Submitted by The Rev O Glenville Butler

B C Pires
B C Pires

Dear BU,

The Attorney at Law’s (David Commisong) response is commendable – to B C Pires’ Blunders” [ black youngsters singing old or dead white men’s songs (sic) Born Free and My Way]

From B C’s apparent confused stance, should we not quote or refer to William Shakespeare, William Wordsworth, Somerset Maughn et al because they are long dead white men? What about long dead Hymn Writers, such as John Newton (“Amazing Grace”) which is the “Anthem” that commemorated the abolition of slavery? And those who compiled 700+ Hymns (A & M) in the Prayer Book – which were honey and nectar for our forebears that succoured them while they were etched to the grinding stone –  before Sir Grantley Adams and others brought Reforms to Barbados and the Caribbean?

PS

I am aware many may not have heard or want to hear of the likes of John Newton et al. Contributor(s) Jack & Co wanted to know “what the hell O G Butler writes about; I cant understand it.” No need to blame his ignorance on me, ole chap – his secondary education was paid for – not mine!

42 responses to “David Commissong on B C Pires' Blunders”

1. I was amazed when I read the response of David Commissiong and I agree it was a commendable response.

Rev. Butler further exposes the flawed logic of B.C. Pires.

I’ll try and read B.C. Pires a bit more as this is the first article of his that drew my attention …….

… well, …. really, …. to be honest, …. it was David Commissiong’s response to it that caused me to look.

2. I don’t get it. All BC Pires was saying is that it was surprising that the youngster sang two songs whose performers would have been dead before he was born. I don’t see this as attacking the talent show. And what is the goodly Reverend on about?

3. I think we’re missing the big picture here. There is a subtle but deliberate movement by Indian and others to stamp their culture and authority on this country and it is gaining ground. In the mean time, we bajans are too busy caught up in our selfish world to realise what is happening. B.C.Pires, was brought to Barbados by his employers to disrupt the bajan way of think. When we realise what is happening, these people would have usurped us of our “little rock,”simply because we take too much for granted. We never really had to fight for anything and we don’t know how to fight now. May God help us bajan to wake up and smell the disaster before it is too late.

4. In other parts of the developed world Daily News Papers are bought to inform, give another opinion, advance certain causes and even educate.

In Barbados the news is “splattered” with those who use their position to tell us how bad we are, and what we should do. It would not be so bad if they were Barbadians but they are not; having left their homes of disorder and mayhem they have settled among us to spread that insiduous brand of discord and to insult us…there is no reason why we should like it.

5. Agree with your comment Yardbroom. Our media is now owned in the main by non Barbadians in the name creating a pan-caribbean company. Some of us know that this was a backroom deal to make money for a few. How can we have a media which seeks to develop and educate in the circumstance?

So we have a media lacking the resolve to honour their role in the Estate of the Realm. We have the Bajan brand being dismantled in the name of free market.

Do we know as a people what we want?

6. … come to think of it, I have heard Sparrow singing songs by old white men and enjoyed his interpretation!!

7. Wannah white people and Indians gotta plan well news flash it aint gonna work! I read that somebody say we are a lot of talk!

I am one that will die before my children bow down to these people who cannot control thei9r country and come to make a mess and mockery of mine!

David thompson and them better get these people OUT!

Imagine if I had to go to their country I would need to keep my mounth shut! but not them they doing the DAWG and sixteen puppies!

Persons who read this blog really think that we willjust sit down and keep quiet stupse!

Wel I guess I will be the first to die!

8. Juris, did you read the BC Pires article? I think he was saying a lot more than you suggest. Take this line for example:

“When Barbados’ contemporary award-winning rebel music is a Frank Sinatra cover, can anyone be surprised that troubled youths embrace “ZR culture” – minimalist dancehall with sexually explicit lyrics; drug, alcohol and cigarette use; promiscuity; and the reduction of personhood to the body? Or was I missing the point?”

Pires has taken one instance and used it to make some sweeping generalizations about our “troubled youths”.

Commissiong takes the bait to some extent, because Pires chooses to ignore the many examples of young Barbadians who demonstrate their creativity, self-pride and excellence in ways that are more culturally relevant.

Why no comment on the junior calypso competition? What about NIFCA? What of all the other young dancers, artists, actors/actresses, musicians in the country? What does it say about Pires that he dismisses all of them on the basis of a report he read in the Nation newspaper about the results of the Richard Stoute teen talent contest?

9. … I guess B.C. can counter my point by saying don’t mind Sparrow sings songs by old white men, …… he really aint neither Trini!!

