CB021105An earlier blog titled Our Doctors Can Do More To Help The People provoked heavy discussion from the BU family. BU came under heavy criticism by some who accused us of unjustly slurring that most noble profession, the medical doctor. We are therefore heartened by the feedback we have received which has been very supportive of our position.

We reiterate that Barbadians over the years have tended to focus on the rising food and petrol prices when echoing concerns about the cost of living. At the same time professional fees have been rising equally as fast e.g. doctors, lawyers, architects, surveyors, engineers to name a few. We have decided to AGAIN highlight the role doctors can play to help the PEOPLE more in the current bleak economic climate.

A BU family member who appears to be close to the medical profession has put forward the argument that doctors have to expend large sums of money to train, and expensive equipment is required to maintain an acceptable level of healthcare delivery in their private practices. Even if we accept this argument, how does one explain that we have several doctors in Barbados who own mature practices and are known to be very affluent, but do little or no pro bono work? These rich doctors continue to charge rates which show insensitivity to the current depressed economic conditions.

Against the background of a rising cost of living is it unreasonable to expect that some more than a few doctors should want to give a lot more back to the community? From the feedback we have gotten we know of a FEW doctors who charge pensioners $30-$40 for a consultation. We were even more surprise to learn of ONE doctor on the West Coast who does house calls! The reality however is that our research shows that the majority of our doctors are prepared to collude on the matter of fixing fees and gorge themselves on the fatted calf.

In light of the pressures on our healthcare system and the worsening economic climate, the Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners (BAMP) should want to mobilize some of the more affluent doctors to park their Mercedes and BMWs and commit to offering their services at reduced rates periodically. The public relations benefit pales in significance to the satisfaction of satisfying the moral law which is the underpinning of this most noble endeavour.

Have the affluent doctors in our society become so numb and insensitive to the โ€˜painโ€™ of their fellow citizens that they cannot see how their failure to do more to ease the economic โ€˜painโ€™ violates the medical professionโ€™s moral code of First Do No Harm – Primum non nocere?

On behalf of the PEOPLE we are asking DOCTORS in Barbados to do more to help the PEOPLE, we know that you can do more.

1. I wonder where Hypocrates got that oath? I wonder if it was anything like the birth of the ten commandments?

2. Thanks for your revised oath Sappy.

You do realize that this oath is not yet in vogue?

Since our doctors are not now automatically accredited by the BMA or BMC why should they abide by thier will?
    Are you suggesting that UWI change its oath?
    And if they did, why do you think that folk will abide by such any more than they observe thier marriage vows for example?

3. Georgie Porgie wrote “doctors will be expected to do refreshers as part of the licensing process. It would be interesting to see how that will be enforced.”

In Ontario refreshers (at least for nurses and maybe for doctors also) are tied to licensing. Licenses have to be renewed periodically.

No refresher.

No license.

It works every time.

4. Doc Porgie

What do we do when doctors in Barbados charge patients for reading their pap smear and other test results? Is that ethically wrong? Do the patients complain to the medical council?

5. David
    I guess they will tell you that they have charged you for a follow up visit, rather than for “reading” thier pap smear and other test results. Is that ethically wrong? I dont know who you would complain to for something like this.

6. David
    I guess that your arguement may be based in 2 Cor 3. Should we deal with the letter or the spirit of the thing. I know doctors that will call you and report normal reasults to you, but call you in to explain seriously out of order results.

7. Georgie Porgie,
    Is it you that kissed de girls and made them cry or you is de ‘calypsonian’?

You didn’t tell me if shingles can be fatal.
    I enjoy your contributions and de sometimes friendly ‘rivalry with you and de bloggers. You can hold your own so I have no fear.

GEAR BOX,
    Ya hiding or wah?
    ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

8. Bonny Peppa

Thanks for your kind remarks.
    I am definitely not de โ€˜calypsonianโ€™, nor am I the one that kissed de girls and made them cry. I will tell you now that I have not in my experience seen any girl crying when kissed. I made it a point that when my boys were growing up that they recited KISSED THE GIRLS AND MADE THEM HIGH!

Pain is usually the first symptom of shingles. For some, it can be intense, with just the slightest touch causing severe pain. Sometimes the pain can be mistaken for other problems or diseases, such as kidney stones, gallstones or appendicitis, depending on its location. Some people experience the pain without the rash, which makes diagnosing shingles more difficult. Although the shingles rash may resemble chickenpox, the virus typically causes more pain and less itching the second time around.

