Submitted by BU family member X

broadband-image

In a quick survey among friends none of us are getting anywhere near the speeds shown here on the C & W website. When contacted – if you get through at all – C & W aka LIME claims these are “ideal” speeds. And can vary widely depending on multiple factors. This is like buying a car that promises 50 miles to the gallon and when you buy it and drive you get 2 mpg.

Shouldn’t this be widely propagated?  Who is monitoring LIME for accuracy? How can we demand what we pay for? Is the Fair Trading Commission the answer?

Please hear the cry of the PEOPLE O Lord.

Also read about the BU family member who requested information from the Ministry of Transportation and Works about the Flyover Project and was told that he can’t have it. Maybe the Freedom of Information Act will help?

Arising out of the long and robust debate on the blog Barbados Association Of Professional Engineers And The ABC Highway BU family member Chris Halsall took the initiative to submit an email to David Scantlebury at the Ministry of Transportation and Works  requesting access to traffic analysis/studies used to informed the decision by the former government to build flyovers on the ABC Highway.

Hello Mr. Scantlebury.

I was given your name by the MPT switchboard (and two other MPT employees) as being the holder of one or more traffic analysis reports which showed that the Fly-Over project would be of net benefit.

I’m wondering if these reports are available to the public.  And, if so, how one might request a copy of same.

I would be more than happy to pay for the reports.

Please advise me on my above.

Thanks, and kindest regards.

-Chris

45 responses to “Dear Father, The PEOPLE Need Your Help!”

1. When The Right Excellentcy Errol Walton Barrow was P.M, I heard from usually reliable sources at the time, that he was offered a fully maintained aircraft, if he would allow casino gambling into Barbados. The Dipper’s response was, I Quote “Over my dead body.” Thanks to our new breed of leaders, they have allowed themselves to be pawns on the enemies chess board. it is just a matter of time before we lose the game.

2. My internet speed of 1MB DL so far has been what I paid for. For the past months my problem has been constant drop outs (my adsl kept dropping quite often sometimes for a couple of days). In the past 2 weeks though it appears to have stabilized more or less with very few drop outs (perhaps the new modem C&W gave contributed to it).

3. The matter of quality bandwith and even the rebrand to LIME, are these issues which the FTC would be concerned about? Are these matters which the intervenors would use as negotiating points?

Just asking.

4. To correct the record somewhat…

Mr. Scantlebury was extremely helpful, and while he wasn’t in office when I called in the morning, he did return my call upon his return.

Mr. Scantlebury also did *not* tell me that I couldn’t have the report, but rather that he himself did not have (nor had ever seen) such a report, did not know if such a report was ever done, and did not know if such a report would be available to the public.

The above e-mail was actually not intended for publication (but what’s done is done). I sent it to David to prove that what I said I had done over on the “ABC Highway” blog was true.

5. We are sorry about that Chris. In future please tag the email with a message which indicates for BU eyes only.

We noted that the email captured all that you had volunteered in the blog and therefore saw no reason not to publish. Actually it shows Mr. Scantlebury in a good light.

6. I’m reading this post listening to streaming VOB 92.9 fm which keeps cutting in and out. There s definitely something wrong with our broadband system. Does anyone know what’s wrong? Isn’t there a disgruntled C & W employee (OK they’re all disgruntled) who could blow the whistle on the poor service.

7. Now first let me say that I am not an employee of LIME or am I a sympathiser because I think they have be goading us for a while now. A name change will not stop that.

However, as it relates to the “speeds’ on adsl and this relates only to the speeds. ADSL technology is not one of finite bandwidth. One speeds are dependant on how close one lives to the exchange. The further away the less the speed. So you can be paying for 2Mb line but unless you live next to the exchange you are not going to get that speed.
    My ADSL line has not been giving many problems but I have first hand info on the frustrations of getting help at c&w or LIME or whatever they call themselves. This name change thing reminded me of the “lipstick on the pig” remark in the US election…..

8. We do have significant issues with internet service here in Barbados, I am not sure if C&W (LIME) has the infrastructure or has been fully utilising their exisiting systems to handle the continuous increase in broadband usage. The majority of my neighbourhood has broadband and service becomes poorer as we speak. In terms of Telebarbados Wireless Broadband service, I advised a family member to have it installed, since C&W broadband is not available in her area. So far with our trial, the service leaves much to be desired, though bandwidth seems to be equal to or greater than what was stated there is serious intermittency in transmission and customer service (though somewhat better than C&W) is still in my opinion below the needed standard. Additionally, during stormy weather connection is virtual non-existent. I am at a loss as to what is happening here. I believe the only way we can combat such issues is to promote serious competition. How to do that is still cloudy in my mind but there has to be a way. Seems like I would have to invest in satellite service or something in order to get proper quality.

