cable&wirelessWhen Bartel and Cable and Wireless (C&W) consolidated its business some years ago to operate under the one-name C&W it made sense. Back then Bartel managed the local business and Cable and Wireless managed the outbound traffic.  In 2008 when C&W rebranded its Caribbean operations to  LIME (Land, Internet, Mobile and Entertainment) the reaction was what the hell! The word LIME in the Caribbean lexicon does have a meaning which  one has to admit is not complimentary in a business context.

The rebranding exercise immediately signalled major restructuring in the company which continues today. In Jamaica CEOs are being changed like dirty socks. In Barbados significant numbers of LIME employees have been retrenched and there is promise of more to follow – all in the name of balance sheet efficiency and creating a more competitive entity. LIME formerly C&W after comfortably raking in profits operating in the Caribbean as a monopoly since colonial days has now been jolted it seems by the deregulation sweeping the telecommunications industry globally.

Many decisions which LIME has taken since rebranding continue to baffle observers. Many people on the street are convinced C&W is planning an exit strategy from the Caribbean in the face of the onslaught from competitor DIGICEL in the mobile arena.

News  making the rounds in the British financial market suggest the telecommunications behemoth maybe engaged in a demerger strategy of its UK operations from the international. The economic collapse of the global economy appears to have stalled rollout of the plan. The improvement seen in the financial markets in recent months analysts are predicting the parent Cable & Wireless may push ahead with the plan to demerge.

What is a demerger?

The act of splitting off a part of an existing company to become a new company, which operates completely separate from the original company. Shareholders of the original company are usually given an equivalent stake of ownership in the new company. A demerger is often done to help each of the segments operate more smoothly, as they can now focus on a more specific task. opposite of merger – InvesterWords.com

If Cable & Wireless is in the throes of a demerger the Caribbean should expect to see more changes coming down the pipeline. Barbadians no doubt are waiting to hear about the success of relocating Contact Centres to the low cost jurisdiction of St. Lucia. Do we recall correctly that Barbadians were promised better service six months after the relocated call centres were setup in St. Lucia?

In defence of LIME, operating in the small and disparate markets of the Caribbean cannot be easy given the monolithic business model inherited from the colonial period. It (LIME) seems to be implementing a model which other international and pan-Caribbean companies are gravitating to, hub and spoke.

If or when C&W goes public with its demerger strategy in the coming months; we see major fallout from the exercise for many of the countries in which LIME now operates. The fat-trimming exercise will cause some more pain. Given LIME’s leadership position in many of the small Caribbean markets regarding employment and high contribution to the GDPs, life is about to get interesting.

We did not even mention the role the unions will play!

31 responses to “Cable & Wireless, LIME and Demerger”

1. F#ck Lime

2. @All… If I may…

What is critical to consider is that C&W AKA LIME have operated here in the Caribbean at the sufferance of Sovereign states.

So this then begs the question:

Why would Sovereign states tolerate such economic abuse?

Hmmmm….

3. Consumer advocacy is zero.

No serious debate about the BL&P hearing and before that LIME.

We are a very literate society.

Even this blog and the level of interest.

Do you get our point Chris?
    We get what we deserve.

4. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Did you hear the owen arthur interview om VOB?

5. @mash up

Some of it,

Will post something later to facilitate discussion.

Interesting indeed.

6. Wha de hell bajans got to worry bout. As long as they can get pon de phone and run da mout in udda people bizness and get current to watch shite pon tv, why dey gotta be worried? dem jes needs to know wha gine on elsewhere ya know. Home is too damn close for comfort!

7. @David: “Consumer advocacy is zero

I respectfully disagree.

For example, during the BL&P Rate Hearing, Barbados Consumers had sixteen (16) individuals arguing their case.

I *would* agree, however, with the statement “Consumer *responsibility* is zero”.

@David: “We are a very literate society.

So we *claim*.

But are we really?

@David: “Do you get our point Chris? We get what we deserve.

Loud and clear.

Do you et al get mine?