For about one in five people who develop shingles, the pain continues in the same spot long after the blisters have cleared. This condition is known as postherpetic neuralgia.

When you have postherpetic neuralgia, damaged nerve fibers send confused and exaggerated messages of pain from your skin to your brain. This leaves the affected area of skin sensitive to even the slightest touch. For some people, the brush of clothing or a breeze can be excruciatingly painful.

Shingles can also lead to other complications, including inflammation of the brain (encephalitis) and other neurological problems. If shingles occurs on your face, it can cause hearing problems and temporary or permanent blindness. Loss of facial movement (paralysis) is possible as well. If blisters aren’t properly treated, bacterial skin infections are another potential problem.

Encephalitis is indeed potentially fatal if not treated properly.

9. Georgie Porgie,
    ‘Kissed the girls and made them highhh? I would prefer ‘made them smile’.
    Anyway, the info was enlightening about shingles. Scary as hell too. Bonny would be DEAD from what you said if I ever contracted shingles. I cannot bear pain at all. And yes, I have children so you could imagine what ‘labour’was like for me. I had dengue a few years ago and as there’s a God looking down, I wanted to take an overdose of sleeping pills but couldn’t get any. I actually asked my son to get some for me. Too much pain for one human man.Lord a mercyyy.

10. GP

After all of that, are you saying that it is virtually impossible to die from Chicken pox/shingles? But from complications arising?

11. @ Bonny Peppa
    โ€˜made them smileโ€™ donโ€™t rhyme wid pudding and pie!

Shingles can be very painful. I once had a young patient with shingles before the rash erupted on her chest wall, and until the cardiac enzymes etc came back, we thought she had a heart attack! Of course not all cases are painful.

A good dose of dengue or break bone fever also occasions serious pain. Patients feel as though every bone in their body has been broken.

@ ROK
    I certainly did not say that it is virtually impossible to die from Chicken pox/shingles, because the complications of a disease is a result of its causation. To die from the complications of herpes zoster viral infection is to die from an infection with herpes zoster virus. The HZV is the cause of death! Similarly to die from complications of the HIV/AIDS virus is to die from an infection with the HIV/AIDS virus.

If you dont get infected with the causative agent you really cant go on to get the complications associated with the disease that the pathogen causes.

However, death from the herpes zoster virus which causes chicken pox and shingles or its complications is not all that common. But as stated previously the herpes zoster virus can cause encephalitis and death.

12. GP, thanks for the clarification.

13. Georgie Porgie,
    “made them smile’,don’t rhyme wid pudding and pie.
    Okay Porgie then we cud use smigh (new word for smile). Ya like um? Me too.
    I probably had break bone fever along wid de dengue cause I’m telling you man, I felt like a dog had pissed in my face.

14. @Doc Porgie et al

An unbelievable event is unfolding as we speak, ROK is on national radio expressing scepticism at the benefit of banning public smoking. He is not convinced that enough research has been done in Barbados to make legislation and laws relevant.

We are speechless ROK and must tell you that when you speak on health matters we may have to take it with a grain of salt:-). Not sure how the BU family will respond but if they do it will not be as passive an affair as you encountered on radio this morningโ€ฆLOL.

Look stop the smoking man you don’t need empirical data when trending identifies smoking as a legitimate indicator for lung cancer and other ailments!

15. Maybe,just maybe you all will now start to take some more of what ROK says with a pinch of salt.

I think on the whole he means well,but right now he is surprised and elated by the postive press he is getting here on BU,and so he spouts off authoratatively on every subject.

Like all who have gone this route before him, I think his 15 minutes of sunshine is about to end.

16. David

Probably ROK should read this article:

Smoking Linked to More Than Lung Cancer
    Study Shows Tobacco Smoke May Be Linked to Non-Lung Cancers More Than Thought
    By Caroline Wilbert
    WebMD Health NewsReviewed by Louise Chang, MDJan. 22, 2009 — It is widely accepted that tobacco smoke causes most lung cancer deaths. A new study shows that tobacco smoke — including secondhand smoke — may also contribute to non-lung cancers more than previously thought.

Researchers used data from the National Center for Health Statistics and concluded that tobacco smoke may have led to more than 70% of cancer deaths among Massachusetts men in 2003.

“This study provides support for the growing understanding among researchers that smoking is a cause of many more cancer deaths besides lung cancer,” says researcher Bruce Leistikow, a University of California, Davis associate adjunct professor of public health sciences, in a news release. “The full impacts of tobacco smoke, including secondhand smoke, have been overlooked in the rush to examine such potential cancer factors as diet and environmental contaminants. As it turns out, much of the answer was probably smoking all along.”

