immigrationRecently David Ellis, while moderating a radio call-in program, and in response to a caller who questioned why the radio station was restricting discussion on the issue of the large number of Guyanese and large immigrant population on the island gave a surprising response. He indicated that the topic was a volatile one and had to be managed responsibly by the radio station. Up to that point many BU commenters had already made the observation that callers were being unfairly restricted when trying to discuss the matter on the VOB talk shows. Of late, and maybe it is our imagination, there seems to have been a relaxing of the policy at VOB regarding discussion on immigration matters.

The BU family is aware that we have written voluminously on the need for planned immigration in Barbados. We have gone further and accepted that movement of people is a reality in the new world economy. We have put forward the view that the socio-economic impact of the growing ethnic population in Barbados MUST be studied with a view to minimizing social fall-out while maximizing economic output. To our surprise many have accused BU of being xenophobic and racist. Even our sister blog Barbados Free Press rapped us on the knuckles for overstepping the boundary on this issue.

It is interesting that VOB would seek to cherry-pick this issue to censor callers to the talk shows. It is also interesting that the Nation newspaper which is owned by the same parent has not seriously highlighted the issue of our haphazard immigration policy which has low skilled Indo-Guyanese at the centre. This leads BU to conclude that there is an obvious enunciated policy to censor the Guyanese issue by the leading publishing house in Barbados. This has led us to speculate what happens if the voice of the PEOPLE is suppressed on an issue which they feel passionately.

We listened to reports in the media today which highlighted the concerns by many of our Members of Parliament on the need to roll-out a planned immigration policy. We also heard the lucid pronouncement by Attorney General Frundel Stuart that an immigration draft document is in the pipeline to be used to improve existing immigration policy. If we had the opportunity we would ask why his office has not instructed the police force and Immigration department to forge an alliance to round-up undocumented workers in Barbados. Our sources say that this has not been done since the new Thompson government ascended office.

We now feel vindicated.

217 responses to “Barbados Goverment To Implement Tighter Immigration Policy”

1. Can anyone tell me if david thompson is overseas,and is that why he didnot speak on the debate in parliament today.

Maybe he is busy preparing for the budget next week.

Vox populi ,vox dei.

The politicians are finally hearing our cries.

2. There was a Caribbean heads conference in New York and he was there. He is probably back by now preparing what I believe will be a fair budget next month.

3. I’m glad the present gov’t has listened to our plea. However I see why the BLP is in opposition, Stupid Marshall actually said that we bajans should educate the illegal guyanese children FREE? He serious? If they are illegal pack them and the chuldren back to guyana. I MUST see that what the gov’t is doing don’t amount to just hot air. The time has come for there to be town hall meetings and let us come out and let this gov’t know exactly how we feel. I AM READY

4. Barbados Underground you have had the courage, and I say “courage” because that is what it takes; to highlight an issue of importance, when it is expedient to swim with the prevailing media and avoid it.

I believe this issue of “illegal immigration,” is so fundamental to the long term social cohesiveness, and thus stability of Barbados, that it should not be ignored.

To be accused of racism or xenophobia is not pleasant, but if that is the price to be paid for the long term stability of our country, it is a price that should be paid…without rancour or regret.

Over the years many people from the islands, have made their homes in Barbados. Our society is the richer for their presence and the diversity they have brought.

The situation has changed in recent times. Documents illegal and otherwise, can be procured in some countries, with an ease which has caused the immigration authorities in Barbados serious concerns. Consequently, we cannot with the prudence necessary of a sovereign state, check the bona fides of some immigrants.

It is incumbent on us as a democratic country; upholding the principles of fairness and justice for our citizens and immigrants. To “act” in the best interest of all.

Proper immigration controlls, which meet the needs of Barbados society, in both the short and “long ” term; whilst respecting the rights and privileges of legal immigrants of whatever race or country shows foresight. That is a course for stability and fairness.

