If kids come to us [educators/teachers] from strong, healthy functioning families, it makes our job easier. If they do not come to us from strong, healthy, functioning families, it makes our job more important.

Barbara Colorose

Minister of Education Ronald Jones  - Image Source Nation News
Minister of Education Ronald Jones – Image Source Nation News

The recent gaffe by Minister of Education Ronald Jones when he publicly chastised the actions of some school principals has rightly attracted the wrath of Barbadians. His public condemnation of one of the key stakeholders in the educational system cannot be excused. Education is one of the issues where a national consensus is mandatory; the desire by some to politicize this matter must stop. The education of our PEOPLE post Independence has been the vehicle that Barbados has used to overcome many of the challenges that confront nations, especially the developing ones. Its importance can be seen annually by the large slice of the budget which is allocated.

We have no doubt that Minister Jones is sincere in his desire to improve his ministry. He was a teacher and we assume must be acquainted with the challenges facing the educational system. However, arising from the current impasse it is difficult to fathom how Minister Ronald Jones can now commander the support and engender the confidence required from all the stakeholders in the education fraternity.

We believe he should do the honourable thing and resign.

Having stated the above we have to remind the BU family that the challenges facing our educational system did not begin on January 16, 2008. The hunger by other key players in the system to use the public forum to ventilate on sensitive issues is equally wrong and does nothing to build a team approach to problem solving.

What is so difficult for our educators to understand that we are at a critical juncture in the country’s socio-economic development, and education will have to play a key role to support the model society we want to continue building?

What is so difficult for our educators to understand that this is an issue that requires a consensus approach by the Ministry of Education, principals, teachers, parents and others to agree to a roll-out strategy to make our education system relevant?

If all the players were singing from the same hymn sheet then Minister Jones would have appreciated that saying what he did in the forum that he did was inappropriate. His gaffe followed that of the Chief Education Officer Dr. Wendy Griffith-Watson a few months ago when she slighted two of our schools on national radio, it generated a similar furore.

Our children who our educators are committed to serve are being sorely letdown. As long as the public bickering between the Ministry of Education and the other stakeholders continue; the impact on our educational system will be negative at a time when leadership is required in all areas of society. The children represent the future of a country; many have started to question the relevance of the current education system. Our children who have to suffer heavy criticism from society deserve better from our leaders in education.

The subject of education is dear to the hearts of Barbadians, we often boast of our 98+ literacy rate. Instead of the bickering we are hearing from the players in the education sector, we would prefer to hear of the solutions to address the lack of infrastructure to teach reading in many of our schools, how about the inefficiency of the criterion test which is given to Infants B pupils and the results are often not known until they reach Class 2, bear in mind that the criterion test is used to stream students. What about the large number of students who don’t PASS ONE CXC?

Barbadians seem fixated on the success of the block of students located at the pinnacle of the pyramid. A major disappointment has been the unwillingness of our educational system to prepare students for the changing world. The comfort level we still have to produce lawyers, accountants, sociologists and not enough engineers (scientists) and individuals who are prepared to be entrepreneurs. The vision and strategy for education must change to target the thousands of children who are being deposited annually by the current system with no skills.

Minister Jones if he is able to survive the current shouts for his head or his successor, the task to build a consensus approach in the important sector of education must become a priority. A nation of ignorant and illiterate people cannot be a good thing.

Related Blog

Time To Remove The Band-Aid From Education

118 responses to “Minister Ronald Jones And A Case Of Confidence”

1. I wonder, because what would be the explanation for children liming in town during school hours? Maybe someone can enlighten me.
    ……………………………………………………….
    Tony, those are the students the Ministry should round up and check with the school and parents. I don’t feel that these children were sent home by any principal.

I also have to blame parents who refuse to check reports showing that they children were absent for numerous days when the children never remained at home. When my children were at school, I can tell you when ever my children were sick and had to remain at home. When I see reports, the first thing I look for is the days absent section, then I would look at marks.

So Tony, those students are qualified limers due to the slackness of parents.

