Submitted by Adrian Loveridge

cliffjumbbarbados1Yet again, it’s the hotels and to a lesser extent the ancillary tourism services that are being asked to discount their rates either directly or through another form of discounting, often to referred to as ‘added value’, while at the same time maintain employment. But free room nights, free breakfast, half price this and half price that, all have their cost.

Yes!  We all understand the devastating effect lower long stay visitor arrivals and occupancy will have on employment and business viability. But unlike the merchants who simply pass on increased costs, the hotels contract rates that are often fixed for many months, if not years, in advance.

The Government has recognised the important of stepping up marketing and promotional activity in these troubling times, but is there more they can do? I believe they can, and must do if we are not going to see further hotel closures next summer. Grantley Adams Airport now has the highest departure and other taxes in the region. I realise that the airport is now operated by a company. But it is a wholly owned Government company.

Secondly, the Government of Barbados is one of, if not the single largest shareholder in LIAT (1974) Ltd. Despite the fall of around in 70% in fuel costs, LIAT has made only one token fuel surcharge cut of US$2.50 per sector flown. There is still a massive US$23.75 fuel and insurance surcharge on each segment flown.

Yet airlines and cruise ship operators around the world have significantly lowered or eliminated fuel surcharges altogether. Again, while the medium to long goal is to reduce LIAT’s dependency on the Caribbean taxpayer, it should not be at the cost of our tourism industry. After, all those taxpayer’s hand-outs have been largely generated by this sector.

The Caribbean is currently our (Barbados) third most important source market for long stay arrivals and perhaps one that will be more resilient than others. So if unreasonably high departure taxes and fuel surcharges are a deterrent to people travelling within the region, especially in the softer summer months, Government will not collect tax or VAT on accommodation, dining experiences, car rental, attractions and activities etc.

Lower employment in the industry will also add to depleted tax and national insurance revenue collection.

32 responses to “Tourism – Can Government Do More?”

1. I have no idea how this would work, but there are so many Barbadians in the US that would love to come home for a visit or two a year but cannot do so because affordable (would not call it discount) airfare is a hit or miss and makes planning vacation time a complex process.

To get there is expensive
    To call there is expensive

2. Definitely concur on that one,Adrian.It is actually cheaper to just visit Florida or go over the border to Canada for the yearly Toronto festival.

Calls are not expensive though,just try “The Patriot” calling card.50 minutes for 2 US to Barbados.;)

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Why must the Govt. do more?

Why can’t we as citizens do more?

(1)Take Better care of the Tourists who do visit our shores.

(2)Stop making tourists victims of crime.

(3)Offer value added packages.

(4)For a limited period of time offer 50% off all airfares.

(5)Reduce the departure tax at the airport to $25.00.

(6)Businesses which service the various Hotels should offer a generous discount on prices so that the hotels can reduce their prices charged for food and beverags and other services to Tourists

(7)The Barbados Light and Power Company should introduce a special reduced rate to the Hotels for a period of time. This more than anything would help to keep hotel doors open and Bajans employed.

(8)The telephone company can do a similar thing with their rates and reduce their rates for a period of time. We all know that it would not hurt Cable and Wireless judging from the mega profits they make in Barbados.

(9)The Barbados workers union should suspend the Service charge which Tourists are forced to pay six months or so.

(10)Hold off on wage increases for just a year in hotels.

4. Adrian Loveridge….. Name me one european nation that caters to black people in the same way that blacks have to wait hands and feet on whitey in order to eat. At this point and time in our history this is DISGRACEFUL. Why is BB still ‘miseducating’ her children. Hopefully something positive can come from this ‘downturn.’

5. Hopi, your fixation on the whole black/white thing is counterproductive. No matter what the subject, it always comes down to the black/white thing for you. Because Barbados and the other Caribbean nations have what sun-starved, warmth deprived Europeans and others crave, of course they will be the nations’ primary source of revenue. Do huge numbers of black people really want to flock to winter cold European nations on vacation…steeeeeuppse. Your arguement makes no sense.

