Amanda Lynch-Foster, Interim President of BAJ
Amanda Lynch-Foster, Interim President of the BAJ

It is no secret that BU has flogged our media houses (Fourth Estate) with impunity in recent months. Part of our criticism would have been leveled at the non-functioning Barbados Assocoation of Journalists (BAJ). In other words we have had the ridiculous situation of our journalists not being represented by a functioning body while our wayside vendors have expertly managed their affairs through BARVEN.

We are therefore very pleased to hear about the effort to revive the hibernating BAJ over the weekend as reported in todays Nation newspaper. The President (interim) is the young energetic Amanda Lynch-Foster.

We wish the interim committee of the BAJ all the best.

We can’t promise we will not be critical of the Fourth Estate going forward, we promise however to be fair. We hope that with a functioning BAJ those on the committee responsible for PR will find the time to establish a protocol to improve the relationship between the Bajan Blogosphere and media practitioners in Barbados.

120 responses to “Barbados Association Of Journalists (BAJ) Resuscitated”

1. Asiba:
    your comments underscore the need for training!
    Knowledge of what being a journalist means.
    Courage to persue the truth whatever the cost.
    Understanding that nothing is to be accepted at face value, and finally recognising that your only reward may be dismissal [or worse, death].
    Think Jonestown – and the camera man who kept filming while men ran towards the group of which he was a part, shooting. He died; but the rest of us got to know the story.

2. @DJ
    DJ good to see my friend,…wishing you and yours the best of health and wealth in 2009
    There was a time I would have made a distinction between media workers and media managers. I no longer see the need to do so. It has become increasingly difficult to separate the wheat from the shaft with regards to the opinions held of the blogs and bloggers, amongst all Media workers. General Lee said the following “Editors, Publishers and Producers in media outlets can only prevent news from reaching the public with the acquiescence of journalists.” If Journalists had strongly disagree with the sanitization of news delivery in Barbados and there was a TRUE willingness to get the real news out, they would have found several ways to do so. I AM NOT going to deny that training would go a long way in bringing journalism and journalist in Barbados to the point that we can have some confidence in what they present, but If there is no determination, conviction, confidence, and perseverance, all the training in the world would be for nought. One has to admire BFP, BU, and Bajan bloggers in general where these attributes are in abundance and yet none of us can boast of any “training”.

@ David:

Indeed, and my opinion has been all along, not to give praise where there isn’t a clear case for so doing. I will note that while you seek to scold me for not being as generous as you have been, you have not been able to present a clear reason for yours. I may yet be a scrooge as JS suggested, my praise and well wishes have value, and I will not dispense with them willy nilly. The praise that BAJ-2 has gotten thus far reminds me of the praise Mia Mottley, then Mininster of home affairs, and under whose ministerial portfolio Glendairy prison fell, got, for the “theater” like media briefings dealing with the Burning of the prison. Praise for what??? I am still asking!

@ROK
    The individual action in this regard is right here, and the collective effect is the high readership, of the blog, the willingness to question authorities, via the town hall meetings, and other fora. It is catching, and todate the traditional media is determine not to join hands with this effort., therefore no praise from me is deserved thus far.

@Asiba:
    Listening to the praise Amanda double surname gets for starting BAJ-2 and I being scold for not so doing, One would not get the sense the “Knee jerk” response was suh obvious.

@DJ …again:
    Your last post reminded me of a Owen Arthur comment towards Barbadians

” We want to go to heaven but we don’t want to die”.

Looks like it can be applied here. 😀

3. @David: you said
    The BU family would be bowled over if they knew the real names of some commenters.

