immigrationRecently David Ellis, while moderating a radio call-in program, and in response to a caller who questioned why the radio station was restricting discussion on the issue of the large number of Guyanese and large immigrant population on the island gave a surprising response. He indicated that the topic was a volatile one and had to be managed responsibly by the radio station. Up to that point many BU commenters had already made the observation that callers were being unfairly restricted when trying to discuss the matter on the VOB talk shows. Of late, and maybe it is our imagination, there seems to have been a relaxing of the policy at VOB regarding discussion on immigration matters.

The BU family is aware that we have written voluminously on the need for planned immigration in Barbados. We have gone further and accepted that movement of people is a reality in the new world economy. We have put forward the view that the socio-economic impact of the growing ethnic population in Barbados MUST be studied with a view to minimizing social fall-out while maximizing economic output. To our surprise many have accused BU of being xenophobic and racist. Even our sister blog Barbados Free Press rapped us on the knuckles for overstepping the boundary on this issue.

It is interesting that VOB would seek to cherry-pick this issue to censor callers to the talk shows. It is also interesting that the Nation newspaper which is owned by the same parent has not seriously highlighted the issue of our haphazard immigration policy which has low skilled Indo-Guyanese at the centre. This leads BU to conclude that there is an obvious enunciated policy to censor the Guyanese issue by the leading publishing house in Barbados. This has led us to speculate what happens if the voice of the PEOPLE is suppressed on an issue which they feel passionately.

We listened to reports in the media today which highlighted the concerns by many of our Members of Parliament on the need to roll-out a planned immigration policy. We also heard the lucid pronouncement by Attorney General Frundel Stuart that an immigration draft document is in the pipeline to be used to improve existing immigration policy. If we had the opportunity we would ask why his office has not instructed the police force and Immigration department to forge an alliance to round-up undocumented workers in Barbados. Our sources say that this has not been done since the new Thompson government ascended office.

We now feel vindicated.

217 responses to “Barbados Goverment To Implement Tighter Immigration Policy”

1. Have you all realised that all the persons who are insulting bajans are INDIA. it has started!!

2. The Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade in the Government of Barbados, Mr. Chris Sinckler, in an address to a gathering of principally Guyanese nationals at a fun day organized in celebration of the 42nd anniversary of Guyanese independence at the Bay Street Esplanade on May 25, 2008, apparently had to remark – in too an illogically broad manner – that Guyanese in Barbados were entitled to certain basic rights, like the protection of the law and access to health care and education, and that we in Barbados have a right and duty to treat them equally as good or even better (whatever the incomplete nature of this sentence) because they are our brothers and sisters (Nation Newspaper 26 May 2008).

Then, in his contribution to the debate in the House of Assembly on an amedment to the Immigration Act on Tuesday, June 24, 2008, Mr. Sinckler was reported as stating, but this time in a very absurd and contradictory way, that ANY influx of immigrants into Barbados has NOTHING to do with Barbados’ commitments under the revised Treaty of Chaguaramus but has been the result of so-called economic migration in the region.

Yet, while we have clearly thought that Mr. Sinckler did rightly point out that immigration has been a key component in every successful economy in history, we have also shuddered to think , and quite ashamedly too, that such a learned fellow could have actualy gone on to be reported as saying the following: “that we (the present DLP Government) will meet our obligations (same as commitments) and will ensure that once persons come here legally that they are treated with decency and respect as human beings first, and as Caribbean nationls or even extra-regional persons (Nation Newspaper, June 25, 2008)

Now, we in the PDC also have a very serious and fundamental problem with this Owen Arthur type utterance of the Minister concerning the use of this broad term Guyanese to NOT ONLY mean Afro-Guyanese, Chinese-Guyanese, Amerindian-Guyanese etc. BUT ALSO to mean even the destabilizing Indo-Guyanese. So, just like some of the commentators on this blog have suggested, we in PDC have sufficient solid evidence that many, many of these Indo-Guyanese in Guyana are very racist towards our black brothers and sisters in Guyana. Hence, to think, and even to accept, that this Minister is saying that we blacks in this predominantly black country must treat them equally as good or better .. because they are, for him, our BROTHERS AND SISTERS, and which would be, yes, good if he was talking primarily about our Black brothers and sisters from Guyana, but which would be, NO, and therefore totally outrageous and insulting, if he really meant those racist Indo-Guyanese, many of whom are among us in Barbados, must – at the same time as he was making the relevant utterances – have signified that the Minister was sending some very dangerous and potentially combustible signals to those many thousands of countrymen and women and children who do NOT wish to see a growing Indian presence in this country. Surely, a word from the wise is good enough warning!!

While we in PDC certainly do not hate NON-RACIST Indo-Guyanese, we are still as strong as ever in our very categoric position that if we were at the helm of the government of the country today since January 15, ALL of these Indo-Guyanese and Indians of other national origins who would have come to our shores within the last 10 years would by now have been ASKED TO LEAVE this country or be FORCIBLY REPATRIATED out of this country to Guyana or to wheresoever else they would have come from, whether or NOT within this time they would have been married to Barbadians, would have got children here from Barbadians or Non-Barbadians, or would have had property here, whatever.