5. It is not racism to object to illegal immigration. Every illegal immigrant places a burden on the taxpayers that ought not to be there. Also, with illegal immigrants, there is no record and no background on them – we donm’t know who and what they are. Barbados is no longer a backwater. It is a fast-growing economy and society. We attract to Barbados some very high-profile VIPs. To date, those people have felt safe coming here. That will soon end if we do not have stringent immigration controls and screening. We do it with money. Why not with people?

6. The solution here is to process illegal immigrants’ expeditiously and ensure they’re deported at the earliest, possible opportunity, a prospect which I can’t conceive of occuring in Bim!

7. I think a lot more should be done that just “deport” the illegal immigrants & that is to give the Immigration department the money,tools & man-power needed to actually fund & enforce the tighter policy.

Everything always look good on paper but without details & a commitment as a Nation,nothing will ever get done.I think it is about time Barbados actually started getting serious about this immigration problem.Many of the larger countries such as the UK,U.S.[Where I live now] & Canada have all gotten serious about immigration & I am glad that Barbados is starting to catch up & looks to implement a “managed” migration policy,especially for Work Permits.

I hope it would entail something similar to the new U.K or Australian immigration rules where people are given certain points if they meet criteria,like having a college education,work history,know English & is the Job highly in demand for.If a total number of points are given then the work permit would be approved.

I also think the Immigration department should get with the 21st Century & make all documents electronically encrypted to prevent fraud.No need to ask someone their status anymore the documents provided by the Department will tell the whole story.

8. To top it all off almost every developed country including the USA and England have been introducing legislation/policies to combat illegal immigration. Why should a tiny country like Barbados become the destination for the riff raff of the Caribbean and the world.

9. Scout, This is Zandah, unless you can round up the illegals and send tham back to Guyana, there is no other choice but to educate them, for to not educate them will result in the violence that is so prevalent in Guyanese society. They will wreck havoc on Bajan society if not given an education that will lead to some sort of job skill or career. I think people who enter another country illegally should be dealt with severly, serve a jail term, pay a hefty fine, and then send back home at their expense. Another aspect is if you enter illeaglly then only God know what other illegal activity you are capable of. I say deal with them severly. Bye Zandah

10. In other words, what I am saying is that if they are not given some sort of education, then they cannot compete in the job market, and that will lead to rampant crime. I read what I wrote and it sounded a bit confusing, so I am clarifying myself. Qucik deportation if they can be found, if not they have to have the same benefits in order to assimilate and become productive Barbadians. Zandah

11. I also hope they deal severely with the corrupt immigration officers and lock them up for their scams. This is also a big threat to our policies.

12. Who gives Vic Fernandes, David Ellis, Mike Browne, Viviene Gittens and Roxanne Gibbs the right to determine the level at which Barbadians should discuss this matter. Barbadians have one characteristic which has been a hallmark of our progress through the years, our education has translated to a level headedness when debating issues. We don’t shoot at people, we don’t beat people up for having differing views and importantly we have NEVER exhibited xenophobic behaviour through the years.

13. “Immigration in black and white”

We can’t makeup our minds if the Guyanese are coming to take jobs from Bajans, live off of the nonexistent welfare system or live a life of crime. Before they “overhaul immigration”, the DLP needs to be honest with the country about all of the immigrants, the jobs they hold, their contribution, and or strain on the economy and social ills. Unskilled immigrants are not taking jobs that the “boys on the block” want. The “boys on the block” have no desire or inclination for hard wuck! Also, there are currently over 30,000 British expats in Bim. Only 2,000 are retirees, so what are the other 28,000 doing? Are they cutting cane, busting tables, or driving taxis? Are we fighting with the Guyanese for bread and butter while the Brits are enjoying ham and eggs over yonder?