6. Jay some of us does get as much as 4 + weeks vacation, and would love to visit home on a regular basis, but i would not be doing so at the going rate of airfare, not when i can go to Mexico, Belize, Bemuda, Bahamas, and even as far away as Europe for a fraction of what it cost to travel to Barbados most of the time.

Sometimes i see an Barbadian hotels marketing a weeks stay at their property for a total that includes airfare. How are they doing this? Do they have to enter into an agreement with the Airlines?

7. PiedPiper…….It might be counterproductive to you and your agenda but if it’s not Black and White tell me what the hell is it? Who the hell is bringing this world to the brink of destruction?. Don’t throw ya darts at me address the question. Why are Black people still catering to White people? Why? As far as I know the Pyramid structure is held in place due to the collective ignorance of Black people and to our damn demise. And by the way Black and White happens to be the tool used by the power structure NOT by Hopi. I call the shit as I see it.

8. For starters quit moaning. And do something.

Think you’re badly off in Barbados?

Watch the news about the millions of British and Americans who are facing the sack, having their cars repossessed, with shares worth nothing and houses worth less than their mortgages.

They aren’t remotely thinking about coming to Barbados even if you give free room and board, cancel airport charges and provide unlimited free sunblock.

So what to do?

What Obama is proposing to get America out of the mire. Take this opportunity to IMPROVE Barbados. With public funds.

Fix the frickin’ roads. Plant trees. Buy sand from Antigua to replace the lost beaches. Open more access to beaches. Stop building condos on beaches. Make the seafront attractive again.

In short print “Make Barbados Attractive Again” on T-shirts and mean it.

“Build it and they will come.”

Not immediately but we’ll be ready for them when they can afford to buy their own sunblock again.

9. This recession has not really struck home as yet. When it does bajans will be hindered in their travel too, So why not cater more aggressively to locals. A “vacation at home” programme. Make your prices affordable and also extend it to the other regional countries. Since Barbados is one of the major shareholders in LIAT, reduce or remove the government taxes on airline tickets for travellers coming here for at lease seven days.Reduce or remove the landing cost periodically as “specials”.These are just a few things that I can think of at the spur of the moment. Of course reduce departure taxes and have a steel band at the airport when foreign flights comes in. Start marketing Barbados in places like Russia and the eastern block, places like Saudi Arabia, places where money is not a problem.

10. @Adrian L

Implied from your submission is that Barbados does not have a serious tourism plan to face the inevitable downturn next year?

11. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

I wish it was that simple.

Does ANY Caribbean destination have a plan?

What I am trying to advocate is to put as many potentially damage limitation
    measures into place BEFORE we are faced with NO alternatives.

Just GOOGLE ‘hotel jobs losses Caribbean’ and you will get some idea of what is actually happening around the region.
    Then do the same with simply ‘hotel job losses’ and look at the rest of the world.
    Government could act NOW and reduce the departure/add-on taxes and pressure LIAT into passing on their fuel cost savings.

If it does NOT drive additional Intra Regional travel then it has not cost Government anything.

If it DOES, then jobs are saved and VAT and NIS income continues to be collected.
    Even if this means lending LIAT money to buy fuel forward at US$40 a barrel.

There is currently one of our leading hotel groups offering US$72 per person per night all inclusive.

Most of us in the industry cannot even dream of competing with that rate and staying in business.

12. KoolBarbados.com Avatar

@ All

Stop concentrating on “sticky-plaster” solutions. Not one additional tourist will come to Barbados even if departure/add-on taxes are reduced. And 99.99% of tourists have never heard of LIAT, never mind LIAT’s fuel cost problems.

Haven’t you yet understood some of the biggest companies in the world can’t sell their product(s)? Not even when they slash prices.

Get it into your heads lots of people have no money and are deep in debt.

And spending more on advertising doesn’t help if your target audience can’t pay credit card bills.

There is a worldwide RECESSION. Which calls for thinking “outside the bun.”

I repeat – the entire Barbados marketing, advertising and selling community must come straight out, admit we’re in a RECESSION too and reposition the island as making a major investment to recover what made us so attractive in the first place.

Start an advertising campaign showing us “beautifying” the island. Making it a delight to visit.