Such actions would have, of course, been consistent with such a government putting in place a national immigration and strategic development policy regime that would have been ideally suited to the peaceful and harmonious growth and development of our country, and that would have been crafted in recognition of the very crucial need to protect the national strategic interests of this country. Where black Guyanese and other black nationals are concerned, if we were at the helm of government today, such a policy regime would have been also crafted to get more and more productive and well behaved Blacks into this country from overseas, primarily as a means of making sure that they contribute properly to Barbados becoming a well balanced, world class society achieving average real annual material production and distribution growth rates of 8 – 10 %.

Finally, we also have a massive and fundamental problem with the fact that this DLP government is so strongly committed to this foolishness called the CSME. For, it is this CSME nonsense that has indeed facilitated this great influx of Indo-Guyanese, on the basis of some nuisance concept called free movement of capital, goods, labour, etc.. But who would believe that when this wretched DLP was in opposition in parliament that it used to be very critical of many aspects of the functioning of the CSME, and esp. those aspects that very adversely affect skilled artisans and small businesspeople in Barbados, until it achieved government in this country. The truth is this if we were at the helm of Government today since January 15 2008 we would have long started the process of withdrawing Barbados from the CSME – thus leaving it to lumber along the way without Barbados’ participation. And, finally, finally, we would like to continue telling Barbadians on the whole that it is time enough to STOP ELECTING DLP and BLP Governments in this country and to begin thinking about coalitional government for this country, if we wish to see our country’s affairs grow and develop soundly and systematically.

3. Karina Avilla I share the pain of my fellow black guyanese brothers & sisters.The points you highlighted are the points I am constantly making on this blog regarding the influx of indo-guyanese.They are wicked .I cannot understand how those indo-guyanese could unfair,destroy & wreck the lifes of many black guyanese and those bastards could come into a predominantly black country and live comfortably.It shows what sort of people we are.We are to passive and simple minded.
    Daily many black lifes are lost in Guyana and it seems that the authorities do not care.
    Something is wrong in a society when young people as youg as thirteen or fourteen are are so disillusioned that these young people will prefer to resort to violence and be prepare to die.That is what the present administration in Guyana has done to the black guyanese.Police harassment in black communities of Agricola,Buxton & Friendship has driven the young men in those communities to respond in the manner they are responding.This present administration produced the “Fineman” Rawlins & the gangs in Guyana today.
    I envisage this is the future of our blacks sons,& grand sons in Barbados in the not to distance future maybe another ten or twenty years.Blacks are going to suffer at the hands of these wicked ,stinking,nasty,disease ridden indo-guyanese if we do not control the influx of these scum bags. The future of black Barbados is at stake.
    Karina Avilla thanks for your contribution.

4. just wondering Avatar

This morning I was on my way to work and a friend of mine informed me that the shop operated on BAy Street is run by the Guyanese and that not only do they sell drinks but prostitutes as well!

I would like to know what the immigration officials are doing about this matter!

Chris sinkya you need to remember that the persons in Black Rock are mostly blacks and we voted for you!

NOT THE GUYANESE!

5. Just wondering

That is only the tip of the iceberg!

Today when I read again those remarks by chris sinckler that because non nationals sending their children here to school illegally we must build more schools to accomodate this increase in school children he got me vex all over again.

Man he so full a shite that it coming out he ears,nose and mouth.

POPPETT.

6. Maxine Mcclean is in charge of immigration and she needs to tell us what they are doing about this problem.

7. This story has made me and negro man and others at times very ‘riled up’

However, let us look at this discussion seriously. I blame my parents and foreparents for this mess. One might ask why? I say this because for years black people have been led to think that every one else is more beautiful than them.

I as a parent have started to let my children know that Black is beautiful. I think that we need to stop talking and prove to the world that we love our own! That is your black women, and men.

Bajan men have me so sad, I am not saying that you cannot marry or fall in love for that matter with an indian or white person. I am saying that we as black people always get the shittier end of the stick. We black mothers need to be more conscious in how we raise our sons.

When our sons look at us they should be a feirce pride; hence you will find our sons marrying proud black women. We need to say to our children there is nothing wrong with being proud and black; instead, you find persons who have the audacity to look at me when they see my daughter and say things such as “Wait you had a Guayanese or a white man. As if black people cannot produce some sweet adorable children. I want persons to comprehend that a black person can create any color child. We are the parent race.

When persons read this the first thing they will say is that Jc is racist and blah blah; Not this time! This is far from the truth (at least in this comment). I am just speaking from the heart to see that persons not just guyanese but illegal immigrants can come and manipulate the system as they see fit and no one says nothing what so ever!

Sometimes emotions plays a big part in what a person says and the emotion of hurt is what I feel at this time. ltherefore, I will say that it hurts me to realise that our own black politicians are making us snort!

8. Lol,so I guess Barbados will not be implementing a tighter policy according to the topic header ?

It looks like the island can expect a LOT more illegal immigrants & stresses on social services if this is the case.Here in the U.S. a typical stay at a Hospital for ~3 days can get you a bill of ~80,000 US if you don’t have health insurance.

On the whole issue of race,I think it is IRRELEVANT.What happens in Guyana should stay in Guyana,if they are illegally in the country deport them,PROBLEM SOLVED.Remember BAJANS FIRST,not just ‘black’ bajans.

