Mia Mottley
Opposition Leader Mia Mottley (r)

This evening was the turn of the Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley to respond to the budget. Like Prime Minister David Thompson, she is a bright young Barbadian who have committed to render to public service. Barbadians will desperately hope that under the leadership of these two young Barbadians our country will be able to steer a path to calm waters. We made the point in our previous blog, and it is worth repeating that the global economic turbulence will surely test our resilience as a people.

We were able to listen to much of what the Opposition Leader had to say this evening. No Barbadian will ever say that that she is not comfortable on the public stage. Here debating antics were as to be expected and we score her a ten. While we have a passing interest in some of her rebuttals, we will wait to hear the government side before we fully critique the budget presentation. However it seems that she has pinned the bulk of her argument on the decision that the government should fore go excise tax to buffer the shock of rising oil prices.

Many who have visited the BU and BFP in recent months would have surmised that the current state of the global economy, and the uncertainty of oil pricing have led to an unprecedented current state of affairs. In such a situation old modalities will not work. The challenge to sustain our nation will call for an awakening of every Barbadian to the fact that our current consumption behaviour which we have come to enjoy must of necessity change. Barbados for all it has achieved has failed to use our revered intellect to build out capacity in the economy to stop our reliance on tourism. We have also failed to enable the environment to build a strategy to achieve food security. Last but not least we have failed to enable the environment to grow alternate energy sources.

It is the view of the BU household that over the next two or three years, a bi-partisan approach maybe required to leverage against the knowledge and experience which is posited in the former government. If we accept that government is a continuum, then our country maybe disadvantaged by operating in the traditional partisan mode. So far in her reply Opposition Leader Mia Mottley has prosecuted with flair. But we feel in our gut that at this juncture in our history we need to hear a little more. The survival of our beautiful country depends on valued contributions from all members of our parliament.

So off we go to listen to the rest of the debate.

136 responses to “Opposition Leader Mia Mottley Responds To Budget 2008”

1. …… remember, besides being a politician she is also a lawyer!!

2. … from the Free Online Dictionary …

sanc·ti·mo·ni·ous (sngkt-mn-s)
    adj.
    Feigning piety or righteousness: “a solemn, unsmiling, sanctimonious old iceberg that looked like he was waiting for a vacancy in the Trinity” Mark Twain.

——————————————————————————–

sancti·moni·ous·ly adv.
    sancti·moni·ous·ness n.

The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition copyright ©2000 by Houghton Mifflin Company. Updated in 2003. Published by Houghton Mifflin Company. All rights reserved.

sanctimonious
    Adjective
    pretending to be very religious and virtuous [Latin sanctimonia sanctity]
    Collins Essential English Dictionary 2nd Edition 2006 © HarperCollins Publishers 2004, 2006

ThesaurusLegend: Synonyms Related Words Antonyms
    Adj. 1. sanctimonious – excessively or hypocritically pious; “a sickening sanctimonious smile”
    holier-than-thou, pharisaic, pharisaical, self-righteous, pietistic, pietistical
    pious – having or showing or expressing reverence for a deity; “pious readings”

Based on WordNet 3.0, Farlex clipart collection. © 2003-2008 Princeton University, Farlex Inc.

sanctimonious
    adjective pious, smug, hypocritical, pi Brit. (slang) too good to be true, self-righteous, self-satisfied, goody-goody (informal) unctuous, holier-than-thou, priggish, pietistic, canting, pharisaical
    Collins Essential Thesaurus 2nd Edition 2006 © HarperCollins Publishers 2005, 2006

3. … lawyers could curse one another too sweet!!

4. Darnley L. Pinder Avatar
    Darnley L. Pinder

@David, she should not be able to “teif” anythingfrom the DLP. The PM said that before asingle minister is sworn in they must first declare their assets. So she is not “tiefing anything, she is calling his bluff. And remember what i said he is going to say.

5. I agree with 50% bajan. Leave the “appearance” bashing and insults for the rum shop, and take a neutral or objective outlook on these proceedings. David Thompson made a good speech, and Mia gave a good rebuttal. It was not all over the place, she made some good points, although i didn’t like the fact she made some personal attacks on some people. Whatever decision David Thompson makes, i hope its for the sake of the society, and not just to score political points.

6. Mia has a point. The DLP had a lot to say about reducing the cost of living but this budget does not address this at all.

