Mia Mottley
Opposition Leader Mia Mottley (r)

This evening was the turn of the Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley to respond to the budget. Like Prime Minister David Thompson, she is a bright young Barbadian who have committed to render to public service. Barbadians will desperately hope that under the leadership of these two young Barbadians our country will be able to steer a path to calm waters. We made the point in our previous blog, and it is worth repeating that the global economic turbulence will surely test our resilience as a people.

We were able to listen to much of what the Opposition Leader had to say this evening. No Barbadian will ever say that that she is not comfortable on the public stage. Here debating antics were as to be expected and we score her a ten. While we have a passing interest in some of her rebuttals, we will wait to hear the government side before we fully critique the budget presentation. However it seems that she has pinned the bulk of her argument on the decision that the government should fore go excise tax to buffer the shock of rising oil prices.

Many who have visited the BU and BFP in recent months would have surmised that the current state of the global economy, and the uncertainty of oil pricing have led to an unprecedented current state of affairs. In such a situation old modalities will not work. The challenge to sustain our nation will call for an awakening of every Barbadian to the fact that our current consumption behaviour which we have come to enjoy must of necessity change. Barbados for all it has achieved has failed to use our revered intellect to build out capacity in the economy to stop our reliance on tourism. We have also failed to enable the environment to build a strategy to achieve food security. Last but not least we have failed to enable the environment to grow alternate energy sources.

It is the view of the BU household that over the next two or three years, a bi-partisan approach maybe required to leverage against the knowledge and experience which is posited in the former government. If we accept that government is a continuum, then our country maybe disadvantaged by operating in the traditional partisan mode. So far in her reply Opposition Leader Mia Mottley has prosecuted with flair. But we feel in our gut that at this juncture in our history we need to hear a little more. The survival of our beautiful country depends on valued contributions from all members of our parliament.

So off we go to listen to the rest of the debate.

136 responses to “Opposition Leader Mia Mottley Responds To Budget 2008”

1. The DLP dilly-dally with the homosexual, and immigration debate, when they should have embrace the people’s views. Now they have done the same with ITAL and MIA has brilliantly one-up them on it. Do not doubt the this woman’s ability to work real hard to become the PM of Barbados. When yuh relax she will bite, and bite she did with her declaration of assets and the invitation for Thompy to FOLLOW. What choice does he have now?

2. We think another point which can be made is the fact that the DLP has only been in position for 6 months. They have entered government at a very difficult time and has had to devise strategy and implement while hitting the ground running.

3. Didn’t see all of her presentation but what I saw from Mia was good.

Her $2000 lock got trumped by the $17,000 ackee tree (Chris Sinkler) but the point she made stood …. walk the walk.

All the talk about ITAL when caught out with the crap she exposed is impossible to trump!!

David Thompson, listen to your Mum and do what you said you would!!

4. Wait to hear a rebuttal before you jump on this lock business Johnno.

What about when Chris kept saying she instead of honourable member. Then in all sincerity he say ‘sorry, she is a mistake’-wuhloss, dat wus hilarious!!!!

5. I almost fell off my chair…

At the end of the CBC summation of the broadcast, the announcer left the audience with a teaser — something along the lines of “And coming up, meet Barbados’ newest millionaire…” (Probably by way of a lottery — almost by definition a tax on those who are bad at math…)

Then there was an ad by a local distributor, talking about how easy it was to consume… (Credit terms available….)

I stopped watching at that point… Sigh… How very, *very* far we have to go….

Namaste all.

(P.S. Will the CBC broadcasts on this matter be available to the public for future reference?)

6. I thought Mia Mottley’s speech was excellent. I normally don’t watch the budget, but I felt compelled to listen to it today.

7. Who is the woman that worked alongside John Compton that is now being paid $200,000.00 to consult on these constituency councils, she also made mention of another female whose cousin works in the PM that is being paid big sums. Why do I get the feeling that Darcy Boyce is actually the PM of Barbados or that freepress was right in stating that he actually runs bim. He seems to have his hands in everything no wonder he was on VOB defending the budget last night because he was the one that drafted it and therefore had to defend his policies(brainchild). It it also funny that Mia stated Darcy was behind some of the biggest projects for the past ten years,the highway expansion, BTI, Kensington and Paragon, so if these were such failures why is he currently running the PM head, no pun intended?