9. I was not speaking about blacks and indians or whites I was just saying that most of the times blacks have themselves to blame for the situations we find ourselves in!

And I am one who want Barbados for Bajans first. But you must remember Jay!

I AM BLACK! therefore I was just giving my humble ‘black’ opinion!

10. JC Girl

We in bare trouble hear.

Read today’s advocate newspaper and an article by katrina best about the sindi indians.

Read how richard sealy and esther suckoo talk in glowing terms about them saying how they have positive values which bajans should emulate.

Esther suckoo told them hold fast to their traditions and their values.

Now if my observation is right,these indians which include Mrs ram and others are very,very,very clannish.

They do not believe in their childrem marrying black children.

They do not treat their black employees well and mainly engage in business that take away rather than add value to the country – hardly ever in in manufacturing – mostly in retail trade of cheap products.

They bring their traits of offering bribes and other corrupt practices to politicians and influential civil servants to get their way in business.

They bring their worship of multiple gods and entrenched acceptance of the caste system – and their dislike and scorn of dark skinned persons.

Now tell me what about those practices did esther suckoo and richard sealy see as so laudable that they are promoting these values to bajans?

JC – that is that woman – esther suckoo that unfortunately you said you voted for – too bad we now seeing what she is about.

Don’t get me wrong I believe that if persons come here and make worthy contributions to the society – well – yes we should point that out.

But these group of indian persons who came here from India – with very little and are now through the help of both BLP and DLP governments and the bajan people – very rich – have made no meaningful contribution to this country – all they have done is made money for themselves.

I am telling you JC,Negroman,talkaholic,scout,jay and others – I believe only some real,real serios action will get these DLP politicians to sit up and take us the voters seriously.

First we had 2 ministers in chris sinckler and dennis kellman running behind Faria boxy at bay street,and now we have 2 other senior ministers running up to a group of people who number 500 hundred persons on the island – yet they could get 2 senior ministers to go and eat roti and listen to indian music and dance.

JC you think you could get a minister or your M.P. to come to a meeting by some group from the village or the boys from the block?

My heart is really really heavy.

I keep telling everybody don’t only talk on these blogs – cuss your M.Ps or any DLP politician until they realise you are serious – talk ,talk,talk until people start to sit up and listen.

11. Anonymous have you considered that Ministers Sealy and Byer-Suckoo were just being polite.

When one is invited to a party or wedding or funeral is is customary to make polite noises to the host.

12. I am not giving up on this issue. How dare esther suckoo talk about values and principles that Indians have.

What about us black people’s values AND principles to trust her enough to put her there!

They went up to Ms. Ram’s prison and talk a bunch of nonsense! They realise that they are causing a nation to be split down the middle!

I can see it unfolding before our very eyes.

Funny enough someone asked how comes scout has become very silent on this issue. Hi scout how are you? I miss your thoughts and opinions very much!

13. JC: This is one black person who has always felt beautiful and whose children know that they too are beautiful. My father, born in 1911 and unschooled always said of us “All my children are beautiful” I am sorry for all those who were told that they were not beautiful and who in turn told their children the same LIES. So you see not all the elders were foolish or felt in any way inferior.

14. JC
    You are correct when you try to teach your son to respect females of his own race, but you are fighting a doomed battle if the black men that he emulates do not respect their own women.
    I am not talking of your family but in general.
    If we bajans respect our women so much how can songs that are derogatory be so popular.
    Do we say to the young people that the sentiment is wrong and turn off the radio? Or just go along with it because it has a good beat and is popular and we don’t want our children thinking we are old fogies?

15. J

What I am saying is that there is a very disturbing pattern developing where our very senior ministers are pandering to a minority population and are sending the wrong signals to the black poulation they depended on to vote them in.

Then too,why are they – the ministers of government- going in the two’s to the event – are they considered to be so important – like the guyanese association party big-ing up these guyanese people who quite a few are known to be engaging in destructive behaviour and breaking the law by staying here illegally – yet sinckler goes up there and tell bajans -treat the guyanese right – and that illegal children must get free education – I don’t know if he was talking for himself or for david thompson – but then david didnot correct him.

Then at this sindi indian dinner – why these 2 particular ministers had to go there? – were they the ones these indians specially invited? – if so what is the ulterior motive behind that?

Why haven’t these ministers spoken about andrew bynoe,elcock eletrical,eddies trading etc and the great example they are setting?

What about these black businesses – didn’t they demonstrate the right values as well – esther suckoo and richard sealy?

What de ra****hole going on in this country people?

What is going on with this DLP party?

16. I told you all about my feelings about Esther Byer-Sukoo.It is coming to pass.She will align herself mostly with her indian ancestry than her black one.
    Richard Sealy I am not surprise.He comes from a privelege background .I was told he has little regard for black people.
    I agree we are in trouble. Like JC I am not giving up.we must continue to pluck away.
    I want to comment on Just Wondering comment about the guyanese shop in Bay Street.Just Wondering it is not only that shop but the other one in Bay Street too.Prostitution is happening at that other shop.
    I see this government appears to be trying to get the moral standard of Barbados at the level it was at in the sixties,seventies & eighties before that that degeneric and worst leader we had in post independence Barbados the scum bag Owen Arthur took over with the introduction of a dress code for our sshool children.I applaud the government for that.
    However,the last administration practically legalised prostitution in Barbados with the introduction of the indian guyanese prostitutes.
    Beside those two shops many guyanese prostitutes could be seen around the Garrison and on our streets at night strutting their stuff.In some instances the police are in the Garrison area patrolling and protecting these prostitutes.
    How could the moral fibre of this country rise again if we do not get this prostitition business under control.I want to see morality return to this island.
    PROSTITION MUST STOP DEPORT THE ILLEGAL DISEASE INDO-GUYANESE FROM BARBADOS AND HELP SAVE OUR CHILDREN & COUNTRY.