14. Hi DEGAP…the number of British expats is a bit misleading…there are hundreds of Barbadians with dual nationality and there are recorded in the UK data as expats…
    We also have a number of cases where Barbadian children born to UK parents have the right to British citizenship…so the numbers may seem a bit high…but for the most part they’re dual citizens…
    I just thought I’d clarify that one…

15. It is heart warming what Freundel Stuart said.I also enjoyed James Paul & Stephen Lashley comments.However,that fool Dale Marshall was a complete turnoff. He had me nauseated.He talked a roll of garbish.Educated illegal children.what madness.That is opening up our immigration laws for exploitation.Illegal immigrants having illegal children utilising our education system for free.NO WAY
    I hope this is not political posturing on the part of the politicians.They fate is in our hands and this immigration issue will determine the future of this present government and if it will have another term.I believe tthis issue eventhough not debated with any fervour during the elections was one of the key issues that bought down the last inept,corrupt Owen Arthur administration.
    I believe we bloggers must take some credit for keeping this issue alive eventhough the radio stations tried to kill the issue.Congratulations must go to JC,The Scout.Anonymous.Gabriel The Horn Blower,Your Truly and the others for keeping this issue alive.
    WE AWAIT ACTION FROM THE GOVERNMENT
    VOB is now getting the message that we built VOB and we could destroy VOB.
    I,Negroman was a regular contributor to VOB call in programmes.After that episode when that character Peter Wickham allowed that fool Norman Faria to come on the programme and isult and threatened Barbadians and wanted VOB to ban discussion on this issue I made a decision I will not listen to VOB.I have kept that promise.I wil not listen to VOB anymore.It has one less caller & listener.

16. Negroman i am with you. I have given up on VOB and David Ellis ill informed posturing.

Degap, if the boys on the block don’t want nuh work then “Project Oasis” is a failure. Tom Adams, for political expediency, libel these young men by calling them “the voluntary idle” and some of us have refuse to move away from this viewpoint.

17. Hear! Hear! Well said Negro man. We are more aware than ever, and are watching our political leaders with ‘hawk’s eye vision.’ We will not be deterred by persons describing us as Xenophobic and blah blah blah, we are concerned citizens who love our nation and realised how severe these problems are to us and our children’s future.

If a man cannot be respected in his country and plays all the godam bills then he is certainly going to get PIST OFF!

18. David you may feel vindicated but i do not. I never wavered in my understanding of the Immigration issue. In fact the many labels we endured in response to our positions bolstered my conviction. I saw such responses as proof that we were correct.
    …..no one could dispute the IMF report that Barbadians wages where moderated down by an influx of labour.
    …..no one could dispute that if Import monitoring licenses were needed to protect locally produce goods from imports so too does the local labour force needs at least an employment registry as suggested by Sir Roy.

19. Degap, Thanks for showing this problem in black and white. By the way this year the world book show the population of Barbados as 279,000, but to years ago it was at 300,000. so where that 20,000 go to.

20. Anonymous
    I”m trying to understand what you’re saying and I agree, but if you can find the child to send it to school, are they not living with the illegal parent or someone who knows about where the person/s is/are?

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

On the political platform the DLP said that they would fix the immigration problem and I know that they will.

This is a burning issue for most Bajans. It is one of the most important reasons that the BLP is no longer in Govt. As a father of four children I went and canvassed for the DLP in order to get a sensible Govt. in power. The future of my children was threaten by this deluge of foreingners entering my country. I have no problem with others entering my country but the sheer scale of it under the BLP frightened my wife and I.

22. While I believe in strict immigraton laws, every child has a right to an education, is it their fault that their parents have bought them here illegally?

23. Carson Cadogan

While you were canvassing for the DLP this year did you find that bajans were very open and angry about the large guyanese and other immigrants presence here in barbados?

Did you sense Carson that the DLP politicians were really THAT concerned or were just saying what they had to?

Listening to chris sinckler and even kellman yesterday in Parliament, I got the distinct impression that they were very much aware that bajans were angry about their remarks at that guyanese association affair last month.

