Amanda Lynch-Foster, Interim President of BAJ
Amanda Lynch-Foster, Interim President of the BAJ

It is no secret that BU has flogged our media houses (Fourth Estate) with impunity in recent months. Part of our criticism would have been leveled at the non-functioning Barbados Assocoation of Journalists (BAJ). In other words we have had the ridiculous situation of our journalists not being represented by a functioning body while our wayside vendors have expertly managed their affairs through BARVEN.

We are therefore very pleased to hear about the effort to revive the hibernating BAJ over the weekend as reported in todays Nation newspaper. The President (interim) is the young energetic Amanda Lynch-Foster.

We wish the interim committee of the BAJ all the best.

We can’t promise we will not be critical of the Fourth Estate going forward, we promise however to be fair. We hope that with a functioning BAJ those on the committee responsible for PR will find the time to establish a protocol to improve the relationship between the Bajan Blogosphere and media practitioners in Barbados.

120 responses to “Barbados Association Of Journalists (BAJ) Resuscitated”

1. Interesting that we don’t have any of the old guard on the interim committee. Maybe its a good thing know?

2. wow! So what will happened if the C.O.P treats to this new formed Union for Journalist like how corporate Barbados often treated the BWU? Wunnuh remember how Miss Ram and Furniture Limited laughed at Bobby Clarke’s Industrial and General Workers Union?

De C.O.P could simply restate his intent of speaking to Media Managers, not the BAJ or this new BAJ wunnuh be.

3. It took an incedent like this for BAJ to regroup. There are many other instances when this should have happened but the media turned a blind eye. Just because it hits home, it interests them, this is selfishness.As soon as this matter is resolved, or desolved, the BAJ will again become dormant and the media would be chubby with the poilce again until something else flairs up. Jokers. If you want my support, and respect, give me your support and respect.Simple.

4. BAJ
    There has been another guyanese murdered in Barbados. You want the public support? do some investigation journalism and report on the declining climate between the locals and guyanese. Maybe you would be stepping on Ms Gibbs ans Mr singh’s feet but that is what makes a true journalist.

5. @The Scout

Give the new committee a chance. We have to move forward. A good place to start if to give them some support in the honeymoon period.

6. Listen, – but you’re not going to like it. It’s too right to be wrong…

If you were born and lived all your life in a goldfish bowl… not matter how many books you read – your mind won’t grow. You take the info you’ve gleaned and, looking at the world through a paper tube – you can only “apply” what you’ve read in a constricted, shallow way.

This is why the ‘scholars’ coming off Cave Hill remain short-sighted. All they can see and all they know is the room in which they live. They have never seen a mountain.

And this is the problem. It’s called ‘small island syndrome.’ And things will remain the way they are. The only hope is travel… to meet other people, see different things, experience ‘the world.’ And if we cannot go to the mountain – the mountain can come to us… but the ‘authorities’ don’t want it… the very fertilizer that will grow us – i.e. other ethnicities with their various riches… are blocked from integrating with us.

etc/ etc.

7. The Way is is wrote “If you were born and lived all your life in a goldfish bowl… not matter how many books you read – your mind won’t grow.
    This is why the ’scholars’ coming off Cave Hill remain short-sighted.
    And this is the problem. It’s called ’small island syndrome.’ The only hope is travel… to meet other people, see different things, experience ‘the world.’

Ms Lynch-Foster is young and curious and no doubt still has some travelling to do, it is after all a big world. But you do know don’t you that she is BOTH well educated and well travelled (and yes she has been to more than one ACTUAL mountain tops). You do know that she earned a master’s degreee from a university “over in away” and that she earned it on one of the THREE graduate scholarships she was offered that year, including acceptance to the graduate school New York University among many others.

8. Dear Scout:

I asked yu before Christmas if you as a CHRISTIAN (I am one too) are comfortable with cocane dealing policemen?

Wuh happen that you ain’t answer yet?

9. Thanks for that comment J. We think she is the most academically qualifies to lead the BAJ to date. We believe her biggest challenge will be how she exerts the best leadership skills in her role as interim President given the challenges she will have to confront from peers, employer and the public at large. Like Obama she will need a supportive team.