8. UWI Student // July 8, 2008 at 8:58 pm

I thought Mia Mottley’s speech was excellent. I normally don’t watch the budget, but I felt compelled to listen to it today.
    ================================
    What points made in the speech to your mind makes it excellent?

9. The Blp hacks and those who are easily bamboozled by grandstanding are here talking about how impressed they are with mottley.

Well to my mind – mia was as her name suggests – missing (m) in (i) action (a).

She was so awful,so empty,rambling all along and not even dealing with the budgetary proposals in any substantive way.

Of course at the end like owen – the name calling of members of the public who are not there to respond.

Imagine Mia of all persons talking about corruption – well that is like the devil criticising sinners.What a laugh.

She was a poor counter to david thompson’s budget.

While he dealt with substance – she was all words,and inneundos,and personal attack – so juvenille you would have thought she was doing a six form queens college debate.

Pathetic,pathetic,pathetic.

Somehow I get the impression that david has a soft spot for Mia – hence his 10 points.

I respectfully disagree however.

10. Anonymous et al. First, let us put our partisan politics aside and deal with the substance of the lady. What we saw is a rebuttal by the leader of the opposition on statements made by the PM. That is her fundamental right. She mentioned certain questionable dealing by the Rural Development which she submitted proof and made them documents of the House. We have to stamp out corruption…..we have to stamp out wastage……we have to stamp out poor decision by the people who should know better. This is the only way we can advanced ourselves to prudent management.

11. I think that one must listen very carefully to the PM’s budgetary proposal what does it do for poor people, nothing. Where is the relief that was promised….no cents in d change…

12. Tell me Why // July 8, 2008 at 9:44 pm

Anonymous et al. First, let us put our partisan politics aside and deal with the substance of the lady. What we saw is a rebuttal by the leader of the opposition on statements made by the PM. That is her fundamental right. She mentioned certain questionable dealing by the Rural Development which she submitted proof and made them documents of the House. We have to stamp out corruption…..we have to stamp out wastage……we have to stamp out poor decision by the people who should know better. This is the only way we can advanced ourselves to prudent management.
    =================================
    All Mia has done by way of reading and laying those documents in the house, is to solidify the need to continue our national pastime of letting the axe fall on the hacks, and euthanizing those yard-fowls that refuse to expire at the end of their natural 5 yr life cycle.

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The Devil correcting sin. The BLP really think that people are idiots.

Of all the people in the world talking about mis- deeds, the leader of the BLP.

This is the same BLP that sickened Bajans with their stealing and wrong doing. Ministers becoming millionaires on Minister salaries. Building a house on stolen land, Mercedes Benz as kick backs, changing zone one to zone two in order to get millions of dollars in their pockets. The sad thing about it is the fact that no one in the BLP gave a damn.

The BLP has no shame at all! Mr Mottley really needs something to do.

14. I’m sure that some members of the present government will too become millionaires, so have no fear… what we should be concerned about is the fact that our working poor must bear the burden of this economy, that housing, food and necessary services are barely within or just outside our reach and that the budget will not give any more spending power to any Barbadan I know. Missing from the budget was a real way to survive in these times without placing ourselves in undue debt. i think the response of ms mottley was reasonable and beats that of the former shadow minister of finance who never spoke to the measures implemented

15. We should correct former Minister of Public Works Gline Clarke when he stated that there was a tendering process. He was half truthful. There was a tendering process for the road widenning part of the project NOT the for the flyovers.

We find it ludicrous that he would spend the last 5 minutes of his contribution to the debate on the ABC Highway project. Wasn’t he the Minister who presided over the project? Would he not want to clarify this matter given the decision by the government to terminate the project?

Makes us go ummmmmmmmmmm!