17. Anonymous.Itold you all the Democratic Labour Party is the only political party in history of Barbados that ran two indians.Abdul Pandor in the city in 1999 & Taan Abeds in 2008.I also highlighted that Abdul Pandor is the chairman of the national Housing Corporation,Chatrani is on another board,A Mr Singh is on the Film Censorship Board,another indian is on the QEH Board and that wicked,SOB PeterHharris is the chairman of Combermere School.Think about that.
    This government is pandering to the big financiers of the party and will neglect us the masses.
    We are in hopeless state because we cannot go back to the BLP.People’s Democrat Congress made the point we might need a coalition governement.I think that is food for thought.
    Both the DLP & BLP have outlived their usefulness.We must move on.

18. I understand that there is a number of private school with guyanese connection that are schooling these children. Also I heard that there are some going to a particular secondary school and paying school fees. I thought school fees was a thing of the past?

19. For all of you who were asking for me, thanks for your concern. This whole saga has me so sick that I was actually physically sick too. However, I’m back and I realise the problem has escalated. Let’s stop talking and do something about it. Just now this barbados that we love so much, will become like jamaica,t&t and guyana. It’s just a matter of time. I never thought in my wildest dreams that this would happen to MY COUNTRY. The type of politicians we have now don’t seem to have this country at heart, it’s selfish greed. We want back Tom or Dippa duppy

20. Glad to know that you are back and better Scout.

The Dlp handling of this is also making me very sick to my bones.

I am prepared to do whatever it takes within the law to support this cause.

I know there may be some dlp politicians who are reading this blog who may be saying – man that’s just a few of them out there that upset – but that will blow over.

I don’t think they have a clue about the thousands and thousands of bajans who every day are being pushed to the brink of their anger on this overcrowing of illegals and lack of proper immigration controls issue.

I want to know what is ronald jones the minister of education saying about this – I have an idea – but I will keep my thoughts to my self until…

Reudon eversley said last week that bajans are too passive – and he is right because I tell you this would not be happening if this was jamaica – only bout here.

You know why I know bajans too passive – ask yourself where are these guyanese staying,who are the people employing them,who are the men sleeping with them for money and carrying back Aids for their wives?

Who are the principals of school who are taking them in,who are the immigration officers and policemen who are not raiding the places where the illegals are?

Who are the doctors and nurses taking them in at the polyclynic and the QEH?

Who are the lawyers and politicians who are helping them to eveade the law?

Who are the people in the media who are condoning this behaviour by not speaking out against and by shutting down any discussion on the airwaves and in the newspapers?

You know what,If barbados started rioting about this matter – the way I feel now I will cheer loudly – that is how far I have come on the issue – and that – to my mind is a dangerous place to be.

What if,just what if there are many more like me!

Are we waiting for that last straw to break the camel’s back?

21. David check for my post.

22. Scout I m glad that you are ok I missed u!

23. The Past, The Present and The Future Looking Through the Smoke of a Cane Fire: Illegal Immigration.

We have reached a stage in Barbados, where the messenger is vilified and the message is lost in transmission.

Players are now in the shadows they keep clean hands, while putting forward others to do their bidding.

I say to those who advance a view for the majority black Barbadians and “all” citizens of our beloved country. Be not vituperative in your comments, even in anger. Your anger can be interpreted as you being irrational..but be strident.

I know of no country on this earth where an Indian majority has sought to accommodate a black African minority with equality and fairness as their motivation…it just does not happen.

Yet in the small space we – blacks – inhabit we are now being told to be over magnanimous. We have lit cane fires in the fields next to dry wooden chattle houses for illumination…will we as a people ever learn.

Long term stability comes not from hating another race, or feeling superior of inferior to them. It comes from doing as much as you can for “your own”, to uplift them so that they can be strong independent and mentally free. Thus, they will not be oppressed by the limitations of poverty and a lack of education.

When you have paid a heavy price – in blood – for the space on which you stand. It is folly to relinquish that space in a cavalier gesture of far reaching consequences, particularly when “history” is speaking in your ear.

24. Isn’t the stance of this DLP Government disturbing, to wit, saying Barbados must embrace CSME even though the other countries do not?

We bought a pig in a poke on the Jan 15th. Not only is it the twin of the pig we chased away, it seems to be a runt!

To all those who say Negroman, JC, Scout etc talking foolishness, please go and do some research on the recent history of Fiji.

25. Yardbroom
    I agree with your last sentiments. But if women come in from another country and trap our men with their bodies whether through prostitution or sweet talk to procure a ring, surely that could not happen if we had brought up these same young men to value our women. And we need to look at our culture, our education system, our religions, our family units and see where we went wrong and go about correcting these mistakes. I wonder if co-education has not been one of the problems.