10. Dear J
    I don’t make New Year’s resolutions but I would break with tradition next year and thus practice the skill as from now. My New Year’s resolution for next year is to restrict my comments and blogs with sensible people and while not being rude( i apologise if I am) you don’t fix that billing. I’m sorry for being so blunt but PLEASE have a healthy New Year.

11. David
    I wish the young lady well but I don’t plan to wrap her up in swaddling bands or cotton wool. She has to prove herself and in proving herself, she has to have the support of the media at large. As I’ve stated before, when the media can learn to respect the public, then the public would respect them. Again I state, if any of my family, relatives or close friends are in a compromised position e.g serious accident, or uncontrolled grieving etc. and a camera man or a reporter/ journalist tries to barge in to take a photo or interview just for a story to sell their paper, they would get a story but it wouldn’t be the one they came for.

12. Scout, Scout:

A “Christian” like you threatening violence??????

Shame, shame, shame.

13. Dear the way it is you wrote “It’s called ’small island syndrome.’ ”

I put it to you that there is no such thing as “small island syndrome”.

However there are small minds, and some of the smallest minds and some of the least traveled people live on some of the biggest continents.

Does the name George Bush mean anything to you? I believe that before he became President he had only once traveled to Mexico.

Does the name Sarah Palin mean anything to you? Even though on a clear day she may be able to see Russia from her kitchen door, I don’t believe that she was ever curious enough to go there or anywhere else.

Dear the way it is:

Can you explain those anomolies?

14. @David

As a writer myself, I am pleased with the revival of the BAJ.

Yes, it has been rudely roused from its stupor, but sometimes such happenings provide prime opportunities for meaningful traction.

Re your astute comments on journalism and the blogosphere, FYI, some of the mainstream newsprint press here in the UK have gone a step further by interacting with the blogosphere and fostering huge online readerships. One needs look no further than guardian.co.uk, for instance.

After all, most media (unlike ghastly rags such as Castros’s Granma or the erstwhile Pravda) are interactive and actively seek to cultivate their readerships.

Anyone at the Nation or Advocate listening?

Hello?

This is really the way to go.

I have every confidence that Ms Lynch-Foster will assist in carrying the profession and its professionals further into the orbits of 21st century digital technologies.

I do hope that the BAJ will help to embolden journalists, while at the same time providing opportunities for them to hone high-quality skills.

15. Yah could put shoes pun a snake… yah still can’ mek he walk…!

AAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhh

16. Perhaps naively, I’m hopeful of this development.

I personally hope the BAJ will retain their own legal counsel, to help journalists understand their exposure, and advocate their rights, under the current (and promised future) defamation laws.

If one is speaking the truth, they may be sued (or threatened with same) if they publish something which someone else doesn’t want known. But, in reality, they actually face very little risk.

From personal experience, being sued is not a death sentence. It is simply the first move of a very interesting and amusing game… (Discovery is FUN!!!)

The Forth Estate is a critical component of any society. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if Barbados actually had journalists who could honestly claim the role?

17. David,

Congratulations to the revival of BAJ and to Amanda Lynch-Foster in her new role. I am very happy and BANGO would like to extend a hand to BAJ to help you with your resuscitation; including registration, constitution, etc. If you are not registered or unsure of your status let us know.

There is a lot to catch up on, including resources. You can call or e-mail me anytime and you can be sure that we will respond.

Just a word of caution. You have been thrust into this position by circumstances and that tells me that the journalists who are more experienced and who would be better familiar with the issues are not ready yet. Just be careful that when you look back others are there.

This is very important if BAJ is to be successful. I can tell you about having to fight the battle yourself.

Incidentally, today, on reaching the procedural conference for the hearing into the BL&P application to the FTC, BANGO is the lone intervenor. I could not believe it. I had no idea. Sir Henry Forde is representing BL&P.

Anyhow, BANGO is here. Do not underestimate us when it comes to getting organisations into the streamline. Technical assistance is what we do and that is what we are about; the empowerment of NGOs.

We will help you fill your agenda and that is what will create and maintain the interests of the rest of the journalists. They have put you out there to see what you will do and you can be sure that there will be those waiting for your failure to say that we as a people cannot get anything right.