I think chris sinckler has lost a lot of respect by average bajans,and the more I listen to him the more I get the impression that he trying real hard to impress and sound off his knowledge working for a regional organisation.

The DLP politician will be underestimating the situation if they think this is going to blow over after 9 days.

Right now I want them,that is the immigration department and home affairs – to call in the police and get their assistance in rounding up these illegals and deport them – RIGHT AWAY!

Then they have to temporarily halt the giving of permamnent citizenship,permamnent residence to persons who came here and got married,who were living here for a long time and want to get a barbadian passport,to children born here by illegal parent(s) etc.

We will not be settling for less DLP Politicians – so walk good.

24. Ian Walcott,

Although I don’t believe that accounts for the majority, I stand corrected; your point is well taken. As for the children of illegals, if you’re not going to deport the entire family when they are discovered, it is in the best interest of Bim to ensure that all kids are in school. I see no benefit in having a host of illiterate illegal school age kids roaming the streets. When new children show up at a school, it’s up to the principle to refer all suspicious cases to immigration.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Anonymous

To be quite honest Chris Sinckler’s stand on the Guyanese issue disappoints me no end.

His pernouncements are in keeping with Owen Arthur, Billie Miller, Naorman Faria and the BLP top brass, I think that he is on the wrong side.

I am watching him carefully.

26. When You Spend Avatar
    When You Spend

Its sensible for Parliament to debate the pressing issue of immigration. Barbadians, apart from the ones who see the majority of us as lazy like Degap and Centipede, are openly concerned about the illegals among us. We however cannot infringe on anyone’s human rights. We are a tourist country and everything we do must have lawful and moral foundation. Illegals should be returned to their homelands but legals must receive same treatment as citizens. After all we approved their status. Witch hunting is out of the question. My only mischeivous peeve is that a country be found to send Norman Faria.That man is a pain in the ass.

27. It is unfortunate that the education of innocent children should be jeopardise.,however a strong stand must be taken against this wanton disrespect for our immigration laws.I do not think that excuses should be made for illegals to remain in Barbados because they have children of school age in Barbados. All should be deported.When those children return to the land of their birth the children education will resume.I do not see the long talk on that issue.It is only an excuse for these illegals to remain in Barbados.Get out all children and all.

I agreed with Anonymous wholeheartedly.Stop issuing permanent residences.work permits and everthing.Review all applicants for immmigrant status over the last 10 years.Those that are found to be suspicious deport.I want to see serious action in this regard.The future of my children and grand children is at stake
    I WANT ACTION
    Finally,I believe the DLP government especially Chris Sinckler & Dennis Kellman really felt the wrath of Barbadians.I believe both wer cuss poisonously by their constituents and therefore must respond in a manner to appease them.I honestly believe that the government underestimate the anger of Barbadians on this matter.
    Te ball is in their court.
    DELIVER OR ELSE.

28. Cynty,Current Barbados law actually forbids foreign nationals from going to Barbados schools unless they are Citizens or Permanent residents of Barbados,or at the very least have permission from the Minister of Education if they are neither.

In theory every child SHOULD have a right to an education but Barbados law says differently.However,I believe most illegal immigrants curtail this by going directly to the Headmasters/Headmistresses anyway to see if they can actually enroll their child since almost a third of my Primary school class included foreign nationals.It was always strange when some didn’t show up for vaccinations at school because they had “problems” with getting their “green cards”.

It wasn’t until I got into secondary school that a British & American illegally in the country explained to me what & how everything works in the Barbados illegal immigration underground,so this problem should NOT been seen as only a “guyanese problem” & it has been going on for ages with foreign nationals of all countries.

29. Tell me honestly,

If we could hardly provide school places for our children what the hell we doing playing we too nuff and inviting every caribbean illegal with children to educate their children.

We really understand what kind of financial strains we as a people are facing down the road?

You understand the needs of the bajan people out dey who just because of good ole bajan pride smiling and holding their head high while they smelling hell?

