Submitted by R. T. Luke V. Browne

cable_and_wireless-webPreviously, the LIME tree was known by a different name. Today, we recognise what was growing in our midst. It has been extracting the riches of the soil—through our human and financial resources, for example—and the harvested fruit is hidden from ordinary view, and use. Of course, the fruits have served two purposes – sweetened drink for the privileged and plant reproduction.

Here arises a problem. They who eat of the fruit have clearly consumed in excess, and are now consumed by excess. It even seems that they have ingested the seeds in large quantities, which usually has fatal consequences for the individual and company. Now poisoned, there can be no clear assessment of the business circumstances; inaccurate conclusions—that directly affect the lives of thousands across the region—have followed. As fruits spoil, the world lacks. All for greed and plunder.

Indeed, the tree has impoverished the soil, without replenishing it. Here is another twist to a sour Caribbean tale.

Substitute ‘LIME’ for ‘Sugar’

Eric Williams may have easily written on the future of the Caribbean, by making only minor changes to his work on history.

Through Williams, we learn that:

The history of the Caribbean is dominated by the history of sugar, which is inseparable from the history of slavery; which was inseparable, until recently, from the systematic degradation of workers in the region.

If sugar(cane) is no longer associated with the degradation of workers, through LIME slavery and such degradation seem to be alive – in a blink workers lose status, reputation and self-esteem. LIME—either as previously or currently constituted—has been with us for almost as long as sugar. The Caribbean had the most profitable of Cable and Wireless operations, and it led to a clash of colonial masters. The wounded ruler now transforms itself to, in their words, “regain what is rightfully ours.” Nothing has changed except ‘LIME’ for ‘sugar’, ‘sour’ for ‘sweet’.

The word is that regional governments support the new twist. We would expect this behaviour from a very close relative. LIME and our governments have followed a very similar evolutionary path, albeit in different realms. Observe the move from colonial rule to apparent self-determination. In neither case does the shift bring the independence imagined or expected. Or, at least, the separation comes because the juice is running out. Wasn’t political independence a subtle imposition when the colonies were becoming less profitable? Doesn’t the old order still reign?

There may be another relative. How is it that Cable and Wireless would adopt the same name carried by LIAT’s magazine? Have they resorted to plagiarism? Is this to say that it has been learning lessons from LIAT’s pages? Maybe so: both roam the region, and both have been criticized for exploitation and poor service.

Trampling on the Soil

Without visible manifestation, a fall in harvest is reported. Once more, the company tramples on the soil from which it has drawn nourishment, only to mild protest. Thankfully, everyone is not silent. Sir Roy Trotman of Barbados, according to media reports there, said that LIME was: “insisting that it should dump staff without properly expressed justification and without adequate consultation.” Sir Roy also reveals that they trample on a soil that recently allowed them to draw US$ 91 million profit. The argument of economic difficulty falls out. They have not followed the protocols; they have not looked for alternative arrangements that would save jobs. How “brutal and brutish.”

Only in the imagination is something wrong with the soil; the technology doesn’t demand a move towards a soilless medium. No need to shed 1,200 of the 3,700 employed in Caribbean operations. They have no right to move away from our soil culture and still enjoy our water, sunshine and air.

Consider this from the standpoint of the worker. You are going to work, daily, not sure of your fate – afraid, intimidated, helpless. You are tortured, human rights are violated. The inmate on death row for too long, who we may imagine as having an axe over his head, is freed of execution on human rights grounds. What of the law abiding and faithful worker? Do we allow him to be executed? Will another worker cry?

Isn’t the tree supposed to keep the soil together? Isn’t it supposed to prevent erosion? Without roots, the sand may become loose and may be easily washed away. We cannot afford this. They haven’t kept us connected.

The Plant is Diseased

Often, corruption and depletion of the soil comes from the plant. LIME’s approach is especially perverse in St. Vincent and the Grenadines (SVG), where it attempts to impose fundamental changes to the local culture. They create unemployment so that their “lyming” and “boozing” ideas may flourish – must Vincentians embrace time wasting and drunkenness as LIME encourages? Everything under the new direction seems to be a carnival or a lottery. Also, what subliminal messages do you send when you say that “talk is cheap”?

While “lyming” you could win a million. But, who could be a “merry millionaire” when the neighbours, friends and family, are ill, hungry and jobless? We do not know if they would survive. What about a million for saving jobs, for rewarding hard work? What about a million for medical equipment? How many have you exploited to give a million? Of course, the million serves the capitalist interest. Just as Stanford’s millions were self-serving.

