Submitted by Yardbroom

democracyOne sage – B.C Pires Nation Newspaper 1-19-2009 – stated in his harangue…”I haven’t been here (Barbados) long enough”…

I say, you have been here too long.  He opines…”we (Barbadians) debate so we don’t have to do”…

We are sorry to disappoint you but we will not change despite your ill-conceived beneficence.  That a national paper in Barbados could encourage by license, a writer to publish the nonsense I will quote is unbelievable…and he is paid I presume.

B.C Pires states…”Jamaica, Trinidad and Guyana indicate what, given enough time, guns and ammo will happen everywhere in the Caribbean – including Barbados”… As if to further the effect of a naked flame in a gasoline tank, he launches forth into:

…”you can only go on giving justifiably angry young men church for so long before they notice fire arms are more expressive”…

That a National Newspaper, yes a National paper could pay people to write such “tosh” in a free democratic country is inexcusable.  This writer – B.C Pires – is uncomfortable with our church ethic, it disappoints him, but to juxtapose, “justifiable angry young men”, “fire arms” and “more expressive” in the same sentence is unforgivable.  Particularly when he previously stated…”with enough time guns and ammo what will happen everywhere in the Caribbean- including Barbados.”  The writer seems to have a wish list, quite peaceful Barbados does not cut it for him.  We are sorry to disappoint you Mr.Pires.

We Barbadians remember how on …”Friday July 27, 1990 when 114 members of the Jamaat al Muslimeen led by Yasin Abu Bakr attempted to stage a coup d’état against the govt of Trinidad and Tobago.  Forty two insurgents stormed the Red House the seat of Parliament and took the Prime Minister A.N.R. Robinson and most of his cabinet hostage”…”about 24 people died during the coup attempt”…(Wikipedia)

Is that what you mean Mr. Pires by guns being “more expressive” in the hands of youth.  Barbados and Barbadians can do without your silly, and they are silly lectures.  It is these debates – you treat with scorn – which have given us the relative tranquility we have, we debate, we seek no “expressive guns.”  Don’t tell me you did not mean that.  It is the culture to which you have alluded Sir!

Or is it the kidnapping prevalent in Trinidad with “expressive guns” you hanker after, well of more recent vintage.

…”As of March 2007 three members of the Jamaat al Muslimeen have confessed to their role in the kidnapping, rape and murder of an Indo-Trinidadian business woman Vindra Naipaul-Coolman”… (Wikipedia)  The realities to which you direct us and I quote…”will greatly change the way we live”…Oh yes! it would, but no thanks, lecture the mobsters in Cocorite – Trinidad – they are in need of them.

Trinidad and Tobago Express January 21, 2009

• …”A three-month-old baby was the only one left alive following a triple murder in Cocorite yesterday which the police described as a scene out of a horror movie…two of the victims, who were married in June 2007, had their throats slit from ear to ear one investigator said”…”In another part of the apartment was the woman’s teenage cousin.  His throat had been slit as well”…
  • “Another PH driver chopped to death the seventh in the last two months and the fourth this year”…
  • …”A three year boy was shot on his left hand after his mother was robbed of an undisclosed sum of money while walking to their home”…

Expression of guns and a culture of violence, this is just one day’s cull taken at random.

In a stable democratic country like Barbados where there is a freedom to vote and a freedom to write.  There should also be a freedom to be responsible, that freedom has been disdainfully discarded by a “pseudo intellectual” who constantly intones us – Barbadians – how clever he is and that we should march to the beat of his drum, while he insults us, sorry we will not.

A “little” aside because it is worthy of only that, were the words quoted here on Barbados Underground of the Guyana Honorary Consul Norman Faria in reference to immigration.

…”this is causing considerable stress and worry for my people, since they always try to follow the rules and do not wish to be undocumented”…

Always try to follow the rules, did you say!  I recall a woman from Guyana jumping into the careenage in Bridgetown to escape immigration scrutiny.  After being fished out and beached, with proper breathing restored she regaled us after with on being deported she will be back! and they can’t stop her!  Follow the rules did you say? You jest.

When you B.C. Pires and a “couple” on Radio programmes lecture us the “Common People” about this liberal free-for-all and people movement.  We will not be conned, we have looked into the dark, dismal abyss and we do not like what we see. “The common People”

1. Anonymous // January 28, 2009 at 6:26 am

BFP used to have some real nice bloggers who done with them big time.

People like Pandora,John,Chase,a bajan girl living in england (I think kathy was her name)even rumpletskin and others.

Only Hants still there sucking up to them every 5 minutes.
    —————————————————————

Hi Anonymous….thanks for the compliment, Chase and Technician are the same person.

2. Chase I thought so and was about to ask you but did not want to offend.

How is your little girl?

Have you heard anything from Patrick Porter,you and he used to blog a lot about family.

3. No offense taken.
    My little lady is growing up fast, has me tired. Wish I had done this at 19 🙂

I dont hear about PP, except the other day when some one was accused of being him, I know he was sick so I hope he is ok now.

4. David the nastiness at BFP continues

There is a BFP response to Hants in the comments section right now.

Wow,the snake really showing its fangs.

5. Tech, so Anonymous can enquire after ur little, girl but not me!! Well yuh know wha u can do, don’t yuh!!

Steupse!!

6. When all is said and done, I think what we and BFP stand for the same ideals, so I doan know wha all d fuss is about!!

7. Tech, maybe u thought I was after ur little girl!! Bro, I was n’t after she!! dere enuf sweet chicks, far more dan in Bim, hay in Hinglen tuh keep me busy fer a very, long time!!

Yuh din need tuh worry!!

8. Some sweet, day BFP will realise that both they and I are on the same side and invite me back to be among my brothers, dem!! Meanwhile, I thank David for his hospital!!

Oops, sorry, David!! Hospitality!!

Laaaaaaadddddddddddddddddd!!!!

9. BFP launch a viscious frontal assault on BU this morning obviously badly hurt by the consensus here that they are anti black , back stabbing bastards.

I was suspicious of BFP from time of race based attack by lawyer Goodridge and his son on a black youth in Highgate Gardens. BFP and his Cattlewash running dogs vociferously suported the Goodridge criminals.

We still dont know the outcome of that case. I hope if I am ever arrested my charges disappear like the Goodridge’s.

10. David be Prime Ministerial on this BFP dispute by staying above the fray. Do not responde to them, let me deal with them. You have a more important task, like posting relevant articles that interest Barbadians. Seriously. They cannot any longer make their boastful claim on being number one.

11. I’ve just seen the attack and am surprised by it. I was frankly, unaware of all the machinations!! It’s too much fuh me, boa!!

12. @199

No, I wasn’t banned. My comments were on permanent moderation by them, so I stopped commenting there.

13. Well aint didn’t take BFP too long to moderate my comments. ha ha ha ha

14. Tech, no problem, you’re in good, company with me hay!! 🙂

Howdy, Adrian!!