As our Bush Tea would say in his inimitable style :’what educating illegal children what?’

Let’s keep it real people,let’s keep it real.

A big shout out to; JC,Negroman,Scout,Robot,Yardbroom,David and others – we got to keep the fight til we overcome.

Anonymous too proud of you.

30. @when you spend
    don’t torture us by sending Faria back to Guyana. please see if you can find another country for him
    by the way i heard norm talk and he sound “bajan”
    so i did some research & found norm left Guyana over 20 years ago and considers himself “bajan” from all accounts. he just latched on to the perks and benefits of being ambassador leaching off Guyanese tax payers

31. We agree that MP Dale Marshall was somewhat incoherent in his contribution to the debate. Although we agree with him that the children of undocumented workers MUST be educated until the status of their stay is unraveled, his other position was strictly for political expedience.

He made a statement that how can we have immigration if it is not managed immigration. It made us wonder how a Cawmere boy could say such a thing. Did Mia contribute to the debate?

32. Let’s look at migration from a public health perspective:

We must immunize all children who show up for school or daycare. To have an umimmunized pool of children in school or daycare is a risk for all children there, and can lead to outbreaks of measles and worse in the school and which will spread to the community.

I am old enough to remember neighbours and school mates who became seriously ill with measles, whopping cough and some who died of tetanus and polio. And I am not 60 yet. Most people my age are not fully immunized, and many of us have no natural immunity because we have never had the diseae either. We received emergency polio immunization on an emergency basis during the 1960’s when there was an outbreak of polio. Most of you are likely unaware that most Barbadians over 50 do not have green immunization cards, and many maybe most of us have never been immunized against “childhood” illnesses.

Also ss we know some Barbadian children are not immunized because the parents object on religious grounds. This objection is protected by the Constitution. If we get a large enough pool of religious umimmunized children and “illegal” unimmunized children, and older unimmunized people then as sure as God is in his heaven we wll get outbreaks of the diseases mentioned above;. it will happen among those children, among children whose immunizations did not take, and among children whose immune systems are compromized by cancer treatments, HIV and other serious diseases, and among people my age who did not receive childhood immunizations and who never had the diseases before.

So we have to immunize regardless of status and regardless of cost.

This generation thinks that those diesases are minor or have died out. There are NOT minor and they are NOT dead, just being suppressed by immunizatian.

Actually one of the reasons for keeping all young children regardles of status or income in school is to have the opportunity to compell or persuade their parents to immunize them. People tend to do the right thing when they are compelled.

And if you want to scare the tourists away you just have to shout POLIO, or MEASLES.

Keeping lil’ children healthy and in school is in our own best interest.

33. David that fool KB Kleen is a Cawmere boy too. Dale Marshall is a pompous jackass. Come to think of it Cawmere has given us more than its fair share of jackasses. We have come to this sorry pass with Marshall as Minister of Immigration. If he and Arthur had regained power only God could help Barbados. Listening to the solid reasoning of Fruendel Stuart makes Marshall’s idiocy more obvious.

34. Propaganda, Listen he that Norman Faria is not ambassador for Guayna, and he has been in Barbados a long long time, not 20 years, more like 40 years, and I am sure he is a citizen of Barbados, and a sure he voted for BLP Owhen and Mia. He is an honourary ambassador over there, not an a full fledged ambassador like our amabssadors at Paramaribo or Caracas. We don’t have a Embassy in Barbados, he probaably gets a little stipend forhis efforts to help out stranded Guyanese there, BUT and I say BUT he is not a full fledged ambassador, just a honourary person.

35. David

I don’t understand your argument at all.

Are you saying send the undocumented – by that I think you mean – the illegal person children to school until we get their matter unravelled?

Well if you saying that then you using the same nonsensical argument that dale marshall was using in parliament.

We talk glibly about sharing out our social services ie education,health services,dental,etc to these illegal or children of the illegal persons.