You are too important to the national, regional and international arenas where your input is so necessary right now. It’s not a walk over. It’s work and the only thing I would say is that you can’t carry work or volunteerism to the supermarket. We are in the process of dealing with this matter and therefore I am looking forward to hearing from you.

18. @ROK

It is interesting that you have given feedback that BANGO is the only intervenor at the BL&P application to the FTC. Is this a spillover from the C&W aka LIME previous apps when intervenors challenge for payment?

Your offer to Amanda is kind, why don’t you give her a call or send her an email at the Nation.

19. David,

I was informed (or given the impression) that two others applied but handed in their letters of intervention late.

I am not sure that it is a spill over, but for me it is a preliminary study for the rate hearing later. The issues here are not that large but I am wondering why the two are not being done as one.

What BANGO is about to do is stay away and then find that a decision made here impacts negatively on rates (and monthly billing) later on, with no opportunity to change it for a long time.

When you see a man fishing in a dry pond, he knows what he is doing… but you should know that if I don’t hear her, I will call or send an e-mail. You should always give people a chance.

20. That should read, “What BANGO is not about to do is stay away …”

21. Thanks for the answeback ROK.

22. David

I should also let you know that Mr. Chris Halsall has kindly agreed to join the BANGO team on this hearing. He was not expected to be there today because of previous commitments and in any case, today was very preliminary.

23. aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah Chris Halsall, the man who is prepared to lay it on the line for the PEOPLE!

@Chris

Keep on doing what you doing Sammy 🙂

24. Thanks Chris (I sincerely mean it lol)

25. To Amanda Foster
    You have my support. Don’t get me wrong, all I’m telling you and your media folks, respect the public and the public would respect you. The arrogant attitude of most of your people would continue to place a wedge between the public and the media.

26. ROK
    Congrats.
    You may be the one voice but it is better to have one sensible, powerful voice than several voices singing out of tune.

27. Sorry! I will not waste my time “wishing” these smart people good luck. They did not have the foresight to unionize for their own benefit, and i don’t see any reason to believe that they will now have the foresight to achieve anything further without being manhandled, kicked, shut-out, and arrested. They are pragmatics all, responding after the fact, patching things here and there, unable to be progressive and forward looking. For some reason they remind me of a person who gets a cut on their foot and six weeks later with an unhealed wound they began to come to terms with the overwhelming proof that they are indeed diabetic. It may take an amputation to drive home the need to act, to make changes for the beterment of their health, and even then such is not gauranteed.

28. Hello all and thanks for the kind wishes – the BAJ appreciates the support.

I just wanted to address something mentioned in the post, regarding establishing a protocol to improve the relationship between media practitioners and the blogosphere.

One of the posts on our interim committee is an Alternative and Independent Media representative. The purpose of that role, which is held by Andrea King, is to have someone to represent non-mainstream media entities, freelancers and public relations and corp com practitioners.

We know it is quite a lot under one heading but since it is an interim committee on an organisation just trying to revive itself, we did not want to make the committee too bulky.

We do welcome input and participation from the blogosphere so bloggers and and other online journalists are also invited to attend the meetings, which will be the last Sunday of every month at 5 p.m. We are still in the process of finalising a long-term venue. You can contact me at amandalynch@nationnews.com for any more details.

Amanda Lynch-Foster

29. DigiEd
    December 22, 2008 at 3:41 pm
    ———-WROTE ON BFP———-

“While I appreciate the intent, I do NOT APPRECIATE THE DUPLICITOUS METHOD USED.
    Hence the various comments about the media using the BFP EVEN AFTER WE HAVE BEEN RIGHTFULLY CRITICAL OF THEIR APPROACH, are way off-base. If I want to get a message out to journalists, THERE ARE SEVERAL OTHER VERY EFFECTIVE CHANNELS I CAN AND HAVE USED.

———WROTE ON BU———

Digied // December 31, 2008 at 2:45 pm

Hello all and thanks for the kind wishes – the BAJ appreciates the support.

****Adrian says:
    What support? You could have pointed your “Thanks” to David, ROK, Scout, and whomever else supported the FORCE RECUSITATION OF THE BAJ. I certainly didn’t.