16. Mia annoyed me so much with her Hitler tirade I put her on mute. Her PR advisor has been working hard, clothes, hairstyle, my husband want to know if they’re trying to turn her into a woman! – sorry, his comment not mine –
    I thought Sealys reply to Mia was excellent, poured myself the last of the cheap rum and enjoyed…………..

17. As i have learnt during my tenure at UWI, and outlined by Mia in her rebuttal, debt-financing is not all bad, actually it can be cheaper to finance stuff by debt, as you pass on your risk to another entity. One must make sure though, that this debt-financing is used in a developing sector, and not for consumption. As the sector develops, for instance manufacturing, government would be able to service the debt. Question is, how much debt can barbados afford? Are these figures from the central bank (underestimation of Barbadian Economy), quoted by Mia Mottely, true? The previous BLP government wasted money, and crying foul over spoilt milk isn’t going to change the past. The DLP government mentioned the clay industry/furniture and sea island cotton. I don’t see these making a huge contribution, but, let’s see what happens. Any suggestions to diversify our economy away from solely tourism, i encouage. I hope David Thompson incorporates some of what Mia Mottely says into his plans, instead of playing the party-bashing politics game. Our economy is too susceptable at this point in time to think of our own political objetives. Was any mention made of CSME?

18. @UWI Student

We hope that you would have been thought that having passed the acid test to determine the debt burden to carry there must be a strategy to determine how the debt will be serviced over time. Remember the foreign debt must be serviced with foreign exchange.

19. I have some admiration for Mia.

…anyone with the pure gall (or balls) to stand before the nation and speak as she did – knowing full well that 99% of us could think of nothing much beyond her now famous biting experience- must be brave indeed….. but

What reply what!?!
    How do you criticize a presentation like the Prime Minister’s yesterday when just in January, you left legacies like Greenland, 3S, The oil terminal, the prison fiasco, the total immigration mess, etc etc etc?

…I have to concur with the assessment of Anonymous – she sounded like a schoolgirl in a lower sixth debate where her main aim was to ‘talk for the time ‘

I also agree that her point about the $2000 lock, if true, is valuable. It should provide the PM with an excellent opportunity to clean house NOW, thereby reinforcing his genuine commitment to honesty and good governance.

I would have NO problem with these politicians calling names and reading such details in public, as I strongly believe that this will help to keep other potential crooks on their P’s and Q’s.

This is one of the roles that my National Supervisory Committee would play….

20. I found the lock interesting, and she proved a point.. DLP doing the same thing the BLP are accused of doing.. the rebuttle of what about the cost of cutting down a tree 🙂 heh cutting down a tree is a much more complex and dangerous affair than installing a lock; but seriously rather than jumping saying what gives her the right to speak .. should we not be insisting that we just kicked out the Bees for the same thing and we are NOT going to allow the Dees to NOW do the same. The CBC thing was another, surely that is a conflict to have a new board and immediately change insurers to the company owned by the chairman?

Treat All the same, isn’t that what we as a people voted for and should now be fighting for.

21. @BT

Nothing is stopping Mia or anyone in parliament from calling names. As the Prime Minister pointed out the rules of the house ask that the names be submitted to the Speaker first.

Is it that Mia did not remember the rule in her haste to rush the names to the public?

22. For the record…

The broadcast from the House continued from our great CBC…

The House has *just* now adjourned until 0900 tomorrow (Barbados time)… (The CBC broadcast immediately cut into a BB Lotteries draw… Sigh….)

Again, I (personally) hope that all this greatness is being recorded, and will be available to all for all time….

And, while I bother to share… A great deal of the broadcast involved individuals mentioning and commenting upon “the record”. Could anyone bother to share with me (personally) just what “the record” means to anyone here in our beautiful Barbados?

Please forgive me — I am an ignorant fool — a stranger in a strange land….

23. Bajantease,

It is NOT the same thing.
    Almost ALL Bajans are thieves. We take things that we should not, charge more than we know we should, take short cuts, try to ‘help out’ out family and friends first etc etc.