Have you asked yourself,or do we know how many illegal persons are in this country.According to conservative estimate 2 years ago it was around 20,000 – 30,000 guyanese alone,not to mention the jamaicans,vincentians,the chineese,lucians,trinidadians etc.

So how many of their children will be eligible for this freeness?

Tell me which sane government that is trying to rid itself of an illegal immigrants problem offers health and educational services to the said immigrants and hope they will leave voluntarily or not return in larger numbers?

Do you know whast financial state this government has found itself in – what with arthur and his cronies tiefin with all dem cost overruns?

A lot us like to talk and act like a rich man on a poor man budget.

No other caribbean country – not oil rich trinidad,not large and in charge Jamaica,not st vincent,st lucia,st kitts,Antigua,Grenada – none – not one of them are doing what some of the commentators on this site are asking,that is provide benefits for the children of those who we know have broken and are continuing to break our laws.

For what reason must we do this – so that people can say what lovely people we bajans are – and how magnaimous?

Wake up and smell the coffee – as the attorney general Freundel stuart said – barbados resources are very finite – we don’t have an unlimited supply to spend on the marrish and the parrish.

Send the DAMN nuisance guyanese and other illegals back to the country like we did with the africans and let start getting our country back in some order.

36. Scout I agree with you 100%. We have to check for our own. When my friends find themselbes on the (so called) wrong side of the law they have to pay the price.

Are persons on this blog insinuating that we should embrace wrong doers. PLEASEEEEEE! give me a break. You have got to be joking.

37. In Bahamas they dont do that; But gullible ass bajans who playin them got the biggest ‘bestest’ heart in the world want to save people who have degraded and raped our laws daily!

You all have go to be joking. Nobody no other place in the world would have felt for none of my children or my friends’ children. Although they would have said cuddear they would have made sure they check fortheir own! they would have claimed that there are too many of ‘my’ kind and we need to stick together.

Well hello we bajans have decided that enuff is enough! We aint backing down for shite!

ILLEGAL IMMIGRANTS GO HOME~!

38. Barbados is much more of a country than the Bahamas will ever be, sorry to say, but true. The fact of the matter is that the illegals are contributing to the ecomony, (for you all can’t tell me that 20,000 Guyanese are just there standing around doing nothing) and as such they should have access to the education and health system of Barbados. I am sure if you were to check the Ministry of Finance they can show that these people do contribute to the economy of the country. Until immigration can sort out who is who, and that could take a while, then the only alternative is to educate and give health care to all persons livng in the country. Just think for a second the child of the illegal Guyanese, upon receiving an education in Barbados could turn out to be the one that finds a cure for cancer, or prolong life to 200 years, we don’t know, but as I said earlier, to not educate them could result in dire consequences for Barbadian society. Another thing to not give the illegal children the required shots, immunisation, (sp) is courting disaster, what if the children that stay home when shots are given got the disease that the shot woudld prevent, the parents are illegal Guyanese, have no money to pay for hospital treatment, then you the taxpayer ends up paying the high price for the treatment of this child, in other words a $10.00 shot is now a $10.000 hosptial treatment.

39. JC, yes people would feel for your children , children is children, and they have no say in what illegal activities their parents partake in, whether is entering a country illegally or sellling drugs or other illegal activity. Society owes these little ones, and as such government must proivide social services to these children, this is not about your children but the good of the nation and as such the right thing to do is to allow access to education and health care.

40. take a drive to moontown and see who kellman have working for him all guyanese as for norman faria he only look after indo guyanese

41. Since we are on the topic of Barbadis immigration,I was wondering what everyone’s opinion if Barbados’s current illegal immigrants were actually allowed to stay permanently through some kind of regularization program or amnesty ?

The reason I ask is that I’ve never heard any opinions on this subject particularly.