Researchers compared death rates from lung cancer to death rates from other cancers from 1979 to 2003 among Massachusetts males. Their analysis revealed that the two rates changed in tandem year-by-year from 1979 to 2003.

The researchers conclude that the close relationship between the rates suggests that they have the same cause, which is tobacco smoke.

“The fact that lung and non-lung cancer death rates are almost perfectly associated means that smokers and nonsmokers alike should do what they can to avoid tobacco smoke,” Leistikow says in the news release. “It also suggests that increased attention should be paid to smoking prevention in health care reforms and health promotion campaigns.”

In the study, published online in BMC Cancer, the researchers called for increased tobacco control efforts.

17. I dun tell wunna already that when it comes to health matters ROK is a bull shitter of the highest order.

But I didnt think that he would embarass himself o national radio so.

18. It is written: PRIDE GOETH BEFORE A FALL!

It seems that Rok’s “take” on the effects of cigarette smoking does not accord with the proven facts as recorded in the medical litterature.

Wuhloss! Murder!

19. David

I hope the point I made is not missed. I do not see how my position is so negative. We all do something that is not good for us including over-eating.

First thing to note is that there was no dispute from me on the facts of smoking. All I am saying here is that we should not go down the road of scaremongering.

If I embarassed myself on national radio, then I did not feel it. According to the statistics, there are about 27,000 smokers in Barbados. I bet most smokers think that they should not force people to inhale their smoke. Most will out their cigarette first.

Can anybody tell me that I defended smoking and smokers. I agreed with the ban in public places, I have witnessed it first hand. I agreed with the position that cigarette smoke is harmful to the body. What I was not is a hypocrite.

But this is a wider issue. This is about giving the public an opportunity to make informed decisions, and not ones based on fear or within an agenda.

I certainly defended NGOs’ right and attempt to keep the information campaign up and not as David Ellis was suggesting that they keep their campaign at this pace in order to stay alive and get funds. That was certainly not a fair comment.

I may be a smoker and I have told myself that one should not regret anything they do, but live with it and accept the consequences, but at the same time, I have to wonder what came over me the day I picked up a cigarette.

I did not embarass myself. I called for more information. If you were embarassed, I can only say you should not be. We live in a democracy and that should mean that everybody has their story and should be able to tell it.

I am sure, David, that I have seen you battle against this hysteria, when an alternative view is put to those who have such a strong belief to the contrary that they refuse to hear or even understand the other side. Intolerance!

As for taking anything I say with a pinch of salt, again that is the hysteria of those pushing an agenda, so much so that in order to push their agenda they would attempt to discredit me personally. That is how we are as Bajans.

I want all of you that driving cars to put them down like I did. I walked to VOB and walked back, refusing lifts too. So I may be smoking but I am sure that by not driving, I have at least lessened the impact of dirty air on all of you. Let’s not get overheated on the few people who may inhale my tobacco smoke.

20. GP

Even the researcher and David Ellis agreed with me openly that enough research has not gone into smoking and the effects of smoking in Barbados and indeed the tropics.

If you check the research, you will see that the biggest contributor is indoor smoking; offices, restaurants, discos, and especially in cars. Smoking in cars poses five times the risk… but you know what, they did not tell you that the risk is so high because the windows are turned up.

Now check with the Environmental Protection agency of USA. They tell you that ventillation drastically reduces the risk. Do we understand the risk when you live in a house or apartment in the cold, where the windows are never opened but people inside smoking?

We are not told these things so we go beserk at the ststistics and send people in a panic, when in truth and in fact, we have not made any consideration for our tropical environment.

Another thing for all you with new cars that get in them and turn on the air-conditioning. Well let me share this one with you:

Heat and Ultraviolet Light Trigger Pollution Inside Cars
    However, on January 11, 2006, the Michigan-based Ecology Center released a report entitled: โ€œToxic at Any Speed: Chemicals in Cars and the Need for Safe Alternatives.โ€ In this new report, researchers detail how heat and ultraviolet (UV) light can trigger the release inside cars of a number of chemicals linked to birth defects, premature births, impaired learning and liver toxicity, among other serious health problems.