==========================

Not me, I would not be bowled over. I have been using my real name from day one back in 1993, on the Rumshoplime. I am currently bowled over that so called real men and women cannot use their real names. It will be real hard for me to respect them if and when they find the courage to do so in the future. While courage is blatantly missing with these people, it more likely that they are looking for assurances against reprisal should they dare to out themselves. Is there a correlation between this state of fear and the increasing membership to Ralp Boyce men’s group? probably not. 😀

4. @Adrian:
    In a year when it is forecast there will be no peace and plenty, may I wish you – enough!
    I agree with you and Gen. Lee on the issue of “willingness”. But that is the journalist who understands what is journalism and is committed to upholding the tenets of that noble profession. Sadly, there are many who see it as a means to an end. That “end” is sometimes no more than free passes to cocktailed receptions, upscale events and eventual reward with a post of “Corporate Communications Specialist”. Now, I am not knocking those who bear that title nobly; but as with every profession, there are pretenders, and there are dedicated practitioners.

Dennis

5. @Adrian:
    In a year when it is forecast there will be no peace and plenty, may I wish you – enough!
    ===========================

ha ha ha ha ha I very much like this greeting. Thanks!

6. you are very welcome

7. Every individual who has a modicum of life (I nearly said common sense-but i realised that I knew about slavery when I was pre-school age—it was innate) in his/her body should be committed to full disclosure where our history is concerned: seek it ; disclose it.

8. I am onto the history thing because if we dont go back WE WILL NOT SOLVE PRESENT PROBLEMS

We continue to ignore our History at our peril.

Look at the demise of West Indies cricket and learn some lessons.

I am calling for emphasis on the teaching of our History by way of every available medium. THERE ARE ISSUES TO BE RESOLVED

THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO ONE WHO CAN DENY THIS.

WHOEVER FOOLED US THAT OUR HISTORY IS FOOLISHNESS ?

Sadly there are many who think so

9. Asiba why don’t you start the ball rolling? My interest is politics, as i believe everything that occurs in Barbados has it’s bases in politics, and therefore to change things, I believe that as many Barbadians as possible need to understand their system of government. I have taken every opportunity since 1993 to bring every discussion down to it’s lowest denominator , politics. I did so to the point of being cast as a “one trick pony” I am today very happy that others have persist, continues and have taken up anew, the fight to educate themselves and others, about, bajan politics. You can do the same, think about an approach and go for it. Here is something to concider as you may ponder your approach. Every action, activity, and process today has a history, and an origin. You can frame your “look back to history’ by starting with a current situation under discussion, and take it back through it’s historic time line culminating at it’s historical core and origin.

10. @DJ

Dennis, my esteemed colleague, though you’ve hinted at it, someone is still to answer my initial question – Can you collapse “corporate communication specialist” and “PR Officer” under the general rubric of “journalist”? Or is this conflation only possible in Barbados? And for what purposes? Though journlaists are vital to the PR fraternity, does that fraternity actively represent the fourth estate?

(ROK, your thoughts?)

@Adrian

In relation to my earlier comments re snorkel/mask and the information lake, I mentioned this purely in light-hearted new year jest (smile)

11. I might be wrong but what DJ is saying is that “Journalists” today see Corp. Com and P.R as their career goals, unlike before when being a professional jounalist was the ultimate. Hence the inclusion of them in the new BAJ.

This is why we have journalist running being public figures daily and then regurgitating, almost verbatim, what they say as news. A task that can be adequately done by GIS or any PR firm on the island.

12. being =behind

13. @General Lee

That’s where we as Bajans will have issues with journalists. if your reasoning is correct, they need not go to CARIMAC or the BCC or whereever else to do journalism, the just need to find good PR training be it an university or some such institution.

14. John

All are related, although different roles. A person working as a journalist would take on the role of reporting news.

That same person working as a PR consultant would take on a different role. In the end it is about practice,in the same way you would have a criminal lawyer or corporate lawyer. They are both lawyers but one specialise is crime and the other in corporate law.

15. ROK
    The problem in Barbados is there is very little news that Journalist brings to the public that GIS or PR firms could not bring .
    Imho this is not what Journalism is supposed to be.

16. Appreciate the ‘boring’ news

1/3/2009

Barbados Advocate

RECENT perusal of local blogs would have led the casual observer to glean a somewhat distorted image of Barbados and its major media houses. Some blogs complain about the nature of news in Barbados, stating that it seems to consist of reporting the comings and goings of government officials.