BTW – a lot of ex-BLP politicians were in the House, I understand, to hear Mia’s reply, but was ‘instant millionaire’ Lynch one of them???

7. Mia Mottley Declares Her Assets!

Hits David Thompson for SIX!

http://www.nationnews.com/story/360180682472633.php

MIA WORTH $3.5 M
    Published on: 7/9/08.

by ALBERT BRANDFORD

MIA’S ASSETS EXPOSED!

In a dramatic and unprecedented development last night, Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley publicly declared her assets and liabilities to the House of Assembly and challenged ruling Democratic Labour Party (DLP) MPs to do the same.

According to the document, as at June 30, 2008, Mottley has assets totalling $3.5 million and liabilities of $1.5 million.

The assets include houses at Frere Pilgrim, Lodge Hill and land at Cattlewash; three bank accounts; one vehicle; a credit union account; shares and mutual funds; part ownership in St Lawrence Management Inc. (which owns a condominium) and Barefoot Chattel Resorts Inc. and is settling a partnership agreement for 50 per cent of E.D. Mottley & Co. plus salaries from that company and as Leader of the Opposition plus $4 000 a month in rent from Frere Pilgrim.

Mottley’s revelations, the first by a Barbadian politician, stole a march on the DLP which had campaigned in the run-up to the January 15 general election on a platform that painted the then ruling Barbados Labour Party (BLP) as corrupt and guilty of a lack of integrity, transparency and accountability as well as of poor ministerial conduct after 14 years in office.

DLP president, now Prime Minister, David Thompson had promised that within the first 100 days, the new Government would enact a Freedom of Information Act and set up an Integrity Commission which he said would enforce existing anti-corruption laws.

He said the act would impose an obligation on a person in public life to make financial disclosures regarding his/her office or offices, his/her income, assets and liabilities and the assets of his spouse or relatives and all gifts made to him/her which exceeded a specified value.

Once the act came into force, he added, any minister or senior officer of Government would be required to make such a “disclosure” within three months of the passing of the new legislation.

In her 195-minute Reply to the 2008 Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals delivered by Thompson Monday evening, Mottley said she was satisfied that MPs who wanted to serve in public life would have to face the legislation.

“There is more there to protect the innocent than to prosecute the guilty,” she said. “There are more people in Barbados who are innocent but because of the nature of a small society and the viciousness of partisan activity and rumour that invariably people who are not guilty of anything have their names tarnished.

“Therefore, you have a system which only reflects a mechanism for being able to trigger investigations – because the Prevention of Çorruption Act is there to deal with substantive corruption.

“In that context,” Mottley said, “I believe I have a responsibility to lead by example today by submitting as a document of this Chamber, and will do so as I sit, a full declaration of assets that I own and liabilities in this country.

“And I do so cognisant that while it may be inconvenient for my business to be made public, it is far more convenient for me to do so as an example of leadership.

“I invite the Prime Minister to join me because if he is as sanctimonious, and if he is as serious about transparency and accountability as he said that he was, then I believe that as leaders of the political parties, then both myself and the leader of the Democratic Labour Party should declare publicly.”

Mottley said the BLP group in Parliament agreed they would want members of the DLP to join them and agree “that as of next week, we will submit declarations of assets to the Governor General to hold in trust until such time as an Integrity Commission is functional”.

She disclosed that former Prime Minister Owen Arthur would follow suit with his declaration today.

8. Mia declared Barbados assets worth $3.5. What about assets in the USA?

9. Ms. Mottley, Bajans are not that stupid. Declaring assets means declaring ALL assets, not just some.

Same goes for the whole crowd BLP & DLP.

This includes assets in Miami or wherever.

10. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

I am having great difficulty interpreting the comments about the impact of the revenue raising measures on inflation and costs in Barbados generally.

I would find some of the comments far more informative if the one time increases were set against say the annual revenues or profits of the affected entities.

So for example, how does the projected 6.6mil in revenue from increased insurance premiums compare to the revenues of profits of that industry? How does the increase in annual registration fees of $1,250 for an attorney or a dentist compare to typical annual revenue or net income for these service providers?

We would therefore be in a better position to assess the impact and whether there is really a case for price increases or an excuse for price increases.

11. Tonight, during wrap-up, I expect that all the assets that weren’t declared will be uncovered and with documentary evedence too!

Moving along – Hammy Lashley sided with DLP in debate this morning. I hope he is good at ducking from chairs and other pieces of firniture

12. It’s not too late for Thompy to make adjustments. Let’s hope (in vain?) that he won’t be that pig-headed to do what is right.