26. I am heartened by the comments of anonymous who posted at 7:22 this morning and yardbroom and kay – along with our other tireless warriors,ie JC,Negroman, Scout,jukecheckedeyshirt, Jay and others.

I am heartened because every time I read a post by a new blogger I know the message is not being missed and the concerns are not going unnoticed.

This is why the people at starcom;david ellis,mike browne and those at the nation and CBC have my eternal disgust.

A lot of these persons who are holding down responsible jobs in these media centres are really square pegs in round holes.

Most of them with perhaps one or two exceptions could not tell you what the tenets of journalism are.

Most of them see it only as a means of earning a paycheck and a means of getting their name recognised across barbados.

Have jewel forde,dean st hill,richard cox,and others at CBC ever considered and taken the time to do a critical piece on the negative impact of illegal immigration on barbados?

Do you think mike browne who is another one of those pay check earners and not a journalist,or David Ellis would conside dedicating a series of programmes on discussing that illegal immigration and overcrowding issue?

What about the nation or advocate newspapers?

Why isn’t the DLP blog leading on this matter?

Just for the record, crtical analysis means more than getting norman faria to come and spout his illogical propoganda and then get some other ill prepared and half informed person to give a weak counter argument.

An indepth analysis should mean talking to civil servants on the record and off the record,talking to citizens in districts which are affected,talking to ordinary bajans who have lost jobs to these guyanese,or are finding it difficult to get adequate housing because of this huge demand for low income housing.

It means going to the QEH and to schools where the overcrowding problem exists – to accurately reflect the problem.

It also means going to guyana and trinidad to observe without the presence of a bias companion – the true state of race relations in this country.

Finally it means confronting the ministry of home affairs,immigration,education,health and the prime minister on what are the specific plans for dealing with this problem.

It means going back in history to show the patterns of migrant labour in barbados – with the st lucians,the vincentians,the skilled guyanese in the 60s and 70s – and how there was little if any social upheaval and importantly the contribution they made then.

Next we then show how in the 80s under the tom adams government and one o’brien trotman as minister of immigration – how guyanese female prostitutes came in.

Then in the 90s with the owen arthur administration – with o’brien trotman somewhere in the shadows – the floodgates were open and the resulting negative consequences.

That my friends could be called an indepth analysis – step,by step by step.

You think we could see some media house taking up this challenge on behalf of the barbadian people – on whose behalf the media say they speak.

Does any of these media organisations have a social conscience you think?

Right now my faith rests only with David and the Barbados Underground Blog.

What say you my fellow bloggers?

27. Kay Your comment are of utmost importance.Many of our institutions still have many aspects of the negatives of slavery.The legacy of slavery is still prevalent in many of us blacks today.The disrespect and lack of appreciation of own black women are some of the negatives of slavery.The Willie Lynch theory of division among us is still prevalent today.I will advise my fellow bloggers to read up on the Willie Lynch Theory.Get a copy of the book “Let Save our Children”by the late Barbadian Dr Ashton Gibson and we will have an insight why many of our black males behave in the manner we are practising today.
    Kay we have a lot of work to do.Our men folks are unfortunate victims.I am not making excuses but the legacy of slavery lives on.

Anonymous,I feel like you I am at my breaking point.I am trying extremely hard to control myself.I feel it is only a matter of time before something disastrous happens in this country regarding this illegal guyanese issue.
    Anonymous it is not only a few of us on the blogs but thousands and I say thousands of Barbadians feel the same way as we do.

Scout,I am glad that you are okay.Welcome back.

28. Kay
    I have said repeatedly that it is the duty of our young men to respect our women. It should be done as a matter of course. That some men have degraded themselves in ad hoc relatioships is no reason for our elected representives not to take positive action on behalf of those who have elected them.

I believe in one decade we can change a lot of what is wrong in Barbados, but it will take leadership and courage.

We need a cultural shift and it can only be done by example. We have allowed ourselves to be too easily bought and thus corrupted. Consequently others have lost respect for us and later can treat us with contempt.

We often sell out our brothers, to be seen at the supposed right places, or to rub shoulders fleetingly with those who deride us.

It never ceases to amaze me, what supposedly intelligent people will do for a few dollars.

29. Long term stability comes not from hating another race, or feeling superior or inferior to them. It comes from doing as much as you can for “your own”, to uplift them so that they can be strong independent and mentally free. Thus, they will not be oppressed by the limitations of poverty and a lack of education.

When you have paid a heavy price – in blood – for the space on which you stand. It is folly to relinquish that space in a cavalier gesture of far reaching consequences, particularly when “history” is speaking in your ear.

———————————————–

Yard broom every thing that you said was “deep, true and factual.” Sometimes, your emotions take over and common sense and logicality takes a backdoor. Therefore, one can imagine, Saturday Night watching the television and one of your representatives, has the audaciousness to proclaim that we need more schools!

Are these people mad, I want everyone to take a look at an article that was written in one of the weekend papers (cant remember which one) and see why I was double pist off! The story states that an Indian man paid to get his son’s wife murdered. That is why I got on the blogs June 29, 2008 and behaved in a NASTY MANNER.