They maintain that this is not “real journalism” and even sometimes accuse media houses of being supporters of one party or another. They are not alone in this, as some letter writers have also complained of the seemingly uneventful nature of news in Barbados. Both groups of commentators have arrived at the same conclusion: that the Media deliberately focuses on what they consider to be mundane issues at the expense of more important stories.

In their opinions, local journalists do not do the kind of investigative journalism and controversial stories which are the hallmark of true journalism. They point to the stories which form the main content of our daily new papers – reports from Parliament, coverage of press conferences and functions. To this is added human interest and health stories.
    For the most part, our newspapers do not focus on violent and sensational stories.

This is in contrast to the topics which form the main body of news in other countries. Anyone who has had a chance to read the leading dailies of some of our neighbouring islands, will notice how much of the newspaper tends to be given over to stories of a more dramatic nature. Murders, kidnapping and drug-related crimes seem to be the focus of the news, especially in the just concluded year. Crime was an issue of concern in the Caribbean in 2008, and the newspapers in many territories reflect this. Kidnapping continued to be a problem for Trinidad and Tobago, with the added worry of a rise in crime against children, which led the leader of the opposition to call for specific legislation to protect children. In the middle of last year, Guyana was caught the grip of a sudden rash of killings which made headlines throughout the region.

Looking at the international scene, newspapers are also filled with crime and violence. Mexico and Colombia continue to fight a protracted war against drug lords, with casualties on both sides. And the international pages of all newspapers around the world last year were filled with the worsening situation in Zimbabwe, just as they have been filled with reports of the other unfortunate happenings of the past year.
    In light of such material the reports on Parliament carried by our local dailies must seem tame indeed.

By the most straightforward of definitions, a newspaper simply reports, and records for the future, news events – good or bad, disheartening or uplifting. At the same time, they are more than mere recorders. They are mirrors of the society at this point in time. And in too many places, the mirror reflects violence, corruption or tyranny. We have been blessed this past year with fewer of such incidents to report than other places. We should be thankful that God has blessed us this year in countless ways, and we have avoided natural disasters, political upheaval and an escalation in criminality for another year. If this means that the newspaper is “boring”, then so be it.

17. Wow!

We are speechless.

So many points in this article can be challenged, why bother.

If we did not know better we would say that this is a snow job, or do we?

18. David, don’ be fooled by the many change of colors the Advocate news owner is known for. He is in the business of selling news papers. His words not minds

Do you remember the Barney Lynch affair with David Ellis and Adrian Loverage? The Advocate editorial response was the following. Further proof that BAJ-2 will not have any effect on these media house reporting all the news

“The quoted Advocate editorial clearly leaves David Ellis out to dry. One would have thought that given the greyness to this issue that the Advocate would have closed ranks as a member of the 4th Estate. Oh well!

Dangers in a necessity&Limits on free expression
    Web Posted – Wed Mar 28 2007
    RECENT developments confirm the pertinence of our stated position on the use of electronic media, specifically radio, not only by well-intentioned citizens who simply want to unburden themselves of legitimate grievances, but also by people who set out to commit mischief.

Some radio stations choose not to put their credibility, licences and the jobs of employees at risk by joining the current talk-show parade. It isn’t that those programmes are out of step with contemporary Barbados. Quite the opposite.

They have become an important part of democratic governance and should be encouraged to continue, albeit while safeguarding against malicious manipulation by a small handful of zealots, and the sort of brow-beating that occurs when a programme host tries to ram his/her opinion down callers’ throats.

The larger danger lies in allowing on-air contributions which collide with existing laws.

Fanatics seldom seem to appreciate this, and persistently unleash streams of rhetoric, usually unsupported by fact, against any individual or group with whom they have even the slightest disagreement.

Need for constant vigilance

Whether their input is via telephone, letter, fax or e-mail, the effect is equally hazardous unless station personnel are sufficiently competent to pre-empt publication [broadcast]of offensive statements. A few years ago, we had occasion to comment on airing the contents of an anonymous letter which alleged criminal behaviour by police officers; an allegation totally debunked by all available evidence. Despite its imperfections, the Police Force is far more important to our country than the claimed popularity of a radio station. Unfortunately, the lessons of that experience must have been ignored, or forgotten in a moment of weakness when an e-mailed document, loaded with innuendo, also received similar treatment last Sunday.