8. Yes we had 16 Consumer Advocates but real progress can only come as part of a national movement.

9. @David… With respect…

Any journey begins with a single step…

Sadly, Bajan Consumers seem to always want to see someone else take the first step, and then the next, and then the next…

Bajan Consumers seem to want to be told when they can enjoy the “upside” thanks to the risks and efforts undertaken by others, without risking any potential “downside” themselves….

10. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar
    Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados)

@Chris Halsall

What is critical to consider is that C&W AKA LIME have operated here in the Caribbean at the sufferance of Sovereign states.

So this then begs the question:

Why would Sovereign states tolerate such economic abuse?

I do not know the full history but my recollection is that C&W is a colonial legacy, being a British company whose entry in the region’s telecom sector was ‘eased’, for want of a better word, and they enjoyed monopoly power.

Since Independence in various Caribbean countries it has been a process of fighting to wean them off monopoly and largely only on mobile services: I think they have rights on land lines wherever they are.

So, the ‘sufferance’ is in part that legacy and the infrastructural investments that go with it. Plus, they have much better bargaining power than new entrants.

That said, Digicel, Flow, and others have shown that they can at least match C&W in basic mobile service provisions. But few countries have gone for wide scale competition–Jamaica stands out for having so many (4?) mobile operators.

Consumer ‘responsibilities’ (and effecdtive advocacy) with a monopoly are very difficult to exercise: it is largely take it or leave it. One gets a good sense of that with the basic manner in which BL&P’s rate hearing was conducted.

11. @Dennis Jones…

Do you actually have a point to make in your immediate above?

Or are you just radiating language?

12. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@Chris Halsall, you asked the question why sovereign states accepted an economic abuse. I offered one possibility: it was a position granted to them by the colonial power that was never renegotiated. To put it into context, it is much like the legal system that was inherited, which might not have really suited independent countries, but was never recast and we live with its flawed legacy still.

Hope that’s clearer for you.

13. @Dennis Jones: “Hope that’s clearer for you.

Thank you for the clarification of your position.

14. Just a thought.

We are hearing about mega-million law suits in Jamaica between LIME and Digicel.

It makes one question what is happenning in Barbados.

15. @David: “It makes one question what is happenning in Barbados.

A tidy little duopoly is happening in Barbados…

What do you expect in a marketplace which is demonstrably unwilling to stand up?

16. Interesting comment, again it makes one wonder why a duopoly would take root in Barbados and not Jamaica given the same actors involved in the sector.

17. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

The duopoly takes hold not as a result of the sector’s actors but depending on the sector’s actors’ interplay with the national government (ie in their granting of licences, etc.). Jamaica (not alone) has taken a different route regarding competition in the telecom sector. Maybe LIME/C&W and Digicel would like to operate as a duopoly throughout the region but they cannot control that outcome. See http://www.caribbean-on-line.com/caribbean-telecom-news/

18. Are the experts suggesting that the less than ideal situation in the Barbadian market, occurs with the tacit approval of the authorities. Why?

If every one accepts that telecommunications costs are too high in Barbados and makes us uncompetitive, why is there no urgency to address this issue?

Meanwhile ordinary Bajans continue to queue for the pre-paid fleecing.

19. @General Lee: “If every one accepts that telecommunications costs are too high in Barbados and makes us uncompetitive, why is there no urgency to address this issue?

An excellent question. One I’ve been asking (and fighting to change) for years….

20. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@General Lee,

Does everyone agree that telecom costs are too high in Barbados? Based on what? The monthly cost of post paid mobile service with LIME is similar to that for a similar service in the US. Those with Internet access should bve paying nearly the same price for international telephone access as anywhere in the world, given that this access is not ties to a particular country; eg Vonage is the same price world wide. People I know who use Netspeak do not complain about its cost; there are other issues, however.

Just trying to get an idea of what you are measuring.

21. Lets start with Broadband.

http://www.dslreports.com/shownews/83886

Compare the unofficial rates listed in the above with those offered by our major provider.

http://www.time4lime.com/country_sub.jsp?topmenu=Small_Business&subMenu=Internet&subSubMenu=Plans

Then compare to rates in some other islands.