42. @ zanzah
    faria got something good going with the govt of Guyana like rickey singh. you can’t be dog catcher in Guyana without pledging allegiance and there is always money involved along the way somewhere. always.
    it took some convincing for us to believe Faria was even from Guyana. he doesn’t even pretend to fake a Guyana accent when around Guyana and we can only think of one time we know he was in Guyana

43. Hi Propaganda Press, he has been in Barbados since 1963 I believe, but it is quite funny that he is bed with the PPP as I knew people with his last name in the day that disliked the PPP with a passion. They were UF people. Bye He favours the Indians as the wife is a daughter of the PPP

Yes you have to send the children of illegals to school until the matter is resolved. You cannot have children running helter skelter in this day and age, no sir.

44. I’m glad quite a few of the responses to the article make a sence. Please let the children not become vitims of whatever is going on. Health care, education we owe it to them – they should get it regardless.

45. A lot of guyanese on this site and guyanese sympathisers come on here talking shite about free education for illegals and free health care.

Look move wunnah brassbowl from out here,do.

Instead of talking about encouraging these people by giving benefits we should be talking about strenghtening the immigration enforcement and deportment sections and include the police force and even put the army to work to get these scum out of this country.

Can you imagine that as big and wealthy as america is – that any naturalised citizen who got his green card mind you,and could have been there from year 1 – but as soon as he breaks the law in any semi – serious way – he getting shipped out of the country that he has lived in since he was one year old.

America big as it is means business.

But shitey bajans want to turn us into a welfare state – talking rubbish.

As for amnesty – how many times are we going to keep giving amnesty – we did that already in the 1990’s – when the illegals here were only a 3 or 4 thousand.Now we have over 3o,ooo people and you want to reward them for for breaking the law.

You know what the cost to the country amnesty -and then citizenship and permanent residence means?

You know what change to the ethnic make up of this barbados – when just so – with the stroke of a pen we give all these racists indian guyanese that hiding bout here – the same rights as bajans who parents and grandparents worked hard and built up this country.

You mean being a bajan aint mean nuttin anybody could just come and remain illegal and then we give them benefits and then give them amnesty and a passport.

There are guyanese coming on this site deliberately trying to push a ‘sympathise with the guyanese agenda – and all it doing is making me hate the guyanese more.

By the way,Jamaica who has all their citizens hiding out in other people’s countries like caymans,bahams,usa,britain – even they got their countrymen out there who are illegals – they are kicking out the illegal haitians in Jamaica – who if any one should feel sorry it’s for the haitians – yet this new bruce golding govermment sending them back to haiti in the thousands.

Now remember that Jamaica hundreds times bigger than barbados and got more resources ;bauxite,sugar,tourism,manufacturing,agricultural products etc – but they not offering them benefits and they certainly not so crazy to offer them amnesty.

What about when baldwin spencer from antigua shipped home all these illegal guyanese – in the midst of the heated CSME negotiations mind you.

What about dutch st martin and trinidad and st lucia – all these caribbean countries keeping out the guyanese – and NOBODY saying a thing.

Yet we encouraging people to come on this site and push their agenda about benefits to illegals and amnesty.

Kiss wunnah brassbowl.

It only mekkin me hate dem damn guyanese even more.

I suggest scout,negroman jc and others just ignore this sweetness,zanzah, and other names these gyanese come on this site with – maybe they will get the message.

46. @anonymous, we don’t think anyone here is saying educate the children of undocumented children wholesale. What we are saying is sometimes it is not always clear cut. What if the authorities have located children with incomplete documentation but it is not clear who are the parents? It is the grey that we have to manage as well anon.

47. Jukecheckedeyskirt Avatar
    Jukecheckedeyskirt

Though the influx of illegal Guyanese in Barbados are major hot topic and concern on the lips and minds of most Barbadians, what we need to be more concern about is why and how our immigration frontlines become so flex for so many Guyanese to thread the illegal line.