The truth is, less is wrong with the soil than with the plant. It is diseased. Among its problems is a persisting inefficiency in this new age of competition. A plant, by its deeper roots, may better absorb nutrients, though it is less efficient at fruit development. Often, therefore, survival through capitalist “competition” cannot be defended.

The Oasis in an Arid Land

Since competition, it appears that the sun shines on LIME too brightly. It adjusts to the “desert” conditions. Where there were leaves, there are now thorns. The change is necessary to preserve water and to protect from “stray” animals, like the “stray” animal of West Indies Cricket. An animal that defined us, and now defends us. As the thorns develop, they say: we have done enough for you. Hamilton Lashley, an independent member of the Barbados Parliament, captures the sentiment:

These conglomerates, which setup here after getting so many concessions, make huge profits and then behave as if they have done the region a favour… They need to give back more… the sponsorship they give sometimes is merely a tax write-off down the road.

Lashley is right, since animals may aid your seed dispersal. If the tree with thorns is more productive, it is less desirable.

The top LIME planter in SVG also presides over the development of all fruit trees there. He has an objective. From this seat, he may cover up the mess he has been making. LIME hopes that transparent attempts to manipulate—even control—the media also work. Give a phone to everyone, and no one would say a word. So let’s clip the roots and cut the stems of all other plants. The idea is to reduce competition, to reduce the diversity. They seem to declare: We will be the oasis in an otherwise arid land.

1. @ Disturbed Employee

How long have you been employed by LIME?
    ……A new process and new people implementing the process accross the board and operating in a totally different environment. What C&W did 8 years ago bears no relevence to what LIME is doing now;

I beg to differ. The faces may be new but the attitudes remain the same.

2. Disturbed Employee Avatar
    Disturbed Employee

We all know the attitudes are the same…your point?

Anyhow…It is 16:15 PM Jan 29th and the Contact Centre staff have been officially that told that tomorrow is their last day. No word yet from their representatives about what will be done and work continues as usual at LIME!

I believe that LIME has succeeded in what they have set out to do. Next union meeting that I will attend I will be wearing mourning colours!

3. M point is that this was the MO of C&W for years, nothing has changed in terms of how they deal with staff.
    You, on the other hand seems to think it started in your time.

‘Next union meeting that I will attend I will be wearing mourning colours!

Perfect !!…..the Union, as it should be, died years ago.

4. *My..

5. It is funny to note certain things. The first is that many of you call for boycotting LIME. I am yet to see this unfold. As a former CSR for the new LIME, I would have heard many people call to comment on the poor service that they get from the company, even on Down to Brasstacks you have complained. Yet no action.

Secondly we received our letters from a manager who could not make eye contact with her staff. The same one who was on brasstacks misleading the public with garbage spewing from her mouth.

The last update we got was that the union called the PM and he in turn was to call the company. We will see what tomorrow holds.

6. @ Disturbed employee

LOL at you wearing mourning colours to a union meeting. Remember when we leave tomorrow all the other companies who want to let go of their staff will follow suit. There won’t be a need for the union then!

7. General Lee // January 29, 2009 at 1:47 pm

The birth of the social partnership precipated the slow death of the trade union movement.

In this partnership, the interests of workers and consumers are nothing more than an afterthought on the agenda.

So true GL……..so damn true!!

8. Proof that LIME is lying to the public about following the agreed process and procedure. Please see below excerpt from a letter from the PM to the C.E.O of LIME Mr. Dodd dated 30th Jan 2009:

I believe that at our last meeting we agreed to a transparent process regarding this matter. That process should be governed by the tenets of the Protocol government social partnership relations in Barbados.

“…It would set an unfortunate and untenable precedent, which I would certainly be unable to defend or uphold and would not be likely to do so, should LIME agree to that process and then unilaterally proceed to take actions inconsistent with a that agreed process.

I highly recommend that you honor that process”

Lets watch and see what happens next.

Word is that FCIB and Scotia are watching closely at how these evens unfold…

Bajans watch out!

The staff from the Contact Centre have been told by the company NOT to return to work on Monday!

9. Mrs. Take Action Avatar
    Mrs. Take Action

I think we as Bajans are to passive. That’s why we talk all over our faces, mumble and grumble in secret but yet still suffer and endure these things…

Is it not time we take a stance! Mr. Dodd has sought to come into this lil island of ours and do as he pleases! He has basically disregarded all due process and ignored the highest level of negotitaion there is within our country, i.e the Office of the Prime Minister. It’s basically a ‘slap-in-the-face’ to the BWU, the recognised bargaining unit for teh employess. When will we let others know that this is NOT ACCEPTABLE!!!! I say take action……NOW!