St. Lucia.
    http ://www.time4lime.com/country_sub.jsp?topmenu=Small_Business&subMenu=Internet&subSubMenu=Plans

St. Vincent.
    http ://www.time4lime.com/country_sub.jsp?topmenu=Small_Business&subMenu=Internet&subSubMenu=Plans

Jamaica.

Grenada.
    http ://www.candw.gd/internet/solutions/dia_pricing.asp

The last four links were edited to avoid the spam bucket.

22. @General Lee: “The last four links were edited to avoid the spam bucket.

A cute attempt… Adding a space after the “http”, but before the colon (“:”).

Please note, however, that your modified URLs #2 through #4 (inclusive) were exactly the same.

And they all resulted in a 500 error message from the server…

(“HTTP Status 500

“type Exception report

“message

“description The server encountered an internal error () that prevented it from fulfilling this request

“exception

“org.apache.jasper.JasperException
    “org.apache.jasper.servlet.JspServletWrapper.handleJspException(JspServletWrapper.java:460)
    “org.apache.jasper.servlet.JspServletWrapper.service(JspServletWrapper.java:373)
    “org.apache.jasper.servlet.JspServlet.serviceJspFile(JspServlet.java:329)
    “org.apache.jasper.servlet.JspServlet.service(JspServlet.java:265)
    “javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:729)

“root cause

“java.lang.NullPointerException
    “org.apache.jsp.country_005fsub_jsp._jspService(country_005fsub_jsp.java:167)
    “org.apache.jasper.runtime.HttpJspBase.service(HttpJspBase.java:98)
    “org.apache.jasper.servlet.JspServletWrapper.service(JspServletWrapper.java:331)
    “org.apache.jasper.servlet.JspServlet.serviceJspFile(JspServlet.java:329)
    “org.apache.jasper.servlet.JspServlet.service(JspServlet.java:265)

“note The full stack trace of the root cause is available in the Apache Tomcat/5.5.27 logs.

23. @General Lee: “Interesting.

Indeed…

Your above URL once again returns (at least to me) a 500 error message…

Hmmm (smile)….

24. @General Lee…

Just to make sure this 500 error was not a result of my tunnelling all my traffic such that it appears to originate in the US of A…

I have just tried to access http://www.time4lime.com/country_sub.jsp?topmenu=Small_Business&subMenu=Internet&subSubMenu=Plans

…using three different Barbados ADSL circuits.

They all result in 500 errors.

Hmmmm…

25. http://www.time4lime.com/country_home.jsp?countryName=Jamaica&index=8

I guess you will have to select a different country from the drop down menu to get the rates from other islands.

Select small business, then internet, click tell me more and then select plans.

Lime attempts to justify the differnt rates it charges in different islands, by offering slightly different packages in each island.
    Despite this, when the rates are converted, Bajans seem to be paying slighly more than our neighbours for similar services,

At any rate, 6x greater than the US is still a stretch, smaller market size or not.

26. @General Lee… ROTFLMAO…

Now that’s a different URL Isn’t it?

I don’t disagree with your argument…

But could you *please* get your facts straight?

27. For me the above link works the first time but subsequent visits produces the error or displays the first page visited.

28. @General Lee: “For me the above link works the first time but subsequent visits produces the error or displays the first page visited.

A word of advise, if I may…

Claiming you “saw something” or that “it worked for me the first time” just doesn’t cut it.

Never enter a battle field unless you are *very* sure of where you stand, and unless you are prepared to fight for what you claim….

29. OK Chris,

My apologies.

I have just spent the last thirty minutes trying to figure out this,

The problem occurred because I had Lime’s homepage open in another tab and that is why the link worked.

Change country on the homepage and the link works like a charm.
    Close the original page and it produces the error.

Now I can sleep well knowing that I am still halfway from being a complete idiot. 🙂

30. You think you have difficulties with LIME rates in your country, in the Turks & Caicos Islands customers as still paying for land line calls per call, per minute, like cell phone use.

This is whack. It cost me .10 cent a minute to call the Bahamas on my Ooma (VIOP) and .40 cents on my (former LIME land line).

It cost me .25 cents a minute to call any local LIME land line in the TCI and .40 to call a cellphone.

This is predatory practise.