The problem with the BLP is that this dishonesty became INSTITUTIONALIZED. So that it was almost official policy. (every thing was covered up, cases disappeared, cases were forgotten (whatever happened to the FBI investigation that the then PM spoke about?) etc.)

Therefore, if a functionary in the new DLP administration starts down that road, (only one?) that is to be FULLY expected.
    The real question is “WHAT WILL BE THE RESPONSE OF THE PARTY LEADERS”
    This is what will be the defining factor.

Name calling by politicians (especially LAWYERS like Mia and the PM) is dangerous because they will tend to use it for personal political ends.
    My NSC will be focused on ITAL.

How much you willing to bet that the lock story will have a very logical explanation related to expediting a reasonable job to facilitate work for some worthy citizen?

24. @Chris Halsall

The proceedings in parliament is being recorded by CBC but it is our understanding that the recordings is the property of the state and cannot be sold to the public.

25. @(BU)David…

Thank you for your above…

However, is not the CBC owned by the Government of Barbados. Ergo: owned by the people of Barbados.

Ergo, is not everything recorded by, and produced by, the CBC, the property of the people?

IHMO… Kindest regards to all… Etc, etc, etc….

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I thought for the record meant that it was recorded in Hansard.

27. @(BU)David…

And to drill down a bit further on my above…

Surly an independent, sovereign, democratic and thoughtful state would have a formal record of what was said and tabled in their most honourable Parliament.

Such a record would be quite independent of any estate; this would be their own concern — ensuring the stated were recorded; agreed upon, distributed and reproducible… (I believe this is commonly referred to as The Gazette.)

So, I again ask: how does (any)one gain access to the record….

28. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Not sure if any of you suffered thru to see the beast mottley labour thru her presentation this evening in the House Of Assembly but for me this was a classic case of having nothing to offer and to bluff her way for the duration of her speech, she would have been better served instead of trying to labour for four hours to compact her speech into an hour and call it quits, actually much of what she said lacked any substance anyway and it maybe could have compacted into ten minutes but I will be kind to her and suggest an hour.

It was empty, shallow and boring, Mottley had two choices to make today one was to take the high ground and still stay above the nasty politics and nasty snide comments or to get political and get down dirty and deep, I honestly felt that she had no defined plan and as a result she was scattered all over the place and then finally got to the point that she lives in the gutter.

She of all people should be wary of where she attempted to go this evening, she would have been better served by staying in the clean and clear and maybe the listening audience would have respected her much more and would have been understanding of her position when it could be said she was trying her best against a six month old Gov’t that has done little if anything wrong since they came to office.

Noiw based purely on the comparsion of the reception for the two leaders yesterday’s was by far a massive show of support whereas today was nothing in the courtyard of the Parliament.

She has yet to learn the importantce of timing and opportunity this maybe why Dale Marshall has her measured and is simply biding his time on the rails to lurk thru with a strong finishing bust to the election leaders finishing post ahead of Mottley.

Chris delivered a most telling series of punches that in five minutes of his speech he have destroyed her four mispent hours of presentation, his most telling response to her other than his comment about being scared for her because of certain of her skills was the one in which he nearly threw the receipt book at her for rents collected by JOE ATHERLEY’S wife for homes built by URBAN and for which she has been collecting rents not on URBAN’S behalf but on her own behalf, added to this was his comment that URBAN built nearly 500 homes most of which they have no records for, really a sad and an amazing revelation of gross fraud once again by Mottley / Arthur combination of crooks in action.

29. Whats with this long straight hair look all of a sudden and her taking her left hand to brush the hair back. Is Mia trying to create a feminine look of cuteness. I think if she wants to carve a trademark, Mia should try scratching the top of her head more frequently. Chris Sinckler really tore into her….poor soul.

30. What happens if these taxes backfire and slows down economic growth? People will have less dispoable income, causing a multiplier effect in the economy, which can lead to increased level in inflation.

The estimated income generated can also fall way short with delinquency in payment of taxes. How is this $4 per month tax on cellphones going to be implemented? Doesn’t the additional cost incurred in tax collection going to severely affect the domestic revenue collected by government? But that’s only domestive revenue.

