Florida as imaged by NASA's Terra satellite

Over the years a few Barbadian fat cats have been known to have invested in timeshares in the United States. Some have purchased condominiums and other properties. Some people say that some of our Barbadian merchants have been able to setup a web of companies over the years to manage their operations, the result, a redirecting of funds which should be legally destine for Barbados but remain in offshore accounts.

The rise of an affluent and credit worthy middleclass in Barbados in the last fifteen to twenty years has seen an increase in investments over seas by ordinary Barbadians. We suspect that the Central Bank of Barbados maybe alarm at the significant offshore holdings of Barbadians if it were possible to check or is it?

The current economic climate in the United States and the collapsed housing market according to local media reports has attracted the attention of Barbadians investors. A recent report in the Nation newspaper has highlighted high interest in acquiring real estate in Florida, some Barbadians have already signed on the dotted line.

Here is what BU family member Tony Hall has to say on this recent development:

I think Bajans should pay attention to the below article and tread carefully before a decision is made. This reminds me of a company called General Development Corporation, based at the time in Florida which many Bajans and West Indians in the USA fell prey to in the 80s and 90s.The land was very cheap but the developers never told the purchasers that utility lines for connection to gas, water and electricity were far from the land and that these three major utilities combined would cost as much as the value of the land to install.

Let us see if some worthwhile comments can be elicited.

The BU household has nothing against middleclass Barbadians investing to secure their financial future but they should try to do so from an informed position. The little we know about the Florida real estate market suggests that although land can currently be purchased at bargain prices it is extremely costly to build along with the several other legal requirements which makes home ownership in the United States a tricky undertaking.

Barbadians BEWARE!

Nation Article

IT MAY SOUND TOO GOOD to be true, but offers of land in Florida – far cheaper than in Barbados – have not got a number of Barbadians showing interest in the 10 000-square-foot lots advertised for sale in Lake Placid.

According to Harry Martinez, marketing manager of Placid Lakes Development Inc., “not everyone who comes by or calls has made an appointment but we already have seven or eight sales yesterday [Tuesday], and we anticipate at least 15 to 20 sales before I leave [tomorrow]”.

International Preferred Enterprises Inc. (IPE), the parent company, is a Florida-based real estate company specialising in homesite sales exclusively in Placid Lakes, since 1971.

The foreclosure lots going at the “unbelievable” price of US$1.50 (BDS$3) a square foot were advertised in the local media by IPE.

The advertisement said: “All lots 75 feet above sea level and already subdivided with no time limit to build. Financing provided – deeded freehold and at prices limited and subject to prior sale.”

Martinez said a little over 100 lots were left and that the term “subject to prior sale” meant that “we don’t have that many lots that are on foreclosure”.

“These lots at these prices mean somebody else owned them and we had to take them back because of divorce, death or not making their payments.”

He added the company had agents in other areas like Trinidad and Tobago, throughout South America, England and Canada.

Developed lots

“So those 100 lots are divided up between different agents. There, we have fully developed lots where there are home sites. You can build your homes in the future if you want to . . . .

“Most of the clients are foreigners; so we have it packaged for them. We will provide financing for them with the deposit for the basic lots which are 10 000 square feet,” he said.

Asked how could he prove the sale was not a scam, Martinez said: “To prove that this is not a scam, we are in the Better Business Bureau [North America] and as land sales are listed as a highly regulated industry, we work closely with the [US] government and other regulatory agencies.

“Buying this land is better than the stock market. When the stock market drops you lose everything, but land you can keep. It never does devalue, it usually appreciates,” he said.

1. @damned

sorry if we scared you!

2. I have been living in Florida for 6 years now almost, and I have been reading intensely about Real Estate in the USA for almost 20 years.

One must be extremely careful of buying undeveloped land in Fl; it might very well be filled in swamp land. In addition the amount of permits you must get to build on a lot is phenomenal. It would be easier to buy a house especially now with all the foreclosures about.

3. With respect to tv ads by Carlton Sheets and others, and even Robert Allen, you will find that a lot of thier so called sucesses occured in Indianna, Ohio, Pensylvannia and states where there is a lot of depressed real estate because workers were laid off in large numbers during the last 20-30 years.

If you check Ebay Real Estate you will never find anything close to a bargain in FL. Anything close to a bargain is snapped up by the top investers and either flipped or wholesaled as handy man specials.

There is another chap advertising about tax liens and tax sales, but all reports suggest he is fraudulent. Money can be made in tax liens and tax sales etc but, you will find that you cant compete with the experts in these fields.

Beware of the many “FREE” advertised seminars and conference calls, the intent of which is always to get you into costly boot camps costing from 3000-8000 with no guarantee of anything.

4. @GP

Thanks for your comments. We continue to harp on the inadequacy of our media reporting. The story quoted above never balanced the article by alerting Bajans to the dangers of purchasing land in the USA and especially Florida.

Barbadians are suppose to be educated. It seems appropriate that a fool and his money are soon parted.