If the natives of this country think that these things can never materialise in Barbados. ha think again. I did read about Fiji. I know about Guyana, Suriname and Trinidad.

SO DONT SAY IT CANNOT HAPPEN!

Because as far as I can see

IT HAS ALREADY STARTED!!!!!!!!!!

30. Yardbroom wrote

“..no reason for our elected representives not to take positive action on behalf of those who have elected them.”

“We often sell out our brothers, to be seen at the supposed right places, or to rub shoulders fleetingly with those who deride us.”

This could only refer to Byer-Suckoo (on whom he posted a glowing tribute sometime ago), Sealy, Sinckler and Kellman.

Yet he never calls a spade a spade, he never calls out the Dems! Stopping trying to shield Thompson and the Dems. The Dems seem even more determined than the Bees to put the CSME noose around our necks along with the welcoming of Guyanese to Barbados.

31. Negroman…exactly! The 174 years since the abolition of slavery are but a mere blink of the eye in historical terms. Many of the unfortunate and undesirable consequences and legacies of slavery linger on.

Black women, who are the backbone and foundation of Barbadian society, deserve better. They are the ones who have kept homes and families together. They are the economic experts. It is tragic that many Barbadian males still do not acknowledge and fulfill their duties and responsibilities. It is the women who have moved on and progressed but, sadly, many – but not all – Bajan males are still stuck in the concubinage paradigm, preferring style over substance, recklessness over responsibility.

At some point in time the page will have to be turned if Barbados is to truly progress. May I recommend the book, “It’s OK to Leave the Plantation,” by the African-American author Clarence M. Weaver, a former Black Panther. At some time we all have to take ownership of our actions. We are always free to choose, BUT we are not free to choose the consequences of our actions. The Law of Unintended Consequences casts its net far and wide socially.

32. Puzzled
    I try to be honest at all times. If by chance I fall short…to err is to be human.

I believe that we can make our country -Barbados – a model of decency and honesty. Men/women make things and they can change them…but there must be the will to do so.

You have taken my words to refer “specifically” to Byer-Suckoo, Sealy, Sinkler and Kellman.

I wrote: “We often sell out our brothers, to be seen at the supposed right places, or to rub shoulders fleetingly with those who deride us.”

The plural “we” was a general observation of what has occured in Barbados politics recently, and the disrespect often shown to Barbadians by the wealthy and others, as a result of special favours granted to them.

I supported the Democratic Labour Party at the last election, because I felt it was time for a change. I also considered the level of dissatisfaction felt by the electorate…evidenced by the election result.

I have not as yet criticised the Government – Democratic Labour Party – because they have only in the last six months taken office. It takes time to implement policy and change the direction of government…one has to be fair with a new administration.

In reference to Minister Byer-Suckoo, I wrote with regard to what the Minister said about young people in Barbados. It was worthy of mention and I did so.

If a member of the BLP had made a statement about Barbados and I felt it was in the interest of our citizens…I would have done the same.

Although I have no evidence, I dare say there might be members of the BLP who feel as I do about illegal immigration. In the minority and now without a voice, but they might be there.

There will have to be a definitive statement about immigration before long; by this administration.

Politicians when in office think they will be there for ever, that is never the case. You should never be so certain as to neglet the people who elected you…greater men and women have paid a price for so doing.

The citizens of Barbados are greater than either the Democratic Labour Party or The Barbados Labour Party and I am only a “small grain of sand” at the bottom of the ocean.

33. Yardbroom
    To use your metaphor; the fire is burning next to our homes! The four politicians mentioned have neither brought water to out the fire nor to wet our houses. They bring kerosene and kindling. Will policy matter if there are only the smouldering embers of our humble home left?

What then? If only….

34. Puzzled
    With great tactical skill you have tried to tease from me, a condemnation of the persons mentioned above.

I am loath at this “juncture” to do so.

However, I am sure now that the spotlight is on this issue, it would be unwise of any “sensible politician” not to take note.

Ultimately the people will decide. This issue is so important, that long after we are dead the judgement wil be passed on us by our children and grand children…I hope it is not a harsh one.

35. Yardbroom in another article I said the same thing but in different words I therefore see it fitting to repeat these words:

We as a nation need to stop the governments from destroying our two most cherished institutions: the family and the village. We allow them to destroy our land and our crops. Most importantly there are now attempting to destroy what makes us the same and that is our identity and comradrie spirit.

I am talking about the spirit that bids us at times to socialise with Ms. White, Blackman, Clarke etc. and their grandchildren down by the beach. The spirit of peace and tranquility that we can find we take a drive to any beach and look at our majestic ocean which seems to calm our inner qualms. Or the spirit of happiness, when we can go to the beach or in the villages and although we might not know a stranger we can play a game of cricket since they have the ball. These days are disappearing.

The truth of these words is beyond doubt, but the mission to which they call us is not as difficult as it sounds. I JC come to this blog to make a passionate plea to my beloved nation to read and understand that our children’s future depends on the decisions our governments make. I do not want my children and hopefully, great grand children look at me with tears in their eyes and ask: “why didnt you say something” They watch as we poison our water, as we destroy our people.and we loose acres of arable land to concrete monsters. This madness MUST STOP!