He had a lot to say about ‘cushioning the rising cost of living’ but this Budget does not address this to any big degree. Instead of the Government seeking to put more money in its coffers it could perhaps have reduced the Govt tax on diesel and gasoline and on a wider ‘basket of food.’

13. Should be ‘evidence’

14. This is an open submission to Trained Economist.
    I have been reading your submission and I can fairly say that you should rename yourself as Trained Auditor. To make your case, you keep harping on the daily, weekly and monthly costing on the proposed increases. Remember, in the final analysis the real impact is shown in the P&L at the end of a financial year. If a $5,000.00 increase in licence, a $15,000.00 per month increase in electricity, a $2,000.00 in water, a $15,000.00 increase in salaries, a maintenance and replacement bill of $60,000.00 and most of all a reduction in room stock will show in your annual report and will be able to tell if you will remain or go into liquidation. That is the common fact, if we have so many negatives affecting this sector and to compound it with the 1000% increase in drivers’ permit, do tell me, are we serious in protecting the vulnerable poor who are employed in this sector? Economics deal with long term influences, not a three-month fixed.

15. By the way TE.
    Can you clarify the economics regarding the “free bus ride’ scenario. If students pay $2 million in cash to the Transport Board and the Government subsidies it with 3 million, how on earth that total lost to revenue will be 11 million? Can you please break down in layman’s term what the additional 6 million is for? Should I be risky in stating that this excess might be used as a fuel subsidy.

16. In just six (6) months of DLP rule Barbados is now back to the stage of the early 90’s. The DLP Government has create a sense of panic and fear in the hearts of all Barbadians.

The former PM, The Rt Honorable Owen Arthur did warn that “this is not the time to gamble with you future” in the last election campaign but many did not take heed.

The current government is not ready for the task of running this country, the current goventment is not prepared with what it takes, or will take, to run this country. Many of the borrowed policies and programs of

the DLP’s last manifesto are not pratical for this country now or in the near future. The borrowed campaign for CHANGE can only take you so far.

A proactive leader would not implement programs and policies (eg. Raise In Diesel prices) only to change the same within weeks. This too will soon happen with the recent raises in Vehicle Road Taxes and Visitor Driver Permit Fees.

How can you be trying to lower the cost of living when the policies implemented are actually taking more money from the average small man? We are now paying more for Gasoline, electricity, telephone, diesel, food, road tax, use of cellphones, beverages, alcohol, tabacco and almost everything else. Next year we will be paying more for professional services -: dentists, doctors etc.

TIME FOR CHANGE… AGAIN.

17. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

Tell me why,

My point is telling about a 100% increase in an annual fee or any cost tells me little about the increased costs of units of output, which then feeds into your unit pricing, whatever your output is.

I took an auditing course one, and I have taken too many economics courses, but commonsense says that a 100% increase in a cost that constitutes less than half of 1% of your total costs has a rather different impact than a 10% increase in a cost that is 25% of your total costs. Which is what I am getting at.

18. Andrew // July 9, 2008 at 10:24 am

Tonight, during wrap-up, I expect that all the assets that weren’t declared will be uncovered and with documentary evedence too!

I hope so ….. with 29 MP’s still to go it should be easy for David to reel them off and still be talking tomorrow.

Is it illegal for a Bajan to own assets overseas?

I am just trying to understand Mia’s stress on the phrase “IN THIS COUNTRY”.

This might very well be the obstacle these poor people in Parliament face, they may be in breach of the law.

How can they declare assets, the ownership of which might be in breach of the law?

Poor, poor people …… they are between a rock and a hard place!!!

… guess the politicians give a whole new meaning to the famous call to action …

“Once more unto the breach, dear friends, once more;
    Or close the wall up with our English dead.
    In peace there’s nothing so becomes a man
    As modest stillness and humility:
    But when the blast of war blows in our ears,
    Then imitate the action of the tiger;
    Stiffen the sinews, summon up the blood,
    Disguise fair nature with hard-favour’d rage;
    Then lend the eye a terrible aspect;
    ………….
    ……….
    ……
    Follow your spirit, and upon this charge
    Cry ‘God for Harry, England, and Saint George!’
    “Henry V” (5.3.44-51).”