10. It is Monday Morning, and despite stern warnings from the PM about them not following due process, LIME has closed the doors of their Contact Centre. Despite the fact that on December 24th 2008 they agreed that they have not followed correct procedure and that they promise to do so…they have refused to continue the process with the union and have repeatedly lied to the press saying that they are still confident that themselves and the union can come to an agreement knowing full well that they have not been meeting with the union since December 24th.

On Friday LIME sent press releases to the various media houses announcing the sacking of the 115 employees who were employed by the Centre. According to my calculations they have another 135 workers to sack in the coming weeks. No procedure followed before and no procedure will be followed now.

We as Barbadians must come together to protect our jobs. There must always be some discussion about Job retention in these economic times, especially when sending home numbers like 250.

How long do you think our economy can survive if unemployment rates continue to soar?

ITS TIME TO WALK WITH LIME

11. @Investigator

“Word is that FCIB and Scotia are watching closely at how these evens unfold…”

Dude there are at least 8 other major companies that are watching closely hoping to be able to do the same think LIME wants to do.

Is this the Union meltdown??

12. @ So.ur

Maybe it is. Since the announcement of the Contact Centre’s closure to the press on Friday, a guard with a baton has been placed outside its doors!

13. Not only a guard outside the doors, employee passes have been deactivated and an extra guard stands at the gate checking employees to see where they are going. An early notice found on the door said “…check with HR if the passes do not work”.

I heard Julian Rogers stating boldly today that we the employees should not be on the compound. What Mr. Rogers need to understand is that these letters of termination are null and void because they were given in the middle of negotiations AND the letter doesn’t state that we the employees are being made redundant.

Rumour has it that severence cheques are being sent by couriers!!!!!

Let us see what tomorrow holds. For some unknown reason our PM is asking for time as he awaits the “Great Pluthero’s” arrival. (Will he actually come? considering the disregard for this country’s laws)

14. I wonder if Bobby and Trotman oops Sir Roy watching these developments.

Oh Lord I forgot there are not non nationals there are bajans!

15. Oh! Don’t forget the guard posted by the HR department! LOL!

16. Well Well Well, What has employee relations come to in BIM that we have to be subject to these horrible tactics. As an employer who has had a relationship with an employee for sometimes 30 and 40 years, I would be shame to bring a guard with a baton to keep them out.

17. We are not understanding the series of events which occurred today. LIME through its Corporate Communications Consultant has clearly indicated that there is no work for the contact centre employees and as outlined in the collective bargaining unit the company proceed to issue severance payment to the affected employees. Since the BWU has not responded can we assume that the employees have no case and the company is within its right to secure its premises from the ex-employees?

18. @ David…

Trust me, it is as you say.

The Union always coming in with this nonsense when they know full well that they have already sold out the workers.

Why do you think they are silent??

5 years ago, this shit was also going on and the Union did fuck all to help the workers, myself included, so I know exactly what I am talking about here.

C&W then, were supposed to see if any workers could be retained, albeit in another capacity, rather than lay offs….they didnt and the Union did nothing.

We got our dismissal letters on the Wednesday and were told Friday was our last, this is a fact!!

These were guys with over 15 years in the company.

All this time, tell me what the Union was doing?

Does it really surprise anyone, the state of affairs we have now?

When they got rid of the Operators as we knew them, it was to bring in this “Contact Centre’ crap where you could pay them much less for the same work.

All this time, the writing was on the wall but the Union did nothing.
    When they did act though, was when the redundancy started to affect the shop stewards and close friends, then they sprang into action, strike here, meetings here in the hot sun…all the trimmings, PM jumping in at the last minute, Trottie looking like the white knight.
    All along behind the scenes, shit happening and plans being made with their knowledge.

It pains me to see what is happening to the workers and it is even worse knowing that their representatives are just gutless creatures who let this situation get way out of hand from the start, more than 10 years ago.

19. @ Technician

“Contact Centre” crap ????

Bet there are more qualified persons in that same contact centre than you !!! Of that I’m SURE!!!1

20. @ Technician….I agree!!!!

I do not usually agree with your comments but what you said is so true. The union told to works to come to work on Monday after being told that they were made redundant on Thursday! The union has been arguing for jobs when the company has made it abundantly clear that they will be cutting 250 workers like it or not!