And still….. what about CSME? what considerations were made in our budget to faciliate our gradual movement into a regional union?

I think free transportation for school children is a good idead. It will save me $6 a day! Increase tax on tobacco is okay as well. My only issue with the last statement is that making cigarettes more expensive can cause addicts to seek more severe methods, like theft, to support their addiction and increasing the price of cigarettes makes marijuana appear relatively cheaper.

31. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

boredickey NO poor soul for her not at all.

I am told that by this time in her quest not to be viewed as a lesbian shw will announce a wedding date and by this time next year she will be pregnant ( that is a scary thought mottley bearing a child)

Any scam if it gets her three more votes.

32. … Mia talked for four hours?

I just saw the bit from just before the lock to the end.

I found it quite entertaining.

If after four hours she could come up with that and not look even the slightest bit tired I figure she must have real stamina.

At budget time I usually subscribe to the view that when our politicians finish what ever it is they have to say they will shut up … and this is what I like most about them and look forward to with great anticipation.

If I am in front the TV for any reason I will listen for a few minutes because sometimes they can be quite entertaining as I found Mia to be tonight.

I found her entertaining because she turned the tables so completely on her opponents ….. I like to see that.

Hansard takes ages to become available.

It is useful in its current form to study debates from the 60’s and 70’s; historians from future generations will no doubt study this particular budget debate.

… to think I used to make time to sit and watch the “epic” budget debates of the past.

It took me ages to figure out what I know about politicians, …. sad to admit, I am that slow.

33. Here we go again! The political bias on this blog is deafening. As a neutral, I saw nothing wrong with the leader of the opposition’s reply to the budget. I actually learned a few interesting things e.g. the comparative percentage oil increase of the past government of 38% and this government and the difference in how both situations were/are being handled.However I think it is also stupid to be critical of the physical appearance of the opposition leader or Prime Minister, I fail to see how that helps us as a nation. The people of this country has given the mandate to David Thompson and DLP to run B’dos on Jan 15 and all eyes are on him . Are we going to continue to hear constantly about the failings and wrongdoings of the BLP as a defence to every argument against this present government ? We know all about the cost overruns, squandermania etc. so we figured it was time to get them out. How much longer are we to dwell on this when the people’s business needs attention.I think the people of this country needs the guidance and leadership that they were told they were getting that is why BLP was voted out. Election campaigning still going on in Barbados it seems . Chris Sinckler made mention at a political meeting during the election campaign about “Animal Farm” and somebody standing on their hind legs. I think the changing of the Commandment “Four legs good ,Two legs better” may be a more appropriate reference from the George Orwell book. By the way ,the last time I checked ,mainly poor old people still using oil stoves and a lot of pensioners riding bicycle with number plate. We live in some serious times and I shudder to think of all the uncertainty that lies ahead.

34. @Chris

Hansard is available but like someone said only in written form and there is a heavy lag before it is made current. If you want to view Hansard you have to arrange with the librarian to visit parliament and have a read. The video version of debates is recorded by CBC but owned by parliament and is not available to the public for sale or viewing on demand.

@50% Bajan

We believe most Barbadians are entitled to know what kind of squandermania has taken place and if in fact there was corruption. It become a credibility issue not only for the DLP but the BLP as well. The process when done helps to send a message to the government in waiting or any government that it should not be business as usual. Minister Richard Sealy summed it up well we thought when he used the argument to show how inept management of projects i.e. GEMS and the Hilton is having an impact on current decision making.

35. Mia declares she worth a cool 3.5 mil! Does anyone believe that shit? I don’t

MIA WORTH $3.5 M
    Published on: 7/9/08.

by ALBERT BRANDFORD

MIA’S ASSETS EXPOSED!

In a dramatic and unprecedented development last night, Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley publicly declared her assets and liabilities to the House of Assembly and challenged ruling Democratic Labour Party (DLP) MPs to do the same.

According to the document, as at June 30, 2008, Mottley has assets totalling $3.5 million and liabilities of $1.5 million.