9. @ Chris

I am sorry to say that this is barefaced lying by Mr Scanterbury .

Check with the office of Cheryl Bennett Innis.

10. Thank you sarahpalin for asking a relevent question to this thread, and for the information from RE Engineer. To try to get speedy help from the Caribsurf Helpdesk (tel:238-4357) is next to impossible, and they do not appear to have a functioning e-mail.

11. To check your real speed
    log on to
    speedtest.net
    Click on the orange pyramid and you will get your up and download speed.

Please post your results.

12. @ Tell me Why

I wouldn’t use the recommended orange triangle. I test it with Curacao. The Latency (ping) is so humongous for T&T so that may not be a suited test.

The upload I was able to get through however, the download is not as advertised by C&W. And also we see a LIME van today and just drove off…

This is the results I got from here:
    http://www.speedtest.net/result/362234167.png

~ Test to Cuaraco ~~~
    Download: 356kb
    Upload: 538kb
    Latency (Distance ~ 600mi): 152ms
    I would have wondered if C&W provided the customers with this Siemens SE587 WLAN dsl modem/router because its not really helpful with speeds.

I would use something like D-Link or Linksys than this router from C&W to at improve our network besides sharing the Internet bandwidth without this bandwidth-sharing problems Siemens is lacking so far…

13. Krzysztof Skubiszewski Avatar
    Krzysztof Skubiszewski

@ Tell me why – good idea – hope everybody does it.

Here are the speeds I’m currently getting for $139 per month. And getting ripped-off by C & W. With no recourse.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/362287833.png

14. s

15. I don’t follow DEm or Bees but it should be obvious from listens and wtaching for urself that the Bees were doing this country better….David talking to us like we are idiots in fact he is like a puppet to whoever pulling his strings…..he is a very emotional guy that seems like he is not sure about what he is doing…..just jumo one morning school children free….not even countries with money does stupid things like that….i don’t care what people say OWEN was the best we had and David could top…he seem like jealous 15 yr old boy….wants persons to love me by giving everything free…..

we want a leader..someone who will charter this country on the best roads….i think he should step down and let strong people run this country….so DEm wake up you guys as usual always puts us back instead of going forward…what will become of us….

16. who the hell came up with LIME…that is just so stupid for a place that does what Cable and Wireless does….i would fire the guy that said yes to that…..LIME….it said nothing about the business….let’s hope in 5 yrs we are accustom to it…i doubt it….you guys need some help

17. Also the flyover would have worked with more organinisation to the flow of traffic….as it stands we have just created 4 lanes roads but nothing has changed…roundabout will not work…we have to much traffic flwing in those areas…we need more roads or we need to cut down the amount of traffic flowing…as usual leave it up to the DEMS…..listen to this logic…traffic flows better when it is not obstructed…..

18. I cannot really complain about my connection as adsl speeds cannot be quaranteed. http://www.speedtest.net/result/362317346.png
    http://www.speedtest.net/result/362317660.png
    The prices paid for said sevice is a different matter altogether.
    Overpriced is an understatement.

Check your settings and follow any recommendations.
    http://www.dslreports.com/tweaks

19. Freedom of information cannot be abuse, Barbadians must be aware of projects or information that will not fall
    under freedom of information, that info
    is not to be used to hold anyone or party to ridicule.
    Cabinet info will not be up for freedom of info regardless of who forms the Goverment or who is the Goverment.

20. @All… Sigh…

Will you all *PLEASE* read your Service Level Agreements!!!!

ADSL is a consumer grade, “best efforts” service. *YOU* *AGREE* to unreliable and lower-than advertised service when you sign the purchase order / order form.

Not just here in Barbados, but throughout the world, constrained ADSL bandwidth is complained about.

Please note that when you buy “consumer grade” service, you are buying what is known as “over-subscribed” bandwidth. As in, for every kb/s you buy, the provider sells the same kb/s to 20 or 30 other people.

If you don’t like this, then step up and buy what is known as “clear-channel”. (And be prepared for serious sticker shock, and to mortgage your home to pay for it…)

I’m not trying to defend LIME here, but I grow tired of those who bitch and whine about things they’ve *AGREED* to!!!

(Deep breaths…)

Just for context, I’m currently helping “seed” the torrents for the just released Fedora 10 ISOs using two of my servers in North America. I’m currently *transmitting* at over 80 megabits per second to the Internet. (Yes, I wrote, and you read, that correct.) My cost? USD $110 a month.

