a century after the date given for the speech. Given the sparse judicial resources (judges were forced to travel from town-to-town hearing cases, which is where we get the term “judicial circuit”) and the frequency of property crimes in the early republic, lynching was often seen as a form of community justice. Not until the 1880s, after the end of Reconstruction, did “lynching” become associated with African Americans; gradually the number of blacks lynched each year surpassed the number of whites until it became almost exclusively directed at black people late in the century. (Nevertheless, between 1882 and 1944, Tuskegee University recorded 3,417 lynchings with black victims — and 1291 lynchings with white ones.) The Willie Lynch speech would seem to give a quick-and-easy explanation of the roots of our much-lamented “black disunity.” You could make similar arguments about the lingering effects of a real historical document like the 1845 tract, “Religious Instruction of Negroes” — written by a proslavery Presbyterian minister — or the British practice of mixing different African ethnicities on slave ships in order to make communication — and therefore rebellion — more difficult. But this too is questionable — it presumes that whites, or any other diverse group, do not face divisive gender issues, generation gaps and class distinctions. Willie Lynch offers no explanation for the white pro-lifer who guns down a white abortion-provider or white-on-white domestic violence. He does not explain political conflicts among different Latino groups or crime in Asian communities. Unity is not the same as unanimity and in the end, black people are no more disunited than any other group of people — and a lot more united than we give ourselves credit for.

First published: September 29, 2003

About the Author William Jelani Cobb is a professor of history at Spelman College.

31. Persons CLAIM that this does not exist YET when one analyses the fate and thoughts of black people it looks as if willie lynch DOES EXIST!

32. That explanation on rather The Willie Lynch Theory existed or not is very interesting indeed.It throws a different perspective on the whole issue.I love this blog not only because we bloggers could state our positions on issues, but also we could find information to educate and enlighten us.

I agreed with the professor and I always try to make the same point he made when he stated that the Black Race is no more divided than the other ethnic groups and in many instances we are more united than many of them.

I believe this Willie Lynch Theory issue should be examine to really find out if it actually existed.After reading Professor Cobb I am a bit perplexed

33. JC // February 28, 2009 at 11:58 am

Persons CLAIM that this does not exist YET when one analyses the fate and thoughts of black people it looks as if willie lynch DOES EXIST!
    ===========================

Willie Lynch and his letter, are fakes. What is not fake, is the story it told. It is a story of DIVIDE AND RULE, and this practice that is as old, as the Roman and Persian empires. Divide and Rule is in practice in every society, and within the workplace. Barbados is no exception. There are mild and accepted implimentations of it, and their are, or were some a little bit more elaborate and deliberate in their objective, whether that objective was to maintain control, dominance, or to combat stealing etc. Again none of this is peculiar to black people, and even if R.L Seale, A.S.Brydens, Plantation ltd, Cave Shepard, Julie N, and Budg Buy did this and i can make such an argument, this still does not make the case. However, if you structure your argument to say that working class people are divided and ruled over by a plethora of minority interest groups, and classes, then i think you can build an interested argument.

34. Today newpaper reports desperate Mia going forwrd with no confidence motion. She is desperate for power and Owen desperate to restart his dictatorship ah mean prime ministership.

Mia has to understand her no confidence in CLICO poses a direct threat to Barbados financial stability and thousands of jobs. This is not moderate scale stealing at Hardwood or Brewer and Hoyos forcing workers to spend Hardwood money at their restaurant. This is the wider economy.

Mia think hard about instability in our beloved country before you put selfishness first. Then again you are Rugged Mottley grand daughter and Elombe neice so you considering you and only you. Tally ho.

35. Read today Trinidad Guardian :

Lawyers and auditors are working feverishly to find out what has happened to more than $5 billion from Clico’s Statutory Fund. And irate Clico employees—who were told by the company’s newly appointed managing director, Claude Musaib-Ali on Wednesday, that they did not know where the money went and were not sure to retrieve it—are calling on their bossman and CL Financial jefe Lawrence Duprey to come clean and answer to them and their clients on where the money has gone.
    Is this Political ? – Maybe it is.