Go so far as to say, “These are hard times, we understand that, but when the hard economic times pass – as they will – you’ll find a totally renovated Barbados waiting to receive you with broad beaches and open arms.”

“Build it and they will come.”

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

KoolBarbados.com

You are not making much sense at all.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“and pressure LIAT into passing on their fuel cost savings”

“Even if this means lending LIAT money to buy fuel forward at US$40 a barrel.”

ADRIAN

I agree.

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

We could also use this opportunity to shake up the BHTA and BTA there are people there with nothing more than old tired ideas that are just not working, this is the time to dump some or most of them.

Younger and newer people with more dynamic ideas can replace them.

16. Continuing from my last posting on things our govenment can do. Reduce the large port charges now charged, Freeze salaries and wages but implement a production commission where possible, with a further incentive bonus for companies in the tourists sector. Encourage “home boarding” that was introduced during World Cup, market bajan dishes more including blackbelly lamd and home grown beef, chicken and pork. Market a number of locally grown bush/herbs for teas, i.e. garden balsom, Christmas bush, rock balsom etc. Develop another type Ositins Bay Garden in the north and in the east and encourage the vendors to go local as much as possible. Most of all reduce crime and let us learn to respect everyone better whether local or foreign who are here legally. Barbadian/bajans need to return to being our brother’s keeper. Finally there is too much wastage in Barbados, during the season many valuable fruits are left to rot,fish is sold at rediculously low prices. Things should be put in plce that a more constant price should be retained year-round.

17. Adrian:

For fear of repeating my posts of last year, until you and your industry actually take on board that our traditional tourism product is in terminal decline, there is no answer to your problem.

Getting down to basics, if we have to attract any foreign exchange to meet our import commitments, we have to change strategy now.

Home produced manufacturing and the dwindling revenue from IBCs as the world tightens financial regulations are not going to cut it.

Our biggest assets are climate, language and brand name.

Probably our most lucrative yet underexploited market is retirees on guaranteed fixed income pensions wishing to relocate to our island in their golden years.

A constant source of foreign exchange, and if we as a people can get over the fact we have very little else to offer the new world reality we could make it work.

We have a world of hurt about to descend upon us and the first country to react will be the best positioned.

I fear that we are not psychologically prepared to be proactive, and so will carry on as always crying “who could have known”?

18. As a Bajan living in Ottawa I follow these posts closely.

When people propose:

(1)Take Better care of the Tourists who do visit our shores.

(2)Stop making tourists victims of crime.

(3)Offer value added packages.

I see there is much to be done to educate stuck-in-the-mud Bajans about the real world.

Right now in Canada Barbados Tourism Authority advertising is almost counterproductive. Showing happy “rich” people cavorting in “up-scale” hotels and restaurants.

Ah, ah I thought. These are the Wall Street crooks who got bailed-out and kept their ill gotten gains.

When we, like the US are in a fierce economic struggle.

But don’t take my word for it. Before I wrote this I checked the BTA website for Canadians.

AND HALF OF THE LINKS DON’T WORK.

I’m not saying KoolBarbados.com is 100% right. But the suggestions he/she made are the best on this post so far.

19. @Adrian L

We don’t want to be Captain Gloom but a Google of the Canadian news is bringing back some bad news. Prime Minister Harper is today preaching serious doom and gloom. Adrian you and your Board and by extension Minister Sealy should be concerned given the heavy dependence on the fortunes of the Canadian market.

20. David,

Deeply concerned, but we CANNOT lie down dead.

I believe we in the industry are all trying to focus our minds on damage limitation and explore all possible ways that we can minimise any detrimental effect from every market.

Cutting airport departure (and other) taxes and passing on savings from lower fuel costs is a no-loose situation for Government.

If it doesn’t stimulate additional arrivals, then there is no cost.
    If it does, then the revenue lost in lower departure taxes will be made up on spending, accommodation, car rentals, dining etc., and keep people employed.