Digied // December 31, 2008 at 2:45 pm

One of the posts on our interim committee is an Alternative and Independent Media representative. The purpose of that role, which is held by Andrea King, is to have someone to represent non-mainstream media entities, freelancers and public relations and corp com practitioners.

We do welcome input and participation from the blogosphere so bloggers and and other online journalists are also invited to attend the meetings, which will be the last Sunday of every month at 5 p.m.

****Adrian says:
    Is this offer also extended to the “Duplicitous” BFP or only to BU? So David you gine show up?
    De police might be there to arrest you, or a court marshall to serve you a writ. Ha ha ha ha

If and when the Blogs and uh mean BFP and BU sign on with these people, to my mind and as far as I am concern you would have become like them, and it is at that time that I will seek to encourage others to see you in the same vain. You don’t have to join with them, they need to report the news without fare or favor, so as far as I am concern nothing has change and nothing is in place to effect such a change within the mainstream media.

30. Adrian H our position is that we wish the young lady well. It is a herculean task and it is not BU’s intention to make the job any harder. We have read the exchanges on BFP and urge all sides to smoke a peace pipe for the moment; we all have one goal don’t we?

31. Dear Adrian Hinds:

My husband tell me not to talk toyou but even so I have to ask “They ain’t have no lakes in Boston that you can go jump into?”

Ya *d*ot a lot of the journalists are already members of various trade unions. BAJ is a professinal association.

You don’tget it do you??

32. J you have a husband? Yet another potential candidate for membership to Ralph Boyce Men’s group. Please extend to him my Sympathies. 🙂

ha ha ha ha ha There are plenty lakes-of-information that i swim and at times dive into with much pleasure.
    Here is what i have found in one of them after a shallow knee high waddle into it.

———Lake-of-informationWikipedia———

A professional body or professional organization, also known as a professional association or professional society, is an organization, usually non-profit, that exists to further a particular profession, to protect both the public interest and the interests of professionals.

Such bodies generally strive to achieve a balance between these two often conflicting mandates. Though professional bodies often act to protect the public by maintaining and enforcing standards of training and ethics in their profession, they often also act like a cartel or a labor union (trade union) for the members of the profession, though this description is commonly rejected by the body concerned.

A trade union or labor union is an organization of workers who have banded together to achieve common goals in key areas such as wages, hours, and working conditions. The trade union, through its leadership, bargains with the employer on behalf of union members (rank and file members) and negotiates labor contracts (Collective bargaining) with employers. This may include the negotiation of wages, work rules, complaint procedures, rules governing hiring, firing and promotion of workers, benefits, workplace safety and policies. The agreements negotiated by the union leaders are binding on the rank and file members and the employer and in some cases on other non-member workers.

Uh gine and get muh sweat on, wuh bout you?

33. DigiEd

Take it from me, the only meeting you will have with bloggers is right here on the blogs.

34. @Adrian

I can only assume that you are either the digital equivalent of scrooge, with a malodorous attitude to the BAJ, or you have a very unusual sense of humour.

We are in agreement that the state of Barbados’s fourth estate is far from perfect, but what the BAJ needs now is encouragement and constructive criticism for JOURNALISM, in the end, to be the winner.

35. @Digied

“One of the posts on our interim committee is an Alternative and Independent Media representative. The purpose of that role, which is held by Andrea King, is to have someone to represent non-mainstream media entities, freelancers and public relations and corp com practitioners”

I am confused; please correct me if I am misguided, but why on earth should the BAJ be representing “corp com freelancers and PR” folk?

Are their interests akin to yours?

Shouldn’t they have their own representative organisation?

Though I have my issues with Adrian H’s last post, he has defined, what a trade union is after wading into the knowledge lake (with his knowledge snorkel and mask, I presume)

Therefore, I need to know how the BAJ defines “journalist”.

Also, who exactly is a “non-mainstream media practitioner”?

36. John Stevenson // January 1, 2009 at 12:21 pm

@Adrian

I can only assume that you are either the digital equivalent of scrooge, with a malodorous attitude to the BAJ, or you have a very unusual sense of humour.