21. stupe…I hope none of ya’ll who complaining about the service actually bothers to call and complain. Your efforts would be better served if you send a letter to Donal Austin or Richard Dodd. They have both created a company where absolutly no one who you speak to over the phone gives a flying rabit (female that is) about if you are getting the correct speeds or not. Just call and report a fault and a tech will look into it. Customer should read before they sign and then decide if they would be willing to shell out the money for a particular service. Also please be fully aware that even though the speed you get is dependent on how far you are from the exchange, the company never tells you if the speed that you have signed up for will be compatible with your line. They would happily take your 139 for 2 M speed knowing full well you can only get 1.5. Educate yourselves consumers and decide that together you have the power to change how companies do business. As one of our new slogans at LIME states…TALK IS CHEAP! So SHut up and do something about the crappy service you receive and stop bitching to us poorly treated CSR’s about your sh&*t!

22. I wouldn’t complain about the speed. However The Phone-line that has been cracking for sometime to be rectified was not done.

It is a pitiful situation for any consumers to be agreeing to such agreement that cannot be ‘friendly’ with consumer.

@ Chris Halsall:
    Any ideas about Last Mile Holdings?

I’m wondering about Last Mile Holdings offer us when they start up (if they are…). We hope it won’t be providing through DSL (wired or wireless) as their broadband.

~~~

I believe ADSL through copper-wire or Wireless is not good. Even with the SLA agreements, ADSL is still a loss and its not the way to go.

I read an earlier an-year-old article on BFP. J.Payne had some ideas and suggestions about the network and stuff.

23. I am telling you now. Unless Bajans start protesting vehemently for better service and quality, businesses (not just Cable & Wireless) will continue to take full advantage of us.

24. Yes, JCES. I recently had an altercation with Starcom, they owe me from my account after I closed it nearly 18 months ago. I was then told that I must expect this as it is a Trinidadian company.

I have walked away, leaving them, and my money, in the hands of God.

25. @.22: “Any ideas about Last Mile Holdings?

No definite information at all. I *hope* they’ll actually deliver service, although I’ve been hearing promises from them for *years*…

@.22: “We hope it won’t be providing through DSL (wired or wireless) as their broadband.

By definition, xDSL is provisioned over copper. “High-speed wireless” is called many things (WiMAX, 2.5G, 3G, et al), but it is *NOT* xDSL.

Let me please say, however, that copper- (or glass-) based provisioning is the best means of providing high-speed connectivity.

Having personally built three different wireless networks here in Barbados (in 3.5, 5.8 and 10.5 GHz bands), trust me when I tell you that wireless is inherently limited in the bandwidth possible. Consumer based wireless provisioning is “point-to-multipoint (read: shared), while copper/fiber is a point-to-point topography.

And there is simply only so much bandwidth you can modulate over “free-space” radio frequency (RF). (If anyone wants to argue this point with me, make sure you first understand how QAM / 64 QAM works.)

Thus, before Barbados is going to have a true competitor for residential broadband, we need to have Local Loop Unbundling.

Based on what I know, this is *AT LEAST* a year away, and that’s only if the “powers that be” start seriously working on it NOW…

26. LIME to dismiss 250 workers…

C&W/LIME has ignored procedures by LIME’s senior management not briefing with the worker’s representatives.

How will this new restructuring work?

27. @ all.

I have been a faithful Limer for a number of years and for years the technicians and customer service personnel have been advocating on your behalf, demanding that they do not distribute the faulty modems that most of you now use, to provide credits for loss of service without the customer having to ask for it, to provide more staff in the soon to be closed contact centre to answer your calls, more staff in the front office and better taining for staff. For years it has fallen on deaf ears. Putting it simply LIME DOES NOT CARE !!!

The reason that many customers have poor ADSL service is that LIME has a lot of sub standard equipment here in the Caribbean and they know that we will pay for the crappy service anyway. We have given them billions, especially here in Barbados!

@ 22

This is how the new restructuring will work….Mr. Donald Austin is no longer the chief cook and bottle washer he is marely just a puppet on a string and the new CEO Mr. Richard Dodd has this strange notion that he can dissmiss who he wants without regard for procedure. Even though the dismissal of all of the workers in the Contact Centre is still under negotiations and they are to meet with the Prime Minister next week, on Friday these same workers were issued with their dismissal letters.

In the meeting yesterday Mr. Dodd e referred to the C&W Caribbean as being run like a “Back Yard Garage” and has seen it fit to bring in a number of British Consultants being paid $50,000.00 a month to advise him how the new company should work. He stated at the meeting yesterday that many of the workers there are just taking up space and he could have just come in and hand out cards telling people that they are going home without an explanation. He made it clear that they do not need to go through the union as the union can do nothing to stop it.