Polybrominated diphenyl ethers (or PBDEs, often used as fire retardants) and phthalates (chemicals used to soften plastics) are the primary culprits. Part of the seat cushions, armrests, floor coverings and plastic parts in most car interiors, these chemicals are easily inhaled or ingested through contact with dust by drivers and passengers. The risks are greatest in summer, when car interiors can get as hot as 192ยบ F.

How Can Drivers Reduce the Risks of Pollution Inside Cars
    Motorists can lessen their risks by rolling down car windows, parking in the shade and using interior sun reflectors. But the Ecology Center is urging carmakers to stop using such chemicals in the first place. โ€œWe can no longer rely just on seatbelts and airbags to keep us safe in cars,โ€ says Jeff Gearhart, the Ecology Centerโ€™s Clean Car Campaign Director and co-author of the report. โ€œOur research shows that autos are chemical reactors, releasing toxins before we even turn on the ignition. There are safer alternatives to these chemicals, and innovative companies that develop them first will likely be rewarded by consumers.โ€

21. @ROK

Relax man we are just ribbing you a little. Just that we had to chuckle when Ellis asked you why you tried to quit 3 times:-)

22. After all of that
    Rok YOU ARE NOT AN EXPERT ON HEALTH MATTERS!

23. David,

I don’t mind the heckles, I hope the information shared was an eye opener. Other things in your car just as, or more dangerous than cigarette smoke.

24. antirok

I never said I was an expert on health matters. I am not, but I ain’t stupid either. The question is, who guards the guards.

Information is essential, it is not enough to just say that we need vaccines, it should be researched and demonstrated within our context; and we should not just sit down and accept statistics that reflects a totally different environment to ours; natural and cultural.

25. Why do we in Barbados seem to think we are unique?

26. Juris, I hope you are not referring to the call for research. Note we have to deal with research in the tropics, as I am sure you will agree that living in the tropics is different from living in the cold.

27. The province I live in has banned smoking in cars with children under the age of 16. I attended a viewing yesterday for a former colleague of my wife. This individual died as a result of lung cancer. According to my wife he wasnโ€™t a smoker but had a second job as a bartender at an establishment where smoking was once allowed and there was lots of second hand smoke. Everyone has a right to make whatever decision they want affecting their health, however your right to smoke around me ends right at the time the smoke hits my nostrils.

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/servlet/story/LAC.20090121.SMOKE21/TPStory/?query=smoking+ban+in+cars

http://www.parentcentral.ca/parent/article/575274

28. Ok ROK we will reinvent the wheel for you OK?

29. Believe me, ROK, whether you are living in the tropics or in the cold, the effect of the carcinogens in cigarette smoke om the body is roughly the same. I endorse your call for tropical research in other areas, especially dengue and diabetes.

30. @ Juris
    So the the effect of the carcinogens in cigarette smoke on the body is roughly the same but in the tropics diabetes differs?

Do explain why you want all this reserch especially in dengue. What is it you want to find?

Are you another twit out of your league?

31. No, antirok, I do not consider myself a twit. Certainly not like some others whose ambition, as judged by their pseudonym/name is solely to counter the view, whether valid or not, of another individual. It is simply that dengue is a tropical problem, and we seem in this region to have more than our fair share of diabetes incidence. That’s all.

32. Juris
    I think that antirok is saying that the findings concerning the research on diabetes worldwide is relevant to Barbados, and there is no need to reinvent the wheel, since much research on diabetes has been done in both Barbados and at UWI.

What needs to be done is the application of the research by the people fool.

You are a medical illiterate. Like Rok , you are out of your league. So adjourn, and keep quiet and let those who know what they are talking about speak, so that you can learn a bit

33. So are you saying anon, that you have to be medically literate, whatever that oxyMORON means, to put forward a view on what research is needed? And how come you are answering for antirok? Are you similarly benighted?

34. Quid dixi scripsique, dixi scripsique.

I repeat there is no need to reinvent the wheel, since much research on diabetes has been done in both Barbados and at UWI.

What needs to be done is the application of the research by the people

I am saying that IT IS VERY OBVIOUS that you do not know what you are talking about, and that like Rok you are shooting bull.

We dont need research on dengue, we need PRACTICAL STEPS TO DEAL WITH SANITATION AND KEEPING THE MOSQUITO POPULATION DOWN fool!

Instead of research we need to apply the information that has been gathered.

Any jackass can ask for research!

The Government via the Ministries of Health and Education has failed the people in the dissemination of the available information.

Both you and Rok know nothing about Public Health. Keep quiet and learn, and sto shooting bull!