21. Barbados will have to decide what ‘type’ of tourism product it wants to promote.

The disastrous mid-80’s push to mass-market tourism, which was originally designed to eliminate seasonal swings in tourism-related unemployment, did little for the island, leaving most of the profits in the hands of foreign tour operators, and most of the money out of the island [I even heard anecdotal evidence of tourists asking hotel operators to buy back unused groceries when tourists were leaving].

Up-market tourism, such as Displaced Bajan is talking about, is a double-edged sword and incurs the wrath of correspondents such as Hopi.

What the tourism authorities have so far failed to grasp is that Barbados does not have some kind of Divine Right to tourists. Cuba is beating Barbados hands down on value for money, as is Belize and the Dominican Republic. A friend of mine who grew up in Barbados is taking his family to Belize for Christmas and to Cuba in the March-break. The reason? $$. Value for money.

As the world faces this recession, people are going to be ever-more discriminating about how they spend their vacation money, and no amount of government activity and tourism authority hand-wringing is going to change that.

Barbados will have to fight hard for its share of a radically-shrinking tourism pie. It will take out-of-the-box thinking and long-term planning. But it can be done.

By the way Hopi, service is NOT servitude.

22. Adrian L can explain your suggestion of reduced departure taxes being a win win for government. We wonder if there is a flaw in your position for two reasons.

First if you reduce the taxes and there is no incremental increase in arrivals your revenue will be negatively affected by those who came anyway.

Second the new airport business model we assume is built on projected revenues. If you were to change the fees now there will be a shortfall we presume?

What are we missing in your proposal.

23. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Effectively the last increase of departure tax went from $25 to $65 plus it captured intransit (this has since been halved) and children under 12.

Multiply by a through put of 1.5 million passengers and that gives GAIC Inc, another $60 million a year.

It is totally illogical to try and recoup the GAIC expansion and improvement cost in one or two years and still the air conditioning doesn’t work properly.

Better, stagger it over over 10 years and adjust the departure tax accordingly.

Don’t also forget the income derived from the additional concessions and a more than doubling of parking fees.

Of course Government can reduct the departure tax.

Average stay and spend per person = US$1,225.
    If half is spend on accommodation at 7.5% VAT and half on others (car rental, restaurants, attractions etc) at 15%, that equates to US$137.74 per person.

24. Didn’t anyone read what Displaced Bajan wrote?

Half the links on the official Barbados Tourism Authority website don’t work.

I tried them and it’s true. Maybe getting them to work might give potential visitors more confidence about the island itself.

25. Happy Christmas to all Barbadians, Why not Rock down to Guyana for the Holidays. We in Guyana will certainly make it better for you. See the Falls at Kaieteur, climb Mount Roraima, take an Intraserv bus trip thoough pristine rain forrest, catch a game of cricket at Guyana Stadium and then of course there is Georgetown for the ultimate shopping experience at Stabroek Market or better yet the City Mall where the atrium Christmas tree stands 19 feet tall. Come to Guyana or for some of you Come home to Guyana, we have the black cake already baked, the pepper pot is brewing and the curry simmering, so Rock down to Guyana and feel alright. Delta Airlines offers the only Boeing 767 flights to Georgetown daily from New York City, Guyana can also be reached by Meta Brasilian Airlines form Paramaribo, Boa Vista and Manaus, and Caribbean Airlines with 7 daily flights to Georgetown from Port of Spain with onward connections or through service.

26. Adrian H. Hard to beleive your people can’t afford the plane ticket to come home to Barbados for the holidays. Hm, well my people are certainly coming home to Guyana by the jet loads, in spite of the fact that we send so much money home to our country. You do know that oil is about to flow from the shores of Guyana and as such His Excellency President Jagdeo will consider starting up Guyana Airways, maybe we can do a flight to Bridgetown from JFK with service onwards to Georgetown at a reduced rates for Barbadians. Happy Holidays and I hope the Guyanese gyal made some nice black cake for you. Hi Adrian Loveridge. How are you? I hope your lovely hotel is doing well, in spite of this global reccession, and as I have said before you and Mrs. Loveridge, You are always welcomed in Guyana, where India come alive in the Americas, and moves to the sounds of Africa, and England prevails in all its glorious culture, Anglican religion and delicious Cadbury chocolates. Bye Adrian L, Happy Holidays

27. Anonymous
    If you’re telling them about “big market”, tell them how it is set up. booths of all types, meat stalls with meat dropped just on the floor and many many flies around. Right next to that could be a boutique or jewelry store. Big Market is the most unhealthy place one can go to shop.