2. It is a fact that some children take to school extra outfit for their extra curricula activities. The acts that these children engage in after and during school would turn your black hair silver instantly. This new impasse is fodder for them.

3. Dear Scout you wrote “…J; and others like you. Keep it up, your stupid, irresponsible comments ”

Read ALL my comments on this matter again and explain to me EXACTLY what is STUPID or IRRESPONSIBLE about them”

I am with my ALL my children EVERYDAY, from the day they are born until after they are responsible working ADULTS. I take (not send) them to church EVERY SUNDAY, my children are at school EVERYDAY that the school is open. The teachers NEVER complain about my children. My children are bright, respectful, honest, do not use drugs nor alcohol and have NEVER witnessed, nor experienced an act of violence in my home.

Can you Scout say the same?

4. Watched a piece of Evening News last nite on TV-8; saw when R. Jones wants principals to draft a school plan by April 2009 – what they spend how and what they will do with budget. Jones is to assess if their respective Sports, Music, Maths, English getting fair attention…

In other words? HE MKG SURE THEY WORK AND BU WANTS JONES 2 RESIGN? choopz

Mussee got a friend who needs a pick, yuh!

5. J
    I’m Sooooo proud of you and your achievements with your children. I just hope many other parents like you can say the same thing. To answer your question J, I am the proud father of three chidren, they are ALL graduates of UWI and gainfully imployed. Further more, I followed the tradition set by my parents and took my children to church and they are STILL, like me, involved in the church. My children, as far as the community and I know are mentors in the village they come from, right now I have stop accepting Godchildren and my children have taken over the position. I hope they NEVER disappoint me because it scares me that they are soooo good. I keep looking for the BAD in them because at that age there was some bad in me. I drifted away from church but returned after I matured. I would also add that I try to be my children BEST friend, BEST brother, Their CONFIDANTE and most of all the BEST father a child could ever want. When I’m wrong on a matter, I admit and ask for an apology from them. They do the same. Finally , my wife of forty years and I operate the same way. We live a life that pleases my children and that is the goal we hope to continue.Only recently my children were awarded at church for their work within the church, yet they are their own people and free to make their own decisions and they do. I hope this pleases you as your report really, honestly pleases me. As I said I just hope many other parents can make a similar or better report.

6. J
    I still think the best solution to the Minister/Principal impasse, is dialogue between the parties involved and I also think Min Jones is arrogant. He may have a good point but the method used if flawed. Mr Farley must also carry some of the blame. Two wrongs don’t make a right.

7. Bush Tea you aint easy! But you are truthful!

fah real!

8. I think that we have a serious disconnect between all the groups concerned and I think that some here are having opinions just for political reasons.

Jones was wrong wthere B or D he was wrong…

He could have made a pro-child speech with out crying down the head teachers in front of the students…

he could have made a speech about the many changes he was going to introduce at the ministry to help children get a proper education… there was so many other paths he could have taken .

What i find interesting with generation of children parents and the society are:

1. We want nicer teachers, better teachers for our children but we are not paying for such.
    2. Our children are to be disciplined only in a manner prescribed by the parents… so I guess the tachers must call up these parents to ask how to discipline these kids.

3. Respect is earned some people like to say as opposed to having respect for a position such as a police, teacher, priest etc… which I guess means that childern should not respect authority UNTIL they earn that respcet…what aload of rubbish.

4.Children should not be sent home from school because they might get interferred with etc etc… Of course they do not get troubled when they are loitering in the bus stand and in town or pun a min-bus

5. Teachers need to understand the fact that de children have home problems and should be excused because of such… that explains why trhey have brand name gear, 20 earings, tattoes all over and a knife so let them be…

I could go on

9. Scout wrote ” I keep looking for the BAD in them because at that age there was some bad in me. I drifted away from church but returned after I matured”

Maybe a good number of our parents and teachers are like you in a “drifting” phase.

10. Scout and J you are not the problem…

My question to J is Have you ever had to take care of other peoples children ( people that you did not know) ? What was that experience like?

Do you realise what teachers are dealing with everyday?