35. When the government takes upon itself the righteous will to legislate against Chefette’s saturated fat, the Transport Boards toxic diesel emissions and, god forbid, the sugar industries’ refinement of obesity that is the day I will accept their right to tell any individual how to live their lives.

Until that day keep these busybodies, and their underemployed UWI “experts” out of our private lives, unless they open up their own to public scrutiny.

36. And in spite of this much research we are no better off than we were 40 years ago, anon/antirok. I trust you are not one of these UWI poseurs who are barely able to get 40% in an exam and then pretend that you know it all. But I doubt it. You are not smart enough. Do you really think that all the research that’s needed to be done has been done? By UWI? LOL!

37. This debate getting hot. What with all the name calling and references to intelligence or lack of it. Truth be told ROK does spout a lot of nonsense on the blog, I remember he stated that democracy was alive and well in Cuba, I almost fell out of my chair at that one.

38. At least in Cuba there is no pretence as to a credible opposition and the Cuban’s vote for their representative rather than a party.

Is our (or the USA’s) system really superior and able to offer a genuine alternative to the electorate.

Many would argue that the political class is so homogenous that it offers no real choice.

Different faces, but same outcome.

39. Juris

Can you cite the extent of your training in Public Health? And the school you attended?

Are you saying that the research that has been conducted on diabetes at UWI and worldwide is irrelevant to Barbados?

Are you saying that the findings of the available research on diabetes and dengue has been fully applied in Barbados, and so we need more research as the priority to deal with these problems?

Are you saying that there is adequate Public Health Education with respect to teaching our people about dengue and diabetes?

Are you saying that Ministries of Health and Education have done all they could/should in informing the people about what is known about dengue and diabetes?

Are you saying that practical steps to deal with sanitation and the reduction of the mosquito population is not necessary? And that is of paramount importance?

Are you saying that all that needs to be done is more research?

What do you have against UWI? What do you about the research done at the three centers over the course of the last 60 years? Have you heard of the discovery of veno-occlusive disease of the liver, or hypoglycin for example, or the work on sickle cell disease etc?

You asked โ€œAnd in spite of this much research we are no better off than we were 40 years ago.โ€ So are you saying that the answer is to then do more research? Instead of applying what is known?

You asked also โ€œAnd in spite of this much research we are no better off than we were 40 years ago.โ€ Yes we are. All of our public health indices have improved remarkably.

Have you ever managed a patient with diabetes in Barbados? Are you aware of the difficulties in so doing for both doctor and patient?

I think that both antirok and anon have made valuable points which you have been unable to refute. It is indeed true that, and I quote โ€ฆ..โ€ the findings concerning the research on diabetes worldwide is relevant to Barbados, and there is no need to reinvent the wheel, since much research on diabetes has been done in both Barbados and at UWI.What needs to be done is the application of the research by the people.โ€

I think that you/we can benefit from this advice.

You may now address me as antirok/anon/ UWI poseur if you so desire. But can you answer any of the questions above or bring anything of relevance to the table ?

40. OK Guys. Got the point. This comes down to policy and decision making. In particular the question of research-based policy and decision making.

In recent times we have been discussing (in national, regional and international fora) the impact of research on decision making and on policies and if the benefits of research are being passed on in legislation and policies; to the benefit of the people.

As a matter of fact, one of the planks upon which national participation by NGOs rests, is the impact of local knowledge on policy and decision making. Indeed, local knowledge is an important ingredient in gathering research data. It may be raw but it is at least an indicator.

I still think there are areas of research in which we need to indulge for ourselves if we are to make the most of our resources.

Just as an example, Let’s say we have the benefit of research about diabetes coming from a different environment. What have we done for ourselves in terms of helping people prevent the onset of diabetes? Diet, producing supplements from our own environment, etc?

You see, while there is research on the plants outside, we have none. So you will hear, for example, that artichokes good for this or that and rather than finding an alternative plant here, we start importing artichokes.

41. What have we done for ourselves in terms of helping people prevent the onset of diabetes?

EDUCATION is what we must do Rok. MORE PUBLIC HEALTH EDUCATION IS WHAT IS NEEDED !

Please kindly list the supplements and plants you propose to use in your treatment regimes.

42. anon

“EDUCATION is what we must do Rok. MORE PUBLIC HEALTH EDUCATION IS WHAT IS NEEDED !”

Well! Well! Well! I wonder what you are saying different to me.

As to the plants I need, I await your recommendation. You are the expert. I am humbly depending on you. Let’s see how much more our doctors can do.