We are in agreement that the state of Barbados’s fourth estate is far from perfect, but what the BAJ needs now is encouragement and constructive criticism for JOURNALISM, in the end, to be the winner.
    ===========================

Mr. Stevenson, ASSUME all you want, If to you, my attitude towards BAJ “stinks to high heaven, that is a concern for you; I don’t share your views, and don’t care too. Further more I am not in any agreement with you about Barbados’s fourth estate, and certainly don’t share in your opinion and action of “offering” or “giving” encouragement to BAJ.

In J’s attempt to stamp BAJ as a Professional organization, I offered a standard definition of such that states, “such bodies exist to protect both the public interest and the interests of professionals”.

Now I ask you and J to reflect on the series of incidents that led to the force resuscitation of BAJ, and try to answer in whose interest they are raising their ugly head? When you are done answering that question, reflect on all that David/BU and BFP would have said over the years to reflect what they consider to be glaring deficiencies in journalism, news coverage etc in Barbados, and asked yourself what actions has the “mainstream media” taken thus far to deal with those concerns?

My answer is nothing! What’s yours?

BTW I said “WADDLE” Knee-high, in an attempt to suggest that I did not have to look too far, too long, or too deep for the definitions of a Professional Organization, and that of a Trade Union to prove the legitimacy for my use of the latter. Why would I, according to you “WADE” Knee-high and at that with ‘snorkel” and “Mask”, in the Lake-of-information????????

Can anyone say that BAJ-2 was restarted to both protect the public and the journalist interest? Honestly now!

37. We ignore our History at our peril so we react in this manner when something like this happens.

When things settle back down, the journalists will go back to their un-informed , ill informed, care free behaviour because they themselves do not know or care about their history.

Even the politicians dont care about the history of this country: one politico describe it as FOOLISHNESS

38. @Adrian H

Your position is understood but don’t you think that if you move from 0 to 2 it makes getting to 10 that much of a possibility?

39. @Digied AKA Amanda Lynch-Foster

Thank you for your effort.

However, with respect, you (and yours) appear to be unsophisticated in this “new age” and medium of Blogging…

If one claims to be a traditional “journalist”, one tends not to work anonymously. (Unless you work for the Economist… But that’s a separate essay entirely…)

After all, the traditional “Forth Estate” have used the anonymous posture of many (but, importantly, not all) posters on the Barbados Blogs as a reason to dismiss all content on said Blogs.

If you, Amanda Lynch-Foster, expect to be taken seriously, then you must be able to step forward and be taken seriously (and take (and give) licks) *here*, on the no-holds-bared Barbados Blogs.

We welcome the Traditional “Forth Estate”. We hope (and expect) that you and yours can keep up. After all, you have the formal training. We’re simply amateurs, who somehow seem to get all the international web traffic…

Again, welcome….

40. David // January 1, 2009 at 10:51 pm

@Adrian H

Your position is understood but don’t you think that if you move from 0 to 2 it makes getting to 10 that much of a possibility?
    ===========================

You will have to define what the goal of 10 is, that way i can guage whether BAJ-2 marks progression. I have a goal in mind and BAJ-2 todate does nothing to signal the beginning towards that goal.

41. @Adrian H

Ok we are with you but can you agree that the resuscitated interim BAJ committee represents by its existence an opportunity to address your concerns?

If the catalyst for the revival of the BAJ is borne out of a need to rally troops against what they perceive is victimisation against the profession there is no reason why with good leadership the goals you suggest will not be seen as the obvious next step.

The point we stress is with a functioning BAJ all of the ideals you are wishing for is now possible. Before last week our discussion would have been about when the BAJ would rise up. Now the discussion/expectation can move to the best role the BAJ needs to play to sustain/improve our system.