5. BU,
    I am pleased that you took note of my email and put the information on the blog. This past Sunday one of my close friends called me to enquire about the properties she saw advertised. She apparently has some “free” money which she was willing to plough in that project.She had already contacted the developers, they sent her pictures of the “so called” land and she was ready to wire the down payment to them. I urged her to called them to enquire about permits and the distance the utility connections were from the said land. Conversing back and forth with them she realised that the company was not forthcoming. Therefore, erring on the side of caution she decided to withdraw her decision to purchase.

6. One has to be careful doing business with anyone advertising in the USA by so called direct mail. It once used to be done by US mail, but is now sone by email and by tv ads by the more astute or wealthy scam artists.

They plan to get a 1% response. Thats all they need for a major profit, because they are playing a numbers game.

With respect to investing in real estate in the USA most of the texts will tell you not to invest in raw or undeveloped land. Such investing is for folk with lots of money and know how.

These so called developers know that the land that they are trying to sell to folk overseas wont be bought by local folk because the locals can go to view the land easily, and any one locally who they might easily duped into doing so,wont have the money to buy such land anyway. Folk who are really into real estate know the ropes of how money is made in real estate in thier neck of the woods.

BAJANS AVOID THIS SCAM AND THANK BU & TONY HALL FOR MAKING YOU AWARE OF IT.

7. As a former Florida resident and landowner perhaps I can give you some perspective.

First, it’s appalling that someone would try to sell real estate in the current market with the statement that “[land] never does devalue, it usually appreciates,” . That is flat out wrong and represents the same myopic attitude that created the real estate bubble in the US that recently burst. Property values have declined precipitously in several of the states with the biggest bubbles. California and Florida are the two worst. Do your research. People in these states are literally walking away from their houses because they owe so much more than the current value of the property. If you absolutely are determined to buy US real estate, pick up one of these foreclosed houses in an already developed area, for a fraction of its original cost.

Second, I’m somewhat familiar with the location in question. Call it up on Google maps and tell me what you see. Nothing. It’s far from any of the major Florida population centers and development. That would be fine if you wanted to be isolated and quite distant from major facilities like shopping, medical, entertainment, etc. The closest towns are *tiny*. There is a reason this is one of the least developed areas of an incredibly over-developed state.

This is one of the most desolate areas in Florida. Again, I strongly recommend you search for it using Google maps. Then look for what is close by. (It would be well over an hour drive to either coast, BTW).

8. Georgie Porgie,
    You must also be compliment on your input in this discussion, but it is sad that the Nation reporter who did the story did not do some investigative reporting and look at the “cons” of this company. I am sure that this discussion will make Bajans open their eyes and think twice before getting involved with this company.Sometimes I believe that a lot of local reporters suffer from an inferiority complex rather than the lack of investigative skills.

9. Cant we just buy the land and bring it to Barbados just as we do with other things that we go to Miami and buy ?

10. Asiba – don’t forget that we are only allowed about 50lbs now.

From the time i saw it, the ad reminded of one of those nigerian to good to be true emails.

11. Forgive us if we ask why and What.

Why did the Nation publish the story?

What motivated the Fontebelle editors?

Was it done as a public service or was there monetary inducement?

12. Probably a monetary inducement because it it were done as a public service gesture the “pros” and “cons” of the story would have been investigated.

13. POOR RAKEY !!!!

14. Boy buffalo souldier you killing me with laughter.
    By the way, you cant get pass customs with mud.

On a more serious note though. Tax leins and tax deeds are a sure way to invest without loosing your money. You either get your investment along with a bit of interest back or you end up with the whole hog (house) if the owner can’t come up with the cash to pay their taxes. The tax lein certificate you bought from the county entitle’s you to the ownership when the deliquent client is in default and does not pay.

But again, a bit of research is necessary. Before you purchase you’ll need to know whether the area is good or not. Meaning schools, drugs etc.

The good news is that all these great resourses can be found on the internet meaning you don’t have to leave your house to find them.

Tax leins can be found for as little as a few hundred dollars up to hundreds of thousands of dollars.

Do some research and dive in. This economic climate beacons you to invest.

Hope I have helped guys.

Blessed day to yalllll.

15. Thanks to all of you for this information.

I have been contemplating for years whether to put some hard earned money in Florida land as advertised in our local newspaper.

After reading the above quotes, I now know what to do.

Thanks again.

Eddie

16. Once again the power of the blog has been proven. Thanks BU.

17. Barbados sweet and pretty pretty
    I LOVE IT
    Just go down to independence square at nite —-just drive along the south and west coast—-Barbados is so pretty -WOW !
    galong to florida who ever want to
    I cant stop yuh but I too LOVE Bim.

18. We are told that p.17 of the yesterday’s Nation newspaper has a fairly large advertisement of property for sale in Central Florida.

BUYER BEWARE!!!

19. This company is now advertising in the papers in Jamaica. Thanks for the insight. Sad that they try to con you out of your dollar. not much information you could even get on the company.