43. Those of us that keep close tabs on various health issues have noticed that HEALTH EDUCATION are TWO BAD WORDS in BIM. The Government, the Ministry of Health, the Medical Professionals have all failed our citizens miserably when it comes to disseminating information regarding health, be it about diabetes or other ailments. They want us to believe that they care about our well being but it is absolutely clear they donโ€™t give sea crab sh**te about our health and other serious matters.

44. Sapidillo/anon

One of the things I have found strange is the lack of access to local and regional research done by the UWI. I am not sure what is available to Government but certainly to the population there is a zero.

Yet, I could go on the internet and access a whole heap of research. Is ours worth gold?

As a result of this lack of access and people complain, all cries from the profession spew out criticisms. The research is done, so how the hell anybody is to know.

Same thing with Government. When the DLP shouted that there was no research done to come to a definition of poverty, up jumps the Government, trying to make people feel that the DLP does not know what they are talking about.

I call it ambush. There is need for information disclosure not only in Government but from other responsible institutions that are in the public interests. This kind of behaviour is un-becoming.

I can think about several organisations out there who can greatly assist with public education. The Cancer Society was headed by a doctor who had inside information and look at the job they did with tobacco.

Why not make this research and information available so that more NGOs can get on board?

45. Rok
    Why you want all this acess to the research when you dont/cant use the little you all ready have effectively?

FYI regional medical research is discussed at annual symposia and the papers published in books- usually under the sponsorship of the drug houses. Try the library at the hospital or UWI library.

46. By the way you think that you or the public would understand the findings? LOl

47. So what is the purpose of research? To be wriiten up in a language few understand to say that it has been done and how industrious our doctors are? In the USA and the UK there are journalists who write up the research findings for lay people. Aren’t our doctors capable?

48. Ah ha! In the USA and the UK there are journalists who write up the research findings for lay people.

Are they any such journalists in BIm?

49. Rok/Juris

Someone just sent me this in an email.

I would like to share this interesting discovery from a classmate’s son who has just recovered from dengue fever. Apparently, his son was in the critical stage at the ICU when his blood platelet count drops to 15 after 15 liters of blood transfusion.

His father was so worried that he seeks another friend’s recommendation and his son was saved. He confessed to me that he gave his son raw juice of the papaya leaves. From a platelet count of 45 after 20 liters of blood transfusion, and after drinking the raw papaya leaf juice, his platelet count jumps instantly to 135. Even the doctors and nurses were surprised. After the second day he was discharged. So he asked me to pass this good news around.

Accordingly it is raw papaya leaves, 2pcs just cleaned and pound and squeeze with filter cloth. You will only get one tablespoon per leaf. So two tablespoon per serving once a day. Do not boil or cook or rinse with hot water, it will loose its strength. Only the leafy part and no stem or sap. It is very bitter and you have to swallow it like “Won Low Kat”. But it works.

*Papaya Juice – Cure for Dengue*

You may have heard this elsewhere but if not I am glad to inform you that papaya juice is a natural cure for dengue fever. As dengue fever is rampant now, I think it’s good to share this with all.

A friend of mine had dengue last year. It was a very serious situation for her as her platelet count had dropped to 28,000 after 3 days in hospital and water has started to fill up her lung. She had difficulty in breathing. She was only 32-year old. Doctor says there’s no cure for dengue. We just have to wait for her body immune system to build up resistance against dengue and fight its own battle. She already had 2 blood transfusion and all of us were praying very hard as her platelet continued to drop since the first day she was admitted.

Fortunately her mother-in-law heard that papaya juice would help to reduce the fever and got some papaya leaves, pounded them and squeeze the juice out for her.. The next day, her platelet count started to increase, her fever subsided. We continued to feed her with papaya juice and she recovered after 3 days!!!

Amazing but it’s true. It’s believed one’s body would be overheated when one is down with dengue and that also caused the patient to have fever, papaya juice has cooling effect. Thus, it helps to reduce the level of heat in one’s body, thus the fever will go away. I found that it’s also good when one is having sore throat or suffering from heat.

Please spread the news about this as lately there are many dengue cases. It’s great if such natural cure could help to ease the sufferings of dengue patients.

Furthermore it’s so easily available.
    Blend them and squeeze the juice! It’s simple and miraculously effective!!

50. David:

Regarding the interesting papaya leaf post above, would it be possible to invite other “bush” remedies to be submitted, maybe in a separate section, hopefully building into a valuable first aid or back-up resource.