The union has not yet discussed the terms of severence for the 115 employees. As Sir Roy put it “This is a fight about process and procedure” . The union knew full well that (S)LIME had no intention of retaining these workers or deploying them to other departments. In my opinion the union had 4 months to come up with an action plan and I believe that the union should have engaged LIME in discussions about how to help these workers transition into a hostile economical environment such as this months ago. BUT NO, Sir Roy talked about re-opening contact centre and brining it back here when he knew full well that this was never ever going to happen.

The company has failed the workers, disrespected the labour process and the PM.

The Union has failed the workers by not fighting for their interest and fighting for their own agenda! I will not cry down the shop stewards because I believe that they do their best but the executive commitee of union should have done better for the workers….cause in the end they were the ones who were screwed!!!!

Late December 08 the Company conceeded to the fact that they did not follow the correct procedure for the closure of the contact centre. The PM also stood behind the union on this fact. The company agreed to follow the process and continue discussions. They wrote the staff on December 30th the company wrote the staff and told them negotiations are still continuing and they will communicate to them the final status of these discussion in the near future. The staff never received word from the union or the company on what was happening until Jan 28th when they were told that the next day would be their last. Instead the CEO went to the press and made his announcements. The reason why the staff heard nothing is simply because the BWU and LIME have not met since December 24th.

The end result….the staff look like fools outside the locked doors while the rest of the company conducts business as usual, the company has created a hostile environment by placing a guard outside the doors with a baton. Sir Roy is out the island and the Union is saying nothing to the public.

21. firstlady // February 2, 2009 at 10:25 pm

@ Technician

“Contact Centre” crap ????

Bet there are more qualified persons in that same contact centre than you !!! Of that I’m SURE!!!1
    —————————————————————

You obviously took my comments out of context.
    I am not criticizing the individual workers of the Contact Centre, I am criticizing the Company in the way they created it and the reasons they did.

I will not even bother with your last comment as I think it was said out of the anger created because of the ‘out of context’ view of my post.

What I will say to you and others, is that it is not the end. This situation will show your true potential as it has done for me. You will be surprised.

22. @ first lady….

The Contact Center in my opinion was crap…not because of the workers in it, who I know are qualified intelligent hard working individuals, but becuase of the crappy way it was managed from begining to end.

It was an entity opened to exploit the workers…nothing more nothing less!

23. @ THE PROPHET // February 2, 2009 at 8:09 am

No it is not time to talk with LIME! It is time to show them what their former slogan “Power To The People” means!

As the outcast that I am I don’t need faulty netspeak or adsl service, nor do i need a postpaid service which incidently has risen in cost since the name change.

24. @ Investigator // February 3, 2009 at 6:08am

Could it be that he “Sir” is always travelling?????

25. What we don’t understand is why the union members/shop stewards in the other divisions of LIME have not joined in solidarity with the contact centre employees.

26. Heard the PM today stating that he will be meeting with the head of the gang (remember massa day aint done)

27. @ David…

Apparently the PM have asked the Union to show restraint. The company refused to continue negotiations and referred the matter to the PM and then they sacked the workers before they could meet with the PM for his intervention. The PM has since asked the Union not to follow the same path as the company and to show some restraint until he meets with Lime executives today…..the workers apparently are waiting anxiously for the call and they have been ready to walk since monday.

28. We wanted to walk since last month. but of course we had to adhere to “the process”.

I wonder when immigration will begin to investigate those workers in the company without work permits starting with the bold and outright Mr. Dodd.

29. @All… For the record…

I have been receiving several reports of both LIME landline and mobile telephony issues this morning.

Interestingly, I have not received any reports of Internet (read: ADSL) issues.

Things which make you go “hummm…”

30. Devils advocate Avatar

Well you never know…the workers maybe under so much pressure and stress that someone may have just made a careless mistake. Oops 🙂

As for this whole contact centre mess…

60 staffers accepted their packages leaving some being kept and only 41 left awaitng the conclusion of this mess. The 41 that are left are now tired…especially now since they have been asked to come outside a closed work place every day, feeling some what humiliated and angry at the company, also angry at the union for not being realistic and fighting for what they really wanted in the first place.

The numbers are dwindling in the heat of the day and the workers sprit have been broken. Those strong in the union accuse the others of giving up without a fight but somehow I feel the union knew that the workers were going to leave and this is probably what the union wanted.