The assets include houses at Frere Pilgrim, Lodge Hill and land at Cattlewash; three bank accounts; one vehicle; a credit union account; shares and mutual funds; part ownership in St Lawrence Management Inc. (which owns a condominium) and Barefoot Chattel Resorts Inc. and is settling a partnership agreement for 50 per cent of E.D. Mottley & Co. plus salaries from that company and as Leader of the Opposition plus $4 000 a month in rent from Frere Pilgrim.

Mottley’s revelations, the first by a Barbadian politician, stole a march on the DLP which had campaigned in the run-up to the January 15 general election on a platform that painted the then ruling Barbados Labour Party (BLP) as corrupt and guilty of a lack of integrity, transparency and accountability as well as of poor ministerial conduct after 14 years in office.

DLP president, now Prime Minister, David Thompson had promised that within the first 100 days, the new Government would enact a Freedom of Information Act and set up an Integrity Commission which he said would enforce existing anti-corruption laws.

He said the act would impose an obligation on a person in public life to make financial disclosures regarding his/her office or offices, his/her income, assets and liabilities and the assets of his spouse or relatives and all gifts made to him/her which exceeded a specified value.

Once the act came into force, he added, any minister or senior officer of Government would be required to make such a “disclosure” within three months of the passing of the new legislation.

In her 195-minute Reply to the 2008 Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals delivered by Thompson Monday evening, Mottley said she was satisfied that MPs who wanted to serve in public life would have to face the legislation.

“There is more there to protect the innocent than to prosecute the guilty,” she said. “There are more people in Barbados who are innocent but because of the nature of a small society and the viciousness of partisan activity and rumour that invariably people who are not guilty of anything have their names tarnished.

“Therefore, you have a system which only reflects a mechanism for being able to trigger investigations – because the Prevention of Çorruption Act is there to deal with substantive corruption.

“In that context,” Mottley said, “I believe I have a responsibility to lead by example today by submitting as a document of this Chamber, and will do so as I sit, a full declaration of assets that I own and liabilities in this country.

“And I do so cognisant that while it may be inconvenient for my business to be made public, it is far more convenient for me to do so as an example of leadership.

“I invite the Prime Minister to join me because if he is as sanctimonious, and if he is as serious about transparency and accountability as he said that he was, then I believe that as leaders of the political parties, then both myself and the leader of the Democratic Labour Party should declare publicly.”

Mottley said the BLP group in Parliament agreed they would want members of the DLP to join them and agree “that as of next week, we will submit declarations of assets to the Governor General to hold in trust until such time as an Integrity Commission is functional”.

She disclosed that former Prime Minister Owen Arthur would follow suit with his declaration today.

36. Someone said on Morning Barbados this morning that “lots of serious points were made” by Mia yesterday and that it was good theatre. Personally I thought her presentation was lackluster and more suited for the corner of Eagle Hall on a rainy night.She reminded me of Chris Gail swiping alll over d place until the body-blows by Chris released the hot air that provided the ambience for stupid Glyne Clarke to show his grammatical skills, and he should STOP saying he was a school teacher. If journalist Joe Broome was still alive, each time Glyne got up to speak Joe would say “MAN SIT DOWN!”
    I look forward to hearing OLD Brigand today….GULP!GULP!

37. Mia stupes

38. WIV, your earlier comments scare me. The world is already S (see)rewed up.But yes, I too feel that Mia will try the marriage route just like shorty did in her quest to become this island first “woman” PM. Maybe she’ll mary a Guyanese man.

39. I noticed that Mia did not mention her shares in Jose y Jose and other companies.

I wonder why?

40. She had some points but I wasn’t fully impressed. Too much personal stuff. What I think she did was to put the PM on the spot by declaring her assets. Let us see how the PM responds to her invitation.

41. Darnley L. Pinder Avatar
    Darnley L. Pinder

I would like to hear bush tea and wishing in vain say something about the CBC insurance and the RDC. And i dont want the foolishness about the BLP cant speak about coruption because they are corrupt themselves. Deal with the issues in an intelligent way.

42. Darnley L. Pinder Avatar
    Darnley L. Pinder

THe PM is going to say no one can set his timetable and he is going to declare his assets when the time is right.