If we believe that Barbados’s success and current lavish living is fueled by an economy stabilised by a rich abundant natural resource, (which we all know it is not) we need to think again. Our economy is fragiled and can easily be shattered if tourism here is threatened by the rising scourge of crime, which I a m not saying can be compounded by illegal Guyanese immigrants but it is obvious that the crime situation in Guyana is as a result of Guyanese. How is it that we have allowed Guyanese to come here with out any screening or system of monitoring.

With corruption so rampant in this country, one can not wonder if the illegal Guyanese are not getting access into our country by the help of immigration and political persuasion. We know that the last adminstration was corrupt to the bone and more or less responsible for the invasion of Guyanese now living on our shores. But that said and done, the current administration must not follow the same path but implement policies that will allow highly skill labour from Guyana or any where to enter our shores to further the cause of ‘building.’

Our legislators seem to adopt the last minute fix it mentality after the horse has bolted from the stable and it is impossible to pull him back. The Guyanese are not foolish, especially the women. So the illegals are using ‘ by any means necessary’ to ensure that they illegal status becomes legal. Can you blame time if they are seeking better waters? However they are bringing with them they whole families some of whom contributes to ills and isms that prevail on our tiny rock.

We need it fix or we will suffer for our procrastination of dealing with serious matters.

48. Thank you jukedeycheckshirt!

Thank you for applying some common sense and reality to this discussion.

We here facing a crisis which if the big-ups in the high places and civil servants would speak out they would tell you about the increase in tuberculosis that we seeing since this guyanese invasion and other diseases that bajans don’t normally have a problem with – all coming back,what about the guyanese women who coming here with hiv and aids and boldly talking about how they infecting bajan men and their wives.

You telling me feel sorry for these people?

All like now there should have been massive deportations and raids going on all over barbados.

And bajan men and women should not be encouraging any of them to hide out or marry them for money or even renting them your houses and apartments – it is bajans like these that contributing to this problem – and the immigration should deport some of these bajans who helping the guyanese to commit crime and break the law – back to guyana with the illegal guyanese.

The word is out that barbados and bajans soft – and every body from africa to china – to st vincent to jamaica – and all in between coming down here to hide out in barbados – because they realise – bajan politicians real iggrunt.

For my one part I am going to do all I can to ensure that ALL illegals are sent packing from this country – and barbados does not lose all the gains that we made over the years.

If we were to get the true numbers of all illegals – english,americans,guyanese.vincentians,jamaicans and others who are here it is a wonder that we don’t have a social explosion sooner.

And as for you chris sinckler and others like you who getting up and talking about how bajans are getting too emotional over the subject – let me tell all a wunnah who tink we too emotional – sit back and smile if a decision had to be made that under CSME a guyanese politician could now come and take your bajan politician job and you have to go to guyana – yuh will still be yappin .

You could laugh because you know that will never happen so you feeling safe – talking a pile of jobby – but is the small man and average bajan that feeling de heat.

Not the white businessman,or the immigration offficer or police that getting bribes,or the politicians who getting free sex with these diseased women.

Scumbags.

49. Yardbroom, no one could have said it better you are on point. The only thing is i think there is no reason to be racist we can find more civil ways of dealing with some of the issues.

50. Jukecheckedeyskirt, you have some valid points where people must be screened before coming into the island, I know of guyanese who came to Barbados just looking to make a dolar and better their situation at home and i also know of some who were involved in criminal activities in guyana and are living or should i say hiding out here, this should not be. The system of fingure printing at the airport as you come in is one of the best ways to track lots of illegal persons the immigration should think about implementing this system, no persons being illegal and going to guyana getting a new passport with a different name and coming back into the country this can stop, no persons being here illegal and companies taking their money and allow persons to have kids here on those same permits, many things happen that people are not aware of.

In Antigua the immigration goes on the road and stop transport single out who is not antiguan and you know were you are going if you are caught, first the flood gates needs to be tightened so as to control the influx on non-nationals of a country.