36. Our children & grand children are destined for a life of servitude at the hands of the other ethnic groups that will be controlling our economy.Little or nothing is in place to protect & enhance the future generations of black Barbadians.I shudder to think what type of Barbados I am leaving for my children & grand children.I am scare of my children’s future.
    This immigration matter sholud be concern for all right thinking Barbadians. I endorse the views of Anonymous,Yardbroom,JC & The Scout wholeheartedly.
    The old political order has done well for Barbados but I honestly believe that a new political dispensation is needed in Barbados at this present moment.The old guard has outlived its usefulness.we need leaders from among the people to take over the mantle of leadership in Barbados. The old school ties of Harrison College,Combermere,Queens College,The Lodge,Foundation & the other older secondary schools must be replace.Those persons are far remove from the realities that affect average Barbadians daily.They try to understand our pain,but they are doing a feeble attempt at it.That is why we will have the Richard Sealys,Esther Byer-Suckoos,David Thompsons,and people of that ilk behaving in the comtemptous manner they are behaving at this moment because they feel people of their ilk are born to lead us.We must let them know we are not prepare for that type of behavior anymore.
    ENOUGH IS ENOUGH
    I Negroman understand the importance of a vote.I know my ancestors did not had the oppurtunity to vote and make a decision of who should have been they leader.However with the present crop of politicians we have I am disillusioned and I am putting it mildly with the politicians performance and behavior.I believe I am going to do like the younger people and do not participate in any future general elections in Barbados.I cannot continue to vote for those hypocrites,jokers and whatever.I cannot even find the adjectives to describe the lot.I am really piss off with these losers.

37. It is hoped that all politicians read this blog and seriously contemplate the ramifications of CSME and an open border policy!

It is late in the evening, I hope as my dear Grandmother would say, that night does not catch us without bus fare!

38. Remember Puzzled, our illegal immigration problem have little to do with CSME and more to do with a slack immigration policy. It amazes me in a few short years that our beloved Barbados has come to this juncture. Where the average Barbadian feels under seige in their own country. Enough is enough.

I am all for letting the relevant authorities know how we feel on this matter. For them to ignore this will be at the detriment of us all. What really has me flabbergasted is that Caricom leaders refuse to address the real concerns of Caribbean people. They need to do more and talk less. Why cant the other Governments make the sacrifices B’dos has to provide basic (health, education etc)services to their people. Afterall we have done it with very little resources a country like Guyana has so much potential yet they want to flood us with their citizens to stress our already overburdened social services.

We cant allow this to happen its a non-sensical situation to get me out of had. Further more our leaders should be ashamed to admit we need more schools etc..for illegal immigrants. This is ridiculous. SEND THEM HOME. Our laws must be respected and obeyed.

I am very interested to hear what Mr. thompsons contribution has been today as he chaired a CARICOM meeting. This will give us some idea of what direction we are heading in. For me I dont like what I see happening in this country. We have to ensure we protect the birthright of our future generations.

39. I have a story for all fellow bloggers, imagine a taxi driver called me just now and told me that this evening he dropped a woman at the airport, and of course she had a story.

This woman is guyanese and she told him that she worked at a well known restaurant for 300 dollars per weeK. She went on to say that the immigration came looking for her since she had come into the island for 3 weeks but this 3 weeks turned into 6 months.

Furthermore, she stated that luckily for her she was off that particular day and her boss called her and told her to go and buy a ticke and go back home at least for 4 weeks. Then he will try to get her status regularised when she comes back.

Everyone should know that once immigration has not deported you, one can freely come back into the country untouched and unquestioned.

You see these negligent slipshod attitude that our immigration policy has? that is why we are suffering because we know that it is wrong to have these people here illegally, yet we ignore laws and forget about our own!

THIS FOOLISHNESS MUST STOP!

How comes someone is known to these people as ‘fugitives’ and yet still they can ‘lazy on up’ to CUSTOMS and go through freely. Isnt there a list that is updated to know who is not supposed to be here so that when they decide to return that they cannot, what is goingon here?! This is SHODDY! FOOLISHNESS! UUTTER NONSENSE!

40. JC
    Ur story is just one of thousands that beat our inadequate sytem. I think we must the joke of the Caribbean. “Bajans think they smart but we outsmart them at every turn. Cant u just imagïne them laughing at us. What a farce.

But what is really disgusting is those Bajans who claim they dont want another bajan to work for them but would hire someone from whereever else. JOKERS

Black bajans, we can be an economic force to be reckoned with in this country cause if we dont spend money they cant make none. Let us be concious like the Whites where we spend our hard earn money and boycott those who scoff and ignore what few immigratin laws we have. Support ur own and lets work together to further uplift our country

41. Fairplay

I am with you all the way.

We have the power of our numbers,the power of our money,the power of our vote.

Let’s not become another ruined country like guyana and trinidad – with the race hatred between indians and africans.

FYI,Tonight on the CBC news david thompson said that the 2 pressing problems for barbados are:

1)The freedom of movement under the CSME

2) I can’t remember the second – I think it had to do with our exchange rate

Thompson stated that because barbados is an attractive destination we have had large numbers coming in and it is putting a strain on our limited resources.