Many workers sat in awe as he stated that he intends to reduce the work for of nearly 900 workers to a mere 593 by 2009 and everyone will be handed letters letting them know their fate by 31st december 2008.

This is all tied to the fact that they need to meet this traget so that the cheif in London can receive a bonus of 22 million pounds and rumour has it that if Mr. Austin delivers this he too will get a bonus in the millions.

LIME ….a company that cares nothing about the workers or the customers. Be well aware customers, that they DO NOT CARE.

They need to be run out of Barbados!
    I will be asking for my separation package becuase this new LIME has left a sour taste in my mouth, I will try my luck else where!

28. @Limer

We are sorry to read about C&W aka LIME continuing on its aggressive position to send hundreds on the breadline. While we understand the exigencies of business it is the height of lunacy that a company which corned 90+ million dollars in profit would contemplate such at this time. We have deliberately held back our language out of courtesy to the BU family,

29. Employers are willing to test the might of the unions as they are now seen as toothless tigers.
    Remember the Royal Shop and Sandy Lane incidents?
    C&W have been paying attention. I think we can expect more of the same from other employers in the future.

30. The social partnership apparently says nothing about social conscience.

31. You are correct General Lee the inefficiently run businesses in the Caribbean will use the prevailing economic conditions to send home people. Against this background the recent letter to the editor by Professor Michael Howard is very instructive:

But markets are not free and fair. Market failure is reflected in the domination of the region by large profit-maximising corporate firms whose policies lead to a divergence between profit maximisation and social welfare. Most of the capital gains from integration accrue to a few large corporations in Trinidad and Tobago. Further, the existence of information and institutional failures, high transportation costs, narrow money and capital markets, insider trading and inefficiencies in the goods market, prevent efficient resource allocation in CARICOM – Full article 

We have a funny feeling many of these so called regionally companies will start to shake-out their workforces.

32. @ General Lee…I must agree with you on the point you have made. Barbadians may think this only affect the workers at C&W but it will affect everyone. With talks of economic hardship in the coming financial year, large companies will seek to do the same without even though they may not be in financial turmoil. The private sector is sending a message to the union, that they can do nothing to stop them. You may say they can strike, but how long can one strike and go without a salary when mortgage payments and bills are due at the end of the month.

290 people going home is equal to 200 families loosing a source of income and finding jobs in this day and age will not be an easy task.

33. @ David,

Sorry, but when I reflect on the service that I get from LIME staff I am having a bit of difficulty in automatically condemning the sending home of some of them.

Up to Bush Tea more than 250 would go home….starting high up..

The concept that companies should ‘keep people employed’ as long as they can afford to, is not sustainable. It is precisely this philosophy that engenders the poor service attitudes that we see among many employees.

Every employee should be a net asset to the organisation that employs them. If this was the case, no wise employer would seek to get rid of such an asset.

The reality is that large numbers of ‘workers’ are nothing but parasites who sponge off the organisation -doing nothing productive – and in many cases even damaging the company’s image by their attitudes.

Even good, honest, hard-working and productive workers run the risk of loosing their jobs due to cut-throat competition and the realities of business in 2009…
    It is such workers that Bush Tea is worried about…. unless you are saying that LIME is about to sack such great workers….

34. @ Bush tea

I sincerly doubt that your poor experience from C&W was soley due to the fact of poor service from an employee. Many customers approach customer service personnel with a complaint about a product or service that they use which most of the times we can do nothing about it other than tell you how it is. If you call to report your service not working and a rep tell you that they have no idea when it will be fixed why get angry with the messenger. And if the person on the other end knows that no one else in the company, especially those who can do something can fix the problem, why should they try give you the notion that someone actually cares. Many customers Like you, are very abusive when take out their frustration about the poor service with the customer service rep. and then decides to complain for that person simply because they could not get what they want.
    If you approach a person with a stinking nasty attitude, whatever the cuase might be, most likely the person will not be bending over backwards to be nice to you.

From what you wrote I sense that you are one of those horrid customers whose awful approach would merit your horrid treatment

35. Thanks Thoughtful,

I almost forgot the other notable attribute of the useless employees that we have too many of… blaming someone else (management /customers/ other staff) for their uselessness.

Even (especially) where situations are beyond their control, valuable employees are those who empathize with customers, explain constraints and offer alternative options. They seek to convey the concerns of customers to the powers that be, IN THE INTEREST OF THEIR COMPANY.