10. […] David Commissong on B C Pires’ Blunders « Barbados UndergroundNew York Institute Says Removal Of Guyana MP Undermines Democracy · Minister Ronald Jones And A Case Of Confidence · LIME Enforces Speed Limits On Broadband Highway · Update~The Other Side Of The Kingsland Estate Court Matter Part XIII … […]

11. B C Pires needs to go back to his homeland, where he leave kidnappings a dime a dozen. why would he come here if he is going to fault everything under the sun. go back to your huge land space and see if u like it better. Obviously not. U R here in Barbados, the land of milk and honey 2 u. Stop being a critic. We (Barbadians have no problem with constructive criticism, but it seems B C Pires, have a real problem with our conservative way of life. I say toss the stupid man out of the country

12. “Et tu David?”

“All art is propaganda”; and I’m surprised that the most progressive voice in Bim is numbered with the forces of ignorance and oppression on this issue. Do we or do we not have our own music and songs? How long will we be just “mimic men”?

13. You guys are giving BC Pires too much publicity. Stop commenting on his writings and he will fade away.

14. notesfromthemargin Avatar
    notesfromthemargin

Is the objection to BC Pires that he’s had the temerity to criticise? Or that he’s had the temerity to criticise things that have a grain of truth? Or is he just completely wrong?

The blogs have been in the vanguard of campaigning for freedom of speech, are we for freedom of speech only as long as it is something we agree with?

Freedom of speech means you had better be prepared to hear something that you might object to.

As to “dismantling” a Bajan brand… if we are secure in our selves and our self image, does it matter what a Trinidadian columnist thinks?

Marginal

15. Aye, Aye, nftm. Like Juris states, BC Pires has a certain view of the matter. How can this be seen as attacking the show? And I thought there was a move afoot to get us to play more local music? Why are we so sensitive these days?

16. I am not convinced that P.C Pires is a real person so named. This Doppelganger’s comments are not dissimilar from any number of Caribbean internationalist Bajans. These articles authored by one B.C Pires could very well be those of Peter Wickham, The Johnson Fella at VOB, David Ellis, or any number of Anti-Barbados, Caribbean entegrationalist enthusiast.

Whomever or whatever IT is, one thing is for sure, people read IT’s comments and to do so they must purchase a newspaper.

17. notesfromthemargin Avatar
    notesfromthemargin

Why do you think that? He’s a well known journalist and you can Google his name if you feel the need to confirm his existence.

Perhaps the similarity is because there are a significant number of people who happen to agree with him on some issues.

Also Caribbean Regionalist does not necessarily equal Anti Barbados.

Marginal

18. B.C Pires loves Barbados, but he loves the Caribbean more, and if he has to bring down Barbados a notch or two to further his cause for integration he will do so.

BC Pires says he has never learned his place (nationnews article nov 03 2008) So like Dennis Johnson who was born in one Caribbean Island; educated in two, and lived and worked in three! He is a Caribbean national who refuses to be walled in by territorial borders.
    He is a free spirit charting his way.

B.C PIRES nov 3 2008 Nationnews article was a good read.

ha ha ha ha ha lol!

19. Does the term “Caribbean National” have a legal grounding behind it? If I have a caribbean or caricom passport what soverign entity stands behind it, and authorize such gaurantees as maybe required by the laws of the state that i am visiting? I guess i should start by asking what makes a passport a valid legal document?

20. @Adrian H

Maybe your answer can be found in the Revised Treaty Of Chaguaramas: Article 45 – Section 2.

21. David // December 9, 2008 at 1:14 pm

@Adrian H

Maybe your answer can be found in the Revised Treaty Of Chaguaramas: Article 45 – Section 2.
    ===========================

Thanks David i will read it later, But since you seem to have read it, let me put these questions and situations to you, too ponder.

Is the US embassy accepting caricom passports?

If i am a guyanese and I traveled to the US on a caricom passport and i get my, get myself in trouble by overstaying, was eventually caught and deported, would the US authorities be wrong if they deported me, a Caricom national back to Barbados? would the Barbados immigration authorities accept this guyanese national?

Why are we caribbean countries still deporting one another citizens if they are now caribbean nationals? or is it that you are only a caribbean national if you apply, is approved and pay for your caricom passport?

22. Has anyone seen a picture of B.C. Pires? is he black or Indian? what does the B.C. stand for? I am just curious. Following the recent bombings in Mumbai, i notice that almost all the Indian officials, where named using the same format of two initials and a last name. But then again we have V.S. Naipaul, wait he was an Indian, no? see wuh uh mean!! Maybe it was a throw back to our colonial days, stupid under de Union Jack. A.Q. KHAN is de father of Pakistan Nuclear capabilities. But wait in my own neck of the woods we have a R.D. Sahl, a popular Newscaster, who is as white as can be. Oh well may be there is nothing identifiable in B.C. Pires name? Has anyone seen him? lol!