43. @Darnley L.Pinder

We agree that we should hear more on the CBC and RDC matter and we suspect we will. On the matter of declaration of assets surely you jest? It is the DLP who has been bold enough to make this an issue. According to Adrian H Mia is trying to ‘tief’ the issue to wrestle the initiative from Thompson in a big foot move i.e. declaring her assets. It will be interesting to hear how the PM responds. They have already stated that they have started a process towards rolling out integrity legislation. After waiting 14 years on Sir Henry Forde a few months will not hurt.

44. There were many matters of interest in the budget replies to date, but I am struck most by

(1) Chris Halsall’s queries about access to the official record of the debate – perhaps some of us should call or write to the clerk of parliament to get the facts and exert pressure for easier and faster access to the transcripts.
    (2) The leader of the opposition upstaging the government by making “a full declaration of assets that I own and liabilities in this country”. This is a great step forward but the words “in this country” surely require clarification.

45. At any rate the people of Barbados are well on the way to having some level ITAL amonst the political class. Thompson has to stop this hedging foolishness. This would be the second legacy making initiative that he almost give way to the BLP. The other being family first. Thompson let the people and the pulse of the people be your guide. It is the single most reason why i have been as accurate and consistent in my political opinions over the years. Democracy is about the people, and if you never stop listening to them, you will appear as though you are never wrong.

Owen’s declaration gine a lot of fodder, no matter what he agrees to make public. If he has over 2 million there will be a lot of questions about it’s accumulation, coming from man that 14 years ago could not afford gas money. So sorry we will not be privy to Barney Lynch money story.

46. All Chris or Brutus or whomever else think they should have video of the proceedings should do is purchase a pc with a TV tuner card or the now very cheap usb tv tuner key. Maybe i can send my old sony viao to someone on the rock with the explicit promise that they record all sittings of the house. Who can i trust? 😀

47. Update:

The text of the budget speech is posted at http://www.barbadosparliament.com.

There is a link for video of the speech too, but I am still trying to figure out if I can access it without logging in (or how I can log in).

Adrian, the point was that the transcripts of debates in parliament should be readily accessible to the public.

48. Brutus // July 9, 2008 at 8:04 am

Update:

The text of the budget speech is posted at http://www.barbadosparliament.com.

There is a link for video of the speech too, but I am still trying to figure out if I can access it without logging in (or how I can log in).

Adrian, the point was that the transcripts of debates in parliament should be readily accessible to the public.
    =================================
    Brutus i very much understand the point, but this is Barbados where it is not unusual for a decade or two to go by before the right and democratic things are done. I do not have any interest in waiting for information from persons in whose interest the delay serves. Mia don’t want to wait on an ITAL policy she wants declaration of assets now. I want my information now too.

49. Mia also owns a villa on the West Coast, in Queen’s Fort. Don’t believe for a minute that her net worth is only $2 million.

50. “In that context,” Mottley said, “I believe I have a responsibility to lead by example today by submitting as a document of this Chamber, and will do so as I sit, a full declaration of assets that I own and liabilities IN THIS COUNTRY.
    No two ways, she completely turned the tables on her opponents, all the way through 177 degrees.

All she has to do now is to also declare the assets she has OUTSIDE of this country to fully catspraddle them and go for the 180 degrees.

The DLP must be in chaos after her move, and she can still turn the screws tighter by going all the way with the declaration.

Quite apart from throwing the cat among the pigeons of the DLP she has also accomplished something else.

I figure she will have suitors lining up from all over the world to court her, … and she hasn’t even let them see all of her assets yet ….. talk about coy and playing hard to get.

Wonder if Owen will declare the liability associated with his divorce settlement? … all the same he may have paid that in cash to avoid accruing liability.

…. and then there is Glyne, ….. we might get to find out more about the arrangements with his special friend’s house in Lower Birneys.

But I have to say, congrats to Mia for showing up the other 29 parliamentarians for what they are.

Funny what a little courage will do!!

NUFF RESPECT DUE!!!