They knew they could not fight for jobs but they kept fighting for jobs that were already gone, the staff wanted better terms of seperation, knowing that most of them would be going home with “change” to say the least but no they wanted to prolong it as long as possible. Every day the staff compliment got less and less until most of them left. The union looks like valiant protectors of JOBS and the staff were f**ked royally! By BOTH THE UNION AND THE COMPANY !!

31. @Devils advocate: “The numbers are dwindling in the heat of the day and the workers sprit have been broken. Those strong in the union accuse the others of giving up without a fight…

I’m sorry to be Machiavellian here…

But… if the “workers” are not willing to fight for their own jobs, why should anyone else care?

@Da: “…the heat of the day…

There’s this cool technology called an umbrella…

Perhaps those who were to find themselves on this particular battlefield (or supporting same) might have foreseen the reality of solar energy, and invested in this said technology….

(Sigh…)

32. something i have noticed and have just thrown out there … not once has the management and supervisors have been contact about the work ethics of some of these said workers in the now defunct contact centre,which means that they have all been painted with the same (get rid of them buggers)brush .. i worked there and in the interest of helping some of these customers who when they get to talk to an agent ,would start off with a barrage of harsh words and then tell you** oh you work for the company so you got to take it ** some of these young ladies were brought to tears on many occasions but still did what they had to .. to get the callers issue resolved … but not once was there consultation with management to ask about these ” dedicated workers ” … the HR dept also has records because there was numerous evaluations done, i guess when you are up on a certain rung of the ladder these things are not as important ….. peace ..

33. @ Observer…..

RLMAO…LOL….WTF !!

You worked there and still asked that question???

The best Technicians (seriously….no pun here) were sent home long ago.

Guys who went beyond the call, worked hard as hell, studied to keep up with changing technology, did all and then some of anything asked of them. Is it any wonder why the service is the way it is now.

HR has records????

So?

4 years ago, Management were supposed, by the advice of the BWU, to see if any workers who were picked to be sent home could have been integrated into the company in different capacities.
    This was NEVER done!!

Let HR bring their records and I will bet ALL my pension @ Sagicor, that people were HIRED AFTER others were made redundant to do jobs that could have been done by the Techs whose positions were made redundant.

The BWU were / are aware of this and did f#*k all about it and now want people to stand in the hot ass sun….for what?!?

You are soooo right though,,,,the suck ups and kiss asses have remained to tow the line but every dog will have it’s day.

34. Devil's Advocate Avatar
    Devil’s Advocate

It is not that the workers do not want to fight for their jobs. What jobs? Anyone who has read employment law or this same social partnership agreement would see clearly that when A company has made up in their mind you got to go you got to go. The Centre closed a long time ago, so the Union is barely fooling the public bout this fight for jobs crap. They should fight for something better for the employees that have to go, as they have done in the past. Plain and simple. The union asking the staff to come bout there and knowing full well that the rest of the company can not join them is a JOKE.

35. @Devil’s Advocate

Let us accept that what you are saying is true, it does them place the Prime Minister as participant in the game being played given how his recent talks was ended recently with C&W executives.

36. Devil's Advocate Avatar
    Devil’s Advocate

This is a possiblility. I believe the PM also has his agenda but I believe he has to. After all he must look as if he is trying to protect jobs. He can also only act based on the information fed to him he has come in at a late stage of the game and only a person who has been part of this union and contact centre battle would fully understand why fighting for the centre to remain open is as unrealistic as hoping for money to fall from the sky.

As for the meeting with LIME’s execs. The staff have been informed that they are still employed by LIME until a resolution comes about. Still yet they have not been informed if they are to return to work or stay at home as the centre remains closed.

37. STATISTICS ………..thats all it is !!!!!
    i was giving some nudges to read some reports and articles about call centre operations …. it is plan to see that anyone going the route of calling a particular arm of there business a “call centre ” mainly looking at ” STATISTICS ” ….. it has nothing to do with customer satisfaction .. if that happens then that is a bonus … this part of the business should be called ( get this) .. *** MAKE CONTACT WITH THE CUSTOMER CENTRE *** cause thats all the decision makers would want yuh to do .. (1) listen to the caller (2) take a contact (3) tell then someone will get back to them shortly . >> the guidelines given to the workers in these centres are not adequate to provide “TOP CLASS CUSTOMER SERVICE”

38. Upset with LIME? NOW you have a choice…Its a clear choice…www.talkbajan.com Superior Quality, Superior Customer Support, SUPERIOR PRICING…We are trying to help, but we can’t do it without YOU!

39. […] The Barbados Workers Union has shown a weakness to date when negotiating with LIME. Remember the closure of the Contact Centre which was not suppose to […]