19. hey bajan

i agree wid you
    you are so right
    i said a similar thing at a different time
    but you are right on

WE ARE IN TROUBLE !!!!

maybe t-h-om-p-SON cannot function in an environment other than the 1991-94 type environment

20. Is Peter Wickham on the radio defending the right not to declare assets, he showing his partisan ass

21. I took an auditing course one, and I have taken too many economics courses, but commonsense says that a 100% increase in a cost that constitutes less than half of 1% of your total costs has a rather different impact than a 10% increase in a cost that is 25% of your total costs. Which is what I am getting at.
    ……………………………………………………………………..
    I never took any course in accounts or economics, but I can fairly say that I use logic against recklessness to reach my conclusion. I am looking at it through an economic eye. With a 1% here and a 1% there will add up to a big percentage point. Forget the small percentage and realise an increase is an increase regardless how you look at it and will affect the bottom line.

22. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

Well we agree to disagree.

23. Regarding Mia’s ‘assets’ I thought she owned a house in Bathsheba as well, what used to be the old bakery? and Jose and Jose? hasn’t she some interest in that or is that another branch of this crooked family?

24. Why hampered on Mia, the spotlight should be the person who was to implement it. Let’s be realistic, she had the honesty to submit her assets. Deal with the ones who have agendas.

25. What I would like to know….is what their assets were 14 years ago?

26. Coming now with this disclosure makes no sense and the BLP knows this …what it does however is put the DLP on the spot.
    Now we can see the growth from the beginning.

27. Technician or Wickham I heard you on brasstacks already, don’t try to downplay her act, let your walk the walk

28. Good points Technician, but both parties are, and have been playing politics with this issue. The historical view of ITAL’s legislative ” near misses” is more favourable to the BLP than the DLP. The DLP has always been against it, and David Thompson’s promises signal a real shift to the people on this issue, but he is one person and although he is the PM and leader to us, he remains nothing more than the “first amonst his equals” and that is now very true as it was under Owen. Mia fully understanding the backfoot the BLP is on, wasn’t willing to give up the BLP’s better historical argument on this issue. Her move last night has put this issue back in the BLP hands. No matter what Thompson does now, it will be Mia that started it. Politics is about perception. Hartley Henry did not earn his pay on this issue.

BTW: Mia Mottley dedicated her maiden LOTO budget response to all the WOMEN HEADING FAMILIES OUT THERE. Note she did not say mothers, which would leave her out, she said women which includes her. Could this signal Mia’s views on the DLP’s “Sukoorization” strategy? I think so.

29. Redds…..are you an a** boy?

Never, ever again you put me in the same sentence as Peter Wick-ham!!

Respect due ya…….study ya head guy.

30. WOMEN HEADING FAMILIES OUT THERE. Note she did not say mothers.
    It is technically correct for her to use the word “women”. Would you not say “More women are becoming home owners”. I will be stupid to use “mother” in this context.

31. Hi Technician. I never knew Peter was my neighbour. Ah got one on you my friend.

32. These partisan jokers does really mek ya laugh TMW.

33. Tell me Why // July 9, 2008 at 3:19 pm

WOMEN HEADING FAMILIES OUT THERE. Note she did not say mothers.
    It is technically correct for her to use the word “women”. Would you not say “More women are becoming home owners”. I will be stupid to use “mother” in this context.
    ================================

You can speculate on the technicality, i prefer to speculate on the possible politics of the statement.

34. Adrian. You are simply the best. When will I ever able to win with you. Anyway let’s move on to the task ahead.

35. Tell me Why // July 9, 2008 at 4:04 pm

Adrian. You are simply the best. When will I ever able to win with you. Anyway let’s move on to the task ahead.
    =================================

When it comes to debates without preset rules, no one can win against me and so it should be for you.

…BTW a homeless man woman and child is still conciderd a family. Homeownership compliments but does not define a family, Mia is making it very clear, that Sukoo’s family structure maybe traditional but it is not the only kind of family there is in Barbados, and that of the other types she is not alone or excluded.

36. All the ole talk I still haven’t heard Mia’s alternate budget.!!

What would she have done if the bees formed the government?? Continue to allow the infelicities, that are uncovered almost weekly to continue?

What would she have done differently???

Maybe her apologists can help her out here???

37. Georgie Porgie Avatar

The fact that WOMEN HEAD FAMILIES is to state that in the case of black folk following the institution of slavery that many homes are led by women in the ABSENCE OF MEN. In many (note I didn’t say all) of these families the women long to have a real man leading the home.