We might be charitable and say that communication caught the station off guard, because there is no proof of deliberate mischief on its part. What we are more concerned about is an apparent belief in some quarters that public figures are fair targets in the shooting gallery they want some talk-shows to become.

High-minded crusader?

By contrast, if, for example, a favourite personality is found guilty in a court of law of committing a breach of contract and ordered to pay compensation, a news organisation exercises self censorship on the case, but projects the culprit as some sort of high-minded crusader, a model worthy of emulation in the ongoing debate about freedom of information and integrity legislation.

An important challenge for news media is not only to facilitate “free and frank discussion on national issues”, but also to be careful that, while defending individuals’ right to be heard, they are not also elevating persons whose professed commitment to the welfare of Barbados may be contradicted by their actions.

For integrity legislation to be meaningful, it should be seen as having relevance not just to politicians and other public servants, but also to every citizen and resident.”

19. General Lee wrote “I might be wrong but what DJ is saying is that “Journalists” today see Corp. Com and P.R as their career goals, unlike before when being a professional jounalist was the ultimate”

You are aware of course that Ms. Lynch-Foster worked in corporate communications, and that she has VOLUNTARILY returned to journalism.

There is hope for the future.

20. Dottin, media meet Thursday
    Published on: 1/4/09.

COMMISSIONER OF POLICE Darwin Dottin will meet SENIOR MEDIA MANAGERS on Thursday to discuss relations between the media and the police.

The meeting, which takes place at the Prince Cave Hall, District “A” Complex, at 10 a.m., follows the recent incident in which two media workers were arrested and charged while covering the court appearance of a policeman charged with cocaine possession. (PR)

Will BAJ-2 be present at this meeting?

21. Methinks J’s posts sound too much like they’re written by the young lady’s arrogant alter ego … first the one about being uberqualified and now this business of her ‘voluntarily’ returning to save the world. Voluntarily? Simmer down J. Not to take anything away from her (you?) but really now, I’m sure she (you?) still get(s) a salary each month so enough with the attempt at this selflessness malarky. IMHO you’re really not doing her (your?) image any favours as far as humility goes. I’m just saying. I suspect your (her) heart is in the right place, though. Good luck to all!

22. ha ha ha ha wuh i had not given thought to the possibility of J and Amanda double surname being the same person, uh gine got tuh back now and read all of J’s posting to see if i can reasonably confirm this to be so. lol! Uh tell yuh!

23. @Adrian H

We have known for sometime that Kim Young hates the blogs, well specifically BU and BFP. She does not buy in to what BU is trying to achieve but we respect that she is entitled to her opinion.

We can feel the anger which flows from her writing. Just had a peep at her blog and we see that she is directing her woman’s fury at you.

She reminds us of Ian Walcott :-).

24. Wuh yuh saying David? Kim Young and J is the same person?????? I had forgotten that this “mental case” still existed. So I am still on her mind?

25. The poor girl.

PMS is so debilitating.

Leave her be Jerome, is my advice.

26. David // January 5, 2009 at 10:46 pm

Her blog is http://caribbeanmediasphere.blogspot.com/2009/01/open-note-to-barbados-free-press.html.

She is threatening to go legal

Oh yes she has been threatening to do that for sometime now. I am so scared that i had totally forgotten she existed. lol!

ha ha ha ha she like she suffering from a case of rejection. The contents posted on the below blog by 4dr14n H1nd5 is what probably set her off. Um is true true true. ha ha ha ha How dare her ask me to join anything to do with the BLP.

http://labourparty.wordpress.com/2007/11/30/found-a-nice-ditty-on-youtube/#comment-16546

Funny how she aint threatening to sue this person:

http://labourparty.wordpress.com/2007/11/30/found-a-nice-ditty-on-youtube/#comment-18132

But you answer me though, is J and Kim Young de same person?