11. Bush Tea I hope you understand that my frequenting Holmes bar wasn’t about de hamcutters. If I remember correctly, there were a bunch nice looking girls living upstairs. Ham cutters was a front to see these girls. Wuh evuh became of them?

I can live in both the lawfull and Lawless world, can you? 🙂 While i do understand your points re. changes to laws and the legislating of new laws done in haste and seemly not congnizant of the prevailing reality and mindset of the citizentry, as to who gine follow dum and who gine enforce dum, the reality is that man cannot get along, it is not in our nature to get along for any length of time, hence the need for an agreed to process to guide our relationships, too arbitrate our differences, and too allow us an oppertunity plan our actions somewhat into the near future. The LAW does that. We need to get into the habit of including the relevant legislation when dealing with a particular issue. Case in point. Cecil McCarthy, suggested some changes to the current education act, and while i am not highlighting or agreeing to what he contends are important and needed changes I am however hightlighting his approach to making changes to laws. Breaking them, ignoring them, for whatever reason should not be encouraged.

12. Dear Me:

The answer is yes, for more than a decade. It has been a most rewarding experience. Just about the best thing I have ever done in my life.

I enjoy taking of children, mine and other people’s and it does not matter whether they are newborns or teenagers.

13. The secret is never to thinkof them as “other people’s children”

Always think of them as God’s children.

Children of the KING.

Then yo will feel honoured to have the opportunity to serve the King by taking care of his children.

14. @Adrian Hinds
    Bush Tea I hope you understand that my frequenting Holmes bar wasn’t about de hamcutters. If I remember correctly, there were a bunch nice looking girls living upstairs.
    But looka my crosses here nuh… Adrian you now let down the side REAL bad. Wuh- you REALLY think any of the fellows used to go there for the hamcutters? or to put money in the juke box? but skipper, Let’s keep that between us OK?

You wrong about the law thing too… but I am sure that you know that.

15. J
    Obviously, you can’t read or you just wickedly misinperpreted what I wrote. I SAID THAT AT MY CHILDREN’S AGE I WAS NOT AS PERFECT AS THEY APPEAR TO BE SO I’M LOOKING FOR THE BAD PART OF THEM. I’wouldn’t fool you that I have saints but I know they and their freinds are very respectful in our presence but I’ve never caught them otherwise. I’ve LONG pass the “drifting stage”, I’m now enjoying my senior years with a wife I had from age 15 yrs and I’m still enjoying her presence, her warmth and above all her LOVE. A great love we have for each other. We made an oath “until death, us do part and I hope that parting is a long way off or that we go together.

16. Not in school, but still learning Avatar
    Not in school, but still learning

I think the Minister’s comments were right on. I’ve always heard that principals need to get permission from the Minister of Education or an appropriate “deputy” before students are dismissed before the end of the school day.

I agree that there are other ways of disciplining students for certain infringements other than sending them home.

Maybe the Minister could have adressed the matter in another forum, but then how many parents would have known that their children are possibly being put at risk “illegally” because they broke the school rules and the Ministry of Education’s rules?

One could even ask if the Ministry has a “book of punishment” which can be referred to in case their rules are violated.

17. Not in school, but still learning

I am not sure that a principal is acting illegally by sending a student home. What constitutes ill-discipline or injury? From my viewpoint, anything; even words said.

If the Minister wants it to be the way he says, then he has to get Parliament to change the legislation. The Principals will not give in that easily and the unions are another matter to deal with. An employer has a duty to run an establishment within the scope of law and order; provide safe environment, etc. There is no doubt that the Principal has to do what has to be done to maintain discipline; otherwise the risk of losing many more children would be very high.

Really, when all is said and done, if anything happens, the bill will be at the Ministry where the ultimate responsibility lies and the Principal will still be within his/her right.

18. Minister Jones should be fired from the Ministry of Education. His poor pronunciation is a bad example for the people of Barbados, especially the students. He continues to say- bofe, dat, dem, tirty tree, tousand, poorgram, youfe, tank, tings, tink etc.