Whether or not people today uphold Biblical truths and ideals, it was ordained by God that the MAN is the head of the house. This is how it ought to be. The matriarchal society and WOMEN HEADING FAMILIES OUT THERE is essentially an ABERRATION , just as “that thing” is an aberration.

She can not eclipse what you call the DLP’s “Sukoorization” strategy. Mrs Sukoo’s family is led by a very nice man. The Suckoo family is composed of a MAN MARRIED TO A WOMAN; and they have children. The Sukoo family is the norm! It is the ideal!

It is common today in contemporary society to think that what we once used to believe and uphold as expoused in the Bible is nonsense; but does not make contemporary rhetoric correct.

I am sure Adrian, that you are the head of your home. I am sure that you believe what you were taught when you grew up; and that you believe that it is ordained that men should lead their households. I do realize too, that in your post that you are just reporting what was stated.

38. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Andrew

Good points

You will find that “her?” apologists can NOT help her out here because essentially ONE CAN NOT DEFEND THE INDEFENSIBLE

39. I find it interesting that when people get hit with a good sound debate style, that they ultimately turn to character assassination.

Why is that the Honourable Member for St John could not find it in himself to act a little more dignified while the leader of the oposition responded to his budget? He sounded like a school boy that needed to be sent outside to stand up by the door!

Where is his dignity as the PM?? I thought that he was about to walk out of parliment as before.

Although Mia’s style was flamboyant and theatrical, it did some VERY important things:
    1. Rattle the opposition.
    2. Show them that they need to respect the institution that they hold.
    3. Remember their promises to the people.
    4. Show up the poor level of work being done.
    5. Show what little is being done to help the majority in their budget.

40. GP yes your last paragraph defines me, and my intent.

.Mia is such a political animal that if she gets up tomorrow and becomes convince that the path to the PrimeMinistership goes through traditional christian believes and practices she will give all appearance to be a practicing christian. If that path diverts through the institution of Marriage, look for her to get hitch to Ian Walcott. Um aint only in some far away cultures that arrange marriages takes place. :d Mia don’t much care what the men do, ah la “wunnuh need to learn tuh tek a horn” there by attempting to build on all that Henry Forde has done in regards to the family. Dedicating her rely to women and not men continue to show her spite towards wunnuh.

41. iWatchya //

That’s all well and good, but I still want to know what she would have differently

42. Listening to the debate that just broke for supper in the house.
    Seems that Mr Michael Lashly might have proven that Mia’s declaration of assets document is just something she fixed up at the last minute.
    It has no signature by an Attorney, No signature by an Accountant, Auditor or any body who could give validity to the document

43. @ Andrew…I was just on my way home to post the very thing…interesting isn’t it?

44. More interesting is the fact that the media in Barbados went along with the gimmick which played into Mia’s hand. What are to do?

45. No surprise ther Andrew…..just another piece of chicanery….I could only laugh. Next thing she will pull a rabbit out of her hat.

46. Why don’t the DLP ministers put theirs out there for scrutiny or are they going to scrutinize hers and then later bitch and moan and use her as an example/excuse of why they don’t want their whole lives exposed for the public to see. I heard many a DLP minister in the debate backpedlling today. Peter Wickham called her declaration gimmickry, but his justification today was the kidnapping incidents in Trinidad.

47. David,

…not only the media, but I enjoy the way we all get worked up with stupid distractions.
    What publish assets what?!?

…so when a MP disclose his/her assets this will ensure that they will not steal? or give special favours to family and friends?.. or take kickbacks? .. or wok for wok?

GIVE ME A BREAK…

All this will do is ive us something to chit chat about. Will the crooks not just pass the assets on to family, close friends etc on their own behalf? So do we check on the assets of ALL their friends and family?

You know how easy it is to set up overseas accounts? – especially when you associate with people like Danos of 3S?

National Supervisory Committee!

….the Co-operative approach is SO MUCH easier and cleaner and IT WORKS right here in Barbados…..

Oh Well….you can take a horse to water etc

48. Redds

I dont think it will be prudent for DLP members to try to pull the wool over the peoples eyes like Mia did

49. Redds

In fact I think the DLP should do things the right way.

If you start right, then you end right.

Dale Marshall now on tv showing up his party didn’t do anything for 14 years.

By the way where is O S Arthur?
    Is it true that he absconded after Mia didn’t include him in her list of Great Prime Ministers

50. did Owen declare his assets as Mia suggested he would? Did he speak as yet?