27. Dey should tak all de police and make dem journalists and tek all the journalists and t’row dem in de force

AAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhh

28. Ya’d end up wid jounalices

AAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhh

29. ha ha ha ha Just the other day i was thinking of deleting this photo, of Kim J Young and Ian Walcott, making some really silly statements.

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=397234&l=ddbc8&id=733380748

So Kim why are you still in Barbados? You made your statement in October 2007, and it’s almost a year that Thompy became PM. Wuh happen?

I believe i still have the stuff she posted on my face book wall, if i do i will post them so that all can see who initated the contact between us and who ended it. ha ha ha ha ha. Kim tell us again why you are so mad with me. Uh mean besides being a mental nut case in the first place. ha ha ha

30. Boy am i really slow. ha ha ha ha ha

kim J young = J

wuh i had know idea i was talking to de devil incarnate. ha ha ha ha
    Does anyone know if Kim J Young is married? ….J kept insisting to me THAT HER HUSBAND WOULD NOT BE PLEASE IF HE FOUND OUT SHE WAS TALKING TO ME ON THESE BLOGS.

31. Adrian Hinds

Have you noticed since J was out-ed as Kim Young she has not posted since?

This is the same J who was such a prolific poster/blogger.

J always struck me as strange anyhow.

32. ha ha ha ha. Anon for all i don’t know you maybe J aka Kim Young-Belgrave. The word “strange” seems to follow her where ever she blogs. I had no idea that i was responding to Kim whilst responding to J. What a light weight. Her contributions were easily destroyed. How quickly she ran into issues with a number persons on BFP and BU seems to reflect what occurs in her everyday real relationships. ha ha ha ha uh tell yuh.

33. BTW Adrian:

Apologies for confusing you with your namesake, Jerome.

I respect you both for entirely different reasons.

34. AH

Everybody deserves a chance. The young lady is learning in the same way that you came along and learnt. Others helped you along the way even though you may not have been the kindest; not saying you were not either.

I do not feel that you should wage a vendetta on the blog. All we doing is degrading ourselves and feel that we doing something to somebody. We really have to stop this foolishness. We behaving like children and would want to criticise the level of debate in the house of assembly as well as the integrity of others.

What integrity do we have behaving this way? What gives you the credentials to be so self righteous.

I really don’t know the woman although I have corresponded with her via facebook and receive her blogs. and ‘J’ I have interacted with here. If it was anybody else I would say the same thing.

You know what? Most of you people come here to be anonymous, yet there are some witch hunters who delight in exposing handles. I think respect is due. If we want a high level of blog interaction, I think we should stick to the topics and accept each other’s contribution for what it is worth.

35. @ ROK, I can ease up, and probably will. However i will not join in any praise of her or BAJ-2 until it is evident that they are working for the betterment of themselves and the PUBLIC.

…ROK you are being dishonest in the position you are taking re. Kim J and J… and I. WHY ARE YOU appealing to me to ceast and desist? DID I start this battle of words? Your appeals for civility should be made to Kim and J well Kim J really, but you would know why you think it necessary to bring your sorry commentary to me about foolish acts, lack of integrity, and childish behavior etc… I cannot and will not take your one-sided view point on this matter seriously. If you are still smarting from the comments I made in defense of myself against you in the marijuana debate, you should reflect on all that you have said to define my actions in this tread with a focus on your own then actions. This placing how I feel about your response in the best context I can. Were you standing with ear shot I would not be so generous.

I honestly thought I was responding to someone named J, until David made me aware of the Kim J posting on her blog, where she reference that she left me a response on MY BLOG. Since I don’t have a blog and she seems to be of the opinion that I either own or works for BFP I decided to check there. This all occurred last night, and it was only this morning that I concluded that J is indeed Kim J Young, I had no idea and did not care to know who she was until she decided to reopened her wounds that I did not even know I had inflicted. She has spread falsehoods about my stalking her and telling lies on her. Mine has always been an approach to expose bold faced lies especially when it is easy to do so. I provided the links to disabuse others of what she contends, is this not fair? Her tirade has been one exercise in emotions of anger that on close examination would most likely lead someone to wonder if she is mentally stable. So I have to ask you on what grounds do you speak to me as if I started this. It can’t be the sequence of events and comments here.