23. Has anyone seen a picture of B.C. Pires? is he black or Indian? what does the B.C. stand for? I am just curious. Following the recent bombings in Mumbai, i notice that almost all the Indian officials, where named using the same format of two initials and a last name. But then again we have V.S. Naipaul, wait he was an Indian, no? see wuh uh mean!! Maybe it was a throw back to our colonial days, stupid under de Union Jack. A.Q. KHAN is de father of Pakistan Nuclear capabilities. But wait in my own neck of the woods we have a R.D. Sahl, a popular Newscaster, who is as white as can be. Oh well may be there is nothing identifiable in B.C. Pires name? Has anyone seen him? lol!

24. Adrian:
    Do me a favor. Do not associate me with cowards who write to newspapers under assumed names. I believe in what I say and write and do so under my own name, even when told to go back to Grenada and stay in jail to “lose the rest of my mind”…..
    B.C. Pires wrote the same garbage he is sporuting in the Nation now, when he wrote for the Express in T&T. He seeks attention by being obnoxious, and is trying to incite the very public reaction he is getting here!

Dennis

25. …. and by the way: when have I ever been ANTI-Bajan????

26. Wait wait, Before i apologize to de wrong person, have you ever posted on these blogs before? I thought de real DJ said he would never post on them? Now i believe you to be a man of your words so if i am correct this can’t be you. Now de net and dese blogs full uh doppelgangers, and i may have had email conversations wid de real DJ, is dat true and can you confirm such? cause I gine only apologize and retract my statement if this DJ is like Ken Husband’s ” de one and only. LOL!

BTW have you ever seen this B.C.Pires person?

27. Adrian H do a search of BU using ‘B.C Pires’, we used his picture on the first blog when this issue was first raised.

Also DJ posted on BU over the Crop Over time. He is not as gutless as some of his colleagues :-). We all know debate on the blogs can get robust at times.

28. David i cannot find nuh picture of B.C.PIRES

29. Thanks fuh de photo David. Now uh see it, uh could remember seeing it some place before.

Fuh some reason i fancy B.C. Piers as B.C. Pliers, cause he plucking and plying like a Dentist of old, who hopes to extract the decaying tooth the source of much pain, thereby winning a patient for life.

B.C.Pliers says that he is cut from the same cloth as Eric Williams. Now, he got a bald head like Eric Willams, but I am sure that isn’t what he meant. Eric Williams was Afro Trini no? and B.C look like a Trini Indian, hard tuh tell wid out de hair, maybe he is mixed. Could be that he simply shared Eric’s view of what had occurred when Jamaica left de Federation.

30. BC Pires resembles a cross between Chris Mchale and Colin Brewer . Thats three outstanding jackasses right there.

31. Thanks David for pointing out that I have blogged….. and yes Adrian – “is me!” Pires, I think, is of Portuguese descent [may be wrong, but….] just to “clear up” the question!

Dennis

32. BASIL Pires is not Indian. He is of Portuguese extraction.

33. Who cares what extraction Pires is. He is not Bajan and he is an idiot. File closed!

34. Let me alert readers that I am not Bajan either, but I am most certainly not an idiot.

35. Equity, once you bring something worthwhile to the discussion you are welcomed. However I have to agree with the happening.

36. CRAP ! CRAP ! CRAP ! AND MORE CRAP !

37. “Also DJ posted on BU over the Crop Over time. He is not as gutless as some of his colleagues.”

I don’t agree with everything Dennis Johnson says but I endorse the abovementioned quote.

38. So what is new in Barbadosland except for Miss Barbados 2008 is on the fast track to becoming the next Miss World 2008 and if I am reading correctly here it is safe to conclude BC Pires is Guyanese. I had feeling he was Guyanese because in one of his articles he says he loves his Guyanese rum, now I know Guyanese, as I am GUYANESE and Guyanese always like to sneak in something about their great culture and country. Well he Trini friends tell he Barbadosland is just a sandbar in the ocean, well let me tell BC Pires that Guyana is about to push out to sea, ad the entire coastal area is inundated with water, from the Garden City of Georgetown to the great sugar fields of Leonora and points in between. Anyway, I had a feeling BC was Guyanese. Adrian hello, BC looks like a bald headed coloured man to me, but what do I know. Bye everyone Love you all, remember now we is family, and I an even know ayuh.

39. Yes Pires is Portuguese, but a lot of them mixed, and most likely he comes out of Guyana since most of the Portuguese there in Trinidad and Tobago come from of Guyana.

40. Dennis Johnson, please accept my sincere apology for insinuating that B.C.Pires and you could be the same person. I should have asked a question rather than suggest the possibility that such was the case. Again my sincere apologies.

Adrian

41. … apology accepted, Adrian. We may disagree, from time to time, but I will always enjoy the exchange. I respect your views!

Dennis

42. you should check out bcraw.com if you really want to get rilled up and see the last column that the Nation liked but refused to run knowing Bajans would take it the wrong way. It’s call Whip Them Good and it’s under BC’s B’dos. I’d love to see some comments on that piece.