28. well scout that is your opinion, but to me it is the most fabulous market in the world, and it is so beautiful too, endless oportunities for bargains in the latest fashions, delicious food and msotly organic fruits and vegetables. did you work at Caricom or Neal and Masey

29. @Diaspora-ite……Brilliant discovery! Do you know that after my few years here in this realm, where whitey rules, dominates, decimates and take what the hell he wants and don’t give a damn about anyone else, I didn’t realise that Blacks in constant servitude to whitey just for survival was just plain ole SERVICE! Oh my! The longer you live the more you learn!

30. Anonymous
    While I worked in Guyana, I stayed at Cara Suite next to Side walk.I stayed at the other one once but preferred Middle Street. It is a good Businessman’s Hotel.
    I meant no harm about Big Market except to say that it needs proper arrangement. Bourda Market is the same but not quite as bad. I shopped a lot in the maul next to Scotia Bank and partied almost every night by the then Sheriffs. I’m not shore if it still operates because I understand there were problems. Haven’t been there for a number of years an i miss going to Transport on Friday night to hear Blue Ribbon.

31. […] on the comments we have read  by the people over at KoolBarbados they appear to want to think outside the box about the issues facing our tourism […]

32. Barbados has always been marketed as a destination for the wealthy and as Displaced Bajan pointed out this may actually be counterproductive at this time. I am not not shocked half the links to the websites are not working since Bajans are still thinking way inside the box. Half of the websites in Barbados are poorly designed and even more poorly maintained, and it seems no one has realised how important a good website is when it comes to ease of getting information. Try sending an email to some Barbadian hotels, tour and taxi services and see if there are any replies. Not anytime this century at least. These little things can be the difference between a booking or someone moving on to another site for another country. We seem to always want to work from the top down and it is ridiculous.

KoolBarbados.com makes very valid points in terms of building up Barbados. The high-priced destination status which has made us so prosperous in the last few years won’t help us out of this recession. We have to come up with strategies to make us less of a concrete jungle elitist destination and a more friendly ‘everybody’destination. Value for money is paramount at these times. Which means streamlining inefficiencies in all our services. I like the ideas of preferential rates for goods and services to hotels to help reduce prices, but this comes with the commitment to reduce costs on the side of the tourism sector, fully exploiting telecommunications – some hotels have good websites don’t get me wrong, but great online service can not only cut costs but increase customer comfort. Lots businesses use Skype and MSN chat, it makes the communication not only more cost effective, but more personal and less time consuming.

Increasing energy efficiency measures in hotels is also another sector that needs to be addressed immediately especially in some of the older properties where old equipment and poor practices by housekeeping and kitchen staff dominate.

I love the idea of marketing more Barbadian cuisine and the use of Barbados-grown crops and meats. Countries with rich cultures like Jamaica and Cuba attract hordes of tourists because of it. Making our package more culturally vibrant is essential. Maybe investments should be made in specific farmland for hotels where the middle costs can be cut out and necessary crops grown and animals reared with secure supplies.

Prices here are definitely too high and it has to go way pass lowering fuel surcharge and departure tax, the whole tourism price package has to come down. Barbados has chased away the average spenders over the years, but now the high rollers are being hit too we need to do something and quickly. Minimum short term price cuts have their place as something has to be done soon , but to just hope that those minor measures would save us would be silly.

Additionally, we need to diversify our economic product, depending solely on tourism would mean certain doom. We have serious talent here and consultancy services to our Caribbean peers could see a serious business boom. Barbadians have expertise in so many areas that are in demand all of the Caribbean, but the US and UK still take the biggest part of Caribbean business services, when there is knowledge all around. This is something that needs to be worked on as well. We too have to stop doing it and we would save some serious foreign exchange when de day come.