…..now what do you know about Bush Tea? how did you determine that I am one of those horrid customers whose awful approach would MERIT horrid treatment??? …and even if that were the case, if that is the way you think, then…
    …hopefully, you will be one of the 250..

36. Bush Tea
    Congratulations on your new Blog.
    Much Success
    Yardbroom

37. @Bt

You are way too harsh on the employees. We should not exempt them completely but you maybe have compromised you mantra of leadership required.

It is like blaming the Barbados Football team or the West Indies cricket team when the root problems are with the respective boards responsible for running the two sports.

38. @Yardbroom,
    Thanks for the good wishes, but it was just an attempt to understand the workings of WordPress. I doubt that It will last…

@David,
    …all right David, I am sorry for the aggressive comeback….
    We are ALL to blame. Without leadership, there in not much of a chance for the organisation (or country), but the leadership vacuum ALSO exist at the individual level.

If you don’t think that the WI players are also largely to blame for the sports mess then you don’t know them.

In the midst of atrocious leadership it is not uncommon to fine outstanding individuals – including employees. The solution is not to blame everyone and be just like the idiot leaders – then we will be just as guilty.

We have to be careful when we cuss our leaders thet WE ourselves are not exactly like them -or even worse…
    ..the real problem is that many of us are. This is why we change leaders and se no different results.

39. @ Bush tea.

I surely do hope you are one of those LIME customers who will now have to wait even longer for your phone to be fixed or for your call to be answered or will suffer through long waits in a line at one of their stores. To keep a business like C&W running efficiently there needs to be man power, inefficiencies in service are that are usually experienced is many times caused by the lack of adequate staffing. Why do you think customers sometimes have to wait extremely long for service installations or fault repairs? Can you imagine 9 ADSL technicians to 9000 customers? Contratry to popular belief the technicians do not spend their time in rum shops during the day. Do you think that ditching employees will actually improve the service you get? The employees are not being replaced. The move is simply a matter of shedding cost so that the highly paid executives can continue to enjoy 6 figure salaries and million dollar bonuses. And you will continue to get crappy service. With your call being answered miles away with persons who have not the faintest clue how to help you, even though they may be nice till it makes you sick.

After all, shareholders will never agree the these high bonuses unless the operating cost is dramatically reduced.

Not one of these executives will sacrifice one penny of their bonus for the profitability of the business. It is a matter of a company who has raped the caribbean peoples pockets for centuries, having no MORAL concience. It is not only in Barbados that hundereds of caibbean workers have been placed on the breadline by C&W.

40. Bye Limer.
    I truly wish you and Thoughtful all the best in the new year.

41. @ Limer: “They need to be run out of Barbados!”

I see the relevance in it. The only way to do that is Government open up the markets in the Telecommunications sector (Internet).

We wish that Columbus Communications or Verizon or whatever be here or something.. lol!

42. They say we dont care and offer bad customer service , they will soon see how great we were ! For sure I know one area ALL you bajans will start cussing LIME even more and thats when your accounts are Barred or Temporarily disconnected ,and you pay @ s/pay , you can no longer call with receipt info and get your services restored cause the agents in St. Lucia DONOT have access , so start practising cussing from now lmao!

43. Yu right! suit all a dem like bush doctor or bush tea…. dat want de bajans get send home. Dat is why de LUCIANS telling dem climb a ladder to test de line or pay $172. for a tech. lol yuh know he sound like Bush in truth..BUT YOU KNOW WHAT DOES HAPPEN TO BUSH?

44. I agree with sour !!! Now that you are sending home all these workers what do u think is going to happen to the organization ” Bush Tea” cause you getting on like if you are the CEO if you know what that word means . I do wish those who stay on a healthy life because they will be going to the doctor very soon cause the amount of customers that will be coming into the outlets with bullshit cause they were told so by the Lucians of “JOB TAKERS” as i called them to visit the office with such shit as they cannot configure a modem to visit the office your employees will get even more fed with your organization and take leave . I do hope that Digicel is soon given the go head to have telephone landlines . Cause U Will Fall On Your Ass ?Let’s See How Firm U Can Stand On Your Feet ? Your Service Is The Worst ?

45. For radial ball bearing, angular get in touch with ball bearing,cylindrical roller
    bearing or tapered roller bearing, the offset inside the bearing cone and its outer race might need to have pre-compaction to
    create rigidity considering that the error in interworking
    could lead to the offset in between bearing cone and its outer race.
    In line with the qualities of bearing products, from the “”can use”” basis, to ensure that “”useful,”” “”durable””, that’s not only to guarantee conformity of tolerance ought to also meet the functionality, reliability of the applicability of lifestyle, specifically huge should be good to complete an array of goods effectively. Then, we can easily uninstall the encompassing gadgets of NSK bearings.