36. OK. I will be truthful and say that I see your point but it takes two hands to clap.

37. ROK you really get banned or you trying to tief my handle?

38. BAFBFP

You ent see I ban them, not the oher way round on more. You could keep the BAF. I will come round for that when I ban them again.

39. ROK – Banned BFP // January 6, 2009 at 7:12 pm

OK. I will be truthful and say that I see your point but it takes two hands to clap.

Even for Ambidextrous persons there is still a dominant side and hence, the action of clapping hands is initiated by one hand, with the other hand responding in like kind. I will not allow you to chide me for RESPONDING to provocation while you say nothing to the provocateur.

40. I see that you is a war monger.

41. ROK – Banned BFP // January 6, 2009 at 10:20 pm

I see that you is a war monger.
    ha ha ha ha ha lol! The good book reads, “Go to the ant, thou sluggard; consider her ways, and be wise” I am not a sluggard so i choose to emulate the “fire Ant” when dealing with Kim J Young and her apolgists.

42. “Go to the ant, thou sluggard; consider her ways, and be wise”

Wait, that was about cricket, right?

43. Adrian Hinds
    All those jokers that you are fighting against are just looking for sympathy. I have NONE to give. I,ve stated my position with the media already. It’s simple, respect the public, which includes you and I and the public would respect you. It’s the first rule in physics ” for every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction.”

44. Straight talk // January 6, 2009 at 6:03 pm

BTW Adrian:

Apologies for confusing you with your namesake, Jerome.

I respect you both for entirely different reasons.
    No worries! For the record, I am Adrian Hinds in all i do in life an on the internet. I do not know of Jerome Hinds, or any other Hinds posting in these blogs. I am not a journalist, neither have i aspired to be one. I am a naturalize citizen of the United States and shall remain a born and bred bajan wherever I sleep,shit and shave. 🙂

…..The truth is that i am a average person of average ability, who leveraged and continues to leverage what is denied to most in small societies, I do not take no for an answer, does not shame easily, is at ease in the company of a King or begger, and fear no one. I figured that all an advisory can do is make my life miserable, or end it, and that most times i will have an chance to deny them that opportunity. For all the importance, and power over others that some of us think we have and do have, we all can be made to, and eventually will wither away and be no more.

“In the long run, we’re all dead.”
    John Maynard Keynes, 1883-1946

45. ROK – Banned BFP // January 7, 2009 at 1:31 am

“Go to the ant, thou sluggard; consider her ways, and be wise”

Wait, that was about cricket, right?

I will have you know that at 43 I can still perform and get good results as a cricket all rounder. Think of Magina Thilan Thushara of Sri Lanka. If you are good with the bat and the ball you cannot be a sluggard. lol!

46. ISN’T THIS NEWS? WHY DO I HAVE TO READ ABOU IT IN CODE, CONTAIN IN THE COSSIP COLUMNS?

If Ralph Taylor got kicked off a board and may be facing a lawsuit, why does this not appear as legitimate news, in the mainstream media? Is it not true????

quote:

Big man gets the boot

SOME OVERSEAS INVESTORS recently voted to have the powerful man who is well known for his management skills kicked off the board of their establishment.

Apparently, these British folk are not as impressed with his skills as those in the tourist industry seem to be.

Many of them suffered losses of hundreds of thousands of dollars while their investment has become a dilapidated eyesore on the scenic West Coast.

This powerful man, who claims that whatever he touches turns to gold, may find himself with a big lawsuit that will certainly be tailor-made for someone of his stature and wealth.

Pudding and Souse: Big Man Gets Boot
    Published on: 1/3/09.

47. Kim J Young Belgrave in her blistering commentry accusing me of stalking her, and following her on the internet etc.

I made one contribution to her blog back in March of 2008, and she responded on January 2009. Read it for yourself and decide if my actions fit the profile of a stalker, or whatever else she said.

https://www.blogger.com/comment.g?blogID=5183157773396868811&postID=3667028867093725896