42. If the catalyst for the revival of the BAJ is borne out of a need to rally troops against what they perceive is victimisation against the profession THERE IS NO REASON WHY WITH GOOD LEADERSHIP THE GOALS YOU SUGGEST WILL NOT BE SEEN AS THE OBVIOUS NEXT STEP.
    ——————–
    Adrian says:

There are plenty reasons why i don’t at this time see the need the praise BAJ-2
    Is there a past best practice with BAJ-1 that gives you some hope that there will be a return to ideals that can result in “real news reporting” without fare of favor, or see an introduction of investigative journalism, or a complete embrace of new technologies and the citizen news reporter? Or is it that these things are completely new and are yet to be initiated? It is intructive from the bolded statement above that you cannot at this time produce one reason base on any current ACTION or statements from BAJ-2 nor can you point to any past actions from BAJ-1 that gives you this hope. I prefer to be pragmatic when it comes to BAJ-2, so while hope can and does spring eternal, at this point BAJ-2 seems to be immune from such, and until they have acted out initiatives with measurable results, to bring all the news and nothing but all the news to the public, I shall continue to view them with the level of skepticism and scorn that they have earned.

Not only have they been long on denying news to the public, they have entered into a porcess of heaping scorn and attempted isolation on the citizen journalist. You can shower praise on them for doing so little and i will continue to hammer them until they honor the people’s trust.

43. I hesitated; started to write this; stopped; thought long and hard, then decided to go ahead. May I pose the following questions [to no one in particular]:
    Who publishes or broadcasts news stories? Journalists?
    If a journalist said to an Editor or publisher or Producer: “I have started an expose on Corruption in the Judiciary. I need two weeks to focus on this to complete it”. What do you think the response will be?
    If and when such an expose was completed, how long do you think it would take before it was published? How many checks, and double checks. How many “screenings” by “legal advisors”, and questions about “sources”?
    Journalists in Barbados are, at best, poorly trained, poorly paid and recognised more as public relations outlets than as sources of credible information.
    Most of the comments contained in this thread supports my belief.

Dennis

44. Let me assure Amanda Lynch-Foster that the revival of the BAJ is one to hail. I think we should appreciate the fact that our little paradise is tainted because ordinary citizens are not taking on their civic responsibility; not only the media.

The revival of the BAJ can only be considered another boost in the confidence of our citizens to get up and do something about their plight. Surely if they perform, it will be even more than a boost.

The revival of the BAJ also does not dictate the performance of the media or provide no guarantees with respect to role of the media. With or without the BAJ, the media is owned by private interests seeking profit. You know what you can say about CBC.

“The People” cannot be described as some formless glob which has to be placed on a pedestal and protected. It is the people who have to rise up and protect themselves. Any talk about the role of the media has to be enforced by the people. Let citizens stop buying the nation and advocate and render CBC and Starcom voiceless by turning off their radios and TVs or tuning to other stations; then you will see how much advertising revenue they would get.

45. Dennis

If I had seen yours before hitting the submit button I would still have sent mine… and I should have added: it seems like some people would like to stay on the side with a bull whip telling others what to do and not contributing to the cause with even words of encouragement.

46. Editors, Publishers and Producers in media outlets can only prevent news from reaching the public with the acquiescence of journalists.
    Technology being what it is now, it is a lot easier for papers to fall of the back of trucks.

The ability to go to the supermarket and pay the bank at the end of the month has a lot to do with the quality of journalism we see in Barbados.

47. Adrian H you are of course entitled to your view on this matter.

To respond to your last comment:

BU like others have decided to lend support to the BAJ.

BU agrees with Dennis, ROK and others who currently point out that media practioners represent a cog in the wheel of the Fourth Estate.

BU has been a big critic of the media and our position remains the same on that issue. What do you have to loose by giving the BAJ a chance? It is a win win because currently you are getting nothing.

We have heard Dennis making the point on air that it is scary that Barbadians, who are so educated and a democracy which is boasted about feel they have to retreat to the Internet under the cloak of anonymity, SAD.

The BU family would be bowled over if they knew the real names of some commenters.

We encourage more media personnel to come out and give their views on the issues. The moment you do you will the change. The power of coming together and lending voices to the issues will help to galvanise support for the profession.

48. General Lee

I agree, but what you are suggesting takes citizen action to perform. Any one person who sticks out their neck so easily will surely get it chopped off.

That is why we need to support efforts. It’s called, “individual action for collective effect.”

49. This revival is a knee-jerk reaction
    and will fade again and again because we do not appreciate the benefit of knowing our history. We are the only people in the world who push our history aside. We are so foolish it aint funny.

50. We are just leaning on our own understanding and ignoring truth