Fairplay and others some of the things we must insist to these politicians are: we don’t want any amnesty for persons who have broken the laws and stayed here illegally,they must be deported – we want to send a clear messge to the thousands getting eady to come here.

Second,we don’t want our tax paying dollars paying for children of illegals -either in education,health services,NHC housing,welfare payments – whatever.

Third,we want a stricter qualification for persons becoming a barbadian citizen or getting permanent residence – get rid of the policy that says once you live here for a couple of years you can become a permanent residence or once you marry a bajan you become a barbadian citizen.

A review of the granting of work permits,permanent residences,citizenship and I.D cards over the past 15 years.

Immediate deporting of persons here illegally and a temporary halt on any granting of ciizenship or permanent residence.

As Jay pointed out yesterday,we must move to fingerprinting persons entering the country to avoid the scam of deported persons returning with false passports.

An increase of fines – in the thousands of any one employing an illegal person in Barbados.

These are just some of the things I will be looking to see the david thompson administration get cracking on.

42. JC

That $300.00 a week that illegal guyanese woman was getting amounts to $60.00 a day.

Which barbadian restaurant worker works for $60.00 a day?So that is some bajan job that was lost to an illegal guyanese for low wages.

You see how easy it is for any one to come in here and work? Who knows maybe the fugutive Fineman Rawlins must be here working at the Hilton hotel too?Who knows?

You wonder why businesses keep saying that bajans are lazy and horrible workers and they need these ‘hardworking’ guyanese?

I have often wonderd how come the union bosses trotman and clarke are not expressing outrage about these high number of illegals putting pressure on bajan workers for their jobs.

They seem very close to norman faria who every May day brings out guyanese workers to march in their parades.

Shouldn’t the union be at the fore front of this issue?

43. Gentlemen/Ladies
    We are the employers of the politicians, we sit on the board of management, we are the shareholders. We don’t seem to recognise the power we have; we can hire and fire with our X. Therefore we have to tell our new employees (the government) that we are not satisfied by these serious blunders they are making and that we expect a better quality of gov’t or we would have to exercise our rights before their contract expires. If we don’t do something, we might lose our pick on the voting panel. WORDS OF ADVICE

44. Well Said Anonymous ….I agree with you totally. We need changes now to our immigration laws and we have to get those in authority to act quick or else I fear the illegals will continue to use all scams in the book to become Barbadian citizens.

I am thinking that we have not educated our people in the right way. Now is the time to get our act together and to ensure our children are not displaced because of recklessness, poor foresight and slack immigration laws.

45. Chris Sinckler said we need more school so that we can house the foreigners. That sound like we are a little Kuwait. Some of these new breed heads swell. Maybe they now seeing money. What is happening with the integrety legislation that the DLP was pushing so hard while campaigning?

46. You noticed Scout how chris sinckler had a half smile on his face when he talked about building schools to accomodate illegal children?

Maybe he was thinking – these foolish people who complaining are getting so emotional,but I am the minister of foreign affairs and I travel and meet with these foreign dignataries – these people don’t know of what they speak – because we have to think of the EU arrangements and the UN treaties and the Caricom agreements – we can’t mind them.

I say all this with sadness – not in any jest because I was one of those who was expecting to see a quick and decisive move by the DLP on this immigration problem.

We know who put us where we are now- the rotten BLP lot – but we expected a more vocal and bold position by the DLP.

47. Well Anonymous I guess the jokes on you and the thousands of BAjans who voted in January for quick and decisive move by the DLP with this immigration fiasco.

Its ironic when a country that has prided itself with providing free education to the tertiary level for citizens is grappling with such a fiasco especially when the main perpretrators do not have this luxury in their country of birth. I guess common sense isn’t very common.

Caribbean people were doing fine wih integration before the politicians dirtied the water. Many Caricom nationals moved around the region to work and make a better life we in B’dos had no problem with this. These same persons are now integrated into our society.

Then along came the politicians with their destructive words and deeds and emasculated our immigration department and now we are struggling to curb the tidal wave. STUPSE.

And its a real struggle… each day I realise it more and more. I suppose if this was a problem for the white community then more urgency would be applied to it. But as it is, they live in a different B’dos to the masses so it hasn’t touched them…..YET. In the meantime we are suppose to grin and bear the foolishness and wait with bated breath for our leaders to give us a few signs that they are going to do something with immigration. Think people what signs have we seen….apart from the AG where do the others stand.

Are they going to wait until its tooo late or r they going to take that positive action that the majority of Bajans stated firmly they wanted with their X in January.

48. Fairplay your guess is as good as mine !

49. I dont know if anyone has listened to the news this morning. I didn’t get all of the information; but it seems as if CARICOM nations detest Bajans. Yet we still press ahead with CSME, although we can envision the consequences of our actions.

That is why I stress that we need to unify as a people, cause we can see that no leader within CARICOM has little or no respect for BARBADOS!

50. Pudding and souse Avatar
    Pudding and souse

JC the news said Jagdeo was referring to Barbados and Antigua when he call for islands to stop the humiliation of Guyanese. Immigration in Trinidad regularly deport scores of Guyanese with work papers. The Trinidad people say they coming to take away jobs from locals. Why Jagdeo avoid pointing out that Trinidad treats his people worse than Barbados allegedly does?